Back to Product

Ms R1® Air Full-Zip Hoody

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 67 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R1® Air Full-Zip Hoody

4.7/5
Kinda Large
June 2, 2021

Perfect

Perfect fit, perfect colour and cuddly (I gave it as a present to my hubby)

May 21, 2021

Cozy, Bright & Well Made

I've been an R1 Hoodie fan and user for almost two decades now. The Air Full-Zip is a new addition to my line up and I like it very much. The new "Air" material looks different from what I'm used to in outdoor clothing, but it feels amazing on my skin - plush, soft and warm. The pocket on this piece is smaller than on other R1 H... Read Moreoodies, which is a bummer because my phone does not fit inside it. I like the lining of the hand pockets, which have a tougher, nylon lining that feels like it can handle keys or anything rough better than the Air material could. Overall, I'm super happy with this and look forward to developing a long relationship with it!

May 17, 2021

Great product!

This jacket is cozy and warm! The fit is relaxed but the comfort is amazing!

May 17, 2021

Soft as cashmere

Replacing my nano puff as a layering sweater. Great in humid weather where nano puff gets clammy. Hardly notice it's on!

May 16, 2021

Great top which fits well

Great top which fits well

May 14, 2021

Review for R1

I recently purchased the R1 and I love it. It is really light weight and keeps you worm. I used it at pennusula state park in Door county wisconsin on a hiking trip. Love the color and design. I have been wearing your products for over 25 years and I really appreciate all that this company stands for. Keep up all the success and God bless. Jorge M.... Read More

May 3, 2021

Slim fit, warm

Product feels warmer than previous R1 hoody versions. Definitely thicker, breathability is about the same. Sleeves could be longer (they ride up when moving arms around) , and would be great to add a velcro adjustable cuff vs the banded cuff. I am 6'1" and 155 lbs, medium is a trim fit. Very good with a single base layer underneath in man... Read Morey types of variable conditions. Needs a shell for high wind or significant moisture. feels like a cozy fleece inside and out.

May 1, 2021

Why reduce chest pocket size?!

I received the R1 air only to be very disappointed with the fact that the check pocket size reduced compared to the R1. I have the iphone 12 pro and it now barely fits in the pocket; it is a tight cumbersome squeeze to get it in there. This seems like a wildly stupid decision because the same size pocket as the normal R1 would be negligible in term... Read Mores of weight, and the jacket has plenty of real estate there. This is the best pocket for my phone and now I will not be able to easily remove/insert my phone while I'm climbing and don't always have both hands free. For this reason I am giving the jacket 3 stars, otherwise it seems great. Poor design decisions, Patagonia..

April 30, 2021

Love it!

It's not as warm as i thought, but great to run it. Just wish perhaps the sleeve was 0.5cm longer for shrinkaged when washed.

April 28, 2021

Super comfortable

What a great piece, I'm a medium but I had to size up to large medium seemed a little tight the medium jacket would raise up if I raise my arms above my waist. I can't say enough good things about that jacket sized up so I can have a looser more comfortable fit.

April 27, 2021

Nice Fleece

I love how the zig zag pattern looks. Nice and comfy fleece that performs very well while ski touring and ski mountaineering. Wicks moisture and dries super fast which is great during high exertion cold weather activity. Less stretchy, but slightly warmer and blocks wind a touch better than regular R1. The fit is a bit boxier than the regular R1, I... Read More wish the hem was more tapered on the R1 Air. Kind of holds odor more than R1 too. I'm 155lbs and 6', forever between a M and L. I opted for a Large as I like my mid layers a little longer and less restrictive in the armpits and chest. Not a fan when base/mid layers barely go past my belt as a taller skinny guy. Taper the hem and it's a perfect fit for me. Overall still love it, but my regular R1 full zip hoody fits better.

April 20, 2021

Great fit

The sweater fit great, and I love the style.

April 15, 2021

Super warm

I bought the zip neck of this same item & liked it some much. I definitely decided to get the jacket as well. Super soft, warm very comfortable against your skin or with a capilene tee under it. Get one you'll love it & wear it a lot.

April 15, 2021

Best Base Ever!

I bought this to have as a base under my puffy while hiking in NoCo. This thing keeps you warm while avoiding the dreadful heat fatigue while hiking. Its comfy, versatile and awesome. Oh and youll get the random hiker complimenting you while wearing it.

April 7, 2021

More warmer

I was expecting a jacket that was a little warmer in the wind.

April 7, 2021

Excellent

Excellent

April 6, 2021

Ms R1® Air Full-Zip Hoody

Great hoody - best part is cosy feeling when touching skin!

April 6, 2021

Excellent comfort range

Snowshoed the Wild Basin portion of Rocky Mt Nat Park, temp in the 40s and coming on to dark. Cap 4 hoody underneath, put the Air on at the car and didnt take it off for the jaunt and then for the 2 hour car ride home! Didnt sweat out working up the steep trail, stayed warm coming down w temps in the 30s and then was blown away that I didnt have to... Read More take it off for the car ride home! Its comfy through a very broad range of temperatures and exertion levels. On the flip side, the pockets are way to low, the pack waist belt cuts right across em. Im 62, 225 with long arms and broad shoulders, the fit with the xxl works for that part but the body is large. Ill see if a Patti retail store has an xl to try on to downsize the torso. Excellent addition to the R1 line! Well done!

April 4, 2021

Great fit and comfortable

I love this fleece. It goes well with my triolet jacket. I’m 6”1 / 91kgs and the L is a perfect fit. Collar zips up nice and high to keep you warm especially when you have the hood up. Crater blue colour with the yellow zip looks great. Would highly recommend.

April 1, 2021

Ridiculously Comfortable!

So I bought the hoody during lockdown which means unfortunately it hasn't been tested in the wild just yet, but I am sure it's going to be just as great outside. I am that awkward fit where medium can be too tight and large too baggy and the R1 is definitely snug on me. Whilst being snug it is not constricting, I still have a lot of freed... Read Moreom of movement and I reckon this will be a perfect midlayer under my light softshell when climbing. For now it will continue to be loungewear!

March 31, 2021

Very happy! Fits well and

Very happy! Fits well and looks great.

March 29, 2021

Light and warm

Fantastic mid layer and stand alone protecter too.

March 29, 2021

Hot Ember is Orange

I really enjoy how breathable and soft this jacket is, BUT it is substantially lighter in color. It looks red, but is 100% Orange. Again, I love the R1 jackets, but I think I will exchange it.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

Hi Leonardo, thanks for sharing your thoughts on the R1 Air and we're so sorry the color wasn't what you expected. Let us know if you want some [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) finding an alternative style or color!

March 28, 2021

Superb hoody!

It's warm, flexible, extremely soft and looks great. It's now my favourite second layer and have been on several fly fishing trips.

March 27, 2021

Very breathable and warm.

Very comfortable and warm. Fabric feels great on skin. Had to exchange and size up to an xl because I have broad shoulders. 62 210.

March 27, 2021

Very warm

Light weight and warm

March 27, 2021

Comfort and Warmth

This slim cut hoody is extremely versatile for any activity you can think of. I bought for Back Country Skiing and have used it for MTB, Hiking, Alpine spring Skiing and Causal wear. Hi quality and warm, it's super light and is also an excellent wind barrier. I love it. Great job Patagonia!

March 26, 2021

Tight fit for me...

I purchased the quarter zip version in large and its a great fit. I love the hoody version but it is a slimmer fit. Still love the item just wish it had a little more room.

March 26, 2021

Super soft!

I bought a medium to be a little more snug than my usual large size. It's a bit tight in the arm pits but all around comfortable fit. I love how soft and cozy it is in morning hikes around 45 degrees it's all you'd need. In colder mornings I throw my nano puff over top and the double layer is outstanding. Morning workouts are great f... Read Moreor getting warmed up in the R1 and once I get too warm I'll shed to continue. Overall great construction and great comfort from Patagonia. Would highly recommend for all around use!

March 26, 2021

Great layer and cool wear!

True to size and warm! Great warm but lightweight layer! Convenient pockets and hood is great when temps drop!

March 25, 2021

Best Fleece

I love this fleece and it is an instant staple in my collection. The fit is perfect. I am 6 foot 2 and 180 and it fits me without any issues (even my longer arms). I love that it is snug through the body and then expands out at the neck/face so I do not feel choked. Some other scuba hoods often cover my eyes, but this fits perfectly around my head.... Read More The fleece breaks the wind much better than I anticipated and keeps me plenty warm in 40-50's with a long sleeve underneath. I would absolutely recommend this product.

March 25, 2021

great piece

To be fair, haven't put it through much yet. Very soft, fit is great. I'm 5'9" 160ish athletic/lean and the medium is nearly perfect. Breathes very well, but warm. Pockets are good. Note the ember color is burnt orange. No biggie just thought it would be redder based on website pics. Very happy with it and would buy again.

March 25, 2021

Comfy

Great fit, super comfy for layering but after wearing a few times it really pulls the body odor into the armpits. Have not done any crazy activities in it yet or am a heavy sweating person.

March 24, 2021

Great hoody

Warm and light, looks cool. Love the material Slim fit, quite long on the body and the arms which suits me (194 cm, 93k).

March 23, 2021

R1 Air Full Zip

Very warm and a great fit

March 23, 2021

Excellent Product

Highly recommend this product. It is super warm, cozy, and dries up fast. Can't live w/o it now.

March 23, 2021

Hooded Top

Good

March 23, 2021

Perfect fit.....so good I bought 2

I've been using this top the last few months and absolutely love it. I wear it mainly as a mid layer. Its perfect over a baselayer if going hiking. I wear it every time I go biking when I'm working hard on the uphill it breaths great so I don't overheat but keeps me warm enough for the times you're stopped on the trail. Packs do... Read Morewn to a nice compact size its not really bulky which is great. The quality is second to none. The front pocket is perfect for a card or my van key or a bar. Love this top. Well worth the money.

March 23, 2021

Excellent, I recommend it!

Excellent, I recommend it!

March 23, 2021

OK!

OK!

March 23, 2021

Epic

Epic. No complaints. Does exactly what is says on the tin.

March 21, 2021

Twice As Nice

I've biked to work 473 days in row. My R1 Hoodie is now my go to mid layer for fighting Colorado cold, snow and wind. I especially like the form fitting hood that zips up tight. I wore mine twice in some challenging conditions and bought a second one.

March 19, 2021

Warm & Breathable

Works as described. If you're standing around in the cold, this is not going to keep you warm. This changes if you're hiking where it keeps you warm while being breathable. The hood, and full length zipper, allow for further modulation of comfort. I've very happy with it.

March 8, 2021

Not that soft & Tight in Chest

Bought size Large. 1. Fabric was not as soft as it looked (online) to me...but still comfortable. Certainly not soft like the capilene air crew. 2. Patagonia tops often do not fit my body type. This is unfortunate as I really like the quality and the company ethos. 3. If you have an athletic shape (V taper of X body type), you'll have difficul... Read Morety fitting properly into most Patagonia fleece, jackets, tops etc. 4. I'm 6ft 1", 170lbs with 44 chest and broad shoulders. If I buy a Patagonia top that fits my chest/shoulders (size L or XL)...the torso and arms are too loooong (R2 techface hoody). 5. Apparently I'm the same height/weight as most of the male models on the site, but we must have different proportions. A medium is very constricting to movement for me. 6. Oddly, i think their tops are great for people with a little mass around the middle or skinny runner types. 7. I've tried about 12 different tops this year and only two have fit my shape. Hope that helps :)

March 8, 2021

My new favorite hoodie

Lightweight, warm, and comfortable. Plus pockets are huge. A little on the snug/athletic side for sizing, which is what I wanted.

March 4, 2021

The Best Midlayer

I love this midlayer. It's warm, soft, comfortable, and fits snugly, but not tight on my slender frame. The hood is nice and snug and turns with your head. It does everything a midlayer should do and does it better than anything else I've found. The only issue I have with it is that Patagonia's sales and marketing department is so i... Read Morenept that they only offer a handful of these to the US public, so they sell out in the most popular colors and sizes in the first few days, and in some cases, in the first few hours that they come out. I even signed up for a notification when a different color came back in stock and within four hours of receiving the email notice I tried to order it and they were already sold out!!! This is not an inexpensive garment in a low quality store - I expect better. They need to clean house on the inventory management team who handles this. . . . Then deport them.

March 2, 2021

Marshmallow Light

Love this new update to the R1. Purchased a week ago and have used it during two runs and for work. Great in a variety of temps (17F snow and 43F rain). Dries amazingly fast after wash and does not become saturated with sweat during a run workout; wore my Patty Houdini overtop. Ill be purchasing a second one for casual use in a brighter color when ... Read Morethey are available. Purchased a small as im 57, 160lbs, 38chest, 15.5arm and this fits great even with a baselayer underneath. Light and durable. My new favorite piece from Patagonia

March 2, 2021

Yeah buddy

Quite a gem in my layering system! Fits perfect as a second layer and is snug...but not too snug

March 1, 2021

Great style

I have 4-5 kind of fleece jackets of Patagonia. Usually small size is a little small, medium size a little bit bigger for me. So weirdly Im in between. In this jacket problem is solved. Medium and slim; perfect.

February 26, 2021

Great Piece, maybe misleading name

So I really love this hoody. It is the most comfortable piece I've had from Patagonia thus far. The next to skin feel when you just have a tshirt underneath it is amazing. It does run a little large in my opinion and has more of the patty boxy cut than fitted. The pockets are awesome, very low profile so they don't add bulk to the jacket.... Read More The interior dump pockets are great too. I really recommend this jacket. I'm a huge fan of the R1 line. I have the techface hoody and standard pull over hoody as well. I expected this to be more of an "air" version of the R1, kind of like the nano air is to the nano puff. This however is a completely different piece. The standard R1 is lighter, thinner, more breathable and has the fitted cut to layer very easily. This jacket is closer to a better sweater or synching in terms of insulation and warmth. This piece blocks more breezes than a traditional R1 as well. These aren't negatives but just something I thought would be helpful. Based on the "R1" title I wasn't really expecting this type of jacket, again I'd say this is more a "synchilla air" than an R1 at all. It does breathe well when you're working but in cold months I use an R1 as a layer to stay warm on runs below freezing. This jacket gets too hot too fast. It's also a boxier fit than the standard R1, again more like a synching. Great jacket but definitely the wrong name imo.

February 25, 2021

LOVE this zip hoodie!

Soft, comfortable, I love everything about this hoodie. Bought 1 size larger than usual and the fit is perfect for a relaxed look without being bulky.

February 24, 2021

Solid for ski touring

When ski touring the R1 is my go to. Breaths really well and at the same time keeps heat whens it cold. Funk factor is minimal and I have put long hard days in. Hood is good tight fit when the wind is whipping. Like most Patagonia products i get I find myself saying I could buy a few of these. The material is also softer then other R1 products. If ... Read Moreyour looking for a jacket for the skin track this is the one. Patagonia got this one spot on for high output in colder temps.

February 23, 2021

r1 air hoody

Super bummed you put zipper pockets on this piece right after i bought one. bummer is the name of the game with outdoor clothing when an item is malfunctional. Never release a jacket without pocket zippers. Not smart

February 22, 2021

Perfect for those cold runs!

Great layer for running, light, breathable and warm. I always find it hard to find a hoodie with those features but this is the one

February 14, 2021

Best yet

So light and so warm. The perfect mid layer for climbing outdoors 👌🏼

February 12, 2021

Warm & Great All-Around

Really like the material and feel of this hoodie. It retains a lot of heat, without feeling too heavy. Two small additions I would like, would be for a zipper cover by where the mouth rests, and also thumb holes on the sleeves. Otherwise, a pretty great product!

February 10, 2021

Nice fleece

Have had it for a few weeks now. I'm in doubt wether its to big for me. But although it's not tight fitting its stil warm and comfy.

February 8, 2021

Incredible Warm and Breathable

Having used an R1 full zip, I enjoy this R1 Air, as it breathes easier, and its even warmer. When its windy and cold just put windbreaker over it. I backpacked long enough to see that it does not wear where my backpack sits. Great layer

February 8, 2021

Great jacket

Great jacket

February 2, 2021

Plusher and warmer R1 with decent breathability

Feels much warmer and has a homogeneous fabric compared to the variable thickness of the r1 pullover hoody. Hand pockets are reinforced with a more durable fabric so the inside doesn't pill up too much. Initially bought an XS. The armpits were way too constricting. Chest too tight. I am an xs for 2016 nano air, 2018 torrentshell, 2017 sidesen... Read Mored but S for 2019 r1 pullover hoody. The S r1 air full zip is more relaxed in the pits but still baggy along the chest. If you've got broad shoulders/chest definitely size up. The hood fits looser and isn't scuba diver tight which means it's comfortable to zip all the way up with the hood down. Nice to have zipped pockets compared to the regular r1 full zip. Chest pocket is great for keeping those snack bars warm when its cold out. r1 air hood is a bit lumpy and loose. Kind of an oblong cone shaped top. Wish that the zipper pockets rode above where the harness would go. Worn while skiing in temps between 30s to 40s. Warm but not sweaty hot for casual hikes around 50s and below.

January 31, 2021

Perfect light hoodie

Comfortable and perfect as a layer under waterproofs etc but also great as an outer layer on cool summer days.

January 29, 2021

R1 Hoody

Supremely soft and comfortable jacket, with great insulation. Nice colour accents on the blue jacket with yellow zip. The only complaint would be the zipper - the starting points don't seem to line up, which caused the zipper to be extremely hard to pull closed initially, although this seems to be softening over time.

January 26, 2021

Lightweight warmth

Very compressible fleece hoody. Warm for its light weight and fast drying. Hood fits well, cuffs are a bit wide but otherwise true to size

January 26, 2021

Really light and warm, perfect

Really light and warm, perfect for touring...

December 25, 2020

Excellent but short

The material is very light but very warm. The whole garment is impressive but the cut is a bit short on this medium, for me at 190cm and 38cm chest. A large would be too baggy in the body but the medium sleeves are 3cm too short for me. I wear medium in most athletic cut outdoor brands.

December 15, 2020

It works.

Really warm and breathable hoody. There is also no damage on shoulders and back when using backpack. It just works.

December 13, 2020

Almost 5 stars!

Hey Folks, I run an adventure company in Scotland and have been using R1 Air Hoody almost daily since they became available. Its super light weight, super warm, form fitting with plenty stretch, has plenty pockets including really useful drop in internal pockets, and as you would expect the quality is outstanding. I use it for climbing and winter h... Read Moreiking - I wear it for days on end and it never seems to smell either! So why not 5 stars? Very strangely the sleeves are slightly too short. I have lots of Patagonia gear - all in size L which fits perfectly, but for some reason this in size L is just a bit short in the sleeves, particularly on a long reach move. 2 more inches plus thumb holes would be perfect. The other slightly odd thing is the size of the classic Patagonia external chest pocket - its pretty small - you won't be keeping your cell phone in it. Would I buy another one? 100% I would.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches