Back to Product

Black Hole® Duffel 55L

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 239 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® Duffel 55L

4.8/5
Kinda Large
October 15, 2021

Good size

The 55L Black Hole Duffel is a weird size. It will fit gear for a 3 or even 4 day trip but I am not sure it will pass for carry on as some have suggested. That said it could get a little tight on weeklong adventures. If you are looking for something for carry on, size down, if you need something for week long trips size up. Needless to say it check... Read Mores all the other boxes: it is well constructed, the compartments are useful, and it looks great! Would definitely buy again, but maybe a different size, I think.

October 13, 2021

Great bag!

This is a great bag which I use as an all purpose for any occasion!

October 11, 2021

Reliable and Sturdy

I packed this bag for me and my partner for a week-long vacation (camping/hiking/mtb/city) and it was PERFECT. So sturdy and spacious. Was considering buying a second one just so I could have one bag to myself!

October 10, 2021

Awesome Bag

Loved having this bag on a recent trip to Colorado. I was able to fit everything I needed for a 5 day trip in the duffle. Great purchase!

October 8, 2021

Fits in the overhead bin (55L)

Took this bag to Tahiti for a 2 week trip, along with one of the black hole bookbags. It fit in the overhead (even stuffed to the brim inside) on all the normal planes. I bought it in bright purple which I love and would buy another when it comes out in another bright color. I wear it as a backpack when I travel and have no issue. I also use packin... Read Moreg cubes/bags to keep my items sorted.

October 3, 2021

Great size (for long weekend) with room to spare!

I have both sizes, the 40 and the 55. Where I could have used the 40, it was nice to have the extra room of the 55. Fit nicely in the overhead compartment on my flight, so I was able to carry on. Also wore as backpack through airport. Nice and comfy. Used it for a 3-4 day trip packed with outdoor activities and dinners out, and still only filled ab... Read Moreout 85% of the bag.

September 30, 2021

Black Hole Duffle

I have owned my black hole duffle for 3 years now. I use it every day for work and on work trips, and its held up like no other! Cant rave about the bag enough

September 27, 2021

Great

Simple, practical bag for traveling. The 55L can fit under an airplane sit and easily fits in an overhead bin

September 25, 2021

Great Bag

This bag holds tons of clothing and gear. Very durable and easy to throw on your shoulders if you need to carry it for distance. Just buy it!

September 24, 2021

Perfect size. Needed a new bag for weekend trips and ski gear.

Bought this to stop overpacking my smaller duffle and this is such and upgrade it makes me wonder why I did not do it earlier. Great bag for long weekend trips and definitely capacity to hold plenty for cold weather weekends or 5 day warm weather trip with ease.

September 22, 2021

Crazy utility with Black hole bags.

This is my third black hole bag. I have one larger and one smaller. The smaller bag I use for cycling and running gear. The largest bag I use as a travel suitcase. I purchased this bag to have a slightly smaller than the larger one for my girlfriend to use as a suitcase also. (Suitcase means clothing and/or gear hauler to me) They throw over your s... Read Morehoulder easily either with the backpack straps or with the regular carry handles. They have been through a lot of weather and always keep my gear dry and clean. I especially appreciate the use of recycled material. my oldest bag is six or seven years old and is a bit scraped up but still looks pretty darn new. There are competitors bags out there that try to imitate this bag but Black Holes are worth every penny when you compare them.

September 22, 2021

Great Quality

What a great purchase fits a lot and the backpack straps are the best. Will last for years

September 17, 2021

Perfect Travel Bag

This bag holds so much, is incredibly durable, and is very easy to carry. Packed to the brim it holds as much as a checked bag, but I've flown multiple times fitting it in the overhead of a big plane. Good job Patagonia!

September 15, 2021

Black Hole duffles

I have 5 BH Duffles (100l, 2-90l, 60l and a 55l). We use them for sailing, travel and as a waterproof bag for towels on our runabout. They are indestructible and hold a weeks worth of clothing. I wish there was an additional zippered pocket on the cover flap to access additional storage without opening the entire duffle.

September 11, 2021

Nice Duffel Bag

This bag has extra pockets and extra straps that make it into a backpack. I love it!

September 9, 2021

Best duffel bag out there

Best duffel bag on the market! Black hole material is extremely lightweight for traveling and highly water resistant. My gear stays dry and organized.

September 6, 2021

3-4-day bag

Long weekend type of bag. 3-4 days or even 5 if traveling in the summer. Too big for a gym bag.

September 4, 2021

Great Duffel Bag

I love all these duffel bags! Im a mom of three small boys so I feel like Im always looking for different size bags when we go places. Something for diaper items, clothing, accessories, snacks, you name it. For this particular bag, I wanted something for my upcoming hospital stay. I wont take much with me so I needed a compact size and I love that ... Read Morethis bag can be converted to a backpack. I know well get plenty of use out of this bag in the future as its material is extra durable and super easy to clean. I need some in every size and color now!

September 3, 2021

Best Duffel Ever

This is the first patagonia product I have ever bought- a friend had recommended for an upcoming trip I had which involved hiking, biking and running- so this bag was great for all of my gear. Thank you and it came on time

September 2, 2021

Best bag for rugged travel

I have several black hole duffels that I use traveling in remote areas for work, and they all have lasted for years! Awesome duffels!

September 1, 2021

Most excellent

Im like you in many ways I bet: I like to travel, involve in several outdoor sports and as a fly fishing guide I like quality and organization. And I like bags and totes. THIS black hole duffel is a great size. But it is also excellent excellent quality with some very unique ergonomic designs. I dropped off several bags at Goodwill after using this... Read More bag one three day trip. Great product. Youll like it too I bet!

August 30, 2021

Black Hole Duffel

After dragging around the same luggage for 20 years, I just purchased two new Black Hole duffels - 55 & 70L. They are well made, good looking, and hold a ton of clothes and gear. I use them for business, vacation, car camping, etc... and they do the trick. I give them 4.5 stars - two things - an extra internal pocket would be nice, and the hand... Read More grips are too tight to snap easily - c'mon Patagonia, add an extra 1/2 inch of fabric! But all in all, buy one! Or two!

August 29, 2021

Great bag for clothing and fishing gear

I purchased this bag to use for camping trips and fly fishing gear. The functionality and looks are great.

August 27, 2021

Do the DUFFEL shuffle

Living out of a duffel bag for work purposes requires durability, spaciousness and strength to hold up to the challenges. This duffel not only does everything I expect it to do it also surprises me when I overpack. This is my 3rd bag investment and I've yet to be let down.

August 24, 2021

55L -- Great bag that is bit big if you are not disciplined

Great bag for a two week trip to Hawaii, but for that trip the 40L would be better because I would pack less. I will probably get the 40L for shorter trips or those with less gear. The 55L will be great for long ski weekends and will accommodate boots, helmet, and ski gear. However, the 40L fits in most overheads, the 55L is a bit big for some, so ... Read Moreif there is any doubt, pick the small.

August 23, 2021

Perfect Travel Bag

so durable and perfect for any length trip!

August 19, 2021

perfect size!

The size is perfect for a short trip. The straps can convert into backpack straps which is super convenient. One of the best duffels ive had yet

August 17, 2021

Great size and quality

This bag is high quality and can fit quite a bit of gear into it for weekend use probably up to a week of summer travel. I want one in every size.

August 10, 2021

55L Black Hoke Duffel

I love this bagIt has Everything you need and nothing you dont! the convertibility into a back pack is also fantastic..-and Its stows away into its own pocket!

August 8, 2021

Super Great!

Bigger than expected and great price for the size and quality! Favorite duffel bag Ive ever had. So much storage and so many different compartments. Ive taken it on vacation with me once already and am packing for another vacation and its been so great.

August 8, 2021

Great bag for traveling, but base could be more waterproof

I adore this bag. So comfy for hauling camping gear around and going on longer trips away. The water resistance is decent too, but it seems that the seams at the bottom could be better, as I found during heavy rain that some stuff at the bottom of the bag was damp.

August 4, 2021

Amazing Duffel

I've been needing a duffel that I can use for travel/sports/activities. I use it for everything and it is super durable!

August 4, 2021

Great go to Duffle Bag

I really like this duffle bag. Built solid and can hold several days of gear for a trip.

August 4, 2021

Perfect size to carry on and off

Bought this to support a 9 day trip to Spain so i had enough space but could skip the hassle and uncertainty of checking bags. Brought everything i needed and a few for weather contingencies. Large zip top allowed me to access and remove things without turning contents into a big ball of chaos. Tough, weather resistant exterior meant i didnt have t... Read Moreo worry when it got tossed into the back of an Uber or if I sat it down on the swampy ground while i dug out my rain jacket. I use packing cubes so the big open space is perfect for me.

August 3, 2021

Black hole

Versatile, light, modern, easy going

August 2, 2021

Perfect Camping Duffle

Was able to easily fit all my camping needs into this bag with room to spare. Bag is perfect carry on size for flying. Straps easily applied and removed for carrying convenience.

August 1, 2021

The dictionary definition of a gear bag

Others make more complicated, more specialized gear bags, but this is the one you want. It works so well for so many activities, is completely bombproof, and looks great to match. So happy I finally picked one up

July 30, 2021

Right size is in between small and medium

Ive gone back and forth between the two sizes. Love the colors and the concept of the product.

July 27, 2021

Great size

This can definitely fit a weekend trip of stuff and the back pack straps are handy.

July 24, 2021

Excellent Duffel bag

I love this thing!

July 22, 2021

Quality Work/Travel Bag

Quality, well made bag/backpack that is very practical for daily use and travel. Constructed out of heavy duty materials to withstand the elements. Very pleased with my purchase and am considering buying another one in a different size. Highly recommended.

July 21, 2021

Perfect holds-everything duffel

This bag is great! The zipper pockets are perfect for organizing while traveling and the duffel is super easy to transport. This size can be used for a long weekend or even a week long trip.

July 21, 2021

Carry it all!

This is what I use to carry all my gear. Whether its gym gear, skiing gear, riding gear, or just stuff for a weekend trip the 55L is my go-to.

July 19, 2021

Great bag!

These bags are awesome. Key is to have several sizes for different uses.

July 17, 2021

Best travel bags ever

This is my second black hole duffle - I have a 40L as well - and they do not disappoint. Best travel bags Ive ever owned!

July 15, 2021

Nice bag

Great for weekend travel

July 14, 2021

Super cool bag

Bag exactly as described. Perfect size for a weekend getaway. Love the color, size and material and quality.

July 12, 2021

High quality product to last for years

Functional, High Quality, as described on website.

July 6, 2021

55L Black Hole Duffel / Great for my travel needs

I got this duffel so I can put my 55L backpacking bag in fully packed up to check on the airplane. I was able to get TSA locks for the zippers for security, and the 55L perfectly fit my backpack completely packed with all my gear and 5 days food and trekking poles. Had room to spare too. Great quality, durable fabric, I love it

June 26, 2021

Solid construction and 55L is the perfect size for short trips

I have been very pleased with this bag. The material appears to be very sturdy and durable. The bag has more than enough room for a long weekend trip. The attachments for the shoulder straps appear solid, as do the gear loops on the exterior. All in all, it is a very well made bag and I expect to get years of use out of it.

June 21, 2021

Best Gear Pack

I use the blackhole duffle bags as my go-to gear pack. I usually keep them as 'loadouts' that I can grab off the rack for any occasion/trip.

June 21, 2021

Best travel bag. Period.

This is my third Black Hole bag (second duffel and a backpack). My Black Hole wheeled duffel bag survived 25 mph winds and snow in Iceland and my clothes inside remained dry and intact! So happy about that! I bought this duffel for use as a carry-on for light travel days/long weekends and I am sure it will be just as sturdy as my wheeled Black Hole... Read More duffel. And the color is so amazing--i live in Hawaii and love the blue waves in the design. Absolutely love all of my Patagonia clothes and Black Hole bags!!

June 15, 2021

This bag is amazing. My husband thinks Im moving out because I keep getting more.

Just when you think you have it stuffed, just unzip and add more. Thing is bombproof. I have one packed for any activity.

June 15, 2021

Sick Bag

This a a great bag. Perfect for a weekend on travel, or an almost unlimited number of uses. It's that "just right" size in 55L, that's not too big, not too small. Could be used for a gym bag, but that would be overkill in terms of tech. The bag is glossy, which is cool, but functionally waterproof. High quality zippers, lots of ... Read Moreseparate side pockets to stay organized, and in black with the grey lettering, subtle, but elegant. It just screams "quality". The backpack straps are surprisingly useful when you take it to an airport, so you can throw it on your back and easily hold your carryon in your hand with one free hand for your coffee.

June 2, 2021

Core kit carrier

Well designed and made holdall bag that looks great too. I use with a variety of the 'cube' accessories to make stowing and organising my kit straightforward. The light colour liner helps locate items while in the tent and van compared to the dark insides of other brands I've used. An indication of the user-designer approach favoured... Read More by this pioneering company. Well done Patagonia!

May 31, 2021

Great bag!

great bag, I know it will last a lifetime of multi-use! Amazing customer service when I wanted a different size then a different color!

May 28, 2021

Great bag

Our family loves the black hole duffels. We go away most weekends in the winter to ski and these bags perfectly meet our needs. Well made but not too heavy. I love the straps so that I can wear it as a backpack.

May 25, 2021

Duffle

Nice size bag for short trips.

May 23, 2021

Awesome and durable bag

I got this bag because I needed a carry on type bag that could be used for weekend trips of all kinds. I know I can take my bag camping or rafting, it looks and feels like it will last me forever. You can carry it or wear it as a backpack!! It also has an amazing inside pocket that you can access from the outside. I would recommend it to everybody!... Read More

May 20, 2021

Best bag I've owned

55L. Great durable bag. love the backpack straps!! Makes travel a breeze. Fit 10 days worth of clothes into it and still could fit more. The soft sides allow it to sorta shrink down around your items when fitting into a tight spot like your vehicle or as a carry-on etc. The bag also folds into a built in pouch/pocket maybe 12"x4x4. Haven'... Read Moret tried folding it back up yet but that's a great feature for storage. Has large pockets, I don't care for multiple tiny pockets, not in a large duffel. Perfect large travel bag.

May 14, 2021

Good Travel Bag

The 55L Black Hole is perfect for packing enough clothes for long weekend fishing trips to the chilly Catskills in the spring. April and May could still bring winter weather and this bag holds enough clothes to layer just in case. Highly recommend for the size and it keeps my clothes dry.

May 12, 2021

My go to bag

This is my all-time favorite Patagonia piece. I find it perfect for car travel ... better than having wheels. I also like that I can schlep it as a backpack for longer hauls. It's also my go to wedding gift for all of my kids friends who are getting married!

May 3, 2021

Travel Gear

Classy, Sexy, only holds up ok thru airport checked bags because they do not care!!!!, otherwise it is the best!!!!

April 30, 2021

Perfect for a weekend of camping

This bag was just the right size for a weekend of camping in the mountains. It kept everything clean and organized for easy tent camping.

April 27, 2021

Great weekend bag

I really like the Black Hole 55L duffel. Its very durable and plenty big for a few day trip (or more for some). I was worried about not enough pockets but the mesh pocket on the lid is pretty big as well as the front zip pocket. I love that its plenty durable to check as luggage and I believe it is small enough for a carry-on. The blue wave pattern... Read More is a fun one too!

April 27, 2021

Great Quality

Love this bag Roomy and substantial

April 26, 2021

The best and only bag you will ever buy

This bag is the most durable, long-lasting, and functional bag I've ever used. In the PNW I have a lot of track and cross country meets that I coach at and this thing can sit outside all day and everything inside will be dry. I love how functional it is too with the backpack straps. I now own two of these 55L bags and they are the perfect size... Read More for travel, work, and climbing gear. I would recommend them to anyone.

April 23, 2021

Swim Bag

I love this bag for my swimming gear, plenty of room for towels, fins, kick board, toiletries, dry clothing. I would like a shoulder strap , but the back back straps might work for that purpose. I might have been ok with a smaller bag but the green color is way too awesome. Makes me happy to grab up and head for the pool. The life guard asked me wh... Read Moreere I got my bag. Patagonia.com of course!

April 17, 2021

Great size

Works great with the Black hole packs.

April 15, 2021

Killer duffle!

This duffle replaced an older, much loved duffle for ski gear in the winter and fishing gear in the summer. Its great so far. Super durable and easy to clean when dirty. Used to haul ski ski so far but planning a mountain resort adventure getaway and this will be perfect for my excursion gear. Love the shoulder straps, makes easy to carry with othe... Read Morer bags. LOVE IT!

April 14, 2021

Best bag

These bags are great for weekend fly fishing trips.

April 13, 2021

Black Hole 55L

Awesome, durable bag. The size is prefect for keeping all of my ski gear ready to go in one place. Great access through top zippered flap.

April 2, 2021

Great bag!

Super practical and durable bag! Packed full of heavy tackle or stuffed with clothes, this bag has always suited my needs and I rarely go without it.

April 1, 2021

Best duffel ever

Never leave home without it.

March 31, 2021

Great bag!

The only reason I am only giving 4 stars is because the colorway I ordered isnt what I thought it would be from the product image. I have the 55l bag in lemongrass. The straps and print appear grey-ish to black even in the product photo. But they are actually blue. No big deal really. but If you are like me and are overly specific about color, its ... Read Moregood to know before hand. Also had I scrolled down to the photos of features, I would have seen the more accurate strap color.

March 29, 2021

Well designed, handy pockets and

Well designed, handy pockets and great overal use. Repacking in pocket is tough though.

March 25, 2021

Solid Quality Duffel

This is a great duffel, the 55L size is perfect for a long weekend (3-4 days) stay and it really is comfortable to pack, load and unload. Bonus points for it being packable into itself becoming a smaller pouch to stow away.

March 23, 2021

Able to go any where

My Blackhole 55l is the travel companion for me. It holds a ton or a little, can be carried by hand or on my back, and is durable like any good hiking boot. The ability to separate wet from dry is huge as there are times when the weather does always comply with my request. It is big enough for 2 weeks or 2 days. I should have purchased long ago. I ... Read Moreappreciate the ability to put it overhead or check it. I will be a life long friend.

March 21, 2021

Great bag!

I got this bag for my son because because he prefers to use duffels instead of rolling bags. He absolutely loves it!

March 20, 2021

Good size!

I got the 55 L duffel to give it a try while traveling around and I will say it does the job! I wish the straps were more kinetic to be soft on the back but I really think its comfortable and fits over a week of clothes and gear for me.

March 17, 2021

Sturdy Build

The material of this bag feels highly durable and I suspect it will last a long time. I purchased the 55L bag and was impressed by how much could fit inside of it. It would be great to include a single shoulder strap, but the backpack straps are nicely made and work well. The built-in pockets and dividers are limited, but do the job well. Would def... Read Moreinitely recommend this bag.

March 14, 2021

Awesome pack!

This pack is quality! Good size for traveling and storing in a small space is great too.

March 11, 2021

n/a

The duffle is exactly what my grandson was looking for and size wanted.

March 4, 2021

It Works

Love the material and how burly the bag is. The 55L is perfect for a long weekend, no matter the activity. Works great thrown in the bed of my truck where it won't get completely soaked but I still don't need to worry much about rain. I should have done a bit more research, a regular shoulder strap would be much more practical for me; the... Read More backpack straps it comes with just ain't it. Would still 100% recommend.

March 1, 2021

Just what I expected

I got this for my husband for traveling, his old duffel was worn out. We haven't used it yet but the material seems very sturdy, as do the handles. Our kids got in (one at a time, one thirty lbs and one 50 lbs.) and he was lifting them up in it. The straps feel very secure. It's very shiny and plastic-y feeling, just as it looks. He'... Read Mores excited to use it for traveling this year, the size seemed great and more than enough for a week-long trip's worth of clothes and extras.

February 28, 2021

Great bag!

This bag is lightweight but incredibly well made and sturdy. You can fit an amazing amount of stuff in it and... It still counts as a carryon! Love it!

February 28, 2021

Great Duffel

Great Duffel . I use it for crossfit

February 27, 2021

Efficient

This duffel does exactly what it says. It has great space inside with the small accessible pocket. Some would like to see this no accessible from the outside, but if you know to expect it, its fine; put your valuables somewhere else. A lot of duffels with backpack straps have the straps on the bottom, but this makes it so when you put the pack down... Read More, it lands on the top; I appreciate that the straps on this bag make it so when it is set down, it lands on its protected bottom.

February 26, 2021

Great Duffle

It's perfect for 2-3days climbing trip!

February 26, 2021

Bought my first one, have bought three more since

This bag makes a excellent one stop shop for your travel carry or as a personal gift. I bought mine before spending a weekend on a fishing trip and have since bought more for my family and friends. I do not recommend purchasing this item if you plan on storing it back inside of its interior pocket, there are youtube tutorials but it is more work th... Read Morean it is worth. Quality bag, find the color you like because the unit seems indestructible with proper care and use. Highly recommend.

February 24, 2021

Great travel bag

This bag is perfect for a 1-5 day trip. It serves as a carry on and comfortably can be worn as a back pack

February 24, 2021

Roomy and light

This bag is great for travel Flyfishing. I use it as a carryon when I fly to my destination to carry my fishing gear. When I go fishing I add on the backpack straps to carry my gear to my favorite fishing spots.

February 24, 2021

Black Hole 55L Duffel storage for DAYS

Excellent bag, tough- has taken a lot of abuse and various cold and hot weather conditions. Fits into the overhead compartment carry-on during air travel.

February 24, 2021

Perfect duffle for sports travel & life!

This duffle is the perfect size for sports/ travel/ ski stuff & life!

February 23, 2021

Versatile and Well Made

This is my favourite bag for car camping trips and travel. It's very well made and fits in the overhead bins on planes.

February 23, 2021

Great travel bag

I have 3 of the 55L and 2 of the 70L black hole duffels. I love them so much, can always squeeze one more thing in and use this for travel especially during the winter to haul our snowboarding gear. The bag is waterproof but super durable. Could not recommend this more.

February 20, 2021

Go-To Bag

As the title suggests, this is my go-to bag for trips that are going to require a couple weeks worth of gear/clothing. When I'm not using it to travel around, it houses my ski stuff so I can throw the bag and my skis/boots/poles in the truck and head straight up to the slopes. The internal straps have been useful to compress and fasten down cl... Read Moreothing and gear. Not a whole lot of pockets but the big side one provides easy access and the ones on the top of the lid are good for keeping small things organized out of the massive main compartment. I've had the bag for about 4 years now and it's still in great shape- I plan on being able to pass this one down a generation at this rate. I will say when you really load it up to capacity, it's not the most comfortable to wear as a backpack with the shoulder straps and walk for long distances/durations... but it's a duffel and not really made for that so can't complain too much ¯\_()_/¯

February 13, 2021

Great bag!

Great bag!

February 11, 2021

big awesome bag!

Great bag for my basketball gear as coach for youth team: 2 balls, 20 practice jerseys, training cones, water bottles, 2-3 pairs of shoes and a great small pocket for my coach's whistle ;)

January 26, 2021

Black Hole Duffel 55L

I absolutely love this bag. My girlfriend got me the 40L and I couldn't believe how well built it was. I travel almost every weekend so I also bought the 55L and I am amazed how much clothes I can fit in these bags. They are bigger than you would think and stronger than you could imagine. I really like to have options depending on the activiit... Read Morees I have planned for the weekend or week so I am actually considering going for a hat trick and purchasing the 70L as well. Thanks for a great product Patagonia! These are very well made bags.

January 23, 2021

Great Duffle

Its a great bag and fits way more than I thought it would! The backpack straps are very convenient too.

January 19, 2021

50L Black Hole Duffle. What a BEAST!

I traveled with my 50L duffle and the thing is huge! I actually managed to carry the bag on for all 6 flights, but a fully packed plane might not offer that luxury. Holds a ton, built tough, and easy to transition to a backpack. LOVE IT!

January 12, 2021

Amazing

The bag was exactly what you need for a weekend or even a whole week

January 9, 2021

Durable and easy to pack

This duffle is constructed very well. The zippers and straps/handles seem like they will hold up for many years. The top opening allows for great accessibility. Looking forward to many trips with this one!

January 5, 2021

Great bags for boating

Good size and easy to open. Bought them in two sizes

January 2, 2021

Nice Duffle!

This duffle is perfect. Handsome. Holds lots of stuff! Versatile!! Love it and best of all its PATGONIA

December 24, 2020

Love this bag

Great bag. Recommend. Buy it!

December 23, 2020

Obsessed. Durable and functional.

I just received my 55L and I'm so psyched to use it. I've owned the 45L Black Hole Duffel (now discontinued) for about 2 years now and I've taken it on planes (both carry-on and checked), road trips (sometimes underneath heavy gear). It's been tossed on the ground in warm climates (dry heat up to 104 degrees F) and has sat in th... Read Moree cold (inside a car overnight, below zero). I have had zero issues with the zippers, pockets (even the mesh ones), and outer/inner material. No cracks in the material, no rust on the zippers. Water-resistant material is awesome. My dog has jaws of steel and tried to chew through this sucker to get to a bully stick -- couldn't get to it.

December 23, 2020

Quality but odd shape

Was hoping for a similar bag to the 60L black hole duffel we have. Though the 55L is obviously smaller in volume the footprint is larger. The new design is long and shallow as another review noted. The quality is still there but it just looks odd.

December 15, 2020

Love this bag

I just bought a second bag as as family that likes to travel we always "argue" who get's the black hole duffel. Problem solved! Now we have two. I love how easy it coverts to a bag pack and am already having my eye on a 3th one...

December 11, 2020

Best bags!

I love the Black Hole bags. Have quite a few in different sizes, but the 55L is perfect to keep all my fishing gear together. Waders, socks, boots, net, jackets, and fly bag + extra boxes all easily fit in it. Also, it's super easy to clean after putting wet/dirty gear in it.

December 7, 2020

Compression straps?

We have 2 of the 60L bags that my kids use for overnights, camping and school field trips. I love the size! Well, fast forward a year and the newly redesigned sizes are different. I bought a 55L and was surprosed at how big it is. Plus NO compression straps?? My kids bags have compression straps but the new ones dont? Is this a fluke? It seems odd ... Read Morea 55L bag wouldnt have them...

December 3, 2020

This is a duffle bag

Purchased this for car travel and find it very easy to use /carry for a senior citizen. Ample room to pack a variety of things

November 23, 2020

Significantly larger than expected

It's advertised as a larger weekend bag, but it is absolutely MASSIVE. Definitely a great bag for week-long trips, or very heavy packers, but if you are looking for a weekend bag, choose the 40L option. Besides the unexpected size, it's a great bag.

November 21, 2020

55L Black Hole Duffel

This duffel is awesome. I love versatility of being able to carry it like a backpack. Holds a week's worth of clothes.

November 17, 2020

Excellent Quality Tried to hard on Extra Features

This is one very well built duffle bag. However it does not include a shoulder strap. It has two straps you can attach to wear as a backpack. I usually am carrying both a normal backpack and this duffel. The slick design would have been to make one the backpack straps also a shoulder strap which is how I am using it now. Its just not nearly as comf... Read Moreortable as a typical padded one would be.

November 5, 2020

Perfect

This bag is so durable, and there is a good amount of room in the bag. The best duffel I have ever touched.

September 13, 2020

Great Design

The bag is as pictured.

September 11, 2020

I love this duffel.

The 55L is huge. And you can easily store days worth of clothing and still have room. Highly recommend. Great quality too!

September 9, 2020

Patagonia bag

I love it and it keeps my clothes dry and is the perfect size for what I need

September 1, 2020

All In One!

I can pack for a weekend or a week & use this bag. It's my 1 stop shop for packing for fun & adventure. Thanks Patagonia!

August 11, 2020

How can this be??? Is it a 70L or 80L marked as a 55L

I purchased a 60L Black Hole duffel several years back and just loved it to death! In fact we still have one. I then received a replacement for my old tried and true 60L, it was marked as a 55L and that was cool figured they just changed it up a bit, made it a little smaller. Figured I would need to roll my clothes a little tighter rather than just... Read More throwing it all in. Fast forward and I'm about to use it for the first time and this thing is huge, like way big. I was hoping to take on as a carry on, but it looked like a 70L or 80L, marked as a 55L??? I do the side-by-side comparison with one of our old 60L and it is way bigger. Kind of funny... I showed my family all three black hole duffels that we have (55L, 60L and 90L) and the 55L looks like a 70L or 80L, because its larger than the 60L and smaller than the 90L. I wonder if the 40L is the same size as the old 60L?

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2020

Thank you for your feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that the new the dimensions aren't working as well for you. If you find you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that or exchange for a smaller size, please feel free to do so.

July 13, 2020

Everything you need in a bag

Traveling for pleasure or for sport, this bag is durable with capacity for a week off the grid. Recently headed out for 10 days in a remote cabin and this bag carried all of my clothes, shoes and personal items with easy. And the color is so awesome! I imagine getting off a plane (at some point) and seeing it straight away at the baggage claim.

July 11, 2020

Best dufflebag

This duffle bag has so much space inside of it and is very good looking. the functionality of it raises the standard. best dufflebag on the market. I will be getting the bag in all sizes!

July 10, 2020

Everything you need in a bag

Traveling for pleasure or for sport, this bag is durable with capacity for a week off the grid. Recently headed out for 10 days in a remote cabin and this bag carried all of my clothes, shoes and personal items with easy. And the color is so awesome! I imagine getting off a plane (at some point) and seeing it straight away at the baggage claim.

July 5, 2020

Nice bag but horrible zipper

The zipper on the side pocket has been nearly impossible to use due to it always getting caught and jammed on the inner fabric which is nearly impossible to clear without tearing up the fabric. The inner fabric is now torn up and zipper is even getting a little damaged due to the challenge of clearing the zipper of the fabric. The side pocket is pr... Read Moreetty much useless due to this zipper issue. It doesn't appear others are having this problem so maybe I have a defective bag.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2020

Hi Micah, we're so sorry to hear that you may have received a defective Black Hole. Please follow this link to begin a warranty return under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/on/demandware.static/-/Library-Sites-PatagoniaShared/default/dw9ac3afab/slots/RMA/S19_Patagonia_returns_form_r3.pdf

June 23, 2020

Baffling design choice

I have a wheeled 70L black hole for travel that I love so I picked up a 55L and it seemed perfect until I noticed the front pocket has a second zipper inside to access the main section of the bag. These zippers nor the compartment can be secured. So for travel this bag leaves all of your contents insecure, for the trade off of being able to access ... Read Morethe front pouch contents from both the inside and outside of the bag? I contacted customer support to verify I wasn't misunderstanding something but this does appear to be the case. I have to return it due to this but otherwise it is a fantastic looking bag and I love the camp green color, hopefully in the future they add at least a second zipper so it can be locked.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

Jarad,we're sorry to hear the 55L Black Hole Bag has been disappointing, but we appreciate your detailed feedback. We'll be happy to help you return it under our Ironclad Guarantee here: https://help.patagonia.com/s/

June 22, 2020

Awesome Bag

I use this bag to strap to my sissy bar on my motorcycle and whenever I travel or go camping. The backpack straps are super easy to use and the tie downs are perfect for securing to my motorcycle. The bag is made of strong material (I believe it's the same ripstop material used in the roof top tent I have). Super stoked to put this to more use... Read More on my motorcycle trip from Flagstaff to Yellowstone. Thanks Patagonia!

June 21, 2020

Perfect for On-the-Go

This is a perfect size to throw a bunch of gear and clothes and shoes and whatever you need to head out of town, whether on a hotel getaway or camping excursion. It's easy to throw over my shoulder, or use the backpack straps. And it's very waterproof.

June 21, 2020

Everyone needs one of these

Super durable and fashionable bag. Waterproof, rugged material. The zipper isn't water tight, but it's close. Super-versatile. I own two 55L bags from previous years and this one is defintelly bigger.

June 19, 2020

Great for traveling

Perfect size bag for weekend trips. Exactly what I got it for

June 17, 2020

My Pata duffle

This duffle carriers all my needs for a long weekend trip. Its light and easy to carry. Also it looks cool

June 17, 2020

Best go to travel bag

Love the backpack conversion. Made to last. Stylish and ready for quick trips. Durable.

June 17, 2020

Perfect for On-the-Go

This is a perfect size to throw a bunch of gear and clothes and shoes and whatever you need to head out of town, whether on a hotel getaway or camping excursion. It's easy to throw over my shoulder, or use the backpack straps. And it's very waterproof.

June 17, 2020

Everyone needs one of these

Super durable and fashionable bag. Waterproof, rugged material. The zipper isn't water tight, but it's close. Super-versatile. I own two 55L bags from previous years and this one is defintelly bigger.

June 17, 2020

Black Hole Duffel

Plenty of room to pack for a two night trip. Durable and easy to transport. Excellent value with this duffel.

May 13, 2020

It's a duffel bag you can wear on your back

I've used this bag for two years, and although at first I thought it was perfect, now I realize it has its limitations. Basically, it's a duffel bag you can wear on your back. It's not a backpack. It doesn't have many internal pockets or compartments, and the ones it does have are under the top flap you use to close it so that... Read More when you wear it has a backpack, whatever you've put in those pockets, in my case locks, chargers, etc., inevitably end up poking you in the back while you wear it. this is extremely frustrating, especially when you have to walk far. It makes it almost useless as anything but a duffel bag. Granted, this is the only design flaw, and even though it's just one, I feel it severely limits the bag's potential. The problem is that these pockets are the only compartments in the whole bag for storing smaller items, so they end up being basically useless. You just have to throw everything loose into your bag together, which means you have to rifle through all your stuff whenever you want to get anything. I thought this would be the bag to solve my problem of wanting something more than a backpack but less than a camping pack. It does not.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this bag didn't live up to your expectations and we really appreciate the feedback. If you decide you're unsatisfied with the purchase, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

March 30, 2020

The go-to for everything

Well I had the old 60 liter for 3 years and it had been on countless trips to the Sierras for camping,paddle boarding, and some mtb missions. A trip tonEurope and then backpacking through Asia for 2 months when one of the straps started coming undone by the buckle. I came home for Xmas and contacted Patagonia on getting it repaired. They were too f... Read Morear out but offered for me to go to the SF store for a straight swap to a new 55l. So I did, and Ive been living out of my cobalt blue 55 for almost 3 months. Rugged for sure and pretty water resistant. Got caught in a crazy rain storm in the Philippines on a motorbike with my bag on my back, was in the rain for 2 hours and it was pouring most of the time. When I opened my bag a shirt on top was wet and some condensation on the inside. Think it leaked through the zipper. For how long I was in the rain, it wasnt too bad. The bag is simple and it does the trick no matter the situation I need it for. I have a 90 l for all my snow/mtb and its my action sports closet. From the fjord flannel, the nano puff pullover, and a beat up pair of baggies surviving dirt bagging through Asia during the coved-19 pandemic. Ill rock Patagonia everything Always. Thx and be safe

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Chris! Thank you so much for providing great feedback on your Black Hole® Duffel Bag 55L. We are so pleased it has been good to you along your journeys. While a great travel bag, it is water resistant not waterproof. If you are heading out on another adventure and need a waterproof bag check out our [Waterproof Bags!](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/luggage-waterproof-bags). Thanks again!

March 4, 2020

Big, tough, comfortable travel bag

It's cavernous inside but not ridiculously large outside. The shoulder straps are easy on/off and comfortable. If it lasts like all of the other Patagonia stuff I've accumulated over the last three decades like I expect it to, I'll be happy.

March 2, 2020

more like 80 liters / what is Patagonia doing?

- I have the previous "60L black hole" from a year or two ago. It's a great bag and I wanted another. I was disappointed to see it was now 55L as it was the perfect size for everything. I bought one and found the 55L is actually MUCH larger than the 60L. - Dimensions with some blankets filling each: 55L: 26.7" x 15.7" x 1... Read More1.8" (consistent with the website) Measuring the 60L in the same fashion: 24.5 x 15 x 10.5. - Just a straight LxWxH = volume says: --55L black hole = 83L --60L black hole = 63L --(yes some of the bag itself takes up some volume but this is to portray the bag sizes) -WHY did Patagonia take a really perfect bag size (for weekends, planes, carrying on your back, carrying a normal amount of clothes and other stuff, really anything), label it as smaller, then make it actually have 30% more capacity than the label?? the 55L is kind of big and dumpy. - They did improve features though: no more useless straps inside that I never used, and the top flap that opens is bigger (previous one had too small an opening that can get a little annoying packing / unpacking, minor complaint but they definitely improved it) - I just wish they made an ACTUAL 60L black hole duffel with their new modifications. -the new 40L is not long enough, the new 55L is 80L and giant

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2020

Hi Jeff thanks for your feedback about the new sizing on this product. We have recently changed the way we are measuring the bags in order to make the volume more accurate. If you are not satisfied with the size of this product feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the item to us.

February 22, 2020

Great Bag

We have three black hole bags and love them all. Patagonia stands behind their products, period.

February 17, 2020

Versatile and great looking

The bag was a great success - it was a gift to my partner who commutes by bus and was always complaining about having too many bags to carry. She absolutely loves it! Maybe one further improvement could be a "clip-on" small net/separator that can be hooked inside the bag, creating two compartments (e.g. one for shoes) - if possible, I wou... Read Moreld suggest to have 2 positions (to split 1/3 - 2/3 either side)

February 7, 2020

Great, but could be better.

I absolutely love this bag. I use it all of the time. It is my camp bag, my weekend bag for trips. I take it with my Mountain biking to hold my gear. This really has become an everything bag for me. It's great except for one thing. The "water resistance" on the bottom of the bag is lacking. Why add such awesome TPU fabric to the top ... Read Morewhen sitting on wet grass will allow moisture to soak through? I am always fearful that bedding and electronics will end up wet. I know place the bag on a tarp when at campsites and tend not to leave the bag on the ground too much because of this. Sorta silly when you think about it since the bag should be used and abused. I coddle the bag :-/ When you are out on a 50-mile bike ride, you don't wanna be worrying if the sudden downpour is going to leave your gear wet back at the campsite. Why not add some TPU material to the bottom as well? Being weatherproof seems to be more useful than packability (which is the reason I have received for why the bottom material is what it is). Please, please, please redesign this bag!!!! Please! That little feature would add a world of difference. Designers, any logic you can provide for this would be greatly appreciated. (prayer hands)

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2020

Hi Robert, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on the duffel. We truly appreciate feedback like this as it's absolutely crucial to improving products for future seasons. The choice to keep the TPU-coating from the bottom of the duffel is really one of pack-ability. However, we understand that comes with a trade off which can be disapointing. If you're interested in taking a look at one of our duffels with a TPU-coated bottom we'd suggest the [Stand Up Duffel](https://www.patagonia.com/product/stand-up-duffel-42-liters/48375.html?dwvar_48375_color=COI&cgid=luggage-duffel-bags#tile-10=&start=1&sz=24). Also, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so if you're not happy with the performance of your duffel you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 3, 2020

Have had no problem using this as a carry-on for domestic flights

In contrast to what another reviewer implied, I have had no problem taking my new 55-L black hold duffel as a carry on for domestic flights (Delta, Alaska Airlines). The fact that it isn&#x27;t rigid and doesn&#x27;t have wheels helps it fit into overhead bins despite its size, and TSA and gate agents have never given me a problem about it. It does... Read More exceed the 45 linear inch limit (length+width+height <= 45 inches) for international flights. It has gone with me as a checked bag to Costa Rica, where it held 10 days worth of clothes, a pair of hiking poles (broken down), and a huge pair of size 11 men's heavy duty hiking boots. The bag got wet but our clothes and gear stayed perfectly dry. I love that the straps can be adjusted and have had no problem carrying it on my 5'5" aging frame, even with a smaller backpack worn across the front of the shoulders. It works perfectly with the black hole cubes, in which I can fit tons of underwear, etc. Used with cubes, you can take this bag on a multi-week trip where you need to bring multiple pairs of shoes, poles, hats, jackets, fleece layers, etc.

January 25, 2020

Beautiful piece of kit

Great look and feel to the bag. Taken it for its first test up the mountains this week and it feels really durable. Space seemed never-ending and it was perfectly fine as hand luggage, for EasyJet at least. Looking forward to taking it on many adventures.

January 25, 2020

Arbitrarily Sized??

I bought a 60L a few years ago and it&#x27;s the best bag. I bought my wife a 55L for xmas. Comparing the 55L to the 60L, the 55L is HUGE. too big for an airplane overhead. I swear the thing is mislabeled so I contact Patagonia support - I&#x27;m told they use beans to measure the size and this new 55L used to be the old 70L? How does that make sen... Read Morese? Patagonia used liters to advertise the size, but their support people claim that I should have checked the measurements?? Why list a size if it can change based on how many beans fit in there? Bag is high quality, but this change is very disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2020

We are very sorry for the confusion and the discrepancies with the new sizing. We do measure our bags in terms of liters, which is why we use beads, not beans, to measure the volume. Nonetheless, we did change the way in which we were measuring the volume to make it more accurate, which is why there is some variation between the older bags and our new ones. Please know that your satisfaction is always guaranteed and if you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us, or exchange it for a smaller size, we are happy to help.

January 13, 2020

AMAZING!!

This back is water resistant, comfortable, works like a bag or a backpack. It held all of my stuff for my two week vacation. IN LOVE!

January 13, 2020

Fits it all and still qualifies as a carry-on (US)

The 55L Black Hole is what you want if you need something large enough to carry a few days worth of clothes/gear, but still want a bag small enough to put in an overhead bin. The backpack straps hook on quickly and turn this into an easy-to-carry piece. I&#x27;ve taken it on Frontier, United and Southwest with no issues (carry-on not personal item)... Read More.

January 11, 2020

why am i just now discovering the black hole goodness

i ordered the 55 liter peppergrass green color way. paragonia has a reputation for making some of the best products on this planet, this bag is no exception. i love that it’s made from recycled plastic bottles with the most eco friendly processes available. the duffel came packaged well, and it was stuffed inside its own side pocket. i didn’t know ... Read Moreit could stuff away in its own pocket, i should’ve since most Patagonia products do. im literally taking this bag out for its first international trip in a few weeks but im fully confident it can handle the abuse from airline baggage handlers. according to dimensions this bag fully packed shouldn’t meet carry on requirements, but i have heard and read that people were able to. so Patagonia, can we get some Black Hole wallets and passport wallets too please—that would be a big hit, no question!

January 4, 2020

Love

This bag simply cannot be beat. This size is the largest I think you can comfortably carry on you back. for a while. I've had mine for 2 years and it still looks great. I use it weekly, and just bought the larger size for when I need a bit more gear.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches