Back to Product

Atom Sling 8L

Write Your Review

4.18 /5

Filter Reviews

All 155 Reviews

Clear All

Atom Sling 8L

4.18
True To Size
August 8, 2020

The Perfect Bag

My mom got me one for my birthday 5 years ago and I have used it everyday since. I just ordered a new one. Nothing wrong with the old one just wanted a new color and the new style. Super durable and fits tons of stuff.

August 1, 2020

Versatile & Durable

I bought my first Atom in 2015 and I absolutely love it. I have used it every day since then. I run an outdoor education facility and am often running around camp and need to have things quickly and easily accessible. This bag carries everything I ever need: 1L water bottle, headlamp, wallet, keys, phone, various tools, a rain jacket strapped to th... Read Moree back. My absolute favorite part about this bag is that the front pocket perfectly holds my two-way radio that I need to have on my at all times (although I don't think this would be possible with the new model, which will be a bummer when I need to replace it). I've given these bags as gifts to several people and they are always a hit! I will say that the only real issue I take with this bag is the pilling that it causes on my shirts and jackets. I've mostly just gotten over it, but I won't wear it with nicer tops that I care more about.

July 30, 2020

Great bag 4 the Active Lifestyle

Ride a bike, wear this. It will carry your essentials.

July 22, 2020

Great little bag

The Atom sling is a great little bag perfect for a day hike or a trip around town. Great design and fit. I could see utilizing the available space a bit better but overall a bag I will use for years.

July 13, 2020

Love this sling!

I'm not sure how I lived without this. I love the design, the fit and the size. It's perfect for hiking or biking. The front zipper fits my phone perfectly and makes it very accessible. The bag is also large enough to store a water bottle, snacks, sunglasses, solar charger, and other small items. I purchased this in the wine color and it&... Read More#x27;s lovely.

July 13, 2020

Great for Quick Access

I use this bag when I go in a short hike or scouting for deer when I do not want to carry a lot. Has excellent pockets and quick access for phone, GPS etc.

July 10, 2020

Great for Quick Access

I use this bag when I go in a short hike or scouting for deer when I do not want to carry a lot. Has excellent pockets and quick access for phone, GPS etc.

July 9, 2020

Love this sling!

I'm not sure how I lived without this. I love the design, the fit and the size. It's perfect for hiking or biking. The front zipper fits my phone perfectly and makes it very accessible. The bag is also large enough to store a water bottle, snacks, sunglasses, solar charger, and other small items. I purchased this in the wine color and it&... Read More#x27;s lovely.

June 17, 2020

Great bag with a couple flaws

I really do love this bag and its a perfect phone, keys, wallet, etc. bag! I use it everyday and I am very happy with my purchase! The only reason I didnt give it 5 stars is because of a few tweaks I think the product needs. First off, it was a tad smaller than I anticipated so just keep that in mind when purchasing. Second, the front pouch isnt qu... Read Moreite big enough for my iPhone+ which I knew it wouldnt be when I purchased the bag. But I do wish they would make the front little pouch a bit bigger. Regardless, great little day bag that I highly recommend!

June 26, 2020

Cute & Handy

I ordered the Blue with Mellow Melon. I was expecting more orangie color for the mellow melon part of it but it was a bit shade of dark pink. Perfect size for walking, casual events, and day trips. Quality looks great. Order processing & shipping were smooth. Came in early than I expected. This is my first Patagonia product and I love it! Im p... Read Morelanning to buy another one on a different color. Definitely recommended!

June 25, 2020

Works great

I love this bag, its great for walking my dog around the neighborhood. My only complaint is at the cell phone pocket in the front isnt big enough for any modern phones.

June 19, 2020

The best

I really enjoy and it fit like a glove

June 19, 2020

perfect size

Perfect size for work and casual wear for everyday!

June 18, 2020

Multi Use Bag

Bag is great quality. Can be used for multiple functions. I use it mostly for casual wear. However also great for hiking and snowboarding to hold your belongings

June 17, 2020

Comfortable

Perfect size for hiking or just casual wearing. I love the zippers and storage spaces. Very comfortable to wear.

June 17, 2020

Cute and comfortable

I use this bag to carry dog treats, some water, and dog poop bags while jogging with my dogs and it works really well! I use it sometimes on bike rides around town and without a sternum strap it sometimes shifts around, but mostly it fits snug and doesn't bounce too bad.

June 17, 2020

Great bag

Great bag for short outings or, in my case, a bag that keeps my sons emergency products (medicines, change of clothes, underwear, etc). It primarily stays in my truck and it is great for what I need.

June 17, 2020

Atom sling

Great bag, perfect for day outings or errands when wearing boardies. Holds the basics perfectly. My only request would be a bag for the left shoulder :)

May 11, 2020

I'd give it 10 stars if I could!

I really am not sure how this pack does not have a full 5 stars. I actually bought this bag back in 2015 and you wouldn't even be able to tell it is 5 years old! It is so durable and handy, I use this as my everyday bag too! My hikes are not extreme enough to need a water pack, but the bag holds two water bottles in addition to wallet, keys, p... Read Morehone etc. I understand why some reviewers don't like the phone pouch size on the strap of the bag. But that's the beauty of it being a sling bag. You just sling it back over your chest and can easily grab your phone, no problem! I used this bag while abroad too and loved the ability to keep all my belongings close to my chest while on public transportation. I hope my current bag doesn't lose its life, but if and when it does I will certainly be buying another!

April 26, 2020

Atom 8L Sling

I just purchased this bag for my son and I to share. He skateboards and we both mountain bike. He will mostly be using it to carry his belongings to the skatepark. We also will use it mountain biking and would like to use a hydration bladder in it. It appears to be 8L compatible. What hydration bladder would fit this bag? Does Patagonia make one? H... Read Moreave other people bought a hydration bladder for theirs?

Response from Patagonia
May 6, 2020

Hi Jen! Thanks so much for your feedback. This pack is not hydration compatible. With that being said, a 1.5L reservoir could fit in the main compartment but we'd recommend a different pack if you need to carry more than that.

March 22, 2020

Spoiled two t-shirts

I am a fan of patagonia and have fleece, warm jackets and bags. I also like the style and size of atom sling. But after walking/running on it few times, I noticed that the backside of the bag damaged my t-shirts. Now I seldom wear the bag or usage is very limited depending on the material of my top.

Response from Patagonia
April 14, 2020

Sorry to hear about the abrasion issue, but we really appreciate the great feedback, Danny! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the bag so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

March 30, 2020

Atom Sling 8L

The Atom is a great little bag for all the things that usually weigh down pockets plus an additional thin layer or windproof. I haven't left the house without it recently.

March 8, 2020

Very nice bag!

I got this bag as a gift! Im a coxswain and its a perfect size to carry everything I need. The front straps are able to hold my cox box and visor. The strap fits my shoulders a little weird but Im fairly small so thats why Iam guessing.

February 25, 2020

Perfect little sling for daily

Perfect little sling for daily carry and commute.

February 25, 2020

Great quality item, comfortable and

Great quality item, comfortable and lightweight

February 20, 2020

Glad to have an Atom again

I dont love purses, but theres always a few things you may need to carry in addition to wallet, keys , and phone. My first introduction to the Atom was approximately 2003-2004. It was a uniquely designed bag, but practical and functional at the same time. I absolutely loved it! It was my favorite Atom! Phones were much smaller then and my flip pho... Read Morene fit perfectly in the pocket on the strap. This version did not have mesh attached to the strap/back of the bag making it much more streamlined and less bulky. I loved the way it fit. I used it for a few years as my EDC bag, however I misplaced it after a move. In 2014, I rediscovered the Atom and happily replaced my beloved bag. In this version I appreciated the smaller flannel lined pocket for your larger smart phones, and the interior zippered mesh pocket for smaller items. I really didnt care for the strap pocket designed specifically for your phone OR the mesh padding on the back/strap. Most phones at that time were too large for that pocket anyway. Being a small framed busty woman, the added pocket on the strap PLUS the mesh padding made the strap more cumbersome and somewhat uncomfortable to wear. I loved the bag, but the strap just didnt work for me. I was really missing my atom bag, but I wasnt crazy about the aesthetic of the atom designs until the most recent version. The strap pocket has been reduced creating a more streamlined strap (which I appreciate. I just wish there wasnt so much padding and mesh). The gusset on the front of the bag is a nice touch creating more space within the bag. I do miss the zippered interior pocket. Now I need to put small items like spare contact lenses, eye drops, bandaids, etc., in a small pouch. I also miss the flannel lined exterior pocket for my phone. The only interior pocket, which is a flannel lined slip pocket, is the only practical place to carry your smart phone. The bag does accommodate two pairs of glasses, a small wallet, a small hairbrush, a small pouch containing earbuds and phone charging cords, the pouch with bandaids, a small tube of hand lotion, and several packs of tissues. There still room for more if necessary. I carry my lip balm and mini Swiss Army knife in the strap pocket. The small exterior pocket holds a small hand sanitizer and my keys on the key clip, but theres no space for anything else. Overall, I really like having a new atom. I love the Pigeon Blue color!

February 5, 2020

Amazing

Amazing

February 5, 2020

handy small pack

useful for short hikes or city day trips.

January 30, 2020

Nice little bag for little

Nice little bag for little walks. Front phone pocket could be bigger for modern massive phones.

January 28, 2020

Patagonia sling 8l

I had a green and pinkish one and well it was great but I had to sell it for money... but for mine and my boyfriends first year anniversary he bought me a blue and white Patagonia sling 8l and it's great!! It fits well, it's comfortable, great colors, just everything is great!!

January 27, 2020

Good choice

Very practical and comfortable bag. It performs good.

January 23, 2020

I'm poor and love Patagonia

I don't have enough for the fly fishing edition, so I got this one. I took it out on the deschutes river and it held up very well, just not enough space for some things. I use it as a fly fishing bag and it is great overall, just quite small if you're looking to carry a bunch of stuff. 10/10 would reccomend

January 4, 2020

Bring back the original!

I’ve used the original atom for years (maybe a decade) on a daily basis as an everyday purse, small hiking pack, etc. I believe the original was called the atom because of it it’s ease orbiting around your body. This new pack is a far cry from the original. This one feels thick and cumbersome with way too much padding and thick padded strap pocket ... Read More(as if it was designed to hold a phone- but isn’t big enough to). It should be marketed as a fancy iPod carrier, not the light and versatile atom. Please bring back the original design. I’m so bummed I gave mine away! I ordered the navy and do appreciate the lack of contrasting colors and subtle label for everyday use.

January 2, 2020

Great bag

Great bag

December 30, 2019

Amazing Pack

Took this on a conservation trip to Africa. Perfect size with amazing design!

December 25, 2019

Parenting Equipment

Hands free Baby! Gotta love rocking this thing with the kiddo on the hip, it carries my sandwich, a rain shell, and more items than I can list.

December 23, 2019

Super great if you could

Super great if you could make a waterproof one not saying this one isn’t super great

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Hey Ralph! For a waterproof version check out our [Stormfront Sling](https://www.patagonia.com/product/stormfront-waterproof-sling-bag-20-liters/49241.html?dwvar_49241_color=BLK&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=stormfront&lang=en_US&start=1).

December 23, 2019

Great piece very versatile!

Great piece very versatile!

December 23, 2019

Atom Sling 8L - Great Product

Looks and fits just as expected. Quality as always

December 22, 2019

Nailed it

The wife absolutely loves this sling bag.

December 21, 2019

Love my Sling Bag -

Love my Sling Bag - my favorite Christmas gift !

December 21, 2019

Excelentes

Excelentes

December 18, 2019

Great Bag

This Sling is perfect for travel. Replace your purse with it and feel confident it will hold all of your things safely.

December 15, 2019

I bought 2 slings as

I bought 2 slings as gifts for Christmas. They're perfect! Great size, comfortable, and nice looking.

December 8, 2019

I bought 2 for my

I bought 2 for my great niece and great nephew. They are excellent quality and will fill their needs to a "T"

December 3, 2019

First purchase

Bought these slings for our trip to Costa Rica and they were perfect for the small items needed to go hiking or to beach. I received lots of compliments. Great shopping experience and arrived on time.

November 21, 2019

Not the right fit

My phone (One Plus 7 Pro) wouldn't fit in the strap pocket. The main compartment was nice but the storage space felt like it was lacking and the second pocket was hard was nice to have but was too small once I placed my keys inside maybe my wallet. I also had an issue that The bag never felt secure on me it move to much for regular waking arou... Read Morend use. The bag quality is always great, like I said not the right fit for the job.

Response from Patagonia
December 10, 2019

Thanks for your thoughtful and detailed review, Austin! We're sorry it didn't work out for you, but appreciate the feedback to make improvements to our products. Let us know if you'd like [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with a [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) in the future!

November 16, 2019

Great fit

Perfect size for heading to town or going for a trip. Plenty of space to fit essentials and a bit more.

November 11, 2019

Great, my daughter loved it

Great, my daughter loved it

November 11, 2019

Awesome size, super comfortable

So excited to use this on our trip to Europe as a day bag for walking around the city. Super light, great size.

November 6, 2019

Perfect for small adventures

This pack is just the right size for a day hike. Holds enough stuff to get you through the day. I used this for travel last week and we loved it for holding passports, money, snacks and water. Durable and water resistant.

October 29, 2019

Cell Phone Case -- may not work

Be advised, I have an Iphone 10 and with the case on it will not fit... so I can either not use the sleeve or take the case off each time I use it...

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2019

Hi Scott, thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback! We're sorry to hear that your phone doesn't fit with the case on it. Your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 23, 2019

Great

I love this bag pack the look, quality is the best.

October 17, 2019

Very light weight, works great

Very light weight, works great !

October 10, 2019

Works as promised

The Sling works as advertised and the quality is what I would expect from Patagonia. The size seems just right after a week or so of use. My wife is happy because I no longer ask her to carry my stuff in her purse (wallet, glasses, phone, keys, etc.). It’s officially my man purse!

October 7, 2019

Great Pack, Little Small

I’m a pretty tall guy. I loved the design and pack. But when I got it the pack was really small on me. Great pack, just not for a 6’3” guy.

October 6, 2019

Atom Sling

Slides around to your chest easy,so you hold valuables when it gets sketchy.Ill try it for travel.🤓

October 4, 2019

Absolutely love it

This is the best little backpack for walking, hiking, biking! It holds just the right amount, is adjustable, and I get tons of compliments! Highly recommend it.

October 4, 2019

Atom Sling 8L - Great for camera lens and accessories

I use a Canon 6D DSLR and this is working out great for carrying a couple extra lenses, batteries and other accessories. Convenient over the shoulder that I can swing around to the front to change a lens or get accessories. Not big enough to hold my camera but I didn't get it to hold camera just the accessories while shooting.

October 2, 2019

Great Sling

Great product. My only criticism is, there is no easy way to secure or lock the zippers to protect the bag from pickpockets. I had to secure the zipper using a carabiner and attached it to the daisy chain on the strap. This isn’t an issue when hiking but when traveling international in very crowded places, it’s something to be cautious of.

September 30, 2019

Perfect size and Comfortable

I love the size and comfort of this sling. I can fit quite a bit of stuff inside and the sling still stays in place while I'm out moving around. And I love having the different compartments and key holder.

September 24, 2019

Atom sling 8L

I absolutely love this purchase and so very pleased with it. Thank you so much!

September 21, 2019

Perfect size and fit for travel

Love this sling. Bought it for my upcoming trip to Iceland and I can't wait to use it. The size is just right. It comfortably fits my essentials like gloves, water bottle, wallet and chap stick. I especially chest pocket on the strap for my phone and the fact that I can secure my down jacket on the exterior when I'm not using it. The fit ... Read Moreis perfect and comfortable. This will be used for many of my adventures. I got the teal and gray but there's lots to choose from.

September 19, 2019

The Atom Sling is very

The Atom Sling is very well made but the size was smaller than expected. I find the size was not worthy of the cost, in my opinion.

September 19, 2019

Great Accessory

Not too big, not too small. This bag is perfect for being out and about in town, or for short adventures into nature. Can even serve as a trunk bag on a bicycle, if tied down properly. The construction seems too notch too.

September 17, 2019

Solid overall pick for tourist season

Used the pack for two weeks in Italy. Moves easily forward or can be worn backwards when you need to guard your belongings. Wish it had a way to lock the zippers in a closed position. Small pocket was great for coins and other small essentials. Large pocket held a packable rain jacket, tablet, sunglasses, and other nice to have things with no issue... Read More. The strap pocket is too small for my S8+ phone. I used it to hold a pen. I easily wore this pack in the forward position and in reverse when having my 40 liter pack on my back.

September 16, 2019

Not too big- not too

Not too big- not too small, just right!

September 15, 2019

Stephen C

The bag is very well constructed and the quality you would expect from Patagonia. My complaint is with the size; I overestimated the capacity of 8L. Just a little bigger would be perfect.

September 10, 2019

A great daytripper camera pack...

I spend a lot of my days walking around cities taking photographs. I often carry two cameras with me. After years of lugging around larger DSLR cameras and lenses I was looking to lighten my load. I find compact cameras today provide good enough quality for 80% of my work. I can usually slip a smaller camera in one pant pocket, but two cameras in m... Read Morey pants pockets is a stretch. I picked up the Atom Sling 8L to hold my larger city camera, spare batteries and a few other things. It’s a terrific daytripper camera bag. My camera(s) easily fit in the main compartment, as does my iPhone. The secondary body compartment holds my keys and spare batteries. The little zippered pocket on the shoulder strap holds prepackaged alcohol-based sanitary hand wipes to clean myself occasionally during the day and (especially) before eating finger-food while walking all day around the city. You can remove a camera without taking off the bag and the Atom Sling is a lot cooler to wear on hot summer days than a conventional daypack.

September 8, 2019

I like it

It’s a great size for urban adventures, or short bike rides. Love the color and it’s comfortable to wear.

September 7, 2019

Using every day!

I love the the style and color, and how I can easily rotate it around to the front to access the main pocket. The only drawbacks are that I can’t fit my phone into the front strap pocket and it swings around when I’m biking. A small waist strap would be nice and practical. Either way I will probably continue to use this everyday!

August 31, 2019

4 Star product

It would have been a 5 stars if the pocket on the strap was slightly larger to hold iPhone + and android phones.

August 28, 2019

Smaller than advertised

Nice design and workmanship but not as big as designed. My wife has a previous version of it and it has a wrap around strap that this one lacks. I was hoping to replace a sling bag by another company which has greater capacity but has a poor lightweight shoulder strap. If Patagonia made this in 10-12 litter size I would buy as long as it has all th... Read Moree bells and whistles that the 8 has. I know you can do it and it would be more than a purse.

August 26, 2019

I use the Atom Sling 8L for daily use.

I purchased the AS8L to replace my past sling, which I don't recall the technical name. My new sling is not quite as big as the one it replaced. It has less loose straps which I appreciate and fits to my body nicely when worn as a sling. I usually just sling it over one arm though. I have a hard time fitting my liter water bottle into it with ... Read Morea few other daily belongings. My older model i phone fit s into strap compartment but nothing else will fit with it. There is no inside zip pocket in the larger compartment like there was in the older version. So, I have nowhere really to fit personal belongings like toiletries and first aid kit. I use the arm sling for my chapstick, eye drops, wine key, pen and driver key and put my cell phone in the smaller compartment. I can fit my wallet with the cell phone. Though its a snug fit. Since there is no inside zip compartment in the larger compartment, only a sleeve I have switched my first aid/toiletry kit to a small zipped pack bag and it goes to the bottom of the large compartment with my liter water bottle. I work in a restaurant and have a canvas cash zip envelope that slides into the big compartment with toiletries and water bottle. This leaves very limited space for anything else I might want to bring with me for my day. I think I have moved into the bag but I am considering switching to a smaller water bottle for a more comfortable pack of the rest of my belongings.Overall, the AS8L fits me nicely but has limited space for all of my things I like to have on my person for the day.

August 22, 2019

Fits my needs

It's a nice day pack that carries all the essentials you may need. For hydration I typically load up a 21oz hydroflask but can accommodate a full 40oz hydroflask. I love that along the strap there two loops that I can to put a carabiner for hooking the bag on to stuff or dangle stuff of from it.

August 17, 2019

Well made and comfortable

but I wish it was just a little bit more spacious.

August 17, 2019

Very Small and Doesn't Lay Well

This was much smaller than I anticipated. Its near useless as anything larger than a purse. You couldn't put a 400-page hardback book in it, and carry anything else with a degree of comfort. In addition the strap is awkwardly designed. It always twists around in the wrong direction when trying to quickly 'sling on' the pack and requi... Read Moreres straightening.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this bag didn't end up working out for your needs and we know our designers and customers will appreciate this feedback. We'd love to assist you with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on this. Just reach out if you'd like any [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact).

August 16, 2019

Excellent Daily Bag

I didn't used to have a daily bag/purse at all like most guys but I have quickly gotten used to the convenience of the Atom Sling. It holds way more than you'd expect, is super comfortable and the way it swings around to the front making the pockets ready to access is beautifully designed. I pretty much take this with me everywhere and k... Read Moreeep keys, wallet, phone changer, light rain jacket, water bottle and other stuff in it. Super handy.

August 16, 2019

Atom Sling

Best product by far on the market, use it as a purse to, great

August 15, 2019

Not great for cycling

I was hoping this sling would be useful for carrying essentials when riding around town, but in the biking position, it keeps falling around to the front of the body, requiring me to continually reposition it.

August 15, 2019

Keepsakes

This is one of the most convenient and efficient bags that I own. It wears very comfortably and allows me to secure my personal items and have them within easy reach.

August 14, 2019

Atom 8L

Amazing bag for running around day to day and short hikes. Does exactly what I needed it for and the quality is great!

August 12, 2019

Amazing Bag!

What can I say...This bag is awesome! It’s a perfect size, comfortable, and functional. My only reason for not giving a five star rating is that within two weeks of receiving and using the bag, the “Patagonia” label began to peel off the front, making it look cheap. I can say though, that my Atom Sling is the only one I’ve ever seen this happen to.... Read More I really love this bag, and need to send it in for a replacement, but I hate to be without it!

August 11, 2019

Atom 8L

Awesome pack. Needs an outside pouch for a water bottle.

August 11, 2019

Atom 8L sling bag

Amazing and easy access. I love it! It’s goes with every. Very durable holds all my things and comfortable.

August 11, 2019

Atom Sling 8L

I love my sling, I take it everywhere I go! I enjoy the ease of sliding my sling to the front and grabbing what I need. I would prefer if the sling bag was a little bigger and a larger front pocket on the strap for my phone. Other than that I am happy with my purchase and get many compliments. I may never use a purse again!

August 11, 2019

I really wanted to love this bag!

I had been pining after this bag for some time, but never went for it as the older reviews had said the "pouch" on the sling itself did not hold newer phones. Over the years as this was corrected I was excited, hoping it would be the simple grab-and-go prepacked bag I used with my little ones as we jetted out the door. Unfortunately, I di... Read Moredn't consider that there was still no versatility in which shoulder you slung the sling. So sadly, it just didn't feel comfortable over my right shoulder, hence I sent it back; a rarity for me with this fine company. Maybe further tweaks in the product will accommodate us weird lefty's in the future...

Response from Patagonia
August 21, 2019

We're sorry to hear this didn't work out after all! We've passed on your feedback regarding the addition of a left handed version. Please let us know if you have any questions regarding your return.

August 10, 2019

Atom sling

Love this, well I use it as a purse, sling small but mighty. A lot fits in this little gem. Very comfortable to wear even with a full water bottle.

August 10, 2019

Sling Bag

Love my sling bag! I love downtown and it’s perfect for everything.... even when go for a bike ride!

August 10, 2019

Love it!!

Such a perfect size. I can fit a couple books, my wallet, some snacks and pens and pencils inside! Perfect for traveling!

August 10, 2019

Good bag

Great bag to carry my small items in while traveling. Love how it hus your back and the adjustable straps are quick and easy. Doen side to the bag is that the strap with rub your neck from time to time. Still wouldnt stop me from getting another one. AWESOME quality material.

August 10, 2019

Great bag for light or heavy use

One of my favorite things about the Atom Sling is the ability to carry it with nothing but my wallet inside or to jam pack it full with a book, water bottle, long sleeve and a jacket strapped to the outside.

August 10, 2019

The perfect bag!

I have never owned a purse! This is the best option I've ever owned for carrying my stuff daily around town and on short hikes.

August 10, 2019

Atom Sling Bag

Attractive compact bag. Good for light cargo, but not practical for larger items. The front pocket is really small. I was trying to replace an older Patagonia sling that holds a 15” laptop with this one, but this is not the bag for that. Functions more as a purse.

August 10, 2019

Useful, but misses the mark

I was looking for a sling pack and chose the Atom Sling 8L. It is good, but not nearly as good as it might have been had its designers simply expanded its size in some fairly minor ways. To whit, its strap has a quite handy zip pocket. Were it a bit larger and/or more stretchable it might actually accommodate a smaller cellphone and some keys. Simi... Read Morelarly, its main compartment would be far more useful were it a couple of inches lengthier and a couple of inches deeper in order that it might more easily accommodate a light jacket, or poncho. I have trouble understanding how Patagonia missed the mark by so little. Without much effort, the sling could have been so much better.

August 10, 2019

Use it everyday!

I started out using the larger sling for fly fishing and I liked the ease of use so much that I bought the smaller Atom sling to incorporate into my daily use. I just was tired of loading up my pockets. I put my wallet, phone, first aid kit, flashlight, multi tool, charger, pen, eye drops and mints in mine. I don’t leave home without it now. The ki... Read Moreds call it my man purse. I would highly recommend this product.

August 10, 2019

Great little bag!

Perfect bag for day trekking

July 29, 2019

Patagonia Atom Sling 8L ROCKS!

I love this bag/purse! I get asked about this bag everywhere I go! I have been looking for something this size and comfort for a few years now. It is perfect for people who need to carry a lot, but do not want to lug around a big purse. It is comfortable and easily adjustable around the neck and shoulder. My favorite part of the bag in the pocket w... Read Moreith zipper that sits on the strap. It is perfect for putting your keys in, so you have them handy to lock your car, take out of your keys for your front door without having to dig through your purse for your keys. Patagonia, you NAILED it on this one. I love it!

July 27, 2019

Disappointing "improvements"

This new design of the Atom 8L took the bag from a good bag to okay bag. Overall I like the competitor Osprey much better than any Atom DESIGN as Osprey's padding and material that comes in contact with your clothes is much more clothes-friendly (Atom's mesh is rough and feels like its going to put pills in my clothes). However, Patagonia... Read More win's with the color combinations they have offered in the PAST. Current color combinations are less spectacular. So going back to why this new design is ok: they took out the extra mesh pocket in the main compartment and put awkward padding the the large inner pocket. This was a disaster move. Why make a bag that was good for overall use become more specific for tablet carry? Is there really that large of population out there that wanted this? Anyways, I really miss the inner mesh pocket to keep my Rx sunglasses and small objects separated and safe. If Patagonia brings back fun colors and adds the mesh inside pocket back then this would be a great bag!

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2019

Thanks so much for your feedback!

July 12, 2019

Blah colors

The color choices for this season are all so dreary! Wound up with the birch white with teal for a little color. The white gets dirty very fast. The color also doesn’t allow you to discretely carry cash in the chest pocket, as it’s somewhat see through. However, it’s a great size! And it’s seriously comfortable.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2019

We are glad to hear that the functionality of the bag is working for you and that it is comfortable. We also greatly appreciate the feedback on the color options. If you decide that you are unsatisfied with the color you ordered, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us.

June 23, 2019

A good sling, but could be great with a few improvements

I’ve had the Atom Sling for 2 years, and have used it for everything: travel, hiking, everyday errands, work meetings and conferences, family outings. It does better at some of those tasks - namely errands, meetings/conferences, and travel - than others. The good first. The size is perfect for my needs. It’s just big enough for an iPad Pro 11 with... Read More Smart Keyboard and Pencil, a compact camera, a light layer, sunglasses, and snacks in the main compartment, with space for several other small items. the chest pocket fits an iPhone X in a case, and it’s possible to strap on a water bottle with the outside straps: everything I need for a full day out (if not more). The size is just small enough that it’s unobtrusive in crowded places, and doesn’t trigger security concerns that even a compact daypack can trigger. The ability to quickly swing the bag around and access stuff is great On the negative side, it’s not the most comfortable bag for several hours of carry. The single adjustment makes it difficult to lock the bag down, resulting in the bag weighing down on my shoulder. That lack of lockdown also means the bag will slide around when you don’t want it to. There’s not a great way to carry a water bottle. I don’t like the idea of a water bottle being around things I don’t want to get wet (electronics, layers, food), but attaching a bottle with the straps isn’t great because it puts a lot of weight far away from my back, making the bag unbalanced. It’s also difficult to get the straps tight enough to keep things like water bottles and layers from slipping/moving around, which also shifts the bag’s weight (and making it more uncomfortable). All in all, it makes the bag not great for hikes or family outings where I have to carry the family’s stuff. Also, the lack of organization makes it a bit of a black hole, despite how small it is. I’d likely still get it again if I was in the market for a sling - I haven’t found anything better - but there are a bunch of small improvements that would make it great: - Add a water bottle pocket to the bottom, like the Stealth Atom has. The bag is wide enough to accommodate a 1L bottle. Given the focus on going away from single use plastics, making it easy to carry a water bottle should be a priority for all bag makers. - Swap the outside straps for a stretch mesh pocket, like the Nine Trails bags have. It would make for a more secure carry for layers or whatnot than the straps. - Add an additional strap adjustment so the bag can be locked down better. - Add an organization panel to the large compartment. - Add a hidden zippered slot to the back panel. A compartment that would make it difficult for pickpockets would it perfect for travel.

June 16, 2019

Great until it ruins all of your clothing

I used to use this bag almost everyday, it served all of my purposes and needs and I preferred it over any purse. However, I have noticed that it is ruining all of my clothes. My tops are pilling on the shoulder and where the bag lays on the back of my shirt. I am disappointed because I loved this atom sling along with many other Patagonia products... Read More. Especially with the higher price point I would have never thought my new shirts would be ruined and I expected better quality. I would consider buying again if they fixed the backing of the bag that would prevent pilling on clothing, so be careful of your shirts if you buy this product.

Response from Patagonia
June 19, 2019

We're sorry to hear about the issue you've had with the strap. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us and let us know if you have any questions.

June 13, 2019

best atom yet

I have the original atom from about 20 years ago and so happy with these upgrades... essentials fit perfect.... 14oz nalagen, engagement calendar/notebook, snack, sunglasses, keys, wallet. my iphone fits perfect in the check pocket. I do have the smallest one, iphone5 though. so I can see how others are commenting their iphone doesn't fit. I c... Read Moreommute to work on my bike and it stays put.. even without the hip strap which was eliminated. it's perfect!!!

May 27, 2019

Almost really good

This bag is really easy to use in terms of access and roominess (that is, given its 8L capacity. If you want a bigger bag, there are bigger bags available. Just not this one). I like the way I can swing it around to the front and easily open the zippers. As others have noted, the lack of a water-bottle holder is a drawback though. Worse though for ... Read Moreme is the strap, which pretty much attacks my neck. I wanted a small and inconspicuous bag, and for the size of the bag the amount of padding on the strap seems unnecessary. It just ends up constantly chafing. The bag also doesn’t seem to want to stay in place. This may be an inherent problem/tradeoff with slings, or maybe it’s just my particular build, but I’m always having to adjust it. Finally, some sort of thing internal zipped pocket for passport or wallet security would be really helpful.

May 25, 2019

For daughter

Bought this for my daughter for school and she loves it! It's perfect for her phone, money, keys and any other essentials she needs, instead of carrying a purse

May 20, 2019

Doesn't fit a small iphone.

After wanting one for so long, I finally purchased this bag for travel and camping. I was so excited for the front pocket to fit my phone, but it doesn't. How disappointing. I have the smaller iphone 10 and it's definitely one of the smallest smartphones on the market, so if mine doesn't fit then nobody's does. Sad.

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2019

We're sorry you are dissatisfied with the Atom Sling 8L. Please note you are welcome to [return](http://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this at any time; your satisfaction is always guaranteed.

May 12, 2019

Another Perfect Patagonia Purchase BUT......

Well, the Atom Sling 8L is ALMOST perfect but it needs, in my personal opinion, a zippered compartment inside for security’s sake. My slightly larger sling which I bought two years ago does have a mesh zippered pocket that I utilize all the time. Otherwise, I love it as I do all of my Patagonia wear. You are the best in a world of competitive bra... Read Morends! Thank you. Mary Jane Goodrich

May 8, 2019

Love this bag! Perfect size

Love this bag! Perfect size and easy use. Love how easy it is to move it back to front for quick access!

May 8, 2019

I love this bag!!

This bag is perfect! I love how it fits around you, and has so much space. I also love that i get to decorate mine! Thank you so much Patagonia!

May 8, 2019

Smaller than expected

This new version is much smaller than the previous one I purchased. It doesn’t hold nearly as much.

April 27, 2019

Could be way better

This bag is still useful but has regressed. I lost my atom 7l and had to replace it immediately - with this. Unfortunately this model is not the epic that the previous (teardrop) model was. Please bring bag the waist strap - it means you can run, cycle, climb without having to adjust the bag every 2 seconds.. and pack it away when you didn't n... Read Moreeed it. The inside mesh pocket on the teardrop shape I actually used and the outside pocket on this model is not very useful. A shame to change something that worked brilliantly as it was.

April 27, 2019

Could be way better

This bag is still useful but has regressed. I lost my atom 7l and had to replace it immediately - with this. Unfortunately this model is not the epic that the previous (teardrop) model was. Please bring bag the waist strap - it means you can run, cycle, climb without having to adjust the bag every 2 seconds.. and pack it away when you didn't n... Read Moreeed it. The inside mesh pocket on the teardrop shape I actually used and the outside pocket on this model is not very useful. A shame to change something that worked brilliantly as it was.

April 27, 2019

Could be way better

This bag is still useful but has regressed. I lost my atom 7l and had to replace it immediately - with this. Unfortunately this model is not the epic that the previous (teardrop) model was. Please bring bag the waist strap - it means you can run, cycle, climb without having to adjust the bag every 2 seconds.. and pack it away when you didn't n... Read Moreeed it. The inside mesh pocket on the teardrop shape I actually used and the outside pocket on this model is not very useful. A shame to change something that worked brilliantly as it was.

April 23, 2019

Nice bag but strap pouch won't hold a cell phone

This bag would be a winner but the fact that the pouch on the strap won't hold an iPhone 8 is a deal breaker. I'm not sure how the design team thought that that size would be adequate for anyone since a cell phone is exactly what would go in there. I bet it wouldn't hold a large power bar either. Too bad.

April 20, 2019

Good quality bag

My sister was the one to make the purchase, however I have used it more often than not when she’s not looking. I am able to fit a 32oz hydro flask along with a book and my big wallet in the bigger compartment. With my phone and sunglasses in the smaller one. I can also attach a jacket to the bag when it gets too hot. I love this bag, yet sometimes ... Read Moreit is a little to awkward to carry around.

April 4, 2019

Almost Perfect

I hate carrying a purse when I travel and a standard backpack is too big for walking around cities and exploring all day. What really drew me to this bag was the pocket on the strap, which claims to fit most cellphones. I have the standard iPhone 7 and it doesn't fit. This may be a deal breaker for me. The rest of the bag is great.

April 2, 2019

Love this bag!

I love this bag! I've been carrying it everyday for the last year and a half. It fits everything that I need to carry on a day-to-day basis.

March 31, 2019

Love this bag!!

I purchased this bag in June of 2018 and have used it for so many different occasions. I bought this when I lived in Hawaii and hiked multiple times a week, worked wonderful!! Just does not fit a hydro flask (obviously). I recently sent it in for a return because the back fabric was starting to come undone and ruin a lot of my shirts/sweatshirts. I... Read More will definitely be buying a new one with my gift card they send. Am a little disappointed they don’t have the purple and turquoise color I just sent in.

March 31, 2019

Love this bag!!

I purchased this bag in June of 2018 and have used it for so many different occasions. I bought this when I lived in Hawaii and hiked multiple times a week, worked wonderful!! Just does not fit a hydro flask (obviously). I recently sent it in for a return because the back fabric was starting to come undone and ruin a lot of my shirts/sweatshirts. I... Read More will definitely be buying a new one with my gift card they send. Am a little disappointed they don’t have the purple and turquoise color I just sent in.

March 26, 2019

Love this bag

I’ve had this bag for over a year now. I use it every single day. It had held up very well. I also have a kavu but it’s too large and doesn’t have the strap pocket. I am currently on here to purchase another one in a new color. I’ve been very happy with mine.

March 5, 2019

Too Small

Like the bag, love the idea, but is really too small for any real use other than a purse for a woman or when you don't need to carry much of anything. Would appreciate the exact bag but large enough to carry a laptop and business essentials. And maybe room for a couple docs. Something around the 25L size would be awesome.

March 2, 2019

Holds an iPad well but not a (modern, large) iPhone

Yoiks. Patagonia needs to throw all the prior year editions of the Atom on a table and mash together the best features from each year. The current 2019 edition will hold a 9.7" iPad perfectly in a slot for that purpose - provided you don't use a slip case (a keyboard cover is fine). But, the phone slot isn't big enough for the modern... Read More iPhones, not even the Plus series from the only 6, 6s, and 7. Also, Patagonia oversimplified the interior pockets. There used to be some useful sized interior zipper pockets, but the current edition is downsized to barely swipe-card size and just uses a small Velcro patch for closure. On the other hand, the current edition has exterior straps and a much more useful sized expandable zipper pouch on the shoulder strap. The exterior straps provide some useful compression (since the front panel has a vertical split that lets it expand - bulge - outward) if you overstuff, and are also handy for lashing a Houdini wind/rain shell to the exterior to keep contents dry. The best single feature of this right-shouldered only, cross-body pack is the "rightness" of the size. I know that isn't a feature per se, but Paty nailed the size that is ideal for light to medium duty everyday carry use for a guy (mandatory black) or a functional purse replacement for a lady (the non-black colors rock). It's not too big and not too small. I'm not sure how I feel about the "breathable mesh" on the rear of the pack and on the strap, it seems like a useless (since air doesn't really circulate) and fragile (snags) addition, but at least it won't pill my shirts compared to the earlier editions which used to have only the canvas-scratchy body fabric on the rear of the body and strap. There isn't a waist strap anymore; that doesn't bother me, it's less webbing dangling around. Finally, REMEMBER THIS IS A RIGHT SHOULDER-ONLY PACK. Unlike Paty's more conventional older Mini Mass and Black Hole Messenger designs, this is not a symmetrical design. Me, I'm ok with that since my right shoulder is still pretty sturdy but my left shoulder has gotten sensitive to weight bearing straps - I wear a regular messenger bag in right shoulder mode most of the time anyway. I highly recommend this pack, with the single caveat that you shouldn't buy it "blind," you should see it in a store to see how it works for you.

March 1, 2019

I miss the strap

I bought this bag a few years ago and it had a strap that went around your waist and clipped onto the bag, which offered extra support and kept it from shifting around while walking or dancing. I bought a second bag more recently because I wanted a black one, and realized when it arrived that the strap was eliminated in the new design. Please bring... Read More back the strap!

February 16, 2019

Sling

I was looking for something hands free to take with me wherever I go. I have 6 grandchildren and often have to carry one, so I needed something like this. I love it! Instead of using it occasionally, I use it all the time! My one thing I would like to see added is an outside pocket for a water bottle

February 11, 2019

Amazing!!

Absolutely love this pack!! Fits everything I need perfectly, comfortable to wear, super cute, couldn’t be happier!!

February 10, 2019

Not What it used to be

I have one of the older ones that had multiple compartments. In the newer ones the functionality has gone down and the price has gone up. I discovered this recently when I bought a new one. I didn't even check it out because I was so happy with the first one. I will certainly give things a closer inspection from now on.

January 31, 2019

Sweet little pack

I've only had this handy pack for 3 months but I really like it! I am not a purse girl and use this bag if I need to carry a few things but don't want to take my backpack. I was surprised to find that it fit my big liter water bottle with room for more! I gave 4 stars because I just wish the zipper pouch in the front was big enough to hol... Read Mored my phone (note8) and would love to see this made out of the same water resistant material as the black hole packs! I would def purchase this bag again if they made those adjustments!

January 14, 2019

This bag is great for light loads

Sometimes I just want to bring my iPad Pro, a book, headphones, and a paper notebook where a full out backpack is a bit too much. This Sling bag is perfect, and unlike my backpacks, I can access my gear without taking it off. Functionality of a fanny pack, but the style of a purse. What is amazing is that I actually can fit my 12 inch MacBook along... Read More with my iPad Pro 10.5 at the same time. Though with its business class courier quality, it isn't recommended for the budget conscious.

January 14, 2019

Just 2L more, please.

After spending ten days in Japan with a day pack I found it annoying to have to take off the backpack every time I wanted to access the contents. In the crowded trains in Japan you have to be a contortionist to remove a backpack without bumping someone. I wanted something to hold my 11" iPad Pro and that I could open with ease. I purchased the... Read More 8L sling which can hold my iPad, a passport, and my insulin pens/needles. The iPad is a tight fit and takes careful maneuvering. My iPhone XS Max does not come close to fitting in the strap pocket; it is most convenient for a pack of travel Kleenex and not much else. I like that I can swing the pack around to the front and access contents very easily. I accidentally spilled tea on it and the tea ran right off without a stain or penetrating the contents. It is rugged and durable. I used in on a recent trip and found it very useable but wished it had about 2L more of space and a shape more suited for the iPad Pro.

January 1, 2019

Less than hoped for

I live in rural Hawaii and use small daypacks in lieu of a purse. For years, I've been buying sling bags from Ameribag, but their quality seems to have deteriorated as the zipper broke on one I bought last year within a few months. I'd hoped this could substitute for my old standby, but alas, it can't be worn over either shoulder, an... Read Mored it is designed to wear only on the right side--not ideal for anyone with shoulder issues who needs to switch back and forth. Size is smaller than ideal--and some of the design features (the exterior pleat, for example) seem to have no function or not be well thought out (the strap pocket is too small for an iPhone), which is not what I expect from Patagonia. I'll be returning this and will look elsewhere for something a bit more versatile.

December 10, 2018

Stains easily, doesn't wash well.

I purchased a light grey/kahki colored atom sling since we live in a very hot climate. I love the size of the bag, except for the pocket on the strap not being large enough for an iPhone 6 plus. That I could deal with, but for the price this sling should have been more stain resistant and washable. I tried washing on delicate cycle and the dirt rem... Read Moreained, so I used Fels-naptha soap on spots and it still looks quite dingy. Because of this I will not get another Patagonia bag even though I truly loved mine.

November 8, 2018

Necessity

I am someone who was looking for a very practical purse - one where all my items were secure. This definitely fits the bill. It is simple and performs tremendously. I also use it for hiking and any outdoor activity. I just recently took it to a theme park and was able to fit not only my iPhone, but three other friends and their wallets - comfortabl... Read Morey. Best purchase ever, you won’t regret it.

September 20, 2018

Disappointed

Purchased the Grey/White color (no longer listed as a color option) being aware that it may show signs of wear and dirt. However, the material was not as repellant as I would have hoped and does not wash well. Knowing this, I would recommended purchasing darker colors. Will unlikely use this bag as option as I had hoped.

September 20, 2018

What about the lefties?

I wish that I could enjoy this bag like the previous reviews but because I'm lefthanded, it just won't work unless I put it over the shoulder that I don't normally use. If I try to put this over my left shoulder, when I move it to the front, all of the zippers are facing toward the ground. I would LOVE for you to consider making a ba... Read Moreg for those who are left handed. I would be eternally grateful! :)

September 14, 2018

Great Little Bag

The Atom 8L is at home on the street, trail, or water. For an early morning or afternoon hike, or carrying things into work for your shift, the Atom has plenty of room. I mainly use the Atom for work, but it sees a lot of use while fly fishing on smaller creeks. These grab and go trips do not require a lot of gear and so the Atom's size is per... Read Morefect. I can keep two small fly boxes, a leader wallet, and snacks in the main compartment. The pocket on the should strap holds two spools of tippet material and fly floatant. The small loop under the pocket on the shoulder strap is a good place for zingers to hold hemostats and line snips. This is the first Atom bag I have owned and I am very happy with it so far.

August 26, 2018

Like the older style better

I tried to be a fan of this newer style Atom Sling, but I gave it away. This bag is smaller, no internal mesh zip pocket ( really miss this). Old sling holds my iPad air,. Lots of other stuff. Glad I kept one of the old style, I will patch it together for a long as I can. So Patagonia, please bring back they older style, get rid of the waist strap ... Read Moreif you must. This bag is too small and missing the utility of the older style bag.

August 25, 2018

Ruins clothing with pilling

I love the functionality of this bag but it has ruined two t shirts and a dress because it creates pilling where it sits against my clothing. I’m so disappointed and will likely return it to REI because I don’t want to wreck perfectly good clothing.

August 11, 2018

Great bag!

This bag holds an incredible amount and is extremely versatile. I did take it to my local seamstress and have her add two pieces of elastic at the bottom for additional storage and It is even more amazing.

August 2, 2018

Please bring back waist strap!

I love love love this product and the space available in it. The only thing is that without the waist clip it slips around on my back coming forward at unnecessary times! I would love to see the waist belt brought back please! Would make this product a 5 star if maybe that was an additional add on option!

July 8, 2018

Better in one way,and worse in all the others.

I bought my current Atom in 2005. I don't think it's an exaggeration to say I've used it every day for the last 13 years,both as an everyday purse and for travel. I love this bag so much that I even sent it in to be repaired when the zipper snagged the lining. The two best features on that model,in my opinion,are the chest strap pock... Read Moreet for your phone and the external mesh pocket that can hold a water bottle,a rolled up sweater or jacket,and all manner of other stuff. Phones are a lot bigger than they were in 2005,so over the past year or so my iPhone 8 has rubbed a hole in the chest strap pocket. I bought this year's version of the Atom from my local outdoor store as a replacement and I am so disappointed! The chest strap pocket is bigger,so that's good,but the exterior mesh pocket is gone,replaced (in a long ago version,I think) by compression straps. That's fine for your jacket or sweater,but useless for a water bottle. The only water bottle storage option is now inside the pocket with (possibly) your electronics or your book--not a great mix,and not very accessible. The bag is also bigger and boxier than the older versions so it looks more like a backpack and less like a purse. I'm so bummed. I'm going to return this new one and see if I can find a used one with the features I love.

June 28, 2018

Love it!

I own older version and used many years,since it had a hole,I decided to buy a new version. This is a little bigger,the inside mesh pocket was gone,and not waist strap was gone. I didn't use those pocket and strap so it simplified for me. I love a little big pocket in the main compartment to separate some paper document or passport,and I LOVE ... Read Morethe shoulder pocket which can hold my phone!!!

June 25, 2018

Heartbroken

I gave it one star because I could not give it a zero and it gets a point for taking off the waist strap BUT compared to the older nylon version (2010ish?) it is a huge disappointment. I have mowed through 3 of the nylon bags -- two still quite functional but now I ration them. I can fit EVERYTHING in those bags and they hang comfortably under my a... Read Morerm (great for either athletics or protection on the subway). They never damaged my clothes (no one better mess with my nano puffs) but the new version has frayed a nano and ruined a fleece on a trip to Norway -- it now sits in my closet by itself. Not sure I will ever reach for it again. I am thrilled because the new mini waist pack and tote/backpack combo are in the original atom sling bag fabric (or at least closer) so I will keep my fingers crossed and PRAY you bring the 2010 version back -- sans waist strap and make many,many of us happy,happy,happy! When the two I am currently using are finally so ratty I can't carry them any longer I am not sure what I will do. My favorite designer is Patagonia and you have ruined purses for me. This bag is my daily go to even in my exec gig.

June 5, 2018

Pretty cool Pack with a couple features removed

I have the atom sling iteration before this one. But when I updated my iphone SE to the Iphone 8 I wanted a sling where I could still fit my phone in the chest pocket. So I bought the latest one (came out in June 2017). Overall I like the sling and its not drastically different. The more angular shape (the previous was tear drop) hasn't been a... Read More huge difference in terms of comfort. But I will say there are a couple changes I don't enjoy. One is the the main compartment no longer has the small mesh pocket and key chain holder. They moved the key chain holder to the smaller secondary pocket but now my keys are just jammed in the same area I put my wallet and such. So I now either need to move my keys aside to grab my wallet or more wallet to grab my keys. Not the biggest issue but its there. Next is all the zippers no longer have zipper garages. This means even closed all the way,there is still a tiny hole at the end. Since I like to carry my ipad in the main compartment and iphone in the chest,I hope this won't be an issue in the rain as moisture would have an easy time getting through the holes. The main gripe I have is it no longer has the cross strap. I loved the cross strap as it kept the entire thing secure so I knew I could even run with it and it wouldn't move. Now if I even bend down to pick something up it could slide off my pack and just hang uncomfortable till a stand up and put it back in its proper place.(Its enough of a difference that I won't recommend running with it as I did for the previous one) Overall if this is your first sling from Patagonia then you will love it as none of what I mentioned will matter to you. For anyone coming off the previous iteration. You will miss the above features but at least you can now keep your modern phone in the chest pocket (literally the main reason I upgraded)

May 14, 2018

I love this bag, but it is ruining my clothes

I had a Patagonia Atom bag I bought back in 2007 used it for years and LOVED it. The back side of the bag that rested on my back was a nylon material. No problems what so ever. The new back had a rougher back to it. I have a brand new jacket I got this year that has pilling all over where the bag hit my jacket. I also have a new sweatshirt (that wa... Read Moresn't cheap) that also has pilling in the areas where the bag hits it. I am SO DISAPPOINTED. My bag should not be ruining my clothes. Functionally I love the bag. However, I shouldn't have to be concerned about what I am wearing or how I carry the bag.

May 9, 2018

Great...only one thing it needs.

I love this bag. It feeds everything I need and more,over my shoulder or across my body. I can flip it in the front and also wear it with my backpack when I am traveling. The only thing it needs is a water bottle holder.

February 17, 2018

Love this bag.

This bag is perfect. I still have pain and weakness from shoulder surgery. This bag is great! Plenty of room for everyday essentials. The crossover strap is comfortable and can be used on both sides. I am ordering one in white for the summer.

December 14, 2017

I love this bag!

I received this bag as a gift and it is amazing! It is so comfortable and it fits a lot of stuff. It is super durable and looks nice too. I use it for everything!

November 17, 2017

Nope.

Nope. Nope. Nope. I bought an Atom 7L on a whim several years ago,and I fell in love with it so much,I bought 3 colors. Then my mom borrowed it so many times she ended up with the bag in 2 colors. The size was great. The appearance was great. The zippered mesh pocket was gold. It was bag perfection. I wanted to buy a new one when the first round ... Read Moreof 8Ls came out,but I noticed the mesh pocket was smaller and velcro,which was an immediate turn off. I ended up not buying one hoping this model would fix some of the errors. HA! No. I went to a local outdoors store to buy one because I was so excited. There's nothing about it I like. Nothing. Looks like I'm going to use my 7Ls until they are so threadbare they can no longer carry anything in them,and then I'll be looking for a new style from a different brand. So sad.

September 6, 2017

This Version Too Small

I've had two older versions of this sling that I loved and used almost every day. The "Teardrop" version (I guess three or four versions ago) was perfect. It held two cameras and two lenses,my tablet,wallet,phone,extra batteries,etc. and had a great mesh pocket with a zipper inside as well as a pocket. It was wonderful. After four or... Read More five years of use the zippers had had it and both broke. I was broken hearted. I also had a newer version that was a little too small to use all the time,but still roomy enough for a camera and a lens. I went to Rei to check out this version and it is way too small. Now I'm back to square one on the hunt for a sling pack that is big enough to suit my needs. Patagonia,please consider going back to a roomier Atom.

August 31, 2017

Bad Update

This updated version of this bag is a step in the wrong direction. From the look to the function it's all worse than the last model of this bag,I cannot figure out what they were thinking with the new design. The look went from sleek and simple to a more fanny-pack-resembling backpack. The new long mesh pocket now allows for the items in that ... Read Morepocket to rip or stick out and it just looks messy. The new front pocket (where I keep my phone) is now vertical instead of horizontal leaving the option for your phone to fall out so much easier,especially if you forget to close that pouch. If you can,go online and purchase the original version of this bag. It is also $10 more expensive than the last model,so it cost more to look worse and have less workable function. Also,with the long zipper on the side it gets caught along the edge. I use this bag as my "busy life" purse and I'm about to throw my new one in the bin because I don't like it.

August 21, 2017

Great size and fit!!

Love my new Atom Sling 8L. It's a great size and feels comfortable on. I'm 4'11" and the sling adjusts well to the level I need. I actually use it as a purse/diaper bag. So far I can fit my minimalist wallet,iphone 5S,1.5L camelbak hydration bladder (I put it inside a wet bag and in the tablet sleeve pocket),2 diapers,1 thin cha... Read Morenging pad,travel wipes,chapstick,and a small tube of hand sanitizer. It's filled to the max with all of these items but it's not overly heavy or bulgy. I haven't used the adjustable straps but as the weather drops here I will definitely try that soon. I love how comfortably it fits and it's easy to swing around when I need to grab items,especially with a squirmy 3 year old and 1 year old trying to clean their hands or change their diapers.

August 3, 2017

The cha-cha-cha-changes from last year

Ok, here's the list, I own last year's and this just released mid-2017: (1) the waist strap is gone! Great, I was always cutting mine off, since I never used it (on any of the many years of Atom slings that Paty has released) and it just kept coming out and dangling in the way. (2) Paty has given up trying to make the former phone slot on... Read More the cross-body strap fit phones because ... you know, phones kept getting bigger faster than Paty could make the pouch bigger. I approve of this change, since the 2016 Atom Sling phone pouch looked like a tumor on the strap. But wait - the new pouch is actually MORE functional - it has a mesh expansion panel on the side opposite the zipper, and hence you can now stuff a meaningful number of energy bars in it. Or a bandana. When not expanded, the newly designed pouch looks svelte instead of ... errh ... tumerous. (3) Paty gave up on an interior zipper or Velcro'd mesh slot (formerly on the "away side" panel. I approve. The 2014 (or was it 2015) Atom had a huge zipper mesh slot - so huge it lost its purpose of providing organization. For 2016, the zipper mesh slot became a reasonable size, but by replacing zipper closure with a tiny Velcro patch, the mesh slot no longer felt as secure. BTW, the 2014 didn't have "8L" sprayed on the front bottom of the bag, the 2016 had "8L" added, and the current Atom Sling has "8L" but the waist strap is gone - that's how to tell them apart at the store. (4) BIG CHANGE: Paty widened the Atom Sling at the top. I could fit a 9.7" tablet in with the 2016 edition, but the upper corner of the tablet then jabbed against the Atom's side panel. This year the Atom's top is wide enough to fully cover a 9.7" tablet even with a typical slim front/back cover case on it. The much taller main compartment zipper makes it easy peasy to insert the tablet, last year's model took a little effort. NOTE that the tablet slot - complete with high density foam pad this year - is not suspended above the bag bottom, so don't drop his hard on a cafe table top. The Atom Sling is great for ipadding it to a cafe, but not designed specifically as a tablet carrier. It just got a little better at it this year, is all. I think 9.7" is the limit, I tried a 10.1" tablet/keyboard and it juts out at the upper corner. NOTE that the table slot has a screen-friendly, soft material on the interior panel rear, but the interior panel isn't, of course, tall enough to cover a full-sized tablet. I'm glad it has soft material, it will work with phablets and smaller tablets at least. (5) The front exterior panel is now pleated and the pack can be overstuffed as a result. The exterior jacket lash on straps now double as mild compression straps if you want to limit or control the pleat from expanding. (6) The front exterior panel has a much larger phone/gizmos slot than the almost unusable 2016 model slot. It is big enough for many phones, but it also has the house keys leash relocated here from the bag interior. So I'm not sure I'd stow both phone and keys here, that's asking for trouble, and if you intend to regularly stow a phone here, I'd even cut out, or cover, the nylon key hook so if doesn't contact the phone screen. Honestly, I'd rather see the plush fiber lined phone slot we used to get in every version of the Atom until the 2016 and 2017 versions. (7) Yeah I recommend the bag. It is super efficient, I like it for flights because I can swing it around to body front but keep it where it can't slide away from me on the floor. Lot easier to get my neck cushion and headphones during the flight. Easy to remove for meals.

June 24, 2017

Love this bag

I just got this and it is exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a bag for everyday use. I wanted this one cause it had a wider top for my tablet. I can fit my tablet in it for school and my big headphones with room to spear. I also added pins to it to make it more me. I love that the material doesn't show holes if I take them out. I can&#x2... Read More7;t wait to use it more.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches