burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Essential Boxers Reviews

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 319 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Essential Boxers - 4½

4.1/5
Kinda Large
February 8, 2023

Most comfortable ever️️

Im a boxer guy .started wearing them four years ago.. now have 10 pairs

February 8, 2023

Starting with the fundamentals

I couldn't be happier with these boxers. They are soft and comfortable yet still retain the same great wicking qualities and durable waistband that make they so coveted.

January 30, 2023

Comfy

Soft and roomy. I bought 6 pairs!

January 29, 2023

Best Boxers Around

Gentlemen, these are the best boxers you will ever own. Worth the price.

January 25, 2023

Roomy, comfortable and soft

These are super-soft, spacious, classic boxers. Lightweight/fast drying, so good for travel. I am slender, and the waist/M, fits just right. I have a number of pairs of Patagonia classic boxers, and they hold up well through wear and washings. I recommend this product.

January 24, 2023

Insanely comfy, not the most durable

I love these underwear. They are super soft and don't bunch up like most boxers do for me. The material is so light and breathable while still being incredibly soft. The only downside is the durability, the light material doesn't quite hold up to everyday use as I would hope. The seams at the leg openings quickly ripped from tucking them... Read More in, and now most of my pairs have holes at the leg openings. My oldest pair, which I had for around two years, have completely fallen apart. There are holes on every bit of them. They still hold up better than any pair of cheap cotton boxers I've had, but increasing the durability would really make these perfect.

January 24, 2023

They Are Quite Good

I would say they are halfway between traditional cotton boxers and boxer briefs, but they are quite good!

January 23, 2023

Comfy

The lyocell fabric is soft, super breathable and lightweight, and the fit of the boxers is loose and comfortable. According to the care tag, the boxers should not be washed above 30°C, which is below recommended temperatures for underwear.

January 19, 2023

Not durable

The boxers are soft but fit a little big. Unfortunately it seems like the boxers can not be both soft and durable. Each pair I have now have holes in them after only a few months. The comfort is nice but the lack of durability makes them not worth the money.

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2023

Thank you so much for providing this feedback, it really helps us! We also want to extend our sincere apologies for all of the trouble you've had with these boxers. Please rest assured that we will be passing along this feedback to our Product Designers so they can look into making adjustments. In the meantime, please feel free to start your [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) so we can help get you into replacements.

January 17, 2023

Most comfortable

These boxer briefs are the most comfortable underwear I've ever owned. Great for hiking and everyday use.

January 15, 2023

Comfortable but not Capilene

Echoing what others have said, these are comfy and true to size, but lack the durability and utility of Capilene. They don't air dry, so you can't use them for conditions where you will sweat. You likely need to put them in the dryer if you want to wear them within 24 hours of washing. And they aren't as durable as Capilene; they are... Read More wearing through after a few years whereas my Capilene boxers have lasted for over a decade. Hope the older fabric returns.

January 15, 2023

Best Hybrid Underwear I've Found

I've been a boxer guy all my life and have resisted the cultural move to briefs. I just find briefs too tight, constricting, and too warm. At the same time, most boxers don't flex well or pack well for travel. My hunt is over. These Patagonia Essential Boxers have a boxers feel with the benefits of a brief. They give the freedom to move, ... Read Moreproper cooling, and pack down tight for travel. All while being buttery comfortable. I've bought several pairs and they'll be my go-to for many years to come.

January 8, 2023

Worth the $$$$

Started these 12 yrs ago as my husband was traveling with work and these were designed for travel! He still has the original ones from that first purchase! They have held up well and he loves the style and fit! Thanks for a great staple !

January 7, 2023

Super Soft

Best boxers I've ever had.

January 5, 2023

Mens Essential Boxers

We cannot say enough about these underwear. 12 years ago I bought my husband four pair and that is all he has worn since so when he was asked what he wanted for Christmas he said my Patagonia underwear, we told him they were all sold out and we surprised him with 12 new pairs. He opened his package and literally cried. That is how much he loves the... Read Morese underwear. The Quality is amazing. Ive washed four pair for 12 years and can attest to the durability, and he can attest to the comfort. Four pairs in 12 years sounds bad but we swear by them.

December 29, 2022

Super comfy

Super comfy

December 27, 2022

Super comfortable

The boxers are a little larger than what I was expecting (can't wear them with short shorts) but super super comfortable. The perfect amount of stretch and breathability while remaining durable.

December 25, 2022

If not for the tags

My rating of the boxers would be a five star, if not for the tags. Theyre too long but then when cut off, they Itch. The previous design had the brand and size info printed on the inside of the garment, rather than on the tags. I cut them off as close to the seam as possible, but it didnt help. Love the boxers. Dont like the tags.

Response from Patagonia
January 17, 2023

Hi Bart! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the tag on the boxers. Feedback like this is crucial to improving things for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team.

December 25, 2022

Love these

I started with one pair and now have five. They are really comfortable and well constructed. When the sweat comes on, they do a good job of wicking. They dry quickly when they get dunked while wet wading.

December 25, 2022

Silky smooth

These are the most comfortable boxers I barely feel Im wearing anything. Silky smooth and perfect for nighttime comfort as well.

December 16, 2022

Uber Comfortable

The material on these boxers is the most comfortable I have ever worn. I highly recommend these. They are the Cadillac of Men's boxers.

December 10, 2022

Best ever wore

These boxers are the best. They are comfortable, don't ride up, fit well and wear extremely well. I have had some for years.

December 10, 2022

Boxers improved!

I have had Patagonia boxers since 1997, and they have changed over the years. There were a few batches in the last few years that left the seam at the bottom susceptible to tear. The new ones have a double seam again! All well and these are great.

December 5, 2022

Comfortable all day wear

I pair these with my relaxed fit jeans (yeah, I wish Patagonia still made those). Very comfortable. Everything feels like it should. Neither too much room nor not enough. These are my 2nd pair. Bought them again because I liked the 1st pair so much.

November 27, 2022

Soft & Comfortable

Soft & Comfortable

November 17, 2022

Nowhere near Capilene

Am writing this after I had just thrown out my 2nd and final pair of Tencel boxer briefs due to wear & tear - 5 years after getting them. They were either thinning or the seams were fraying Contrast with the Capilene boxers I had bought before I had my second kid - and she is a teenager now. Enough said - will hold onto these 3 pairs for dear l... Read Moreife

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2022

We're sorry to hear that the fabric blend on the newer boxer style has been disappointing and we've passed your feedback to our product designers. You're welcome to return items under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) so no product ends up in the landfill. Thank you for the review, Marcus!

November 7, 2022

Long lasting.

Only underwear I wear

November 4, 2022

don't trust the boys to anything else

I am very particular when it comes to my underwear (and anything else i put on my body). I love the Patagonia boxers because I put them on and forget they are there. No binding, no creeping up, just pure comfort.

November 4, 2022

Just Right!

It took me a LONG time to treat myself to these boxers. Now I am hooked! They fit great, and are comfy in warm and cool temps. I love em

October 31, 2022

Way Comfortable

Very, very comfortable and cool in our climate. Well made and take multiple washes without any show of wear. Excellent product.

October 29, 2022

Soft and comfortable

I am a 33yo woman so maybe not the target audience, but I absolutely love these. I wear these boxers as sleep shorts and when multi-day hiking as underwear (when it gets really hot on trail I wear only these and they just look like regular shorts on me). They are incredibly soft and comfortable, and so light you can forget you are wearing them. I n... Read Moreow have one in every colour.

October 29, 2022

Soft and comfortable

I am a 33yo woman so maybe not the target audience, but I absolutely love these. I wear these boxers as sleep shorts and when multi-day hiking as underwear (when it gets really hot on trail I wear only these and they just look like regular shorts on me). They are incredibly soft and comfortable, and so light you can forget you are wearing them. I n... Read Moreow have one in every colour.

October 26, 2022

Perfect feel

Great blend of smooth and soft

October 23, 2022

Definitely comfortable but with a severe durability issue

I have had four such boxers for around two years. It is true that they are comfortable for daily wear or whatever activities. I only wash them by hand, just to protect them for long lasting. However, they have got very big holes at the back. And the material at the back is getting really thin, like "see-through". At the begining, I though... Read Moret it was me not taking good care of them. But it seems that quite some other usesers are having exactly the same issue according to the product review. I have contacted custom service to check whether there is a way to repair them and it seems to be a "no". By paying such a price for this product, I would expect it to last for a longer time, definitely more than two years. I want really to find a way to extend their life spans instead of put them into waste after just two years.

Response from Patagonia
October 26, 2022

Hello Xiao! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the durability issues you experienced. You're correct, we don't accept items for repair worn next to body for the consideration of our repairs team. That said, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty.

October 12, 2022

Major fabric issue causes stink after first wash

I've been wearing Patagonia underwear exclusively for a couple of years now, though I've always stuck to black and grey color options. Recently I bought numerous pairs of these in various colors and ran into a major problem: they absolutely REEK if they come into contact with white vinegar. As many people do, occasionally I add a small ... Read Morecup of white vinegar to a load of laundry to freshen and help remove odors. Much to my surprise, all of my brand new, unworn Patagonia boxers came out absolutely reeking of sulfur. Except, that is, for the brand new pair of plain black which leads me to believe there's something amiss in the dying process for the printed patterns here. I had one remaining unopened pair in 'Forest Floor' color so I did an experiment - I unpackaged them. They smelled perfectly normal. I then placed directly into a clean bin with a 1:1 mix of water to distilled white vinegar. Within about 15 minutes my mudroom reeked of sulfur, emanating from the pair of boxers. This wasn't a slight smell, it carried into adjacent rooms. Unfortunately this smell is permanent and I will have to get rid of the numerous pairs of these I've bought in the last couple of weeks. Very disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
October 13, 2022

Hi Ben, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about your experience with the boxers. We haven't received this feedback regarding washing with white vinegar, but we'll share this with our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 10, 2022

Super Comfy, durability issues

These newer generation of boxers with the tencel material are super comfortable next to the skin, however I have a couple pairs that are around 2 years old now that developed a bunch of holes in the crotch area from regular casual use and have to be thrown out due to the 1-year patagonia warranty. I have around 4 boxers of the capilene older genera... Read Moretion that are still holding up great, but the new material is not as long lasting.

Response from Patagonia
October 11, 2022

Hey Connor, thank you for the review. We wanted to inform you that our warranty stands for the lifetime of the garment. The life of a garment varies from product to product, but our boxers are definitely supposed to last longer than a couple years. If you'd like to discuss your options, please connect with a [customer service representative](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*1heo26v*_ga*MTE3MzgxOTU4OS4xNjQ3NTMxMTc0*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY2NTUyMjgzNS4xMzYuMS4xNjY1NTIzMDIzLjAuMC4w).

October 8, 2022

Comfy

Very nice soft fabric

September 24, 2022

Not for outdoor activity

I'm not sure how anyone can wear these doing anything sweaty. They do not dry at all. Really only for cold weather, and casual activity. They have also started stretching out like crazy where they are now way longer at the inseam, and sometimes I can see them when wearing short cuts. I really liked the Sender boxer and Capilene boxer, but for ... Read Moresome reason they no longer make.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2022

Hi Daryl, we're so sorry to hear you've been disappointed with these Boxers! They're designed to be wicking and breathable; it sounds like they haven't been so for you, and that stretching issue is no good either. We will reach out to you about returning them.

September 24, 2022

Comfortable

The stretch fabric is comfortable and this version of the boxer seemd to be heaviery weight material than previous versions, which is nice. Elastic waist is stronger but not too tight.

September 22, 2022

Quality

Have worn these for many years and got these to replace several pairs that had lived long useful lives. Comfortable, like they're not there. Also, wife thinks theyre cute.

September 22, 2022

Luxury comfort

Very soft and high quality fabric. Got good feedback from my partner. What's not to like?

September 21, 2022

NOT DURABLE

I have worn the old 100% polyester capilene daily version for the last 5 years and it shows no sign of wear, and will probably last another 10 years with good care. The new lyocell version, however, is complete rubbish and starts to wear down after only a couple washes. Patagonia needs to understand that sometimes, stuff made out of oil that last... Read More literally 500 times longer is better for the environment than some high tech natural fiber that comes apart after only a few weeks of use and needs to be thrown away and bought again... TL;DR: lyocell sucks, don't buy this.

September 19, 2022

Magnificent.....the best I have ever

Magnificent.....the best I have ever owned...

September 16, 2022

Comfortable and fits well Will

Comfortable and fits well Will buy more

September 15, 2022

terrible product

This version of patagonia boxers is a poor imitation of the capilene boxers. Why change a great product into an inferior one? I have purchased the capilene boxers for years. I tried one pair of the tencel boxers and will never buy another one.

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2022

Hi Frederick, thank you for taking the time to submit this review. It sounds like you weren't happy with the fabric of these boxers. We're sorry to hear this! We've reached out to you about options.

September 14, 2022

I'm like on my 12th pair...

I've found a product I like and am sticking with it! Most Patagonia stuff runs large...These are on the large side of "True to Size." Comfortable, breath well, and are durable.

September 8, 2022

Great fit and good breathable

Great fit and good breathable material. Much better than older ones.

September 7, 2022

great boxer

This is a great boxer. It's true to size, soft and love the pattern. It's very comfortable to wear.

September 6, 2022

Still the best

I have been purchasing Patagonia essential boxers for at least 25 years. They remain the best, most comfortable, best fitting boxers I have ever owned. I don't even look at other brands. I bought a couple of pairs to add some fresh patterns to my underwear drawer. That said, I still have the first pairs I bought and they are only showing a lit... Read Moretle wear. Typical Patagonia quality!

September 5, 2022

comfortable but seams fail

I have several pairs of the boxers and 2 of them have started failing along the bottom seam. I haven't sent back to Patagonia yet. I know they will repair but more annoying to have 2 of them fail the same way suggesting an issues with the design.

September 5, 2022

Well done

These are my new favorite boxers. For years I have been wearing boxer briefs and thoughts I would try these boxers. I really like them. The main selling point for me is the fabric. The spandex in them makes all the difference. They are super soft and have great stretch. I can't comment on their longevity as I only wore them a handful a times, ... Read Morebut I am sold. In fact I went back to get more pairs. Great boxers made of very soft and stretchy material. Well done, Patagonia.

September 5, 2022

Favorite Underwear

These are my favorite underwear by far. Tried several before settling on these. Very soft and cool.

September 4, 2022

Boxers all get holes around waist!

These boxers are probably the most comfortable I own, however unlike other Patagonia products Im extremely disappointed with the quality. I have purchased 3 pairs and 2 already have holes in the same spot where martial meets the waste band, which suggests a defective product. I love all Patagonia products but I cant advocate for these based on the ... Read Morerecurring defect.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2022

Hi Billy! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the boxers have started to develop holes. We definitely expect better quality out of our gear so we'd consider this a warranty issue. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 3, 2022

Best in class

Superb craftsmanship combined with excellent feel of material and awesome design of prints. I own a dozen of these shorts and no other.

September 3, 2022

Comfortable Casual Boxer

This is a really decent boxer for casual wear. The material is quite soft and comfortable, and I like the colorful designs. However, they aren't my go-to for high output (sweaty) activities because they don't dry as quickly as one would like for a technical underwear. Compared to the performance of past Patagonia boxers like the Capilene ... Read MoreBoxer (discontinued) and the Sender Boxer (apparently no longer available), the Essential Boxer doesn't really hold up.

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2022

Hey Matthew, thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear that these are not living up to past versions. If you're unhappy with them, you're welcome to give them a wash and send them in for a refund or merchandise credit. To begin that process click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 24, 2022

Best underwear ever!

Perfect item. Aside from the fly that I have to sew shut on all my Patagonia underwear. Guess why.

August 12, 2022

Best Boxers Ever

Finally had to buy several more of these-last batch still going strong after 12 years but a little faded, lol..incredibly comfortable, easy drying, and virtually indestructible..

August 12, 2022

Soft and Flexible

Softest and most flexible boxer shorts I have ever owned!

July 31, 2022

Boxer Shorts

Very stylish boxers, and soft and comfortable.

July 29, 2022

Best pair of boxers I own.

These have to be hands down the best pair of boxers I have ever owned. They are lightweight, have a nice stretch to them, and are super soft. I will definitely be investing in some more of these!!!

July 25, 2022

Good quality

The boxers are very comfortable and the material feels quite silky. They are expensive and I would not have paid so much but for the information on provenance, working conditions etc

July 20, 2022

Comfortable

Patagonia boxers are very comfortable to wear.

July 19, 2022

Miss the old product

Three pair wearing out, tearing near the leg hem as others have noted, while silkweights from many years prior still wear well. The fabric is a step down. Wonder where to find something like the old silkweight?

July 13, 2022

Boxer Veteran- soft, perfect fit

I lost my shorts, No really, I lost ALL of my Patagonia shorts in a recent flood in southcentral Montana. In the days after the flooding I orders a couple of new pair from Patagonia. These are the 41/2" which are relaxed fit, but don't bunch up in your pants, are super soft and should last for a long time if they are anything like the ori... Read Moreginal shorts that are down the river!

July 11, 2022

Doesn't compare to the old ones

I was a huge fan of Patagonia's boxers from a few years ago. I kept hoping they'd come back but gave in a tried these. Sadly, they're not in the same league as the old ones. I knew going into it these were just Tencel but hoped Patagonia had done some of their magic to make it a performance fabric. Unfortunately it's the same a... Read Mores you'd find from any Tencel. It bunches under pants, stretches out and doesn't wick the same. With so many brands doing Tencel, modal or plain lyocell it's hard to justify the significantly higher price of these. Please bring back the old fabric :'(

Response from Patagonia
July 13, 2022

Hi Dan! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the changes to the boxers. Feedback like this is crucial to improving things for future seasons. We'll share this with our design crew.

July 10, 2022

Great for sleeping

I wear for sleeping and they are very comfy.

July 8, 2022

The old ones were better!

I have a few pairs of old capilene boxers (bright orange!) that are still working well to this day. Almost 10 years old. These new ones though hold more heat and are hotter to wear. Not all that comfortable in the summer. They also fit much closer to the body more like boxer briefs. They also pill pretty easily and each time I wear them some materi... Read Moreal comes off. They are ok I guess. They new ones are really soft which has that going for them. But I wouldn't choose them over the old model, and probably wouldn't buy the new ones again at this price point.

Response from Patagonia
July 12, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review, Christopher. We're sorry to hear these boxers weren't comfortable for you! We want you to be happy with everything you get from us, so we'll reach out to you about returning them.

July 6, 2022

Comfortable.

Comfortable.

July 5, 2022

Great product, very well made.

Great product, very well made. I use them for nighttime lounging and sleeping. Do not change anything about this product. Its great

June 23, 2022

Great stuff

Really comfortable fabric for the hot weather and cold. But I'm particularly impressed with how great they are in the desert. Thats were Im living so thats counts to me. Most comfortable underwear Ive found. I did have a problem with one pair. Only happened to one pair on both legs so I figure its a fluke. Maybe the stitching was too tight. A... Read Morenyway front bottom edge by the stitching have torn on both legs. Otherwise they still work. Guess I can convert to 4 inch length easy enough.

June 13, 2022

Comfy Max

There are boxers, then there are Patagonia Boxers. Im done trying and buying any one elses boxers. Ultra soft, super comfortable, you cant even tell you are wearing them. Thanks Patagonia!

June 9, 2022

Super comfy!

These are some of the most comfortable boxers ever! Love the soft feel and superior breathability. Typically wear large but went with XL and happy I did.

June 2, 2022

Pure Comfort.

Super comfortable. Perfect stretch and softness

June 1, 2022

Best boxers ive ever owned

These are simply the best boxers I have ever owned. They are comfortable, light, and breathable. I wear them to sleep, around the house, and as an everyday boxer under my pants and shorts. When I start my morning and throw these on, I know its gonna be a good day.

May 31, 2022

Only boxers youll ever ware

These are my only Boxer shorts. I have been warring them for over a decade. Love them.

May 29, 2022

They do the job, but perhaps not my ideal pattern/fit

There is something a little off about the fit and pattern of these. They don't seem to hang and flow like normal boxers (or your older versions). The middle fabric panel that stretches along and between the thighs seems too tight and stretches out like a hammock, especially when you squat down, making you feel like you've got something in... Read More there. And then sometimes I have to pull the leg parts down out of my crotch after I stand up. To me, they have a fit more like boxer-briefs. This may be only something I experience. Other guys might like the way these fit and feel. I am just relating my experience. The pattern from years ago with three panels across the back and only one cross seam running along the inner thighs, closer to the front, seemed to feel much, much better. (I'll send you photos or an old pair if you want, haha.) If any designers read this, I hope they take a look at redesigning it and trying it on themselves through a range of movements and have other testers do the same. Other than the pattern and fit, the material, while not as comfortable as the old Capilene, does the job, so I will use the 5 pair that I have and occasionally get a new pair each season to see if anything changes. Oh, also, I know you will not change this and it is super-picky, but I preferred when the Patagonia name was not so prominent all along the entire waistband. I want to love these and once again have these as my go-to everyday boxers, but I am hesitant to do so at the moment. Thanks, though, for all that you do, and all the other quality goods that you produce. Most of my wardrobe is Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2022

We're sorry to hear about your disappointment in our Men's Essential Boxers - 4½". Please know your satisfaction is guaranteed so please, feel free to [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) if you need assistance returning these. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for all of your very helpful feedback.

May 20, 2022

Great boxer

Soft material, nice sizing. I use these only for sleeping so I can't comment as to riding up as an undershort

May 15, 2022

Very Comfy!

Product is great! Very soft and comfortable! My absolute favorite boxers!!!!

May 15, 2022

Quality Product

True to size fit and comfortable material. Patagonia is the only place I purchase underwear.

May 4, 2022

super comfy

feels like you're not even wearing them, waistband doesn't dig in. best boxers I've ever had

April 26, 2022

Very comfortable

Ive been wearing Patagonia boxers for years and they are very comfortable and last a long time .

April 17, 2022

ok

I found the older capilene ones much more comfortable and lightweight. These are still somewhat comfortable but they also start to smell quicker and I wish the older ones were still available.

April 9, 2022

Newer & Improved, but not as durable

I have been wearing Patagonia boxers for over 15 years. The fabric has changed over the years and this version is 95% Lycocell vs. older ones that are 100% Capilene (polyester). Although these new Lycocell fabric boxers are more comfortable, they wear out much faster. Mine of 2 years ago are showing age/holes on some color fabrics, but not all colo... Read Morer ways - really weird. So, just dont expect 10 years+ of use like the older Capilene version which are Energizer Bunnies, but these new ones are still worth 5 stars.

March 29, 2022

Life is better in great underwear

These are super soft and have some stretch to them. They don't ride up. They breath effectively and have great all day comfort.

March 28, 2022

Excellent product!

Excellent product - feels great, good fit, only downside is the 4-5inch tag on it.

March 27, 2022

Comfort to the Max

This is my 7th or 8th pair of the essential boxers. I have found that they are very comfortable but tend to wear out quickly. Patagonia has been great about honoring their ironclad guarantee and replacing the pairs that have worn out quickly. The new design seems to have an additional layer of fabric, so I am hoping it will improve durability. Supe... Read Morer soft. Super comfortable. Great colorways.

March 27, 2022

Comfortable and durable

These were replacement for several pairs I have owned over the years. 3set. Much better than tightly whiteys.

March 26, 2022

Comfortable

I just re-upped my old briefs. Duplicates what I had been wearing the last 10 years. Comfortable, longevity theyre awesome

March 22, 2022

Comfortable in all temps

Fits great, feels great, only boxers I wear

March 22, 2022

Super Bargain-Last Forever

I have pairs of Patagonia underwear that are 10-15 years old that have yet to fray or loose elasticity of the waist band. Do the math: the cost-to-longevity ratio is a small number which is what you want. Comfy too!

March 20, 2022

Great boxer short

The very best fit and feel.

March 17, 2022

Very comfortable, good fit

Very comfortable, good fit. I actually like them a little better than the previous version of these.

March 14, 2022

Comfy

Looking for new boxers to replace my old go to which tend to shrink after several washes. Through multiple washes and wears, these have been soft and comfortable, and hold their shape perfectly. These are my go to for daily wear from now on.

Response from Patagonia
March 22, 2022

We're glad to hear you're loving the new boxers! With some great [product care tips](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html), they should last you a long time.

March 2, 2022

Sooooooooooooooo SOFT

These run big, so I always use mine to sleep in. The experience is pure perfection!

February 23, 2022

Falls apart at the seams

The fabric falls apart at the seams in a few months even when following the care instructions for washing. These are very nice and comfy until they fall apart. The Sender version is better made but always out of stock.

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2022

We're sorry to hear about the lack of durability with these boxers. If you haven't done so already, please reach out to our Customer Service team to return them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). We'll be happy to help!

February 23, 2022

Fabric wears out fast at hem seam

Very comfortable, but the fabric is not durable. In ~3 years of wearing this Men's Essential Boxer (at an average of <3 days/month) the hem seam on the front of both legs began tearing open. The hem stitching itself is intact, but the fabric just above the seam appears to be wearing through & opening up as holes parallel to the seam. A ... Read Morepricey item, considering its short useful life.

February 21, 2022

Why change what worked?

After years of solely wearing Patagonia boxers, Im disappointed in the changes made to these boxers. The fit, feel and quality changed. With 20+ pairs of Patagonia boxers, Ive always ordered a Large for my 34 waist. These run somewhat tight in the waist and extremely loose everywhere else. They also feel heavier than prior versions. Im bummed that ... Read MoreIll need to switch brands to find another pair of boxers instead of relying on the comfort and quality that I knew, and expected, from Patagonias boxers.

February 3, 2022

Great Boxers!

These boxers feel great to wear and dry quickly. I highly recommend them for strenuous activities.

January 20, 2022

So comfortable

These are my favorite boxers of all time. They are super soft, just the right weight; they aren't too tight, but they also don't bunch up. They stay fresh feeling for longer than most and after several months of use they haven't started to stink yet. Occasionally when taking them off I'll see the stretched material look alarming... Read Morely fragile, but no failures yet after 6+ months.

January 8, 2022

Soft and comfortable

Comfortable and soft. They don't ride up when worn walking around town or at the office. Also great for sleeping!

January 7, 2022

Best Underwear ever

Have been looking for comfortable underwear to sleep in and these are it! great fit and material is super comfortable.

January 4, 2022

Lowest seam

Material just above lowest seam, around the legs, wears super quickly, most likely because of the style of the seam, and hence fails prematurely.

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2022

Hi Florian, thank you for taking the time to write a review letting us know about the issues you’ve experienced with the Men's Essential Boxers. Please feel free to send those in for a [warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

January 3, 2022

Im back to boxers

Ill be brief. These are nice. Wash them before wear. Little fabric balls all over the place.

December 25, 2021

Super soft

Theses are the only boxers my son will wear ever since his dear sister gave him a pair at least 15 years ago. She is now our Angel in Heaven & with us in spirit. Mom always gets these from my daughter for her brother every year still. he loves a new design each Christmas.

December 12, 2021

Runs small, rides up, big tag

While I do love my litany of Patagonia goods, this pair of boxer briefs I feel runs a bit small, the legs ride up, and the fabric tags were tricky to cut so that they did not itch my back side. I wear a size small in all other unders/ shorts/ bike shorts, etc. I think a screen printed tag, slightly longer legs, and perhaps I should have gone with a... Read More medium. The essential boxers in a small on the other hand are a DREAM and I would love to swap the briefs for the standard boxers.

December 7, 2021

The Perfect Boxers

I've been wearing Patagonia Boxers for almost 20 years and this latest version continues the trend of excellence. Light, breathable and comfortable. They are great for travel as I don't always have access to a washing machine, so they are easy to hand wash and they dry quickly. These are an essential item on all of my trips.

November 29, 2021

Most comfortable boxers

These are by far the most comfortable boxers I've owned in terms of material and flexibility. There is no chafe and no tightness anywhere even when hiking or with active use. I did find that they wear out about a year in which seems quick for patagonia quality. Maybe some reinforcements in certain areas would help. Even with that, I recommend ... Read Morethese anyone looking for a comfy pair of grown-up underpants.

November 15, 2021

Great fabric

Patagonia changed the fabric and the new boxers are super comfortable, wear better, and the waistbands hold their shape better.

November 11, 2021

great fitting boxer

comfortable and lightweight!

November 2, 2021

Super comfortable

These are wonderfully comfortable boxers, but dont last as long as I wish they would. These developed holes in the seat area within 2-3 months and then my wife made fun of me for the see-through view from the back side. I love these boxers but want them to either last longer at this price point or come down in price given their short lifespan.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2021

Hey Michael, thanks for leaving us a review on our Essential Boxers. We're so sorry to hear about the holes! Believe it or not, underwear are also covered by our Ironclad Guarantee, so you are still welcome to send them back under warranty we just ask that you give them a good wash ahead of time. To begin that process, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 2, 2021

Comfort Plus

A very comfortable boxer short that hold up well. I bought several pair.

November 2, 2021

Switched fabric

So love the brand and been buying your boxer shorts for years and they wear like iron. But recently purchased 4 pair and noticed when received the fabric changed and much prefer the previous fabric. Smoother, heavier and probably more durable ultimately. Thanks for listening. Quality just doesnt seem at par with previous fabric.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2021

We appreciate your review, Kevin! We did change our boxers from polyester to a Tencel lyocell and spandex blend a few years ago. If you find that these do not perform as expected, we welcome you to return them under our Ironclad Guarantee. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

October 24, 2021

If you gave this product a high rating, you definitely did not wear the prior generations

This new material is terrible, it lasts 1 year or so only and it's not as cool. I feel like I am buying over-priced cotton and not a very sturdy one either! Is Patagonia's idea of conservation to use materials that disintegrates while on my body? Bring back the old material!

Response from Patagonia
November 2, 2021

Hi George, thanks for taking the time to write a product review and we're sorry to hear you aren't happy with these. For some context, these are made with 95% Tencel lyocell and 5% Spandex Jersey. Tencel comes from the pulp of trees. The solution is extruded through fine holes to produce fiber and the solvent and water are recycled in a closed-loop process — more than 99% of the solvent is recovered and reused, making this an extremely sustainable and traceable alternative to synthetic fabrics. Additionally, Tencel naturally offers great moisture-wicking properties and breathability. Because Tencel is a high-tenacity cellulosic fiber, it should offer exceptional strength properties. With that said, if you aren't completely sold on these, feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our warranty.

October 21, 2021

comfy boxers

Most comfy boxers I've ever owned.

October 17, 2021

Comfy

Forgot I was wearing them they are so comfy!

October 10, 2021

Family favorite

The guys in the family love these. Extra comfortable fabric and cut.

October 9, 2021

Feels good

Even though I was really attached to my old school capilene boxers these really feel good!

October 6, 2021

Comfortable

My thighs are of different sizes due to surgery and these boxers comfortably accommodate both.

October 4, 2021

Cozy classic

These boxers are great, I keep coming back to buy more because they fit nicely and the material is super soft. The elastic band lasts for a long time - even after a year of machine washes. Definitely recommended - a casual wear staple.

September 22, 2021

Sooo nice!

Cozy . . .

September 17, 2021

Best Underwear Ever

These boxers are unbelievably comfortable. They're so good, I actually look forward to wearing em. The fabric is thin yet soft, stretchy and basically all around awesome.

September 14, 2021

Perfect Boxers

Love them

September 13, 2021

Great Performance

I grew up wearing the capilene boxer and this is spot on. I travel and fish a lot and these are perfect for that. I can wash and dry overnight for minimal clothing on a trip and they are great when doing active sports too.. One of my favorites...

September 11, 2021

Ver nice boxers

Very soft material. Fit is a just little big in the legs on me. M 510 200lbs

September 10, 2021

Perfection

I had the old capilene boxers which imo didnt breath well. This new fabric is softer, and more breathable. I love them, perfection! Im ordering 2 more pairs ASAP.

September 1, 2021

Most comfortable

Without a doubt the most comfortable Ive ever worn!!!

September 1, 2021

the fabric is thicker and warmer than the previous model

This is underwear. Very cute underwear. Very soft fabric. It is thicker and warmer than the previous model. It should be indicated for winter, I think.

August 25, 2021

Great, comfortable boxers

I have already purchased more of these. They are great!

August 19, 2021

Old Capilene Were Better

Finally got some new boxers when the sale started. And I knew these werent going to be exactly like my old Patagonia boxers THAT I LOVE. Now that Ive gotten them, they really are completely different. Fire the size is different. I am a small in the old style. In these new ones the small is too snug. So I am a medium, thats fine. The material isnt a... Read Mores soft. These new ones are scratchy. The whole boxer just isnt nearly as great of a product like the old ones were. I should have stocked up on the old ones. Ugh.

Response from Patagonia
August 19, 2021

Hey Daniel, thanks for the review on the Essential Boxers. These will not necessarily be a replacement for your old capilene boxers because these are made of Tencel. They should soften over time, but if you feel unsatisfied with your purchase you're welcome to send them back to us, we just ask that you give them a good wash beforehand. These are the only boxer style we have available at the moment, but if you're interested in trying a different material we recommend our [Men's Sender Boxer Briefs - 6"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-sender-boxer-briefs-6-inch/32545.html?dwvar_32545_color=INDG&cgid=mens-socks-underwear) which is made from recycled nylon/spandex stretch micromesh fabric.

August 17, 2021

My balls couldn't be happier!

Very Comfortable and breathable. best boxers I have ever had. 10/10

August 17, 2021

Super Comfortable

Very comfortable for any activity.

August 16, 2021

Boxers

Very comfortable!

August 8, 2021

Good but used to be better

This product has evolved over the 25 years I have been buying them. I have likely bought over 45 pairs of these and the waistband which was the problem 25 years ago is now really comfortable and long lasting. The issue now is that they use Tencel instead of silkweight capilene. When these where silkweight cap they where perfect. Long lasting and co... Read Moreuld go from soaking wet to nearly dry in about 10 mins. The Tencel while by no means cotton is not as quick to dry. The verdict is still out on longevity but they are not as comfortable as their predecessors. These are still the best boxers on the market but they need to devolve back to silkweight cap to make these truly epic.

July 26, 2021

Comfortable but poor quality

I quickly fell in love with these boxers. They are comfortable, soft, and fit well. I bought multiple pair. This is true of a lot of the Patagonia products. Where they fall short is on quality. After 6 months they are wearing out. These products are too expensive to be wearing out in a few months. I love and support the mission of Patagonia but I a... Read Morem feeling very disappointed in the low quality of their clothing. This has been my experience with their paints and fleece jackets.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2021

Hello Justin, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comment. We are sorry to learn about your experience with early wear on the boxers. Your valuable feedback will give our Design and Quality Departments and opportunity to evaluate the item for further improvements in the future. Our products are covered by Patagonia's Ironclad Guarantee, and you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) items that do not meet your satisfaction.

July 22, 2021

Really comfortable

The only problem I have is that they dont have a button in the fly, otherwise they are perfect.

July 22, 2021

Super soft but somewhat fragile

These boxers are super soft and breathable. Only problem is that over time the hem at bottom can rip, because of the fabric characteristics. What makes them soft, breathable also makes the fabric somewhat fragile.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2021

Hi Vance, thank you for the review on the Essential Boxers. We're sorry to hear that you experienced some ripping on yours, this would definitely be covered by warranty if you'd like to send them in. Please launder them prior to returning, [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) is where you can begin the process.

July 19, 2021

so soft

im a woman and i wear these as comfy shorts because they are genuinely softer than any pjs ive ever worn

July 6, 2021

Best boxers ever

These are the best boxers I've ever had. The fit is loose (which I love) and the fabric is amazingly soft and comfy. I'm going to order a bunch more!

July 1, 2021

Comfortable but wears out quickly

These are super comfortable boxers, however I bought 3 pair of these and all 3 developed holes in 6-9 months. I first noticed them wearing down along the inseam, and then holes developed along the waistband in the back as well. This is just from normal casual wear or under dress pants at work. Its too bad because I really wanted to like these. But ... Read MoreI cant justify buying new ones every year or so.

Response from Patagonia
July 8, 2021

Hi Daniel, thanks for taking the time to write a product review. We're so sorry that your Boxers developed holes so soon after you purchased them. All of our products are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee so please feel free to [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them at your earliest convenience.

June 29, 2021

very comfortable

most comfortable underwear that i have ever owned! I will be buying a couple more pairs of these!

June 24, 2021

Very comfortable.

Very comfortable.

June 16, 2021

Comfortable and nice

I have worn many boxers over the years. Some were gifts, some were novelties, some were just plain old cotton boxers from the local big box retailer. Eventually they all gave up the ghost. Either the waistband became too loose, or the fit bunched up where I really did not want it to bunch up, or they just developed holes in places where holes do no... Read Moret belong. These boxers are not those boxers. When I received them in the mail, I took them out of the packaging and thought "these look a little large for me, maybe I should send them back for a couple of smalls" because they looked like I would just get lost in them. I'm happy to report that I did not exchange them. Once I put them on, they fit comfortably but not snugly (know what I mean?). But the feel of these is unique. Not quite satin, but more like brushed velvet. Not thin like those big box boxers and not thick like the flannels that I just can't seem to find anymore, but somewhere in between. Somewhere nice and comfortable. I think I will pick up a couple more before Fall comes along.

June 6, 2021

roomy pjs

Wear them for pajamas. Roomy.

June 6, 2021

Funny fit

Bring back the the old Silk Weight Boxers. Those remain the best sleep wear I've ever had. They fit comfortably and were perfect. These boxers fit strange. The rise is too high, making them uncomfortable. Moreover, the fabric is not as good as what was used in the silk weight.

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2021

Hey Brian! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. The Essential Boxers were designed as casual wear, if you're looking for a lightweight, performance-focused pair of boxers, we'd recommending checking out the [Sender Boxers- 4 1/2"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-sender-boxers-4-half-inch/32540.html?dwvar_32540_color=INDG). We also make the Senders in a Boxer Brief design. Regardless, we've passed your feedback along to our Design Team who are constantly improving the fit and style of our products.

May 18, 2021

Soft and comfortable

Soft and comfortable and a little bit of a pattern if you want

May 16, 2021

Need more colors, fewer solid colors

See title

May 15, 2021

Super Soft

I use these as sleepwear, super cool, comfortable and no bunching, love em.

May 10, 2021

Never again!!

Let me start by saying I love Patagonia and Ive been a loyal customer for 20+ years. I bought boxers here several years ago that are still as good as new, so this last year I bought 7 pairs thinking Id have Patagonias legendary quality. These newer boxers are not what they used to be. Within 2-3 months they were threadbare and full of holes. This w... Read Moreill be the first Patagonia product that will have to be thrown away. I hope these comments are read and the quality will be addressed.

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2021

Hi Nicholas, thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are so sorry to hear that the Essential Boxers did not live up to your expectations. We have passed your feedback along to our Design Team who are constantly improving our styles. All of our products are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee, so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you are unsatisfied. We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

May 10, 2021

Great but not perfect

Im a big fan of the old silkweight boxers, not so much because of the fabric, but because of the cut and sizing. As others have noted, the fabric on these is super soft and almost like cotton, but it is not quick dry - but thats not a surprise - choose the Sender model if you want a tech fabric thats quick dry. But the cut of these (and the Sender)... Read More is just a little too roomy and the waistband is too high, meaning the rise puts these AT the waistband of whatever you are wearing, or over it. My preference is for a shorter rise and the waistband on these should be an inch or 1.5 lower than where it is. That being said, I like them enough to order another pair. 2 of these and 2 Senders is a great combo. Change the cut and you have a perfect next gen boxers. At least you are still making the true synthetic boxers for those of us who don't enjoy the boxer briefs - not many out there make them! Cheers.

May 8, 2021

Magic

So soft and comfortable, and very accommodating. Personally I use the boxer brief version of these for daily wear and then I slip into these beauties before bed. I've never had deeper or more restful sleep. Thanks Patagonia!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches