burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ws Better Sweater™ Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 570 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Better Sweater™ Jacket

4.6/5
True To Size
October 1, 2022

Love it!

This is my second better sweater. Totally universal and goes with everything. I can dress it up or down. It's warm and cozy and multi seasonal. I highly recommend having at least one!

September 29, 2022

Great jacket

Excellent jacket for cooler temps and as a base layer when it's cold out.

September 29, 2022

Beautiful sweater! Need a bigger

Beautiful sweater! Need a bigger size.

September 28, 2022

Great jacket

Warm and comfortable, love the color and fit.

September 26, 2022

I love the sweater. It

I love the sweater. It fits well however I was unhappy because I next day aired to purchase and it didnt arrive for 4 days. Yes it was over a weekend but there were 2 weekdays in whicjlh it should have arrived. So I couldnt take it on my trip. But a Patagonia rep refunded the shipping charges and I am happy!!!

September 23, 2022

Great all-around

I love all my Patagonia wear so this was the first place I looked for a replacement fleece for general all-around casual wear, occasional hiking when needed, and travel as a layer. I ordered early to get the color and size I needed and love it even tho it has been too warm to wear yet.

September 18, 2022

Color is beautiful, very warm,

Color is beautiful, very warm, fits nicely, cozy.

September 12, 2022

Love, but xsmall upper arm sleeves? order a size up

Love this sooo much, ordered the abalone blue in Large, which I didn't know was being discontinued. I buy something every black friday, but this beautiful color, seems to be going away? Also, where did the gorgeous hazy purple color go? Would love a mid grey as well, like the mens stonewash and nickel, cooler/jewel color tones, rather than the... Read More browns/green, look better on some of us. As for fit, it is a slim fit, but for me only in the arms. I ordered a large, I am a size 10/12, but even in just a tank top, it was sooooo tight in the arms. It is long enough, mid section was fine, but doesn't allow for much movement and doesn't have much stretch, so I super reluctantly returned the Large, so sad. Of course, XL is always out of stock, because everyone is sizing up? Please Patagonia, bring back the abalone blue and hazy purple, please in XL!!! Please also add a nickel or stonewash color. Love better sweater! Wish the hoodie version had more colors too. Thank you!

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2022

Hey Rhonda, thanks for the review. Most of our colorways are seasonal, and fit within a theme that is developed by our creative team. The only colors you'll really see stick around are the classics; for example black, navy, grey, etc. The rest of the colors will be switched out seasonally. If you're ever looking for a specific color, reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) and we'd be happy to check inventory to see if it will be restocked. We double checked on stock and it looks like all colors are currently available in the XL.

September 10, 2022

Perfect cool weather sweater

This sweater is perfect for the cooler days. It keeps you warm without becoming too hot. The material is durable and holds up to everyday wear. My go to sweater for the fall

September 9, 2022

Finally time to upgrade my

Finally time to upgrade my old favorite. You no longer make the blue I have loved forever so I branched out. My old one has been around for 12 or 13 years and is still great but I wear it while I teach so has paint and marks all over it now. The new one is just as soft, warm and comfortable. The Better Sweater continues to be my go to layer for wal... Read Moreking, riding my bike, hiking or just wearing day to day.

September 9, 2022

Very versatile

Although I am retired, I do a lot of volunteer work and we lead an active life and travel as much as we can. I needed a new multi-function jacket I could also layer under a water-resistant or waterproof outer layer. Our winter temps in the mid south often are not that cold. This is a perfect weight for errands, hiking, volunteer work, travel, and I... Read More feel like I look good in it.

September 8, 2022

Perfect sweater

The sweater is great! Originally bought a Medium, my normal size but it fit more like a small and was tight around my chest when zipped. I returned for a large. Definitely recommend going up a size especially if you have a bigger chest. Its now a good fit and super cute to wear over my scrubs in the morning. Its soft and medium weight however for t... Read Morehe price I was expecting it to be a little bit thicker, still happy though.

September 7, 2022

Super Warm and Comfortable

This is my second Better Sweater. I love everything about it - the fit, the color, the warmth. I sometimes wear it over another shirt, sometimes by itself. I hate to be cold, so this is perfect for me.

September 7, 2022

This better sweater is a

This better sweater is a sustainable product that keeps you warm and can be layered under a nano puff. I am thrilled with it for biking, walking and chilly days in the house!

September 7, 2022

Doesnt look like fleece

I am slender, 62 inches, 95 pounds. Normally xxs. Arms were tight-no stretch. Bought xs, a bit too long in bodice, arms still tight, but can zip jacket over another layer. Looks nice enough to wear in evening in mountain towns to five star restaurants. Love current blue which matches pack out tights in same color

September 6, 2022

Too old for tight

As I have aged, I cannot stand anything tight and better sweaters are nearly perfect. For a while the sleeves seemed very tight but now it is a great fit for me. I wear large, my children chuckle at the fit, and I humor them. I am 60+, 5'-6", 135 lbs in case you want to compare...

September 5, 2022

In love but disappointed

I was in love with this jacket but sadly I will have to return since it doesn't fit.

September 2, 2022

Wear it to middle school.

Wear it to middle school. I like the comfort

August 29, 2022

Fashionably warm!

This is an absolutely great jacket. Very warm, stylish and functional!

August 28, 2022

Runs small and very snug

I am 125 pounds, 5 5. I bought a Small, and such a waste of money. It's extremely snug, can't even raise my arms or zip it up. Patagonia, you are a reputed brand, how are you getting the sizing so wrong!!!!

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review, Tushi. This jacket is cut as a "Slim" fit, so it can be snug. We're so sorry the fit of the Small wasn't right for you! We want you to be happy with everything you get from us, so we'll reach out to you about return options. And remember, any time you'd like specific measurements on an item you are welcome to contact our Customer Service Team so you can feel confident about your purchase.

August 27, 2022

Great products.

Super warm ! Great products! I had 7 pieces in the same style Thank you!!

August 26, 2022

I love the style and fit

I own 5 Better Sweaters in different colors. By far my favorite fleece i have ever owned,

August 19, 2022

Super Flattering

I bought this to wear on a trip trekking through Alaska and love the way it fits. It's super flattering without being tight, and layers well over both short- and long-sleeved tees. I'm about 105 pounds and got an XS.

July 28, 2022

Warm and cozy

I love this Patagonia sweater. I found it runs a bit small but I was able to exchange it easily.

July 23, 2022

Weird fit

Usually wear a small. Tried that and it was too tight and unflattering although the sleeves were long. Returned, ordered a medium. Felt exactly the same. Too tight, unflattering. Returned, gave up, and went with a different brand.

July 14, 2022

It runs small

I had one before it was gray but it was medium size and so this second one as well but medium size its way too small for me. But I like the material very good quality. Thank you Patagonia nice clothing

Response from Patagonia
July 19, 2022

Hi Bianca, we're very sorry to hear that the sizing was off on your Better Sweater Fleece Jacket. If you find that it's too snug, please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

July 11, 2022

Beautiful and warm enough for

Beautiful and warm enough for our mountain summer evenings

July 4, 2022

This is the best jacket ever! Runs a little small.

I love this jacket so much. I usually wear an XL and that allows some space to be comfortable. The one with the hood in the XL and it was snug around the upper arms just enough to be uncomfortable. I got the XL and this one is better. I really love the fit and the style. It is perfect for work or to wear around town. I think that the sleeves are a ... Read Morebit long for me but I just roll them back once and it works just fine. I think that this jacket breathes well when wearing it. I have not washed it enough to know if it washes well. This is one of my go to jackets. It has a quality zipper as well which is also a bonus!

July 3, 2022

I bought this for our

I bought this for our trip to Maine. We leave this month. I think it will be just what I need when the evening temperatures drop a bit. Most people are comfortable when the temps ar in the 60s, but I am not. This is just what Ill need!

Response from Patagonia
July 6, 2022

We hope this fleece jacket is the perfect layer to keep you warm in Maine! When it arrives, if the fit, features or fabric are not what you expected, please reach out to our Customer Service Team to return or exchange. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

June 28, 2022

Perfect Light Jacket

Perfect jacket. Arms are a little tight but I only wear a t shirt under, not enough for me to return. I am a size 12 and I purchased the L.

Response from Patagonia
June 29, 2022

Thanks for taking to the time to leave a review on our Women's Better Sweater Fleece Jacket! This jacket is a Slim Fit style, so folks who run between sizes, who want a looser fit should size up. Please feel free to contact us [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to speak with a Customer Service Team member who would be happy to help take the guess work out of online shopping for you. Agents are available Monday-Friday, 6 am (PST) - 6 pm (PST) and Saturday and Sunday, 7 am (PST) - 3 pm (PST).

June 26, 2022

Warm

Warm and good for chilly mornings and evenings. I wear it often at work, indoors, where the AC is very strong.

May 25, 2022

Worthy Investment

This sweater does it all. It's extremely warm and versatile. Shell out for one of these and spare yourself, closet space, and the earth from buying multiple sweaters made of plastic. This is the only one you need.

May 14, 2022

super comfy

I love this jacket, lightweight, soft, comfy, just what I wanted for early fall/spring days!

May 7, 2022

Amazing feel to the material, runs small

Will be returning the item due to size. I usually buy my jackets either small or medium. Medium was a skin tight feel (5'3, 140 lb). Will be sizing up to large

May 5, 2022

Warm and cozy

Very pleased with the fleece! Was worried about it being thick and tight around the arms as some fleeces can be, but it's not. I got an M to have a bit more room in a slim fit, and it's perfect. Great to have as an extra, warm layer, especially under a rain coat here in the driech scottish highlands.

May 5, 2022

Pilling after only 3 wears

This sweater looks like its 10 years old after just 3 wears. It is pilling and just looks like its falling apart. Not the quality Ive come to know and expect. My husband has a mens better sweater that is a year old and wearing much better. Im very disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
May 9, 2022

We're very sorry to hear about the fabric durability issue and we appreciate your feedback! While all knit fabrics pill to some degree, we're sorry to hear that it's occurring so soon. For the best [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html), we recommend turning the garment inside out to reduce abrasion, then machine wash warm with a mild detergent, no fabric softener and either hang or lay flat to air dry or tumble dry on low heat. You may remove the existing pills with a fabric shaver or sweater stone. If you have followed all these tips and still find the issue persists, please reach out to our Customer Service team, as your purchase is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee.

May 2, 2022

Super warm.

Loved style, however, not good for me as ran very snug. Was comfortably warm.

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Karen. We're sorry this jacket didn't work out for you! Since it's a slim cut and a fabric that doesn't stretch a lot it can be too snug in some cases. In the future you might check out the [Women's R2 TechFace Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-r2-techface-jacket/83630.html?dwvar_83630_color=BLK), which is expected to be available again in June. Like the Better Sweater it has a smooth finish and a clean look, but it has more stretch.

April 28, 2022

Super soft

Jacket is smaller size even for large and x-large. Sleeves are tooooooo long. Also it is long in length. It can be little shorter.

April 27, 2022

Fabric Pilling After 3 Months

I bought this Jacket and loved everything about it, size, fit, warmth, color. But, after about 3 months of wear, it is starting to pill and looks old and ratty already. For that reason, I would not buy this again even though I have friends who have them in several colors.

Response from Patagonia
April 29, 2022

Hi Beth! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the jacket started pilling after a few months. Like all fleeces, the Better Sweater has a tendency to pill. Due to the knit appearance of the face fabric of this particular item, this pilling can be more noticeable. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. That said, your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so if you're unhappy with the jacket you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 27, 2022

Unique fabric, great details

I like it alot. The soft interior with resilient knit exterior is thermal yet airy, simultaneously warming and cooling. I like the excellent construction, fabrication, beautiful flat-serged seaming, saddle shoulders, tapered sleeves with binding-edged hems, flexible nylon YKK zippers, 5 pockets, no hook & loop closures, no lycra. Love the chico... Read Morery color. Challenge getting a good fit, though; W/L too tight but good length, next size up, W/XL, too long and boxy. This was a gracious and generous gift from good friends, I concede that it is somewhat ill-fitting but am making it work. Please consider revising the womens size range for proportion and grading. Any possibility of Better Sweater pant, 3/4 length coat in future collections?

April 25, 2022

Pills Up Easily

I so looked forward to wearing my new Fleece Jacket, but it started to pill almost immediately. I have had it just five months and it has pilled so much I only wear it around the house now. Super disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
April 27, 2022

Hi Robin! We really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear that your sweater has started to pill after a few months. Due to the knit appearance of the face fabric of this particular item, this pilling can be more noticeable. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. That said, if you're unsatisfied with the jacket you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under warranty.

April 23, 2022

Great color

Purchased for my wife. She loves it. Is warm and comfortable .

April 22, 2022

Not washable

The fit was fine upon purchase but shrunk a lot after washing. Now its not something that is comfortable.

Response from Patagonia
April 25, 2022

Hey Janet, thank you for the feedback. The Better Sweater Fleece Jacket is washable, but we recommend handwashing or gentle cycle with cold water and air drying. This not only prevents shrinkage but also helps to avoid pilling. Typically, shrinking is not considered a warranty issue, but you're welcome to send it in for an evaluation. To begin a return click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 21, 2022

Disappointed

I work at an animal hospital and I wanted it to be my work sweater. Pet hair weaves in the material and then never comes out. The worst part is that under your arms, where it makes contact with the side of your body, began to pill and bead up the fabric!!! Also where the fabric meets the zipper does not lay flat and is very wavy and bumpy when zip... Read Moreped up, giving a very unflattering look. For the cost of this sweater, I was extremely disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
April 22, 2022

Hi Allyson! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment the material and the way the zipper lays. This feedback is truly appreciated, and we'll share it with our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 21, 2022

sizing is just not right

Bought a small and found it very tight in arms, short in arm length, based on your recommendation that this was a conforming fit which is what I want, purchased the medium 8-10, I am always size 6-8. The medium is now boxy and looks frumpy. I guess this means this product is just not meant for anyone other that really small short armed women. Athle... Read Moretic women with broader shoulders should consider another product. Pilling is happening, so I am unhappy with this design size wise.

Response from Patagonia
April 22, 2022

Hey Diana, we're sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction. Pilling can happen over time with knit garments, but it sounds like you're also unhappy with fit. You're welcome to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 20, 2022

Super cool

I love my jacket Ive had LOTS of compliments on it . I will order again . Very good quality

April 16, 2022

Great sweater 100%

My first PATAGONIA. And i am loving it. Bought a second one right away. So now i own 2 Patagonias. Cant wait to own the pelican color. But i cant afford it, yet.

April 15, 2022

Stylish and comfortable

Fits right and looks great!

April 15, 2022

Soft, perfect weight

Will have to exchange it because it is too small, however I will purchase it in the medium size

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2022

Hi there, Eileen. Thanks for taking the time to write a review about the Woman's Better Sweater. We're happy to hear you're exchanging for a larger size. If you need any help please, click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to set that up.

April 10, 2022

Warm and comfortable

I love the fit of this jacket and the color

April 9, 2022

Great Jacket

The blue is a beautiful color. The fleece is very soft and it fits well. Great value.

April 8, 2022

Excellent Fleece!

This is my favorite fleece. It fits well and is of high quality. I own two fleece of this same style/model. They are my go to fleece and they always keep me perfectly warm. I actually had lost one of my Patagonia fleece and had to replace it with the same style/model. I would definitely purchase again and again!

April 8, 2022

Sweater jacket

Just the right weight when you need warm but not bulk.

April 7, 2022

Probably better if it actually fit

I ordered a size x-small because my measurements were just slightly smaller than the ones they listed and I wanted to wear it over scrubs but the arms are so tiny, Im not sure how they felt like the ratios matched up at all when they created the sewing pattern. Its like a body-con sweater haha. The worst part is, I ordered it through school and sin... Read Morece its embroidered, I cant return it. Feels like I wasted money for sure, but lesson learned. On the bright side, seems like it would be a good sweater if it fit! Just recommend go trying it on in store first.

April 6, 2022

Warm and feminine fit!

Love this jacket! I wear it almost everyday when stepping out to run errands and during remote work! It fits nice around the bodice (sniched waist). However, the arms are a bit tight and would probably need a size up if I wanted to comfortably fit a sweater underneath.

April 5, 2022

Better Than a Sweater

Love this for daily wear - more comfortable than a sweater and works great as a mid layer in cold temps.

March 31, 2022

Still love the Better Sweater Jacket!

The sizing has changed for the Better Sweater Jacket such that the sleeves run a bit short and the shoulders a bit narrow. This is in comparison to several I have purchased over the past several years. That being said, the excellent quality of the knit, the color and the workmanship remain the same. This is a timeless, versatile style which can be ... Read Moreworn for years!

March 30, 2022

Good fit!

I just got this a few weeks ago, after looking at fleeces for a while. This zip-up has a flattering fit (as much as any fleece is flattering), but also has just enough looseness so that I can layer under it if I need to, without it seeming baggy. It's super warm, and a nice color.

March 29, 2022

Light weight but warm

I ordered the red one. Love the color. It's so light weight but still very warm for a 40 degree day with a short sleeves underneath. Very Slim fit. If you are planning to wear a long sleeves underneath would recommend a size up. The arms are little tight.

March 29, 2022

Light & warm

Light weight with a little stretch, perfect for early fall and spring. Soft, close to the body, over a light tshirt or light, thin long sleeve top. Not a lot of room in the sleeves! The color is great!

March 28, 2022

Love it

The best so far

March 27, 2022

Stylish

Love the color. Slim fit. Would like more.

March 27, 2022

Warm and light weights

I like the style and the light weight alongside the warmth that the product provide for me.

March 26, 2022

I live in this sweater

Ive had this sweater for 4 weeks and I cant wait to put it on everyday. I wear it around my house and out on weekends. Its been perfect for a nice temperature regulating sweater. I dont get too hot in it. I can wear it outside at 50 degrees and still feel warm. Much cooler and I need another layer. The fit is great. Im tall and I worried about slee... Read Moreve and torso length but it fits perfectly. I dont think a smaller person would feel like it was too big either. The quality is great too. The knit is really tight and its wearing really well. For how much I wear it Id expect some little balls but so far it looks brand new still.

March 26, 2022

Super warm

Wishing the sleeves could be a little big

March 25, 2022

Super Soft

I love this jacket, I sized up for an oversized cozy feel for work. This jacket is super Soft and perfect for nightshift in the middle of the night when it gets chilly. I loved it so much I got the vest version. Got a medium in the vest!

March 24, 2022

Lightweight

One size up your normal size

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, Hsiu! With our Better Sweater Fleece Jacket being a "slim" fit design, some customers may size up for a more comfortable fit. Thanks for the review!

March 24, 2022

Essential Fleece Jacket, But Runs Extremely Small

This jacket is very warm and very practical. I can wear it by itself around town and it's a great layering piece when doing snow sports. The teal blue is a gorgeous color, really unusual and I get comments on it all the time. But this jacket runs extremely small. I am normally a L in Patagonia sizing, but this time the L fit like a S on me. It... Read More was tight all over, even into the armpits. I had to check the label more than once to see if there had been an ordering mistake. I ended up returning the L and I got the XL, which fits me much better as a jacket but is probably a bit too big. But rather too big and I can put layers under it.

March 23, 2022

Cozy!

I really wanted this jacket! The slim fit made me have to size up. This is never good for the ego, but size is relative! Ting from Customer service was very kind and helpful.

March 18, 2022

Very comfy and warm

I got this jacket because I noticed a coworker wearing one and felt the material, so I had to have my own. I love how there are zipper pockets on the sides and on the left arm (allows me to stick my credit card wallet in there with no problems). I ordered mine in an XL because I don't like tight fitting jackets. Overall, the jacket is lightwei... Read Moreght, warm, and just feels soft. Would highly recommend! Oh, and this is my first time purchasing a Patagonia product. I don't regret it!

March 17, 2022

Lovely jacket

Such a beautiful jacket, warm, casual and stylish. Love the fit and the color, would buy this in different colors if it were cheaper!! :)) seriously this is such good investment I can see myself wearing this for years to come.

March 17, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Its so warm and lightweight. Im usually a small but I tend to size up for jackets. the medium fits me a little loose but I dont mind it cause its so comfortable. Would recommend!

March 17, 2022

Smart casual fleece

Cozy fabric- comfortable for weekends but sleek enough for a casual office. Will get another in a different color in the future if the first one holds up well. Runs one size small

March 16, 2022

Perfect color

My jacket goes with everything!! Its a great fit has all the right pockets and I absolutely love it

March 16, 2022

Very warm and durable

Nice jacket. Not very soft, but warm and sturdy. I bought if for my wife, as a lot of nurses wear these at work. She loves it. Stick to usual size

March 16, 2022

Warm, nice looking layer

Great warmth and colors. Tailored enough to be worn into the office.

March 16, 2022

Cozy with perfect pockets

This jacket is my go to layer as well as a stand alone. The side pockets are the perfect size for my phone, and the sleeve pocket is great for my ski pass and lunch money! And I feel good knowing that the bulk of this jacket is made from recycled materials!

March 15, 2022

Versatile and cute

Ive worn this cute jacket out all over the city, biking around my neighborhood, and out to dinner. I wish the sleeves could be pulled back easier and it didnt pill as bad as it does. I have a little pill shaver, so not a big deal, but still.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2022

We're glad to hear the jacket has been a good fit for you, Dayna! While all knit fabrics do pill, we have some [product care tips](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) that may help to alleviate the issue on this fleece jacket. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any further questions!

March 15, 2022

Just right!

This sweater is GREAT. Just the right weight and fit. Love the pocket in the arm for my keys.

March 15, 2022

Super Warm

Loved the classic look of this jacket and beautiful navy color. Sizing is oddI was given a size Medium as a gift and it was too small and snug (I thought it was miss sized as a small) .so I reordered it in a Large and it is roomier than I would like but I can wear a sweater under it and be comfortable. Normally I NEVER wear a large in any brand coa... Read Moret/jacket. My weight is 135lbs.

March 15, 2022

Go-to Jacket All Year

I have three of the full-zip Patagonia sweater jackets (as well as a pullover and a vest). I wear them all year, in winter with a Capilene layer, shirt, and thin wool sweater underneath, and in other seasons with adjusted layers. They run a little small, so I size up to a large so I can layer comfortably. Easy wash and wear, and don't show wea... Read Morer. Just fantastic. And good-sized zipper pockets are everything!

March 14, 2022

Favorite

Love it. Wear it frequently. Was worried that slim fit wouldnt work for me but its perfect.

March 14, 2022

Perfect for PNW

I wear this under my Patagonia Untracked jacket to keep warm and dry in the PNW. Fits well (not too tight or fitted, not so baggy that it looks sloppy), surprisingly good at blocking wind, and perfect on its own for cool days. Love it!

March 14, 2022

the BEST sweater

I love this green color and it fits very snugly but not SUPER tight (i bought a medium and i am 5'5" 145 lbs).

March 13, 2022

womans sweater

great if you work as a nurse in the ER! super comfy and cozy.

March 11, 2022

Zippers not strong enough. They separate at bottom

I own five coats of the nano puff hoodie and another five hiloft coats. I love the products except a sturdier zipper needs to be used. Otherwise love the jackets

March 11, 2022

Great! Love wearing it!

Love wearing it! I use it at work mostly during my shift! I also use it for colder evenings where I am and it keeps me warm and cozy!

March 10, 2022

Great looking on!! Warm and light not bulky.

Love my Patagonia jacket. My daughter bought and I bought the exact one and color. Somewhat pricey, but knowing what company does for Mothet Earth I feel I am doing something to help.

March 9, 2022

nicely made, form fitting

Lovely for casual wear

March 9, 2022

Very comfortable n warm

Lightweight sweater jacket provides extra comfort n really is warm . Perfect for a fall or early spring day hike or just running errands

March 6, 2022

Great jacket!

Ive been waiting to get my hands on this jacket and Im so happy I did! I got this jacket to wear at work to keep warm and boy does it do just that. Because Im constantly moving at work sometimes I need to take it off because I get too warm. Its great for staying warm. I would normally get a large but went up to an XL. If you get your normal size it... Read More would be more of a snug fit with little to no layering underneath. If you size up your mall likely have room for layers underneath. Great color too!

March 3, 2022

Love it!

Fit is great and its super warm!

February 24, 2022

Runs slim design. Warm.

Little tight on arms compared to other brand's fleeces but love the slim design and pelican color

February 24, 2022

Very flattering cut and is warm

Very warm and blocks wind well, cut and style is perfect, I thought it was a little on the small side but Ive also gained weight recently so am figuring out what size I really am now. Love it and is perfect with a base layer or t shirt underneath. Looks sharp!

February 23, 2022

Comfortably warm

I wear this when I work as an RN supervisor, its comfortable and keeps me warm without overheating.

February 22, 2022

not better

I've had a few better sweaters since it was a brand new product. My go-to extra layer for everything! I received a new one this year as a gift...SO DISAPPOINTED to know that the perfect sweater has been downsized pretty dramatically and is now cut much slimmer and also shorter in the sleeves and the body. Definitely not a product improvement. ... Read MoreJust as extra information, the new better sweater that my husband got, (men's sizing), had no sizing changes.

Response from Patagonia
March 1, 2022

Hey Mary, we appreciate the feedback on the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket. This particular jacket has always had a slim fit, but the material has been changed from past iterations to 100% recycled polyester. Your satisfaction is important to us, so even though it was a gift, you're still welcome to return the item under warranty for merchandise credit. To get that process started please reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). If you're in search of an older version, we'd recommend keeping an eye on our Worn Wear website; we're always adding to inventory.

February 22, 2022

Runs large

Be warned it runs large! Unfortunately I washed it and took the tags off prior to wearing it. Now Im stuck with an expensive jacket that entirely to large.

Response from Patagonia
February 28, 2022

We appreciate your review! Even if the tags are removed and you washed it we can still help and want you to be satisfied with your gear at the end of the day. We don't want you to be stuck with something you won't wear so please reach out to our [customer service](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) team with your order number for help returning!

February 21, 2022

Favorite sweater

Love the sweater. Not just for the fit and warmth but its durable. Looks good too

February 20, 2022

Great fit, well-made, soft and comfortable

somewhere in between a fleece and a sweater- I love it!

February 18, 2022

Warm but Itchy

Deceptively warm which I love. It fits me well. I'm 85lbs and 5' tall and the xxs fits great. It is a little short in length, if I'm moving and lifting my arms the jacket rides up a lot. The sleeves are a little itchy from the seams. You get used to it after a while but it's not the most comfortable. All in all, I do love my ja... Read Morecket and am very happy with it.

February 16, 2022

Love all things Patagonia

Should have upsized to X-Large, as it is snug and have to wear a thin shirt under.

February 16, 2022

Love this jacket wear it every

I absolutely love this jacket and wear it all the time every wear would recommend it to everyone.

February 15, 2022

Super comfortable

Love this sweater, super soft inside and love the pockets and how comfortable it is.

February 15, 2022

Super Warm

I purchased this sweater for my daughter for Christmas. It looked so warm and comfy that I decided to buy one for myself. Im so glad, this sweater is super warm and comfy. Im going to buy one for my husband.

February 15, 2022

Way too tight

Though I liked the look of it, I had to return this item for refund because it was way too tight around the torso. I would have ordered the next size up, but expected that the sleeves would then be too long. Normally a M fits me fine.

February 10, 2022

Warm, comfortable, and a great fit

I love the trim fit of this better sweater and how it looks great with anything. Its very comfortable and soft. I like that it has pockets.

February 5, 2022

Cozy and Sharp - Love it!

I bought this sweater for my boyfriend for Christmas, the mens version, of course, and I was immediately jealous. He wears it a lot and every time Id hang out with him, I knew I had to order one. I do have the quarter-zip version and its good, but I had bought a large so it it didnt have a fitted look and I dont wear that one very much. I am 511, I... Read More weigh 170 lbs, 31 waist, 34DD bra, and I ordered a medium. The fit is lovely and is sharp enough for a business casual work environment. I might have to order this in another color!!

February 4, 2022

Already Pilling

Love the look and fit of this, but the sleeves are already pilling after less than three weeks of owning it and one wash per instructions. Disappointing.

February 4, 2022

Really warm

Love how warm this jacket is.

February 4, 2022

Perfect fit for layering

I was pleased with the fit and the quality. Perfect for layering, whether down hill skiing, snow shoeing or hiking.

February 2, 2022

Yes

Very good

February 2, 2022

Great for work

I have the long sleeve in black and bought it in a small and I have the vest in gray in xsmall. I am 5'8" and 120lbs with a slim/athletic build and the small fit great. The sleeves are a tad bit shorter than expected, but other than that, the fit is good and provides enough warmth when working in a chilly environment.

January 31, 2022

Great sweater

Love this NAVY sweater! Really good looking and very warm as a mid layer under a down jacket. The inside is super soft. Also wear on chilly days in the house. For me a great 4 season jacket. This is my 3rd better sweater. Live in SC and my career takes me outdoors but this is a cute sweater anywhere

January 31, 2022

typical (high) Patagonia Quality

Other than having to tell my 5'3" 150lbs wife she is an EXTRA LARGE, the jacket was a hit and she wears it all the time

January 30, 2022

Good, but the size is

Good, but the size is very very small. Size up even for a slim fit.

January 30, 2022

Great for layering

This jacket is great for layering and keeps me very warm. Did have to size up though, I usually wear a small but it was too snug.

January 30, 2022

Loved the color and the style, but too small to fit over a shirt

I choose the particular item because I loved the green color that was an option only with this particular fleece. I wear a medium typically, but the fit across the chest was just too tight. I'll try again with something similar. The Patagonia rep who helped with the return was fantastic...best customer service call I've had in years!

January 29, 2022

I came back for another

I love these sweater jackets, and probably will come back for more colors. I've had the black one for a few years, but it was only when I moved to the Chicago area that I realized what treasures they are. They look like a sweater, and are very warm, so easy to unzip if you get a bit warm in the office, but they are not too clunky for work. The... Read More genius is the collar, which when zipped up all the way eliminates the need for a scarf or cowl. This is wonderful in our windy cold weather. Love the pockets in it, the fit, and the easy upkeep. Altogether the perfect winter layer!

January 29, 2022

Very Warm

I usually wear a large but the large was too tight on my arms and wasn't comfortable. I bought the XL and it is plenty big and I can wear it over any shirt. Perfect for cold winter nights in California! The quality and feel of the woven material is amazing!

January 29, 2022

Great sweater!

Love this! So warm and versatile. Good for work and on the slopes. Want to get more colors!

January 27, 2022

Super warm

I absolutely love it.

January 25, 2022

Perfect fit, but important to wash on cold & line dry

This piece fits perfectly (arms not to tight, with room to spare), but it's important to wash on cold & only lightly dry. I wear this piece almost every day for a wide variety of activities and I love the zipper pockets when I'm traveling. Colors are great.

January 24, 2022

Better Sweater

Really better then any other !

January 22, 2022

Good looking jacket sweater

I purchased this as a gift. After reading the reviews , I thought it would fit. When I received it, it was very nice, but I tried it on and it was snug. Im 55, 143 lbs. I returned it because I didnt think it would fit my friend.

January 21, 2022

Love this jacket

Found my new favorite transitional weather jacket. It breathes wonderfully, is lightweight, and keeps me warm without overheating when I move from a cold environment to a warm one. The arm pocket is weird tho. Convenient, but it felt weird at first. I guess Im not used to an arm pocket. The more I wear it tho, the less it bothers me. The size of ... Read Morethe arm holes are perfect. I sometimes struggle to find jackets/tops that accommodate my muscular shoulders. Never an issue with Patagonia gear.

January 20, 2022

Super warm

Super warm and fitted. Id wear it everyday if I could.

January 20, 2022

Great color

Excellent fit, great color!

January 18, 2022

My favorite!

I love this sweater. Size up if you want to wear it over anything more than a T-shirt.

January 17, 2022

Beautiful color, total comfort

This is my second Better Sweater, I just love it/them! It's really warm, a beautiful blue, and so so comfortable. This one seems to be a slimmer fit than my older one, a great fit for me.

January 17, 2022

Nice

I ordered a jacquard pattern better sweater a little different than the standard pattern. Very nice, fits as expected and warm. I also have 2 Patagonia vests. Highly recommend!

January 16, 2022

Great Addition To My Wardrobe

I saw this sweater on my daughter and I knew I needed to add one to my wardrobe. I am enjoying it and find I can wear it on any casual occasion. I've had many compliments on it. It's perfect.

January 11, 2022

Super warm

Se los recomiendo me encanto mucho el material y muy calientito!!!

January 10, 2022

Quality excellent

Looks great, fit as expected, arrived on time

January 10, 2022

Too Small

This is a nice jacket for cool weather, but it runs really small.

January 10, 2022

It has become my uniform

I love these sweaters. As usual, the first iteration had the best materials, sewing, and thickness. This teal color is my fourth (grey, navy, dark red before this). In NYC I wear them from @late September til June. They keep looking good and are always comfortable. I wear all kinds of scarves with them. I wear M for a trim look (I have a L if I wan... Read Moret a looser look) and can fit a merino wool shirt under it for even more warmth in winter. My Indispensables!

January 10, 2022

Too fitted

I purchased the FJSA version of this sweater which was more fitted than other versions and therefore tighter than I expected--even though I am slim and often wear a small. It did not feel roomy enough to wear a base layer with it. While the quality was great as always, this was not what I was looking for so I did return it.

January 10, 2022

Super warm

Great jacket

January 10, 2022

Cat

I ordered a size bigger because usually your stuff runs small but this was a little bigger then what I like but I like it so I kept it

January 9, 2022

Warm for work

I have this in 3 Colors. I love to use it as a layering piece at work. It is so warm and comfortable. It also washes well.

January 9, 2022

Warm, comfortable, and attractive

I bought this because I needed a zip up top due to shoulder surgery. Wanted something attractive, with pockets and warm. The zippered pocket on the left sleeve is a bonus. I could not be more pleased!

January 7, 2022

Very warm

I love the perfect fit keep me so warm

January 7, 2022

Daughter loves it

Bought this for my daughter for Christmas as she had been wearing a friends for a while and loved it and wanted her own.

January 7, 2022

Yes

Gift for daughter who is a nurse practitioner and need a jack for work! Loved it!

Response from Patagonia
January 15, 2022

We're glad to hear that our classic fleece is keeping her warm in those cold clinics!

January 6, 2022

Beautiful sweater

I have bought clothes from Patagonia since 1988 and never disappointed This sweater does run small. I sent the sweater back for one size larger. I love it. Thank you !!

January 5, 2022

Very Warm on a snowy day

My husband bought this for me for Christmas. I love it. Especially when running errands. Fits true to form. Nice color and soft fabric. Its great to grab and go out the door. Wear it in the mornings on walks with the dogs. Love it.

January 5, 2022

Better sweater fleece jacket

Fits well, looks good, nice and warm. Problem is the fabric is pilling after only a couple of weeks of wearing. Especially on the underside of the arms. I got two of these and was hoping I could wear them for years, but I am now afraid they won't last without looking shabby. Lesson learned.

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2022

Hi Grant, due to the knit appearance of the face fabric of this particular item, this pilling can be more noticeable on a Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your gear, you are absolutely welcome to send it in for a [warranty returns evaluation](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

January 4, 2022

Looking good

I wear this jacket for work in a hospital. Its sharp looking, tidy. Love the pockets. Fits well.

January 3, 2022

Sizing is off

Not true to size.

January 1, 2022

Too small

This ran incredibly small, especially in the arms. I have several of these , all XS with room to spare . I loved the green. So disappointed!

Response from Patagonia
January 12, 2022

Hi Christine, we're very sorry the sizing appears to be inconsistent. Sizing shouldn't change between colors so feel free to [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this at your earliest convenience.

January 1, 2022

Did not like the fit

I found the fit of this jacket to be too form-fitting for my liking, so I returned it. I prefer to have a body-skimming fit rather than a body-hugging fit.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches