Back to Product

Middle Fork Packable Waders - Regular

Write Your Review

4.5 /5

Filter Reviews

All 20 Reviews

Clear All

Middle Fork Packable Waders - Regular

4.5
November 1, 2020

M

Today I put on my mfw for the first time and on the first adjust I broke the plastic that moves the shoulder holder. Plastic is brittle and poorly designed...

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that the piece of plastic broke the first time you went to adjust the waders. We'd definitely consider this a warranty issue so you're welcome to return them. We've reached out to you directly with further assistance.

May 19, 2020

Keeps it light

Just spent a long weekend in the WV backcountry camping and fishing with a group of friends. While everyone else was complaining about the size and weight of their waders during the hike in, I had extra room and weight in the pack for some liquid refreshments. Highly recommend !

May 18, 2020

Keeps it light

Just spent a long weekend in the WV backcountry camping and fishing with a group of friends. While everyone else was complaining about the size and weight of their waders during the hike in, I had extra room and weight in the pack for some liquid refreshments. Highly recommend !

March 11, 2020

Light and comfortable, use caution while buskwhacking

As advertised, these waders are light, pack to a small size, and are comfortable to wear on hot days or with baselayer underneath in colder conditions. However, they are not made to withstand heavy use off of the river (hiking through brush, rocks, snags -- all of the things you normally encounter in the backcountry). After wearing these on a hike ... Read Moreinto a stream I was startled to feel water pouring into my leg and boot upon my first step into the river on a 3-day backcountry trip. I looked down to see a 5" gash up the shin of the wader. This is to be expected but I have put other waders through a lot more with no problems. Just leave in the bag until you are ready to fish. The lack of durability of this product certainly limits where and when you can use it.

February 2, 2020

Great Waders!

Last summer i bought these waders and after using them almost for the whole season i just had to write this review. To start things off i have to say that these waders are great! I was looking for thin waders to fly-fish my local stream with during hot summer days and was not disappointed. The fabric feels (and looks) great and you really don'... Read Moret sweat in them at all. In addition to that, the water proof pocket in the front lets you keep your phone(or camera) all-time ready for taking pictures of your caught fish! All in all the waders look and feel good, and very practical designed and thin- I can only recommend them. Greetings from Austria!!

October 23, 2019

the best for travel

just what I was looking for trip to northern Patagonia

September 24, 2019

Great waders

Waders pack to a ridiculously small and light package. Second to none when it comes to travel waders. I fish 8-10 hours straight in these; comfortable, cool, flexible and tough.

September 18, 2019

My Go-To Waders for Dry-Fly Through Early Streamer Season

Absolutely the comfiest waders that I have ever owned! Incredibly light, packable, and ready to fish, these waders have been used hard from the famous spring creeks of Centre County, PA to the raging Penobscot River in Maine during the late spring for the smelt run. Keeping me cool and most importantly dry, these have been my go-to waders from late... Read More spring until the weather will and stream temperatures will start to drop in the fall. The booties are a very different feel when compared to the standard neoprene we have all come to expect on waders today, They are thin, yet surprisingly cushiony and comfortable to wade and walk in. Although thin, the waders themselves have lasted some mild "bush-waking" to get from the trailhead to the river bank and still I have yet to spring a leak in them. If you are looking for a minimalist, lightweight, packable wader, you will find none other on the market. If I had to buy these again tomorrow, I'd buy two in a heartbeat.

August 30, 2019

Middle Fork Packable Waders

I finally got to fish today and use these waders. Wow, fantastic! The fit is great and they're so light. What really impressed me was how easy they were to pull off. I've had others that required a lot of work to pull the booties off and these slip right off! A super product and I'm hooked!

August 10, 2019

Wade Light

I don’t think you can find a lighter weight wader. Great for packing into high mountain lakes. The rubber booties are thin so I cut neoprene booties off some old pair waders. Use this so I can walk around and made the flippers fit tight. Our you can buy some neoprene booties instead it will save the sole bottoms. The foot bootie sole material on th... Read Moree Middle Fork waders is just like the old Seal Dry latex waders maid back in 1970’s. Good waders for those hot days on the water.

July 22, 2019

These waders just plain work

I’m really impressed with these waders. I own the Rio Gallegos zip front waders and the Gunnison Gorge wading pants too; so, my original plan was to use these Middle Fork packable waders as a backup in the event the other pair of waders needed repair. After having worn these Middle Fork waders on a few outings, they have now become my main, “go to”... Read More waders for spring, summer, and fall fishing. I especially like they are light, comfortable, durable, very easy to get in and out of, and keep you dry. No more struggling to loosen the booties from your feet at the end of a long, hard day of fishing! These waders just plain work.

April 12, 2019

Saltwater wade fisherman approved

Been using these for a year now fishing the salt 2-4 times a week, they’re Stupid light, extremely comfortable, tough as nails (I wade around oysters a lot) and keep ya surprisingly cool even on these warm spring afternoons in South Texas, 10/10

January 2, 2019

Another Patagonia game changer

These waders are truly a game changer. They're super lightweight and tough as nails. I was looking for a full length wader that could be folded down. Most other waders I've tried we a bit too bulky to be comfortable when they were folded down. Not these. They've replaced my waist hight waders for the summer. I started guiding in them... Read More in the spring in Montana and used them until October as the end of guiding season. Layered up when it was cold, wore them with shorts when it was hot. Prefer to use waders rather than wet wading because, even guiding out of a boat, I do a fair amount of bushwacking. Got one small hole which was easily repaired. I had around 80 days in them and they'll easily do another season, maybe two. They are light and tough and with all the waders I own these are the ones I used all season.

December 3, 2018

Excellent

I’ve just completed a 50 km hike / fly fishing trip in the Nelson Lakes area of NZ. The waders were superb and I really appreciated the light weight, but remarkably tough fabric. Only issue was getting the right fit (very heavy socks) with my wading boots. It’ll be interesting to see how the new 2019 boots fit with these waders. Only changes I woul... Read Mored make is some additional belt loops and the elastic around the gravel guards could be a bit tighter.

October 23, 2018

great for travel

I have been fishing Patagonia waders since the early 90's and have been very happy with them. I've had the chance to fish with these waders on four different occasions. The first was a trip to Vancouver BC in October then a few trips in New Mexico. The weather for all was in the 40-60's cool but not freezing. The hardest thing with t... Read Morehese waders was trying to figure out what combination of socks and fleece bootie would be the closest to a regular Gallegos. They pack incredibly small and are very lightweight. The guides I was fishing with commented on how small they pack up. Great for the short family trips when you can go fish. Overall they very comfortable, lightweight and pack down to easily fit in my carryon.

June 3, 2018

Booties slip down into wading boots during wear

I've had these out for about 10 wading trips and it seems no matter what I do,the rubber feet on these waders "slip" down into my wading boots causing the whole wader to get jammed lower on my body during my session. I've worn thick socks and neoprene booties inside the waders and cinched down my wading boots TIGHT on my feet bu... Read Moret it still happens. I'm close to returning these but love the light weight of these waders. Am I doing something wrong?

May 31, 2018

Fits nice; have yet to take into the field

This is just a short review on how they fit; I'll update when I take them fishing for the first time. Just got a pair of the Medium-body Large-shoe waders. The footie fits my size 13 foot even with wool socks,so I'll probably have to double up on wool socks so the footie fills out. The body is decent for size with only a little bit of bag... Read Moregyness; enough to move around. I didn't want a baggy waist or chest.

May 31, 2018

FANTASTIC TO PACK AND WEAR

Bought these for a 3 day float trip in Gunnison Gorge. They packed great and were perfect for the cool water and hot days. Others skipped bringing waders because of weight concerns for the hike to the river. Mine,combined with the neoprene socks,were great,and I kept comfortable in the high mid-day temps.

March 3, 2018

Overall impressed after 3 uses

These are as minimalist as you can get. after using them a few times,there are a few things that would make these better but of course would add and extra ounce or two to the design. the waders really need two belt loops so you can store your net behind you back in the waist band. secondly,the waders need at least one internal pocket like in the ri... Read Moreo gallegos. these are minimal changes but would make the waders more functional. Aside from this,the waders are SUPER thin,so they will not keep your feet warm. The fleece booties are a necessity if your going to be in cold water otherwise you'll freeze! The waders fit great and I really like the beefy design on the gravel guards. One minor thing that may be annoying in the future is the crease in the rubber booties. You don't feel it when wearing thick socks and the fleece booties but,when its summer out and warm,I have a feeling that crease will be felt all day long. There seems to be little / no chance of that crease to disappear with use. Thats what I can report after 3 uses...overall its a great design and i do love how light they are for backpacking to some of the high country lakes that I fish as well as remove rivers.

January 25, 2018

Excellent waders!

You want a review? I got a review for ya. I have about 90 days in these waders fishing smaller streams and rivers here in Texas. Along with a little impromptu trip to Colorado and New Mexico. Through it all I'll honestly say I didn't exactly baby them either. Some hear the words 'lightweight' and/or 'packable' and inst... Read Moreantly think 'thin' and 'delicate'. Not the case with these. 90(ish) days of fishing, bushwacking, falling and these waders are still going strong. No leaks of any type, no seepage via seams, nada. The material is very durable yet super lightweight. Lightweight/breathable enough that I wasn't sweltering while fishing in 90 degree heat. I would recommend layering up a bit when the mercury starts to drop below 45 degrees though. With the right layering they are a great 3 season wader. The booties on these are awesome. No seams means no leaks. They are thin yet very durable. I didn't wear wading boots with them at all. I wore a pair of older trail running shoes and they worked great. I think the best thing about the booties is no more waking up to cold, still kinda soggy neoprene in the mornings. The rubber booties dry out within a few minutes of taking them off. The only nitpick I have with them is that the fit is a little sloppy. Not as form fitting as some of the neoprene booties out there. But thats a minor thing. Also if you're going to wear these in colder runoff I highly recommend some sort of fleece sock to keep the ole toes warm. The packability of these is key. It takes 30 seconds to shove them into the stuff sack and they take up no space. Get to use the ole outdoor world cliche here and say they pack up to the size of a Nalgene bottle. Definitely nice for traveling light or for backpacking when you may encounter that high alpine lake just loaded with Rio Grande cutties. All in all I think these are some amazing waders. Minimalist enough to take anywhere, durable enough for the hardcore, everyday fishing bum. The ONLY thing I wish these things had were a couple of the drop in pockets like on the Rio Gallegos waders. They wouldn't add much bulk/weight and they would make it easier to go even lighter by being able to stash a small fly box and some tippet inside. ***I was fortunate enough to receive a pair of these waders at no cost to do some testing.***

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches