Back to Product

Ms Iron Forge Hemp™ Canvas Cargo Pants - Regular

Write Your Review

4.5/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 53 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Iron Forge Hemp™ Canvas Cargo Pants - Regular

4.5/5
May 6, 2021

Comfy, but cargo pockets can't be closed securely.

This is a nice comfy pair of trousers, roomy and stretchy. However, the cargo pockets lack any form of closure, no buttons, nor velcro or zip. This makes them useless for carrying stuff you don't want to drop. If they had buttons, they can be left open when needed open and closed when more security is need; it would make them more versatile.

Response from Patagonia
May 7, 2021

Hi Sid, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the lack of closures on the pockets. With that said, we appreciate this feedback as its how we improve things for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 18, 2021

I like it

Nice thick fabric that is soft and easy to wear. Love the color, to bad there is only 2 to pick from. The pocket have no way of closing them like a button or velcro.

April 7, 2021

Almost 30% plastic, barely over half hemp

Truly my bad for not reading the fine details of the composition of these pants. They are advertised as being made of a 12.9 oz hemp canvas, but only 55% of them are of that fabric. I'm returning them immediately because I despise wearing plastic clothes. I spend lots of time around fires and can't have stray sparks melting my pants. Than... Read Moreks but no thanks.

Response from Patagonia
April 9, 2021

Hi Geoff, we're so sorry to hear these weren't what you expected. In the "Specs & Features" section, we do include that these are "made of tough, comfortable and highly abrasion-resistant 12.9-oz 55% industrial hemp/27% recycled polyester/18% organic cotton canvas" though we can understanding how that's confusing language and have passed this feedback along to our Web team. We'd be happy to help you with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

April 3, 2021

Finally a pant for construction workers

I’m very impressed on how breathable the pants are and how well they fit. I’ve been in construction for 21 years now and definitely will put these pants to the test. My only complaint about the pants are the side pockets. I feel that they could have designed the pockets differently to accommodate channel locks, levels, and screwdrivers. Overall I a... Read Morem impressed with the pants, and would recommend them to coworkers.

March 31, 2021

All around dad pants.

Yard work, trips to the park, hiking, day after day. These pants are cheap for the amount of use I get out of them. I own a few of the pants and shorts and just rotate them. They are and will be my go to pants for a long time to come.

March 28, 2021

Cargo pants

Excellent service, great quality, very happy with purchase!

March 23, 2021

Hemp pants

Super Tough pants . Great for the kitchen I am a chef

March 23, 2021

Pretty damn good!

These are awesome pants in every way. Seriously robust and heavy duty, but with no break in period. Great sustainability credentials too. Remember these are really work pants and not the usual super light weight Patagonia kit. Also they run a little small. I have lots of Patagonia pants and jump between 36 and 34 (36 being a little too loose). I bo... Read Moreught these in 36 and they are a little tight so factor this in. I’m in my early 50s and I can’t see me ever wearing these out. Love Patagonia.

March 21, 2021

Great work pants

Great all around pants, only issue is the inseam is a little high in the crotch.

March 2, 2021

Incredible pants!

Great pants, comfortable, rugged, durable, side pockets are a big plus, very well sewn, and perfect fit.

March 2, 2021

Great work pants!

These pants fit great. Snug around the waist so they won't expose you when you bend over, but very loose around the hips and thighs for plenty of movement. They are very heavy duty and provide reasonable protection from stickers and even barbed wire.

February 13, 2021

good but could be better

Cloth used to form the upper front pockets it too thin and wears out too soon. I iron on liners to make them last. The top of the thighs tends to bind / pull at the crotch during moderate length strides

February 11, 2021

Need 29 inch waist size; waist curves inwards, impacting fit

These are great, durable pants with one problem...the fit of the waist (compounded by the lack of a 29 inch waist size). I wear men's Levis due to being a slim runner...these hemp pants curve inwards at the waist adversely impacting the waist fit/comfort. Two of me could fit in the size 30 waist. So I'm altering the size 28 to fit in the ... Read Morewaist. Hope the next version will have a straight, rather than curved in waist...just like men's Levis do, and a 29 waist offering.

January 25, 2021

Very functional. I tend to wear these more than others. Recommended.

Very functional pants, although a little on the heavy side. Pockets hold a lot of stuff (needed because I hike with my dog). Recommended.

December 14, 2020

Sturdy

These are awesome pants. Durable and comfortable. I just wish they were made in a few more colors.

November 23, 2020

Rugged

I use them for working in my yard (5 acres wooded) home projects, dump runs, dog walking and weekend chores. Very rugged, nothing snags on them and I cant see them tearing. The waist runs a bit small, maybe 1/2 inch to an inch. But the pant itself is very roomy and baggy. Length is good. Im 6ft 180lbs. They are not quite as warm as thought they wou... Read Moreld be. The cold wind gets through the hemp material somewhat easily. Need an under layer in below around 25degrees.

November 11, 2020

Great

Great durability and and when I do manage to put a hole in them the repair service has been great. Best work pants Ive found.

September 21, 2020

Excellent build, small in waist

I really enjoy the quality of these pants. The material and sewing is excellent. However, despite buying the 36, which usually fits me with Patagonia, the waist seems very tight. The length of the pants seem perfect for my 6'4 (195 cm). I do powerlifting, so I really like the seizing at the quads and but.

September 8, 2020

Great design, great pants

Though Hemp Canvass Pants are great the weight was heavy for my purpose. i thought the weight would be similar to "jungle pants" i wore in 1968-69 in Vietnam, but with typical Patagonia panache. The panache is there though, even in an Iron Forge design. Bravo!

September 8, 2020

Casual warm

Perfect for to and from the slopes love the iron forge hemp canvas

September 7, 2020

Cargo Pant

I love that everything is being made by hemp, finally! I did order this pair in my normal size and they were definitely 2 sizes too small. I re-ordered to a 36 and am very happy now. I can't wait to wear for years to come and of course if I have any issues Patagonia will take of it. Great company with wonderful stand-behind values!

September 7, 2020

Love these pants

I ran across these pants online and I thought that I would give them a try. When they arrived, it was clear that they were substantial and rugged and built to last. This is the third pair I have purchased. The first pair was stolen by my son when he left for college, the second pair is coriander and then I got this pair to replace the pants that my... Read More son took with him, They are comfortable, warm and quite useful. They run true to size and I think they look good on me. I hope that Patagonia keeps making these for years to come. I really do highly recommend these pants.

September 5, 2020

Great rugged pants

I love these pants. Ive never seen or felt a pair of pants so well made and rugged. Ill be wearing these for many years to come.

September 4, 2020

Best work cargo pants

Rugged and functional, made of great materials. Comfortable for all day wear, great pockets and features

September 4, 2020

Bananas

Nice

September 3, 2020

Strong but rough

This product is built strong and can probably last, however it feels like sandpaper to wear and are the most uncomfortable jeans Ive ever owned. Also the side pockets are extremely puffy and bulky on the lip. I love almost everything Ive ever purchased. These jeans are far from good.

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that these aren't working out for you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these pants back to us as we always want to ensure you are satisfied with our product.

September 3, 2020

Great cargo pants

Excellent quality and fit. Rugged, yet soft material. Very functional pair and very comfortable for all day wear

September 3, 2020

Heavy Duty, Well Built

I am writing this review during summer, and these pants are definitely not made for summer - they are a heavy gauge fabric not suited for So. Cal. summer. However, winter is always coming, thus I am ready with these pants. The cargo pockets are deep and stuff stays in (like my wallet and phone). The fit is not too big nor small, I would call it &qu... Read Moreot;classic" (6 feet tall, weigh 165, size 32 x 32). I already had a pair of shorts in this fabric, so I knew what I was getting, and I like this fabric, because it is going to last FOREVER. And I suspect it will get better over time and washing. I ski regularly and always need a pair of heavy duty pants for ski trips, these are they, and they will also work well on camping trips, but they are nice enough to wear around in the evening for a night out to dinner (when we ever get to do that again!) Overall, a high quality, heavy duty pant, backed by the best guarantee out there.

August 19, 2020

Excellent!

Fits right on. Great looking pair of pants, very comfortable. True to size 100%, so make sure you understand to order the right size. Means: 32w is 32. Very rugged and stylish pair of pants. The coriander is a great color, getting the black as well.

July 31, 2020

Relatively light and super tough

As a farmer, I have several pairs of the hemp work pants in various colors (each color has a different weight and sun absorption). The cargo version of these pants is obviously awesome thanks to the substantial side pockets. The poly-blend makes them breath and float nicely while being nearly indestructible...

June 19, 2020

Second order for the same item

I initially purchased a pair of the black and a pair of the brown hemp cargo pants which grew more supple with time and each trip through the laundry. I still have the original pair but decided to order again as they are the best - comfortable in every way with deep pockets that prevent any items from being lost. These are the best - I just wish th... Read Moreey were offered in additional colors.

February 27, 2020

Great Pants

I bought these pants from the website because I did not have time to go to my local Patagonia store and check them out in person. I have to say that when I ordered them, I was not sure that I was going to be thrilled only because I couldn't tell from the pictures how substantial they were or how they fit. I received them today and I have to le... Read Moret you know that not only do they fit really well, but they remind me of the way jeans were constructed back when I was a kid in the late 1960's. They are substantial and thick, but not bulky nor constricting. I know that these pants will last me a long time without tearing or without me wearing holes in the knees and upper thighs. I am delighted with the quality, the material and the fit. I am planning on buying another pair within the month so I have a pair that I can wear on washday. Thank you Patagonia for not only being environmentally conscious and for conforming to Fair Trade guidlines, but thank you also for showing the world that you can make good products at a fair price and still minimize your impact on the environment.

January 9, 2020

Truly great work pants

I'm a designer fabricator and also spend a lot of time in the woods doing trail work and splitting and collecting firewood. These pants have far surpassed other canvas work pants I have had before, most of them started fraying at the pockets and hem within a year of use. These pants are over a year old and show no sign of ware other than the c... Read Moreolor fading from repeated washes. They also keep me cooler in the summer than the cotton canvas. The only thing I wish is that Patagonia would make them in a wool lined version so I could be warmer in the winter! Thank you Patagonia for your stellar hemp work pants!

January 3, 2020

Nominating these pants for a Nobel Prize

I’ve worn every workin’man pants out there. Considering fit, material and cut, I expect to be wearing these for the rest of my life. Letshopeitsalongone

November 29, 2019

Withstands Tornadic winds! ...But really...

These pants are really the best work pants out there. I am an organic vegetable, and medical farmer in Oklahoma. I wear these pants every day for work, and they take the abuse that comes with the work of planting, harvesting, weeding, watering, pruning, bushwacking, building, wood splitting, dog playing, scrubbing, you name it. But I did not realiz... Read Moree just how strong they REALLY were until Spring of 2019. My wife and I were in Texas, at her tribe's ancestral grounds. We were enjoying a nice, rainy afternoon watching Dances, and walking the grounds. To make a long story short, while we were sitting in awe of the traditional Grass House which sat on the property, an EF3 tornado landed on us without warning. My wife and I were caught in the middle of 165mph winds, outside, unprotected. We sustained several injuries, but that day I happened to be wearing a pair of these Iron Forge Hemp pants. From the waist upwards my body was COVERED in what we started referring to as "tornado rash," basically road rash from tiny, wind born debris. BUT, from the waist downwards, everywhere my Hemp pants covered, I had no superficial injuries! These pants saved me a lot of hurt. Now I'm not suggesting anyone go get in the way of a tornado in some Iron Forge Hemp clothes and expect to be okay, but this is a testimony to how incredibly durable these are. When it's in my budget, you better bet I will get another pair. Thanks for making such a quality product.

November 28, 2019

Real, last-forever cargo pants.

These are my winter pants for around the Bay Area. Carry all your gear around with you right at hand. Combined with a Patagonia shirt with the giant zipper pockets and the only thing my day pack is needed for are extra layers etc. These pants should last at least ten years.

November 27, 2019

Excellent Pants for hard, long days

I work as a roofing supervisor so these pants take plenty of abuse. They fit great, feel great and are tough. I also own a pair of the shorts. Love the long pockets; for warranty jobs I’ll just stash my tools in the pockets, so much room.

November 10, 2019

Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Cargo Pant

The name on these pants pretty much captures it all! They are tough, pocket are practical and large, they launder well, and are not even scratchy like you might think of with hemp.

November 5, 2019

Cargo pants rock

The Cargo pants are outstanding.

October 10, 2019

Nice jeans, a little too baggy

Great quality workmanship and material and waist and length are perfect, however way too much material in seat and legs - they look like clown pants. You could fit two of my legs into these legs

September 29, 2019

Great pants.

Just like best ships are friendships. The best pants are Patagonia kargo pants. Comfortable, reliable and durable.

September 18, 2019

I Love these pants

I Love these pants I have several pairs of the shorts I wear them everyday they are very well constructed and the cargo pockets are perfect size I hope Patagonia never stops making this Work wear Line

July 21, 2019

Great pants

I've had them for 10 months and they are no more worn than the day I got them. Although, the material is thick and durable, it is very soft and not at all stiff. The only issue is that they run a little small. I ordered my normal size and they were just a little tight in the waist. I exchanged them for one size larger and they fit great.

December 29, 2018

Quality Product

Worked outside on my new extension ...felt great...comfortable range of movement. I liked the pocket area which allowed my to put my tape nicely into place.

October 5, 2018

Not for use while on you knees

I have two pairs of the iron forge pants and have used them for construction and yard work. Last weekend I had some cleanup to do on a concrete deck and spent a fair amount of time on my knees. The inside surface of the cargo pants is so rough it took a layer of skin off my right knee. I got a serious road rash from the rubbing of the fabric agains... Read Moret my skin. I love the pants other wise. Don’t buy these pants in you have to floor tiling or any other activity on your knees.

April 20, 2018

Strange Fit

The fit issues I reviewed on the double knee pant only seem to be exacerbated on this pant. I'm a skier and a runner - so fairly lean but with skier quads. The fit from waist to crotch is totally off and too short,but I do have enough room around the quad area. The diamond crotch has a bunchy feeling and is not comfortable. Fabric seems durabl... Read Moree,but when wet I cant say that it dries very quickly (not that I'm surprised) I typically wear 30x31 or 30x32 for work pants and 30x30 for climbing pants. These are 30x32. Waist is more snug on these compared to the regular double so there appears to be inconsistency in the wasit size similar to carhartt inconsistency .

April 7, 2018

Tough as Nails; Comfortable from the Get-Go

I've been wearing these pants for several months now. I wear them while woodworking,welding,and while doing farm chores. The fabric is super tough,yet comfortable from the get-go - there's no need to wash 'em fifty times to soften them up. My only beef is that I wish they had a tad more room in the seat for a given waist size. (Not ... Read Moreever Patagonia customer has a BMI of 18.) A small pocket,just large enough to hold a multi-tool,would be a welcome addition,too.

January 18, 2018

Solid quality from Patagonia

I had several worries about these pants before I bought them. Was the material stiff? Were there enough pockets and how useful are they (I'm a "pockets" guy so this is important to me)? Were the cargo pockets secure? I actually called Patagonia to ask if they were button or velcro closure and they said "neither". There is n... Read Moreo closure mechanism; the flaps hang free. In spite of this,I bought the pants and I'm very happy I did. They are lighter weight than many work pants I have and roomier. I can see wearing these well into summer,if required. They have the right amount of "hang" off the hips and are very comfortable. The legs are loose but not too relaxed and are comfortable standing,bending,or sitting. The front and back pockets are deep and full and hold everything necessary very well. There is no cell phone pocket but I find the cargo pockets work for that. They are well constructed; a little tighter at the top to keep whatever you are carrying from popping out. The flaps hang free but are thick enough to stay down and not fold up at the corners. I've had no problems there. They are good for a casual work environment as well as tearing about town or hiking in the woods. The material isn't heavy enough to protect you through scrub or brush but it's good for casual use. I've only worn them in the Fall and Winter but they hold up well against the freezing winds we have had here in Oklahoma. Highly recommended! I'll be buying another pair.

January 10, 2018

All around useful work pants

I live in my work pants,literally,and have found the roominess,comfort and all around utility of these pants pretty refreshing. They fit well underneath chainsaw chaps with items in the cargo pockets,this was a big requirement for me and the rear pockets can hold a variety of different sized wedges with ease. Fit is loose and roomy but I don&#x27... Read More;t feel like I am going to snag anything on a tree and get stuck while felling,also a big deal for me. I typically wear 34x36 in other brands and the 34 x Long fits fine,maybe with a little excess length. These pants also stuff well into the high boots that I use on boats or in wet coastal areas. The ink black color even cleans up fairly well for a night out. As far as functionality of the pants I can't see any improvements but a forestry green color would be pretty dope.

October 24, 2017

Buying 2nd pair now

These pants are awesome. The fit is perfect. I am 5'10" and 178 pounds and the regular size 34 fits great. Wore these to a college football game in Montana.....kept legs very warm. Nice looking pants.

October 14, 2017

Good fit,for men who don't skip leg day!

Tough,heavy,roomy. Not for dudes who skip leg day on the regular. Good for those of us who stand,walk,hike,and basically work for a living.

September 29, 2017

Great Pants

These pants are super rugged ! The pants are perfect super nice feel and great range of movement I was a little worried at first with the relaxed fit being to baggy but the fit is just perfect in the thighs and leg.The only complaint i have is there a little tight in the waist.I went up one size in the waist it was perfect ! It's nice to s... Read Moreee Patagonia making this style pant ! Some time the lightest fastest moisture wicking pants doesn't always fit the job. Way to go

September 21, 2017

Great Work Pants

Love these pants! The fit is true to size on the waist,and legs are definitely on the looser side (which is perfect for moving around). I live in Hawaii,so I was a little afraid they would be too hot,but not at all! They feel very durable,and I've been using them for about two months doing construction and landscaping work without a problem! ... Read MoreNote to Patagonia: I would love if you guys made a casual slim fit version of these pants as well. I would definitely purchase a couple of pairs and wear them everywhere!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches