Back to Product

Ms R1® Air Full-Zip Hoody

Write Your Review

4.82 /5

Filter Reviews

All 17 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R1® Air Full-Zip Hoody

4.82
Kinda Large
February 26, 2021

Great Piece, maybe misleading name

So I really love this hoody. It is the most comfortable piece I've had from Patagonia thus far. The next to skin feel when you just have a tshirt underneath it is amazing. It does run a little large in my opinion and has more of the patty boxy cut than fitted. The pockets are awesome, very low profile so they don't add bulk to the jacket.... Read More The interior dump pockets are great too. I really recommend this jacket. I'm a huge fan of the R1 line. I have the techface hoody and standard pull over hoody as well. I expected this to be more of an "air" version of the R1, kind of like the nano air is to the nano puff. This however is a completely different piece. The standard R1 is lighter, thinner, more breathable and has the fitted cut to layer very easily. This jacket is closer to a better sweater or synching in terms of insulation and warmth. This piece blocks more breezes than a traditional R1 as well. These aren't negatives but just something I thought would be helpful. Based on the "R1" title I wasn't really expecting this type of jacket, again I'd say this is more a "synchilla air" than an R1 at all. It does breathe well when you're working but in cold months I use an R1 as a layer to stay warm on runs below freezing. This jacket gets too hot too fast. It's also a boxier fit than the standard R1, again more like a synching. Great jacket but definitely the wrong name imo.

February 25, 2021

LOVE this zip hoodie!

Soft, comfortable, I love everything about this hoodie. Bought 1 size larger than usual and the fit is perfect for a relaxed look without being bulky.

February 24, 2021

Solid for ski touring

When ski touring the R1 is my go to. Breaths really well and at the same time keeps heat whens it cold. Funk factor is minimal and I have put long hard days in. Hood is good tight fit when the wind is whipping. Like most Patagonia products i get I find myself saying I could buy a few of these. The material is also softer then other R1 products. If ... Read Moreyour looking for a jacket for the skin track this is the one. Patagonia got this one spot on for high output in colder temps.

February 22, 2021

Perfect for those cold runs!

Great layer for running, light, breathable and warm. I always find it hard to find a hoodie with those features but this is the one

February 14, 2021

Best yet

So light and so warm. The perfect mid layer for climbing outdoors 👌🏼

February 12, 2021

Warm & Great All-Around

Really like the material and feel of this hoodie. It retains a lot of heat, without feeling too heavy. Two small additions I would like, would be for a zipper cover by where the mouth rests, and also thumb holes on the sleeves. Otherwise, a pretty great product!

February 10, 2021

Nice fleece

Have had it for a few weeks now. I'm in doubt wether its to big for me. But although it's not tight fitting its stil warm and comfy.

February 8, 2021

Incredible Warm and Breathable

Having used an R1 full zip, I enjoy this R1 Air, as it breathes easier, and its even warmer. When its windy and cold just put windbreaker over it. I backpacked long enough to see that it does not wear where my backpack sits. Great layer

February 8, 2021

Great jacket

Great jacket

February 2, 2021

Plusher and warmer R1 with decent breathability

Feels much warmer and has a homogeneous fabric compared to the variable thickness of the r1 pullover hoody. Hand pockets are reinforced with a more durable fabric so the inside doesn't pill up too much. Initially bought an XS. The armpits were way too constricting. Chest too tight. I am an xs for 2016 nano air, 2018 torrentshell, 2017 sidesen... Read Mored but S for 2019 r1 pullover hoody. The S r1 air full zip is more relaxed in the pits but still baggy along the chest. If you've got broad shoulders/chest definitely size up. The hood fits looser and isn't scuba diver tight which means it's comfortable to zip all the way up with the hood down. Nice to have zipped pockets compared to the regular r1 full zip. Chest pocket is great for keeping those snack bars warm when its cold out. r1 air hood is a bit lumpy and loose. Kind of an oblong cone shaped top. Wish that the zipper pockets rode above where the harness would go. Worn while skiing in temps between 30s to 40s. Warm but not sweaty hot for casual hikes around 50s and below.

January 31, 2021

Perfect light hoodie

Comfortable and perfect as a layer under waterproofs etc but also great as an outer layer on cool summer days.

January 29, 2021

R1 Hoody

Supremely soft and comfortable jacket, with great insulation. Nice colour accents on the blue jacket with yellow zip. The only complaint would be the zipper - the starting points don't seem to line up, which caused the zipper to be extremely hard to pull closed initially, although this seems to be softening over time.

January 26, 2021

Lightweight warmth

Very compressible fleece hoody. Warm for its light weight and fast drying. Hood fits well, cuffs are a bit wide but otherwise true to size

January 26, 2021

Really light and warm, perfect

Really light and warm, perfect for touring...

December 25, 2020

Excellent but short

The material is very light but very warm. The whole garment is impressive but the cut is a bit short on this medium, for me at 190cm and 38cm chest. A large would be too baggy in the body but the medium sleeves are 3cm too short for me. I wear medium in most athletic cut outdoor brands.

December 15, 2020

It works.

Really warm and breathable hoody. There is also no damage on shoulders and back when using backpack. It just works.

December 13, 2020

Almost 5 stars!

Hey Folks, I run an adventure company in Scotland and have been using R1 Air Hoody almost daily since they became available. Its super light weight, super warm, form fitting with plenty stretch, has plenty pockets including really useful drop in internal pockets, and as you would expect the quality is outstanding. I use it for climbing and winter h... Read Moreiking - I wear it for days on end and it never seems to smell either! So why not 5 stars? Very strangely the sleeves are slightly too short. I have lots of Patagonia gear - all in size L which fits perfectly, but for some reason this in size L is just a bit short in the sleeves, particularly on a long reach move. 2 more inches plus thumb holes would be perfect. The other slightly odd thing is the size of the classic Patagonia external chest pocket - its pretty small - you won't be keeping your cell phone in it. Would I buy another one? 100% I would.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches