burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Nine Trails Shorts - 8

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 361 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Nine Trails Shorts - 8

4.6/5
Kinda Large
October 5, 2022

great for hot days

During hot weather runs these shorts will dry quickly. The liner is what makes the difference in keeping dry, you wont notice it and it provides good support. I dont have runs that go further than 10 miles but these shorts have been great. I bought both the small and medium size. The small is snug with a 31' waist. Medium is a much better fit... Read More.

October 4, 2022

Comfiest Workout Shorts

Could these be the comfiest workout shorts I've ever had grace my legs? They might just be. Got a size Medium for my 32 Inch waist, fit is perfect. The built in liner has enough give that it is very supportive but not too constricting for my sporty thighs and feels great on the personal equipment. Pockets are *just* large enough for a smartp... Read Morehone when you're running errands or out for a hike. As soon as they're back in stock in other colours I'll be grabbing a second set for sure and they will be added to my travel packing list as my go to travel shorts also.

October 3, 2022

Great shorts for workout gear

The fit is great, like the liner in these shorts, works great for me.

September 30, 2022

Very Comfortable and Cool temp when running

I love these shorts, they are comfortable to always wear them. The liner is great and you forget the liner is there because its so comfortable

September 29, 2022

Awesome Trail Short

Fits perfectly, different pockets to place items

September 28, 2022

Fantastic Shorts!

Fit great and look amazing. Had to get used to the liner but, once you do, it's heaven. Wear them during workouts or just casual wear!

September 26, 2022

Great trail running shorts

These shorts are perfect for trail running, keeping pocketed objects secure, while providing the right stretch so as not to feel constricted. Great liner, no chafing. I love em!

September 24, 2022

Good design but disappointing fit

Sizing on this short is tricky. I need a med waist but there is not enough room thru the butt and thighs. Would prefer a roomier fit. Having said that .materials and pocket design are excellent

September 24, 2022

The best running shorts

These fit great, wear well and have tons of standard pockets. Buy them on sale and bask in great happiness!

September 24, 2022

Ultimate Trail Backpacking Short

I found these shorts to be perfect for backpacking on trails. Not too long, very comfy stretchy liner, four zippered pockets, comfortable waistband, nice cord to hold them up. All this, and they weren't stinky after four days of backpacking. Highly recommend over heavier shorts with mesh liners.

September 24, 2022

Spot on

One of my go to shorts for running. The material and construct is top quality as usual and the length suits my style.

September 23, 2022

Simply the best

I have been running for about 20 yrs. and used lots of different shorts. But, these are hands down my favorite. The interior boxer is super comfy and the back pocket is big enough for an iPhone. I have 3 pairs and just ordered another pair on sale. I also wear these shorts to the gym for weight training. Patagonia, do NOT change the design. Theyre ... Read Moreperfect!

September 22, 2022

Great fit

I wear these working out, in the pool, hiking and just casual around the house. They are very durable and comfortable. Highly recommend as an everyday short.

September 22, 2022

Great fit

Great fit, not too baggy and the perfect length for running up/down mountains!

September 20, 2022

They need more room, Im

They need more room, Im a big person and do not like tight fitting clothes. Give more room to the groin and hip areas

September 17, 2022

Hard not to make these your daily trunks

Lightweight with plenty of pockets and zippers. What else can I ask for. Not into lined shorts - I'm in the water a lot. I could see these manifesting into a performance surf trunk in the near future. Please!

September 17, 2022

Great shorts!

These are great! I use them for running and the are lightweight and you barely feel them. They still have pockets if you need to secure something while you are running the trails! I will be getting another pair for the rotation!

September 16, 2022

Great shorts

Love these, for running I mainly use Strider Pro 5" but these are great for more casual use, lighter runs or in gym (for running I prefer light/small shorts hence the 5"). Comfortable and pockets are useful.

September 15, 2022

Versatile & comfy

Longer than most running shorts, great inside liner that isn't too tight or pinches. Theres a nice give yet supports too. Love the zippered pockets large enough for phones & keys. My new fav running shorts. Only recommendation is making the waistband a bit wider.

September 13, 2022

So everything running short

Decided to try something different from my regular running shorts and now I will never go back. I have worn for easy morning runs and longer trail runs and love then every time. Comfortable (liner fits perfect with no chafing), the right length and with three zipper pockets when needed. Will be getting more colors.

September 12, 2022

Prints are deceivingly great

I have both prints in the 9 trails shorts and they both match a lot of colored shirts with the colors within the prints. Fit great....Look Great!

September 9, 2022

Perfect Lightweight Hiking/Activity Shorts

Wear these shorts for my activities and especially thru-treks in hotter climates. Lightweight, comfortable, stretchable, breathable, and never have to wear underwear again! I own these shorts in three different varieties - which I adopted from a friend who does the same thing. Have a pair for every occasion!

September 7, 2022

Workout Shorts

Love these! Fit is perfect (Medium and I'm 6' and 165lbs). Quality materials that are appropriately snug on inner layer and loose on the actual shorts. zipper pockets are great. Should have purchased more in different colors, but love the light blue I bought.

September 7, 2022

overall 4 out of 5

overall 4 out of 5 rating. I have been trying to duplicate a >30 year old product of yours (also long distance running shorts) called "Century" shorts. This comes close. All is good except the waist band elastic: it's really not elastic. Thanks for the drawstring, otherwise the waist would just fall to my hips. I should preface : ... Read MoreI am fit, but short and stocky. The size / FIT of your products has always been a chess game for me. (it seems most of your clients are built like gazelles: tall sinu-ey, lithe, "slim fit". I fit well into your midlayers and shells in size Medium, but T-shirts, shorts, underwear, baselayers, exercise in size Large.. I have muscular thighs.

September 6, 2022

No more chafing!

Sick and tired of chafing nonstop during long runs, someone recommended these and i havent chafed since, so happy to finally find an everyday running short!

September 6, 2022

lite weight

I like the weight and feel of these shorts. They dry quickly

September 6, 2022

nice comfortable fit

These trail running shorts are are as advertised - comfortable with ample pockets and ready for long days on the trail. The inner boxer lining is quite snug, which was little alarming at first. However, after wearing these shorts a few times I realize the lining is just right. Rear pocket is perfect fit to hold a phone without too much bounce. Only... Read More complaint is the front pockets are a little small - can barely fit my hands in them.

September 6, 2022

Too tight

I bought these shorts for back packing because it was light weight, had a draw string waist band, and had zippered pockets. But the fit was too tight in the butt and the pockets were too shallow. It is light weight.

September 5, 2022

Very comfortable

Excellent quality and very soft. Highly recommend

September 3, 2022

Great shorts for running or backpacking

Superb, complete freedom of movement, three zipped pockets, very comfortable liners. I liked them so much I immediately ordered a second pair.

September 1, 2022

Great workout shorts

These shorts are great for working out because they have zippered pockets (no phones will fall out if you're going to listen to music or podcasts). They also have almost a compression inner layer that is like long boxer briefs, which I like. They're a little tight, but then again maybe I just need to spend more time in the gym.

September 1, 2022

Somewhat disappointed

I had three pair of these best running shorts back about 5-6 years ago They were perfect and the most comfortable ever. However need to add a few more and these updated models are not the same. The brief liner is small tight and I had to cut it out and wear a brief under them. Was not comfortable as well as the material was different. The outside m... Read Moreaterial is not as soft and comfy as the older pairs I had. The huge slits in the legs. Dont know what purpose they serve? My old ones never had them Still a quality product but not like before models. Maybe someday the old models will be available again.

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2022

Hi David! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the changes made throughout the years. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team.

August 29, 2022

Looks Great and Feels Great

I love the design of these shorts. They do run a bit small and the draw string on mine is hard to tie because it is not long enough. One spot on the shorts had a thread pull, which was a bummer for as much as these cost.

August 26, 2022

Updated Cut Doesn't Fit As Well As Before

Love(d) these zippered & packable running shorts for workouts, casual wear, & even swimming... But, I have 2 pair from ~2018-19 which fit great. However, just picked up a 2021-22 Tropical Ecuador: New Navy size Medium & noted the cut in the crotch area is different. Compared side-by-side/layer-on-layer to the 2018-19 styles & it&#x2... Read More7;s definitely a revised cut, which fits less well for me (your experience may differ). Unfortunately had to return newest pair. Your mileage/sizing may vary. Overall these shorts are great, just hope the older version cut returns or that the pair I got was just a factory fluke. Also, the "Patagonia" reflective lettering on front begins peeling off after a few months. No big deal, just a note.

August 21, 2022

These could be great

After a few hikes, I can say I wouldnt buy another pair. The liner is comfortable but already showing signs of wear. The real problem is the shorts ride down in the rear, especially if you bend over. Im constantly pulling them up. They are being retired as hiking shorts for me. May even cut the liner out and see what happens. Ive got nothing to los... Read Moree at this point. Usually very satisfied with Patagonia in general, these were a miss for me.

Response from Patagonia
August 25, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Matthew. We're really sorry to hear these shorts haven't worked well for you for hiking. We appreciate this kind of feedback as it's crucial for improving products for future seasons. Please know you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you, or you can contact us about return options.

August 17, 2022

Really poor quality from patagonia.

Drawstring just isn't up to par for $75 shorts. Thighs are noticeably tight and sizing up to XL makes the waist too loose, which the drawstring won't fix. Shorts constantly sag even when I tighten the string as much as possible in a size L. Constantly feel like I need to pick them up so Im not showing people my glorious bum. Purchased th... Read Moreese last month, have worn them twice, and they are now half the price. So I'm feeling like I got ripped off on these. Probably the worst purchase I've made from Patagonia, I will be sticking with the Baggies for now.

August 4, 2022

Waist Band

The shorts were a great length and the compression underlining was great. However, the waste-band is very tight for the perspective size. I have no issues with other major brands in this size range.

Response from Patagonia
August 9, 2022

Hi Kevin! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the waistband ran too small. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 3, 2022

I dig these shorts!

I really love these shorts! I don't love the inseam length 8" is a little too long for me. Material feels durable and nearly indestructable. The inner lining however, not so much. I think some pricker bushes in Alaska tore up my inner lining real easy. Even with a bunch of little holes in the inner lining it is still super comfortable! ... Read MoreLove the zippered pockets on the sides and back! All around reliable solid shorts for whatever activity! In my experience: running, hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, and more! The side pockets are great, but I think they could be slightly moved towards the sides and it would make them feel more spacious and bulge against quads less.

August 3, 2022

Great Running shorts

These are great running shorts. I like the liner, the zip pockets, and that they're a little longer than your average running short.

July 28, 2022

Core part of my running rotation

Perfect length, and lightweight, with the zippered pockets adding little to no bulk. At first I was a bit skeptical about the long liner in these, but it's actually quite comfortable and doesn't make me overheat. I do find that the liner's fit on my thighs sometimes seems to pull the shorts down a bit when I'm moving, but I&#x27... Read More;ve stopped noticing it after a couple of weeks.

July 27, 2022

Great product!

Quick delivery and quality and fit is perfect. Might consider to stretch and use anti slip material for the band around the waist

July 27, 2022

Running shorts for all day

These shorts are the utility player in my wardrobe. As a guide I can use these in the mountains, and then they have enough pockets and are long enough to wear all afternoon when I am running errands, cooking or just chilling.

July 24, 2022

Great Overall Shorts

Absolutely love this product from Patagonia (currently own four of them in various colors). Zipper pockets all work great for storing small items. I find the inner briefs the most comfortable of any running/workout short that I've found, minimizing chafing and maximizing comfort. From hiking to running to every day wear, they work great. The o... Read Morenly reason that I give them four stars is that I do find the inner brief develops holes/rips over a shorter time period (six to nine months) compared to other lined briefs I've owned. Outside of this issue, I highly recommend these shorts.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2022

Hi Bradley! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the inner liner has started to develop some holes. We definitely expect greater durability out of our gear so this is disappointing. We're sorry to say that we cannot complete repairs on undergarments and the liner would be considered such. That said, your satisfaction is always guaranteed under our warranty so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 24, 2022

Expected durability

Inside pocket tore within a day of using the shorts. Really unexpected to see these come apart so quickly.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2022

Hi Nathaniel, what a bummer! We'd be happy to help out with a [complimentary repair or warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Please feel free to begin either of those processes at any time.

July 21, 2022

Perfect running shorts

Not too long, not too short. The built-in liner actually fits, unlike a lot of liners. What really sets these shorts apart is that all three pockets have zippers, so there's no chance of anything flying out.

July 18, 2022

Little to form fitting

Just a little to form fitting for an old guy.

July 17, 2022

Super for working out

Fittest true to size. Terrific for working out in. Also for hiking.

July 17, 2022

Amazing hiking shorts

It's just an amazing product. Super light weight. I am 190cm, 94kg ant L size it fits me perfectly. Highly recommented

July 15, 2022

I love these shorts

I initially bought these shorts for running. And I've found them to be perfect. So much so that I wear them any time the temperature allows. Fit is spot on. They are extremely comfortable and cut is just right (for me). Hip pockets are large enough to fit a mobile phone. I tend not to use the rear pocket but in both cases the zip closure is ... Read Morea good feature. I've used these for trail and road running, training, yoga, swimming and loafing around. They're great in warm weather, wick moisture and dry quickly. In terms of durability they're holding up well to a lot of hard usage.

July 15, 2022

These fit way too tight

I'm 5'8, 145 lbs, 30" waist, and typically wear a size small in most clothing, including a different pair of shorts I have from Patagonia. These shorts however, fit way too small, almost like an extra small. The lining is also very restrictive down there with the shorts being a bit too revealing for me to wear these in public. Size u... Read Morep if you're getting these.

July 11, 2022

These shorts are great (with one exception)

I own several pairs of the Nine Trails shorts. One of those pairs I just purchased this spring from REI -- so my review has to do with that recent pair. Overall, I absolutely love these shorts. They work great for running, biking (at least shorter distances), hiking, and casual wear. The zip pockets are great and very useful. The length and fit of ... Read Morethe outer shell is great. My only complaint has to do with the liner on this new pair. It appears to me that Patagonia downsized ever-so slightly on the liner, making them just a bit snugger than the prior versions. I strongly dislike this new fit -- although I appreciate a liner, I don't want it to be overly constrictive -- and in fact I don't want to notice it at all during activities. Patagonia - please go back to the original cut of the liner!

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2022

We'll be sure to pass along your feedback to our design team. The Men's Nine Trails Shorts design was revised in 2018 so that the liner material is lighter weight. In the past it was a blend of polyester and spandex, while it's now 100% recycled polyester. Thanks for the review, Trey!

July 11, 2022

Perfect Running Shorts

I've now enjoyed several pairs of these wonderful shorts and logged many miles. They have become my go-to for training miles as well as races. They are comfortable without being too loose or tight and the pockets are perfect for my phone and fuel. The zippers give me peace of mind knowing when I get home, my key is still secure as well. This m... Read Moreay seem counterintuitive to say in a review, but these shorts are my favorite because when I have them on, I don't have to think about them and can just focus on the run.

July 9, 2022

Protect Your Drawstrings. Otherwise Wonderful.

These are by far the best running shorts I have ever utilized. I am predominately a recreational runner who does track workouts and weekend long runs routinely. No matter the agenda, these shorts literally kill it, thereby giving me one less thing to concern myself over with my body and gear. The things I am especially thankful for in these are: - ... Read MoreZipper pockets. You'll never lose any accessories in these. The back pocket fits my iphone SE without it bouncing around. Idk about bigger phones though. - Moisture wicking. Everything athletic nowadays excels at this feature; but these never get "drenched" per se. I can't say that about most shorts I've worn in the past. - No chafing. This one is more subjective, obviously. No guarantee that this will apply to everyone, but I think that the briefs underneath do a good job at preventing rubbing, if that's a problem for anyone considering these. - Not too long, not too short. Their length doesn't hinder their cooling properties. For my height too, they are a perfect fit. The only issue I have with these, which is a major one, is the drawstrings. If you carry stuff like your phone, or anything else, these will sag unless you tie them tightly. With how dependent the security these shorts rely on them, if they were to break, they become completely obsolete. They are susceptible to getting stuck in one of those accidental "tight rock knots" you occasionally get plighted with if you accidentally untie them improperly. Akin to the way your shoes can get stuck in this frustrating unpickable knot, you end up picking at them for minutes on end with your fingernails to no avail. Long story short, one of these knots occurred with my drawstrings, and it resulted into their fate. I managed to cut into the shorts using some scissors to reattach the broken end, saving their functionality; but maybe for future models, make them a little thicker so that this issue is less likely to occur. I hate having the lifespan of my clothing reduced because of needing to make improvised repairs. Otherwise, fantastic shorts. I will continue to use them despite their state of disrepair, along with the other 4 pairs that elevate my running experience. :D

Response from Patagonia
July 12, 2022

We appreciate your detailed and thoughtful feedback, Johnny! Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so if you need a repair or return, we will be happy to help, so don't hesitate to reach out.

July 8, 2022

Amazing liners

I was surprised by the size of the liner in these shorts, initially thinking that the boxer-brief style would be excessive. Now that I've used them on several long runs, including ones with significant creek crossings, I couldn't be happier! The pockets seemed to be a little small at first, but they hold everything I'd want to put in... Read More them on a run. The only downside I encountered was that if the drawstring gets tied into a knot, it's challenging to untie!

July 7, 2022

Great

I wear them to the gym and to go running. Zip pockets have come in very useful.

June 30, 2022

Shorts for any occasion

These shorts are super breathable and are perfect for pretty much any kind of circumstance. I've worn these at the gym doing squats, deadlifts, and other straining exercises that might rip other lesser quality shorts. I have also worn these on longer distance runs and its risen to every challenge. I'm 6'3, about 200lbs, and have a 3... Read More2'' waist. I recommend going a size up if you're on the border between sizes and especially if you have larger legs. I have a M that fits really well, but the most recent pair I bought (also M) was just too small.

June 18, 2022

My favorite running shorts

I found these shorts to be well designed and well made. I feel like the pocket size is well thought out. I cant feel the car key when I put it in my pocket while Im running. The liner is the right size and the fit is not too lose to flop around or too tight to be restrictive on the trails when running up. Will buy another one for sure. The material... Read More feels great as well.

June 17, 2022

Go to WFH/Active shorts

I just bought my fourth pair. Ive worn running shorts daily from many different brands since I was 12- these are the best Ive ever found. I base my laundry cycle around these shorts- when I dont have a clean pair to reach for, its time to do a load. Fresh out of the shower, I throw on a pair of 9 trails and a polo shirt for zoom meetings every ... Read Moreday. After 2 wears, they rotate to yoga, road biking, the climbing gym, to swing my kettlebells, volley ball, etc. i can usually wear them for 2 or 3 active outings before they need a wash. Only activity they dont participate in is rafting/kayaking/swimming in the river and lounging on rocks- the fabric is not as durable as Baggies. Between these, and baggies, Im wearing Patagonia shorts every day of the summer. The liner is great, and it means I never run out of underwear in the summer before doing laundry. I will say, the high performance of the liner is a trade off, as they will wear out long before the shorts do- thats fine, Ill cut out the liner and order another pair. 3 Zippered pockets were the main feature that sold me originally. I never lose anything, whether Im running, on a bike, or laying on the couch- everything stays where it needs to. You wont regret picking up a pair if youre thin, athletic, and like shorts with zippered pockets and a liner.

June 14, 2022

New Favorite Trail Shorts

These are definitely my new favorite running shorts. I typically dont like slash pockets and was skeptical of the liner shorts, but these are awesome. The zippered pockets are handy and the zippers keep the pockets from flaring out. Love the fit and length of the shorts too.

June 9, 2022

Fits good, but slides down as you bend over

I really like the fit, style, and comfort. Unfortunately, the pants tend to slide down if you bend over or squat.

May 31, 2022

Comfortable!

I have a hard time finding good road/trail running shorts that dont chafe my inner thighs. These do the trick and they are comfortable and look cool! Perfect length for me. Im 59, weight 165 and have a 30in inseam.

May 25, 2022

Great short bad liner

These shorts are great but the liners are holding them back. The liners wear out much faster than I would expect out of a Patagonia product. These are by far the worst liner I had from Patagonia running short and I have been using this short or its equivalent for more than 15 years.

May 21, 2022

Fits Perfect as Usual

Have been buying from Patagonia for some time now and all the clothes fit perfect. I am 6 ft 173 lbs.

May 20, 2022

Good shorts, give the liner a try

I was skeptical about these. I've never been a fan of liners in shorts. These are incredibly comfortable though. The liner doesn't ride up at all. If you're on the thicc side, I'd size up. I have a slightly more athletic build and the medium fits, but feels tight getting into, the large feels great

May 16, 2022

NOT SHED MOISTURE

After I read the review of Donald Buraglio on his article ULTRA GEAR 101 published by ULTRARUNNING MAGAZINE from September 2020 I bought one to give a try. It worked very well. I used it for my ultrarunning races and so far, so good. On April 2022 I bought two Nine Trails shorts. But in this opportunity, something was different. The boxer brief li... Read Morener was perfect. But the exterior panels did not shed the moisture at all. All the body sweat goes down directly to the foot, causing feet and socks to quickly become damp. For ultrarunners this is a problem as it is particularly important to be able to keep your feet dry as much as possible. I guess that the reason for this change is that they have used another type of fabric for the exterior panels, which is not suitable. I must clarify that my place of running is in Puerto Rico and temperatures can be between 80 to 90 degrees, which is why you perspire a lot and the humidity that your feet receive is abundant. With this new short, after running for 80 to 90 minutes, the shoes, the socks and the feet are wet. With the first Nine trail short I bought it is different. Perspiration comes out easily to the outside and thus prevents it from falling to the feet.

Response from Patagonia
May 26, 2022

We're sorry to hear that these shorts have been a disappointment. The last time that we made any changes to this style was in Spring 2018, so we're not sure what is different from the pair you purchased in 2020. We'll reach out to you privately to find a solution. Thanks for the review Gustavo!

May 13, 2022

Definitely on the small side...

Love the shorts. the materials are great! The color choices, simple and classic, but man.... The sizing got me. Im a 32 in waist and 5'11... But the medium was REALLY tight on the interior lining. Im a pretty thin guy but that was a no go. will be returning...and possibly exchanging? word to those interested *Size Up*

May 11, 2022

i like them

it is good quality. comes w liner so no need to wear underpants w shorts.

May 5, 2022

quality shorts

In my opinion the size runs a bit small

April 30, 2022

Very versatile!!

What can I say, I virtually live in these very versatile shorts and have for quite awhile now! Of course, most of the time in pretty fair whether. One complaint: I like to keep my keys in the back pocket and, alas, I get holes there!! Also the butt area wears out too quickly; maybe reinforce!? That's two complaints. I won't stop using the... Read Morem regardless & Portland Patagonia graciously repairs them. What's not to love!

April 30, 2022

For those who like to show it off

The shorts are great. Really breathable, decent pockets, inseam is great but and I mean one huge but: you can see everything up front in these. Im not sure what it is with Patagonia running shorts, but they seem to be very flat fronted so to speak. Flat fronts are great for women, but its too revealing for men. At least it is for me. Function over ... Read Morefashion Patagonia. Please.

Response from Patagonia
May 4, 2022

Hey Rich, thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you found the shorts to be revealing. If you haven't already, you're welcome to send them back. To begin the process click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 27, 2022

Sweatless

The breathability of these shorts keeps be dry all day. Whether running or sitting all day it wicks and does not leave any rash.

April 25, 2022

Good Fit and Zipper Pockets

Love these shorts for running/lifting/outdoor use. The zip pockets are large enough for an iPhone 11 Pro and while I do not usually like liner shorts, these are about the best I've come across.

April 22, 2022

Very Breathable

Great pair of shorts that can be worn in a variety of situations. They are great running shorts, but would also be perfect for wearing around town. They are a relaxed fit, so size up or down depending on desired fit.

April 12, 2022

Comfy shorts

The zippers are huge. I can run with my phone in a pocket and not worry about it falling out. I own 2 pairs of these. When doing other exercises I like the inside skirt so private parts are not exposed and very comfortable

April 10, 2022

Multisport

I have a big rump, and at 510 and 185lbs the mediums fit great. The liners are light enough for me to wear them on long runs as well as regular gym workouts, which isnt the norm for lined exercise shorts. These are my go-to fitness shorts.

March 28, 2022

Well designed for distance

Ever since the beloved Strider Pros abandoned the full liner for the less desirable brief liner, I pivoted to the Nine Trails, and it's a great trail running short. I broke these in on an unseasonably warm trail race a few weeks ago and have no complaints. I hope they last as long as my old Strider Pros have. I still think the perfect short wo... Read Moreuld be a 7" Strider Pro with a return to the boxer brief liner and a better pocket/pouch option for phone carry.

March 28, 2022

Longer than previous version

The old Nine Trails shorts with no liner have been my go to shorts for running, hiking, or just chillin for years and years. After all these years it was time to try a new pair. These are longer! Not but my too much, but enough to be less comfortable and stylish. Time to return and look elsewhere. If you're on the taller side, or if you'r... Read Moree looking for a longer pair, I'd recommend them. But for me, a bit too long. Give us a short option please!

March 26, 2022

Perfect Except Liner Too Small

Per size charts, I was surprised I was a small to replace all my old Nine Trail shorts for running. The small fit perfectly until I started running. The line then started to bunch up and I constantly tugged it down. I exchanged it for medium and the liner stays in place with the drawstring cinched tighter. Perfect shorts except the liner slides up ... Read Moreon even my skinny running legs (maybe add some elastic to them).

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2022

We're sorry to hear that our size charts steered you wrong but we really appreciate this feedback, Bret!

March 19, 2022

Tight in crotch

Normally running shorts are loose. Under the waistband these are not loose. Eventually Patagonia will make a comfortable pair of shorts and pants, not this pair.

Response from Patagonia
March 28, 2022

Hi Philip, thank you for submitting this review. We're sorry to hear that fit didn't work for your needs! If you would like to return them, you can begin that process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 19, 2022

Great shorts

Really nice product, very comfortable. Great for early spring runs. Would like to see additional colors be made available.

March 17, 2022

The best running shorts ever. Endgame

These are short are the best. Ive taken them everywhere from the gym, road runs, trail runs, and causal use, they havent let me down. My favorite part is the zippers. Zippers are what make these short the ultimate shorts. When I go trail running I always carry stuff, phone, keys, vape, headphones and I NEVER have to worry about losing any of my s... Read Moretuff because of these zippers. These shorts are just great. For great, look good, and doesnt stink up quick takes 3 long runs before I wash them.

March 5, 2022

Perfect Short

I bought these shorts 3 years ago and have been putting them through the ringer ever since. I absolutely love them for any activity where I might want to wear shorts. I basically live in them when temperatures allow. Ive worn these short for thousands of hours running, hiking, climbing, on river trips, backpacking, desert trips, you name it they ... Read Moredo it. I love the liners, the no-skink properties and quick drying fabric. Plus the fit and durability are exceptional. I go the black pair, and Ive worn them so much that theyve faded from the sun and are more of a grey now.haha But thats about the only sign of wear which is pretty amazing given the amount of abuse Ive put these through. Maybe Ill buy a new pair someday, if my current pair ever wears out. Buy them, you wont regret it.

February 24, 2022

THE 24/7 SHORT

Extremely comfortable short. I cant believe I never owned a pair of these until recently. I now own 2 pairs. I say 24/7 because sometimes Ill wear them around casually all day, fall asleep in them (they are that comfortable) and then wake up and go to the gym. Going to get a 3rd pair.

February 22, 2022

Great shorts for any activity. Beware of slim fit

I have a pair of nine trails from 3-4 years ago that are perfect. I wanted to get a second pair in the same size but I found that the sizing a recently changed to at more narrow, slim fit. It would be helpful if Patagonia put a special note an existing item that has changed recently!

Response from Patagonia
March 1, 2022

Hey Ryan, thanks for the review. We double checked to see if there have been any changes to the fit on the Nine Trails Shorts and the only thing we were able to find is that the fabric and liner are now made from mostly recycled materials. The fit of the short is still "regular". You can check the fit on any item by going to it's product page and scrolling down to the size range options, underneath that you'll see the type of fit. If your shorts are still in new condition and you'd like to exchange them out for a bigger size, you're welcome to begin that process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 25, 2022

*Just the Ticket

Great fabric. Easy care. Love the pockets. Always nice to have a back pocket for the mobile. Same with the Terrebone pants. They both match up great with the Cool Daily shirts which have short or long sleeves. I can mix, match, and combine depending on weather and temperature. Length could be just a tad longer. Not too much though. Also the tie can... Read More be a bit bothersome. *Bought four pair because I was worried you may not stick with them.

January 16, 2022

Quality issue, would be perfect

I so wanted these shorts to work. I bought a pair at REI in the Fall and loved them. Great fit, comfortable, dry quickly, perfect pockets. So excited I bought a second pair! Then in less than two months the liner of both pairs wore through. I've never had a pair of running shorts wear out so quickly. I'd love to get them repaired but see... Read Morems an issue with the liner fabric quality so I am returning them and trying to find something else. I hope Patagonia can sort out the liner issue as I'm always looking for running shorts with good zipper pockets that can hold a phone and nutrition, etc. Bummed about these.

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2022

Hello William, we are sorry to learn about your experience with the liner of the shorts. You are certainly welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our Ironclad Guarantee. We appreciate your feedback.

January 15, 2022

Great

I own a pair of endless runnign shorts and they are, or must I say were, my favorourite shorts for long distance running. These shorts are richt up there and now I am thorn between the two different models. I run with two half liter soft flasks in both front pockets and they dont bounce at all. Very light and comfortabele liner. I would say for fas... Read Moreter sessions I still prefer the fit of the endless running shirts but for 80 % of the other training sessions I will use these . I will buy a second pair soon and can recommend them to anyone. Incredible product from Patagonia again!

January 4, 2022

Subtle Improvements continue

Ive owned 9-trails shorts since they were introduced. This latest iteration is the best so far. New otter fabric, in proved length and knotting on zipper pulls. Same great all purpose functionality. Great product Patagonia!

December 29, 2021

Beautiful product

Bought as a present and am told they are a perfect fit, super comfortable and breathable. Great environmentally responsible company who are creating awareness through their products and site.

December 27, 2021

Perfect

They are a great short for all activities. I did cut the liner out. Im not into liners.

December 20, 2021

Great product

Comfortable fit, good length.

December 14, 2021

Good Product

Usually don't like liners in my athletic shorts but this pair has one that I really enjoy. Great product and would recommend. Used about 2 weeks so far.

December 11, 2021

Almost perfect

These would be my favorite running shorts of all time if they just had a better phone pocket. These have two front pockets and one rear pocket on the right side, but neither is a good place to store anything. My favorite running shorts have a centered pocket just below the rear waistband where you can put relatively heavy items like a phone, lets, ... Read Moreor a wallet and not really notice them while running. I know these are specifically marketed as trail running shorts, so maybe Patagonia is assuming anyone wearing these will also be wearing a vest, but I dont always wear one on trail runs, and I never do on road runs. I really love everything else about these shorts, but I dont wear them that often just because they dont give me a place to carry my stuff without everything flapping around.

Response from Patagonia
December 14, 2021

Hello Darin! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate this feedback regarding the lack of a pocket adequate for your phone. We'll pass this along to our design team to keep in mind for future seasons.

December 5, 2021

Liner Tears Easily

The liner on these shorts will tear after wearing once a week for a little over a year. I originally liked the fit of these shorts, and even bought a second pair because I liked them so much. However, the liner of both pairs of shorts are ripped now.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2022

Hello Jay! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the liners of both your shorts have torn. We definitely expect better durability out of our gear so we'd consider this a warranty issue. Sadly, this isn't something we're able to repair. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so we'd encourage you to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them to us.

December 5, 2021

Great long run shorts

These are the best running shorts patagonia currently sells. They are comfortable and very durable, but heavier than a running short needs to be, as they are made of a light softshell material rather than a typical lightweight running short fabric. This does make them warmer which can be nice in cooler weather when it's not cold enough for tig... Read Morehts. The boxer-brief liner is comfortable, not too tight, and doesn't ride up much - maybe it's the way I'm built but I have yet to find one that doesn't ride up at all, and so far this is the one that rides up the least. The liner seems to be the lightweight cap1 fabric which is comfy but not as light or stretchy as the fabric they used to use in the discontinued Strider Pro shorts with the boxer liner. These are great for long mountain runs with a lot of hiking, and cooler weather runs when a little extra warmth is nice. They are a bit hot and heavy for warm temps, though. Quick note on Durability: I got bit on the butt by a large Doberman while wearing these, ended up with 4 oozing puncture wounds on my butt cheek which took about 2 weeks to heal, but the shorts were basically unscathed - no holes in the liner or outer shorts, just a tiny pull in the outer fabric that you'd never notice unless you look really closely. 5 stars all around, will likely buy another pair or two.

November 21, 2021

Worth every penny

Bought these shorts for the second time, they are so comfortable and provide great support. Mostly backpacking and running. I'll always keep a pair on hand and you should too!

November 7, 2021

comfortable

I really like the fit and the zipper pockets. The draw string needs to be a little longer so that I can really make it tight. I have some XL and tried the XXL to see if it was better but will go back to my XL.

November 7, 2021

Good activity shorts, bar some minor quibbles

Bought as a replacement for my x-years-old Nine Trails. Nice feel to the material, but seem a little smaller, size-wise. Or maybe I'm just fatter. On balance I think I prefer the brief-style lining and the more contained fold-over pockets of my old ones, but otherwise this new version does fine.

October 21, 2021

Great gym shorts, highly mobile and comfortable

These shorts are incredible, if you are looking for something that allows extreme mobility. The fit like a normal Large, I'm 210lb and 6'2" with large legs and they fit pretty great. I can do full range squats, yoga positions, or just go on regular walks with the dogs.. and they stay in place! Very comfortable, and they look fantas... Read Moretic.

October 17, 2021

New Go-To Shorts

These shorts are super comfortable and so far seem to be durable. I am a rough and tumble guy, so to have shorts that last is always a predicament. We also live in a rather hot climate, and these shorts keep me cool. They are versatile for going out with my bride or to go lift some weights or run. Great shorts Patagonia. I was a bit skeptical of h... Read Moreaving shorts with a liner, but it is comfortable and supportive. Side pockets and back pockets have enough space to carry my belongings.

October 11, 2021

Great shorts, a little fragile

I absolutely love these for hiking, swimming, whitewater rafting, backpacking, general excercise, anything outdoors or active. They dry incredibly quickly and remain comfortable after multiple days of wear. The only thing to be aware of is that they are not the most durable-I ripped the back of mine scrambling down a boulder in Wyoming. I would not... Read More suggest these for climbing, bushwhacking, or any heavy duty work. The inner liner did not tear so I still wear these in the backcountry by myself!

September 30, 2021

Awesome shorts/different material

I have an old pair of these shorts that have never had any problems other than the liner wearing out after a few years. But the shorts have held up for a long time through climbing, surfing, work outs - whatever! A small hole developed on the butt of them recently so I got another pair for when I have to send them to worn wear for fixing! The new p... Read Moreair certainly feels great but very different and slightly longer than the older pair. That and the fabric had already picked to wear there is a strange line in the pattern. I expect them to be just as durable, but only being a few weeks in and already having a mishap in rugged quality was a little upsetting. Still, Ill wear the shorts everyday like I did the last pair, washing when needed and wearing them hard. I hope they hold up, but we shall see!

September 27, 2021

Perfect shorts

Take them everywhere I go as they are very breathable and stretchy, yet stylish enough to not get told to change on date night's. Perfect!

September 22, 2021

Quality in every detail

When you step into them you feel the fit. It does it well. Kinda large feel but that doesn't show. To have a minor thing to mention is that I hear them while running. If that wasn't there is would be a five star rating.

September 22, 2021

Perfect

Super comfortable: supportive without any tightness or chaffing; breathable; allow a full range of movement; stay put around waist. Really the perfect short.

September 16, 2021

Comfortable with great range of motion

I have used these mostly for climbing indoors and they are comfortable with no compromises in terms of range of motion. In regards to sizing, I am a 32" waist and the medium fit nicely and if anything, just slightly fitted. The zippered pockets are a nice touch, overall I would definitely recommend!

September 14, 2021

Fits small not a medium

Shorts are too small are not true size.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2021

Hi Jack, fit and comfort are extremely important so please feel free to begin a return or exchange for those Patagonia Men's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 8". You can begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/home/.

September 5, 2021

Great Shorts

Definitely the best running short Ive owned in a long time. Comfortable liner, lightweight and cool, zipper pockets are super useful. Durable, great fit. I have 3 pairs now; theyre pretty much all I wear when its nice outside.

September 2, 2021

Three Zipper Pockets are Useful

These are my new favorite shorts. I wear them around the house, working in the back yard, biking, running, and in yoga. Having zippers is great for securing a phone and wallet when shopping, holding keys when running, and holding a snack when biking. I'm not used to wearing a liner in shorts, but this liner is great and it feels like boxer sho... Read Morerts. I plan to buy a second pair next spring so I can alternate shorts during the summer. Highly recommended.

September 1, 2021

Great shorts

I use these for warm weather hiking and I am loving them. The zippered pockets are great, and rare on such shorts, whilst the liner is really comfortable. Light, breathable and comfortable.

August 30, 2021

Best Running Shorts

These are great for running, hiking, whatever active. But far and away my favorite running / hiking shorts. The do run a little small.

August 30, 2021

Greatest Shorts

I love these shorts so much i have 4 pairs. The only thing i would change is have the pockets a little deeper and maybe a cargo pocket.

August 27, 2021

Fits like a glove

I absolutely love these shorts. They provide so much room for movement and flexibility when running and on long hikes.

August 26, 2021

Great shorts

Great shorts. Light material. Lining is very comfortable and stretchy. Perfect for summer hikes.

August 22, 2021

Very comfortable and breathable

These were my primary shorts for a 4-day summer backpacking trip in the Sierra Nevadas. They were fantastic: comfortable, breathable, and functional. The zippered pockets are great to ensure that valuables arent lost on tough climbs.

August 22, 2021

Great hiking short

I guess these shorts are more for trail running but can double up as hiking shorts. Maybe most wouldnt like the liner option for hiking but I think for comfort they are great.

August 21, 2021

Favorite do all summer shorts

I run in them, hike in them, impromptu swimming in the nearest watering hole and lounging outside when it's 90 and humid. They're light, breathable, super quick drying and really comfortable. My favorite part: no under-britches required. If I don't know what the day is going to bring, I'm wearing the 9-trails.

August 20, 2021

Pockets!

Zippered pockets are a must for me. My large iPhone will fit in these pockets.

August 19, 2021

Cool in summer

Underpant makes these supportive, cool, and comfortable. The pockets are nicely sized, zip shut, and there are THREE of them, making these shorts perfect for daily hot-weather wear.

August 18, 2021

Excellent shorts

These shorts are as good as advertised. The spandex layer is excellent and wonderfully wicks moisture. I Initial use was 2.5 hours of Spike Ball and the second was an incredibly hot, humid small one night backpacking trip with the kiddos. These shorts were amazing in both scenarios. Will definitely be buying more pairs. Thanks!

August 18, 2021

By far the best shortsI

These are perfect in every way except the liner. I have three pair that I wear all the time. The length is great, the material is exceptional, the pockets are well placed and very functional and the style is on point. I cut the liner out of them and now they are the perfect shorts. I know this voids the warranty but I cant stand shorts with liners.... Read More The only way to improve on these would be to make a version with out a liner for a little less money.

August 14, 2021

flexie

good shorts for running. runs small imo according to size chart.

August 12, 2021

Cool , light, and comfortable

This is my second pair (also have the grey) and I love these for hiking, backpacking and trail running. Super light and comfortable and the material does, in fact, keep the smell away. Wore these four days straight during an extended hike on the Camino del Norte in Spain last month with temps in the high 80s F. Outstanding!

August 12, 2021

Best Running Shorts

These are the best running shorts I've ever had. They are comfortable and when I put my phone and keys in my pocket they don't bounce around.

August 10, 2021

Great fit

Great fit comfortable and good for all activities

August 10, 2021

Really good shorts

First Patagonia purchase . . . Best shorts I’ve tried !

August 8, 2021

Almost perfect

If it had a dedicated phone pocket in the back tailbone area, it would be perfect. I don't understand the position of the angled pocket on the backside of the shorts. Overall still great shorts and thankfully my phone fits in the back pocket, but would bounce less with a centered pocket.

Response from Patagonia
August 10, 2021

Thanks for your feedback on the features of these shorts. These details are valuable for our product designers!

July 29, 2021

Favorite running shorts for long runs

These are fantastic. They fit great, have a moisture wicking fabric and three zipper pockets for keys, snacks etc. Compared to a previous version of these shorts the liner is shorter on the legs (which I prefer) and the fabric seems more water repellent. I've run two marathons in these and never had any issue with chafing, pocket blowout or ot... Read Moreher negative experiences. I'm 5'9, 175 lbs and bought a medium.

July 28, 2021

Great zippered shorts

Great shorts. I love the 3 zippered pockets!

July 27, 2021

Liner failed

I bought these for my husband as hiking, SUP, and casual wear shorts. He truly loved them. He loved how quickly they dried out and he loves the zipper pockets. However, after a year of pretty regular use, the inside liner has completely worn out. I understand that he wore them a lot, but I still feel like high end gear should hold up a bit better t... Read Morehan they did. It seems wasteful to buy another pair knowing they may do the same thing in a year.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2021

Hi Katie, thank you for taking the time to let us know about the untimely wear and tear on your husband’s Men's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 8". We'd be happy to help you out with a repair, return or exchange. Please feel free to begin any of those processes here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 27, 2021

Go-to for everyday shorts

These are close to perfect. zip-pockets each side and right side rear are deep and wide enough. Fit is just right for me. Had one pair, loved 'em enough to order two more pairs. The construction is excellent. My first pair are showing me how well they are made and how durable they are. They still look as good as the two new pair. Thanks, Patag... Read Moreonia.

July 25, 2021

The gift was a hit

This was a give and they fit true to size the black and blue pair of shorts great for water as well like swimming!

July 24, 2021

Runs Small

Purchased as recommended by fellow hikers. Ordered my typical running short size (XL) and sadly this pair of Patagonias run too small.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the fit John. They do come in a XXL which might fit you better.

July 23, 2021

A bit tight. Favored over Baggies.

I was between sizes, so I ordered up and they were still a bit tight. I favor these over the Baggies. Pros: Very comfortable, soft outer shell Comfortable, bicycle-style liner All pockets have zipper closures Cons: Undersized tight. Order up Bicycle-style liner I would prefer brief-style for lighter weight backpacking. Pockets are insanely shallow... Read More do not fit an iPhone 6s. Expensive

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Mens Nine Trail Shorts. We are certainly sorry to hear that they did not meet your expectations. As always, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not meet your expectations.

July 23, 2021

No adjustments needed!

I've only had these shorts for a short time but couldn't be happier so far! The fit and comfort are excellent and on the few short runs I've been on so far, I haven't needed to make a SINGLE adjustment to the shorts while running. That's a beautiful thing. The built in liners don't ride up and are (to my surprise) very... Read More comfortable; no chaffing thus far and these are bound to be the first running shorts I don't cut the liners out of! Zip pockets are awesome & appreciated. Knocked these out of the park, Patagonia!

July 22, 2021

Great fit. Love the inner lining.

Fits great and the inner lining is great for running/sports.

July 22, 2021

Great fit

Fit great , for me a tad longer would be better

July 21, 2021

Best shorts ever

These shorts are super comfortable and extra durable (I still wear the pair of Nine Trails that I got about 7 years ago). The inner liner is really comfy, with perfect stretch. Best part are the pockets!! It's so hard to find running shorts with zippers and/or pockets that are big enough to hold a smartphone comfortably. Note to Patagonia: P... Read MoreLEASE NEVER STOP SELLING THESE SHORTS!

July 21, 2021

Running and hiking with pockets!

Thankfully these have pockets. Its hard to find quick dry running shorts with pockets. Good looking enough to wear casually without the feel of workout gear and preforms well in stride. Theres room for improvement on the fabric durability, these have begun to fray after a few work outs. Definitely not rip stop so be mindful if you snag these while ... Read Morehiking. At this price point Id expect a bit tougher. Otherwise it would get another star.

July 15, 2021

Great product

These shorts are thin and breathable, but feel super sturdy. Ive run, biked and swam in these, and they performed great. The pockets are well placed and useful. I do have bigger thighs, so I might have been able to get away with a size large, but the mediums have enough give for me to get into. My favorite pair of workout shorts by far.

July 15, 2021

Should have bought 3!

I bought one black pair, then loved them so much and the inner liner fits so well and doesnt chaff at all that I bought another gray forge pair less than four weeks later, my only complaint is I havent bought a third pair yet!

July 14, 2021

Worn out liner

Bought these to go trail running and they are awesome when they are new. I put about 45 miles on them and they wore through the inner liner...like - they disintegrated. I bought another pair at the same time and I'm not running in those, just hiking and they're great and have had no issues w a hundred or so miles on 'em. So running, ... Read Moreno. Hiking, yes.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Hi Michael, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're very sorry to hear that the liner wore out so quickly when using them for running. That is definitely disappointing considering this is what they're intended for. We really appreciate this feedback as its how we improve things for future seasons. With all that said, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 13, 2021

The shorts you always wanted

I purchased these shorts for running shorts. Upon receiving them, I quickly realized they were going to be my favorite. So comfy and perfect for swimming, hiking, running, everything...

July 13, 2021

Great running shorts

It's just a great running short with an inner liner that is super comfortable. I LOVE the fact that these shorts have pockets to carry ID, keys, etc. on my run. Am planning to purchase a second pair.

July 10, 2021

Favorite workout shorts

I generally hage shorts with liners, and cut them out. These are a noted exception! Super soft and moisture wicking. Also like that they have enough pockets that I can hike in them, carrying keys, wallet, etc. But the pockets aren't so obtrusive that they get in the way during a workout.

July 9, 2021

I own 5 pairs!

This is an outstanding running short! I own 5 pairs, if something does not work I don't buy duplicates. The "boxer brief liner" is a blessing, no seam to slide up between the man-bits and your thigh. Have run in these from freezing temperatures and zero humidity up to 92 degrees and 90 percent humidity. Takes a little effort to get u... Read Moresed to tieing the outside drawstring but it is worth the effort. 3 zippered pockets? More gels for long and longer runs! Overall a slightly pricey short that is very comfortable and worth the extra money.

July 5, 2021

I Like Em

I have worn the strider pros for years and the relatively recent change to a brief liner rather than the boxer liner has been a tragedy. Anyways, enter the Nine Trails Shorts. A little longer than I usually like but I am adjusting. The zip pockets are nice. The stretch pockets on Strider Pros always wore out after 5+ years of heavy use and it will ... Read Morebe interesting to see how these hold up. I am happy with them so far.

July 3, 2021

Great fit

I bought these shorts because my gf drags me to hot yoga every now and again. These shorts have amazing range of motion and help keep everything where it should be, they have made it a more enjoyable experience for me.

June 30, 2021

Quality

Quality

June 29, 2021

my go to shorts, period

I love these shorts for everything from walking around, the city, hiking, swimming, everything. I cut out the liner and just wear them with my regular boxers most of them time. Great looking, comfortable and durable.

Response from Patagonia
July 7, 2021

Note that altering the liner does void the warranty in that area, but we're glad that you've been happy with the shorts overall, Jason!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches