Back to Product

Ms Dirt Craft Bike Shorts

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 32
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 87 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Dirt Craft Bike Shorts

4.5/5
True To Size
January 3, 2022

The do it all mtb shorts.

This combo has been great to me, I got them about a year ago and I put them to the test, from short rides near home to enduro style riding, I even have bike paled with them and they just kept on going. Worth every penny!

January 1, 2022

fit and look great

Pleasantly surprised how these fit coming from a company not especially known for its cycling wear.

December 17, 2021

Great shorts

Great shorts, comfy liner, they run a tad small, I guess more incentive to stay fit!

December 9, 2021

great bike shorts

These shorts were purchased as a companion pair to ones I've had for a couple of years. The inner short padding is a new design and a bit more cushy; very nice. They are a comfortable, durable and functional. I wear them year round, just adding tights when weather turns cold or snowy. I won't need any more biking shorts for quite some tim... Read Moree - perfect Patagonia design / product that will last and last!

November 3, 2021

Most comfortable on the bike!

These are the ONLY shorts I'll wear mountain biking - out with the guys for 2 - 7 hours. Thank you Patagonia - I finally found the shorts that are light, comfortable, and protective!

October 31, 2021

Great pants.

Great pants. I really like the way these pants fit and the pocket locations are great. Very comfortable.

October 30, 2021

Great Piece, Runs Small

These are great, not only do I use these on the trail but also on my morning commute to work. My only complaint is they fit a little small, I'm pretty much always a size 30 but had to swap these for a 31. Other than that I'm very happy with them

October 27, 2021

Nice short

Very nice shorts. The fit is a bit tight out of the box but with a couple wears and a wash is perfect. Chamois is also tight but the same applies.if you have large thighs, size up

October 19, 2021

Love this shorts

I always get compliments when I have these shorts on. I love the fabric and where the pockets are located. The do run a bit small so I went up one size and was glad I did. I would buy these shorts again for sure.

October 13, 2021

Great shorts

I like them so much I bought a second pair.

October 11, 2021

Mt bike shorts

Normally I wear a size 34 but my recent Patagonia orders felt slightly big. I probably should have bought 34s for these shorts. Other than that, I'm very happy with them, typical Patagonia quality. I expect to get years of use.

October 6, 2021

Excellent MTB shorts

These are my favorite MTB shorts I own. I have the Dirt Roamer shorts, and those are also great. But what sets Dirt Craft above is the adjustable waist straps, the front pockets and the seemingly more durable material. Although, I haven't had any problem with the Roamer material, but they are thinner. I've backpacked in these shorts and I... Read More've even wore them out and and about town. My only hang up on these shorts, is how they are sold. For whatever reason, they are only sold with the removable padded liner, and the padded liner runs a little more snug in sizing then I would like so I never use them. The shorts sizing is spot on. I am hopeful Patagonia will start selling these by themselves so I can stock up on multiple colors.

September 30, 2021

Great mountain short

I have been a size 33 waist for years. I originally purchased a 33 and the liner (chamois) was a Medium, very tight on a cyclists legs! Also the short itself was very tight. I exchanged for a 34 and the liner (chamois) was a large this time which was way more comfortable if you have cycling thighs. The 34 fit me perfect. On the trail it was str... Read Moreetchy and comfortable. I wish it had a second right hand zip pocket. It would be great to know what size liner came with the applicable waist size short. Perhaps even being able to specify a M or L liner. Thanks again for a great product I will use for decades.

September 30, 2021

Super comfortable

I really like these shorts so I bought a second pair. My only complaint is that the chamois is not working for me so I took them out on both pairs. I prefer to wear a bib any way. I wish this short was offered sans liner at a lower price point. The material of the shorts stretches for easy movement but holds form after a long day in the saddle. I... Read More love the placement of the zipper pocket on the left leg it holds my larger IPhone XR and it stays put while peddling, no jostling around. Im super pleased with another high quality Patagonia product.

September 26, 2021

Fictional mtb shorts

A functional short with pockets in the right spots. A nice fabric stretch with micro adjustable in the waist tabs to accommodate brews at the pub. These are my go-to shorts. Keep the pattern designs coming.

September 23, 2021

Great Short....Fit is different than prior years

3rd pair I have owned. Feels like size / fit is smaller as I have 34's and they were too small, so this new pair up'd to 36. In general, a great short, durable and functional. My Go To MTB short

September 23, 2021

Great shorts!

I use them for all kind of outdoor activities, but they run a bit small. I usually wear 32 or 33 but here 34 fits me just fine.

September 16, 2021

Great MTB Short!

These shorts are super lightweight and comfy! Unfortunately, mine were a little tight, so I exchanged them for a size bigger than I usually wear. That solved the trick for me! The chamois is one of the most comfortable I've every ridden with. Super thick!

September 14, 2021

Patagonia Ms Dirt Craft bike shorts

I have tried a lot of different manufacturers and these are by far and away the best fit I’ve had. Very impressed. Now all Patagonia needs to do is make a waterproof bike short please.

August 24, 2021

Great Bike Shorts. Legs are a little too long.

Great shorts. Liners are the best part. But the legs of the over shorts seem a little too long trapping heat in my legs. I found rolling up the legs to the length of the liner was much cooler during warm weather riding.

August 13, 2021

Quality All the Way

Highly recommended. Pricey but falls under the category of, "You get what you pay for."

August 6, 2021

My go-to MTB shorts

I work as a MTB guide in Arizona so its not uncommon to spend many hours in the saddle. Whether its an all day adventure or a shorter tour these are my go-to shorts and liners. The liner has excellent padding and the mesh makes them comfortable even on the hottest days. I especially like the adjustability with the elastic hooks at the waist which g... Read Moreive you a perfect fit. I have three pairs of these so I always have a pair available! They are very durable as well.

July 22, 2021

Does what it's supposed to!

I've been on a few rides with these now and they're great. First off: Zero chafing, very comfortable. I haven't noticed the shorts or liner at all while riding, which, to me, is the most important feature. I ate it a couple times (nothing too crazy), and I don't even see a mark on the short. The cushioning of the liner works wel... Read Morel and is comfortable. Again, I haven't notice anything while riding. It was HOT where I rode, and these breathed well. Pockets are also designed well. I had an iPhone in one and a gopro in the other. Both easily fit, and were never in any danger of falling out. Zipper pocket also has plenty of space. Overall, just a really well designed article. Classic Patagonia.

July 8, 2021

Runs small, no way to customize the liner

The materials are great but I just dont think Patagonia shorts ever fit me right. Even sizing up the cut doesnt fit great. You also cant customize the inner liner so sitting on the cusp between sizes is difficult. I ended up returning the pants and just ordering the liner instead. The liner is great and super comfortable.

July 4, 2021

Light and Comfortable

These shorts feel amazing! Love the ruggedness and style very much. Pockets are perfect and easy to reach. Fit is a bit snug, so went with one size larger than normal. My second pair!

June 25, 2021

Great MTB Short

I'm 5'9" 155, typically a 30/31 in size. I moved up to the 32 and feel like that is the perfect size. Move up 1 size than normal and you'll be happy you did. Liners are great quality and comfortable. Over-shorts could easily be worn around town. I can't speak to their durability yet, but all signs point to a long term partn... Read Moreer to my future mountain bike trips. Very pleased.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2021

Thanks for your detailed and thoughtful feedback, Michael! The Dirt Craft Shorts' nylon fabric naturally has a bit less stretch to it than a polyester blend. We're glad you found one that works for you. Happy trails!

June 24, 2021

Nice shorts

These shorts pair well with the Endless Ride liners and have been very comfortable on 15+mi rides. The only addition I'd like to see would be a zippered pocket for securing valuables.

June 22, 2021

Great shorts!

Very lightweight, it's like I'm wearing nothing when I ride in these. The tightening system took me a minute or two to figure out but it works.

June 21, 2021

Functionality corresponds well with descriptions.

Functionality corresponds well with descriptions. But size 36 for outer shorts should rather be teamed together with size XL for inner shorts.

June 13, 2021

Great bike pants

Great bike pants

May 29, 2021

Perfect bike short and great

Perfect bike short and great inner short? Don't know the word.

May 21, 2021

Looks Good

Overall fine

May 18, 2021

In love with these shorts

This two-piece bike shorts work just perfect. I have been using them for long 8 to 10 hours bikepacking rides, and they feel amazing. Happy with the purchase, would totally recommend them for this kind of biking.

May 17, 2021

Not durable

Where I ride, there are thorns. These shorts are great when youre in a wide open trail, but when youre going through any underbrush, theyll tear on even little brushes with tiny thorns. If they were made out of Ripstop material, I might buy more, but Ive found other brands make a more durable and equally as light and breathable mountain biking shor... Read Moret.

May 17, 2021

Great Mt Bike shorts.

These are great mountain bike shorts. This is actually the second pair that I've purchased. I'm not a lycra guy so I use these for gravel biking as well. I highly recommend you shorts.

May 17, 2021

Fantastic MTB Shorts

These shorts are great. I've had a pair for about a year and am going to purchase another pair soon. The sizing is spot on, and they are super comfortable. A lot of the negative reviews I've read focus on weird sizing and I can't comprehend why. The liners stay perfectly in place throughout long rides and the over shorts fit great as... Read More well - they cover the tops of knee pads, are super comfy, and have a great side pocket for your phone. I honestly forget I have my phone in the side pocket while riding. The waist adjustment on either side works perfectly for adjusting the fit and also functions really well as a "belt" attachment point for bear spray on casual trail rides when in bear country. If you haven't bought a pair of these already, you definitely should!

May 14, 2021

Great MTB shorts but weird sizing

59 / 180lbs - 34 was too small, 36 too large, like the shorts in terms of feel and they ride great

Response from Patagonia
May 14, 2021

Thanks for your review on our Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts. We're sorry to hear you were unable to find a size that worked for you. We do sell separate liners, such as the [Men's Endless Ride Liner Shorts - 9"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-endless-ride-liner-shorts-for-mountain-biking-9-inch/24675.html?dwvar_24675_color=BLK&cgid=root) that you can pair with the Men's Dirt Roamer Bike Shorts or a number of other options. Reach out to us so we can help you land on the perfect fit for your needs.

May 11, 2021

Snazzy function

These shorts are the perfect blend of form and function. The liner is comfortable and the shorts are durable. Great for MTB, gravel, casual road rides and hanging for beers after.

May 5, 2021

Just-Right Fit

Picked these up as overshorts for trail riding and some bikepacking. The fit is cut slimmer through the legs than most baggies, which is great for when your ride involves riding, a coffee stop, maybe a brewery, etc. Still moves nice on the bike, never feel constricting when pedaling.

May 1, 2021

Ergonomic

I purchased these shorts with an additional need to also get the accompanying liner. I am supremely happy with the quality of the materials and the manufacturing. I have big thighs and bum, and at 6, 210 I wanted to ensure nothing was too tight. The 38 waist was probably a little too big, but the adjustable side straps provided ample opportunity to... Read More tune in the fit. The length goes to the center of my patella and is ergonomically snug but still baggy. The liner fits as it should as well, the xl was sufficient for bulky thighs. Pockets are deep, the zipper leg spot is also clutch. After a couple rides, I was amazed I had gone this long without a quality set of shorts. Cheers!

April 28, 2021

Bomber Bike Shorts

These shorts are bomber bike shorts for short or long rides. Ample pockets, durable material, freedom of movement, great adjustability in the waist. I wish they made a slightly shorter inseam of this exact short - they are a tad long. I am 62 and 200lbs, ideally I would be a 35, I tried the 34 and they were too tight, the 36 works with the waist ad... Read Morejusters but 35 would have been perfect. Wish Patagonia would make all shorts and pants in 35.

April 26, 2021

Great practical design

Felt good from the off. First time out I wore them all day, totally perfect design and very comfortable. The fabrics used are light and feel superior.

April 21, 2021

Great Shorts, OK liner

Shorts are great, decided to order a size up based on the reviews. They fit just right and give me ample room to loosen or tight the waistband. The liner is the weakest link, they are TIGHT and don't really have a lot of room up front. All in all I wish they sold the shorts separately as I would buy another pair ASAP

April 20, 2021

Great short

From other reviewers who indicated these shorts run small, I ordered a 36 (normally I wear a 34) They are a little big around the waist but easily adjustable to fit perfectly. What I like: The hook and pocket waist adjustment, the button and zipper fly rather than snap and or velcro, and the fabric moves with me but doesn't lose its shape. Wha... Read Moret I don't like: I wish the inseam was shorter, not everyone rocks knee pads, front pockets could be deeper. Small gripes in a great short!

April 14, 2021

Great pair of shorts, liner could use some work

I absolutely love these dirt craft bike shorts- great fit, not too baggy, but not super tight either- just right. The removable liner portion however could use some adjustment. I'm 5'8, slender build, and usually wear size 28 waist pants/shorts. I had originally purchased the size 28 version of these shorts, which fit well too, but the li... Read Morener was SUPER small. I upgraded to the 30" short hoping the liner size would be better. It is, but just barely. I'm hoping with a few washes and use the liner will stretch out a bit, but on first use it is pretty tight.

April 12, 2021

Durable yet light weight

Great movement and stretch in these riding shorts. The material is pretty light weight and abrasion resistant. Bought this short for some cross country rides and they are perfect for longer rides in the saddle.

April 10, 2021

Another fantastic Patagonia product

Great shorts... love the adjustability in the waist, material is light but durable and allows for full fluid movement.

April 8, 2021

MTB shorts

I have a big round butt so my normal size waist 34 was too tight. Big thighs too so went up to a 36 so my fit was better but shorts are a bit long. Be nice if u offered short length options. IE...short standard and long

April 6, 2021

Weird sizing but versatile

I normally wear a 30 in Patagonia board shorts, so when I read that this combo bike short and liner ran small I ordered a few sizes. The 32 was what I felt most comfortable buying though I NEVER get a 32, in anything. If you can get past the weird sizing, the PRO things to consider are: the removable liner means you can take it or leave it (or use ... Read Moreit with another pair of shorts), and you'll still have the lightweight and pretty comfy shorts to kick around in. The zipper pocket on the left side is perfect for a fat iPhone and the adjustable belt loops are, well, ok. But you may not need them if your shorts fit like mine do. The not-entirely-awesome but acceptable NON-PRO parts: the little front pockets aren't really gonna do you any favors, they're pretty shallow. And the liner, though well-padded, is kinda see-thru on the sides. So unless that's the look you're going for, I'd cover them up with something when you hit the trails.

April 6, 2021

Get em

I have four of these. The liners are great. Mesh of sorts on parts of the leg. The outer shorts have little adjustable straps for the waist. Pockets for hands, or hanging out. Side pocket for phone. Use the outer layer for hiking or swimming. Multi usable on a trip

April 1, 2021

Great Shorts

Good fit, well made

March 18, 2021

Best summer mtb shorts

These have become my go to for all but cold mtb days. Lightweight, but tough, they feel great. The liner is comfortable, and great for long rides. I have 2 sets. Hoping for a third, as I really dont care to use any of my others.

March 16, 2021

Super comfortable, waist size runs kind of small

Super comfortable, waist size runs kind of small!!! Still very happy with my pants!!!

February 21, 2021

Great product

Great shorts, the size was spot on.

January 28, 2021

Run small but fantastic

Fast becoming my favorite shorts/ liners for long trail rides. I wear a 33-34 pant and had to trade out to an XL in these since they fit small. Wish there were more zippered pockets on them but otherwise 5/5

January 28, 2021

True to fit

These shorts are very comfortable for long rides, are just right in the crotch such that there is nothing to catch the saddle, and are a great length. Although I havent ridden with knee pads, I dont think they would interfere. My only critique is that they are truly a 36 with no give. You can always move the waist band in- but there is no elastic i... Read Moref you want more space. Probably should have ordered a 38. Im 62, 255 lbs with a 36 waist.

January 16, 2021

Excellent short. Run tiny or Im thicker than Id like to admit

Great short. Very lightweight. Very durable. Great size adjustability. Great stretch. I wear a 33-34 in most all pants. I have legs and a butt, but am athletic, not fat. The 33 in this short wasnt even button-able around my waist. I went with a 36 and Im I have plenty of room to tighten them as they stretch over time. 35 probably would have been ... Read Moreperfect.

December 30, 2020

excellent, with room for improvement

I don't usually take the time for reviews unless a product is either great or terrible. These shorts are exceptionally tough and comfortable. I purchased them in April 2018 and have worn them nearly every ride since. They've been through wrecks that have bruised ribs and broken bones, and are still going strong today with minimal signs of... Read More wear. The fit is slim (for me)--I could probably get away with a 31, but I have more meat in the hips. The 32 gives me room to move without needing to tighten the waist cinch to the max. The liner is the weakest link, mostly because it doesn't have a ton of room for male anatomy. I'd prefer more of a pouch shape up front. Otherwise, the liner shows only a little more wear than the shorts, and remains functional. Well done. I'll buy another pair if these ever fall apart.

December 15, 2020

Great riding shorts

The sign of great riding shorts, is that you don't notice them while riding. If you're noticing them, then they're distracting and bugging you in some way. I don't notice these at all. They just do the job well. They fit well, they stay up, they don't catch on the saddle as you move around. To begin with I was a little worr... Read Moreied that I wouldn't get on with the pad. It rubbed & chafed a little on the first few rides. But it's settled down now and I really don't notice it. Feeling comfortable on everything from quick lunch time rides on local techy trails to pushing out 50 mile days while bikepacking on multi day or week long trips. I do carry spare liner shorts to change out after a few days. And will get some Patagonia Endless ride liners when the current spares (from another brand) wear out. The simple features work well. I love a durable zip fly and button closure. No fancy closures to break. The quality metal clasps and sewn webbing side adjusters work really well and are easy to use. they sit flat and are unnoticeable under a hip belt. No horrible velcro! The front pockets are ideal for on and off bike casual use. The zipped thigh pocket is ideal for secure, easy access to my phone and doesn't bounce around. I've used these shorts all season for my own personal riding, for work and the outer shorts for casual wear as they are so easy wearing and comfy. I work as a Mountain Bike Ranger looking after and managing mtb trails in North Wales in the UK. So I appreciate kit that is simple, comfortable and hard wearing. There is no signs of wear so far which is pretty impressive considering the muddy conditions they have to endure. I've lost count of the amount of shorts I've got through over the years. I can't think of any that have been great. They've all had one problem or some kind of niggle or simply haven't lasted even a season. The Dirt Crafters however are in a different league. I've not used any of my other shorts (from other brands) since buying these, so I'll need to get another pair for wash & wear after the winter. I can't honestly think of any negatives. The lower leg hem of the inner shorts could be a touch more snug to sit flat against my lower quads. But as soon as I pull the outer shorts on, I don't notice it and forget about it. So I can hardly call it a negative! Great shorts Patagonia. Top marks!

December 15, 2020

Great for trails, could double as casual wear

I could use a bit more cinch from the waistband to counter my middle-aged shape, but the shorts are otherwise excellent. The chamois pads well, the zip pocket holds my cell phone unnoticeably, and they are comfortable to ride in. I've also worn the shorts minus the chamois for casual rides and that's comfortable also. I like the seam arra... Read Morengement, it seems well designed.

December 5, 2020

Great Riding Shorts

The shorts and liner fit great. Going to purchase another pair when the weather warns up. Two thumps up!

December 3, 2020

Awesome shorts

These shorts are great. I wear them for mountain biking & hiking. Super comfy and move well with you. Only complaint is they run a little small. I first ordered a 31 - cause I have a pair of Landfarer shorts in that size that fit perfect - and had to return for a 33.

November 14, 2020

These shorts are great

You know its a great product when you put something on and then dont think about it for the entire ride. These shorts and the liner have been amazing. I've used them at downhill park rides and XC trail rides. I have 2 pairs and will prob buy more next season.

November 9, 2020

Sizing Off

So excited to see my favorite brand start developing clothing for my favorite sport. However I have tried both of their riding shorts and both have serious sizing problems. Neither are close to being my favorite riding shorts, and considering the price that's a real bummer. The Dirt Craft Shorts are too tight. It is frustrating to see a very c... Read Moreool hook and webbing waist adjustment system added to a pair of shorts that are so tight the feature is useless. The shorts are also too tight throughout the entire fit, and makes putting a phone in the pocket uncomfortable while pedaling. Considering the chamois fits well, and even a bit big, the over short being so tight was such a disappointment.

October 10, 2020

Sell separately without the liner!

Great shorts especially compared to the dirt roamer which has an ill conceived waist cinch. Basically it cinches but doesn't stay cinched. But that's another review. The dirt roamer is durable and solid all around and has a much better waist adjustment. The problem is paying extra for a chamois that doesn't fit. Size 33-34" wais... Read Moret and the chamois was waaayyy too tight. Selling them separately would make a lot more sense, no?

September 23, 2020

Updating previous review. Can't recommend

Updating my previous review from sept 21 and taking it down a notch. Went for a ride with the included liner this time. Its too 3-4 inches too short! The liner constantly crept up to mid thigh, and I was always wanting to pull them down. Turns out the included liner is size medium with a size 33, and there are no grips around the thighs to keep the... Read Morem in place. The inseam is ~7-8 inches , which is about three inches shorter than my go to liners and too short for a six foot person. Will try to return them for larger liner, although without thigh grippers, they will probably creep as well. Really don't think this category is run by a mountain biker.

September 21, 2020

Order one size up. First ride seems good

Ordered these as a replacement for the poorly made Dirt Roamer shorts (avoid!). They seem much better built and only slightly heavier, so these are the best bet in the lineup, although I feel the three options are not very good overall. Order one size larger than you need so you have room to adjust the waist band in either direction. I ordered my p... Read Moreroper size and there is no room to loosen them if I have too many post ride burritos. Oddly the Dirt Roamers seem to run well larger than size. Positives - three pockets, pretty lightweight, seams are fully stitched and should last much longer than Dirt Roamer. Appears durable enough for the lightweight category. Negatives - Front pockets rather shallow, should be sold w/ out a liner. Liners are a dime a dozen, and I wear the much better Troy Lee's w/ built in hip and thigh pads, so these liners are an extra expense likely many experienced riders don't need. The two front pockets are pretty shallow, so don't put anything in there that you can't afford to lose while riding. Fine for walking around though. Don't want to sound overly negative, but Patagonia are just not managing this category well, and after 30 years of purchasing their products, I'm allowed to be honest if they have my hard earned money. Every mtb short in the Men's category is a miss. You can do much better with a little thought. If I didn't have a credit to burn, I would have asked for a full refund and shopped elsewhere. Will be interesting to see if Patagonia published this review, as they seem to be slow to add the not-so-rosy ones. Happy riding.

September 17, 2020

Great Pair of Shorts

These shorts have been terrific for me. The liner works well and is comfortable. The shorts do run small. I usually wear a 32 inch waist across all of my pants/shorts, but the 32 in these shorts was too small. I went to the 34 and did a little adjusting with the hook and loop system on the side, and the shorts fit perfectly. These shorts are versat... Read Moreile as they wear and look great off the bike without the liner.

September 14, 2020

Perfect for my needs

I love the stretchiness of the shorts, and the fact that they generally stay in place - no worries about catching on my seat as I'm moving around. As others have noted, they run a bit small.

September 13, 2020

Poor sizing

The adjustable belt is useless as the size 30 is exactly 30 inches when the belt is completely open. Had two shipped from the US to Europe where I live as I couldnt find them here. I use them and like them but if I eat a few big meals, they might not fit anymore.....pity.

September 10, 2020

Fits right, looks good

The included liner is well padded and excellent quality. I ride multiple times per week and it is my new favorite. Also has convenient pockets including a secure zipper pocket. You will not be disappointed!

September 2, 2020

Great Shorts

Awesome shorts, ride with them daily. Not only do they stand up to use better than competitors but the chamois is far more comfortable after countless trail rides than any competitor

September 2, 2020

Versatile short

Originally bought for mountain biking but with the liner out these are great climbing shorts and work well for casual days in town.

August 14, 2020

Smiling and Styling

I used these shorts (with some Endless Ride liners) for gravel biking and mountain biking, where I need to be in the saddle for hours of up and down but don't want to look like I'm riding the Tour de France.

August 6, 2020

Awesome MTB shorts but...

I have a number of other Patagonia items that I wear so I was super excited to be able to purchase something specific to mountain biking! The shorts are super comfortable and light with an added bonus that water drips away when wet! The liner feels great and really compliments the shorts! However, after my 6th ride, in noticed the stitching below t... Read Morehe zipper started to unravel, which is where a lot of the movement happens on a mountain bike. For the price point, I would expect these shorts to last longer than it did and it's such a bummer because these shorts are really comfortable.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2020

Hi Rex, we're sorry to hear about the untimely wear on your Dirt Crafts. We'd be happy to help out with a repair or return. You welcome to begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 7, 2020

Perfect for long days in the saddle!

My primary shorts during a recent 2 day bike tour! Liners are very comfortable even after 10+ hours in the saddle. Side hip pocket works well for a phone. Front pockets ample for energy gels or other small items. We stopped to swim during the day, and I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly the liners dried. Heed the advice to order up - the ladd... Read Moreer webbing adjustment is great - lots of flexibility, Overall great design, and worth the price!

July 6, 2020

Liner is a bummer

Shorts seemed great but after taking them on a ride its clear that without something around the bottom of the liner to grip your leg, they're useless. The liners ride up and get really uncomfortable and have to be adjusted multiple times over the ride. Wish I had just gotten the dirt roamer shorts and saved some money.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2020

We thank you for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that the liners aren't working for you. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us, you are welcome to.

June 17, 2020

Great shorts. Liner could be better.

I love the shorts. Fit, feel and function are great. The liner is where I have my gripes. Compared to the length of the shorts, the liner needs to be longer. I would also highly recommend a "gasket" be added to the end of the liner so they do not migrate up the thigh while riding. With larger quads, the liners end sliding up my thigh near... Read More my hip. Bottom line: I wear the shorts, but have ditched the liner.

June 3, 2020

Shallow Pockets

Im a standard 30/small waist in all Patagonia and I wear these in a 32. Im a big fan of the cut (perfect for knee pads), however I wish the material was a 4 way stretch. My biggest complaint is the pocket depth. There really is no excuse for why its so shallow. If youre going to have the front pocket, you should be able to fit a phone in it comfort... Read Moreably. Hoping for an update on the next iteration.

May 27, 2020

Great shorts

I bought my first pair 2 years ago and have worn them 2-3 times per week spring through fall. My go to mtb shorts. I bought a second pair this year so I can wash my other pair ;) My first pair other than a blood stain look basically bran new, the liners have stretched a bit, but it hasn't affected the fit. Great shorts, and I highly recommend!... Read More

May 14, 2020

Waist too tight, legs too big

I have to agree with other reviewers. The waist on these shorts felt a touch tight, but the legs were far to long and baggy. What I got looked nothing like the pictures on the website, which is too bad because I had high hopes for the liner.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2020

We are sorry to hear that these weren't what you had expected and that they aren't fitting well. Please note, you're welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything back to us that you're unsatisfied with.

May 8, 2020

True to size exactly, but consider buying a size up

These shorts are precisely tailored; true to fit 100% (I measured two pairs). Because these shorts have an adjustable system, but an inelastic waistline otherwise (the tightest adjustment will be inelastic) I'd recommend getting a size-up from your normal preference for waist-dimensions in a pant/short. You can always cinch them up a bit, but ... Read Moregoing too small is unforgiving with these shorts. Other than that, these shorts are so great: lots of pocket space, very durable, light, and perfect for riding or hiking!

May 8, 2020

Great shorts, short pockets not so much.

I bought a pair of these and loved them so I ordered another pair. Great quality construction, adjustable waist, nice cycling pad. Second pair came with front pockets 2/3 the depth of the first pair. I used to wear Patagonia pants of all sorts but the pockets keep shrinking while phones keep getting larger. Why do pockets keep shrinking? Am I the o... Read Morenly person that puts my phone in my front pocket? Great shorts though.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

Thanks for the feedback, Jake! The Men's Dirt Craft shorts are now on their third iteration since 2017, so it's possible you have two slightly different designs. Many riders use a hip pack or back pack instead of pockets, but if you find the size of those pockets to be a deal-breaker we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

April 28, 2020

Nothing SHORT of awesome

I've had these shorts for about 5 years now and I have ABUSED them. They've handled everything I can throw at them. Biking for hours on end, season after season. Whether you're on a seemingly never ending ascent or an increasingly questionable descent they are the perfect combo between ventilation and durability. Take out the liners ... Read Moreand BOOM a solid pair of climbing and hiking shorts. They are my go to attire for my legs from spring to fall no matter the activity.

April 25, 2020

Excellent shorts!

I have only work these shorts once, so not a long term review but I have to say that these shorts are spot on. The chamois is high quality, comfortable, light, and breathable. The outer shorts have great features and have nothing that needs removing. Pockets are well positioned and not over-sized. The tailored knee gives coverage in the front w... Read Morehere needed, but doesn't have extra fabric in the back that will annoy the back of your leg. Nothing gets in the way. These are perfect shorts for an all-day ride and are casual enough that you don't look like the bike nerd that you are. I would buy a second pair.

March 15, 2020

Dirt Craft Shorts Rip!

Got these shorts to replace my ancient chamois and shorts combo for mountain biking and bikepacking. Outta the box they looked great and the quality was on point. Im a 31 and ordered the 32 and they fit perfect with the far out adjustment system. Chamois is very comfy and breathes great. After a long day in the saddle I was still stoked on them! Th... Read Moreanks Patagonia!

March 2, 2020

Great mountain bike shorts

First ride out in Dirt Craft shorts. Very soft comfortable material with good liner shorts, which provided good padding. As always with Patagonia products, great quality.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches