Back to Product

Black Hole® Duffel 100L

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 59 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® Duffel 100L

4.8/5
Kinda Large
December 4, 2021

I only just fitted in the bag

This bag was a gift for my wife's birthday. She immediately decided it was amusing to put me IN the bag. I only just fitted and had to really fold up my legs. Would recommend larger bags for any normal sized adult. Kids fitted just fine.

November 24, 2021

It's Big

This thing is very big! I can fit my 5'1" girlfriend inside it no problem (Don't worry this was done by her choosing). I also really like the shoulder straps. They can easily be put on or taken off depending on what you're doing. When you need to store the bag it folds up nicely into its internal pocket.

October 21, 2021

This bag is THE bag!

I have a few black hole bags now- 55L, 70L, and 100L, totes, and ALL of them are great! Using the backpack straps helps a bunch when using this particular bag. Being 5' 3", I can basically fit into the 100L bag. It holds everything. As my brother said this past weekend; "you could throw that off an airplane and it would be okay"... Read More. Buy this and every other black hole duffel and tote! I do wish that the black hole material was on the bottom as well. I feel like if the bottom was exposed to moisture, it would leak into the bag....!

Response from Patagonia
October 26, 2021

We're so glad to hear you're loving the bags! Note that our Black Hole bags are not waterproof, but rather water-resistant. They also don't have sealed seams, so those are areas where water can potentially enter the bag. If you need waterproof, check out our [submersible bags](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/waterproof-submersible-bags)!

October 7, 2021

Workhorse with verve, almost an ally

I loaded 2 100-liter black hole duffels for my move to Europe with 4 pets (i.e., lots of stuff) (AND used my now 25-year old Patagonia MLC bag as well). Even getting all the gear packed in these bags made me feel better: an explosion of stuff stowed neatly and safely. Instant organization. Easy to identify on the luggage carousel. Easy to move (ok,... Read More with help, but it was easier to GET help because of the various straps and carrying options).

September 30, 2021

BAG IS HUGE!!!

Cant tell you how many times ive used this bag on work trips and family life. Its been constantly reliable, and has paid for itself over and over! highly recommend it to everyone

September 27, 2021

When needing to organize a lot of gear, this is the bag!

Perfect number of pockets that allow to bring all of your gear and keep it organized!

September 2, 2021

Excellent and sturdy duffle bag

Bag is strong and sturdy with backpack straps that make it easy to carry even when fully loaded. Great and functional design!

September 1, 2021

Big and Strong

The Black Hole bag is perfect. Stuffed it full of ...stuff... threw it on the airplane conveyer belt and didn't worry about it. Survived the luggage handlers without a single mark.

August 23, 2021

Perfect for it all

I take this thing with me everywhere. Great for traveling. Comes with a strap or you can wear it like a backpack. Very versatile and lightweight, yet extremely spacious.

August 8, 2021

Great Travel Luggage

Very nice luggage to travel with. Light weight and secure. It fit everything and was very roomy.

August 6, 2021

Mega bag

This is a ruff, tuff bag that can carry everything and the kitchen sink!

July 23, 2021

Durable travel bag

Fits everything you need and more. Only downside is that the bag can get too heavy if you fill it to capacity.

May 19, 2021

Bombproof duffel

All round so great, strong fabric smart build I use it as a checked bag,and fit in all my climbing things

May 15, 2021

Fantastic size for big trips

Fantastic size for big trips away.

April 30, 2021

Great looking bag

I haven't actually used my bag yet but love the look and size. The selling point for me was the recycled materials as I'm trying to be more conscious of my consuming! Thanks patagonia, can't wait to use my swanky duffel!

April 29, 2021

Not all the way there..

Nice look but the straps and details did not feel up to par with the size of the bag and the quality I would expect from Patagonia. But would still not buy from anyone else due to the sustainability focus of P.

March 26, 2021

Excellent sustainable bag

Really happy with the 100l version of the bag. It is the perfect size and very durable. I also love the fact it is made from recycled materials.

February 3, 2021

Best ever

Love the black hole bag. Its my 2nd, and Im still using the first ine, which I bought about 30 years ago.

January 29, 2021

A beast of a bag

An absolute workhorse. I've put my black hole duffel through a couple dozen international flights, hundreds of miles in boats, and hauled this unit all over the globe and it refuses to tear up. It's hauled clothes, books, medical supplies, fishing tackle, food, and about anything else you can think of. It's been over 16.000 feet, to ... Read Moresea level and still has a lot of work left to do. The 100 liter will haul more than you can imagine and the name black hole fits it. It just keeps taking the gear. I cannot recommend this bag enough.

January 15, 2021

Bigger than you think and only missing one thing

Love the bag, it isn't too big when it isn't full and fits more than you think you can stuff in. My only complaint is that there isn't an ID slot on the outside for when traveling and you have to check it.

January 11, 2021

Perfect for everything

Great bag I also have the smaller version. The ease of carrying both bags with the backpack straps is amazing.

December 20, 2020

Must Have

This is a must have bag for any travel or outdoor enthusiast. I've beaten it up it non-stop for the past three years, giving it far more abuse than it was probably made to accept. I've thrown it around planes, trucks, helicopters, and boats, lugged it up mountains and dragged it across tarmacs. It's kept my things dry in the tropics,... Read More and sand-free in the desert. It (finally) popped one of it's two buttons, but I still use it all the time. Volume-wise it fit everything I needed for an 8 month trip. Equally if not more impressive, it fits everything a family of four with two kids under 6 needs for a long weekend. No issues with any of the zippers, no holes after three years of serious abuse, and only one popped button (which I think was caught on a strap on an airplane). The shoulder straps are thin, and not ideal for extended wear, but handy in a baggage line or waiting for a ride when your hands are full. I'd buy it again in a heartbeat.

September 10, 2020

Great (and huge).

Huge and tough but surprisingly light. Removable shoulder straps so it can be carried like a pack. I work on a ship and travel all the time and have several of these in various sizes.

September 9, 2020

It's huge.

I ordered this to replace my old backpack I use as a travel duffel. When it arrived I did not know how small it really packs down to when you're not using it, it's surprising how lightweight it is too. I use it frequently for travel when we go camping or for day trips. I could fit me, my wife, and my daughters things into it for a picnic ... Read Moreor whatever... It's huge.

August 25, 2020

BWCWA approved!

Recently took my Black Hole 70L duffel to the Boundary Waters in northern MN. This area is truly wild and the bag held up very well and was incredibly functional at camp, in the canoe and most importantly on the portages - the straps make this bag multi functional and I couldnt be happier with the product. Will be purchasing another for future trip... Read Mores!

July 13, 2020

Plenty of Room

I use this Duffle as a "Red Bag" for work. It holds 14 days work of minimalist clothing along with my sleeping bag and pad. Easy access and smaller compartments hold my toiletries and a couple of books along with other small stuff. Its durable and seems to be water resistant.

July 8, 2020

Bring back the 120L

Great bag and improved construction with newer generation. However, as a mountain and ski guide, I find that not having a bag for mountaineering equipment and ski gear that is 120L or more in size a huge hinderance to efficiency and logistics with having to check more bags. Please bring back the 120L option. I like to go with Patagonia Black hole d... Read Moreuffels because of the companies commitment to environmentalism and core values in making products and the use of materials. Unfortunately, Im forced to look elsewhere with the discontinuation of a truly sufficient expedition duffel for the alpine worker.

Response from Patagonia
August 6, 2020

Hello Alan, thanks so much for sharing your detailed review with us. Our designs and pack/duffel sizing are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future! Your message has been passed along to the appropriate team.

June 25, 2020

Fits All

This duffel bag is rugged and ready to contain all that I need for todays adventures as well as tomorrows. Looking forward to continue using it. The stowaway pocket was a pleasant surprise.

June 21, 2020

Black hole 100L

Great bag my only complaint is the 100L is kinda big for what we need and the 70L is kinda small great bag we will keep buying for our crew (West Yellowstone Smokejumpers) but a 85L would be perfect!

June 18, 2020

Black Hole Duffel

I have multiple Black Hole bags, and they carry my gear... ALL of my gear just about everywhere. Whether it's camping and organizing the gear in the back of the truck, on the plane or in the garage, this versatile bag can handle the roughest treatment, but holds up under pressure. The backpack straps are awesome, and the zipper placement and q... Read Moreuality are perfect. While the top portion is by and large waterproof, the canvas bottom is not - so don't let the top trick you into a sense of security.

June 17, 2020

Black hole 100L

Great bag my only complaint is the 100L is kinda big for what we need and the 70L is kinda small great bag we will keep buying for our crew (West Yellowstone Smokejumpers) but a 85L would be perfect!

June 17, 2020

Great for Camping

I bought the Blackhole 100L duffle bag for a camping trip and it was great. I was able to fit everything into the bag and close it up no problem. My bag weighed about 60-70 pounds and the shoulder straps held up fine. I mountain biked with it into the woods for about 7 miles and still held fine. The only complaint that I have is there is no option ... Read Morefor a waist strap to relieve the stress on my shoulders. But now I'm going to use it for every family trip just so we have plenty of room for all of our clothes and anything else we want to purchase.

May 28, 2020

Awesome Bag!

I work as a Harbor Patrol officer and have to carry fire fighting gear and water rescue gear. In the past I had to carry two bags. With the Black Hole 100L duffel I can get all my gear in one bag that is easy to carry and protected from the weather. I highly recommend this bag!

March 6, 2020

An excellent size for airline travel

Extremely durable - waterproof except for the zipper. Lots of details, such as the internal compression straps, make a huge difference. Compact and stored in its own pocket when not in use. The 100-liter is an excellent size for airline travel. The old 120-liter size worked well for us when the US to Brazil market allowed 70-pound bags, but is most... Read Morely too large with the new universal airline 50 lb. limitation. Quite often our old 90-liter Black Hole Bags fill up before we hit the 50 lb. limit, which is why our new 100-liter seems to be the best compromise. At 100-liters it is still quite large for most Alaska float planes, but so were our 90-liters. Most bush pilots will tell you that the 70-liter is just about perfect for loading in this type of aircraft, or for when transferring to boats.

March 3, 2020

Patagonia Black Hole® Duffel Bag 100L

Vermont Trip: I threw my bag 100L on the on bench in Vermont. Working out of the bag overnight, I thought I forgot my helmet and goggles. Looking to purchase a new set that morning, only to find them in the back corner of my bag, just before leaving to buy a new set. Personally 70L would fit better....extra space needed.. wow it does not lack that!... Read More!! Ski Patroller

January 15, 2020

The black hole duffle continues to be the best bag for hauling gear

I have one of the original black hole duffles that I still use because it has held up so well. And this new one seems as sturdy, I like that it has gone back to the more squared off dimensions while greatly improving the pack straps and other strap features. This is a great size for bulkier items. And that it is made out of recycled material can’t ... Read Morebe beat.

January 13, 2020

Jay

Just brilliant. So big and roomy. Love it!

December 16, 2019

bottomless pit

Bought this for specific use and it did not disappoint. It holds everything that I need it to for sure and more. All my gear is in one place with quick easy access.

December 16, 2019

Great bag!

Having had the Black Hole backpack for over 5 years now, I knew that I was getting a super durable and utilitarian piece but this bag has exceeded my expectations. It showed up neatly folded into one of its own pockets and unfolded to fit tons of gear for its first voyage on an international trip. I was able to maneuver easily with the back pack st... Read Moreraps and love that denture. Thank you Patagonia!

December 4, 2019

Black Hole Bags are the Best!

You can’t get a better travel bag! The black hole bag... is the best way to move your gear! The bags are well built, well made and look great too!

December 4, 2019

Black Hole Duffel 100L

Well made, and the perfect size for a week-long trip.

November 11, 2019

Large yet compact

Love this duffel. It's massive when you need it to be and can hold snowboarding gear for our family of 3. And when not in use it folds up and is out of the way.

November 7, 2019

Bombproof

As always, phenomenal details and craftsmanship

October 8, 2019

Perfect checked luggage for a big trip

After shopping around, I went with the Patagonia duffel because of it's internal compression straps (to keep everything cinched in and secure) and the VERY easy to remove/install backpack straps. I keep the backpack straps in the side pocket when I check it to avoid them from getting caught on something in transit, and they are back on in less... Read More than a minute from when I grab the bag from the luggage carousel. It's also large enough for an entire trad climbing rack, rope, clothes and misc gear. Perfect burly bag for these types of trips.

October 7, 2019

Everything I expected

The black hole duffels deliver as always! This 100L is plenty big for all my gear on expeditions or winter trips where bulky sleeping bags and tents are needed. The fabric is tough and holds up against the abuse of life on the road and airline baggage routines. My 55L is the perfect compliment, and between these two bags, I have everything I need t... Read Moreo GO!

October 7, 2019

What can't you fit in this bag?!

I can already tell this is going to be my favorite purchase. Finally a bag I don't have to worry about what will fit and what won't. This bag has already gone on a dive trip and holds all my gear. Excited to take it on some climbing trips next.

September 20, 2019

Nicely constructed, but pretty large!

Got my 100L bag and was happy with how solidly it seemed to be constructed. I was, however, a bit surprised at how large it is, so am returning it for the 70L bag. Only complaint is that it is IMPOSSIBLE for me to put it back into itself. I just put the whole thing back into a box and shipped it back for somebody else to figure out.

September 20, 2019

Great suitcase!

This bag is awesome so far. I live/work on a boat, so the waterproofing was a big reason I chose this one. I also love that it folds up nicely into its own side pouch, so it can be compact, but you don’t have to keep track of a separate small bag. I envision using this bag for many years to come!

September 17, 2019

100L BH DUFFEL

GREAT GREAT BAG Took a bit of time, and muscle, to figure out how to restuff it into it's stuff bag...but it works. Customer service was fantastic in getting it overnighted to me. The zip pulls still seem small, stringy to me which adds to the torque needed to pull them....on one other bag they actually broke...you might look into making them ... Read Morebigger.

September 2, 2019

Patagonia black hole bag 100 liters

Perfect. Well constructed. Will hold a tremendous amount of gear!

August 31, 2019

Awesome bag

Bag is bag well made nice looking. I love the shoulder straps for those trips when you have tons of gear. Great bag

August 30, 2019

Great Travel Bag

This bag is bulletproof and durable as expected. Waterproof, except for the zippers, and very tough bottom for those rough airport days. This bag can hold enough items and clothing for a 2 week expedition or a road trip or a great moving bag. I also own the 55 L bag model and that bag is perfect for a carry-on bag for shorter trips that you still ... Read Morewant a very durable & tough bag.

August 12, 2019

The Black Hole Duffel 100L is awesome

It's the usual Patagonia super high quality with great features like inside hold down straps, exterior loops for lashing stuff on, and a clever set of straps to make it into a back back, Also folks up in to a tiny package when not being used.

August 10, 2019

Black Hole Duffels worked great for overseas camping trip

We recently took an overseas camping trip with my two adult kids, and all our gear for two weeks and four people fit into two Black Hole Duffels - one 100L and one 80L. Easy to pack around the airport with the shoulder straps, sized just about right for 50lb limit depending on weight / volume ratio of items packed in each. No visible damage despite... Read More some obvious scuffs and scratches from baggage handling. Also everything stayed dry despite some rainy weather both in country and in transit. Thanks Patagonia!

August 10, 2019

Too clunky

This is very beautiful but very clunky and almost impossible to carry when filled.

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2019

Thanks so much for your feedback! We've passed it along.

August 10, 2019

Bag is secured

I litterally have done anything from move across the country to going on week long camping trips with this bad boy and it still amazes me how much gear this bag can hold. Its also really easy to get lost in there I poked my head in the other day to look for a book and ended up in another universe, thats how big it is.

August 10, 2019

Black hole bag

So far the bag has been great I travel a lot for work. It’s very durable.

August 10, 2019

Great Bag Black Hole 100L

Great bag and holds easily a weeks worth of travel gear. Only piece missing is a shoulder strap if/when you don’t want carry as a back pack. Another great product.

July 3, 2019

Huge Capacity

I am planning a trip to MOAB to go climbing in September, and have been looking for a duffel that will hold my 35L gear bag, helmet, rope and a smaller duffel for my "street" clothes. Honestly, I don't kn ow how Patagonia does the internal geometry on their Black Hole bags, but this one swallows all my gear; burps and says: "Ok ... Read Morethat was a fine dinner, what's for dessert?" There plenty of extra room after the aforementioned gear and clothes. And I love the "new" classic navy and red color scheme.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches