burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Reversible Bivy Down Vest Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 59 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Reversible Bivy Down Vest

4.7/5
Kinda Large
January 24, 2023

Super Warm, Great Fit

6'0, slimmer build. Purchased a small and it fits perfect (wanted more of a form fit). Really love the fleece-lining. Excellent vest!

January 20, 2023

Very warm & comfy

This is the warmest and most comfortable vest I own. Love it !!!

January 16, 2023

Worth the Wait - Back Order!!

This was on backorder. Well worth the wait. Received and couldn't be happier. Solid, Heavier and Warm. Highly Recommended.

January 12, 2023

Wonderful

Sharp style. Supper warm, comfortable. Versatile. Great gift selection! My husband loves this vest!

January 11, 2023

Retro Style with Modern Feel

I was looking for a 3-season vest (fall, winter, spring) that I could wear at work and around town here in Alaska. I like the retro styling and simplicity of this vest. I don't imagine wearing it reversed with the pile facing outward, but it's a nice feature. My only complaint is it's a little bulky under my puffy jacket.

January 9, 2023

Super warm

Great fir, super warm, and looks great!

January 5, 2023

Very warm and good looking

Very warm and good looking vest. Have received many compliments. The fit is good but wearing a hoodie under is a little tight. My only preference would be using a zipper instead of the snaps. Overall a great product

January 3, 2023

It was a gift for

It was a gift for my son. He loves it!

January 3, 2023

Runs Very Large

As a 5'11" guy, I was worried on the sizing for this. One thing I appreciate from Patagonia is including a model wearing the product. Unfortunately, I still couldn't decide the sizing because of the model information not including any other sizing except for height. The large runs way too large (I look like Chewbacca), so I will exch... Read Moreange for a medium and hoping for the best!

Response from Patagonia
January 12, 2023

Hey Jonathan, thanks for the review! If you need help with sizing in the future, feel free to reach out to customer service and we could provide you with measurements for each of the sizes in question. To begin an exchange, [click here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 30, 2022

sweet vest

The Patagonia Men's Reversible Bivy Down Vest is all it promises to be.

December 29, 2022

Reversible feature adds a great gift twist.

Got this for my brother as a Christmas gift and he loves that its reversible.

December 27, 2022

Ms Reversible Bivy Down Vest

Ms Reversible Bivy Down Vest

December 26, 2022

Not for me.

I received this as a gift after idly mentioning that I liked my fiancés hooded bivy vest. I dont know why there cant be an identical mens version of that vest and the only option is a reversible Sherpa fleece variation. The Fleece adds too much in the collar IMO and it feels a bit like having a neck pillow on, ALL the time. It unfortunately also ... Read Moremeans its a poor option for anything apart from an outermost layer, leaving little room under the arms for more than a light sweater. Im not sure what temps it would be ideal for because of this. its winter insulation but a spring/fall garment. It could stand to have some adjustability in the waist, as Im 6ft 175lb and a pretty standard climber build and it fits a bit like a bell on me. Not the worst bell shape Ive experienced, but its far from fitted, and allows gusts up the front that could easily be blocked. End of the day, Id drop some of the features to add some more FEATURES.

Response from Patagonia
January 6, 2023

Hi Cub! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about some of the disappointment with the vest. We greatly appreciate this feedback and we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 17, 2022

Super vest!

Its hard to describe how great this vest is. Its perfect for these chilly Ohio walks with the brutal wind chill. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this vest!

December 17, 2022

Incredibly comfortable and warm

Very happy with my vest. It is very warm and keeps my trunk comfortable for short durations outside at temperatures a low as -4 degrees Celcius. It doesn’t get too hot in higher temperatures either and it is a lovely addition underneath my mid-season motorcycle jacket on both commute and day trips in freezing temperatures.

December 15, 2022

As good as it looks.

I was drawn to this vest because of its looks. When it arrived I knew I had made the right decision. It looks even better in real life. It is cozy and the perfect vest for winter weather in south Texas. It has rugged good looks that match its appearance. I love it and look forward to a long term relationship with it.

December 14, 2022

really nice prodcuts

really nice prodcuts

December 13, 2022

Gilet

Excellent, better than expected

December 6, 2022

Nice and warm

A very attractive body warmer. I like the fact its reversible and the fleecy inside. It is a bit pricey - especially since it's made in Vietnam but I'm happy with it.

December 1, 2022

Down & Fleece Combo - so warm!

Great vest - warm and I like the new style with the fleece lining. Good fit - large enough to wear a sweatshirt or a flannel underneath depending on the temperature.

December 1, 2022

Happy vesting

I'm 5'9" and weigh 150 lbs. The small size was a bit too snug (I looked a tad silly in the mirror). The medium is a pretty great fit - wouldn't mind if there was something in between a small and medium for my frame. But super happy with this product!

November 7, 2022

Comfy cozy and cute

Comfortable and cozy. Colors look nice and its reversible. Its a go to piece for the winter.

October 29, 2022

Great product

Great product. Good fit, nice and warm, great quality as always!

October 15, 2022

Warm and stylish!

I bought this for my dad, who is chronically cold. No longer! He loved the style too.

October 3, 2022

Not great, the old reversible bivy down vest was better

Decent vest, but not great. Got it as a replacement to the older bivy down reversible vest. The older version was much more functional as a zip up vest vs. newer button down vest. In addition, the new version does not have zipper or button side pockets, so there is nothing to secure your pocket belongings. There is a zipper pocket on the chest, but... Read More it is only on the sherpa side and not big enough to house a normal sized smartphone. Overall, Im disappointed in the new version.

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2022

Thank you for writing this review, Christopher! We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have toward this new version of our Reversible Bivy Down Vest. Please know you are more than welcome to start your [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time as we want you to be completely satisfied with your Patagonia products.

September 22, 2022

Great product

The quality is unmatched and it’s great to have the 2-in 1 versatility. Just note that it can only be faster via buttons as it doesn’t have a zip. Took me by surprise but have gotten used to it. Very cosy and warm

April 3, 2022

Quality, versatile, bit baggy

Love this best. Wear it on very cold days with sweater beneath, or warmer days over a collared shirt. Length is good for me at 6ft3, but its a bit baggier than Id prefer. Works fine but def an old school cut.

March 26, 2022

It's warm and feels good.

Reversible and warm

March 17, 2022

Stuffy and fluffy and quite warm

I got the XL where I normally get large as some items from pat run a bit tight this was a good choice. Size is pretty on expectations when the furry side is in, flipped around its quite spacious.

March 15, 2022

nice

I like the fleece interior and that you have added the pocket back inside, which works well for placement of a phone.....Going back to this exterior shell material is nice also, it does not pick up pet hair like the last two bivy vests, which my wife and I both still wear. I prefer the zipper design to this button up, but it may not be practical be... Read Morecause of the fleece lining....

March 9, 2022

Why isn't everything reversible?

I was recently at Windham Ski Resort getting my ski boots fitted, and while I was waiting I saw the bivy down vest on a rack in the shop.It caught my eye and I loved the retro style so had to take a closer look. The vest had a great feel to it and then I discovered it was reversible and could be worn fleece side out. Why aren't more things rev... Read Moreersible, it's like you're getting 2 for 1? I tried it on both ways, and said "I've gotta get one of these". Unfortunately all they had was an XL in stock. I took a photo of it in the store and when I got home I went online and ordered one. I'm 6'-2", 190 pounds and always seem to be a medium in Patagonia stuff. The vest fits perfectly over a short or long sleeve lightweight shirt, but if I were to wear this over a sweatshirt or sweater it would be a bit snug. This is not a lightweight down vest made for layering, it has some weight to it, seems very durable, and looks sweet! I wanted the classic tan but they didn't have my size so I got the green and I love it.

February 20, 2022

Toasty warm vest

Ive worn this vest a couple of times while on ski trips. The weather was cold at night, but my vest kept me toasty warm!!!! Very pleased with this purchase!!

February 7, 2022

Nice and Warm

Great looking vest that keeps you extremely warm. Can be worn at work or recreationally. Wonderful addition to any collection.!

February 4, 2022

Nice vest

I love it. Very warm, well made, fits me nicely. Highly recommend.

February 2, 2022

Great, versatile vest.

The vest has the usual high-quality Patagonia construction, fits well, and is very warm. It looks great too! Very happy with the purchase.

January 18, 2022

I'm a bit skinny at

I'm a bit skinny at 55kg but S size fits well.

January 10, 2022

Amazing

Awesome product.

January 7, 2022

Great gear as always!

Great gear as always!

January 6, 2022

Comfort and Size

Great vest, comfortable and warm. But I ordered the wrong size, a Large when I needed an Extra Large. Both customer service people were extraordinary helpful in helping me get the right fit with a return and reorder. In your reviews for this vest, a William, measuring 6'1" to 6'3", purchased a Medium. I kind of estimated my size... Read More based on him. He must be very, very slender and, I don't think representational of most of us, certainly not me. Great vest - I highly recommend it for construction quality, warmth, and style. I like it.

January 4, 2022

Quality Material and Construction

I have been searching for a good-looking and quality vest for some time now. I bought cheaper alternative puff/quilted vest that looked good but did a horrible job of keeping my core warm. I finally built of the courage to spend a little more and buy this vest. No regrets whatsoever! Out of the packaging, one can tell it is made of quality material... Read More with functionality in mind. I have been wearing it religiously for almost two months. I have snagged it on some rough edges, spilled a few things, and it still looks brand new. I am 5'11 and ~165lbs. Fairly slender build with an ever slight beer belly. Size Small fits me well. I do like my clothes fitted. This vest with just a regular shirt is slightly loose. Add a sweater and I think it's the perfect fit.

January 1, 2022

Very nice

Nice jacket Very hot

December 30, 2021

Great service from placing the

Great service from placing the order to receiving it. Garment is as advertised and great quality and fit.

December 30, 2021

Would have been fine if it were too fit my husband, but I will keep it for myself and order him another size and a different color.

A size chart that helps you find your perfect fit . I love the colors, the vest I chose for my husband is very complimentary in colors, but unfortunately it doesn't fit him, but I'll keep it for myself.

December 24, 2021

Nice and warm

I am very pleased with this vest. Its keeping me warm. I wear it indoors to keep me comfortable without having to turn up the heater as well as outdoors as a hiking jacket. The fit is nicely shaped--not boxy. I am 5'2", 160 lb, this vest size small fits me well over a medium weight sweater. Good for invest

November 16, 2021

Nice Vest

Classic look wont go out of style and you can reverse it so its very versatile.

November 5, 2021

great buy -> Love it

If anyone is concerned about sizing it fits like a winter coat, not like some of the other vests here. It is also super warm and you dont want to wear this in an office all day. That being said, fantastic purchase. I get compliments all day wearing this thing. great buy

October 11, 2021

Well suited for the Warm Weather

Really nice vest for the warm weather forthcoming. Great for laying.

October 5, 2021

Nice quality

Quality is good. It's warm. Also it's a nice advantage as it's reversible. I'm 6.3"/193cm tall and I usually wear XL but I like a west to be kind of tight since it holds the warmth better.

August 31, 2021

Super Warm

Loved it. Very toasty, top quality. Runs true to size.

August 12, 2021

Awsome vest

Well made very warm no complaints about this one wish I would have had this vest a long time ago.

June 16, 2021

Nice vest, runs very large

Very high quality vest, but runs very large I am 62 and not small and the L size is still very big and baggy on me.

April 4, 2021

Comfy and warm

Very warm and comfortable. I've gotten lots of compliments and most are surprised the vest is made by Patagonia. It's perfect for when the weather is not cold enough for a jacket but still cool enough to need something for your core.

February 23, 2021

it's pretty good

I've been trying to wear this as a tool belt of sorts, it's pretty great but I must complain about the pockets getting caught on something when walking by. also it's huge in size, I ordered based on the sizing guide and got an XL, and then exchanged it for an L which still fits very large. I think the sizing guide it for belly based ... Read Morelads. 4/5.

February 21, 2021

Top of the line vest

Such an I incredible vest. The fit, cut, color, and warmth makes it fun every time that I put it on. The pockets are warm, and the soft collar tops off its performance. I am in love!

January 31, 2021

Warm vest with great fit

I bought this vest as a outer layer I can then wear PPE over. The vest is very warm. It is the best fitting vest Ive owned. It covers my waist by an inch or two without being restrictive.

January 21, 2021

Warm. Bulky.

I like it. Looks cool, but man, much bulkier than I anticipated.

January 15, 2021

Reversible vest

Great vest, very warm. Im a large in most things but this large was like an XL.

December 8, 2020

Great quality/comfortable vest

I own several Patagonia vests, and this one is the toastiest of them all. Nice quality as usual and I love the color. I didnt have anything in a barn red/orange color, and it will go with many outfits. Its great that its reversible, also. This vest is definitely worth the price. Highly recommend!

November 20, 2020

Love it

I needed a warm vest and this vest fits the bill 100%

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches