Back to Product

Ms Strider Pro Shorts - 5

Write Your Review

4.16 /5

Filter Reviews

All 191 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Strider Pro Shorts - 5

4.16
Kinda Large
November 13, 2020

Love em!

I own five pairs of these shorts and rotate them throughout the week on my morning runs for the past 18+ months. Theyre light, stay dry and are super comfy. While they are light weight, they still provide good support and have the right amount of pockets for gels, etc. I will replace them if/when they wear out.

November 3, 2020

Never Stop Making These

Dear Patagonia, Please do not stop making these. Since buying my first pair more than a year ago, I have gotten rid of almost all of my other running shorts and replaced them with these. I now own 6 pairs. Every other runner I have talked to agrees that they are one of their favorite pairs of shorts. They're light, have a ton of pockets, can ... Read Morefit a phone, and the brief liner is great for going fast with no restrictions. I do 50-60 miles per week, and am in these shorts 80% of the time. All you need now is a 3" pair!

November 3, 2020

Dope

If you are a runner or a ninja, these shorts will treat you right. Bad liners are a deal breaker with me, and thankfully these liners are excellent. Light, fast, don't even notice they are on. I support Patagonia because of their politics, but they make good gear too.

September 28, 2020

The Best

These shorts are outstanding. They fit perfectly and the liner handles sweating when I run in Florida heat really well -there's no chafing on my thighs as I've had with some other shorts. They look great and are, as usual with Patagonia, well made with quality materials. Highly recommended for runners.

September 10, 2020

Liner too tight

I do like these shorts. It's the liner I don't like. It's a tad too tight in the seat and package. A little more room in those areas and it's a 5-star short. Of note, I tried a large which was just too big.

September 8, 2020

Light as Air

I have 4 pairs of these shorts and I used them almost daily. They fit great. I like the pockets, but none will fit my Iphone (not an issue). I run in a hot area and these shorts are comfortable and dry quickly.

September 7, 2020

Black Shorts Matter

Bought 2 back in January both in bright color, laid down reviews about the thigh-eating liner. I have 4 in rotation only realizing I need a Black one. So bought one in Black and yes still hating the liner but everything is perfect. I like the square edge cut more than rounder on previous version. Never go on a long run, worst ultra races with em st... Read Moreill new. Need to wear it often so it can be break in a bit just like your running shoes. I know 2 pairs from 2015 has a comfortable liner from years of wearing. Oh well

September 7, 2020

Light and practical

Best running shorts Ive had. On the longer runs, the high pockets can stash all of your energy gels. The back zipper pocket is ideal for your house keys. You dont have a bunch of items swinging around like you would with basketball shorts. The waistband sits lightly on the waist.

September 5, 2020

Amazing!

These shorts are amazing. I wear them for casual wear, hiking, and work outs. Shorts have a zippered pocket in the back but what I love the most is that there is a stretchy pocket on each side of the front that will hold an iPhone or your wallet. Super comfortable and true to fit. I have 3 pairs for the week.

September 5, 2020

Comfortable and not cheesy

These are great run shorts with short side slits that dont show too much thigh or cheek like some other brands.

September 3, 2020

Still the king of trail running shorts

This is my 4th pair and I believe the 3rd generation of the 5 Strider shorts. Im a regular guy who runs 60 miles per week almost all on trail and these shorts just work. They are form fitting without being too tight or too baggy. The side pockets hold a generous amount of stuff (gels, gloves, a small beanie cap) and the back zipper pocket is perfec... Read Moretly sized for a car key and money. My oldest pair of these shorts have thousands of miles on them and although they have some pin holes and the waist tie is broken, they are still usable. The things I dont like about this latest design is Patagonia moved the side seam more to the front of the leg which chafed me on a super hot and humid day. And the side cuts used to have a nice curve to them which I found flattering. The new cut looks more boxy and bland. Those small nitpicks aside, this short is worth every penny and will last you a long time.

September 2, 2020

Great short, needs a liner

This is a terrific pair of running shorts and Ill buy more. Only thing holding me back from a five start review is the fact that it has a brief instead of a full liner. That would make it perfect.

September 1, 2020

Need an XXL!!!!!!

Seriously these are the best 5" shorts out there, you guys have many shorts in XXL for us, These should not have been left from that measurement spectrum! Please make an XXL version!

September 1, 2020

Bring back the old version

The version of the Strider Pro is the only trail running shorts I ever wanted to own, I've been through a 3 pair of the old. The updated version is inferior in every way. The biggest problem is that the pocket fabric is stiff and not as stretchy. The enormous volume of the four hip pockets in the old version was the main reason this short was ... Read Moreso great. I could fit a hat, gloves, water filter, even a windshirt in those pockets. Now, not only won't they fit, but there's more pressure against my hips for anything in there. The fabric isn't as soft/nice feeling as the old one. And the fit is a little smaller. I was warned about these updates but i couldn't resist buying the bright orange/yellow color. It was as bad as people have been saying. It's a shame because the old version were the only game in town for that kind of short.

August 28, 2020

Loving these pockets.

Patagonia has done an amazing job selecting a pocket system that doesn't make you feel like your nutrition is roll of pennies in your pocket. There are 2 on each side a security one in the back. My only wish is that they would improve the crotch ventilation with a perforated fabric. Im a heavy sweater in the summer and after 5 days in these sh... Read Moreorts (with some swimming) while on a PCT section thru hike I developed some irritation.

August 23, 2020

Falling apart after 4 months.

I purchased 2 pairs of these shorts in April for running, I do about 250-300 mi per month. While I love the pockets on the sides, its clear that the quality has fallen off from the pair I bought several years ago, which are still performing beautifully. The stitching on the crotch is almost completely frayed through and if it werent for the liner, ... Read Moreindecent exposure would be a very real possibility on both pairs. Im so disappointed because I would love to support this company, but if Im paying a premium price I think its fair to expect a premium product.

Response from Patagonia
October 30, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on these shorts. We do not expect this to happen and we stand behind everything we make with our Ironclad Guarantee. We've reached out privately with some options for you.

August 23, 2020

Super light

I like the shorts because it's super light and comfortable. As for the sizing, I typically wear small but the liner is very tight, I ended up buying size medium. (I'm 5'-5", waist 30-31"). I don't know if it's just me but my Smolder Blue shorts get sweat-spots (including crotch area) when I work out hard. I wish I... Read More knew so I'd have purchased black instead.

August 18, 2020

Nice short, nice color, fit is not as advertized

The quality and color of the mango shorts is great! I would just say assess your body shape before you buy these. They are advertised as a regular fit but they are more of a slim fit if you ask me. Patagonia's size guide suggests that a Regular fit will work for a 34-36 waist. I am 6'3" and a 34 waist (36 tends to fall off me). I wei... Read Moregh 205 and most for the most part it is muscle... and that appears to be the problem. If you are a 34 with muscle below your waist you will find these awkwardly tight at the waist. I can't imagine trying to squeeze into these if I was a 36. But, I like the color so I am going to see if I can exchange them for an XL to solve the fit problem.

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2020

Hey Thomas, thank you so much for this detailed feedback on the fit of your Patagonia Men's Strider Pro Running Shorts - 5". We'll pass this along to our design team. Please reach out to our customer service team to get that exchange started.

August 18, 2020

Runs Small

Im 5 4 and weigh 141 lbs. I purchased a Medium, (31-33 waist according to size chart) and the shorts fit tight in the waist. Ive never purchased a large running short before, but thats the size I would buy, if I buy another pair.

August 8, 2020

My favortite active shorts

I love the secure liner when hiking , etc. I also love the brilliant placement of the pockets. Nice, cool, active shorts for hot weather. These are close to true to size, a tiny bit on the small side. I am 6'1" 192 lbs and the large fit me well.

August 7, 2020

Where is the XXL????

I would love to give the shorts five stars for being the best shorts ever created by humankind. The only problem is they do run small, so if you are into weightlifting or CrossFit and your legs are on the larger side you are out of luck. Otherwise the length, the materials, and the bag zipper are absolutely perfect! Unfortunately they are just too ... Read Moretight on my legs for a comfortable fit. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make one size larger for those of us "large quadded" people!!

July 4, 2020

Almost great

Got my first pair of these (5" inseam, darker gray, black accents) around 2016. Wore them a while and liked them well enough i got another pair in 2017 (5" inseam, lighter gray). The earlier version had a slightly wider waist band, with a softer, almost terry cloth material. It lays flat. The newer version has a narrower band of a smooth... Read Moreer fabric, and it tends to curl up on itself while i'm wearing it, making it slightly uncomfortable. Also, the older version had a narrow gusset in the crotch area made of a more vented, kind of mesh material. The newer one has the main fabric throughout. Hard to tell if there's any practical difference in ventilation. Aside from the waistband issue, both pairs are comfortable, and seem to be holding up well, thought they haven't been put through the wringer yet. I've always liked looser, shorter shorts for hiking. I find most "shorts" these days way too long. I don't like the bottom hem dragging on the front of my thighs while striding uphill. I'm just over 6 ft. tall (and about 185 pounds with a 36-inch waist), and one might expect a 5-inch inseam to look silly short on me, but the bottom hem still falls about five inches above the top of my knee cap, so no one will mistake me for an NBA player from the 70s. I usually take a large in most things, but, for hiking shorts i like a looser fit, so got these in an XL. They fit pretty much like just a slightly looser large, though, so i'd say they run a bit small. Still, the leg opening is loose enough i don't feel restricted. And the waist stays in place on me even without tightening the tie. The thin material dries quickly (the waistband takes a little longer), but seems sturdy for how light it is. So far, so good on construction quality. Nothing to say about the liner i cut them out; the boys gotta swing free and am agnostic on pockets, since i use a waist pack, but i could see where they might come in handy. One is zippered, so you don't have to worry about stuff falling out. Minus a star because they messed with the waistband, but otherwise, close to an ideal hiking short for me.

August 6, 2020

Great fit and features

These shorts fit great and have awesome pockets. FIVE POCKETS. They store so much gear without bouncing. Were talking phone, wallet, insulin pump, keys, snacks. Okay maybe thats a bit heavy, but these shorts are clearly designed for people who dont carry a backpack and dont like their phone bouncing out while running. The elastic flap on top of the... Read More pocket retains any unruly large items well. Besides the pockets, which are way better than other shorts on the market, these shorts fit great and provide good freedom of movement without being too...exposing. I wore them for a while with the integrated liner, which worked reasonably well but occasionally gave me chafing problems on multi-hour runs. I got nervous about it and cut out the liner before an 8 hour run, replacing it with a boxer light compression liner. I dont know if this was necessary but Ive never had chafing problems since. Redesigning the liner without thick seams at the edges, and with a slightly larger fit could resolve the issue. Liner problems aside - these shorts are so great they deserve five stars. Ill buy more when mine wear out.

July 28, 2020

Good if you're tall

So, I'll preface by saying I like shorter shorts. Always. (Bring back the 5" standup!) I loved the last version of these shorts. They fit perfect, had great storage, and I never chafed on long runs. While I didn't particularly DISLIKE the new version, I'm only 5'9 and something about the design (higher waistband maybe) made... Read More them fit much longer than the previous version (of which I have 4 pair and still wear despite having worn holes in them). Perhaps a 3" inseam trail short may be the answer?? I know I'd buy them in a heartbeat.

July 25, 2020

Great material/construction. Runs small.

Just received the small in the mail and boy these run tight. I am 30" waist and wear a small in all my other running shorts. I will size up to a medium and revisit my review from there.

July 25, 2020

Makes Me run Faster

I absolutely love these shorts. The 5 is a perfect length for me. Not too short that I feel like Im only wearing underwear but not to long that Im restricted. They are feather light too which makes me forget Im wearing pants sometimes. The only complaint I have is that Ive only been using these for about 2 months and the Patagonia logo Is already r... Read Moreubbing off on the left leg and is now only Pata Though its only cosmetic, it is kind of a bummer since Patagonia has always been very high quality in my eyes. But other than that, the shorts themselves perform tremendously!

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Thanks for your detailed feedback on fabric, fit, and performance of these Strider Pro Shorts! Please note that this product is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so let us know if they do not function or remain as durable as you expect.

July 18, 2020

Best shorts!

I love the changes they made to these shorts. The brief liner is way more comfortable and light compared to other versions. If you like short liners that are bulky and hot these are not for you. I wish Patagonia changed all the liners to the briefs for the running gear!

June 21, 2020

Awesome Shorts

I love these shorts - both the fit and fabric are great. Long hot runs in the mountains and I barely notice them at all, which is perfect. The fabric dries incredibly fast and so they never feel sweaty. I'm 5'6" and 148 pounds with a 30" waist and the size medium is perfect. I don't have to tie the drawstring but they don... Read More't slip down or feel tight at the waist at all. The envelope closure on the pockets create a little ruffle at the waist. This is only visible if you run without a shirt and isn't a big deal but I notice it. For me, I don't need pockets and suggest a pocket free version that would not have the ruffles and perhaps be cheaper. Anytime I run long enough to need to stash GU etc. I either have a vest of a handheld with pockets. I don't like running with stuff on my waist and can't imagine running with a cell phone in the waistband pocket, so I can't report on that. Bottom line - I bought 5 pairs. Love 'em. But I returned the orange ones because they were "see through" and seemed like they would show every little bit of dirt or dribble you might acquire over 30 miles of trail.

July 20, 2020

pocket problem

Great in all ways except pockets. When purchased two years ago, my first pair had no problems. But my second pair (just purchased), unlike the first, has a smaller zipper pocket. As a result, a cell phone won't fit in any of the 3 pockets. I cut a longer hole on the zipper (largest) pocket, but that's not a satisfactory fix.

July 13, 2020

Fits Great Looks Great

love them - they fit awesome and are my favorite running shorts - they stay super dry too !

July 13, 2020

Finally, shorts that don't go over my knee.

I'm sick of shorts getting caught on my knees when I squat. With these shorts, I don't have this problem anymore! My cellphone also fits in the side pocket and my keys as well.

July 13, 2020

A good companion

I run in these every morning. No signs of wear so far. Cant fit my iPhone 11 into any of the pockets. No problems fitting anything of the usual (water,tissues). Very good lining makes this my favorite running shorts

July 13, 2020

Solid Shorts

Ive used these on a few short runs so far (2-5 miles) and have been pretty pleased with them so far. Lightweight, I dont notice the liner, and the pockets are a good size. Im 64 with a 32 waist and got the large, fits great and doesnt feel like they will drop when the pockets are loaded. The material seems like it will hold up for quite a while, bu... Read Moret Im curious if it is also causing my one grief with the shorts. Usually at the start of my runs the shorts will ride up between my legs, leading to a couple of odd strides to get them back to where they should be. Maybe I just have an odd gait while warming up, though I dont have this issue with other shorts. Either way I tend not to notice it once Ive warmed up so its either not that irritating or whatever is causing it stops. Im looking forward to seeing how these hold up on some longer runs with some fuel in the pockets.

July 13, 2020

Perfect product for intended use

Love these shorts. Very lightweight and breathable - perfect for long runs on road or trail. Side pockets are a huge win for nutrition products! Quick frying fabric keeps me cool and comfortable

July 13, 2020

First time purchaser

I have both the 5 inch and 7 inch shorts and I really like how the 5 inch shorts works on runs and hikes. Barely notice they are there, hits mid to upper thigh and does a great job keeping everything in place and wicks moisture away. Definitely will purchase another 5 inch pair.

June 17, 2020

Tight liner but feels great while running

The liner feels pretty tight when wearing causally, but when I run it feels like there is almost nothing there. Miles better than running in normal athletic shorts with cotton underwear.

July 13, 2020

Tropics running

Great shorts, wear them running in the tropics. Only complaint would be rear pocket can be bigger.

July 10, 2020

Perfect product for intended use

Love these shorts. Very lightweight and breathable - perfect for long runs on road or trail. Side pockets are a huge win for nutrition products! Quick frying fabric keeps me cool and comfortable

July 9, 2020

First time purchaser

I have both the 5 inch and 7 inch shorts and I really like how the 5 inch shorts works on runs and hikes. Barely notice they are there, hits mid to upper thigh and does a great job keeping everything in place and wicks moisture away. Definitely will purchase another 5 inch pair.

July 9, 2020

A good companion

I run in these every morning. No signs of wear so far. Cant fit my iPhone 11 into any of the pockets. No problems fitting anything of the usual (water,tissues). Very good lining makes this my favorite running shorts

July 9, 2020

Best 5" Running Shorts Out There

These shorts are just great for trail running. I've logged many miles in them and find they wick and fit exceptionally well. For those of us in the South where you can wear shorts from March to December, these really fit the bill. Recommended without reservation.

July 9, 2020

Fits Great Looks Great

love them - they fit awesome and are my favorite running shorts - they stay super dry too !

July 5, 2020

Great but does run small

Material on these shorts is fantastic. The inner is exactly the same as every other running shorts Ive ever owned so great in that department. But, thank goodness I read the reviews and sized up. I wear a size 30 and can even get away with a size 29 if I have to, but I sized up and bought the Mediums based on reviews here and they fit great!

June 18, 2020

Tight

I bought these shorts in a medium for my husband because the baggie shorts design has changed so much the small are right in the legs but too tight in the waist and the medium fits the waist but way too much room in the legs. These shorts are the opposite. While there is sufficient (by no means generous) material in the shorts the lining is so tigh... Read Moret he said he felt like he was wearing women's underwear. He is 5'10" and weighs 160, max, with skinny legs. He gave the shorts to me because we'd already washed them and they fit me well. I am 5'7" and weigh 140 and typically am somewhere between a women's small or medium. I am a big Patagonia fan and have made my husband one but they got these shorts wrong. If the liner were looser fit they would be a perfect running short for my husband.

June 18, 2020

Best shorts ever!

Love these shorts with all their pockets! I actually wear size large. I bought a pair of XLs because of the sale price and they are a bit big on me. I say they're true to size because the large fits perfectly and that's what I usually wear. One bit of constructive criticism is that the side pockets on the XL are a bit big for a large Ipho... Read Morene and it swims around a bit. The side pockets on the large ones is just right. I think I just need to stick with the size large.

June 27, 2020

Favorite Backpacking Shorts (minus the liner)

These are probably my favorite backpacking and hiking shorts I've ever owned. Cut is perfect - loose but not too crazy. They're short enough to releave myself of that extra water weight out the bottom (TMI probably, sorry :) ). The pockets are perfectly placed for my phone and point & shoot camera just below the hip belt of my pack an... Read Mored easily accessible on the trail. I'm not crazy about liners in shorts but that's easily fixed by cutting them out

June 17, 2020

Great running shorts

Overall great shorts. Wished the rear pocket was a little wider for my phone. But would definitely buy another pair

June 25, 2020

Great running shorts

Great comfy shorts for long runs with plenty of pocket space for all the essentials during those long runs.

June 26, 2020

Shorts

Great shorts. All the different pockets are nice.

June 22, 2020

Comfortable and functional.

Being vertically challenged, this is a great size. a lot of shorts and even shirts are too long and these are just right. I really feel comfortable running and think the shorts are super sharp. Even though my iphone 8 is heavy in the rear pocket it is a perfect place to place when I am running! I bought two more pairs last week since I liked the fi... Read Morerst two so much.

June 17, 2020

Awesome Shorts

I love these shorts - both the fit and fabric are great. Long hot runs in the mountains and I barely notice them at all, which is perfect. The fabric dries incredibly fast and so they never feel sweaty. I'm 5'6" and 148 pounds with a 30" waist and the size medium is perfect. I don't have to tie the drawstring but they don... Read More't slip down or feel tight at the waist at all. The envelope closure on the pockets create a little ruffle at the waist. This is only visible if you run without a shirt and isn't a big deal but I notice it. For me, I don't need pockets and suggest a pocket free version that would not have the ruffles and perhaps be cheaper. Anytime I run long enough to need to stash GU etc. I either have a vest of a handheld with pockets. I don't like running with stuff on my waist and can't imagine running with a cell phone in the waistband pocket, so I can't report on that. Bottom line - I bought 5 pairs. Love 'em. But I returned the orange ones because they were "see through" and seemed like they would show every little bit of dirt or dribble you might acquire over 30 miles of trail.

June 19, 2020

Excellent for running

So comfortable I completely forget I have them on. Did a fair bit of research, landed on these for trail running. I love me, Ill be getting another pair. Its my favorite.

June 20, 2020

Like wearing nothing at all...

Really enjoy running in these. Was a little self conscious at first because they are shorter shorts than I am accustomed to, but now they are all I want to wear. Pocket in the bag is perfect for keys and the side pocket fits my big ol iPhone 8 in its case. Very well designed and well made. Definitely would purchase again.

June 17, 2020

They Disappeared

Okay, they didnt disappear, and I didn't misplace them. These have been my go-to shorts for several years now because they simply vanish on the trail, they have enormous pockets for gels or light items like gloves or a buff and they keep things still on your hips so that stuff vanishes too; there is also a zippered pocket with a loop for a car... Read More key. The liner is traditional which is perfect for me because I'm not spending extra for something I'm going to cut out anyway as I use specific sports underwear. These shorts are great. Writing this review makes me want to order another pair. LOL

June 18, 2020

Fits Well

Great running short. Never any chaffing and the small pockets are good for keys and/or gels or small items that stay. Have multiple pairs and they've lasted well also. Would buy again.

June 17, 2020

Super light

These shorts are great as a lightweight, thin pair of shorts for all activities. The liner inside is a bit small but once I'm moving I don't notice it much.

June 17, 2020

Utility and Comfort

I love these shorts. Very comfortable and the pockets are handy for phones, gels and small pieces of trash you find along the route. Leave No Trace!

June 17, 2020

Amazing!!

Best running shorts I've ever had. Comfy/wide liner helps keep you all in place. Perfect length though, I will definitely be getting another pair at some point. Only thing is if you get caught in a bramble or something, theyre not amazingly durable to tears.

June 17, 2020

Best running short ever

I've been running trails in the Strider Pro Running short for years now. Light weight, durable, fast drying and super comfortable. Lots of pockets, now even my cell phone fits. Like the external tie as well. Highly recommend these shorts

June 17, 2020

Best for hiking

Wear these on the trail for days on end. Started wearing them now when I get home from work. I could live in them

June 17, 2020

I loved my old Patagonia hiking shorts, these were too small.

Very small. Ill have to return them. My prior patagonia hiking shorts were a M and fit fine. I just bought some running paints, and while a little small there ok.

June 17, 2020

Cool shorts!

Cool shorts, thats what these are. Cool in fabric weight. Cool in color. Cool in style. Cool fit and they keep me cool when I working in them. Coolest part? Patagonia cares about all of us and where we live. They are cool cause they put their money where their mouth is! Thats cool!

June 17, 2020

Best running shorts ever!

These are durable well built shorts designed for running. Pockets are easily accessible when running and perfect for gels or chews. Zippered pocket is great for keys.

June 17, 2020

Perfect shorts

These shorts are hands down the best. They are light, have a ton of pockets, hold all the food I could ever need for 2-3 hr runs and hold my iphone 8 securely in the zip pocket. They don't cause any discomfort. I own two of the exact same pair!

June 17, 2020

Not even close on size

These were supposed to be XL. They were a large medium at best. I gave them to my son in law who weighs 150 soaking wet. They fit him perfectly.

June 10, 2020

My favorite running shorts.

This shorts are my absolute favorite running shorts. I have 4 pair and absolutely love them. I buy them a size larger than I need because I hate to feel restricted on long hot runs. The pockets are great and work well at holding things like my keys and cell phone.

June 7, 2020

Small and Uncomfortable

I purchased these from my local running store wanting to branch out from the normal sports brands and I probably shouldn't have. I am a Medium in EVERY pair of pants/shorts I own and these just fit super odd and tight. The waistband is small and just otherwise uncomfortable, it does not allow you to forget you are wearing them whatsoever. The ... Read Moreinner liner is confusingly small as well for men's shorts... I really wanted to like these because I really liked the color and I have heard good things about this brand, but my purchase just did not meet expectations. I would like to size up to L and see if it alleviates these problems but due to Covid-19 I don't think my running store will be allowing that..

Response from Patagonia
June 8, 2020

We are so sorry to hear about the troubles with sizing and would be happy to suggest you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back directly to us so we can offer an exchange. Thanks for the feedback!

June 5, 2020

Runs small or Im just hearty

Im a big fella, broad shoulders fat bum and a lil thick in the middle. These shorts are true to their manufacturer. However a XXL in short and pant sizes as well as shirts would be so much better. I love the product and intend on using it and enjoying it. Ill just not worried that I look a lil thick r than ah snickers in them. Does anyone know... Read More if you can custom order products in a larger size? ~Creeture

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2020

We appreciate these comments and that you've enjoyed these shorts. As far as larger/custom sizes, we do offer alterations in some of our technical pants, but other than that, this isn't something we are offering at this time.

May 29, 2020

waist band too narrow

I purchased a couple pairs of these shorts. First in medium, then in large as the mediums were just a bit too small. That's not that unusual for me as I'm a tweeter on M/L for most things. That said, the waist band is narrow and bunchy to my taste. If it was half again as wide with a less springy elastic, that would be nice. Otherwise, no... Read More complaints, just nice shorts to run in. PS - Loose the waist string. Who uses those?

May 13, 2020

Perfect trail running shorts

I loved the old version, successfully completed Dragon' Back and many other ultras. The only cons is that I would get some chaffing from the inside liner in rainy conditions. The pockets are perfect for phone and a bit of food. The new version is unfortunately a bit more baggy, longer and feels warmer. Maybe it is just about getting used to it... Read More, so will report back in 1000km or so :-)

May 12, 2020

Awesome Running Shorts

I have a 32" waist, so I ordered the M. Way too small/ tight. But size L fits perfectly. I have a pair of 2016 strider pros that I love (with the boxer liners). The 2016 strider pros tend to slide down a little bit, but not the 2020 strider pros. These shorts are an improvement and are really designed for running in more variable temperatures/... Read More warmer weather. The material is awesome. They are the most comfortable running shorts I've ever worn and will definitely be my go-to shorts for long summer runs and warm-weather trail racing. Tip: The Nine Trails shorts are the right choice if you want boxer liners.

April 20, 2020

Relatively spectacular

The shorts are spectacular - all the pluses but with a huge fit problem I don't understand - the inner liner is too small and tight in addition to the shorts running small by at least a full size. I read reviews and sized up to L even though I'm 5' 10", 145, 32" waist. The waist is maxed without being cinched at all and the... Read More liner is do-able but too small. I might just cut it out. My REAL concern is how this sizing ERROR could have gotten through Patagonia's usual comprehensive test phase. Whatever. 5* shorts with 3* review. Oh, one thought I had was mine are actually a woman's Large, that's how they fit. My 5' 9"/152 hiking squish LOVES my shorts.

April 20, 2020

Perfect for up tempo activities.

They don't get stinky and are perfect for those times when the tempo (and the heart) are up!

April 4, 2020

The perfect running shorts

I've bought 3 of these now. The perfect running shorts.

April 3, 2020

BRING OLD LINER BACK!! Still a solid short though.

Kinda weird to charge the same price by using less material on the newer brief liner, as opposed to the older boxer brief liner, but I digress. The old boxer brief liner had unmatched comfort on the running short market. Still a great short with sold pockets and the ever important external drawstring, but the liner change is devastating ): Thanks f... Read Moreor coming to my TED Talk.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Paul, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the revisions. We truly appreciate the feedback as it's crucial to improving products for future seasons and we'll pass it along to our design team!

February 23, 2020

The pocket change?

I wasn't sure how to contact Patagonia through email, so I guess I'll leave a review. The new shorts honestly feel as good as previous generations but the lack of pockets are a big issue. I was able to carry my phone, wallet, nutrition and whatever else needed in the old model, but these new ones I can't really fit anything. For sh... Read Moreorter runs or just quick hikes, these shorts feel and fit great but anything with distance I have to go back to old models because of the pockets. I just wanted to put that out there for anyone looking for some new shorts. Thanks!

March 25, 2020

The best running shorts

The best running shorts

February 12, 2020

Tale of two shorts

I've always liked running-style shorts for hiking, rather than most shorts marketed as "hiking" shorts. Roomier, lighter, no pockets that i don't need or use on the trail. Having tried a bunch of different brands over the years that were never quite right, a couple of years (summer, 2017), i bought a pair of the 5-inch Strider P... Read Morero shorts and i thought my search had finally ended. Fit was great (I'm about 6' tall, 185 pounds, 36-inch waist) . I'm usually a large, but got the extra large since i like hiking shorts to be roomy. These were perfect; really light, comfortable material, roomy but not too baggy. Tightness of the elastic on the waist band was what it should be. Length was good, too; short enough to not drag over thighs, but not so short to look silly. There is a small, triangle-shaped side opening on the outside of the legs. The waist band is a nice, soft, slightly fuzzy fabric that takes a little longer to dry out than the rest of the material, but is very comfortable. They are dark gray with black accents in a different material. So last year i ordered another pair to have for a planned, longer hike, but of course the design had changed. The issue for me is the waistband. Gone is the nice, soft material, now replaced with a harder-faced fabric which kind of folds over on itself and doesn't lie flat on the body. The side leg openings are now a little larger/higher, with a slight overlap where the fabric from the front and rear come together. No real problem with that; it's just different. (Looking at the current version on the website, it looks like they've done away with any kind of slit or opening on the leg.) Another difference: The older pair uses a different material in the crotch area and for the pockets. It's black, and appears to be lighter and more breathable than the main material for the rest of the shorts. The more recent pair (a lighter gray in color with light-green accents on the pocket trim and waistband) uses the same material throughout. None of this seems to makes any noticeable functional difference, though. Interestingly, the more recent pair weighs an ounce less than the pair from 2017 (3.3 vs. 4.3 ounces). The deal killer on the newer pair, though, is the waist band which is is uncomfortable to wear because it doesn't lie flat. So disappointing when makers ruin a good product. (Older version would get five starts, last year's gets two.)

February 15, 2020

Briefs to Boxers! Do it!

Ive own 2 pairs from 2014 and they're still going strong (Grey/Orange). Ive bought the 2017 version but ended up sending it back cos the briefs ate my inner thigh on an Ultra Race. Recently got the 2019/20 version in Mango and Balkan blue, awesome color! A lot has change and Im loving all of the new design except for the briefs. They are still... Read More tight but not like the last time I bought em. I have also did few research online and many do cut the briefs and wear a seperate boxers. Even their athlete do that too. So I give my old ones a try and it was very comfortable! its like a new version of the Shorts! But beware once you cut the briefs it will void their warranty. I hope Patagonia change the brief system to boxers in all of the Striders Pro version.

March 5, 2020

Best phone pocket!

Holds an iphone tight to your side so it doesn't bounce (the middle side pocket works best). Liner isn't perfect but has never chafed, including a hot 14 miler.

February 13, 2020

Best running shorts there is!

Best running shorts there is!

February 9, 2020

Great!

Design is perfect, material is light and comfortable. Used 2/3 times a week on distances between 10 and 20 kms

January 30, 2020

Excellent shorts

My second pair, they’re great-fit lovely & carry lots easily. I always buy in the sale but even so £55 for a pair of shorts-ouch! We pay too much for our running stuff. The older cut was nicer to look at & my fav colours scheme; green with lighter green trim hasn’t reappeared yet. They wear well, thank god.

January 30, 2020

Old version was perfect

I have 7 pair of the previous version. These new ones do not live up to those standards. It's a longer length, boxy, resulting in more fabric in between my thighs which bunches up and feels uncomfortable. Please bring back the previous version.

January 10, 2020

Toight pants!

Overall nice pants. The material i supernovor, but the mesh inside is to tights. Heard many cut it out, but it's kind of expensive garment to go cuttin' away at it....

January 8, 2020

My son who is 17,

My son who is 17, loves the fit of these shorts!

December 11, 2019

Not a fan of the new version

I'm sorry to say that I am not a fan of the new version. The old ones were rounded on the bottom, which I preferred. The new squared-off version just looks weird. I also miss the old color choices, the new colors are boring. I still love the pockets and will continue to wear my old ones!

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Hi Wynne, thanks for your review! It is definitely disappointing not finding the new fits/designs as favorable as the previous ones. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shorts if this is a deal breaker for you.

December 5, 2019

Shorts fit weird

Shorts were a weird fit, they just looked boxy and felt cheaper than the prior generation (which I was replacing). And cell phone pocket got SMALLER, which meant I could no longer wear my shorts for run commuting. Hence the return. Please fix the shorts!

December 3, 2019

shorts

Just what I've been looking for: shortish (5 in) shorts that don't restrict movement but!...Important, have pockets big enough for a wallet and keys. The pockets could also hold a normal size cell phone, but mine's too big. Worth the price if they last like my other Patagonia gear.

November 22, 2019

More of a question than a review...

Why did we change the strider? It is...err...was the best trail short ever made until they changed to design. The new version is heavy, wonky, and made of much cheaper material. My other question is, can you please release any of the deadstock striders on the website? I really think reverting to the previous model should be considered. Having s... Read Moreaid all of that, the previous version is unreal and if i would have known that you were going to make sure unsavory changes, i would have bought 10 pair.

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2019

We really appreciate the great detailed feedback, on these shorts MIchael! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) them to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us. Also, we'll pass along your review to our product designers!

November 22, 2019

Fantastic running shorts!

In a running short, you're looking for something that is unobtrusive. After the first mile, I forgot I had these on. Yes, they're short with the 5" inseam - I measured it. That short inseam, however, allows me to run unencumbered. The little zip pocket i the back is great for keys. I imagine the little pockets on the sides are for ge... Read Morels, though I have yet to use them. My wife says I look good in them.

November 22, 2019

Almost perfect

Great pockets and the inner brief works well for me. My only nitpick is that they flare a bit just below the waistband, so they're not as flattering as some other shorts I own.

November 22, 2019

The Best

Seriously, my favorite shorts to run in. The back pocket is perfect for a phone and fits in a way that doesn't bounce while you run. The small side pockets work well with gel's or a single car key. Never been a huge fan of short-short running shorts but these ones are awesome.

November 22, 2019

Lots-o-pockets

They fit well and true to size. They have 4 really great pockets with two of them big enough to fit a smaller iPhone so I don’t have to wear an armband on short runs. Also good for snacks, gloves etc

November 22, 2019

Love the updated fit

I've been wearing the Strider Pro's since the first generation and have not always enjoyed the improvements. However, this version is back on track. Pocket material is much more versatile. I love the material of the fabric, which is driers quickly and doesn't cling if it gets wet. Waist band and liner fit is much improved and doesn&#... Read Morex27;t chafe when pockets are loaded. Many options for carrying flask of gels, houdini, gloves, headlamp with easy access. My favorite shorts, I came back and purchased 3 more pairs I anticipate will last me several more years.

November 20, 2019

Great shorts!

Very comfortable, good pockets, dry super fast. Will buy more for sure

November 10, 2019

Great

Great shorts, comfy and easy to move in

November 7, 2019

Best Strider Pro yet

I've owned each of the last 3 versions of this short. The body material used is noticeably lighter than each of the two previous versions but is still plenty durable. And 100% recycled! The pockets were also updated from the previous version to be less stretchy but much more durable. The pockets on the previous version had too much give, and I... Read More was having to sew up holes frequently. I have not had this issue at all with the current version. I have no problems with sizing that others report. I wear a small in everything and find these to fit as they should. Quick drying, plenty of storage, and durable- the best shorts for ultrarunning!

November 5, 2019

Great pants!

Incredibly comfortable! Fits true to size.

November 5, 2019

Great stuff

Stuff in pockets don't bounce. Comfortable even when drawstrings pulled tight. Dries fast. Doesn't smell. Nicely ventilated. Does not chafe. Great quality

November 3, 2019

Shorts are great! Super comfortable!

Shorts are great! Super comfortable! As Ned Flanders once said...”It almost feels like I’m wearing nothing at all!”! Although he was talking about skiwear, it still relates in my opinion...

November 2, 2019

Good for regular runs, not ultras

I've been using Patagonia shorts for some time and really like the big, multi-pocket designs for ultras. Except for the boxer liner shorts (now discontinued), they've all been prone to some chafing, but these have been the worst. This model worked fine in a 50K trail run, but not for my 100 miler despite the copious amount of pre- and in-... Read Morerace lubing. I ended up running the last 50 miles with my shorts pulled low to reduce the pain. The lube also discolored the gray material that after many washes is starting to become less noticeable. On the positive side, the large stretchy pockets make it easy to carry a phone even on shorter runs. These are super thin and breathable, too.

October 29, 2019

I really want to love them, but don't...

I purchased 3 pairs in size M (6'/175lbs) hoping these were going to be the end all be all shorts for everything from fast track workouts to trail ultras, but after a couple hundred miles of desperately trying to convince myself to like them, I DON'T. First, the hang string and waistband seam irritate my lower back when carrying a phone... Read More, consistently drawing blood. Second, the material is not particularly soft and retains tons of moisture in high humidity environments. Third, the bottom stitching of the inseam causes uncomfortable chafing (an issue I've never had with other shorts). Forth, if you don't have a runner's butt, the liner will pinch rather than cradle your cheeks. Patagonia please fix the material, fit, and construction so I can love these as much as the rest of your gear.

Response from Patagonia
November 14, 2019

Hi Kip! Thanks for taking the time to provide such a detailed review, it's honestly crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're really sorry to hear about the experience you've had with them. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 24, 2019

Size too small

Shorts are great. However, I normally wear size small in other brands. I am 165 L.B. and 5.9. Waist fits good but it feels tighter around legs.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Hi Sergej, thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. We're sorry to hear about the trouble you've experienced with the fit. Your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 21, 2019

Great shorts

I have one pair of older Brooks shorts that I love, and about 4 different shorts I tolerate but don't really care for. I've been searching for another pair and think I found a winner with these. Very light. The material has a great feel and really excited about putting these through the trenches. The short fabric has some stretch but not ... Read Morea lot (which I like). The cut of the shorts and the openings on the sides allow plenty of room for movement.

October 20, 2019

Ms Strider Pro Shorts

I like how light weight these shorts are and plenty of pockets for gels, salt capsules etc. one thing I don’t like is the brief style liner. I prefer a liner that is full length. Overall, these are a good pair of running shorts, especially for long distance runs.

October 13, 2019

Good for shorter runs

These shorts are great for runs at an hour or less, but after that the DWR coating gets pretty inundated and when the material becomes wet the shorts get pretty restrictive. I wish there was a 3.5 inch version for men. Also make sure to lube up under the hip pockets if you've got a bottle in there and where the material is against the inner th... Read Moreigh lest you get some nasty chafing once it is sweat-through. Large fits me well at 5'11" 215# and for 45-90 minute runs.

September 23, 2019

Best running shorts of all time

I'm an ultra-trail runner but also do some speed work on the roads and have been running for 9 years. These are the best running shorts I've owned. I have one pair of the 2018 model and two pairs of the 2019 model. I'm 130 lbs and 5'6", a small fits me perfectly. The little pocket in the back perfectly fits my phone and the... Read More bouncing is almost non-existent even when I'm doing speed work or hopping down technical single track. I just ordered 2 more pairs to completely replace my old worn-out Nike shorts. I love that they are made from recycled content and look so nice. Highly recommend these to any serious runner.

September 15, 2019

Great shorts for casual marathoning

After two years of half-marathoning (pb 1:30) and now training for my first marathon (target: 3:20) and wearing everything from cheap Gap stuff to expensive Lululemon stuff, these shorts are my absolute favorite. The best feature is the pocket system. I don't need to wear a running belt to carry stuff there are open pockets for my phone and ge... Read Morels and a zippered pocket for my keys and transit and credit cards. Everything is very secure and, being so high to the waist, doesn't sway while in motion. The exterior drawstring closure is genius. The fabric is so lightweight that I forget it is there. Other reviews say that prior iterations had a better liner. I haven't had a problem with the new liner at all, even if it may not be as good. I rarely review products online, but I really enjoy these shorts and definitely will get a second pair. I intend to wear these for my big day. I might try the longer version as my large thighs (I had been an avid cyclist) chafe a bit after 16 miles or so of running, but it's nothing a little anti-chafing balm can't fix.

September 14, 2019

Perfect for hiking

Theses shorts truly show the quality of Patagonia products. Hiking the AT, my husband has put theses shorts to the test. They are comfortable and stretch to accommodate the more difficult climbs.

September 13, 2019

Sizing shifted... Not impressed.

The previous version of Strider Pros are my favorite pair of running shorts, so much so that I have (had) four pairs of them that I kept in rotation. Unfortunately, after wearing through the crotch on two pairs and the WornWear team deeming the shorts unrepairable, I decided to spring for a new pair in the new style. As others mention, the brief/li... Read Morener in these is significantly tighter than before and the material just doesn't feel as breathable. I returned them before even going for a run, as they were just too uncomfortable. Currently debating sizing up, but with concern that they'll be too big and baggy. Patagonia - please bring back the previous version with the right sizing and scalloped splits. Please also make a 5" strider without the pro pockets like you used to!

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2019

Thanks for the feedback and we are sorry to hear about the troubles. If you decide you'd like to try [sizing up/exchanging](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these, please let us know and we are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) ease the process.

September 10, 2019

Perfect fit, very nice material, and good graphics.

I cannot find fault with any part of this product. It was the Pemi Loop t-shirt done on the softest material. Would like to see a runner on a t-shirt, since many more of us are now running and hiking the Pemi Loop. Perhaps do a runner on a separate t-shirt? Great product and worth the price.

September 9, 2019

Amazing trails shorts.

Very clever pocket design, perfect cut, and super lightweight shorts. Love them.

September 7, 2019

Comfy

Nice and comfortable. Run maybe a bit small. I wear a M in the baggies, but the medium of these stride shorts were super tight. Large fit much better.

September 5, 2019

Husband loves these

I surprised my husband with a new pair of running shorts and he's been wearing them every time they are clean. Win!

September 4, 2019

Best Strider Pros yet!

I've got four older pairs of Strider Pro 5" shorts and have been been wearing them for a number of years, so I'm both familiar with and have been wearing the previous model for some time. I've also long regarded the Strider Pros as my most comfortable training shorts. Recently saw that they had been redesigned and thought I&#x27... Read More;d give the new model a try, even after reading a number of negative reviews here. I have to confess, I'm baffled by the vehemence of some of the negative reviews. I've worn my new-model shorts now at least a half-dozen times in the past couple of weeks on runs of 5 miles or better, and I can say without reservation that they're the most comfortable shorts I've got. Period. That's why I keep washing them and wearing them again, rather than cycling through the other shorts in my drawer. There are definitely some changes from the earlier iterations of the Strider Pro 5", but the changes are all improvements, it seems to me. The design and materials of the new waistband are definitely superior, the liner is cool and even more breathable, and the exterior is light but seems durable. Some folks have complained about the split-leg corners being square now rather than rounded, but the difference strikes me as a matter of taste rather than function. The new design looks fine, and there's no negative impact on how they ride during runs. The unique design of the pockets is just as functional as it's ever been, and the materials are just as excellent as on previous Strider Pros. The highest mark of ideal runningwear, in my view, is reached when I no longer even think about what I'mwearing once I've started running. By that measure, these new Strider Pros definitely meet, even exceed, the mark. I'll be getting a couple more pairs in the near future.

September 4, 2019

The world's best trail running shorts, but with a downgraded liner

I love the Strider Pro Shorts and prefer them to any other brand, but it kills me that Patagonia killed the boxer brief liner in favor of the brief-only liner. Do you hear me, Rabbit folks? Here's your opportunity to usurp the world's best trail running shorts! Bring back the boxer brief liners please!

September 3, 2019

Great shorts

My husband wears these for everything from the beach, the pool, and hot yoga. He loves them! Great short!

September 2, 2019

Strider Pro Shorts

The Strider Pro Shorts are my favorite 5'' trail running short one can find. This is the 4th pair I bought over the years and I am still using all of them.

September 1, 2019

The inside of the center-back on the waist band Chafes Badly.

I love the design, but there is a design flaw that chafes, & makes these shorts unacceptable for the long runs for which the pockets were designed. On the inside of the waist band in the center-back above the tailbone has a tab of contrast color fabric inserted vertically. (I presume this is to hide the seam). This tab is a careless oversight ... Read Moreby the designers, and it chafes badly on a long run, especially if the zippered pocket is carrying a phone... My hot shower last night after 14 miles in these shorts was an unpleasant kind of awful.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

Oh no, we are so sorry to hear about the troubles these have caused you. Please note, we are happy to accept these [back](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) as we want to ensure you comfortable and satisfied. Let us know if we can [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with this process.

August 31, 2019

Too snug

I wanted to love these: fantastic brief, great pockets, but the leg width seemed too snug. I am 6’4” and 190 lbs; I got a large. I will return them. I am tempted to try an XL, but worried the brief might be too large then.

August 31, 2019

Great shorts for runs. Super

Great shorts for runs. Super comfortable, wicks away moisture well.

August 31, 2019

Most comfortable running shorts

Although I've only ever had cheap shorts from target, these are without a doubt the most supportive and comfortable Ive ever worn.

August 31, 2019

But I still got tired

Comfortable, good pocket placement, a little clingy in the butt when soaked (true of most running shorts), salt stains wash right out. However, after wearing for a few hours of steep technical trails I got tired. Disappointed. Seriously, the only improvements to these shorts I can think of have to do with the operator, not the garment.

August 29, 2019

Strider Pro Shorts - 5inch

Great design with ample storage, including a large cell phone. I have a slight build and appreciate that the legs aren't overly cut. I like having the

August 29, 2019

Enjoy the product

The running shorts are convenient and practical. Even with pockets, the shorts do not feel bulky or hold your phone in a weird way so that it creates friction against your leg (as the largest pocket rests against your lower back, where I place my phone). Very functional and happy that I purchased these!

August 29, 2019

Nice shorts

Maybe the best running shorts I own. Love the lightweight feel and utility pockets. Only wish they were a bit longer - just a bit too short for the casual, 10 mi/week runner.

August 29, 2019

Mislead by size chart

ordered according to the size chart and the shorts were way too tight. had to send them back. i'd advise ordering up 1 size.

August 27, 2019

Love the shorts!

These are the best trail shorts I have. Very comfortable and breathable, and I love the side pockets... perfect for packing full of ice during hot races!

August 27, 2019

Great training shorts

I typically wear size medium for running shorts. I tried these shorts on in the store and went up to large. It worked for me. I liked the the shorts so well I ordered a second pair. Great short!

August 27, 2019

Awesome Purchase

I am 40 and I have been running seriously since I was in grade school. I am very particular about running shorts and these are some of my absolute favorites and the best new shorts that I have found in many years.

August 26, 2019

New Fit Not Right

I own three pairs now of the Strider Pro. Two, two year old pairs and one new 2019 version. I don't know who designed the "fit" of the new Strider Pro but it wasn't a man, and they did n't ask many "men" to try them. Boys maybe, but there is no room for junk in the trunk. That makes the shorts fit for women or b... Read Moreoys. There is minimal trunk space, if you know what I mean. The older version shorts had a much better fit, also had roomier side/rear pockets that were easier to access. My Houdini jacket fits in a side pocket of my older Strider Pros. Not the new one. Some designer wanted to save a few inches of fabric to to save a penny, which reduced access. Not I have to try multiple times every time I want to put something in a pocket. The older shorts also had venting side panels and a vented crotch. Not any more. Now it appears like that has disappeared from the design shop. Come on folks! I've been buying Patagonia since Yvon first started the company in the early 70's, because it was great gear designed by outdoor people who knew what they were doing, they tested it a lot, and they used it. I've been a walking-talking walking advertisement for Patagonia for many decades. Are you listening out there! I was also an industrial product designer for eight years. I know what I'm talking about.

August 26, 2019

Too tight

Small for a large and tight

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2019

We're sorry to hear this was too small! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us.

August 24, 2019

Great pockets, but lose the liner... please!!!

Okay, so I've read quite a few reviews on these shorts. The pockets are great... I love them, so + 1 star. The shorts are expensive! The fit is a little on the small side compared to most of my other running shorts, but I'm not a big person, so the fit was still okay. I ran 18+ miles in Houston area this morning with August humidity, and ... Read MoreI AM COMPLETELY CHAFED TO LIVING HELL even with using a lot of Body Glide (which I usually don't use unless I suspect possible chafing conditions). I am taking some scissors to the the stupid, overly tight, panty liner in these expensive shorts! Patagonia, please listen to the negative reviews from serious runners. I don't want to return my shorts for a refund... I need them for a trail run later in September. I simply want you to do some better market research with this, and please build a better pair of trail running shorts that do not chafe in hot/humid/wet conditions.

Response from Patagonia
September 6, 2019

Thank you very much for the feedback on this. We are sorry to hear that the liner has caused some troubles and been so uncomfortable for you. Though you'd like to keep the shorts, if there is anything else we can do for you, please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=help).

August 21, 2019

Excellent running shorts

I love them. The pockets are a feature I didn't even know running shorts needed but the way they stick to your hips makes whatever is in the pocket not bounce around. After wearing the first pair a few weeks straight on runs, I bought a second pair.

August 21, 2019

Very nice shorts

Another quality product from Patagonia. Great lightweight material. Supportive mesh liner. I'm glad they returned to the brief style liner, rather than the boxer brief style. The zipperless side pockets are a nice touch too.

August 21, 2019

Great Great Running Shorts

These shorts are going to be hard to beat. They are comfy and fit great. Only thing i would say is liner runs a little snug.

August 20, 2019

My Favorite Running Shorts

These shorts are lightweight and dry quickly. The seams on the liner are flat to prevent chafing. The pockets are just big enough to fit a cell phone and have stretchy flaps to keep things from falling out. In 10 years of running and probably 30 different shorts tried, these are by far the most comfortable running shorts that I have owned.

August 19, 2019

Strider short 5’’

Really light, good freedom of movement and three great pocket for snack and phone.

August 19, 2019

Too snug for me

I was excited to try these shorts out because they seemed like the perfect combination of utility and minimalism. I found them to be just that: the stretch waist pockets fit snacks and small items perfectly, the the fabric wasn't too stiff and kept me sweat-free, and the 1/2 split allowed for just the right amount of mobility while still manag... Read Moreing to keep me chafe-free. I was, however, extremely disappointed with the fit of these shorts. I'm 5'8", 155 lbs with a 31-2" waist and consistently wear a medium in running/athletic shorts. I bought a medium in these shorts and after putting about 20 miles on them, I found them to be uncomfortably tight in the seat and legs. For this reason I decided to return them and shop around for some shorts that fit me better.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We're sorry these ended up being too snug! Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions regarding your return.

August 19, 2019

Men’s Strider 5” shorts

Perfect length. Material very comfortable for August NC runs

August 17, 2019

Perfect

So light, fits perfect quality feels like it’s gonna last a long time

August 16, 2019

Comfort zone

I’ve never been a short running short guy. I bought one pair of these to try them out since I’ve never been disappointed by anything I’ve purchased from Patagonia. I wore them during a workout with a run between sets I can’t believe how much better they were then wearing shorts with a longer inseam they are very comfortable light so. I order a seco... Read Morend pair the following week.

August 16, 2019

Strider shorts

Very lightweight. Keep me cool and dry. Could use a little more support when running down steep hills.

August 12, 2019

I like these a lot.

I like these a lot. I appreciate additional pockets. Did great on a 1 week backpack. I wore them every day and was happy in the Tennessee heat and all the creek dippin.

August 12, 2019

Love the shorts

Very comfortable, and good for everyday use, gym, hiking, swimming. Get material.

August 12, 2019

One my third pair

Just bought my third pair because there super comfy! I run about 40-60 miles a week plus I bike and these are the only shorts I’ve been wearing for my runs.

August 10, 2019

great running shorts

fits well, not too long (or too short), great pockets for gu & keys...

August 10, 2019

Cool & Comfortable

I wear them for summer bike rides, 25 miles or so twice a week at a 12 mph average. It’s hot in the morning in Texas but these shorts stay cool and don’t cling. They’re well designed & built, good looking and promise years of wear.

August 10, 2019

Best shorts ever

I got these shorts to wear running , but they’re so comfortable and awesome, I’ve been wearing them non-stop including swimming!

August 10, 2019

runs small

I'm a medium in everything from Patagonia but these shorts were pretty small. Chafes a bit. Wish I had gotten large.

July 31, 2019

Best running shorts (of the past)

Man, I love love love these shorts. Running 30-50 mi/wk and these WERE the best shorts out there. I have 4 older pair, including one I ordered a year ago. The newer version, this version, have a different liner that is not as comfortable as the old liner. First of all it, the new liner is very tight on the man parts and secondly, it is a different,... Read More less smooth material. I had to cut the liners out but that led me down the path of finding a great liner which I did...check out path project liners. Wow! Anyway, Patagucci needs to go back to the older line on these otherwise awesome shorts.

Response from Patagonia
July 31, 2019

Sorry to hear that the shorts have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

July 26, 2019

I love them

I've been on the fence about wearing Patagonia because I'm a snowboarder , and mostly wear Burton lol its silly. Anyways, I bought 2 of the shorts and love them! so comfy and super light weight. I enjoy the pockets for my gels during my long runs.

July 22, 2019

Terrible sizing

Would be a good pair of shorts as the pocket design is top notch. Size small, which I wear in every other brand of running shorts is too small. Size medium is like wearing hammer pants. For reference I'm 5'9" and 146lbs. Bummer

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2019

We sorry you're disappointed with the sizing. Please don't hesitate to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions regarding our return process.

July 14, 2019

Best running shorts ever

I’ve been running for 40 years. These are the best shorts I’ve ever owned. The brief liner is fantastic. I just ran a half marathon in them in 90 plus degree weather. They performed great. I just ordered two more pairs.

July 11, 2019

Men's Strider Pro 5" short

These are the best running/ training shorts I've ever put on! The fit is true to size (I am a 32 waist in pants and got a medium) and flattering! They sit comfortably at the waist, and don't pinch or rub on long runs. The outer waist tie is simple genius and the fit around my thighs is just snug enough without limiting range of motion tha... Read Morenks to the perfectly placed side cuts (I also squat in these). After putting on my initial pair I didn't want to take them off, often lounging around the house in them and promptly purchased two more just in case Patagonia decided to do a redesign in the coming weeks! HA! Do yourself and the environment a favor and get these 100% recycled polyester shorts, you won't regret it!

July 10, 2019

World's Best Running Liner... Gone.

The old version of these shorts had the best liner of any short on the planet. I went to buy another pair and they done messed up the formula and it now has a brief liner like every other mediocre short out there. And the liner in the bourgeois Striders doesn't cut it for longer efforts. Between this and the boxy non-athletic cuts for alot of ... Read Moretops/shirts, I fear we are moving into athleisure territory.

Response from Patagonia
July 11, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the revision. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us and let us know if you have any questions.

July 9, 2019

5" Strider Pro. No longer my favorite :(

The Strider Pro has been my go to short for four years, but after a fabric tear on the back pocket of one of my pairs I was happily warrantied by the Denver store. However, when running in the new pair of Strider Pro's I found the pockets lacking in comparison to the past pairs and got chafing which never happened in my old ones (nor does it i... Read Moren other older existing pairs). I continue to run in the older pairs, but don't find myself running in the new ones because of fit, pocket, and chafe. Please go back to what made this short so great in the years prior to 2019.

July 6, 2019

Love the 2018 model, 2019 is ok

Love everything about the 2018 model of this shorts. Saw that the 7" was back to a brief so I got a pair. The pockets hold less than the previous model, they barely stretch at all. And when you say the pocket fits most smart phones, that is true if you are using anything the size of an iphone 6 without a case or smaller. Otherwise every thing ... Read Moreelse about the short is great.

June 27, 2019

Best trail run shorts ever

I have 5 pair of these shorts. The pockets don't seem to exist until you need to fill them and then they are huge - holding a phone, keys, gels, wrappers, etc. They expand crazy but the material keeps them so they don't bounce.(within reason - I run with minimal stuff - Phone is usually in another separate pouch) They have never chaffed. ... Read More(I run 5-65 miles - dirt most often and dirt always over 15) 5" inseam is great with not a lot of material. The liner is superb - keeping my junk high and tight. Soaked in sweat, energy drink, rain or whatever trail runners get into, they don't bag or sag or get heavy. The only con - and the company warns you about smell - Frankly if something was covering my gross bits for hours on end, it is going to stink. DON'T Be like me and put them in the dryer (I am lazy) It seems to bake the smell of that part of my body into the fabric despite using every tech fabric cleaner and odor remover and coverup known to man. Washing them and putting in direct sunlight works for a couple runs. (I am washing after each run - just to be clear - I am lazy, not gross). Sitting in your car after 20 miles, with shorts on and windows up might inspire you to get some fresh air. I will never look for another pair of shorts. Lightweight but indestructible. I try to wait for sales but this is a product I happily purchase at full price. To be clear, my shorts are all at least a year old - some are three years old I believe.

June 22, 2019

Just right for long runs

I own four different different versions of the Strider Pro 5" shorts, dated 2012 to 2017. The shell and liner fabrics in this year's version is much lighter than that in my 2012 versions. The forward hips pockets fit my __phone 7 with no room to spare, which is perfect for me. I found over time, the size of these forward pockets had been ... Read Moreenlarged and the fabric made more stretchy. The larger stretchier pockets allowed my phone to move around too much, get completely horizontal, become unsecured at the top, just too much space. This had been a problem for me on long races as it forced me to constantly check and adjust the phone. The forward pockets in my latest version are a perfect size now. The inside of the waistband is smooth - no chafe inducing fabric wrinkles. These are definitely designed for a slim fit. I am generally in the 145 - 149 lb range. The lack of mesh fabric on the sides and the change to straight slits improved the comfort of the short compared to earlier versions, for me. I was expecting the opposite, but am pleasantly surprised. I will be buying another pair of these for my rotation.

June 13, 2019

Great shorts but chafe

The "chafe-free comfort" did not work out for me. Great shorts and great for short runs, but anything big ... chafing. The 9 Trails with the full boxer short inside work much better. For me.

May 28, 2019

not flexible

Old model (2018) better more fabric and functionality Please change it back, Patagonia The new version of the fabric is not flexible

Response from Patagonia
June 13, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're not satisfied with their functionality. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us and don't hesitate to contact our Customer Service team if you have any questions.

May 20, 2019

Great for running

I originally ordered size M, but found the waist too tight (I'm a 32" waist) not to mention the internal brief liner was a bit on the short side - not deep enough. I went to the size L and it was much better. I like the mesh side pockets to put energy bar, key, money (bills), ID and credit card so I don't have to put on a running bel... Read Moret to hold these things. Length is good for running (I don't like them too long or too short). Nice addition to my running supply.

May 18, 2019

High Quality

An upgrade from the previous version. Pockets are shallower. Legs are an even length and have a nice split at the bottom. The fabric and liner are superb.

May 15, 2019

Great All Around Shorts

I originally purchased these shorts for Trail Running in the mountains where I live around Yosemite, but now I use them also for daily wear and travel. I like their 5-inch inseam, 5 usable pockets, and versatility for swimming, sleeping, and packability. This is the second pair I've purchased, and really wish there were more color or pattern o... Read Moreptions. I'm a waist size 33 with a larger than average booty and I went with the Medium size.

May 10, 2019

Good, but worse

Design improvements from last version, but the material makes a swishy sound while running (similar to when your arm moves in a rain shell)

May 9, 2019

Solid Trail Shorts

A solid pair of running shorts. Love the zippered pocket, although its not big enough for larger phones, not sure what phone that is in the website picture. I don't really use the gu or gel pockets on the side. Since if I am going for a run where I need nutrition or hydration I carry my vest. Likely could be a good stash pockets for used GU wr... Read Moreappers. I did run a 40 mile race in these and no complaints. They are comfortable trail shorts. One of the reasons I buy Patagonia is for the durability, but I really can't speak to that yet.

May 8, 2019

Bees knees

These shorts rock. Saw a lot of reviews wishing the old model was back so I was a little hesitant on getting them. Well let's just say I'm a little curious on how the old ones were cause I'm a huge fan of these. Went with 4 stars instead of 5 due to lack of time in them but so far so good. I'm 5'11 150 and usually wear a si... Read Moreze 29 and the small was absolutely perfect.

May 8, 2019

My Arse Thanks YOu

Finally I found some shorts that will avoid chafing over long distance. And even with 'cycle' hips and thighs an extremely awesome fit.

May 8, 2019

Consistent Quality

Bought a pair of these a few years back and they still look good. As Spring approaches bought a new pair. Patagonia never sacrifices quality to make a buck. I appreciate it.

May 4, 2019

I’ll try again next year

I’ll echo the other reviews and say that I was excited to get another pair of my favorite shorts in a new color, but these are inferior to the prior generation in pretty much every respect that matters to me. They’re not bad shorts, I guess - just worse than they used to be. I’ll return these and wait to see if Patagonia un-fixes them next season.

Response from Patagonia
May 7, 2019

Sorry to hear that the shorts have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store for credit or send them in for a refund.

April 23, 2019

Love these shorts

I honestly am not sure where all the hate comes for this new redesign. I did not use the older version but this new version is perfect for my needs and fit. The pockets are awesome, the brief liner for me personally keeps things in tact much better then a boxer brief liner, the length is perfect and the medium fits amazingly well for my 5' 10.... Read More5" 160 lbs athletic frame. I love these shorts, have 3 pairs and run in them almost every day.

April 20, 2019

Why change a perfectly good thing?

These were like the best shorts on the market and my absolute favorite. For 2019 they changed everything for the worse: Fit, style, fabric and functionality... Please change it back, Patagonia, please!

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2019

We are very sorry to hear about the disappointment with the recent changes and greatly appreciate your feedback on this. You are welcome to send those back to us for a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

April 19, 2019

Please Bring Back 2018’s...

25-year Patagonia wearer. First-time reviewer. Please bring back the 2018. The 2019 cut sits higher on the waist, and longer/tighter on the leg. If you have quads, glutes and you schvitz a bitz these are uncomfortable and not-so-desirable. If you have a noodle-body (written in the non-pejorative sense, no offense meant), these may work. I’m 5’10” 1... Read More55.

April 6, 2019

My favorite shorts

I bough these for the Last Annual Vol State 500k in 2018. I wore them for 6 days straight only rinsing them out every day. They performed perfectly and still don't stink.

April 6, 2019

New generation.. not as great

These went from being my absolute favorite running shorts to not being able to wear them anymore. The last generation was AWESOME. Now the shorts are longer and the pockets aren’t as good. I had two pairs replaced on warranty because there were holes in the pockets, but now I wish I hadn’t sent my old ones in because I can’t even wear these newer o... Read Morenes. Very disappointing

April 4, 2019

Why?

You arguably had the best shorts on the market. I can’t imagine why a complete overhaul was called for. Fit, fabric, pockets, length...they were perfect. I’ve worn these for years and while I’ll keep them, sadly I’ll be looking for an alternative.

March 29, 2019

Too many changes

Strider Pro shorts have been my go to shorts for years so naturally when a new version came out in new colors I ordered a pair from Running Warehouse. Unfortunately when they arrived I learned that everything had changed. The outer short is more like a board short and the waistband isn't as stretchy so the drawstring needs to be overnighted to... Read More keep the shorts up with items in the pockets. The liner fits differently too, it's much tighter than in previous years. I sure hope Patagonia switches back to the previous fit and materials because these shorts used to be perfect.

March 25, 2019

I like the previous generation of the Strider Pro much better.

I was running in the previous generation of these shorts for the last two years now and will be comparing my experiences. The iconic envelope pockets are not stretchy anymore. Comparing to the prev. generation, where I could stuff in the Houdini jacket on the go, this is not the case with these shorts anymore. The pockets made of the material whic... Read Moreh is barely stretch: anything bulkier than a couple of gels will push against your body, rather than stick outside. And again, if you'd manage to squeeze in something bulky like an empty flask or a pair of gloves, -- good luck taking it on/off on the go with that damn new pockets. More than that, all the pockets are smaller in volume now. Patagonia, you killed the killer feature of these shorts! A couple of less important things I don't like: the splits are just boring straight cuts now, so the shorts feel longer. Also, there's no stretchy and breathable material on the sides anymore. The key loop is now on the opposite side of the back pocket, so it's harder to use it. All in all, considering the price, you can find a cheaper pair of just comfy and boring running shorts. The iconic pockets on these are gone. I'm so much regret I didn't buy more of the previous generation before they have gone from the market :( That's a bummer, dear Patagonia!

March 25, 2019

Best running shorts I have owned

These shorts are super light, and the 5 pockets can hold quite a bit. The liner is also extremely comfortable.

March 21, 2019

Bring Back Previous Model

The 2018 version of this short was perfect, with the exception of the back pocket not fitting a phone. This years fabric is not as soft, the waist is tighter, and the side split is not as deep. I just spent the last ten minutes going back and forth between this new pair and last years, and without a doubt last years was superior. The front panels... Read More were cut up slightly higher as well, so when running there is no resistance to the knee raising, but the new version is cut straight around the thigh. As you raise your leg you can “feel” the short more. I really wanted to like these, but they are just not the same short. Bummed to have to return these...

March 18, 2019

Jordan B.

Beware of new totally different fit! I’ve been wearing these shorts for years. I have 5 pairs of the (apparently) older version black ones. I just received two new pairs in only to find out they fit completely and totally different than previous. For whatever reason, my typical size of L, is now way too large in the waist, too long, and too much ... Read Morefabric so I feel like I’m wearing a kilt of some sort. 1 star for switching up the sizing big time without a heads up in the description. It’s literally like an entirely different short. Even the fabric feels different, cheaper. Only way I could tell it was infact the Strider Pro was due to same pocket layout. I guess now I’ll just hope the remaining pairs of good ones stay strong for me. I don’t know how the other reviewer Jeremy claims they’re like previous versions. Guess he got a good batch.

March 14, 2019

My favorite running shorts

I’m 5’8”, 185 lbs and buy medium. They fit well. This is the third pair I’ve bought. Still love them, but the pockets immediately to the left and right of the rear zippered pockets aren’t as deep as the last pair. Best shorts for a long run. Come to think of it, they are just the best running shorts

February 10, 2019

Best running shorts ever

I just purchased this latest series, but if they're anything like previous years, they're perfect. It looks like an iPhone will fit in the back pocket which would have been my only minor complaint. The shorts dry quick, and are comfortable for long, long runs. I ran my last 50k in a pair of these and experienced no chaffing or other prob... Read Morelems. Definitely my go-to shorts, which is why I just bought more, I'm getting tired of wearing less comfortable running shorts. Well done Patagonia. I'm 5'10 and 165lbs (not pure muscle :P), the medium fits perfectly.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches