burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Better Sweater™ Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 817 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Better Sweater™ Jacket

4.5/5
Kinda Large
November 15, 2022

Long bulky and expensive

I thought being at the price point it was made by who it was this without only keep me very warm but if it would be spot on. None of the above. Very disappointing.

November 12, 2022

Like all Patagonia products, this

Like all Patagonia products, this lives up to its description: Its warm. its comfortable, and its wearable.

November 11, 2022

This sweater is amazingly soft and warm - get one

This was my first Patagonia product. It is so comfortable that I do not want to take it off. The pigeon blue color looks awesome, too, and I'm glad that I chose it. After purchasing this sweater, one other sweater, and a jacket, I can say that the quality of Patagonia's products is amazing.

November 9, 2022

Great product

Would definitely recommend

November 5, 2022

Second one

Love this jacket. Got one as a gift but lost. Ordered replacement. Runs a little big but love.

November 4, 2022

Elegant and comfortable.

Nice relaxed fit, comfortable to wear anywhere from church to the office.

November 4, 2022

Comfortable

I really love my new jacket . Its very comfortable and also warm . Its a perfect Jacket for the unpredictable fall weather of SanFrancisco California.

November 4, 2022

So comfortable

Fits awesome, very comfortable! So stylish and many complements

November 3, 2022

Extremely Comfortable and Warm

This is hands down the warmest and most comfort fleece I have ever warn 10/10 would recommend.

November 2, 2022

Solid Office or Outdoors item

This is the perfect piece to throw on when you get an unexpected zoom call while WFH. Super comfy and rather professional / stylish for the PNW anyway .

November 2, 2022

Great fit

This fits true to style Im a larger guy with broad shoulders 6ft 230lbs and its a pretty great jacket. Love the fit and the warmth.

November 1, 2022

Excellent quality

I love my sweater is warm fits me perfect Im 5ft11 inches and the large size is perfect I highly recommended

October 31, 2022

Not like the previous products

I own 3-4 of the fleece sweaters and they're very warm. This new version unfortunately isn't. They must have changed the type of fabric used, it doesn't insulate you from the cold air, it's not as dense as the previous versions.

Response from Patagonia
November 4, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear this fleece jacket has been a disappointment. You can return it to one of our [Patagonia-owned retail stores in your area](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/) or reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to help with the return and to recommend a different fleece jacket!

October 29, 2022

Always the best

I continue to order from Patagonia because the quality, wearability and comfort are consistent. The form of this jacket after being worn and laundered is just the same as when it came out of the package knew. Other quality garments begin the same but do not stand up to the test of time.

October 28, 2022

Fabric got very "pilly" after light wear.

I got this jacket last spring and wore it on and off for a few months before putting away for the summer. It has "pilled" something awful, especially on the undersides of the sleeves and near the pocket areas. I would not have expected this from such an expensive jacket. I like the style and fit, but would never purchase again or recommen... Read Mored due to the poor quality of the fabric. I would expect this from a cheap jacket but not a Patagonia jacket.

October 26, 2022

I have had this for

I have had this for just a few weeks and it is pilling on the back of all places? I wasn't expecting the fabric to show any wear?

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2022

Hi Chris! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the jacket has started pilling after a few weeks. We typically recommend machine washing on warm and laying flat to dry to reduce pilling. In addition, a great tool to remove pilling that has already occurred is a sweater stone. That said, we've reached out to you directly with some warranty return assistance.

October 25, 2022

A great jacket, body and

A great jacket, body and sleeve length are just right, the color is very nice. On the other hand, the shipping carrier left a lot to be desired with confusing email notices and leaving my package at the garage door overnight...

October 24, 2022

Ms Better sweater jacket

Great fleece, true to size, warm and can be a great under garment for the torrent shell waterproof jacket.

October 24, 2022

1st time order

I really like the top. Good in a lot of different temperatures and looks good too.

October 23, 2022

Perfect fit

Usually I find jackets and shirts either fit me with too much room in the body (medium or large size) or the arms are too short (small size). This item fits me in the body and the arms are long enough to be the perfect fit.

October 21, 2022

My favorite light jacket

The sleeves are a bit long but othewise, this jacket is so warm and comfortable. Plus, it looks good.

October 20, 2022

Not too shabby

I like it a lot. Well-made, comfortable and lovely design. So far so good. The only thing I would say is missing is a drawstring round the bottom

October 19, 2022

Not sure why this product

Not sure why this product is so skimpy! Both my wife and I each own a quarter zip and a cardigan. We are both slender and dont understand why they are so thin. Active wear should be made for ease of movement.

Response from Patagonia
October 21, 2022

Hey Roger, thanks for the review. This particular fleece jacket has a regular fit, but some of our other products in the Better Sweater line have a slim fit. It was simply a design choice, and of our fleeces this line is considered more casual/everyday rather than technical. We recommend using the filter options on our website to see other fleeces in a relaxed fit that you might prefer. Here are [all relaxed options](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-fleece?prefn1=fit&prefv1=relaxed) for our men's fleeces.

October 19, 2022

Excellent quality

Fleece is not only very warm, it looks and feels high quality. Well worth it

October 18, 2022

Bloody brilliant.

Thank you for your service Patagonia, I have always been a devout advocate of yours and always will be. Keep up the inspirational work.

October 17, 2022

I would like a more

I would like a more relaxed fit. I am a little more portly and find most slightly fitted too small. Love the product not the fir.

October 17, 2022

Perfect for casual wear or at work!

Perfect for casual wear or at work!

October 17, 2022

I like the product overall

I like the product overall quite a bit but I dont understand the super tall interior pocket. Its fairly unusable as anything put in it drops to the bottom and takes gymnastics or taking off the sweater to get it out. Not clear of this is a mistake or intended.

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2022

Hi Fritz! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the interior pocket. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 16, 2022

Perfect fit!

As a smaller person always looking for a good fit, now very happy with this item in XS.

October 16, 2022

Great quality, great fit

Great quality, great fit

October 11, 2022

Almost too warm for early

Almost too warm for early fall. Very comfortable

October 11, 2022

D

Outstanding quality, perfect fit!

October 7, 2022

Super soft but just one thing

This is a super soft sweater and is great for cool weather. My only con which isnt really a con its more of me nitpicking is the sleeves have a line that runs down and makes the arms itchy. Besides that great product!

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2022

Hey Evan, thank you for the review. We appreciate the attention to detail, and we'll notify our product team of your observations. If the itching gets to be too much, feel free to begin a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 6, 2022

Great look and feel.

The sleeves are a tad too long, but overall it's a great Fall/Spring jacket. The primary reason behind the purchase is Patagonia's commitment to our world. My wife loves it on me.

September 30, 2022

Great Idea

Combining fleece with sweater type material is brilliant. It feels warm and the fit is comfortable, and it looks great. Perfect during the cool shoulder seasons and as a layer in the winter.

September 29, 2022

Great jacket

Great jacket

September 28, 2022

Stop Looking for a Mid Weight Fleece Jacket - now

I have no idea what took me so long. Being a CO person I see the BSFJ everywhere. What's that about ? Well... Patagonia fit is literally spot on for me. It looks amazing, even has that CO cache of sustainability. Yeah, people comment on the jacket AND the fact I am environmentally aware (I am). By itself on 40 degree to 50 degree days over ... Read Moreshorts and a tee, layered under a shell for mid weight winter use, and on and on. I gave 3 fleece pullovers/jackets away as a result of the style versatility and functionality of the BSFJ. Buy it now, support mother earth, cull your wardrobe, I mean really, why wait ?

September 16, 2022

All around fall/winter essential

Big fan of the better sweater. Just picked up this jacket to add to the repertoire. Good warmth, enough room to add a base layer underneath. Solid Patagonia product

September 14, 2022

Comfortable, perfect quality, perfect size, just perfect!!

Very happy with it

September 10, 2022

Great daily jacket

This is my first better sweater jacket and it met my expectations for a warm jacket good for the transition to colder weather. It can be worn as an everyday jacket. My only concern is that the wind can penetrate through the jacket, so I will need an outer shell on windy days.

September 3, 2022

Three season weight for Tennessee

Bought to replace my raggedy lightweight jacket for a trip to the mountains of Guatemala. The Better Sweater is just the right warmth for Tennessee winters and tropical mountains (60 during the day, 40s at night). Also just right to layer with long sleeve tee and heavy coat for more extreme conditions. The pockets are handy and located out of the w... Read Moreay of backpack straps.

August 28, 2022

Good stuff!

Good stuff!

August 21, 2022

Great Fleece

It is incredibly lightweight but also very warm. It will also roll up and fit in my bag easily for hiking and late nights stargazing.

August 19, 2022

Very nice

I love different jackets, this was a just because I wanted it lol. But I really like this , very good buy

August 15, 2022

Nice Sweater

Really nice good fitting Sweater

August 14, 2022

Temperate

I wanted a jacket that would not be too hot nor too cold with changes in the San Francisco micro-climates and this fits that perfectly. Was pleasantly surprised how warm it was for it's thickness but it does have the drawback of being a bit itchy to the skin. Still would recommend.

August 9, 2022

Nice jacket

A great casual jacket for cooler temps. The fit is fairly slim, so I think you can fit only a t-shirt under it, at least in the sleeves. I actually think that's great since I'm pretty slim and some of Patagonia's casual jackets fit me like an umbrella. Black color is more of a really nice dark gray. Highly recommended as an all-aro... Read Moreund casual jacket for cooler weather or even colder temps depending on how warm you run or what else you layer over it.

August 7, 2022

Warm sweater for everyday wear

Warm sweater for everyday wear specially for early morning wear. Arm length is perfect for my height. Very comfortable. Got so many nice comments about sweater color

July 28, 2022

Great Casual Jacket

Great jacket for those cooler days at the beach or hiking through the woods. Stops cold breezes pretty well. I like the chest pocket to put receipts and other small items so they are not cluttering your hand-warming pockets. The jacket has held up well except for minor pilling at rub points. Overall great jacket to have.

July 25, 2022

The product is great however

The product is great however the size is kind of funny. The M is kinda small, and the L is kinda too big. I wish there is another fit.

July 12, 2022

Cool Look

This sweater is perfect for casual wear or the workplace. Can easily be dressed up or down!

July 6, 2022

as expected. bought an identical

as expected. bought an identical jacket about 12-15 years ago which I unfortunately lost the other day. Was so happy with this one that I bought the same one again now.

July 3, 2022

Fit

I usually wear Large, but I like to be fit, and medium is fit for me for 5'10''. if you like little bigger i recommend large. but the material itself stretches out.

June 30, 2022

Patagonia fleece

Looks good, has all the pockets needed comfortable, good sizing and best of all produced ethically.

June 29, 2022

Cozy

I love wearing my better sweater at work and when I go boating.

June 21, 2022

Perfect casual sweater

Wonderful cool weather sweater. Highly recommend.

June 7, 2022

Very comfortable light jacket

This jacket is my favorite to wear when the weather gets down to 50/60s. Its soft and warm, looks great, and I really like sporting a brand whos dedicated to a good cause. I am 5'8 180# and i bought the medium, and it fits perfectly.

May 30, 2022

Secretly, I want one of my own!

I bought this item as a gift for my son. He enjoys the outdoors and I think this jacket is perfect for him. He is a polar bear and always feels too warm. The classic look and cozy feel make it a winner.

May 20, 2022

MAJOR DESIGN FLAW

Both my Fiance and I ended up getting rid of our Better Sweaters due to the awkward fact that they seem to be VERY poorly designed in the armpit/shoulder area. I literally cannot wear this jacket (XL) with any XL shirt because it feels like im wearing a medium jacket over an extra-large shirt.... it just doesnt make sense. My windproof jackets from... Read More Patagonia (ex. Nano Puff) do not have this issue. I will have to stick to windproof material jackets from Patagonia in the future because their fleece jacket designs make me so uncomfortable that i want to just jump right out of my skin!!! I have this same issue with my Better Sweater Marsupial Pullover. Really hoping Patagonia can mitigate this issue in the future... :(

Response from Patagonia
May 24, 2022

We're sorry to hear these Better Sweater Jackets have been so uncomfortable for you both! You noted that you no longer have them, and please remember you're always welcome to return anything that isn't working for you. Thank you for this feedback, Kyle. Please let us know if we can help in any way!

May 14, 2022

Perfect transition jacket.

Perfect transition garment for either Winter into Spring or Summer into Fall. Quality construction.

May 9, 2022

Nice

Dont even think about low dryer. It shrinks. Hang it outside,

May 4, 2022

Ugh! The pilling!

This jacket looks fantastic. Really, just makes you look better. One of my neighbors saw me in it and immediately bought one for her partner. Alas, it started pilling like crazy. Not sure how/why. (It was hung next to an older/never-pilling fleece). If it didn't pill. Ugh! You broke ... me back down to my old fleece. Ended up donating it. ...

May 2, 2022

Very flexible and surprisingly warm

I wear mine primarily playing golf on cold mornings. This sweater is now my go-to. It is not bulky, moves with me without any restriction, blocks wind and keeps me very comfortable.

May 1, 2022

Feels good

Fabric feels good, just right for slightly warmer temps.

April 28, 2022

Best sweater ever

I've never owned any Patagonia gear prior to this purchase. I can now understand why so many people love Patagonia clothing, it's high quality, great feel and fit. Patagonia is my new favorite clothing brand!!

April 26, 2022

Great jacket could use tall sizes

Love this jacket. Works for every situation. The only thing that could make this better is tall sizes

April 23, 2022

Comfortable and Looks Great

I own five Men's Better Sweater Fleece Jackets now. Very comfortable, provides good warmth on cooler breezy days with the addition of a long sleeved t-shirt. The Jacket in Industrial Green is my new favorite. Over the years there seems to have been some inconsistency in the sizing of the the body and sleeve length (longer). My new jacket seems... Read More to be a true size XL.

April 13, 2022

Soft and warm

Its become my everyday use in the winter,fall, spring, and any other chilly day. The material is soft and comfortable yet keeps you warm. Love it!

April 12, 2022

Super Comfortable

I purchased my first sweater jacket while on a cruise when I needed something to keep me warm. It fit the bill perfectly. The fit and comfort are excellent. Purchased two more.

April 11, 2022

Great fit and comfortable

Love the feel of this jacket, it is super comfortable and fits really well.

April 8, 2022

Best item of clothing that I own

I do not often write reviews, but I feel compelled to for the better sweater. This is singularly the most versatile and most used item of clothing that I wear and own. It fits true to size, keeps its shape, is packable, and supremely comfortable. It is a very breathable material, and know that it allows wind to cut through it, but on the flipside i... Read Moret breathes very well. It can be worn with a short or long sleeve t-shirt or thin sweater underneath, as layered under a harder shell jacket- it is a good middle layer. It fits in the office or the trail, and layers well. Over the past several years, I have worn this effectively every day during pandemic isolation, travel, and camping trips, and to the office and is now a wardrobe staple. I am 5'11" about 170lb and size medium is perfect. In black, it goes with everything. I could not recommend this enough, and in fact purchased a better sweater for my father.

April 6, 2022

Love the sweater but annoyed with the pilling issue

I love my better sweater. I use it almost everyday. It fits well and I feel good to support a brand which protects our environment and uses sustainable practices in its supply chain. However the pilling issue is real. I started noticing pilling on the back side of the sweater just 1 week after i purchased it. This is because i was wearing a backpac... Read Morek which causes friction and the fabric pills. This is understandable but I don't expect this to happen for an expensive sweater from a reputed brand like Patagonia. I heard from the store associate that a lot of people have the same issue and a lot of my friends have the same issue. This is not great both for me because I expect good quality from Patagonia and also this adds to the carbon footprint of the company, think about all the returns of this product. Please make a new version where u solve the pilling problem. I love the jacket and want to get it if u can solve the pilling problem.

Response from Patagonia
April 7, 2022

Hi Madhav! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear how your jacket started to pill. Like all fleeces, the Better Sweater has a tendency to pill. Due to the knit appearance of the face fabric of this particular item, this pilling can be more noticeable. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. All of that said, this feedback is truly appreciated. We always want to do our best to produce the most durable product possible. We've shared this with our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 2, 2022

Very comfortable

This sweater keeps me wam, even when the temperatures drop into the 30's with moist air. Very comfortable and lots of pockets (with zippers for security). Just an exceptional sweater over all. Can't recommend this highly enough!

April 1, 2022

Warm, but weird sizing and pills

Overall fit in finish of the jacket is decent. My zippers feels a little cheap and sticky, but remain functional. I really wish they would add some pull strings to the bottom of these jackets considering they arent exactly a lightweight piece to begin with. See sizing comments below. As for the longevity of the piece: I expected a little bit of pil... Read Moreling with this kind of fleece, but this iteration seems to be much worse than other better sweaters that Ive had in the past. The bottom of my jacket sees the most wear for some odd reason. Ive only had it a few months, washed it probably five times and it already looks like trash. I suppose I could go at it with a de-pilling apparatus, but I dont know.. Id be willing to sacrifice sustainability for a bit better build that I wouldnt have to take care of so much. The fit is properly sized up at the arms and shoulders, but it definitely has that defined belly bulge that caters to those who uh.. well, the American waistline, lets say. For me, it works - but just. Again, the pull strings would help retain more warmth from escaping the bottom of the jacket if the design is to remain bell-like at the bottom. Try before you buy and be aware that youll probably have to buy a sweater shaver to care for it as part of your routine. I can still recommend it because its warm and mostly fits well (probably will fit the vast majority of folks), but there are some glaring sustainability and firmest issues that I thought Patagonia would have ironed out at this point in this products life.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2022

All fleece is subject to pilling, and the knit fabric of the Better Sweater makes it no exception. To help prevent pills we recommend handwashing in cold water and laying flat to dry. If you use a machine, use the gentle cycle but be wary of abrasion. This will also help keep the jacket in good condition. In addition to a fabric shaver you can also try a sweater stone but even a simple razor will remove pills with enough patience and care. We appreciate your comments Andy, and if you're not completely satisfied we're happy to help you with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 31, 2022

Awesome

Great , I use it for every occasion

March 31, 2022

Super blousy

Tall people with large chests or athletic build this fits poorly. Fits perfect in the chest but the waist is wicked blousy. Might try to get it tailored since the 2x is too small in the chest

March 30, 2022

Warm but

This sweater has a nice thickness and warm for cold days however, it piles/lint balls with minimal wear. The sweater also runs large to size but also easily shrinks in the dryer. Pros: Warm, comfortable Cons: Easy to get pile/lint balls, expensive, large not pre-shrunk

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2022

Hi Alma! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We greatly appreciate this feedback, and we're happy to hear it's kept you warm on cold days. That said, its definitely a bummer to hear that the sweater has started to pill. We encourage our customers to wash it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. Also, a sweater stone/sweater shaver is a great tool to remove pilling that has already occurred. Of course, if you're unhappy with the appearance of the sweater you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 29, 2022

Better sweater is excellent

Love his sweater! The fit. The feel. Everything about it is excellent

March 28, 2022

Killer

I really like this jacket. Its super comfortable and I can easily wear it with a t shirt and jeans or with a button down and slacks. I got a large because I have a long torso and fairly broad shoulders. I suspect other guys my height might prefer a medium if they have a more average torso length/shoulder width.

March 25, 2022

Wonderful Stylish medium warmth

I loved this so much I bought another one in a different color. Looks sharp and provides great warmth.

March 25, 2022

Very warm

Comfortable and warm

March 24, 2022

Sleeves fit slim, body too big

I love Patagonia products. But this jacket just didnt work for me. I purchased a large. The arms were slim but the body was way too big. Sorry but didnt work for my build.

March 21, 2022

Great jacket

Great jacket to be used in the not as cold months. Pockets are all great and the fit is great. Only drawback would be to add pull strings along the bottom to give a more fitted look. Other than that great.

March 20, 2022

sufficiently warm

I was very disapointed when the zipper of the sweater jacked did not work. However Padagonia replaced it very promply. This econd try was perfect and fit is great. Thank you.

March 20, 2022

Fantastic

Very warm and comfortable jacket.

March 19, 2022

Very nice

The jacket is awesome, get a lot of compliments on it, and it makes me feel good. I wish I had ordered a large because it runs small on me. Unfortunately I took all of the tags off of it so I wont be able to send it back. 10/10 on the quality for sure

March 19, 2022

Nicer than earlier version in some ways

The fabric quality, fit and feel are nicer. the zippers are not as nice and the earlier version had a chin guard at the top of the zipper, a nice feature for bearded wearers like me.

March 18, 2022

Stylish, Comfortable and Practical

Warm and comfortable with good resistance to moderate wind. Regulates well for hiking. The large interior pocket was a welcome surprise. Stylish enough to wear for nice occasions.

March 17, 2022

Great Sweater

Great Sweater, only one request, the forearms are a little tight over a shirt, if they were just a little larger that would be wonderful. Thanks.

March 17, 2022

Super comfortable

Keeps me warm on spring weather SoCal. Best sweater ever!

March 17, 2022

Great quality and warm

Excellent quality and a very warm sweater perfect for cold winter nights.

March 15, 2022

Sleeves Too Long

The garment itself is great. I love the material and style but the one thing that is wrong is the length of the sleeves. Sleeves are too long for the body of the garment. I liked it so much that I took mine to a tailor and had it altered. I did not like having the sleeves rolled up all the time. You could tell the sleeves were too long just by layi... Read Moreng it out on a flat surface. The sleeves were disproportionately long for the body of the sweater.

March 14, 2022

Great Sweater; Too Bad It didn't Fit

Nice sweater but the Medium was clearly too small and the large was clear too big. I bought a Medium M's Reclaimed Fleece Jkt which fit perfectly. This garment is mis-sized.

Response from Patagonia
March 22, 2022

Thank you for this review regarding the sizing of this jacket, Jerry. We're sorry neither of those fit you right! Please know you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you, and we'll try to hook you up with something that will work better for you.

March 13, 2022

comfort

Love the product. Comfortable and warm.

March 11, 2022

Long Sleeve Sweater

Sleeves are disproportionately long for the sweater. I would not buy again nor recommend.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Joseph. We're sorry to hear those sleeves were too long for you! We hope we can find something that will work better for you. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. You can always consult with our Customer Service Team, who can provide specific measurements for any garment, so you can feel confident about what you're purchasing.

March 9, 2022

Great jacket but...

I love this jacket. It's comfortable and goes with everything. However, it just doesn't look good past a year or two. This is my 3rd jacket. It pills really bad. I need to use a de-piller on it once a month or two. Then after a while it just always looks worn so I replace it. Very disappointing considering how much it costs and with the P... Read Moreatagonia name. I had someone stop me the other day with the same exact jacket and we talked about how much we loved them...but then he said does yours gets all the little pills on it? Yes, yes it does. Very annoying.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, and we're very sorry to hear about the disappointing experience with our Better Sweater. We're reaching out by email to follow up with you on a a solution.

February 28, 2022

Its good

It replaced my original dark green one. I like it

February 27, 2022

Perfect

Its perfect. Would like to see better colors. A plain red , yellow and blue.

February 27, 2022

Warm enough but questionable comfort

I bought this jacket primarily for work and the warmth it provides is sufficient for both outdoor and indoor activities. It's also light enough that I don't feel weighed down while performing procedures. The comfort as far as the main body is concerned is good. The one issue I've noticed however, in the time that I've had it is ... Read Morethe stitching on the INSIDE of the sleeves; It feels sharp and scratchy and overall extremely irritating on the skin when I have to move my arms. I'm not sure if my product is simply defective or if this is an issue on all of them. I am considering returning this jacket because of this problem.

February 26, 2022

M too Tight. L too Baggy

I'm 5' 9" and 175 lbs regular build. I tried th Medium and it was too tight in the shoulders and arms. Let like the fabric was grabbing onto my undershirt. I returned it and tried a large. The arms felt better but it hung down over my butt and when I sat down it was all bunched up in the belly and chest. I returned the large. Too bad... Read More, the material and general style is great. I'm going to try the Lightweight Better Sweater in large and keep my fingers crossed.

February 25, 2022

The Most Versatile Sweater Ever!

I consider myself a stylish guy but I don't wake up every day wanting to dress to the nines! Sometimes I wanna keep it casual, ya know?! That's where Patagonia's Better Sweater Fleece Jacket comes in handy. From running errands to grabbing dinner and drinks with friends and everything else in between, this jacket looks good in all en... Read Morevironments all year round. It's stylish, durable, warm, and just well built. You should buy one or two...or six like I did :)

February 25, 2022

Super comfortable and durable jacket

Really like the jacket I wear it everyday. Get compliments on it all the time and it helps me stay warm

February 24, 2022

Too boxy

The materials and solid build quality are what I have come to expect from Patagonia. I purchased a Medium (I have a medium build) and found it way too Boxy. Hung way down below the vest I wore over it. Definitely a "Dad-Fit". I gave it to my 75 year old dad. He loves it!

February 24, 2022

Really warm.

Nice material. It really warm you up.

February 22, 2022

Cozy and Stylish

I wear this from the moment I wake up to when I go to sleep! Comfortable inside and outside, easy to layer. A great jacket for all occasions.

February 21, 2022

Great jacket

I bought this for my dad for his birthday. He loves it. It is comfortable and looks great. His favorite thing about it however is that it's made from recycled bottles and fair trade.

February 19, 2022

Warm and confortable

Excellent choice for cool places and indoors

February 19, 2022

Toasty warm

Love the fit and the colors available . Can dress up or dress down . Pair of jeans and the wonderful jacket sweater looks very sharp Have gotten quite a few compliments!!

February 18, 2022

Warm and comfortable.

Its super comfortable and warm, I can wear it work casually or wear it on hikes.

February 17, 2022

Favorite Piece of Clothing

This jacket is my favorite piece of clothing. I've owned this Patagonia sweater for over 4 years now and it has held up like no other. I would recommend it to anyone.

February 14, 2022

Please don't change this sweater

This was my second sweater. It took me 10 years to wear out the previous one. The breast pocket was a nice improvement. I like these sweaters so much I bought one for my daughter. She agrees that it is probably the best sweater on the market.

February 13, 2022

Incredibly warm

Great jacket. Fits for all occasions. True to size. Highly recommend.

February 12, 2022

Amazing!

Warm, comfortable, durable. Love it. I don't know why I waited so long to purchase.

February 11, 2022

Splendid!

Another great example of how wonderful is Patagonia. Quality materials and craftsmanship. Consider sizing up for layering

February 11, 2022

Better Sweat Fleece jacket

I fit one navy jacket and find out the sleeve size between left and right are different. Left is more tight, it looks better when I try on the other one with better fitting. Nice jacket, not bulky. And keep warm, just wear tee at the bottom is fine. Workmanship is fair, but the fabric is great, the fleece side is on the back side, while the face i... Read Mores interlock without hairy. It looks clean and nice. Always not disappointing me for Patagonia items, great.

February 9, 2022

Sleek sweater jacket for work

Navy color and zippers and other materials are superior quality. Fits snug on me. I'm slim but wear an in-between size between Large and Medium. The large was too blousy. This fits close but fits well.

February 9, 2022

GReat a product!

A nice fit and a great degree of comfort.

February 7, 2022

Great jacket, poor sizing

I really liked the jacket materials, the style, everything...except the sizing. I'm a large in any other brand (and other Patagonia clothes) but this Large is huge -- long sleeves, big jacket. I tried the medium and it almost fit except it was tight around the body (and I'm slim). The medium fits like a very slim large in other jackets. S... Read Moreo I had to return it, but if Patagonia normalizes the sizing I'll buy it.

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2022

Hi Ryan, we're so sorry to hear about the for issue with the Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket. We'll reach out to you privately to offer more assistance.

February 6, 2022

At a glance it appears to be a fine woven wool sweater- but it is, in fact, fleece.

This is an outstanding mid-weight zippered jacket. It is substantial and warm, and it can be warn as an outer layer because, as I said in the title, it does not appear to be fleece, but instead, a finely woven wool jacket.

February 3, 2022

Better sweater really is better

Fits well, warm for its weight, good base layer, can unzip too cool down. Versatile sweater for the pandemic: great for casual, active and semi-professional in front of the zoom. Also works well with a collared dress shirt for periodic days in the office. I need more in varied colors.

February 2, 2022

Love this sweater!

I wear this sweater for everything. I wanted the industrial green color and was bummed when they replaced it with more vibrant green colors because the muted colors work well for business dress and allow for me to wear this for both business and casual. So i was really excited when she got it on a random restock for me. It it literally a staple pie... Read Morece in my wardrobe. Fantastic purchase.

February 2, 2022

Looks great but runs small

Definitely runs small. Have the same item in another color. The other color is a M, like all my pullovers/sweaters. This color in an M was smaller. Very durable and comfortable, easy to care for, and holds its shape.

February 2, 2022

Comfortable and warm

I love how the jacket is thick enough to keep me warm, but not TOO thick that it makes me sweat throughout the day. I wear it to work to the hospital and keeps things casual. Love the fit and the look. Would buy again.

February 1, 2022

Fit a little larger than expected.

The full zip better sweater fleece fits a little large, kind of baggy. I'm 5'9" 158lbs, purchased a Med. Maybe this was the look that Patagonia's designers had in mind?

February 1, 2022

Deceptively warm, slightly tight

For the thickness of this jacket it is deceptively warm. Comfortable enough in the 30s. Slightly tighter fit than expected but still amazing.

January 31, 2022

Pilling after 1 wash

I bought this as a gift for my husband. After 1 wash (Cold and inside-out), it is extremely pilly. I am disappointed and now need to return it. Whats up with this design?

Response from Patagonia
February 1, 2022

Hi Susan, we're so sorry to hear about your experience after washing the Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket. The Better Sweater is prone to pilling due to its knit fabric face. If you feel that the pilling is excessive, please feel free to begin a [warranty return or exchange](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges).

January 31, 2022

very comfy

Perfect not too heavy. Comfy and the perfect warmth

January 31, 2022

Perfect Fit

This was exactly what I was looking for in a fleece. Super warm and fits perfectly.

January 30, 2022

Comfortable fit

This is my second sweater fleece jacket purchased in 2 months. The pentagona brand style sold me.

January 28, 2022

Weight Lifters Beware

This is the second better sweater I've purchased. The first was an XL. The issue was the sizing of the arms. They were so tight I couldn't move my them without worrying about ripping the Better Sweater. I'm 6'3 about 230 LBS. I do go to the gym regularly, but I certainly don't have a set of 24' pythons brother. The bod... Read Morey fit perfectly, but not being able to move my arms was an issue. I tried sizing up to the XXL. The arms fit but the body could have doubled as a parachute. I don't have this issue with their other items, just the Better Sweater. It's a shame because I love the look, but being unable to move my arms is a deal breaker on the XL and since I'm not joining Bodhi and Johnny Utah on their sky diving adventure, the XXL doesn't work for me either. If you lift weights and have decent sized arms, look for something else. I will say Patagonia has amazing customer service. I have no qualms with that. But I thought I'd save anyone some trouble if they are looking to purchase and are a gym person. I'd give this a 5 star review if only I could move my arms in the XL...

January 28, 2022

Great Sweater

Just a great fit and quality. Very happy with it

January 28, 2022

Comfortable, Functional and Stylish but Runs Large

This is really a warm jacket and use it to layer over a shirt and under a jacket. Arms are a little long and so is the overall length. I always wear a medium but this is a little on the large side. I have a 16" neck, 34/35 shirt, 5'10", and a 33 waist but this is a little longer than it should be if you have an athletic body, so thei... Read Morer measurement is off for being a medium. A small would be too tight and a large would be a potato sack, so they should modify the design size to make it slim fit medium instead of regular medium, which is an outdated size style since you don't want baggy clothes when hiking/biking with the sleeves and bottom sticking out of your outer jacket. Also looks a little baggy when wearing around the office, especially while sitting since it bunches up around the waist. I like it though for its pattern and warmth. Everything else fits nicely around the neck, shoulders and chest. I still get a lot of compliments and it's really comfortable to wear.

January 27, 2022

Great fit!

This jacket is very warm, but also light enough to wear when its just cool out. The sizing was perfect as I am tall and normally have a hard time finding a large that isnt short on the arms but this was perfect! 10/10 recommend

January 26, 2022

Looks really good on him

He love it!

January 26, 2022

Great purchase

Nice fit, fabric and comfort

January 25, 2022

In between sizes

Love this Fleece. Tried the L and just a little to tight in shoulders and waist. Tried the XL and it was way too big. Weigh about 170-175. Wish you made more Relaxed fit fleece in styles I like. I returned both sizes-disappointed.

January 25, 2022

Great quality

Love the company, great product!

January 25, 2022

Nice jacket could be warmer

The jacket is nice and easy to wear but is not as warm as I thought it would be.

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2022

Hey Michael, thanks for the review on the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket. While it is pretty warm, it's also a casual piece so it won't do the job of something technical. We're not sure how you were planning on using the jacket, but if you needed it for really cold conditions, we'd recommend checking out some of our [technical pieces](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-technical-fleece).

January 25, 2022

Perfect All-Rounder

This sweater is amazingly versatile. Zipped up it keeps you really warm and can act as a jacket. Zipped open it can act as a sweater in higher temps. The quality and finish is great. Regarding fit, I'd say the sleeves run a bit long, so probably err on the smaller size.

January 25, 2022

Looks great and super warm.

I love the look and warmth of this coat. Im 56 and about 173 pounds athletic build and it was a little tight around the belly area. I didnt want to go medium as the sleeves would run long and the bottom. If it was a little looser around the belly area and arms it would be perfect or I can lose weight too lol.

January 22, 2022

Have not worn outside yet!

I had to return the large and order a medium. Sometimes Patagonias large fit and other times I need a medium.

January 22, 2022

Warm & Cozy Fleece

This is the second one I have purchased, just in the same color. The first was a Christmas present for my partner. He has literally worn it every day since opening the package. Because he was wearing every day - around the house and outside - I decided he needed a second one, in another color. So I bought a second for his birthday, which is in Janu... Read Moreary. He loves them both. He says they fit perfectly and are super cozy.

January 22, 2022

Love it!

I bought one in Light Khaki XL and it fits me perfectly. I'm 6'4", 200lbs. Bought another within a month in Nickel. Going to pick one up in New Navy shortly. They fit well, very comfy and well made. I get tons of compliments on them. Highly Recommend!

January 18, 2022

Given as a Gift

I purchased this sweater for my son in law for Christmas, he already has one from 2 Christmases ago in a different color that he loves. He loves the fit and comfort of Patagonia wear. My only complaint is I sent back a half zip sweater after Christmas and still have not been credited for it.

January 18, 2022

Warm

Great fit for my college grandson.

January 18, 2022

Very Comfortable

These jackets are very comfortable to wear at any time of the year. It will keep you warm if it's an extremally cold day but can still be worn as a comfortable pull over on a typical fall day. I would recommend this to anyone, no matter where you are.

January 18, 2022

Highly Recommend

The materials are great, an ideal jacket under a parka or casual winter wear. Not ideal below 35 degrees very comfortable in the jacket on sizing. Im a active person on body shape. Great work Patagonia.

January 17, 2022

Very comfortable

My son usually takes a medium but felt it a bit too tight of a fit. Large was perfect

January 15, 2022

Very comfortable

Very comfortable and warm.

January 12, 2022

Another Patagonia homer

This is my third Better Sweater. I gave my first two to my adult children because it is an essential piece of winter wear in the northern states. I definitely recommend Patagonia's Better Sweater.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches