Back to Product

Ms Insulated Quandary Jacket

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 54 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Insulated Quandary Jacket

4.8/5
True To Size
January 9, 2022

Perfect

Not too hot, not too cold. I live in Northern California by the sea, so not extreme weather we're dealing with here, but lots of fog and rain.

January 3, 2022

Perfect

Jacket looks and fits great. very warm at 15 degrees outside

December 31, 2021

Nothing But Complements!

Hey!! So I traded in for this and love the design! Im 61, 200 and the Large is where its at. The medium was too snug for my taste but with the sleeves having the Velcro and the hidden sinch at the waist is key. We LOVE a good hood that actually stays and fits. Thank you Pata

December 30, 2021

Perfect for everyday wear

Im 62 and 175 lbs and this fits me great. Im definitely slim so the body is a tad loose, but Im able to adjust the bungee on the bottom to keep cold air out. My arms are quite long and the length is perfect. Im typically a north face consumer but this jacket has definitely got me changing my mind going forward.

December 19, 2021

Awesome

Warm, lightweight, and extremely comfortable. Love it!

December 15, 2021

Warm and Comfy

Great jacket for the winter, fits great and is very warm. Upgrading from the non-insulated quandary and the difference is very noticeable.

December 8, 2021

What You Need For Winter

Quality is impeccable, exactly what youd expect from a jacket like this. At first I thought it was a bit snug, but you can fit a long sleeve + bigger sweatshirt under this no problem. I was expecting this jacket to be a bit bulkier/thicker overall, but it does its job at the end of the day - definitely keeps me warm here in eastern PA. Its almost s... Read Morelimming, which is weird to say. Anyway, definitely recommend!

December 2, 2021

Top quality coat

This coat is really warm and the material is top quality. Highly recommend buying this coat and other Patagonia products in general.

November 18, 2021

Very warm

Extremely warm. Very satisfied

November 10, 2021

Perfection

Bought this jacket as I moved from SoCal to the pnw. Its perfect, yesterday was 45 rainy and windy and I was feeling great inside my jacket. The hood acts like a water proof beanie, super warm. This thing is perfect in weather 30-50degrees. Warmer than 50 is too warm, lower than 30 you may choose to add another layer. This thing is perfect when the... Read More weather gets nasty!

November 7, 2021

Good All Around Jacket

If you plan to layer, consider sizing up.

November 1, 2021

Well Made, not Super Warm

The jacket seems well made and it should protect well against the elements. It looks good and fits comfortably. However it isn't very thick and wasn't as warm as I anticipated. I took a walk with this layered with a sweater and was uncomfortably cold in 45 degrees F. (I do tend to run cold) I decided to return it and get a down insulate... Read Mored jacket with a waterproof shell instead.

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2021

Hi Tony, were so sorry to hear that the Insulated Quandary Jacket didn't keep you warm. Please feel free to return or exchange if you find that it's not meeting your needs. Also, try taking a look at our Men's Topley Jacket, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-topley-jacket/27900.html?dwvar_27900_color=FGE. It's a bit heavier and is insulated with 700-fill-power 100% recycled down.

October 26, 2021

Very comfortable winter jacket

Bought it for fall/winter in the Netherlands. Great while biking as it's not too bulky. Wears true to size.

April 27, 2021

Perfect

So warm Love the hood

February 24, 2021

Good Product

This is an excellent product. True to size. Nice and warm. I bought the mulch brown color.. highly recommend.

February 22, 2021

Quantry insulated jacket

Bought last summer the m's tres jacket. Medium. i i liked it so much that did i decide to buy the Quantry insulated Medium. But it runs bigger than the tres.

February 1, 2021

Perfect in Midwest winter

Just got my jacket and it had been perfect for walking around in the cold Michigan winters.

January 26, 2021

Great casual winter jacket

I tried a few other prospective Patagonia winter jackets before keeping the Quandary. I tried the Tres-in-One (too long), Tres (odd hand warmer pocket placement). I have just had the Quandary for about 2 weeks and find that it is great by itself 30-40 degrees F and when it is in the teens or 20's I wear a nano puff vest or jacket under it and ... Read Moream plenty comfortable. The insulated hood is fine and the length is good. If had a small nit, it would be that the chest Napoleon pocket is a little small for an average sized hand. Being an inch or so longer would be ideal. Also wish it had a storm flap over the main front zipper but has not been a problem and looks more streamlined without it.

January 25, 2021

All in one

Works as expected. Very comfy and warm. A downside is the hoody, it is detachable but cant stuff it into the collar. I wish it would fit in like the Silent Down jacket hoodie. Doesnt feel heavy for a very warm jacket. I like the placing of pockets one on the front and interior. Although the hand pockets are not waterproof sealed like the front zipp... Read Moreer and chest zipper. I wish they made a jacket that had the stuffable hoodie feature of the Silent Down jacket the front pocket on this one.

January 20, 2021

So warm! Stops wind in its tracks.

Its really hard to find coats that fit my tall and slim size, but this jacket is perfect. Plus the company is worth buying from!

January 19, 2021

Fits well and looks good

Fits true to size and looks good - most importantly warm and waterproof!

January 17, 2021

Great fit & looks!!

Have been a large for a while but tried the medium due to listed dimensions. Great fit!! Was impressed at how good it looks and really like the detachable hood. Great coat!

January 9, 2021

Very Warm exactly what I was looking for

I got my boyfriend this winter jacket for his birthday. He has needed a jacket for years and this turned out to be perfect. Its very warm for low temperatures, it runs true to size, and its casual but also suitable for wearing to work on a cold day. The quality seems top notch as well.

January 3, 2021

Great jacket even if the shoulders are Narrow

This jacket looks nice, has decent articulation and is warm. I havent worn it in wet weather so Im unsure of exactly how waterproof it is. I cant see myself hiking in this but maybe it would work if it were extremely cold out. To me layers would work better. This is more of an around town jacket. I choose true to size even though thats not exactl... Read Morey true. The shoulders are very narrow for me while the torso is very bulky at the bottom. You can clearly see this in the photos above. If this were redesigned with wider shoulders and narrower toward the hem while keeping the length the same, I would buy another! especially in the green color.

Response from Patagonia
February 11, 2021

Thanks for your detailed and thoughtful feedback, Mike!

December 29, 2020

Warmer than expected

I bought this for my husband. He seemed to like it and started wearing it right away. Its a good weekend day around town jacket. He said that it is warmer than it looks. That might be because he was standing inside patiently waiting on me when I inquired.

November 26, 2020

Awesome jacket!!!

Very warm jacket for the Midwest winters. Great overall fit - not too bulky. The hood is excellent and very functional. Love this jacket

November 25, 2020

Super warm

Im completely satisfied with my purchase and I would definitely recommend to my friends

November 18, 2020

Super warm, light, comfortable

Super warm, light, comfortable. Price is high.

November 15, 2020

Love it. Sized down.

I am usually a large and returned the large for the medium which fits perfectly for a tailored slim fit. I am 6 3 170 lbs.

November 15, 2020

Winter Warmth

Big fan of this jacket. I needed an insulated rain proof jacket for the colder PNW winter days, and this jacket delivers. Frankly, its warmer than expected. Reading other reviews, I agree this jacket would be well suited for even freezing winter weather. Ill be bringing this jacket on ski trips for some apres ski excursions around town.

November 8, 2020

Warm and Comfy and Sleek Looking

A clean look that is extremely warm in a Chicago winter wind storm.

October 30, 2020

Great first impression

I have not had the opportunity to test the insulated quandary jacket for its main intended purpose- cold winter weather. I do, however, like the gray color i ordered, the overall fit and comfort. It is not bulky. I ordered small and I am 5 7 tall, weigh 145. There seems to be enough room for a long sleeve fleece or vest / sweater underneath for ver... Read Morey cold weather. Looking forward to trying it when the weather gets cold. I am in Pennsylvania, it is end of October and our temps are mid-40s to mid-50s currently.

October 19, 2020

impressed

Its hard for me to find jackets that fit in the shoulders. It doesnt have a sport fit and could maybe be a little bit tighter in the torso but other than that its perfect. If you have smaller shoulders and are 6' to 6'2' you could probably get away with medium. I have tried out 6 or 7 jackets this year and this is the only one I have... Read More liked. My chest and shoulders are naturally large and usually dont fit into anything but XL. Very happy to have found this. Warm and def waterproof/windproof!

February 9, 2020

Perfect in a weird way

I'm 35 and I live in minnesota and walk the dog all winter. I can say three things with certainty about this jacket. 1. I've never been cold while wearing it. Even down into the single digits with just a polo on underneath. 2. I've never overheated and started sweating wearing this jacket. Even on some brisk trail walks with the pupp... Read Moreer. 3. I've never actually felt toasty in this jacket either. The inner lining is a light and airy polyester that does a really good job of keeping your skin cool. So if you wear it into a store you dont have to worry about overheating and taking it off. Because it's airy enough to keep you cool. When I'm out walking the dog it keeps me just a smidge below warm. Not cold, but not warm. Kinda in the perfect medium to avoid getting too hot. It's exactly what I wanted even though I never would have thought that jacket that didnt keep me "toasty" was what I was looking for. I was torn between this and the insulated powderbowl due to both having the 100g thermogreen. Today I was able to compare both side by side and I def like this one more. Would def recommend.

January 5, 2020

Awesome jacket

Awesome jacket

January 1, 2020

Perfect Warmth To Weight Ratio

Jack it is perfect the fit is not baggy like most other jackets like its style. Only complaint I have is it picks lint up a lot the material for some reason attracts lint otherwise it would be a 5-star jacket perfect in every other way.

December 31, 2019

Love the the look and Quality !

Great Jacket, proven to be water proof, warm light jacket .

December 28, 2019

Great coat! Leaves enough room

Great coat! Leaves enough room in the shoulders/chest that I could get away with a medium. Feels like it’ll stand up to subzero Midwest temperatures.

December 22, 2019

Perfect cold and rainy days.

Perfect cold and rainy days. Fits true to size and leaves space for layers as needed.

December 7, 2019

Excellent

I'm about 90kg with a muscular physique and XL is the perfect size to go over other layers. Really great adjustable fit, warm, waterproof and looks great. I couldn't be happier

December 5, 2019

Love this jacket!!!

Love this jacket!!!

November 30, 2019

nice coat

great casual, around town, work coat have not been in real cold weather yet, good fit, not flashy, like me, just does what it says it does wish it were a little less bulky but that is minor complaint

November 29, 2019

Quality

Good quality. Warm. Recommend

November 20, 2019

My City or Mountain

This jacket is all that is described and looks good and offers protection for outdoor hikes in your favorite national parks, travel, commuting to work or attending a football game.

November 19, 2019

Perfection

Fantastic jacket that performs excellent in cold and wet conditions. It does great in bad conditions while maintaining a more casual look that can be worn to the office or out and about in the city. I personally love this jacket because it has all the great technical aspects of a ski jacket without looking like one. Highly recommend if you are look... Read Moreing for a jacket that performs well with a more casual look.

November 11, 2019

Insulated Quandary Jacket

It's fantastic

November 8, 2019

Exceptional service and product

Wonderful products, arrived very very fast.

October 31, 2019

Nice coat

Great all around cold weather jacket, warm enough for new england winter, but still light enough to wear and not feel like you are getting geared up for alpine hiking.

October 26, 2019

Solid jacket

Fit is great. Warm and comfortable without the bulk.

October 3, 2019

Nice rain insulated jacket

It needs a storm flap on the zipper since it is a rain, wind, and warm jacket, and other than that, I like the collar to be redesigned to be like the variable jacket, and it will be close to perfect for both the slope and the city. I like to see more colors offered like industrial green, cave gray, and burgundy wine.

September 16, 2019

Awesome coat

I love it! Love the details and how sturdy it is

September 10, 2019

Good-looking winter jacket

I like this jacket because it has the option to remove the hood, which allows it to be worn to the office in formal or business casual settings. However, the collar can be improved to be more presentable, or redesigned to be aesthetically formal as the collars of the variable style jackets, which loses one star in my quality criteria. I hope to see... Read More this jacket offered in industrial green color in the next batch which is a warmer green hue than the alder green been offered.

August 28, 2019

Best Rain Jacket I've Ever Owned

Everything about this jacket is perfect; the insulation, the zippers, the pockets, and the outer shell. The jacket is warm, and loose enough to fit over my thick Patagonia Fjord flannel shirts. I live in Eastern Washington where the rain that we get is mostly in the cold winter months. For this reason, I especially like the insulation. I also like ... Read Morethe removable hood, as I prefer to wear a warm hat most of the time.

August 20, 2019

Nice jacket that can transition from the trial to a city setting

I like to see this jacket with a better collar, keeping the hood removable, so it can be worn to the office with a formal tie and shirt. If is offered in a micro green color, I will buy one in a heartbeat, after the collar is fixed to be presentable that is.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches