Back to Product

Ws Capilene® Air Crew

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 177 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Capilene® Air Crew

4.7/5
Kinda Large
April 11, 2022

Cozy feel with great mobility.

This is a warm base layer that is so comfortable (I love the bottoms too). You don't feel any seams and the mobility is great for active wear as well as lounging around. I usually wear a small in Patagonia tops, but this item was very snug, and the wool was a little itchy with the tight fit, so I exchanged for a medium which feels great.

April 2, 2022

Love it

I want to wear it every day all day. It is perfectly cozy. Not too hot, not too thin. It looks great standing alone, but fits nicely under layers. The length is great for being physical, it doesnt ride up your back. I plan to winter hike with it as a base layer. Before next winter however, I may wear it out as I dont want to take it off!

March 13, 2022

So comfy & warm

I bought this as a snowboarding base layer but ended up wearing it day to day because its so cute with leggings and cozy. Went back to buy it in another color and it was sold out, next time!

March 5, 2022

outdoor mainstay

One of my favorite layers on the trail. Fabric is great at dumping heat while channeling cool air to the core. Perfect if you're heading out in 40° and coming home sweaty in the 70°s. I have the hoodie and the crew which both get plenty of use. The hoodie I've had for about two years and it just keeps getting softer and more well-loved. T... Read Morehe crew is newer and by comparison the hoodie is clearly holding its shape and defending its title as one of the most dependable layers in the mix.

February 28, 2022

Super soft

Super soft shirt and I love the color. I'm 5'5" and 115 pounds and the XS fits great.

February 15, 2022

Nice base layer

The top fits perfectly: not too snug, not too loose, and I love the cable knit pattern. From my experience, wool base layers are itchy on my skin, but with this one it's not bad. I still wear it with a tank top underneath though and it does keep me warmer than other types of base layers.

February 6, 2022

So comfy

Really comfortable and with cold weather its the perfect shirt

February 6, 2022

Functional Light layer

Love this light weight capeline. Great for travel and transition to hike and walk and ski! Great layer with vest. Love the longer length for my height- 59.

January 27, 2022

Nice and Toasty

Though I am not convinced at the durability of the material (and how long it's going to last before snagging on a zipper or the many other things out there) this top is super warm. It looks small, but stretches and fits at a "slim fit" but comfortably... not to tight anywhere, just tight enough to the body to layer.

January 24, 2022

Perfect

I love this shirt, it's super comfortable, super warm, and I don't get stinky sweaty in it. Perfect for casual wear, and for playing winter beach volleyball since the sleeves stay put.

January 19, 2022

super warm

I love the bright blue color and I love the shirt. It is the second of this one that I have had/. I would highly recommend it

January 10, 2022

Best base layer ever

I have worn this base layer since it was first released and there is nothing that compares to it. It is soft, stretchy, unrestrictive, it doesn't smell, it performs. The only problem that ever occurred with it is that it is not compatible with velcro closures on your other layers, it gets immediately stuck to the capilene air gentle knit sur... Read Moreface. Also it pills quite fast, which doesn't bother me too much, since it doesn't affect performance. I have a piece in black, dark grey and light grey, but by far the blue colour of FW 21'22 is the best. I have to note that over years men's version of this base layer was offered in far better (less 'women specific') colors, like spectral red and blue, whereas women's version came in maroon and sea green. Last, but not least, it's so stretchy and unrestrictive that I'm wearing it while pregnant (6 month) and I am expecting it to last all the way through without problem. I do also have capilene air bottoms and they work for my pregnant belly as well, the waist band is forgiving, whereas all other base layers I have do not fit from month 3 and on.

January 8, 2022

Perfect layer for winter / snow sports

This is my go-to base layer for skiing and hiking in the winter. I also have the hooded version for colder days when I want something up around my neck. It is soft and feels very light yet does a good job of keeping the warmth in. I layer with one other wind proof piece and then my insulated jacket on cold days. Its perfect!

December 31, 2021

Just right warmth

Its soft which is important to me. I first got an xxs which is what I usually wear from Patagonia. But it was a little too tight. Xs is just right.

December 27, 2021

warm and comfortable

I bike commute year round in Minnesota and was tired of my synthetic base layer and decided to try this instead. So glad I did! It is warm, soft, comfortable and wicks away sweat so I don't arrive at work feeling damp. Love it!

December 23, 2021

Best base layer ever!

Warm, comfortable and quick drying.

December 19, 2021

Light weight, so, so warm!

I bought one and like it so much, I bought another one from Backcountry; I visited my daughter, she loved it so much, I came back here and got her one, as well! Great product!

December 7, 2021

Love the fit, hate the pilling

I like the texture of the fabric and the fit of this shirt. The length is just right, it doesn't ride up, form-flattering without overly constraining movement. It never goes to town, though. One needs a sweater shaver to address the copious amounts of pilling. This shirt is relegated to trail-only use, when it shouldn't have to be.

Response from Patagonia
December 10, 2021

Hi Laura, thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts on the Capilene Air Crew Neck Shirt and we're very sorry to hear it has begun to pill. Pilling can be inevitable with knit garments as it is the nature of those fibers, though as you mentioned, a fabric shaver should do the trick to get rid of it and help it look good as new! To prevent pilling in the future, try washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. Of course, if you aren't satisfied with this product, you may consider sending it in for [warranty evaluation](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 3, 2021

My favorite shirt

It's excellent at thermoregulation, soft, and durable. I own two, and my current strategy is wearing this at work (I like to think I'm pulling it off with a pencil skirt or tucked into dress pants) or while hiking, though I had to delegate one exclusively to hiking only after it got scruffed up (but didn't rip!) after I recklessly ba... Read Morerreled through some thorny and dense underbrush while hiking on a poorly-defined "trail". To clarify, the only defects with the shirt that I caused by badly mistreating it are minor cosmetic ones that don't impact its ability to function as a fantastic base layer

December 1, 2021

thin material, not warm

would not recommend for base layer as material is super thin and not warm

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2021

Hi Paula, we're very sorry the Capilene Air Crew Neck Shirt didn't work for you and that you didn't find it warm enough as a baselayer. If you're looking for an alternative, you may want to consider checking out the [Capilene Thermal Weight Crew](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-thermal-weight-crew-neck-shirt/43650.html?dwvar_43650_color=BLK&cgid=root).

December 1, 2021

Warm and stretchy and soft!

I bought this to replace some super worn out base layers. It is perfect. I am usually a straight up medium (5'3", 150#, carry my weight in my mid section) but I ordered a small in this because I loved the purple color and it fits great.

November 16, 2021

Comfortable and warm

Its so comfortable I never want to take it off. Perfect base layer

November 8, 2021

Itchy!

Absolutely beautiful color but crazy itchy. For this price I was so disappointed. Returned

Response from Patagonia
November 16, 2021

Thank you for the feedback on the Patagonia Women's Capilene® Air Crew Neck Shirt. We are sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations. We do fully understand that wool is not a good feel for everyone. Please feel free to reach out to us at 800-638-6464 if you would ever like to discuss another product.

November 3, 2021

A cold old lady LOVES and APPRECIATES this item!

This is my 4thCapilene Air Crew shirt...I really AM most cold blooded and need base layers that take good care of me...and this is THE ITEM. I wear them all day every day now that November is here. It is light, good colors, easy to keep clean...and sincerely important to my well being at 87!! Thanks patagonia, for being the good company you are!!

October 26, 2021

Stylish and comfortable

I already owned the black sweater and loved it so much I purchased the blue one. I love that it's warm, yet stylish. It's my go to sweater.

October 26, 2021

Staple

I most often wear this shirt as a top (not only as a layer), and like my tops loose. The material is soft and holds its shape and texture well so it stays tidy-looking! I love wearing wool, and this shirt holds up better and longer than any other brands. I often get compliments when Im wearing this shirt, and cant recommend it highly enough. Worth ... Read Morethe cost, if youre looking for a cool/cold weather staple.

October 23, 2021

Lose the tag, Patagonia!

This is an amazing shirt. Its warm, breathes well, has no seams or tight corners that chafe BUT it has a cloth sewn-in tag that makes absolutely no sense for a base layer. If you would make this one little change, Patagonia - no cloth tags in base layers! - or maybe even no cloth tags period, it would improve your product and would also reduce the ... Read Morewaste caused by using all those materials and human effort needed to create a cloth tag that no one wants anyway. #losethetag

October 1, 2021

I love my products.

I simple love all my Patagonia products - they fit perfectly and they are the best clothes for a outdoor adventures 🏔

September 27, 2021

My Absolute Favorite "Sweater"

I absolutely love this garment. I use it as a workplace appropriate "sweater" in the office. I use it as a hiking layer, as a baselayer for skiing, and as a "put together" sweater for drinks out on a weeknight. The best part? I can wash it in my washing machine and set in the sun to dry. Also important to me: I have had a do... Read Moreuble mastectomy, and this sweater flatters my flat chest so well. I feel beautiful and put-together in it. I hope this top stays in Patagonia's product line for years to come.

September 17, 2021

Warm and soft!

I bought this for a trip to Iceland and it worked beautifully. This top is very warm, thin (so you can easily layer) and comfortable. I highly recommend for cold/windy temps!

September 16, 2021

Super warm

A loose knit base layer that is lightweight, warm and stylish. Can be worn as a casual sweater.

August 27, 2021

Best ever

I love this. Its Very handsome, super comfortable, all-weather.

August 27, 2021

Warm and comfortable

This base layer is fitted and will work perfectly when hiking in cooler temps. I am tall (5'9") and the sleeves and top are a great length. I can't wait to use this for an upcoming trip to Iceland!

July 31, 2021

Great for on or off trail

Perfect outer layer for late spring through fall mornings on the trail. Versatile enough to wear out to dinner. My new go to shirt,

July 18, 2021

Very comfortable, light but warm

I love this shirt, I use it for everything actually. My daughter gifted me my first one, but I had to buy another one. Thank you !!

June 30, 2021

The softest most comfortable wool base layer ever!

I absolutely love putting this sweater on. it is soft, warm, cozy, casual but yet dressy. Great to layer or wear on its own. One of my favorite pieces of clothing I own!

June 24, 2021

Really nice fit and feel

Really nice fit and feel on the body! My go to black long sleeve that keeps me warm and can be worn in any circumstance.

May 31, 2021

Air but warm

This is very lightweight but will keep you very warm.

May 27, 2021

Ideal!

Very soft and washes without issues. Can go under several otherlayers offering good warmth

May 17, 2021

Expensive but the best

Great quality jacket that fits well and keeps you warm and comfortable. It’s very light and can also be worn when going into town.

April 23, 2021

Perfect Fit and Warm

I love this shirt. It is a great color, comfortable and warm.

April 17, 2021

Perfect fit!

Great quality as usual!

April 15, 2021

Soft and warm

Looks great. Feels great. Good under layer

April 8, 2021

Well fitting top

Comfortable to wear, stretches in all directions. Well fitting all round including good length to the sleeves. Rather expensive but hopefully will last a long time

April 1, 2021

Loving it. 24/7

Absolutely LOVE it! I even sleep in it, and that’s an activity as well 😀

March 23, 2021

very nice

it is a very nice piece.

March 19, 2021

Best longsleeve

The Capilene Air Crew is good for everything! I can were it seven days in a row and it doesn't smell. It also looks very nice. I'm 5'4'' and weigh 132lb and I got it in size L. I find the size M slightly too tight, the L fits perfectly and comfortable without looking too loose.

March 8, 2021

Snagged first time I wore it

Purple is nice bright color, lightweight and perfect for layering. However snagged on my first time of wearing. At this price, I expect a better product. This was a disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thank you for your review on our Capilene Air Crew Neck Shirt. Unfortunately, there isn't any knit that isn't prone to snagging, the loose fibers make it more susceptible. With that said, all our items are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee, so if you find that you aren't happy with your purchase, you're welcome to [send it back](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for warranty evaluation.

March 3, 2021

Versatile Warmth

I have two of these crew neck shirts. It has the feel of a sweater and can be worn to add warmth for a walk as easily as be dressy enough for a business Zoom call or causal night out. I like a roomy fit, so bought a size up but, runs true to size.

February 28, 2021

Perfect

I play lots of paddle tennis. Tho the weather is often cold, one can become very hot from playing. Love how this shirt sucks sweat. Just right. Warm but not too warm. I love this shirt and have bought others. Main go to for winter play.

February 28, 2021

Itchy!

I wanted to love this so badly. I mean the color alone! I would have put up with a bad fit. But damn was this thing itchy! I had to return it :(. More things in this color please, patagonia!!

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2021

So sorry this didn't work out for you! It sounds like you may have had an allergic reaction to something in the fibers, hopefully not the capilene! Feel free to reach out to [Customer Service](https://eu.patagonia.com/nl/en/eu-customer-service.html) so we can work with you on a good replacement.

February 26, 2021

Super warm and awesome at wicking.

I have recommended this top to all my friends and they love it too. It is all you need when you fat tire bike or skate ski (or any other sport that you warm up fast) in the winter with a light shell. And did I mention the wicking, it is unbelievable about drying out so so fast and it is so warm! My friends could not believe how nice it looks too, t... Read Morehey thought I was wearing a work sweater.

February 26, 2021

Love It!

Got the hoodie version last year and it kept me so warm all winter long walking, snow shoeing and alpine skiing. Wanted the crewneck version to wear during Covid working at home. Love it so much ended up buying two crews. Wear all different ways alone, under a fleece and over a T. Easy to wash/dry in machine warm, delicate wash and air / low temp. ... Read Moremachine dry. Does not retain odors like the old poly-pro. Highly Recommend.

February 23, 2021

Feels like heaven

Fabric feels fabulous. Fits like a dream. Soft and smooth. My arms are long and the sleeves fit great.

February 20, 2021

Thank you for making this in XXS!

I am so thankful to see XXS sizes available. This top is so soft and comfy, LOVE it (and love that it fits perfectly).

February 11, 2021

Best throw on ever

Purchased two last year at the home store for a weekend trip to Ojai. Truly the BEST. Keeps me warm when needed but never too hot. Easy to stuff in your bag for when needed. They have kept their shape thru numerous washings/dryings too. Just got a third and will order more in the future!! This is my go to piece.

February 8, 2021

Soooo comfy

As soon as I put this shirt on, I knew I would love it. It's stretchy and soft, the shoulders fit great, and the sleeves are long enough for my long arms. On a recent trip, I wore it a few days in a row and it stayed smelling fine - in contrast to my 100% Capilene wear which tends to trap odors. I also like the neckline - though it's not ... Read Moreas flattering for casual wear, its high design is warm and practical for active pursuits in cooler weather. The torso is also long enough not to expose anything when I'm reaching (something I appreciate since I have a bit of a belly these days). I've also washed it a bunch and it seems to be holding up well. Highly recommend.

January 26, 2021

Great fit and first layer

Great fit and first layer for colder days. And suuuper comfortable.

January 23, 2021

Great for skiing!

I wore this cross country skiing and it was wonderful! The fabric is very comfortable, warm and wicks moisture very well. I was hesitant due to price but am so happy with the purchase.

January 21, 2021

Really like this!

I was a little skeptical because this is a thin, lightweight shirt, but it's really effective in keeping you warm without bulk. Very pretty blue shade, though darker than I thought after seeing it online. I've found myself reaching for this multiple times. After washing a couple of times in a garment bag to protect it, it's come out ... Read Morelooking great. I line dry it because there's no room for shrink. Expensive but I'm getting a lot of use out of it.

January 18, 2021

Lightweight breathable warmth

Our daughter gifted this in a Medium which usually works for my 135 lb 56 frame. Since its super-stretchy it did fit - as a clingy base layer. But i also wanted to wear it without covering it. And the M revealed the muffin Ive gained during Covid lockdowns. So I swapped it for a Large - which works great: close not clingy. Very comfortable! Love it... Read More!

January 18, 2021

Love it

This is so great - comfy, warm, and versatile. You will want to wear it every day.

January 14, 2021

Warm, good base layer, but wants to ride up

This product is a great base layer and warm for cool hikes, cx skiing, etc. It feels like a natural fabric but has the benefit of moisture wicking. The only issue I have is the knitted feature feels like it always wants to return to its smallest form. It won't stay down unless tucked in, so it tends to ride up (even around neck). I'm shor... Read Moret (5'0" / 100 lbs), so I ordered XXS and everything fits just fine, but it feels like I am constantly pulling it down around my waist and away from my neck.

January 11, 2021

Love the color

Feels soft as if it has cashmere in it (which it doesnt). Nice and long to keep the small of your back warm. And the color pops.

January 9, 2021

Nice and cozy

The top delivers on warmth, nice and breathable. That being said it does stretch out with wearing and has started to pill after wearing 3-4 times. Thats disappointing at this price point. Im concerned about the longevity of this item and the matching buttons. I was hoping to use these for years to come. I guess time will tell.

January 7, 2021

comfort and fit

e shirt is super comfy and warm and fits so nicely. It does not cling when worn as a shirt, but fits nicely under a turtleneck sweater for extra warmth when needed. I love this. I was afraid the wool might be itchy, but it is not at all.

January 5, 2021

So soft

Perfect fit. True to size. The sleeves hit me mid hand which is perfect for cooler morning walks and they push up and stay put easily for when it gets warmer. Color is pretty - hardest part for me is determining if this shirt should be used as casual wear or for workouts/active wear. Such a dilemma!

January 3, 2021

Love it

I didn't realize I could like a baselayer so much. I find that I reach for this shirt almost every day- whether for skiing, running, hiking, even for Zoom work calls! I am 5'5," 120 lbs. and the S fits well.

January 1, 2021

Great for running in Indiana

Bought this for my daughter. She loves it.

December 30, 2020

Excellent product

Great product, looks like it will last many winters if well taken care of. Cant wait to buy another color.

December 30, 2020

Warm and comfortable

An excellent and versatile garment

December 25, 2020

Love it

I have broad shoulders and am big chested. I often need an XXL to fit but this shirt is stretchy and while form fitting, it is still soft, comfortable , attractive and practical. It is warm and wicking and it works as my base layer for mtb, road riding and fat biking all winter and late fall. It has held up very well as I ride outside year round . ... Read MoreI own three now so I keep one for off bike wear as they are very pretty. I have two mint green ones and was thrilled to see this purple one which I bought for my hubby to give me for my birthday! Please consider making more XXL sizes Id like to try one on , but thank you for making this big enough to fit me !

December 17, 2020

Only base layer you need

I bought this base layer bc it looked soft and flexible online. WOW! I havent taken it off since. Its warm and soft and I can wear it for days without needing to wash it. I want to return other base layers I bought separately bc theyre unnecessary now that I have this. I ordered the pants version recently.

December 16, 2020

warm, not itchy, looks good - but why Patagonia are arms always so long?

Large isn't really an appropriate descriptor, long is more accurate. Overall length and the arms. I probably could have gotten the XS but I don't like things too clingy. Overall I love it - great color, super cozy.

December 4, 2020

Warm & perfect fit

Warm & a perfect fit. This is a great base layer or stand alone top for casual wear. I am very happy with this product.

November 21, 2020

More than a baselayer

First off I love this garment (I have in black). I've worn it as a shirt, a baselayer, and a sweater. Size down if you really want a formfitting baselayer. Great temperature regulation and looks put together and was perfect for my month long winter Europe light backpack trip. I wear it all the time as it takes a lot to really get this thing gr... Read Moreimy so it doesn't need that many washings and doesnt' hold onto smells (or so my family tells me!) Does attract dog hair and after heavy use has pilled slightly, BUT I bought a Sweater Stone (as was recommended by staff) to fix that right up which it mostly did. Caution: be VERY careful when using a Sweater Stone on this fabric because I pretty easily tore two small holes in the front, which considering the price is a HUGE bummer and reduces the versatility of the garment (still functional for keeping warm but not great for looking good). User error and c'est la vie. I will try to nab another color when/if it ever goes on sale and recommend to anyone looking for a truly wearable garment. Would love it in primary colors, earth tones, neutrals, everything. Mock neck would be great too. I could just go on. Great for people who really value their material objects, as it is just great design. Bury me in this.

November 19, 2020

Perfect for mid temperature days

I wear this one when I don't need anything around my neck if I'm going to be working and getting warmer. I wear it next to my skin for maximum breathability. If it is super windy I add a vest. I love how comfortable these are.

November 19, 2020

Super comfortable

Love this. Super warm and comfortable! Love Patagonia

November 17, 2020

Soft and warm

After months of borrowing my husbands - I finally got my own. Im normally a medium but went with an XL to keep that oversized wearing my husbands shirt vibe When he purchased his months ago, I was convinced it would snag and look ratty after a few washes. I was wrong! This item gets softer with wear and (knock on wood) has yet to show signs of w... Read Moreear. Highly recommend

November 10, 2020

Soft

Great alone or for layering

October 29, 2020

the perfect long sleeve

so happy to finally add this piece to my wardrobe. its the most versatile and the one i want closest to my skin when layering. its perfect for high aerobic activities like running and snowboarding but is so flattering tucked into jeans or shorts for casual wear too. its temperature regulating which also makes it delicious to sleep in on cold nights... Read More camping. its a somewhat delicate material so i wouldnt wear it climbing or hiking through brush but the breathability is well worth it. ive already ordered in the blue and know itll be a staple year round.

October 19, 2020

So disappointed!

This base layer is super warm, but only after one wear and wash (I hand-washed and air-dried it) it developed a hole and it pills so badly all overit looks terrible. For how expensive it was, I was really hoping it would hold up longer. Super disappointed. :(

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2020

Thank you for the feedback on that and we're so sorry to hear about the pilling after one wear. Sadly, we do see pilling happen on knit garments and it can be unavoidable in many circumstances. With that being said though, you can usually remove those at home or you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything you aren't happy with.

October 10, 2020

So light and stretchy

Great lightweight yet warm, stretchy and flattering base layer. Bought both XXS (Dark Green) and XS (Bright pink) for my 32A 103# frame. Both fit but the XXS looks better b/c the XS neckline comes up too high and bunches a little. Also the pink is not as soft as the green. Also the green has pilled a little with use. Not a deal breaker Will keep th... Read Moree Green but might return the unworn pink oneI like my next-to-skin base layers soft.

September 28, 2020

LOVE it

Love this shirt and pretty much want to wear it every day since I received it. Perfect for layering. Warm but breathable. Like a couple other reviewers I'm tall and thin and haven't had great luck with Patagonia tops in the past - most things too big or boxy or both. 5'8 120, got an XS, and this fits me perfectly. There's someth... Read Moreing slightly off about the fit (the neck is a bit too high?) but it's hard to complain. The arms are long enough!! I've only air dried it thus far - am a bit scared to put it in the dryer, but will try eventually..and if it doesn't shrink i'll purchase others! Would love more pretty colors (I have the "spanish red"color). Thanks Patagonia for a home run with this one.

September 16, 2020

Delicious light wool sweater

I have three of these lovely sweaters, and layer them up as it gets chilly. I can wear it under a fleece and a jacket in chilly weather to stay warm. The top is loose knit, so it is a bit stretchy and comfortable. Nice length, perfect fit for my 5'3, 108 lb. frame. it is also tailored and attractive, so great with jeans or running or yoga tigh... Read Morets. I usually wear a light base layer under it. Versatile.

September 14, 2020

Highly recommend.

Great base layer, warm and breathable.

September 12, 2020

Like a Sweater but for Running!

I absolutely love this crew - it is super warm, super stretchy, super soft and looks like Im wearing a beautiful sweater while sweating it out on the trails! Its not only the most functional piece I own but the most fashionable .

September 9, 2020

It fits!

This is literally the first Patagonia shirt I've ever purchased that fits right off the shelf! Usually I have to buy men's XXS and have them tailored. The women's shirts are always wayyyy too boxy, but then they also have the shortest sleeves ever. The men's shirts are boxy (they're for men, after all), but at least the sle... Read Moreeves will reach my wrists. This one though! It takes the cake! Fitted enough to make me look like a woman under my layers; long enough to keep me warm all the way to my wrists. Well done, Patagonia. Keep it up! For reference, yes I'm tall (5'7") and skinny (110#), and I'm a climber (muscular shoulders). So my fit issues may not be representative of the general public. But there's a lot of tall skinny climber chicks out there with money to spend on well-made technical clothing.

September 7, 2020

Soft, snug, and snappy

Love this new product mix of wool and capilene. I wore it for 4 days straight when it arrived. I just didn't want to take it off.

September 5, 2020

soft and comfortable

Purchased two of these shirts. The merino wool is soft and warm and the fit is very flattering.

September 4, 2020

Love Capilene

Purchased as gift for wife. She loves capilene.

August 8, 2020

Love

Love this. Very cozy and comfortable. Relaxed fit. Lightweight

June 2, 2020

Genius material for any purpose

I do not have words for how much I love this product. I have three of the Capilene Air, 2 crew and 1 hoodie. I wear them skiing, post surfing, casual everyday, even to the office. I first bought a hoodie version the first season Patagonia released the product- then end of season bought 2 more. I bought it as a base layer just for the ski season. I ... Read Moream a die-hard fan of the Thermal Weight Zip-Hoodie and thought there is no way Patagonia could top this. But they DID. I bought all three Airs in Large bc I wanted a bit more loose fitting. I am 51 athletic build, 36D. I am sure Medium would have been fine as well, but I like the beneficial effect of having it loose fitting. Incredible, keeps you warm but also with no other layers under you can go out on a hike starting in the cool morning and then stay totally temperature regulated when it get really warm in the afternoon. So incredibleit feels like you are wearing a light linen shirtthe fabric lets air just flow through cooling you down. During the winter I actually just had a micro down jacket over it with a thin capilene under my shell, and for spring skiing just wore a thin capilene and the Air hoodie under my shelleven when sweating and then a cool down period, I did not get a chill. It is an ingenious fabric.

February 24, 2020

Love this Top!!!

This top looks great, feels great and is awesome as a base layer or worn alone. Mine have washed well so far but I do use the gentle cycle, Woolite and air dry. Just to let you know what a fan of this top I am, I bought one, and three months later, I have six all together.

February 21, 2020

I totally love the merino

I totally love the merino base layers! Super comfortable, not itchy, nice and warm!

February 19, 2020

The most comfortable merino/polyester mix

The most comfortable merino/polyester mix I have ever worn. Size and fit recommendations are spot on. Keeps shape after washing.

February 14, 2020

What a great product.

Just received my air capilene crew in cobalt xxs. I am 5'2" 100 pounds and the xxs fits perfectly. What a great garment and insulation piece. Thank you, Patagonia!

January 24, 2020

Henny

Love it - wear it all the time with jeans or leggings - very flattering and comfortable.

January 7, 2020

Best Baselayer/Product EVER.

I've owned my Cap Air (then Merino Air) since 2015, and it is the single most important piece of technical clothing that I own. You are pretty much guaranteed to find me wearing it while doing any outdoor activity when it’s under 40 degrees (cycling, running, backcountry skiing, traveling, …anything to be outside! It is the absolute best.

January 6, 2020

I love this fleece-but it

I love this fleece-but it needs pockets...

January 1, 2020

Great Product

Warm, well-made, and stylish. Love it!

December 31, 2019

Incredibly Comfortable

I ordered one. Loved it so much I ordered another one.

December 31, 2019

So warm

Bought this for my sister (I already own the men's pair). She loves it and wears it whenever we travel to cold spots. Highly recommend.

December 26, 2019

This is a very versatile

This is a very versatile sweater. Can be a baselayer or a comfortable and attractive sweater to wear for daily chores and activities. I also plan to wear it for yoga classes. It has enough stretch to be worn to yoga class. The sleeves are long on me, but I just push them up.

December 24, 2019

Love this

The shirt is the best. Stylish fit that, flatters, and it’s warm, soft and sleek. I want it in all the colors.

December 19, 2019

Excellent piece

This is a real gem! A great lightweight sweater on its own, but I find it to be a killer mid-layer, where it provides excellent warmth under a fleece. Score, Patagonia.

December 16, 2019

Love!

I really love this sweater! Wore it as my base-layer skiing and again for a presentation at school- incredibly versatile! Would absolutely recommend!

December 10, 2019

Comfy

Great product! I ordered a size up to wee as a shirt. Keeps me warm, looks good, and doesn’t snag easily due to the stretch in the material. For sure getting another color! Washed well in a delicates bag, low dry. Could not change the height option - 5’8”

December 5, 2019

Very comfy, nice stretch and

Very comfy, nice stretch and fit. Love it!

December 2, 2019

Warm and lightweight

Excellent product. Lightweight, but comparable to a mid- to thermal weight capilene crew base layer.

December 1, 2019

Excellent

Really thrilled with the quality, fit and comfort . I am long of limb and it is so nice to find garments with length to spare. I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for. I'll be wearing my Patagonia for years to come!

November 28, 2019

Warmes baselayer ever!

Nice looking snd very warm. Perfect!

November 27, 2019

Another staple

The cap air is incredible. Perfect for cold weather running. Anything above 45 degrees and you might get hot. Also transitions well for causal or work wear because it looks so nice. I will be buying another!

November 27, 2019

SO WARM. I run cold

SO WARM. I run cold so I wear it under lots of things in the winter, even just running to the grocery store. I get warm but not stinky-sweaty.

November 27, 2019

Love it!

This soft warm top is so comfortable I want to wear it all the time. It's also great looking, with lots of texture and nice details like the slightly darker trim around the wrists and the gently rolled neck opening. I usually wear it over a light weight T while road biking or for yoga and often get the comment, "Nice sweater! Where'd... Read More you get it?" I'd wear it out to dinner too, but don't want to spill food on it. With a windbreaker on top, it's unbeatable for warmth. I'm 5'6", weigh about 115, and the Small is a great fit. For a more rugged fabric, try the capilene thermal weight crew: good for climbing/mntn biking, can be washed several times a week with no special care, and is very warm.

November 27, 2019

Great fit! Great product!

Great fit! Great product!

November 26, 2019

Love this base layer!

I was so excited to get this, and really fell in love with it off the bat. I'm in between small and medium sizes, but the medium just had a little too much material for me. I'm 5'2" and 143lbs but slim build on top. The material is soft and I haven't had issues with itchiness either. Really pleased with the purchase and wou... Read Moreld definitely buy this again.

November 25, 2019

Kept me warm while hiking

Kept me warm while hiking yet breathable too

November 24, 2019

the best I have ever found.

These Capilene Air pieces are the best. They keep you from getting sweaty while keeping you warm and comfortable. They have become my go-to tops for almost all my activities. Can't go skiing without this layer & my cold weather mountain bike riding is much more comfortable without overheating. This top is easy to wash and dry and has heald... Read More up extremely well considering how much I use & wear. I have 4 now in different colors because I choose these over every other winter top. The ones with the balaclava included (like a hood) are the ones to get!

November 24, 2019

Soft and Warm

Love love this new base layer! It’s light as a cloud and very warm. I used it for the first time on a horseback ride in 40 degree weather and was so pleased. It washed beautifully too!

November 23, 2019

Love this sweater

Love this sweater. Slim, flattering fit. I am a dress size 6 and bought in medium. Good quality, lightweight yet warm. I wear to work. Thin enough to wear under blazer. I intend to purchase in more colors. Would recommend.

November 23, 2019

Great piece!!

Lightweight, warm, and is nice enough to be worn as a sweater Im 5'7-135 lbs. The small fits-probably like its supposed to, but I opted for the medium so I could also wear it like a sweater.

November 22, 2019

Itchy

Very light weight and seemed that it would be warm for weight but I wanted to wear next to skin and was too itchy for me so I sent it back.

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

Sorry to hear the Capilene Air was too itchy for you, but we really appreciate the great feedback, Ona! In the future, we're happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the item to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

November 22, 2019

Love it!

Not super soft, it is wool after all, but much softer than lots of other wool garments out there. The structure feels great. So light and breathable and yet so warm too. Amazing. I will be using this for work, casual, going out on the town and of course epic exercise adventuring - it really can do it all! 5’7” 140 / straight build and the medium is... Read More perfect. Snug but plenty of room to move and stretch and nicely long (hits mid-butt pulled all the way down).

November 22, 2019

Love the Air

Got a medium bc that's all that was left, but could have probably used a small... great price for the thermal air... love, love, love

November 22, 2019

MT hiker

The capilene air crew met my expectations and more. It is soft and warm, great as an underlayer or comfortable on its own in warmer conditions. Lightweight and warm, can't beat that. I was previously a fan of the merino wool top, that has been discontinued, and this is the first time I have found an item to replace it for warmth and comfort.

November 22, 2019

Great top

This is an amazing top. Works for long underwear but can also pair with jeans. Very warm. I plan to buy in every color.

November 21, 2019

wish I knew about this earlier

great fit, great feel and the perfect layer for cold nights or but also breathable if worn as a layer for cold weather activities

November 21, 2019

So comfy!

This top has been super comfortable and warm as a base layer. It looks cute on its own too. I have both the top and the bottoms and the top seems to be holding up better than the bottoms.

November 21, 2019

So warm (and soft)

Love this top - it fits nicely and is very warm.

November 21, 2019

outstanding

outstanding

November 20, 2019

Too big...

This top is super warm! But, way to big. I am 5'7", 130 lbs, I ordered this top among several others in small and they were all too big.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

We're sorry to hear this was too big, Tory! If you'd like to try the size XS, just let us know and we'd be happy to waive the shipping charge. Thanks for your feedback.

November 20, 2019

Misleading product

Not as described. Its actually just a cheap looking knit texture uberthin sweater from China.... the kind you find at Ross for $9.99. Don't waste your money.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

Hi Kristina, thanks for writing us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 20, 2019

warm

I bought the Capilene Air Crew. It is warm, yet light. I will wear it often in the winter. I like the crew neck, so many winter shirts are too low around the neck and don't keep me warm enough. This crew is not too tight, it is just right.

November 20, 2019

Looks as good on the high street as it does up a mountain

An exceptionally warm and comfortable base layer. Looks lovely compared to other technical clothing and could easily pass as a nice jumper to wear out and about in town. I wore for several days without washing and it didn't stink (always a bonus). With wide hips and a narrow waist, I often find tight fitting tops ride up around my waist and le... Read Moreave me feeling cold but this top stayed in place and fitted to my shape without any problems. Can't think of any flaws except perhaps that the kitted texture of the fabric could easily get caught or pulled on some loose velcro. Despite the high price tag I would definitely recommend investing - I might even order another! I'm 177 cm tall and 60kg. Ordered the medium but it's got room for another layer underneath, so the small would probably be a tighter fit.

November 20, 2019

A bit see through but

A bit see through but it's super warm.

November 11, 2019

warmth and comfort

so far love it I used it for light walks and hikes around the our town in the Rocky Mountain, in 0 F degrees and it was pretty awesome. My only concern and question is how well it will last over time.

November 9, 2019

It’s so fluffy

Cozy but also a solid layer. I stayed warm with just that layer at 45* weather

November 7, 2019

Great quality

I bought these to match the bottom base layer and the top is awesome. Super warm and incredibly comfy

November 6, 2019

Ridiculously warm!

One of the warmest base-layers ever!

November 6, 2019

Great fit. Can also be

Great fit. Can also be worn with jeans on a casual night out.

November 4, 2019

Magic Top!

Wore this on a multi-day backpacking trip through the Grand Canyon and it was so comfortable/versatile/warm/cool/quick drying! New favorite top. I'm 5'3", 125 pounds and the small fit well.

November 1, 2019

fantastic sweater!

Perfect fit and very comfortable , light and warm

October 31, 2019

Flaws

I was not expecting to see so many finishing flaws in the shirt such as loose threads. In addition, it runs very small. I am 5'0 and weigh 115 pounds - I ordered a medium and it is snug except for the sleeves that go beyond my fingertips. I washed it and hung it to dry and it shrunk so now I cannot wear it at all.

Response from Patagonia
November 18, 2019

We're sorry to hear this shrunk and that it has some loose threads. As always, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty. We went ahead and emailed you a free shipping label in this instance. Thank you for your review!

October 30, 2019

Stretchy, soft, and warm

My new favorite. 5'3" 125lb size small is perfect fit. You may need an undershirt - the material is sheer so a dark bra makes the shirt see-through if you aren't wearing layers over it. I got the Feather Grey with Birch White, this is a light grey, my computer made it look like it had more of a brown tint than reality. It's su... Read Morech a nice material, it could be used for just about any sport but also looks great for work.

October 28, 2019

Great Product!

Love this product. Great fit, very warm, looks good.

October 28, 2019

BEST BASELAYER EVER!

I have this crew in the gray and I LOVE it! I live in Montana where the winter is brutally cold. I used it for running, skiing, hiking, and mountain biking last year during a record breaking winter! It is super cozy, not itchy at all despite its wool blend. I would recommend it to anyone who runs, or skis in colder conditions, or just runs cold. I ... Read Moreeven have worn it casually to and from class and work on some really cold days. I plan on ordering another one soon. The fit is pretty true I consistently wear a medium in other Patagonia tops and the medium fits great. Definitely order this if you're a cold weather adventurer!

October 19, 2019

SO warm & lightweight

I am chronically cold due to an illness that caused me to lose a substantial amount of weight. I was looking for a warm base layer for everyday life that wasn’t bulky. This fit the bill. It made me so toasty. It’s pricey, but definitely worth it. If I can afford another, I’ll buy one bc I think I’ll be wearing this every day during my New England f... Read Moreall & winter. Thanks!

October 18, 2019

Runs a little big

I bought this top to use for layering during longer bike rides. It keeps me perfectly warm and was so soft. I ordered a large thinking it may run small but really I could’ve gotten a medium, the arms are a little long too. I’m a 10/12 size and 34DD.

October 15, 2019

So comfortable, no itch, breathes

So comfortable, no itch, breathes very well. I found the shirt to be a bit too long, a little extra bulk

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches