Back to Product

River Salt Wading Boots

Write Your Review

4.9 /5

Filter Reviews

All 29 Reviews

Clear All

River Salt Wading Boots

4.9
September 19, 2020

Superb

Love these wading boots. Yes they are expensive but the quality oozes. Patagonia have scored a perfect partnership with Danner to create the best wading boot on the market. Having worn Danner on Military Ops I know I can trust them completely for comfort and durability. I love the fact that the boots are able to take new soles so they will last for... Read More years to come. Recently, I have tested these boots in Scotland - Both river and loch fishing and they were really impressive. I don't worry about my feet at all from walking in to wading peaty waters. The grip is impressive even though I have not put the supplied studs in. With the stud in even the most slippery conditions would be easy conquerable. Overall, superb boots which I expect to use for years.

September 8, 2020

Aesthetic, Style, Function

Aesthetics: As an Artist, I care for Aesthetics and Style first. I don't understand why fly fishing has such a boring everything is the same cookie cutter flavorless wack muted grumpy dumpy old man gadget dangling look. Any way the boots look FRESH. I've worn them off river with jeans and for a recent photo shoot for one of those style/de... Read Moresign magazines you see at the supermarket. Those boxes are checked. On and Off River...At that price they have to do double time. Function: I have a wide foot 3E 11/11.5 size. I usually buy a size up for Width. I did this with the River Salt. I got a size 12. Brand new it felt right but mind and gut was telling me NO! Don't do it. So I reordered the 11. Perfect fit. I walked around the house first. They were tight. I tried different socks and thought I had made a bad choice because they felt kinda tight still after 2 weeks of house styling. I took them out on the River and the dew from the grass seemed to loosen them up before they got really wet. The trail walks to the river are comfortable. You can get a good long hike in the River Salts no problem. No discomfort for me. The grip is good in and out of the water. The support for me is good. The boot flexes with my ankles and are just there in the pocket like an old friend. I don't feel like I'm fighting padding or heavily sloshing around. The boots are nimble and light weight. I feel like the fish know my boots look good so it makes my fly's look good and they just hop on my line. Plus, I clean my boots after every trip to remove the grit. I want them to last cause I know how to tear a product up. So I need the Patagonia warranty. The boots now look scruffy and fresh like a fave pair of Docs. Cons: I feel like I'm always wanting to re tying my laces every hour or so now that the boot has relaxed. I was planning on adding some blue or safety orange laces anyway cause aesthetics and style. I will see if that helps. I may also add a new insole to see if I can get even more comfort out of a very comfortable light weight stylish boot that does good work.

July 14, 2020

Super Durable and Comfortable

These are the best wading boots I've ever owned. As a guide, I rely on durable and comfortable boots every day and these boots are top notch. I've had these boots for about a month now and have at least 15 days in them and I've beat them up. Everything from rough freestones, to tailwaters with basketball shaped boulders that roll, to... Read More sandy flats, to 12 mile hikes, these boots have done everything I've asked and shown minimal wear thus far. I can't speak for longevity, but so far I'm impressed. Being American made is a huge plus and important to me as well. Note: They do run a hair small. I initially ordered a 12, which it what I typically wear in boots, but they were a bit tight. I went to a 13 and they are good, slightly big, but that's fine since I need heavy socks for 4-5 months out of the year in the Northeast.

July 15, 2020

Fit Issues

I really wanted to make these boots work for me, as the quality is really unparalleled in the wading boot industry. Absolutely love that Danner is making wading boots for Patagonia. Unfortunately, they just don't fit my feet. I usually wear a 9.5 in normal shoes and a 10 in most wading boots. The 10's in these were excruciatingly tight an... Read Mored there was no way I was going to deal with that kind of pain. I then purchased these in 11 (as suggested by other reviewers) and my heel was slipping out because of the length. I also tried buying the Foot Tractors in my normal 10 and they didn't fit either, super heavy and my heel was also pulling out of them when walking. I guess I just can't win with these boots.

May 26, 2020

Comfy Performer

This boot is incredibly comfortable and stable. I have had hiking style fishing boots in the past that were great for packing, but provided little in the way of comfort or support - especially for someone with flat feet like me. These are exceptional and well worth the price. You may find them a bit small if you like to wear thick socks along with ... Read Moreyour wading sock. I wear a size 10.5US so opted for the 11. This gave me a snug fit with just normal socks on underneath my waders.

March 28, 2020

Awesome wading boots

These boots are fantastic. I wear 10-10.5 shoes but I got size 11 here. I pair these with the Middle Fork waders and it's a perfect fit. In the winter, I add the fleece oversocks and they really help stabilize the boot and keep me super warm. The boots have been great for hiking into remote spots. Without waders, they're a tad big on me, ... Read Morebut nonetheless, I hiked 5 miles one day without waders and they still felt great. Really happy with these and it's great knowing that I can get these repaired easily down the road. Great product!

February 23, 2020

most comfortable boots I've ever owned

I typically wear an 11.5/12 street shoe and ordered these in size 12 to use wet wading with a 5mm neoprene sock and that combo has yielded the most comfortable wading boot I've ever owned. They are lighter weight than I expected and work well for locations that involve an extended hike in as well. I'm very happy with these!

December 19, 2019

Some of the best boots I have worn

I tromped around in various boots in various countries throughout my military tenure and I like to believe that my feet have seen their fair share of mileage. I recently had the pleasure of making a trip to Kiribati and Fanning Atoll in the Pacific. Needless to say, these have been some of the most comfortable boots I have ever worn. Endless miles ... Read Moreof stalking bones on the flats, navigating coral reefs for triggers & bumpies, to casting out of a panga to trevally and tuna, these boots handled it all. I have also utilized this boot fishing my home rivers as a hiking boot. Light and efficient. Can’t say enough good about this boot. I am a 12.5-13 street shoe and the sz 13 was perfect!

November 5, 2019

I’ve used river salt boots

I’ve used river salt boots on norshore of Lake Superior streams and Wisconsin’s Brule River. They seemed a little tight at first but after wearing them they fit great. Very comfortable and light enough to wear all day. So far so good time will tell how they wear and last

November 4, 2019

Wonderful boot

The sizing is accurate. Just order the size you normally wear in any other shoe. I overthought the issue and ordered a size up given the need for Neoprene Socks. They turned out to be a size too large. I feel the boots are just slightly larger than normal to comfortably fit with thick wool or wading socks. The exchange process was very convenient a... Read Morend I couldn't be happier with these boots. I wear a size 13 tennis shoe and the size 13 in this boot is perfect. Trust the sizing.

October 31, 2019

Light but tough

I love the fit and feel of of my River Salt Wading Boots. I wear a womens 9 so I orders a size 8. The fit is right on. They are comfortable and are exactly what I was hoping for.

October 25, 2019

Great fit

So far, really liking the fit a feel of these boots paired with my Middle Fork Waders. These boots are extremely light and rugged. Not much effort to break in as well. Worthy investment for my feet. Ordered size 10 . I typically wear 9.5 in a running shoe and boots. Plenty of room for winter socks.

September 13, 2019

Great Boots

Just finished my first week in the new River Salt boots wading in Montana. Great fit (ordered a size larger than I wear in shoes). Also excellent traction in mud and river bottom

September 5, 2019

River Salt

One of the most comfortable boots ive ever put on. from the second i put my foot in the boot till i took it off. Grippy with plenty of support.

August 14, 2019

Great traction, super comfortable

These boots are amazing, easy to hike in and great traction on slippery rocky stream bottoms. I agree with the other reviews that sizing up if you're wearing waders, I normally wear a size 13 but the 14 fits unreal w/ my new Rio Gallegos waders (w/ booties). Looking forward to years of trout slaying in these boots!

August 14, 2019

Best wading boots ever...

... but as expected, due to Patagonia and Danner both being awesome companies in their own right! This collaboration caught my eye immediately as I wear Danner's in the mountains and pats boots in the wet wade realm, so of course I was excited to get these. Awesome boot! Looking forward to years of use!

August 13, 2019

First Wading Boots and I couldn't be happier

I snagged these boots right before heading out on my first ever fly fishing trip... 8 days on the Aniak River. Patagonia's reputation for quality and the weight (light) of the River Salt boots sold me. Upon receipt I loved the feel and was excited to get them out, albeit a little nervous taking brand new boots on such a long trip. My worries t... Read Moreurned out to never be a problem. The boots fit perfectly and after 8 long days on the river, 12-14 hours a day wearing them, I never had a single blister or hot spot. The traction was great and the quality is not in question. I'll probably have these forever, but when it comes time for another pair of Wading Boots, I'll be getting another pair from Patagonia.

August 10, 2019

The Salt

The most comfortable wading boot I’ve ever owned in my 60 years of fly fishing. With the provided studs they provide extremely secure footing. And they are downright beautiful.

August 10, 2019

So far, So good

I'm hard on my wading boots. They get dragged on backcountry trips and hike/wading adventures more than anything else. The need to cover miles comfortably, work with waders or when temperatures climb wet wade all rank high. So far I can say the River Salt Boots have been up to the task. They took a a short break moment - Two days on the river ... Read Moreuntil I forgot I was wearing them. They felt great with waders and worked without waders when used for hiking on tundra/wet wading. The fact they can be rebuilt comes as a big bonus. I'd rather repair then replace. As with any product, they will have to withstand the tests of time, and hard usage, but reaction after a 2 week backcountry trip is that they are a big jump in quality and design from my last pair of wading boots.

August 4, 2019

My favorite wading boot!

I took these bad boys to Christmas Island, a place that destroys tennis shoes and my past wading boots in a week. We fished open ocean with coral, sand and rocks pounding on us. It’s usually a boot destroyer day, but my soles looked untouched after two weeks on the island. I didn’t even have to break in my boot. My first day wearing them was on t... Read Morehe island and they worked out perfect. I am a women’s size 8, and went to a men’s size 6: I usually like my boots bigger, but these fit perfectly. The boot fits so tight around my ankle in a good way! Keeping river sediment out as well as salt and coral on the saltwater trips I didn’t even wear a gravel guard and it worked out fine (I somehow didn’t pack my wading socks is the reason I didn’t wear any). I am now half way through my guide season and obsessed with the traction, durability and comfort I get every day. They do look worn, well loved and how a boot should look. But I have no doubt I’ll get many years out them. Couldn’t recommend a better wet wading boot.

June 17, 2019

Great for combat wading

I just put these to the test on the McCloud river for 5 days of combat wading - including bowling ball slick basalt, sharp edges, slimy rocks, and precarious trails up and down. They were super solid. Reports of them sizing small turned out to be unfounded for me. I wear size 10.5 in dress shoes, 11 in athletic shoes. Size 11 was perfect for me wit... Read Moreh wool socks and neoprene wet wading booties as well as neoprene stocking foot waders. The Megagrip soles were solid on everything except slime-coated smooth basalt.

May 8, 2019

Get Em For These Reasons

1) If you buy the proper size, they fit like a combat boot. 2) The stability is incredible. 3) For the climbers out there, a bombproof Vibram sole. 4) and, admittedly, I’ve only hiked 50ish miles so far, the fit is great. Send it!

May 8, 2019

River Salt Wading Boots (Built By Danner)

I have always been a huge fan of Danner boots and when I found out they made wading boots for Patagonia I definitely pulled the trigger and bought a pair. Very well made and Danner will fix them if they ever need it. These boots are absolutely the best wading footwear available. They are quite expensive but well worth the cost. I have put them thr... Read Moreough about 25 days of solid fishing since I received them in March 2019. Hiking in these boots is unlike any other pair I have owned and they feel like high quality hiking boots rather than wading boots. The soles stick to everything from steep trail to slimy river rock! I opted for the Salt River as I do tend to hike into secluded locations as well as run a drift boat so I wanted the lighter version. The boots fit exactly as described so pay attention to the fitting description for sizing up or down depending on the boot you choose. 5 stars in my book and I will most likely never need to buy another pair!

March 22, 2019

The River Salt Boot does it all!!!

From long walks into fabled trout streams, sketchy wades on steelhead rivers in the pacific northwest, and coral and marl of Caribbean flats these boots have handled it all! Find the right size for what you are planning to use them for most and they will provided good protection and comfort in a variety of situations.

March 12, 2019

Excellent boots but size up!

My twin brother recommended to size up on these boots and he was right. In the past I've worn 11's across the board in Patagonia and Simms. These definitely need the size 12 for me. The Patagonia customer service team is second to none and they helped me get them in time for a trip and I can't be more impressed with them and the boot... Read Mores. While they are a little pricey, I will say I feel that they have the wow factor and are made in America, so, for me, I can justify this kind of purchase. I promised one of the reps that I would write a review and I'm following through with that. They're rugged, well built, and feel like they can last the long haul. I usually put over 200 days on the water and I am anxious to put these to work over the next season and I'll try and do a follow up review at the end of the year. I wasn't too sold on the look of the other Danner models, so, I went with the River Salts. I am glad that I did. They are very lightweight and feel like a lighter and more stable modern combat boot. They mate well with my Gallegos and G4's and I feel like they are comfortable and not circulation restrictive like I find a lot of Simms Boots to be like. These boots don't have any notable flaws that I can see and after being in them for an hour hanging out and getting a feel for them I am 100 % confident that sizing up is the right choice. My brother said he tried the 11's on (we both have the same size foot) and he said they were much tighter on the toe box compared to previous models like the foot tractor or ultralight. Any smaller and they wouldn't fit right, so, if you are about to pull the trigger, I would size one size up and you won't regret it if you intend on wearing them with all season waders that have standard neoprene booties. If you only intend on wet wading with them without booties, then you would probably be safe going with the street shoe size. otherwise, I can't emphasize enough how they fit differently from previous boots you may have owned. The size up also doesn't feel sloppy or loose anywhere where I felt like I would slide out of them. I could easily get my thick wool socks on and the neoprene boots with room for another pair of socks if you need them. You will love the boots and I will hopefully be able to report a wonderful review at the end of the year for you. Great job Patagonia!

March 10, 2019

BUY THEM! BUT BE WARNED! SMALLER THAN PREVIOUS BOOTS, SIZE UP! READ BELOW!

So, my brother ordered these and I just had to try them on while he was out of town and I will say the build quality is absolutely top notch. However...they are DEFINITELY smaller than previous Patagonia boots. These are almost like they're sized for wet wading without neoprene booties. I HIGHLY recommend sizing to the next size up! I had some... Read More old thin socks on when I tried these on in my G4 waders and I will say they were basically crushing my feet on the toe box. 15 minutes afterwards and my feet were still aching. It was like I was almost putting on climbing shoes (okay, maybe not that tight, but still! you get the point). Imagine these on the river being compounded by being on your feet all day and think how much swelling you'll get. I cannot entertain the idea. Trust me. SIZE UP. Why haven't any of the beta testers mentioned this?? This would've been useful information, so, I figured I would help my fellow anglers out. In the old foot tractors and the ultralights I am a size 11. I also wear size 11 in the Simms G3 and their Sandstone model. I have to have a size 12 in these. Minimum. I fish a lot (sometimes in excess of 275+ days a year on the water) and I've worn a lot of boots before. Without a doubt, the quality construction build is unparalleled right now on the market. The added benefit is that the colors are spot on for my new gen Simms G4's and Pat Rio Gallegos Waders. If you can even contemplate spending this kind of coin on a pair of boots, bite the bullet and buy them..(SMH c'mon Patagonia! Too much $$ for these. I've never even spent HALF this much on any pair of shoes my entire life, and these bad boys cost TWICE as much as every other high end wading boot out there...I only justified the purchase because they are made in the USA!!) However, I will say this...they are worth it. Would I be more satisfied if they were at least..$75 cheaper? $100 cheaper? YES!. I would gladly pay a premium for some nice boots, but...this price?..It is excessive Patagonia...didn't even bother buying me a drink first. But I will say that now that I have them, I won't wear another pair. They're worth it. Trust me. Just buy them. They are incredibly lightweight, high quality construction, and look fantastic. They aren't bulky like their previous boots or other manufacturers. They even included a set of extra laces and some studs in the box! If you have been on the fence on whether or not you can justify buying them, let me ask the question that my Scout Master once posed: What is the most important thing about fly fishing?...Well the answer is obvious..."Looking cool". Which these definitely accomplish. But in all seriousness, these have a very high quality construction build with actually comfortable insoles as well as have extremely grippy rubber compound soles. If you have ever handled Danner's military boots they use comparable robust ballistic nylon webbing. The toe box doesn't look like goofy clown shoes that most Simms boots have either. TLDR. Size up 1 size larger than what you previously bought before. You won't regret buying them.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches