Back to Product

Ascensionist Pack 35L

Write Your Review

3.9/5

Runs Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S/M
  • L/XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 8 Reviews

Clear All

Ascensionist Pack 35L

3.9/5
Runs Large
January 18, 2022

Perfect size for mountain treks

I use this pack anytime I'm bringing a rope with meeither in the mountains or just a day at the crag with the family. I can fit everything I need for a couple nights in the mountains, or can haul several harnesses, rock gear, and a rope for a day out with the family. The top closure system makes it really quick to access and, when minimally pa... Read Morecked, the top can be rolled down into a compact size that is easy to maneuver around. The rope retention system is great, and the ability to take the soft, inner frame out makes it very comfortable to climb in.

November 3, 2021

Good! But not amazing.

Got this pack for cragging, alpine climbing, skiing, and the occasional overnight backpack trip. I saw the reviews and was very hesitant at first to purchase this pack. I think it deserves more stars than it gets. Pros: First, yes I do believe that this pack is more than 35L, but I actually really appreciate that! I thought at the beginning that t... Read Morehe 35L was too small and the 55L was too big. But this pack is just right! I was kinda testing it out when I first got it, and I was able to fit a double rack, 21 quickdraws, harness, chalk bag, 2 pairs of shoes, 2 Nalgene water bottles, 2 down jackets, 2 mid/baselayers, sleeping pad on the side, and a tent on the side of this pack! This thing can pack it all in! I wore it for a while with all this stuff and it never once got uncomfortable. And what I packed it to was complete overkill for what I would bring. I just wanted to push it a little and it defiantly passed! This thing also carries great with light and medium loads! I haven't had it for a long time but the material seems super durable and I am not concerned about anything wearing out! The daisy chains are great and I love how everything is girth-hitched to make it easy to customize. The outside pocket is also super nice for organization, extra food, and your phone, or really whatever. There is also a small pocket on the inside which is also super nice to have to use for whatever. Cons: Now I don't know who designed the top strap (no way it could have been an athlete) but frankly it sucks. It's really confusing and just doesn't work well. I am sure this will be changed. But what is great about this pack is just how adjustable it is! So I removed the strap and girth hitched one side to the carry handle on the bag. And created it to be just a single strap going across the top instead of the weird V configuration they had. Now it is an ideal strap to throw over the rope or just sinch the top. The second con is the spindrift collar at the top. This thing is huge!!! Which I guess is good to create more room! But it goes up really high if you fill it up all the way and when you look up, your head hits it. There is also just a lot of material so it feels that you are digging through a cave to get to your equipment. I did find that putting a full double rack in here was slightly challenging. Also, I haven't tested this to a full extent but it seems if you ever stuff this thing, it will barrel. Overall I think this pack is pretty great, but not perfect. But it's hard to make a perfect bag for everyone. I love the blue color, it carries well, fits a lot of gear, and most of all it is just so damn diverse with what it can do. I can use this climbing, skiing, hiking, backpacking, and ice climbing. I definitely recommend it! Just remember to switch up the top strap, it sucks!!!!!! It takes all of 5 minutes to do this and will completely change your look on this pack! Gear loops also on the side of the pack are a super nice feature!

September 14, 2021

Suspension Problems and lame skirt

I got one of these after a few people who had the old version recommended it. I never tried the old one, but a few things I noticed with this one before I returned it. I took it for a three day climb in the mountains, 3 or 4 days of cragging, a few hikes, and one time on an overnight work trip. Minorly, I thought the fit was a little weird. I&#x2... Read More7;m a pretty standard size, a little over 6' with normal sized shoulders and such. I felt that the shoulder straps were positioned a little on the narrow side, sorta always cutting into the sides of my neck, even with the sternum strap pretty loose. I also felt like the hip belt was a little too high on my hips, though I understand this is desirable for when you are wearing it with a harness. I wore this bag with a harness for a full day and then a few sporadic times, and felt that it didn't really carry well enough with the harness to make up for the annoyance without the harness. Another minor thing, the skirt on top is way annoying. With nothing in the pack, its like a tunnel you have to crawl through to get inside, and with the pack full, its like a loose tower of junk that falls to the side when you undo the cinch. I have a mountain hardware bag that has a wonderful skirt, and the skirt on my old osprey bag was great, so this is just a design failure, not a skirt thing. The most major problem with this bag is the suspension. I carried probably 35lb with it for three days and it had to have been the most uncomfortable walk of my life. The shoulder straps cut into my shoulders the entire time, and the hip straps could not support any weight. Firstly, the hip straps have a novel little pad arrangement, where the strap passes through sort of a 'Z' shaped friction thing. When the hipbelt it really tight, like when you are carrying some weight, this 'Z' shape collapses and folds the pad or liner over on itself and cuts into your hip in a brutal little hotspot. I actually found that when I got home and rearranged the pads with no weight, the hot spot was still there and i could feel it for the rest of the times I wore the pack, regardless of weight or strap tension. Eventually I took the pads off and the straps worked much better. Secondly, the back panel is far too flimsy for anything. Initially, when I wore this with a ton of weight, I thought perhaps I had overloaded the poor bag. It was stuffed to the brim with stuff strapped to the sides. It felt distictlt that the shoulder were taking all the weight. If I loosened them to get more weight on the hips, the pack would lean way off the back of me and pull on my shoulders in a hideous fashion. Then, I wore it cragging. I had a single rack on the light side with a 60m rope. Not packed too full, but decently heavy. I noticed that the back panel fully sagged away from my back, meaning all the weight was on the shoulder straps. Still, really uncomfortable. Finally, I took it on a work trip. It just had clothes and laptop in it, but i packed pretty loose. So, the bag was more or less full but not heavy. Still, uncomfortable. The back panel again sagged away and meant that even with a tight hipbelt and constantly adjusted straps, I was feeling all of the weight on my shoulders. So to recap; Fully loaded and heavy, medium loaded and heavy, fully loaded and light, all uncomfortable. There is clearly no loadpath for the weight to get into the hipbelt in a meaningful way. The load straps above the shoulders are also located too low, so they don't really do much. To summarize, I found the suspension on this bag is genuinely terrible, considering the use case it is designed for. I also thought riding my bike with this bag was annoying as it sits up real high and keeps you from lifting your head up. Another annoying thing, I noticed after only a few months of light use, the shoulder strap was ripping out where it was connected to the back panel. I returned it, and of course got all my money back, but dang. I wish it were as functional as it is pretty.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2021

We appreciate your detailed review after thorough testing of this pack in many different situations. We're sorry it did not work well for you, but happy to know you successfully returned it under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions or concerns. We're happy to help!

May 11, 2021

Used as a prop for a commercial

Purchased for A Commercial. Used as a Prop It was beautiful and perfect for our use. I feel Certain it would Be great on the trail as well.

March 23, 2021

Very solid all around

I found this pack to be just what I was looking for. It's lightweight, but more durable than my ultralight hiking bag I had been using for small climbing days. There's just a few small things that are weird. It's nice that there is an extendable collar for extra bulky gear, etc, but this pack is way larger than 35L! And when compress... Read Moreing it down to its smallest size, the way the buckles are configured makes for a loose closure allowing water in potentially, so pack liner is recommended. I'd like to see the pack closer to its stated size. I like the daisy chains running down the front of the pack it makes it possible to run shock cord on the front panel for holding helmets or jackets. But I would have liked if there was a different closure system. The Y buckle closure is decent for when the pack is full, but the fact that the front buckle can't be adjusted makes for awkward closure with small loads. I like the drawstring collar, but pairing that with an easily closable buckle as on previous models would be wonderful. Overall it's a really comfortable pack for a pretty light weight, and the gear loops on the hips are a nice addition too. I think with a few revisions like: simpler closure, and smaller collar for lighter overall weight, it could be a truly excellent pack! If they could get this pack down to 20 ounces it would be incredible. But still one of the best packs I've ever used.

November 24, 2020

Really great bag

Great pack for its intended use. Carries weight surprisingly well and is nice to climb with. It is well built but light, and overstuffs quite a bit. My only complaint would be the rope attachment system at the top. It's a little odd, and something I assume will be changed. It seems like this pack was designed to fit in between the ultralight... Read More hyperlite stuff and the "bells and whistles" osprey bags. Which I think it does well, light but with enough feature and durability to make it worth the price.

August 3, 2020

Very tall pack!

I am 5'5" tall and bought a 35L size. A good deal of the pack is above my head. Its weird because it is like 1/3 of the pack sticking over my head. If I don't fill the pack and just fold the top over, then I have like a 20L pack. Very strange construction.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2020

We're sorry to hear that this didn't work for you and appreciate the comments on the construction of the pack. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us for a refund and we are happy to work with you to find something else.

April 20, 2020

You can even carry your skateboard!

I've been researching the perfect backpack for a while and this one came out on top. From groceries where the Obelix style kills the game, to the gym, going through the best feature for me: you can arrange the straps to carry your skateboard. Can't wait to test it after the lockdown in the mountains. 🤘🏽

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches