Back to Product

Patagonia Hose-Down Slicker Waterproof Bib Overalls

Write Your Review

4.0 /5

Filter Reviews

All 15 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Hose-Down Slicker Waterproof Bib Overalls

4.0
June 5, 2020

Smaller Sizes Needed

I am a backcountry trail maintenance worker in the North Cascades, which means I aim to stay (relatively) dry for eight days at a time, subject my rain gear to a good bit of abrasion (while walking through brush, kneeling, etc.), and carry it on my back when Im not wearing it. Considering these factors, I was excited about this product, which promi... Read Moresed to stand up to the conditions I work in without adding the same weight to my pack as the canvas-backed vinyls I usually lug around. But, as previous reviews had given me reason to fear, the smallest size available was unwearably big in every dimension - I maxed out the straps and the legs were still dragging on the ground. The accompanying jacket I ordered was also far too big. My height is hardly unusual. If Patagonia really wants to demonstrate that it cares about providing high-quality gear for outdoor manual laborers, they need to cover the full size range of women (and men) who work outside.

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2020

We really appreciate your feedback here on sizing. We hope we can soon expand our sizes to fit the varying body types that could benefit from our gear. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us.

December 30, 2019

Best

I work on boats and in wet country. These get the job done Rain or shine. Stoked to have a material that doesn’t tear easy as I’m around snags al the time.

December 16, 2019

Awesome

I bought the Hose Down Overalls to complete the outfit with the Hose Down Slicker - the combo kept me dry working at a choose & cut Xmas Tree farm - in 37 degree degree, windy rain this weekend. I was much happier than any of my customers & I was out in weather all day.

December 15, 2019

Great Heavy Duty Rain Gear

I'm a general contractor and also work at a mountain resort. This pair of bibs and jacket put up with the wet, abrasive, and downright nasty weather conditions I see on a regular basis. I feel like I should be working on deck of a boat in Dutch Harbor and love the ease of cleaning up the gear at the end of the day.

November 20, 2019

I am a full time

I am a full time ceramicist, these are a lifesaver! I put these on when I need to get really messy in the studio. It would be good to have something in the back to tighten up the top. I use a small clamp on my back.

October 25, 2019

Öyster Farmer

These bibs are ready for work. Been using other brands for years that are heavy and tear easily. These bibs make it through the harsh winters and blazing summers. Light weight and durable. Lots of style points earned as well. -Tom - White Stone Oyster Co. Virginia.

September 6, 2019

Need to make a Medium Tall version

I purchased these bibs and slicker jacket to replace an old Helly Hanson rubberized rainwear set I had been using while photographing in Southeast Alaska for the past few seasons. On the positive side - it did great in the field tests in Alaska this year. I'm not commercial fishing in it - I'm simply sitting in unrelenting rain that would... Read More bring gore-tex to its knees. On the negative size is the fit. I'm 6'3" and 180lbs. The Large size was the right length in the legs - but was so gigantic I could have easily fit two, possibly three of me in it. I eventually went for the Medium - which was still a bit big even with lots of layers on - but a lot closer on the waist size. Sadly the Medium only made it halfway down my calves... not a huge issue with the xtratuf boots providing protection lower down - but it looks pretty strange. Patagonia needs to make a medium tall size for skinny tall guys like myself.

August 28, 2019

Won’t replace Grundéns

I wanted these to be the new slicks for the lobster boat I work on, but they are far too thin and you get cut up right through them. They’d be great in certain application like super hot days but they’re just not tough enough to replace Guy Cottons or Grundéns. I like Patagonia so I thought I’d try these, but I’m going back to a thick set of skins ... Read Morefor sure.

Response from Patagonia
September 5, 2019

We appreciate your comments and we are sorry that these didn't work out for you. If you can't find use for them at all, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) those back to us. We are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) out with this process if you need it.

August 26, 2019

Light, Durable, and Waterproof

Putting these slickers to the test. Commercially fishing off the coast of California, day in and day out, there are a lot of reasons why this product should fail. So far so good and they are holding up great. A front pocket, like waders, could be a helpful addition in the future. But otherwise the minimalistic approach does the job.

August 22, 2019

Great Foul Weather Gear

These are just as described - great foul weather gear to keep you dry. It’s made of similar material to the black hole bags, although a little thinner. Doesn’t breathe, but didn’t expect that going in. I would size down one full size as these run large. I usually wear an L and M fits perfectly with enough room to layer for colder days on the wate... Read Morer.

August 15, 2019

Please make a smaller size for women!

I ordered a small, which were still pretty large on me. I’m 5’8” about 135-140. I sent them back but I’d order them again if they made them in xs. The quality seemed high and they are incredibly light and seem strong.

August 10, 2019

Light weight

I’m a commercial fisherman of 25 years and weight of these is sure a relief on my neck and shoulders. I’m 5’ 11”, 180 lbs and the mediums definitely have plenty of room and are a bit loose in the straps. I really wish the coating they used on the outside of the bib was used on the inside also. I watch the moisture wick from the bottoms up. At least... Read More maybe coat the insides up to the top of the boot

May 9, 2019

rain overalls

the material is nice and light weight which is what I am looking for. I am a woman who does alot of fishing in rainy Alaska. I was hoping that these would fit. I ordered an extra small. I am 5'7, they are still sized for men. the legs are too long and the straps and waist are way to large. I was hoping for a lighter waterproof material that wo... Read Moreuld actually fit. I haven"t used them yet as I am contemplating just cutting the legs off.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the fit of these wasn't quite what you were looking for. If you'd like to send those back to us, I have reached out to you privately with some return information.

May 8, 2019

Simply Amazing

I took the new Hose Down Bibs down the Grand Canyon in April for 280 miles and 18 days. The Grand Canyon will test any piece of gear you own, and the bibs performed flawlessly. From rainy days and the incredible whitewater, the bibs are easy to take on and off, without removing your shoes. Sitting on a cooler and pushing an 18 foot gear boat for 28... Read More0 miles will test your gear. 20 foot tall waves crashing over the raft will "hose down" everything. I stayed dry. Near the end of the trip, our trip leader said: "can I have those bibs when the trip is over?"

April 18, 2019

these are very cool

I have worn them for over two years without taking them off because I was at sea. They have stayed in perfect condition 10/10 the whole time! They are the most cozy overalls I have ever bought!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches