Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R4® Yulex™ Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Runs Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • MS
  • M
  • MT
  • LS
  • L
  • LT
  • XLS
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 11 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R4® Yulex™ Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit

4.2/5
Runs Large
September 25, 2021

Great stretch & fit

Key points: stretchy in a good way & very warm. I’ve seen and felt the previous versions of Patagonia’s Yulex suits and wasn’t convinced - I waited for their 3rd gen of suits (2020+) after hearing great things and I haven’t been disappointed. Surfed it in +\ 3oC water and above, fits like a glove and no dodgy shoulder entry, total opposite of s... Read Moretiff and built to last. The sizing and temp guides of Patagonia are pretty quirky but if they work for you it makes the gear feel like it’s custom made. I’m 171cm with a 40-42 inch chest and MS works fine. Softer and smells better than Neoprene, and isn’t destroying the planet in the process. Aren’t surfers & swimmers meant to be those who care about the ocean? Why isn’t everyone using yulex? Buy cheap buy twice, or pay a bit more and have this for 5-10 years, if it needs repair - they’ll do it for free… win win.

September 17, 2021

Warm, flexible and very durable.

Ive used my R4 for two winters in Maine, surfing often and sometimes on properly pretty chilly mornings (sea smoke-type weather, around 10 degrees F air temp, low 30s water temp). The suit is good for about an hour in those conditions for me, if paddling hard etc, which it is flexible enough to do. The hood can be cinched nice and tight which helps... Read More avoid freezing wash throughs. The fit is perfect. Im 62, 180lbs, fairly slim, sort of a not-terribly-athletic swimmers build. My suit shows almost no sign of wear yet after a lot of use, without babying it but always following the care instructions. Some slight marks on elbows and knees, nothing more. Its hard wearing enough that, even at full price, it is good value. I bet per surf session it works out cheaper than less expensive, less durable suits. Getting in and out of it in the cold is work, but thats because its a thick winter suit with a front zip. Theres really nothing Id change on it. Its ace, and I would heartily recommend it to anyone who wants to be out on cold days.

March 21, 2021

Warm but the crotch seam is leaked

I fully Patagonia's mission statement and their use of recycled and more sustained materials in their products. This is my 4th Patagonia wetsuit over the years. Each one improves over the previous generation. Unfortunately, this suit didn't last long. In less than 20 sessions, the crotch started leaking. I couldn't identify the cause... Read More initially because the interior and exterior seam seal bead was intact. The seam pulled apart from within. Go figure. Maybe the next suit will be better, but I'm not sure I'd invest in another one. FYI: I've shipped wetsuits for repair, but it just doesn't work out well. Otherwise, the suit was warm albeit slightly large around the midsection for me. I'm 5'11" 160 lbs.

January 26, 2021

Beyond compare!

Epic winter suit...definitely the best I have ever owned. Warmth and durability have always been great with the R4, but the new generation has massive improvements in flexibility. Seriously feels like wearing a 3/2 in terms of shoulder/paddling flexibility. The increased flex also makes it incredibly easy to get in/out of the suit which I struggled... Read More with a bit on the previous generation R4. Absolutely a 5-star suit...before even taking into account the environmental and social aspects of the materials and production which are beyond comparison.

January 23, 2021

Zipper is Backwards

The chest zipper is backwards to any other chest zip wetsuit I have owned. Why would you do this? Why make an easy system difficult? You have to align up the zipper like you are putting on a jacket. Not like a pair of jeans where you just zip them up. Cold hands and trying to look down at your chest to get a visual to align the zipper to the track ... Read Moreis unrealistic. I will be sending this suit back and would not recommend to anyone based on this single design flaw.

January 20, 2021

All That

Im 510 and 160, and historically Ive worn Large in Patagonia suits. This suit I ordered in Large and it seems to fit true to my size. One thing Ive noticed over the years is that Patagonia suits tend to be a tad heavier and less flexible compared to their counterparts found among the Big surf industry labels. Sorry guys - my opinion but I think the... Read Morere is some truth there. What you loose in a little more weight and less flexibility you gain tenfold in the quality of the materials and durability of Patagonia suits. I recently had an R3 that I wore regularly - 2-3 times a week during the colder months - for close to 3 years. When it wore in the knees and crotch - I sent it back to Patagonia for repair. A few weeks later for a small charge my suit was back with new panels and stitched back up. The Big surf label suits, for all the geewhiz advertising and flexible material, are toast within months - if youre lucky you get a year. Refund or warranty - stop, that really makes me laugh so hard I cant breathe. So there it is - while the whole sustainability ethos might appear rooted in the Yulex argument advanced by Patagonia, in my mind the product is sustainable because it lasts - and when it breaks it can be fixed. So yes, Patagonia suits really are all that.

January 5, 2021

Comfortable and warm

This is my second R4. I use my winter suits in pretty harsh conditions. Coldest session was in 2C water temperature. But the suits always kept me warm. I am completely satisfied with the complete line of wetsuits. I actually have them all except the R5. But planning on a trip to Norway so that R5 will probably be next in line. Always nice to be abl... Read Moree to have a dry option for your next session ;) I am 6'4 / 1'94m and 79kg and always use a MT. Fits me perfect. Even the length of the arms and legs is perfect; also in combination with the R4 booties and gloves.

December 30, 2020

Quality all the way

Purchased a top line suit of leading manufacture and closely compared. The other suit had many features that would be considered best to have. However, hands down the quality of the patagonia manufacture came through in feel, in fit and in function. I returned the other suit and been loving the R4

December 23, 2020

Super warm

I use this wetsuit for surfing in Irland and I’m amazed how warm it keeps me. I usually prefer to use rather smaller wetsuits than larger ones but for me (178 cm, 75 kg) this one fits perfectly in M. I can definitely recommend buying and it feels good to know it has been produced in a more environmentally friendly fashion compared to other wetsuits... Read More.

December 7, 2020

Love it!

Bought 3 Patagonia wetsuits for self, husband and daughter. Wow! We all love them. Northern Washington Strait of Juan de Fuca water is no match for this wetsuit. We've worn them surfing and SUPing and wow. Comfortable and warm. My daughter and I do need help getting the hood off - it's really difficult - but it's getting easier with ... Read Moretime. We used the size chart and my 5'8" 140 lb husband got the small and my daughter and I are both 5'4" / 5'6" and 117 lbs and the size 6 is perfect. Yay.

December 2, 2020

Warm but seams didn't last

Very happy at first to hit the winter season on the Brittany coast with this suit... but the following fall (after maybe 20-30 sessions) a serious crotch leak made me cold way before the water was hitting its lowest points. My 4/3 summer wetsuit ended up keeping me warmer - sent the suit off to warranty and they said they couldn't fix it... no... Read Morew trying to decide if I want a new suit or my money back, I've seen some other posts on the internet complaining about seam durability in Patagonia suits, I just don't want to deal with a month-long warranty process again next year. Patagonia, make sure you get this sorted, as it's otherwise a great suit!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches