burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's R2® TechFace Pants Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 50 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R2® TechFace Pants

4.7/5
Kinda Large
January 27, 2023

Perfect Pant for Cold Weather

I've struggle with my lower body temperature comfort in low temperatures for a long time and these pants have been the absolute PERFECT solution. Low bulk, good mobility, etc. Perfect addition for lower body comfort in cold temperatures.

January 24, 2023

So warm

Originally did medium but length on S was more my speed. I know theyre for fishing but I use them for all sorts of winter activities - really dont even need a top layer even if youre rolling around in the snow. So warm and dry very quick. Move comfortably with your body. Recommend them to everyone who spends a lot of time outside during the winter

January 22, 2023

Best under layer for cold days

I love these pants. I wear them under my waders on cold days. I also wear them under my bibs skiing on cold days. They are also great for lounging around the house after a long day. I will liking be getting one more pair.

December 24, 2022

Best pants ever

I have never felt the need to write a review until getting these - they are amazing! Super warm on the river and they do not get covered in dog hair at home. Easily my favorite pants and maybe my favorite piece of clothing ever. 12/10 would recommend.

December 23, 2022

Awesome, but..

These pants are awesome! Super warm. ..and comfy! Ive had them on three days straight. However, the draw string waist band leaves something to be desired. I removed the draw string and replaced it with a (lock lace) or quick lace system. They are just about perfect now!

December 7, 2022

Amazing pants for a cold

Amazing pants for a cold day at home or doing thinks outside garden , super warm , I ordered size L and is bit to lose for me I’m 34 pants

December 5, 2022

Warm & confortable .. run

Warm & confortable .. run larger than I though they would be in the legs & rear ended. i am 6 ft 195 - 200 lbs with bigger lower half & the XL size is spacious but I am not complaining the purchase was to lounge around the house or quick errands.

November 28, 2022

Warm Base Layer

Primarily to be used as a fly fishing base layer under my waders. The first use was a 24 degree day on the Upper Owens, great fit, comfortable fabric, great movement and thankfully warmth! I like the color and they will be nice hanging out in my camper or home on chilly days as well. No fish that day but at least I was warm!

November 28, 2022

Great for cold hikes and dog walks

I am somebody whose extremities get cold very easily. While most of Patagonia's gear is designed for active athletes moving around out in the cold, these pants are warm enough for standing around in freezing water. Even though I'm not into that, I don't have to accept any sacrifices to wear these for what I need them for. The two leg... Read More pockets are perfect for storing my phone, dog waste, or wallet if I'm running to the store. The fit is more tailored than loungy sweatpants, which combined with the false fly it makes them great for going out in public. I also have the older R1 pants made for going under waders. The tailored fit, cuffed ankles and TechFace make these R2 pants easier to slide under another layer. (Which I have not needed to do yet, wore them down to mid-20's so far and they are plenty warm even with wind). Because the TechFace coating costs some breathability, some folks might find these pants could be too warm if doing anything more than a leisurely walk. The DWR coating works as advertised, I was able to walk for over an hour in heavy flurries and had only few small wetted out spots. And this did not compromise the warmth one bit.

November 16, 2022

Enthusiastically like!

I bought these because, when I went to get a second pair of R1 pants, they were out of stock in my desired size. Disappointment changed to Enchantment!! The usual great Patagonia workmanship, these pants are clearly cut for movement! First put them on during a cold November sailboat deliver, they provided welcoming warmth and protection against the... Read More damp ocean cold! They do not bunch up or slide around while I do my (pathetic!) yoga poses and they do not bind when I attempt to jog in them! Delightful, I am looking forward to trying them skiing!

November 7, 2022

The Perfect FF layer

An excellent Flyfishing layer for coldwater wading. They fit perfectly and are a must for casual wear and grocery shopping. Be careful, they may replace your favorite jeans!

October 24, 2022

Perfect wader/ski pant

Warm and perfect tightness. Although they are a little snug on my backside. In any event, I'm a huge fan of this product, and it will certainly get a ton of use across many different cold-weather pursuits.

September 23, 2022

All the comfort with some sweet features!

I purchased these pants for a trip to New Zealand. I was a little skeptical at first b/c they aren't exactly my style normally- but I'm SOLD after 2 weeks of living out of suitcase and alternating a few pairs of pants, these in the mix. They fit pretty well, are warm, and comfortable, AND repel a good bit of moisture before noticeable get... Read Moreting 'wet'. They seem to dry pretty quickly though. I would mention I think the knees could use the same kind of abrasion resistant material the seat of the pants has. I snagged the threads on the knee of the pant while riding in a boat on Mercury Bay in Whitianga. I got a tad bit miffed about it (these pants ain't cheap...) but I've accepted it and moved on. Patagonia continues to offer high-quality apparel that not only looks good but lives up to the performance standers outdoor enthusiast have come to expect.

September 18, 2022

R2 TechFace Pants

A great pair of pants. The fleece on the inside is nice and soft and makes the pants super warm. The zippers are well placed and the material on the outside feels solid. For me the ideal stylish and technical pants for my outdoor adventures 👖💚🥰

September 8, 2022

Great Layer

Super comfortable and warm around the house currently. Will be great for cold weather fishing and running!

August 7, 2022

Extremely warm!

Great fit and nice style. Very very warm

May 25, 2022

Absolutely perfect

I use these for under wader warmth. I put these on and drive to fishing spots then simply put my waders over these. They are unbelievable comfortable and warm. I take off waders and drive home but struggle to take them off at the end of the day because they are so comfy. I love that the two zipper pockets are on the sides. No back pockets are well ... Read Morethought of design. Also tapered at the ankle to accommodate the perfect under wader fit. Everything you need and nothing you dont. If you fish in colder temps with waders. These are a must have to your kit. Never change these.

May 20, 2022

Comfortable

I wore these pants under my waders for 8 hours and I was very comfortable.

May 19, 2022

Great in boat and under waders

I rally like this pant. Perfect under waders and on its own in my drift boat.

April 4, 2022

Perfect

Just returned from a Patagonia fishing trip and I was very happy I had them to wear under my waders on cold days (which was EVERY day on this trip).

April 3, 2022

Most comfortable/ warmest pants ever!

I got these for cold weather running, the fit is perfect, kind of like a jogger fit, maybe a tad tighter. They are super warm and comfortable. Also my go to pants for lounging around in.

April 1, 2022

So versatile

These pants are so cozy, and they can be used as an underlayer or outer layer. Plus the zip pockets are just right.

March 27, 2022

Super warm

Super warm,very good

March 21, 2022

Do it all mid-layer pants!

I love these pants. Let's start there. I struggle to keep my legs warm in the winter, but these pants have made a huge change for me. Lounging around the house, as a mid-layer skiing...I even where them as an outer-layer on really cold bike rides. 10/10

March 14, 2022

Mis-sized

L uncomfortably small. XL too large.

Response from Patagonia
March 21, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Lawrence. We're so sorry neither of those sizes worked for you! We're passing this feedback along to our our product team. We want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, so if you haven't done so already, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

March 4, 2022

Perfect

Great fit, very warm and comfortable. Able to withstand windy and cold temperatures

February 27, 2022

So comfy, but runs a little small

Theyre great pants but I had to exchange them for the next size because they fit a little tighter than most Patagonia pants.

February 26, 2022

Amazing

I am not a fisherman and I bought these because I thought they would be good for winter fat biking in the Southwest Colorado mountains. They are the most comfortable pants I have ever owned. They have kept me warm when fat biking in single digit temps and are great for anything cold. They double as a casual piece as well and are the first thing I p... Read Moreut on for cold mornings before getting a fire going or turning up the heat. Warm, stretchy, durable, weather resistant - the only complaint is the lack of a zipper.

February 25, 2022

Great weight for cold weather hiking and kickin' it

I love these. They are a great weight for cold weather exercise sub 32 degrees, but also very comfortable indoors around 70 degrees. Extremely versatile and comfortable.

February 21, 2022

R2 pants

I was looking for a heavy base layer bottom to wear under shell pants. I love my R1 and R2 jacket so I thought I would give these a try. I wear a 34 waist and previously purchased and returned the mediums as they were too tight. Size Large is a little big but less restricting and feel great while wearing bib pants. These are well made and the same ... Read Moregreat quality as the R1&2 tops with the warmth that I was looking for!

February 15, 2022

comfy

purchased to be worn under waders, seems a waste to cover these, best sweat-like pants ever owned. Design and cut are great, not too much fabric to "bunch up" in waders. Plenty warm enough and they look great worn alone. Nicely done.

February 13, 2022

Comfortably stylish

Comfortable fit and great option for the wade fisherman. Great garment to wear to and from the river, and good weight and warmth for most wading situations. Stirrup bottom would improve it for the fly fisherman

February 4, 2022

Amazing Pants. Slim Fit.

Wow these are blowing my mind! Yes the fly is fake. I never use zippered flies anyway and neither should you. The fabric is heavenly. They are a little tight-- I tried layering long underwear underneath and it didn't work as these are more slim fit than "regular fit". Kinda bummed about this but honestly still jumping for joy in thes... Read Moree pants.

January 27, 2022

Fake out on the fly

Not a actual fly and beware cuffs and tight and not stretchy other wise fit is great and they are warm

January 21, 2022

Unexpectedly awesome

So helpful for this east coast city boy that's been out in WI for -10 degree for this winter. Never have enjoyed the cold as much as I have this year thanks to having all the right gear - walking outside is not an issue. These pants are amazing for cold weather warmth and durability. Are a bit snug for me but have loosened up and I juggle arou... Read Morend various medium sizes.

January 3, 2022

Incredible pants

I Love these pants. Been putting them through the paces the last couple months. I already had the r2 Techface jacket so I saw these and was so excited. The weather resistance of the techface makes these so great in cold weather. My only complaint is that there isnt a long option. Im 6 ft 4 so I went with the large because I needed the 33 length(usu... Read Moreally 34) but the waist is clearly a bit too big for me on the large. Would be loving it if there was a medium long. Also wish there was a zipper on the fly as it looks like there is a spot for one, a little deceiving. Other than that these are the best casual cold weather pants Ive come across. Im sure theyre great for fly fishing too lol.

December 22, 2021

Perfect for second layer

I'm so satisfied with these new pant - I would have loved them even better if they came with a zipper. They are quite slim - perfect for me :-) I use them as a second layer when fly fishing in the cold waters of Denmark for sea trout

December 18, 2021

Maybe

Returned these because I didn't like the way they fit. Otherwise, they were very comfortable material. I would go with these over the R1 pant.

December 9, 2021

Comfy and Warm with One Caveat

These pants are super comfortable and functional. I'm 6'2" with a 31 waist. After chatting with the Patagonia rep about sizing for wearing under waders and ski pants, I decided on the small. The waist is on the snug side (which I prefer for an underlayer) and the legs are on the short side (which work better with wading or ski boots)... Read More. Very happy with this choice. These pants are so comfortable, that I bought a second pair in medium to wear lounging around on cool nights - relaxed fit in the waist with perfect leg length. I'm in them almost every night. The only reason this isn't a 5 star rating is I notice a slight "pilling" of the fabric after not too long. I hope this isn't going to become a disappointment - so far, its just a cosmetic thing.

November 30, 2021

Utterly Amazing

Super thrilled with the R2 TechFace Pants. They are warm and comfortable. I do wish these and others in my quiver were made in different colors. My R1, R2 TechFace and R1 Daily are all GREY...how about introducing some color?

November 30, 2021

warmth without bulk

purchased two sizes of these R2 pants. a large and an xl. the large is snug and great under my waders. the xl is loose and great for lounging or wearing under my waders. they very warm and do not stretch like the non tech face. great product

November 28, 2021

Great underlayer

I purchased this pant for an underlayer for both a shell pant for skiing and for fishing waders. So far they performed as expected. The bonus is they are great to wear around the house.

November 15, 2021

Warmer, better fit

Warmer than the R1 pants, better fitting, pockets are more functional. Key loop a great touch. Tremendous

November 4, 2021

Excellent Product!

I love these pants, period. I wear them under waders fly fishing and they are the most comfortable pant I have ever worn under waders. In cold water (high elevations of Colorado), these keep me very warm in un-insulated waders and are one of the most comfortable, flexible pair of pants I have ever worn. I am not a huge fan of the cuffed legs at the... Read More bottom, but they do help when putting waders on into my boots. Highly recommend!

November 2, 2021

Warm when wet and very water resistant

I bought these for pants to wear in cold and moist (live in the southeast so this is our winter) canoeing. They fit my long inseam (35" normally) pleasently well. They are fantastic for keeping my legs warm on the water and at the day's camp site. They repelled water amazingly and even when wet stayed warm and comfortable. Bottom line the... Read Morey will be my many use wear.

October 30, 2021

Super Cozy

Best casual winter pants money can buy. These will be my non-work winter pants. Soft, comfortable, warm and durable - what else could you ask for?

September 13, 2021

Warm and comfy

I purchased these for under wader use when fly fishing. They provided excellent warmth and maneuverability when on the river. Also a great around the campfire on a cold night too! Super pumped with the purchase!

September 13, 2021

Odd Fit

I found the waist too small and the legs too long. I like the fabric and the outside finish. Just didn't fit. Returned them.

September 9, 2021

Hide Them!

You better hide these, or you wife will steal them from you! These are comfort times 10, and have the feel of a second skin, not too tight, not a baggy sight, made for movement, and warmth before the sun hits, these are the pants! You can also use them as a thermal layer for under your rain pants!

September 2, 2021

Great pants

Pants fit great under wadders or look sharp just worn casually.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches