burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipses50th logo50th logo50th logo50th logopro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary profilenavigation primary profilenavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
What's Next
Back to Product

Men's R1 TechFace Hoody Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 192 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R1® TechFace Hoody

4.7/5
Kinda Large
March 29, 2023

Great jacket

Great base layer for skiing and versatile jacket for activities

March 20, 2023

Light Weight

Great for layering! Patagonia has top notch quality.

March 15, 2023

Great lightweight hoodie

Fits perfectly. Lightweight but still warm on cool days. Also great for just wearing while I work from home. I bought this one in black because I had one in red that has been such a great product and has held up really well on many day hikes and casual walks.

March 11, 2023

Perfect

I was looking for a light, flexible jacket to wear over or under my fishing bibs in the spring when heavy rains weren't in the forecast, but there was a chance of a sprinkle. My one requirement was that it was light enough that if rain got bad, I could throw my rain jacket on over it. Basically, a light jacket that was easier to move around in... Read More and more breathable than my dedicated rain jacket for those times my dedicated rain jacket was overkill. This thing is perfect. I tried a few other fishing specific brands but everything I thought would fit this functionality was just as cumbersome as my rain jacket. Anyways, only negative is that I assume a treble hook could tear this thing up. Guess we will see.

March 11, 2023

decent shoulder season jacket

the R2 is the better fleece. R1 is still pretty good. a bit thinner than expected, but works as a midlayer pretty well. DWR and abrasion resistant fabric holds up well. Main issues i have are with the fit (doesn't fit as nicely as R2, not sure if it has to do with the thickness, but the fit is a bit weird... relatively boxy for a slim fit, whe... Read Morereas the R2 fits perfectly for me), and the laminated visor on the hood. it is REALLY annoying and doesn't really serve much of a purpose for me (laminated visor makes more sense for a hard shell outer layer, not a midlayer in my opinion). the laminated part always pokes me in the back of the neck/head. wish they made it like the R2 (all fleece, very comfy and snug to head, useful when climbing with a helmet. and no poking).

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review Eric! We also want to apologize for the issues you encountered with the fit and the laminated visor. Please rest assured that we will be passing this feedback along to our Product Design Team so they are aware of these issues. In the meantime, please feel free to start your [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) as your satisfaction is always guaranteed.

February 27, 2023

Lives up to the hype!

I already owned the R2 Techface hoody so I wasn't sure this would really have a place in my life but the various reviews seem to indicate this was the be-all/end-all of lightweight hoodies so I took the plunge. After the first wearing I understood the popularity of this one. Due to being "slim fit" and my using it for fly fishing whe... Read Morere I need a bit more mobility I sized-up from my usual size L to and XL and that seems to have been a wise decision. If it came in some additional drab colors I'd probably buy another one but I don't need bright colors on the river so for now I'll stick with the black hoody. Great piece!

February 22, 2023

Excellent all around

Besides the surprisingly warm and wind proof fabric, the fit is perfect at the cuffs, easily adjustable at the waist, hood and collar. The hood might be the best feature, as it is glove-like fit around my head, or high-collar to simulate a scarf, or out of the way in an instant if I like.

February 20, 2023

Great all around layer!

This jacket works great for a daily grab and go jacket and a mid layer. I can wear it to the market or wear it under a shell snowboarding. One of my favorite go to jackets. Get one.

February 20, 2023

Warm, comfortable and looks great!

I am a 5'1", 117lb woman. I loved the look of the Men's R1® TechFace Hoody and figured I would give the xs a try. The xs fits a bit snug but I love it just the same. It is comfortable, warm and the color is awesome.

February 15, 2023

Great fit and warm

I use this for an under layer for my R2 hoody. Together they are super warm on the coldest days.

February 11, 2023

Versatile wear

You can wear this product everywhere as a casual wear! Great product!

February 10, 2023

Windproof

I live on the coast of New England and wear this inside (we keep our house cool) It is comfortable all day. The arms are loose enough to wear it over a sweater without it tugging the sweater arms up. If I get chilled, I pull up the hoody. I walk my dog at the beach where the wind is more of a factor than the air temp. I'm amazed at how windpr... Read Moreoof the TechFace Hoody is. I wan't warm but I was comfortable on a 50 minute walk with mid 30s air temp and 15mph windspeed.

February 9, 2023

Have multiple colors

Tall trim sizing. Happens to fit my long arms and athletic physique really well. Works in multiple temperatures. Very good at thermo regulation especially indoors during the winter as a sweater and then as an outer layer for brief outdoor periods in the very cold of Iowa winter pumping gas or grocery run. Also works great as a mid layer for active ... Read Moreoutdoor endeavors.

February 8, 2023

Great piece

Great for everything

February 3, 2023

A hoody i didnt know i needed.

Extremely comfortable and looks great. Fits under vests and better sweaters. My new go to item.

January 27, 2023

The GO-TO

Ive been looking for a lightweight hooded jacket that wears like a sweatshirt, but commands the respect of a jacket. This R1 tech face is the perfect overlayer for just about any occasion. Im a big broad dude at 6ft 250lbs and went with the XXL because of the fit on my shoulders and chest. Love this piece and would recommend it to anyone that think... Read Mores the nano puff or nano air is too warm for everyday wear.

January 22, 2023

This is a versatile jacket.

This is a versatile jacket. The fit is true to size. Super light weight and warm. Great for layering. If it is really windy, simply wear it with a windshirt or a shell. A great jacket just to wear around. I highly recommend this jacket.

January 18, 2023

Magic jacket

Probably my favorite do everything jacket. Perfect balance of some wind and weather resistance with light insulation and room to layer underneath. Larger volume hood works with helmets too.

January 14, 2023

Not what I expected but still like

I thought this would be an R1 pullover material with slightly different outer material. Not quite, I has the R1 grid but the fleece is very different, not nearly as warm. I still like it, it is very comfortable and has a slim fit so it doesn't feel like too much material and doesn't get in the way. It is too slim to act as a shell and not... Read More warm enough to be a good mid layer. I found it works well for me wearing over a base layer on windy/rainy days that aren't that cold or just for casual wear. Zippered handwarmer pockets and internal breast pocket are nice and surprisingly spacious.

January 10, 2023

Extremely Versatile

In search of a light, breathable outer layer that could also function as a mid-layer I thought Id try an R1 Techface hoody. Ive owned numerous R1s but I wanted something with a more durable face fabric to use with a backpack and I didnt want a pullover. With almost a month of use, Ive found this R1 to be perfect for my needs. Ive worn this using v... Read Morearying weights of merino tees, an Arcteryx Delta, and lightweight synthetic base layers and have found it to be comfortable to wear in both temperature regulation and in fit. Ive also used it as a mid-layer under a MicroPuff or a Down Sweater with the same results. Its not the warmest layer (which it isnt expected to be), but it has worked for me as a stand-alone outer layer in 40-60°F temperature ranges and 30°F+/- as a mid layer. Thus far, the fabric appears durable, the zippers substantial, its very breathable, the hood is functional and well fitting, and the overall fit is great. Id most certainly buy again.

January 9, 2023

Excellent All-Arounder

A real fleece jacket quiver-killer, this thing does it all. The warmth-to-weight ratio is excellent, and there is just enough stretch for a little give where you want it. Its not going to keep you dry in a downpour, but the "techface" gives me a little more confidence than the regular R1 if the weather turns foul. Good for work and play. ... Read MoreGood fit, not too baggy. 10/10 would recommend.

January 8, 2023

perfect weight

just light enough for cool mornings. great fit!

December 28, 2022

Fit Nice Until One Wash

The fit is perfect and very comfortable; however, after one wash per label, the jacket looks like its falling apart with a bunch of cotton balling off.

Response from Patagonia
January 10, 2023

Hi John, we're very sorry to hear this hoody didn't come through the laundry as it should have! It definitely should not be showing damage after being washed according to instructions. We will reach out to you about returning it under our warranty.

December 27, 2022

Excellent mid layer! I now

Excellent mid layer! I now have two of these and use them for top layer while skinning up the mountains. Perfect for climate control while uphilling. Love the adjustable hood features

December 21, 2022

Amazing midlayer

I got this midlayer to keep me warm for winter. So far it is amazing as an outer shell for mild days and a great midlayer for colder days. I recommend it very highly!!

December 21, 2022

Standard baffling sizing/cut from Patagonia

Nice fleece, great construction, nice light weather/wind resistance. Sizing to me feels comically long. I'm a relatively lightly built 5'9/155, and have found long ago that slim fit Patagonia tops fit me reasonably. Standard fit tops are either super baggy in a medium or too short in a small. In this case I would characterize the fit a... Read Mores tailored rather than slim, but its nice and good for purpose. On the other hand, a medium on me hangs down well past my butt in the body and the sleeves are several inches too long. It might fit a 6' + person well, but is that medium? Not consistent with the (many) other products I have purchased from Patagonia in the past.

December 14, 2022

Multi-Layer Piece

This functions as a top layer, middle #1 or middle #2, so I can peel it off, store it easily and get back to my activity.

December 12, 2022

*sighs confusedly*--This is the one!!

I didn't want to like this jacket. I'm tired of the all of the revolving options and versions of the R1. It has felt confusing, and stressful. I loved my old R1. Loved it to pieces, literally. And feared for a long time that new iterations of the R1 would soon pull the OG R1 off the product line-so I tested out the Techface as a replaceme... Read Morent. This thing is pretty darn sweet. I take it on all my rock climbing days, all of my hikes, and most of my backcountry skiing days. It is warmer than you'd think, given the minimal loft compared to the original R1. I used the original R1 on one climb up Mt Rainier this past summer, and the Techface on a second a few weeks later-I had no issues with warmth between the two. It's a great midlayer in terms of insulation. It breathes slightly better, retains warmth slightly less. I think this jacket blocks out wind slightly better than the OG R1. The beefier shell fabric holds down the fort slightly better, and I'm often appreciative of that. The shell fabric is also way more durable than the classic R1, which makes it nice for climbing where I'm leaning on and swinging between pointy rocks. If it's going to be really cold (for the PNW, that's anything below 25F!) I'll likely still grab the OG R1. Ice climbing, cold ski days, etc. that jacket is still better. And IMO it still handles high output better than the R1 Air. But if I know that I'm going to be working hard/overheating, and the temperatures will fluctuate into the 40s, I'm likely better off taking the R1 Techface. It's a great spring skiing + alpine layer for me. It keeps me warm, and allows me to expend a lot of energy on snow or alpine rock. My biggest complaint (besides the confusing nature of 20 product lines for the R1) is that the dwr doesn't really work well. I know that's not really what this jacket is supposed to be, and I'm not really using it in high-precipitation scenarios as an outer shell...but why even bother or market it as water-repellent if it wets out that easily? Not a dealbreaker by any means, but I'm definitely not expecting this jacket to bead up in rain or snow. The fit is nice and slim. I'm not the skinniest guy, but a M fit nicely on my 5'10 185 lb frame. I think it fits "nicer" than the R1 for me. The fit is the same in the shoulders for both, but the R1 (in the same size) feels baggier in the wrists and the waist for me-so maybe size up if yours is already really really tight in the gut? I usually wear a L in casual wear and in outer layers, but for something I'm spending most of my day in, I think this jacket works better as a slim fit. Happy I've continued to size down. Good stuff! The actual jacket is great! Now stop making your products so confusing, and changing them every three years. By the time this one wears out, I won't know what to get next!

December 6, 2022

First hoodie

Surprisingly light and thin. Slim fit equals reduced bulkiness, which is always a plus. Wear it as a top layer over light fleece for chilly evening walks. The hood definitely helps to keep my neck and chest warm. Satisfied so far.

November 29, 2022

Perfect piece

This is one of the best Patagonia pieces I have ever owned. I absolutely love it. It's incredibly versatile. It keeps me warm, but is never too hot and keeps the wind down. The hood fits well and is not too bulky or heavy. The R1 layers easily or can be worn alone. It's also a very good looking jacket. It can be worn on the bike, at work,... Read More in the mountains or in town, proving its worth every time. I hesitated to buy this jacket for a long time because of the price, but couldnt be happier with my decision to finally purchase it.

November 28, 2022

At 6'3"/195# I am usually

At 6'3"/195# I am usually a Large size in a "fitted" format. This jacket fit me perfectly. Its a fairly "fitted fit" but with enough room in the torso to make it comfortable to wear as a jacket on a coolish day or to wear on a long drive. Love it enough to buy one for my son's birthday.

November 16, 2022

Multi-sport mid layer

I've owned the regular R1 hoody for years - it has always been my go-to mid-layer, but after wearing this Techface version, I don't know if I'll go back. The fabric on this piece is much more durable, stops the wind better, and seems to slide easier under outer layers. Since arriving two weeks ago, I've worn it mountain biking, ... Read Moretrail running, and hiking. If the snow keeps up this week, I am hoping to use if for nordic skiing this weekend. I am a cheap SOB, and have a hard time purchasing "sport specific," pieces! The R1 Techface is a true multi-sport piece. Fit is a little more relaxed, but IMO, still performs as well as any "technical," mid layer. I am 5'11, 175, and the medium fits me well.

November 14, 2022

Amazing

Nothing better. I've been buying Patagonia for years. Temperature regulation is fantastic. Very durable and fits stylishly.

November 12, 2022

Wardrobe standard for mountain lifestyle.

Great layering piece or alone in warmer temperatures.purchased for family friend.

October 26, 2022

Just right

Breathable, lightweight, fits as expected. Keeps me warm but not hot!

October 25, 2022

Exactly what I was looking for.

I was after a lightweight, simple, comfortable hoodie for walking and casual wear. I have other Patagonia hoodies but as our autumn seems to be warmer every year, I was after something lighter for walking and hiking. I started a chat with a typically helpful and friendly online Patagonia employee who directed me to this item. I love it and recommen... Read Mored it completely. At first I thought it was a shade expensive but the material and attention to detail suggest it's more than worth the money. It's great with a t-shirt when it's 60, great with a light layer or two underneath when it's 50 and perfect with those same layers and a fleece vest when it's 40.

October 19, 2022

Incredible

Amazing fleece. Keeps me at the perfect temperature while moderately active around 40F with a tech base layer. The durable tech face outer is amazing and held up perfectly against thick brush and tree branches while hiking. I would buy this product 10 times over. Fit is athletic. Im relatively thin and true to size fits nicely

October 12, 2022

Very comfortable for cool weather

This jacket/hoody fits great and is best suited for cool weather. What I love is that its fairly wind resistant and breathes super well so you can be active and not sweaty. It also has cinches around the bottom of the jacket in case you need to trap some extra body heat. If you need some cool weather gear, you can't go wrong with this one!

September 28, 2022

Perfect lightweight jacket

It's the perfect jacket for shoulder seasons, not overly warm for all day wear and the DWR provides protection for changing conditions.

September 26, 2022

Multi-use, durable fleece for

Got it at the Saint Paul location after trying it on. Lots to like: the outer layer is more like a stretchy softshell fabric with the grid inside so less pilling, dirt/dust/debris doesnt stick to it as much, more durable face that wont fray as bad as traditional fleece - it handles water spray and light rain well and was effective fishing in cool/w... Read Moreindy conditions pounding thru rollers on a wet boat - the hood works perfectly with glasses !!!- the cut is relaxed and great for layering, size L fits well on me at 6 foot 1 inch, 185 lbs, broad shoulder, barrel chest, alot of slim fit styles are too tight in pits or too trim for me and i look like a stuffed sausage- packs away smaller than a traditional fleece I run pretty hot when xc skiing or running so if i am planning on going full tilt i stick to a more traditional light fleece that breathes better for higher exertion activity. For everything else- the techface is pretty solid in inclement weather besides the obvious extremes of rain/cold/heat and a nice spin on the classic r1

September 26, 2022

Awesome stuff

This hoody is awesome, windstopper works perfectly, and little rain (what I experienced) did not even stay on the material. Lightweight masterpiece.

September 21, 2022

A bit thin but I really like it

I'm 5 9" and the small fits me perfectly. I like that the sleeves aren't too long which is a common problem for me. If you have really long arms, these sleeves might be too short for you. This hoody is thinner than the R2 Techface Hoody which isn't good or bad, it just depends on how much warmth you need. Overall I highly recomm... Read Moreend this hoody.

September 19, 2022

Nice

I bought it to be plain under another jacket, but it is a little jazzy on its own. Worth the cost so far.

September 18, 2022

Love it.

Love it.

September 12, 2022

warming, resistant

solid layer for maneuvering through variable elements when winds or precipitation rise up and you're still moving. breathes enough to let sweat evaporate, cozy with waffled velvety feel inside, and smooth and coated enough to protect on the outside. good mobility/articulation and stretch.

September 1, 2022

Great item

Bought this for a mid layer warmth and wind garment. It works great and inoook forward to years of enjoying it in camp on the trail and on the stream

August 29, 2022

go Layer Go-to later for any Hiking or Mountaineering Adventure

I purchased this hoody back in early 2022 and since then I have been very impressed with its performance. This is my go to for any backpacking or hiking trip and it always performs perfectly to the occasion. I wore this for my first 14er climb here in Colorado and it kept me warm and dry the whole time, even while exposed on a ridge line at 13k fee... Read Moret with gusts of wind well over 50mph with just a synchilla pullover and base layer under. I think well layered and in windy conditions is where this thing shines.

August 23, 2022

Great Jacket

Keeps you warm, keeps you cool, keeps you dry in surprising amounts of rain.

August 20, 2022

More of a wind breaker

More of a wind breaker than coat

Response from Patagonia
August 23, 2022

Hey Michael, thank you for the feedback. We wouldn't describe this hoody as a windbreaker as much as we'd say it's a technical fleece. It sounds like it wasn't quite what you were looking for. We recommend always checking out the "Specs & Features" tab on every product page before purchasing to give you a better idea of what to expect. If you want added details, or need suggestions based on how you're planning on using the gear, feel free to reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team.

August 7, 2022

Light and Warm

I pretty much use this jacket for all occasions. You can layer with it, without it being bulky underneath, or just wear it by itself and still be warm. It is roomy where it needs to be and one of the best jackets I have ever owned.

July 22, 2022

Comfortable and well shaped

This is a comfortable jacket with soft material that is quite thin and warmer than the thickness would make you think. The well-shaped hood helps a lot to keep things warm. This is becoming a favorite thing to wear and I look forward to years of use.

July 3, 2022

I have only had the

I have only had the garment for a short while but I have to say this has to be one of the best products I have ever purchased. It is performing exactly as I had hoped. I think this will be the perfect piece for early Fall and Spring, also on those chilly mornings throughout the summers here in Montana. The fit is great for me, I am 6 feet tall and ... Read Moreweigh 165 lbs and have a slim athletic build. Thanks for such a great product.

June 26, 2022

Love this thing!

Purchased my wife and I one of these TechFace Hoody and we both mice them. We picked them up just before our Iceland Trip and it has been a perfect Hoody for our hikes, around camp, and even a layering option. Wind Breaker (7/10) Rain Repelant (5/10) however, its perfect under a rain shell if those conditions exist. Breathability (10/10) Id buy ... Read Moreanother one in a heart beat!

June 21, 2022

Great mid-layer for hiking/mountaineering

Cuts a fair amount of wind, easy to layer on/off, and very comfortable. Could be slightly better if the pockets were slightly higher (when wearing with a loaded backpack with hip belt), but maybe that's a niche use case.

June 13, 2022

Excellent!

Well made and very comfortable. Warm for the weight, probably meant to be used at 40-50 degrees. Great materials and craftsmanship. Thatsy second one and both are great. If youre not very skinny, consider sizing up

June 1, 2022

Best all-around lightweight layer

For a do-it-all lightweight layer the R1 Tech face cant be beat. Athletic fit is true to size. Can be worn over a t-shirt or base layer, or used as part is a layering system for changing conditions. My regular R1 is great for layering under a shell but not so good as an outer layer in wind or light rain. The Tech face does it all!!

May 20, 2022

perfect puece of gear

The only thing I would change on this is to make the arms a little baggier to accommodate a thicker shirt under the jacket. Otherwise, this is great piece of gear as a lightweight layer/windjammer

May 13, 2022

Nice color

It is a little loose, breathability can be a little bit better for longer lengths of time. Fabric is a little itchy once worn for a longer length of time.

Response from Patagonia
May 17, 2022

Hi Justin, we're sorry to hear this jacket may not be quite what you're looking for. If you like, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it, or you can contact our Customer Service Team for assistance in replacing it. Please let us know how we can help!

May 9, 2022

My brilliant purchase.

Great fit and color. True to size. Patagonia never fails to impress.

May 6, 2022

New Go-To

Can't say enough great things about this jacket. If feels like it was tailor made for me. Very warm and comfortable without ever getting too hot. I would get one in every color!

May 5, 2022

Great for tall guys

I am 6 foot 6 235 and this jacket fit surprisingly well for a standard XL. I love the color and the lightweight, perfect spring jacket!

April 29, 2022

light layer

Great for a light jacket to start the morning in at the end of summer and the start of Autumn .

April 27, 2022

Very Stretchy & Warm

I love the fit to form with this stretchy and warm nice looking piece. Worth every penny!

April 24, 2022

Very comfortable

Very comfortable. Perfect for days with moderate temperatures and the hood comes in handy during a light rain.

April 21, 2022

Lightweight, comfortable and weather resistant

Love this piece. It's nice and light weight and it breaks the wind and keeps the moisture off nicely. Good, deep pockets and a great fit.

April 19, 2022

material balls up

It looks nice out of the box but after one wash and air dry the material balled up. Now my jacket just looks dirty all the time.

April 15, 2022

Love the function and features

Impressed at the different ways to adjust the hood and bottom of jacket. The pull cords allow one to get a great fit on the hood that effectively covers the head and eliminates air gaps. The tech face on the fabric provides impressive air blocking for what appears to be a porous outer layer. This is a technical garment that seems targeted at aerobi... Read Morec activities. Its not what I think about as a light jacket. I use it for trail running, mountain biking, and uphill skiing.

April 14, 2022

Get your R1

The R1 Techface hoody is my absolute favorite piece of gear. I use it for every sport. Mountain Biking, Snowboarding, Hiking, Backpacking, Climbing, Ice Climbing and Kayaking. Also I wear it to work also. This year they took away the zippered chest pocket. Kinda bummer there but it still is awesome piece of gear.

April 12, 2022

Right Amount of Everything

Finally, a form fitting layer you can wear with a tee or mid layer and still have room without being tight or baggy. Love the feel, stretch and style. Feels right moving around and keeps the water and wind out while being breathable at the same time. Hood is just right and not so overly large like other brands so it fits any helmet (bike or climbin... Read Moreg) or without a helmet. Also wore it around 40 degree weather while hiking with a long sleeve base, and it felt good. Any colder and I would have needed a thicker layer. Just love it!

March 21, 2022

Great cool weather layer

This has been a great mid-layer (or outer layer) for cool weather activities that generate a bunch of heat and the outside has been really resistant to tearing so far.

March 18, 2022

Slim Fits Dont Work

Because the product description included the words slim fit, I ordered a size up. Normally I wear a large, thus I ordered XL. Of course, the sleeves were way too long and thus I had to return the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
March 25, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review. The Techface fabric has quite a bit of stretch, so even a slim fit may work for people who wouldn't ordinarily seek it out, so you may not have to size up. By the way, our Customer Service Team will be happy to provide additional information on any product, such as specific measurements. You can just give us a call at (800) 638-6464, or reach out via LiveChat on the website.

March 15, 2022

Super Lightweight

Bought this for my boyfriend and he loved it. He wanted a jacket that was very lightweight while also water repellent. He could still fit a long sleeve tshirt under and MAYBE a sweatshirt but it will be on the snug side.

March 1, 2022

The Best

I cant say much besides amazing, this is the number one item I use in my clothing from day to day stuff to hiking and in the back country. I worked at on outdoor store for a year and I recommended this product to so many people, with I think everyone in the shop owning an R1 of some type, this has to be the best product I own from Patagonia. I also... Read More have an R2 More for general use or better yet throwing the R2 over the R1 on those -10 to 10 degrees days and hitting the trail. Perfect combo for an active system if you dont want a nano air.

February 23, 2022

Not the jacket as I expected.

Jacket fits week, but not thick enough for colder weather . Sleeves too long, Im 6.0 feet .

February 20, 2022

Great Jacket

Great light weight jacket. Very slim fit but stretches with movement. New go-to light weight jacket

February 17, 2022

As warmed the traditional softer R1 material but with solid water resistance! Nice stretchy fit too.

Love it!

February 13, 2022

Awesome light weight warm

Provides pretty decent protection from wind is quite warm for its weight.

January 31, 2022

Very nice piece, but....

For mountaineering: I was hoping to use a single piece to flex as either as a mid-layer or use as outer layer on warmer days. The techface would be great as a "light soft-shell" but felt it lacked the pile and warmth the regular R1 offered as a mid layer. As I cannot have both R1 and R1 techface, I returned the techface to keep the reg R1... Read More. The techface is very nice and nicely put together but I had to choose one. No complaints, just had to choose.

January 31, 2022

Great layering piece, but not perfect

Love the weight , but the hand of the fabric is slightly abrasive. The hood is top notch and works well under a helmet. Plenty of pocket space. The sleeves are a bit too long even for some of my taller friends, However, this jacket is extremely versatile I am contemplating picking up the R2 as well if I can land one. Love this jacket.

January 27, 2022

Versatel

Very comfortable and perfect to use with layers. I use for all active outside activities.

January 26, 2022

Not What I Expected

First let me note that I returned it. It wasn't what I expected. It is called fleece, but does not resemble fleece as most people understand the term. This jacket was essentially just a windbreaker with a pattern of thin, fleecy dots on the inside. Does not appear to be very warm, and not what I think of as "fleece." Name should be c... Read Morehanged. Also, Patagonia sizing seems to be way off. I am six foot and 160 pounds. Skinny guy. Yet this medium sized jacket fit tight and small like a T-shirt. Every other jacket in my closet is a medium and they all fit fine. So sizing here is clearly out of step with rest of industry. So I would have returned it on that basis even if I had liked it, which I didn't. On the upside, it is well made, high quality, nicely featured.

January 25, 2022

Worth It

Purchased this to replace a BD layer that didn't hold up. After about a month of heavy use, some initial thoughts. 1. Fit for my 6' / 190lbs frame is perfect. 2. It's long enough to stay put under a harness or not ride up when biking. 3. Pockets are flush, no bunching up around stomach. 4. Hood has a rigid bill - I wasn't feeli... Read Moreng it at first, but have come to like it. Hood is snug and my head is watermelon size, so i have to pull the zipper down six inches to get it off my head.

January 22, 2022

New favorite shell for MTB riding.

Fond of my old Dirt Roamer jacket but this jacket is the new favorite shell for MTB riding. Comfortable, temperature moderated by pairing with various weights of Capilene under layers. So far indestructible in rocky falls protecting my skin (if sadly not necessarily my ribs). Would need an outermost shell in full rain but short of that breathes ver... Read Morey well. Minimal damp collects under MULE in back but this does not effect warmth and dissipates easily.

January 22, 2022

R1 products are the cats meow!

R1 designs are Absolutely without a doubt the most tried and true product line in the Patagonia wardrobe. Still wearing my cilantro green pullover from 10yrs ago. Like their baggies, you can not own enough of these. Really cool to finally have my first hooded version for winter cycling. Layer it. Don't layer it. Like the added wind breaking qu... Read Moreality of the new techface alot. Will be trying the new R1 air crew out next! Thank you Patagonia!

January 21, 2022

Major Zipper Fail

Ive had this jacket for about a year and used it on only the most high output cold weather days, which it has been awesome for. However, I bought this jacket with money gained from various Patagonia products I purchased through the years with the worn west program trade in value, including an R1 hoody that lasted over 6 years. In a cold wash and l... Read Moreow heat wash and dry cycle that included various competitor brand products, this jackets zipper melted into the outer fabricMajor fail.

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2022

Hi Chris, thank you for writing this review. That definitely shouldn't have happened! It sounds like you treated the jacket as we would have recommended. It's covered under our Ironclad Warranty, so if you haven't already you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. You can also contact our Customer Service Team at (800) 638-6464 or via secure chat to start this warranty return.

January 19, 2022

Thin

Thinner then I thought but will work great with a wool base layer for colder weather conditions:)

January 13, 2022

Layering or outer Windproof

Have worn the R1 TechFace a few times this winter. Really impressed with the breathability and came into its own under my Triolet Jacket as a layer on top of my R1 fleece on a very snowy, windy Scottish winters day where the temperature was hovering around 0c.

January 9, 2022

Best Fit/Feel for a 'Light' Jacket

I already have a heavy parka and I have some fleece and the biggest issue with both of those is the fleece a. doesn't have a good and b. doesnt do too well in rain. My parka is much too heavy for rainy days and I needed something in between. My first thought was one of the down jackets but I saw these on my way to finding them and loved the ve... Read Morersatility of it. It's much warmer than it seems at first (feels insulating) and light and non invasive so when I am out on the trails running, hiking at the state parks, going for a walk, or even just going from place to place. This light, warm, sleek looking versatile jacket is the PERFECT item for anything and everyone.

January 2, 2022

Super comfotable

Comfortable to wear even when driving. Other jackets I have to take off. Second one of same, wore outt first tone.

December 18, 2021

Functional gear

Another win for Patagonia. I added this lightweight jacket to BC ski layers. Jacket has inner pocket for cell phone and big roomy outside ones. Hood fits. Sleeves on me are 2 inches long. Recommend!

December 18, 2021

The best

Hands down the best light jacket/fleece I have ever owned. Fits perfectly, used for daily wear to MTB rides on cooler days. I have owned for over a year and it's showing a little wear, but that's after heavy use. Highly recommended!

December 10, 2021

Great Jacket, but poor cut

I found the quality of the jacket excellent but had to return it because the sleeves were 4" too long and the chest was too tight. I have a 40" chest and 32" sleeve. if the sleeves were elastic, it may have worked, but the chest is an issue. What body shape this fits is a mystery.

Response from Patagonia
December 13, 2021

Hello John, thanks for the review on the R1 Techface Hoody. We're sorry to hear that the fit didn't work out for you. We'd like to mention that if you ever need measurements for a garment, we'd be happy to send them over, you'll just want to reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

December 7, 2021

could use more warmth

I wish it were just slightly warmer. My point of comparison was the R1 quarter zip which is quite warm, I assumed that the tech face would be just as warm but it is not. This is suited to fall climbing or climbing with a merino layer underneath or down layer on top if conditions are cooler. at that point the tech face becomes irrelevant - for my pu... Read Morerposes I bought it to be tear/rip resistant.

December 6, 2021

Cold weather shell

This jacket is primarily used for mountain biking. Breaths great, easy to layer, repeals light rain, and moderately wind proof. I use this jacket from 50 degrees to into the 20s and just adjust what I wear under it. Blue color is great and provides a great level of visibility.

December 6, 2021

Warm and cuts wind

This is the perfect jacket for a 55 degree day with a light wind and climbing all day. Or hiking all day in 50+ degree weather.

November 27, 2021

Great garment

This slim fitting hoody is perfect as a mid layer in cold weather, and a great outer layer for hiking, running, or climbing in the fall or early spring. It is stretchy and moves with me, and it dries quickly if I get it all sweaty on an uphill push. I love this R1.

November 9, 2021

Versatile

Amazing jacket. Can wear it anywhere. I get so many compliments on it. Worth every penny.

November 9, 2021

Excellent fit, super wam and comfortable

Bought the TechFace Hoodie for the purpose of Hiking but it end being a versatile piece. Its comfy, true to size and look elegant above to all its super warm. Definitely recommend anyone to buy this.

November 8, 2021

Perfect non-jacket

I searched for literally two years for the perfect replacement to my hoodie, and finally found it. Everyone should own one of these. It is perfect for when its barely too cold for a t-shirt, but definitely too warm for a full-on sweater, jacket, fleece, etc. (i.e. all the time). Couldnt recommend enough. Perfect fit, awesome material, great functi... Read Moreon. Use it all the time.

November 7, 2021

R1 Techface Hoody

I love this hoody. It's lightweight, it' comfortable and it allows movement without any restriction. I can also use it under my shell for skiing. I also love that you can wear the hoody with a baseball cap and is that the hood is adjustable. It has two hand pockets and on inside pocket which is great. Another great feature is the adjustab... Read Morele waist. A+ on this design.

November 5, 2021

The best

As with all things Patagonia this tech fleece is perfect. Wish I had gotten one sooner

November 2, 2021

Great Technical Piece

Breathes great for high aerobic activity.

November 2, 2021

Wow

Got the Superior Blue and its way nicer in reality. If you are not a skinny guy, size up and be happy. I usually wear L in Patagonia jackets and button down shirts, O ordered an XL. Feels a bit loose with a t shirt underneath , but I really like it. It leaves some room for a heavy baselayer. Wonderful piece

October 28, 2021

RAD- on so many levels

Style for days, fits as described I went with one size up because I like extra room.

October 23, 2021

Just Right

I bought this thinking I'd misplaced my other Patagonia jacket that was very similar in style and function. This "hoody" might not have the taped seams, or the extra durability due to being made so thin, but that's what makes it lightweight and much more breathable. Also, the added interior chest pocket is a very welcome additio... Read Moren. Not sure why companies still make jackets without enough pockets. And speaking of pockets, these are mostly mesh, yet soft, but I wouldn't trust anything other than my hands or my phone going into them. Turns out, that's all I really need. Everything else I carry goes into my pants or my "man-purse". The construction feels solid. The material has plenty of stretch. The hood has a nice fit. And if you're worried about getting caught in a downpour, just grab some DWR (durable water repellent) spray and go nuts. Now it's a 24/7 jacket (err, "hoody") that can survive all day and show no signs of wrinkles, fading, or whatever it is you do, and I've slept in this over many nights both indoors and out. It really is that versatile. I chose the boring black color but it looks great for any occasion, and can quickly be tossed in a bag or over my shoulder should the weather get really hot. It's also wonderful for layering, and I've had no issues fitting multiple layers underneath, including a thicker/warmer jacket on top. With regards to fit, I'd say it's perfect. I'm six feet tall and only 140lbs but I found the size Small to be just right, including the length in both arms and down the back, where it covers even the longest shirt I own. Ultimately I'm happy with the purchase, despite not agreeing with the steep price, but you get what you pay for, and this "hoody" will remain my go-to for years to come. Highly recommend. Thanks, Patagonia, for making another quality piece of gear.

October 22, 2021

Perfect fall jacket

I bought this jacket for wearing over a t- shirt in the fall. So far this has been perfect in temps down to the mid 40s. Blocks the wind well. I havent been in rain yet so I am not sure how it performs in those conditions. I this would be a five if it did

October 15, 2021

Excellent Product

This is an excellent hoodie! Lightweight, not bulky to wear, and takes up very little space in my pack, yet keeps me toasty warm! I have recieved numerious comments on the fit, and stlye. When I do get a comment I say, "it's worth every penny I paid for it".

October 14, 2021

Versatile Piece

I bought this as something to wear at events and have as a good layer that breathes well. I have ridden my bike in it once so far but expect I will use it often this winter for backcountry skiing. It fits really well, breathes the way I was hoping and provides the warmth I was looking for when active.

October 13, 2021

Favorite jacket

Its hard to imagine if there could ever be a more comfortable and versatile jacket. What I like most about it is that its as rugged as it is sleek. It has a wide temperature range, but I would not venture south of 30-40 degrees with this as a stand alone. With a good base layer, I am confidant this will suffice in 10-20s temp depending on how muc... Read Moreh you are moving. Since it is designed for active wear, it has somewhat thin material so you will probably get cold if you are just sitting around. Note: I recommend trying it on in person, as the sleeves are a bit long.

October 8, 2021

Go to jacket for many conditions

Lighter and less warm than an hour one but super versatile. Good on crisp fall days or with layers. Repels light showers and protects against wind. Super versatile. Ive used it to play tennis in the fall, to go sailing Wendy called. Also up in the mountains while hiking.

October 3, 2021

Nothing new....

As per usual, quality garment, good fit for medium and really looking forward to wearing it on the hill.

September 29, 2021

Products that work

I'm a total fan of Patagonia products, and this jacket confirms that belief. The jacket is comfortable, works well with either one base layer or a couple, sheds light rain, and looks great. Only reason I didn't give it a 5-star rating is that I would prefer the chest pocket to be on the outside, and would love for the jacket to be stuffab... Read Morele. Otherwise, a real winner!

September 28, 2021

durable, comfortable, right weight

durable, comfortable, right weight, fits well, keeps you warm as a light standalone or a warm midlayer while still breathing

September 14, 2021

Perfect fit, light and comfortable

I'm 1.87m and ordered the size M, which fits me perfectly fine. The jacket is light, warm and comfortable. Delighted with it so far!

September 1, 2021

Super versatile

This is my second R1 Tech Face Hoody. I wanted another color. I wear it fishing and long walks. I like the fit and the slim look. The most recently purchased has a zipper that is much harder to use than the first one. I have to carefully hold the right side or the zipper refuses to move. Not up to Patagonias quality standards. But I love the rest o... Read Moref the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2021

Hello Herb, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. If the zipper is not sliding as easily as it should, you may want to [lubricate](https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/How+to+Lubricate+a+Zipper/19450) it. Please note that all Patagonia products are covered by our Ironclad Guarantee so if have are not satisfied with the item, you are always welcome to return it.

August 24, 2021

warm and versatile

Great fit and design for active movement. Warm and breathable for moderate activity.

August 13, 2021

A great additional layer

This is a great layer. Im a mountain guide, and I consider my layers tools for my work, which greatly effect my time in the mountains. This piece is lighter and slightly less warm than the traditional R1, which I find very helpful. The face material is like a soft shell, repels wind, and adds durability. I find it fills a niche somewhere between a ... Read Moreregular fleece and a light soft shell which is perfect for high output endeavors in cool to cold weather. I get hot pretty fast and dont like to adjust layers more than I have to, so this is an excellent layer. I try to avoid wearing a full hardshell most of the time unless it is truly wet, so I will wear this in very cold weather during high output activities on top of my R1 as well. This is a great buy!

July 30, 2021

Great product, great service -

Great product, great service - thanks 🙏

July 24, 2021

Great midlayer

Seems like a jacket but much lighter. Faiy wind resistant. Everything in a proper place.

July 20, 2021

Super Comfy Active outer layer

Excellent multi purpose active outer layer. Fabric has plenty of stretch so range of movement is ace. Drys quickly, breathes well. Ive been using this jackets as an outer layer for cooler days on the bike. The fit works well on the bike with adequate sleeve length which most fleeces dont have. So far jackets has held up well to abrasion and repeate... Read Mored washing.

July 10, 2021

One jacket to rule them all

I travel a lot and find myself living out of bags that fit in the overhead compartment #Blackhole55. As a result, I look for pieces with versatility. If I am only going to take one jacket, it's this one. Just enough water resistance to stay dry in a pop up storm. Light enough to wear on all but the hottest days. When paired with a base layer,,... Read More it offers comfort with Temps in the 20s.

July 8, 2021

Technical beast!

Love it! Almost as good as the one I bought in 2008! That I still wear!

June 25, 2021

Amazing R1 Techface hoody quality is A1.

I love my R1 Techface the quality is amazing. Zipper pockets. I love the material and zip hoop and waist band. Excited to wear this on MOIST days.

June 20, 2021

Good Middle layer

Havent had the hoodie long enough to give a full review. But so far it had met all my expectations. Its light weight and warm. Also the hood coverage is great.

June 20, 2021

Super durable. Breathable

Its an amazing jacket. Got it for myself and it fit perfectly. Really breathable and is a great bear layer

June 17, 2021

Wear for everything

175cm 65kg size S perfect fit. A very multifunctional layer!

May 24, 2021

Alfie

Decent

May 18, 2021

This is a vital and super flexible piece of gear

The R1® TechFace Hoody can be worn as a mid-layer for added insulation, on top in the cool mornings, or an all-day ski jacket for spring outings. The DWR (durable water repellant) gives it the added protection for all but downpours. The hood fits great under a helmet and the zippered pockets keep things secure. You will be glad you snagged this.

May 13, 2021

Great piece of kit

Great piece of kit

May 10, 2021

Great Fit, Well designed Hood and Colour.

This is my second R1 techface Jacket, I have the Pullover version which I have using everyday for all kind activities. I am only giving 4 stars because of lack of Thumbhole which my Pullover version has and they have changed the design of internal pockets which I don't like. I love the Hot Ember colour though and the Hood construction is desig... Read Morened very well. This might become my next staple all round jacket for Hiking, Running and Cycling. Its very flexible and I am able to fit in a down underneath it, which speaks for its versatility.

May 10, 2021

Technical and multi-use

Versatile middle or outer layer. I have used it climbing, trekking and even having a post-climbing beer. Very useful on windy days and quite resistant for its thickness. The cut and fit are very good and does not give problems under a harness or a heavy backpack. Ah! The hood can be put over a helmet that does not bulge too much!

May 6, 2021

Versatility

I love the R1 Tech Face Hoody, for the lightness and versatility it has. I use it for alpine climbing in spring and summer, its light, easy to pack and so comfortable to climb with it, down of it, normally, I put a M's long sleeve capilene t-shirt during the aproach or in a hot climb, and if its colder i put a base layer. I also use the R1 fu... Read Morell zip hoody, i like to combine one or the other depending of the conditions of the day. I also use it in much more another situtations like, working as a mountain guide (treekings and climbing) and during my backcountry skiing days or in my casual wear outfit. I love it :)

April 29, 2021

Versatile piece

6'1", 175. This jacket fits me better than anything else I own from Patagonia. For someone with longer arms this was a great fit. Love the stretch for active pursuits. Great for hiking/climbing as an outerlayer in that 45-60F range. I have also used it as a midlayer on warmer days snowboarding. The outer material is durable and has not fa... Read Moreiled in over a year of fairly heavy use. Washing it has definitely caused pilling on the outside of the jacket but its nothing too noticeable.

April 28, 2021

Classic, versatile and great!

This is one of those pieces that satisfies so many use cases for me. I can throw it on for a run, wear it out, bring it as my one and only jacket for summer camping in NW Montana. It's a classic piece and I went back and forth between having a hood or not on this jacket. After much debate, I went with the hood and I am happy that I did. The ho... Read Moreod allows me to wear this as more of a stand-alone jacket rather than just a layering piece. The size is true to size with a slim cut, but not tight. I have found a good reason to wear it every day since it arrived at my home and it will definitely be a staple 3-season piece for me. I really couldn't be happier with this one.

April 17, 2021

Really impressed

Great fit, looks great, perfect for cycle commutes or runs with a base later at 0-5C.

April 16, 2021

My Favorite Patagonia Jacket

This jacket is the perfect weight for a cool day to keep you warm and dry. Water resistance is excellent, much better and a little warmer than a Houdini but not heavy or bulky. Fit is slim and perfect for my 6'3" 170 lb body and love this jacket!

April 16, 2021

R1 tech face hoody

Light, more wind resistant and less than usual R1 hoody which is perfect while moving. It fits over helmet.

April 14, 2021

Perfect transition jumper

Was exactly what I was looking for in a seasonal transition piece

April 8, 2021

Less warm and larger than R1

I love the cut on this piece but it does definitely run larger than the regular R1 and the sleeves seem much much longer. The sleeves even seem to scrunch up more on the model than other pieces. It's also not as warm as the regular R1 despite the tech face. I'd probably still recommend the piece but I really just wish the sleeves weren&#x... Read More27;t so long.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2021

Thank you for the review on our R1 TechFace Hoody. We're sorry to hear about the sleeves and have passed your feedback along to the appropriate teams. If you'd like to make a return, feel free to do so at your earliest convenience. We'd also like to note that we're happy to [provide measurements](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) should you need them in the future.

April 5, 2021

A reliable Swiss Army Knife

So far I love this fleece as a fall/spring outer layer and a summer night stand alone. I have not used it skiing yet but imagine it would preform nicely as a mid-layer. The best thing about this jacket is its versatility. I have used it as a standalone, mid-layer and soft shell-ish layer. Because its so light and breathable but also has a more abra... Read Moresion resistant finish I layer it over my puffy to keep it from tearing. It also works well as a stand alone in cool conditions. I wouldnt call it a casual fleece by any means however. It has a feel and vibe that is purely technical. If you want something more casual Id go with one of the better sweaters. But if you want a Swiss Army Knife jacket this is the best choice out there. One last thing to note before I list my complaints/suggestions, the jacket has a unique feel. I dont have a problem with it but I would recommend trying it on in store before you buy it just to make sure you like it. Here are the things I would change in a future revision: 1) make the zippers more solid. The zippers, especially the main one, feel noticeably weak. I dont think they will fail anytime soon but it gives an otherwise premium jacket a cheep feel 2) add outside access to the chest pocket. My ideal implementation of this would be to have a zipper on each side of the chest pocket (both internally and externally) this way it could be accessed either way. If weight is an issue and you can only add one I would recommend having it be on the outside. That would be better suited to this jackets use cases. 3) make the hood removable. Im not sure how this would be achieved in a lightweight and reliable way but it would be nice to have a removable hood. It would make it easier to layer this piece when you want a no frills mid layer or just dont want to deal with a hood getting in the way. If anyone could pull of a good design for that it would be Patagonia so I remain hopeful. Finally, I would like to thank the employees at the Patagonia store in Bend Oregon for helping me chose this jacket and being very helpful. Keep up the good work guys!

April 5, 2021

Good layer option

I have been using this as outer layer over long sleeve capilene for ski touring. Plenty warm on the up and down. Light weight, minimal design.

March 31, 2021

Almost Perfect

I've worn the R1 TechFace Hoody throughout the seasons in Utah for high-exertion activities and have found it to be an almost perfect layering piece. Sometimes, if it gets warm enough, I even wear it with nothing underneath and it's very comfortable. While not wind proof, it certainly mitigates all but the stiffest winds, and most importa... Read Morently, it allows perspiration to escape, thus keeping you dry. The hood adjustments are very good and provide excellent peripheral vision. Sheds light rain and snow nicely, too. My only complaint is one that I also have with several other Patagonia articles; that is, the sleeves are too narrow, ESPECIALLY AT THE CUFFS. I have very skinny arms and even I can barely push the cuffs up a few inches above my wrists. This is annoying when trying to do anything with water, wash my hands or put gloves under the cuffs, for example. Overall, though, I highly recommend this hoody. I liked it so much I got the TechFace jacket as well, which I use for primarily for bicycling or times when I don't need a hood.

March 25, 2021

Great fit, versatile, but not very warm

I purchased this after the original R1 hoody neither fitted me in sizes M or L, and thought that this would be a step up. The Medium tech face giddy fits me perfectly and is very comfortable, perfect for endurance activity on a cool day. That said, it doesnt insulate as much as I thought it would (as the original R1) if youre not moving, and found ... Read Moremyself having to add more layers on 30-45 degree days..

March 23, 2021

Versatile, comfortable, lightweight and warm

Versatile, comfortable, lightweight and warm

March 23, 2021

Not quite a breathable as

Not quite a breathable as I’d hoped, pit zips would be a test addition but I’m. It picking here.

March 23, 2021

Great jacket. On freezing temperatures

Great jacket. On freezing temperatures could be a bit cold, but works great between 2-14C while adding/removing layers underneath. Size fits perfectly, 174cm/68kg.

March 15, 2021

Love this jacket!

Comfortable, sleek design, weather resistant and moves with me when I climb, hike, bike, or run! I got this jacket and havent taken it off since!

March 14, 2021

Instantly my Best Layer

I work in the outdoor industry (as a software developer for FATMAP so not a guide but I do have to be out testing a lot) and I live in Chamonix, France. Living in an area as drastic and extreme as Chamonix means you could be trail running one day and skiing the next. I needed to replace a touring layer that got ruined a few weekends ago and decided... Read More to go for this one. It seems just warm enough to keep the wind off and be good for cold, uphill travel. What I didnt realize is how versatile this layer would be. Ive brought it with me on cold trail runs, ski tours, cold climbs, etc. It immediately earned its place in my pack (although it is usually on). The techface is just enough protection for a light wind or light drizzle or flurry and it is a game changer. Each day, I move closer to not even needing to bring a Gortex layer with me. I would recommend this 1000% to anyone doing any sport. Im a big summer camper as well and I know this will be used there as well. I cant think of any activity where I wouldnt use this except in extreme heat or downpour. The construction is solid and well made like most of Patagonias stuff and the repair-ability seems good too- meaning it seems like it would be easy to patch/fix if need be. In just 4 weeks time, this became one of my most important layers if not THE most important.

March 10, 2021

Extremely comfortable

Very comfortable, good looking and performs well. Light weight and perfect for late spring mornings and through the fall.

March 9, 2021

R1 hoody

I like the weight, feel & fit of the jacket. Great for the 40 degree whatever you are doing outside.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches