Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R2® TechFace Hoody

Write Your Review

4.9 /5

Filter Reviews

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R2® TechFace Hoody

4.9
Kinda Large
July 9, 2020

Just lovely

Super comfortable. Great for evenings in the Sierras.

July 9, 2020

Tough

I wear this thing everyday to work, tough as nails, gets tossed and abused. I burn through regular hoodies in a month or two, this thin will last years.

June 17, 2020

My favorite Patagonia Item

I live in this hoodie. It's warm, does a pretty good job blocking mild wind and weather, and is light and allows freedom of movement. I only wish there were more color choices.

April 15, 2020

Good

.Good

April 11, 2020

Amazing

I have many jackets and I must say that I LOVE this jacket. The outer material is smooth and soft, it sheds light water and dirt well. The inner material is loose and fluffy, very warm and comfortable. I work outdoors and I need to trust my gear and it has to prove its worth. Well, after many days backpacking in to study sites and relying on this j... Read Moreacket to keep me warm through the whole trip, I can safely say this jacket works well. I have worn it under rain gear during torrential downpours and it breathes well even in the rain while hiking. When worn solo, it breathes very well, blocks some wind (stops the wind better than my R1) and is warm. The temperature rating for me is between 60 degrees (almost too warm if in the sun and no wind) down to 40 degrees (I have not been in temps below 42 degrees in just this jacket yet). The wind can blow through this jacket, but that is the downside to having it breath so well. I love this jacket and have been living in it for a month now, using it for work and casual wear. Great job Patagonia and thank you for making such an excellent product I can enjoy and rely upon to keep me warm and safe.

March 16, 2020

It's brilliant!! Very good quality

It's brilliant!! Very good quality

March 11, 2020

I am 180. On the

I am 180. On the website it recommended me L. It was a way to big for me. M is fitting much better

March 5, 2020

Excellent !!!

Probably the best hoodie I have ever had . Great craftsmanship, great materials and very comfortable. Great technical hoodie

March 3, 2020

All good

All good

February 26, 2020

The fleace is super warm

The fleace is super warm and comfortable. The only thing is sizing! Medium was too small for me and large is to loose. I’m 102 cm in chest and according to your sizing i fit in neither of M nor L. It would be nice to get actual measurments of the product. Buing online I always compere the new item to what i already have. That gives the idea of what... Read More it will look like on me. For those who like it more relaxed i’d add elastic puller on the hips. Again the product is great, already tested in the mountains.

February 20, 2020

Extremely versatile

Purchased the R2 to be a versatile piece of wardrobe and that is exactly what it does. The Medium runs true to size, with a nice coat length rather than a shorter shirt length. Elastic hem is snug, keeping in heat. Cuffs are snug with a stretch area by wrists that I thought would bother me but they remain warm and snug. Pockets are good sized and z... Read Moreip closed. The hood is great: snug, and high, up to my mouth. Kind of like a baklava. Jacket is toasty warm and I tend to use it as an outer layer on cool days and a mid layer on cold or windy days. It is a perfect travel and layering piece. I use my capilene air as a base layer, R2 as mid layer, and TNF Ventrix as my outer layer. That works for me 95% of the time.

February 11, 2020

Great Piece

Wore them as an outer shell or a midlayer and can say this piece is just great! Im a person who gets cold easily and this jacket really kept me warm! The weather resistance is good too, i have worn in to go skiing and in light rain and wasn’t wet afterwards.

February 8, 2020

A great addition

The R2 Techface hoody is a great addition to my wardrobe. It is wearable over a wide temperature range. Slim fitting, it is " fuzzy warm " on the inside & protects against the wind & briars on the outside.

January 17, 2020

Shockingly Useful Hoody

Last weekend I took this up to 12,500 ft in the wind and snow. I was skiing hard and didn't sweat out or freeze. This thing gives that perfect balance. The hood fits tight and the zipper goes high so it feels like a balaclava when fully zipped. Great hoody!

January 17, 2020

Wowza, this is hoody is AWESOME!

My Patagonia quiver is deep, and this piece rises to the top and is a new favorite. It's warm, extremely comfortable and exquisitely tailored/fitted. Does double duty as a mid-layer (I've even worn it under a Micro Puff on extra frosty days) and an outer layer in milder weather and works when wet. The balaclava hood replaces a beanie if y... Read Moreou're going minimal, fits well over a beanie when its cold and fits beautifully under a helmet. The techface increases wind resistance compared to traditional fleece, similar to a soft shell, and the inside loft retains that wonderful, warm, classic fleece coziness we all love. The side pockets are easily accessible with harness, and the body of the jacket is long. Patagonia slim fit is often way too tight in the shoulders, chest, arm holes and upper back and therefore uncomfortable (even though I'm skinny) and no chance of layering (I usually don't get anything slim fit due to poor fit), but this is the exception and in my opinion sets the standard for slim fit tailoring - eg, its not sized down through the shoulders and chest but its trim in the lower torso. Perfection! I usually layer this over a sleeveless baselayer and a Capilene Midweight or over a tee and a collared shirt around town and its not restrictive and its looks nice enough for social occasions. Basically, this jacket it performs exactly as described. I love everything about it and cant' recommend it enough!

December 31, 2019

Goody Hoody

Mid winter mid layer minimizes cold drafts. Surprised to discover this size L fits under my size L R1 tech Hoody for double breathable protectionism. The under helmet design equals cozy alpine skiing and bike commutes. The zipper rubs a bare chin, easily solved by a Buff. A piece to plan to wear all day as it’s not small to stuff into a pack.

December 30, 2019

so good i bought two!

for reference, im 5’11” and 155lbs. i have a 38 inch chest, 32 inch waist, and this fit perfectly! tried this hoody on at the Patagonia store in Park City Utah, and fell in love with it. it’s hella soft, comfortable, and probably the warmest hoody on the planet. fully zipped and with the balaclava style hoody, you can instantly feel your upper bo... Read Moredy heat up. i wish they had thumb holes but it’s not a deal breaker, i bought the fire red online and the balkan blue in store (wish they had a peppergrass green color way.)

December 16, 2019

New favorite thing to wear

I’m a big fan of Patagonia. I am usually wearing something of their’s everyday. During the cold months I usually wear a vest but now this is going to be my go-to item. It is very comfortable and warmer than I thought it would be. It is different from other items I have or have seen by Patagonia. On really cold days it will be good under a warmer ja... Read Morecket. On days in the mid 40s or 50s, this will be ideal. It is a slim fit so I sized up. I usually wear a large in jackets and vests. I’m 5’10 and about 215 lbs with bigger shoulders and chest. The large fit but was snug and would be a good layer, but I wanted it as a jacket and a little more room, so I went to an XL. I would recommend this to anyone and would even buy another one.

December 13, 2019

REEEALLY warm.

This is an awesome piece. Possibly the best part of it is that it enables me to wear it alone instead of two or even three layers. It is SUPER warm. It's important to remember that this is an ACTIVE piece and being the R grid, wind does get through it a bit, so if you're just gonna be hanging & not moving around generating at least a ... Read Morelittle heat you'll likely want something more in the cold. But it holds heat extremely well and breathes a bit too. It's a slim fit, which is what makes it so warm, but the fabric is super stretchy and comfortable through the full range of motion. Hood fits great and the high zipper acts as a nice face mask for nice lip/face protection in blustery moments. Pockets are great and DWR finish is awesome.

December 4, 2019

Very comfortable

Great fit. Looks good. Wore it this morning for the the first time with just a cotton tshirt underneath. Was comfortable walking in 39 degree weather with a light breeze. Hood was a little too snug, but a have a 7 3/8 size head. I can see myself wearing this for a lot of different activities, as well as casually.

November 12, 2019

warm, nice colours, but not very versatile...

Early days, but so far this garment has worked well for the particular niche use I bought it for - namely something warm to pull on after getting out of the water. The R2 TechFace Hoody is warm, breathable and offers a less-than-complete but still useful level of wind-resistance. The fit is much more snug than most recent Patagonia garments - a go... Read Moreod thing if you are of slim or athletic build. And the jacket also looks good. Where the it falls short is in one area where older Patagonia “R”-series gridded micro-fleeces were unbeatable - the soft, drapey, quality which makes clothes irresistibly comfortable, and easy to layer. The stretch fabric used in the R2 Techface is oddly stiff - almost like a thin wetsuit. This stiffness probably adds to the warmth, since the business end of the fleece is firmly clamped to the wearer. But it also makes for some serious compromises when it comes to layering, or freedom of movement. And it means that the jacket does not pack well, occupying a very large space in your pack, relative to the warmth It provides. Where the jacket seems to work best is as a outer layer, in situations where weight and bulk are not an issue. So if you are travelling by car, all good. But based on my experiences with it to date, I would be unlikely to take this garment up a mountain, or into the wilderness. In short, if what you are looking for is a moderately warm outer layer which will dry faster and breath better than a quilted jacket, then the R2 TechFace Hoody can serve very well. But as all-round outdoor garment with technical application, it is sadly inferior to Patagonia’s old R1 or R3 hoodies.

November 8, 2019

Sweet!

Great piece! Super comfy, nice long cut for harness wear. Does a good job of blocking wind yet breathes great for wear while hiking.

November 7, 2019

Versatile

This fleece hoody has already become my go to piece for hiking, biking and all around use. It’s warm but breathable, stretchy in all the right places and looks good enough for a night out on the town. Expecting to use it for cross country skiing as well.

November 6, 2019

R2 techface hoody

This garment has a luxurious feel to it due to the generous nap of the inner fleece layer (unlike the R1techface nap). I wore it with a light capilene base layer snow biking in the upper 20's and was quite comfortable. Breathability is good and so is wind resistance.

November 6, 2019

Perfect Layer

Perfect Layer

November 5, 2019

Refined But Simple Multi-Use

A simple hoody but with refined elements like fit, closures, and pockets. The R2 is heavier weight for colder temps.

November 3, 2019

Great new piece!

I love the new hooded R2 techface jacket! I'm 6'1", 180+lbs ,athletic build and the size medium pits perfectly. I wish the regular R2 fleece had the same fit. It's great for fly fishing, hiking or wear casually around town. It's good for temperatures in the 40s and 50s. Now that temperatures are more frequently below 32F I ... Read Morehave been wearing a nanopuff vest over it. I wish they made a hooded vest version of the R2 techface.

November 2, 2019

Fits great, warm, looks good..

Fits great, warm, looks good.. stoked

November 1, 2019

Everything but the fit...

This hoody has been great so far. I'm using it as a base layer here in Antarctica. It's warm. The chest pocket is spacious. And the outer material seems burly enough to put up with tough work. My only issue is the sizing. I am 6'1" and 185 pounds and wearing a medium. The jacket fits my arms well. The torso is a little short and... Read More the hood feels a little tight. I just wish Patagonia would make a slightly sportier cut for their gear. I'm always awkwardly stuck between larges being too big, and mediums being a little tight in odd spots.

November 1, 2019

Love it

Fits great, good technical hood that will fit under a helmet. The color red looks great. I live in Wydaho and this layer is the right fit for fall and winter in the Tetons.

October 29, 2019

The best

This might be the best piece of clothing I own. Warmth, lightweight, breathable, wind blocking and beyond comfy. I want 2 more so I can wear them all the time without wearing them out.

October 21, 2019

Haven't had enough time in

Haven't had enough time in actual use conditions, but comfortable & fits well. Worked great considering not too cold yet.

October 21, 2019

Warmer than the nano-air hoody

I wanted something warmer than my nano-air hoody but not as bulky as my puff or down jackets. This fits the bill. Very happy so far.

October 18, 2019

Toasty and comfy

Probably my new favorite jacket. It’s comfy like a hoody yet with the water / wind resistant outer layer you can wear it in almost all weather. I was looking for something that was comfy / warm like my better sweater but with a little more weather resistance. I liked how you can zip it off to dump heat and quickly take off when getting into a car ... Read MoreI’m 5’10” 155lbs and went for medium as I want to be able to wear a vest under it and then my ski jacket over top. It’s a little long in the sleeves.

October 14, 2019

Love the snuggly fit, and

Love the snuggly fit, and soft inside fleece which doesn’t get you too hot.

October 12, 2019

Remarkably Light But Warm

Thanks to some crazy weather (or maybe new-normal), I got to wear this jacket for my couple mile walk to and from work. Worn with just a tshirt underneath, I was comfortable in windy upper 30s F going in and calm almost 60F walking home. Great slim fit. Snuggly fleece interior.

October 6, 2019

This is a great new

This is a great new piece. The high neck keeps out the cold.

August 29, 2019

Initial Impression

Still summer, so it will be a while before I actually use the R2. I'm medium build, 6'0, 175 and the jacket fit like a glove. First trial proved it to be warm. Hood is snug but not too tight, with good fit around the face. Sleeve's and hem are right length. Long term review will follow after winter.

August 2, 2019

Brilliant piece

I have the regular techface r2 , just got the hooded version in red. It seems like they improved the cut. This is a great piece, as warm as a micropuff but more breathable. I also love my nano air but this has that great soft fleece interior and blocks the wind great. Brilliant piece.

August 2, 2019

If you run cold and want a insulating midlayer that provides excellent protection, moisture management and superior abrasion resistance, it's here!

First off-the design and fit of this are what the R1 techface should be. The R1 techface is designed (both hood, zipper covers and fit adjustment) like a shell. But its more like a quasi softshell/air permeable windshell that would be better suited as a midlayer than as a shell ie worn as an outer layer until conditions deteriorate. Granted, i live... Read More in the PNW so if I lived in somewhere that has "easy" conditions (dry) like CO, then it would work well as a psuedo shell. Make an r1 techface in the same feature and build set (not with shell features) or the r1 techface pullover with a under helmet hood, and voile, youll have a winner. As is the r1 techface is an identity crisis that works well only in forgiving climates. Anyway, back to the r2 techface. This is everything the R1 tech should be. A stretchy, moisture managing, semi wind and water resistant, insulating MIDLAYER, that doesnt pretend to be a shell, yet can pull double duty as one in good to fair conditions. The fabric kind of reminds of neoprene (in a good way) the interior fabric is extremely cozy, but when wet it gets soaked it stays warm and manages moisture well. The weather resistance is very high. They also get rid of the stuff that the r1 techface doesnt need, ie outerwear style adjustment. It is just a stretchy formfitting piece. The only conditions dependent issue (and why the r1 tech needs a redesign) is that this thing is wicked warm! This is a pro and a con. I would use this as a more versatile midlayer than the nano air light series. It is as warm as the nano air light series, is cozier, more weather resistant, way more abrasion resistant and only a bit heavier. It will last multiple times longer than any nano air piece. BUT I will likely only use it on very cold days, as I tend to run hot. OR stop and go adventures to minimize layer changes. If you run cold and want a insulating midlayer that provides excellent protection, moisture management and superior abrasion resistance, then here you go! It is a little heavier than other midlayers, but they wont last half as long (i have owned the r2 techface jacket for over a year so I know how the fabric does long term-which is to say, excellently). Also sizing is better than some other patagonia pieces. I wear a medium or a small in patagonia (which is insane as I am a 6'1 40in chest 175 lbs male) which in any other country is Large. But patagonia has changed their sizing to accomadate the masses in America-ie not athletic. This is actually more fitted for an athlete. Due to generous stretch, i could wear a small in this piece, but liked the feel of the medium better.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches