Back to Product

Ms Bivy Down Jacket

Write Your Review

4.38 /5

Filter Reviews

All 37 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Bivy Down Jacket

4.38
Runs Large
February 21, 2020

Great jacket only two things bother me

I love the jacket its very warm and I also like the styling the only two things that I can criticize on it are the the length of the sleeves run really long and can not be adjusted also the zipper is placed on the left side of the jacket it will take time to get used to it. I hope they will update these two issues in later version of this jacket.

February 20, 2020

Dopest Jacket Around

Absolutely stoked about this jacket. Fits like it looks and says. It is a bit bulky but I love that style. Super warm and the outer material is much more durable than normal down jackets. I won't be sketched out standing next to a fire worrying about a spark landing on it. I have the 2020 down sweater pullover I use for backpacking/mountaineer... Read Moreing but this jacket is easier for everyday use. I wear it to my office job and on casual fishing trips. It is a quiver killer for jackets. You just need this one. The color I have is sage khaki and the color is a bit lighter than the pics but honestly looks better. Overall rad jacket. 10/10 would recommend to a friend.

February 17, 2020

A must have

Warm, comfortable and fits like a glove. Temperatures under 45 definitely a recommend.

February 9, 2020

fantastic warm jacket, a bit

fantastic warm jacket, a bit large around the belly area

January 25, 2020

Warm comfy jacket

Warm, light and fashion. Love this jacket

December 14, 2019

I love this jacket!

It is so comfortable and the fit is good too.

December 8, 2019

Warm and lightweight!

Warm and lightweight!

November 22, 2019

Review

Looks good. Is comfortable and warm .

November 17, 2019

Well styled and warm

Generally, I am pleased with my new Bivy Down Jacket. Came back to Patagonia after repeated disappointment with less expensive products. I do wish that the elbows had a second, outer insulation layer that was resistant to compression. The down loft gets squished while driving. Happy to have purchased a quality item manufactured using recycled mater... Read Moreials.

November 14, 2019

Pretty good coat

I bought four of these for myself and my employees (electricians) to wear at work in the winter. I chose the bivy because of the tougher shell. They have held up well and keep us toasty. It would be nice to see a tighter wind block on the wrists and zippers on the pockets. Altogether a great coat!

April 12, 2019

My "go to" jacket when super cold or just a little chilly

I am 5'5 and 110lbs and bought xxs in Men's Bivy. I also own a woman's Bivy in xs. I own quite many down jackets and this Bivy is my favorite. Why?! Because it's super warm, and might feels a little bulky at first compared to other nylon surfaced down jackets but that bulky-feeling disappears, inner pockets in addition to regula... Read Morer outer pockets, the outside material is soft and feels natural, the material inside the collor is extra soft, zippers around collar is comfortable and washable. The downside is that the outer material attracts lint and at first I found it a bit bothersome, but then, that characteristics of this jacket dissipated because the material gives so much comfort. When in extreme cold weather, I would wear thermal inside, but other than that, I just wear this over summer tops. On top of all the functionality, this jacket has low-key, classy, semi-casual, neat look to it. This jacket is(so far since 2017) my "go to" winter and sometimes "even other seasons" jacket.

April 1, 2019

Mens Down Bivy Jacket

This jacket is weatherproof, warm and looks great on!

April 1, 2019

Mens Down Bivy Jacket

This jacket is weatherproof, warm and looks great on!

February 14, 2019

Science Class Review

I was sitting in my 5th period AP environmental science class when I experienced a bitter cold produced from the ventilation. I had a spare towel in my bag to warm myself but as some of my peers and teacher noted, it seemed less than effective; without any hesitation, my teacher offered his jacket as a device of warmth for the rest of the period. L... Read Moreittle did I know, he would break out this high-quality Bivy jacket and WOW! This is hands down the best experience I have had with any item of outerwear. This product is so good it warmed my soul, I actually donated half my life savings ($3420.83) to the Wetlands afterward.

February 1, 2019

Solid Winter Jacket

When I was looking for a down jacket this year, I wanted something more stylish and subtle compared to the usual shiny down jackets on the market. This coat fit that qualification and for a good price. It has a stylish yet subtle look with a matte, textured fabric, and holds up in the cold Minnesota and Montana winter weather. Unlike other Patagoni... Read Morea jackets that are always slightly too big for me in the waist and arms, this jacket fits perfectly and with a little extra room for layering in subzero temps. I have no complaints for this jacket in the way it performs and fits, Patagonia did an amazing job. However, the only reason I give this a 4 star not a 5 is due to the textured outer fabric being a lint and hair magnet, which really bugs me since I end having to clean the coat every time I wear it to keep it nice looking. I bought the Mojave Khaki color from the St. Paul store and even there I noticed lint and hairs from people that tried it on, which I just figured I would clean off when I got home. Unfortunately the khaki color is a nice canvas to display any stray piece of lint that floats onto it. I have the same problem with my 2017 Bivy vest and I am very careful to not get hair and lint on it, but somehow it always needs cleaned. If Patagonia supplied a lint roller with this jacket I would be satisfied.

January 31, 2019

Warm Casual Jacket with Flaws

Pros: It's warm and blocks the wind well. The style is casual, but clean. Cons: I'm 5'11'' 170lbs. I normally wear a Medium for most Patagonia jackets, but I needed to get a Large for this jacket. The Medium was just too tight all over. Tight enough that I wouldn't be able to layer it underneath with something like a ... Read MoreBetter Sweater. Because it's a Large, the sleeves are a bit long. Also, the zipper pulls feel extremely cheap. The pulls are made with really thin piece of material, the kind you'd expect to see from a packable light down jacket to save weight. Disappointing. Also, I own several Patagonia down jackets, including the vest version of the Bivy Down. And yet, this jacket leaks feathers all the time. It's gotten to the point where I'm constantly fixing the jacket or brushing off feathers off my mid-layers when I take the jacket off. Conclusion: I really like this jacket and want to love it, but because of the aforementioned flaws, I won't be buying another one nor recommend it.

January 8, 2019

Almost Perfect

This is simply AMAZING for cold days/nights (15 to 45) in the Northeast, on the East Coast. Easy to put on and take off. I got the XL in the Sediment color and love LOVE the interior lining - different than the rest I believe..... I'm 5.8" and fat, so with the XL, I still have extra room for a flannel shirt and a light wool sweater withou... Read Moret bursting the seams or popping buttons. I USED to wear jackets from the north face, but their workmanship and style has gone south, as well as being overpriced. Patagonia quality has been amazingly good and absolutely love their cut. However, I wish Patagonia would make the sleeve a bit shorter and add cuffs of some sort and also add an extra interior packet. Length wise, could be a tab-bit shorter for 5.7/5.8 guys.

December 14, 2018

Surprisingly Warm

I'm quite pleased with just how warm this jacket is, without being especially big/bulky. The only reason why I took off one star is because I find the sleeves just a bit too short. I'm 5'10", 150, and the size small fits perfectly... except the arms are too short. I don't have especially long arms, and have never had this... Read More problem with other clothing, which makes me think the proportions of the jacket might be a bit off.

November 30, 2018

Good looking jacket with the worst fit.

Nice materials and good looking, but worst fit ever. Im 185cm and 82kg. L wont fit over my shoulders and to short for my arms. XL is a good fit over shoulders and arms but super big over my belly. So i guess this is made for fat people.

October 26, 2018

Nice utilitarian jacket

Good quality basic jacket. Not fitted like their more performance oriented ones, but it feels durable and well made. Exterior has a soft canvas feel. My only negative comment regards the Sediment color. In the online photo the body is almost a dark brown, but the product I received (purchased at REI - 10/2018) uses almost the same olive green col... Read Moreor for the entire jacket. It looks like military surplus gear, which is fine, but definitely nothing like the picture.

October 25, 2018

Needs a storm flap over zipper, otherwise pretty much perfect

Super warm, durable material. It doest pack down as small as other downs. If it had a snap down storm flap over the zipper, id have nothing bad to say about it.

August 8, 2018

Great Jacket but why zip on the wrong siiideee????

Jacket is really nice, super warm. The zipper is on the wrong side like a woman's coat. Maybe i'm crazy but that annoys the heck out of me. Jacket is still worth it but please, Pata, don't make anything else with a backwards zipper.

January 25, 2018

Great colors,super warm

Once my fiance saw this coat he had to have it. Stylish,but very functional.

January 14, 2018

Warm and Comfortable

I did a lot of research and ended up buying this jacket. On the night of purchase,the temperature started dropping again with wind,and I can say that it does indeed block wind and keep you warm. The jacket does zip on the opposite side,which is really not a big deal. I'm 5'8 165 pounds and purchased a medium. I also wore my better sweater... Read More jacket under this with no problem.

January 9, 2018

Woman's zipper

I got this for Christmas and I love except for one thing. The zipper is like on women's clothes. Two others have mentioned it,one really disliking it. I think someone in manufacturing messed up. I took it to my local store to exchange it,but was told they are all the same. I haven't decided if I am going to keep it.

January 1, 2018

So Warm & Comfortable Down Jacket.

Got this Jacket for Vancouver chilly weather. Its a very comfy jacket to wear,the stand-up collar provide warm to your neck & shield the windy cold wind. Would highly recommend to anyone looking a classic looking warm jacket for city wear.

December 28, 2017

Fantastic Urban Adventurer

I have had this jacket a couple of months now through November and December in the Canadian Praries in temperatures of 5c to -25c. Overall the jacket is fantastic. I am 6'2 175lb and the Medium fits well,nice and snug in the waist and core. The shoulders are a bit tight for me,but not bothersome. The build quality is fantastic with a great fe... Read Moreel to the exterior fabrics (it does pick up dog hairs as others have mentioned) and it is very comfortable to wear as an urban commuter. It has faired excellent in warmth at -15c to -20c as long as there is no wind. There are a few things that keep this from a 5 star,and it is mostly die to extreme cold weather performance (which it is not really meant for) - The filling in the arms is a lot lighter than the core,and the filling thins as you move closer to the cuff. By the time you are at the bottom of the sleeve there is no down that can be felt. This means in colder temps (below -20c) you can feel cold on the lower forearms. - The zipper does not have a cover flap,so in wind chill conditions cold penetrates enough you can feel it. Again,these issues are only in very cold/windy conditions and do not impact daily use as a wintet commuter/fall jacket. I am very happy with it,so much so that I bought the Ladies version for my wife. Thank you Patagonia for a great jacket design

November 19, 2017

Fits Great & Warm

I'm 6' 180 and usually purchase a size Medium. This fits me perfectly. the sleeves do not feel too open or large at all. I wish the chest pocket were on the outside instead of inside so I wouldn't have to unzip the jacket half way down to get my phone out. The zipper on the "wrong" side is a minor inconvenience as well. Gre... Read Moreat jacket so far and keeps my core really warm.

May 14, 2017

It makes me happy every time I put it on!

I have been eyeing these coats for a couple of seasons. I tried the women's but the cut was not right. I decided to try the men's- I am a lean female. I LOVE the red on red color only in the mens. The XXS fits perfectly. I am 5'7 at 110 lbs- the arms are long enough!! The body fits me better than the women's cut. It is warm and ... Read Morecomfortable,the prefect puffiness and classic look. It makes me happy every time I put it on and it was a great purchase! Great price int he yearly sale too! I did put snaps on the end of the sleeves as there are no cuffs- I work a lot out side in the coat and the cold air gets in. When I just wear it casually I don't snap them and it is great!

January 16, 2017

Nice warm jacket,wish for a little more...

This is a good looking,cozy down jacket for around town. It fits well through the body and arms (happy the sleeves are long enough for range of movement). I only wish that Patagonia would give it a more sealed cuff,and a drawcord at the hem. It would also be great if they offered a hooded version as well. Otherwise this looks classic and keeps me... Read More warm around town in the winters.

December 28, 2016

Comfy and Warm

Bought this jacket following a move to the East Coast from CA when I wanted a staple to keep me warm on regular trips to and from work. Had to size up to XL because I found the large a bit tight in the chest,but I like the extra room. The coat is very warm without being too heavy. Pockets are soft and the outer fabric has great texture (though it p... Read Moreicks up dog hair easily). One downside is that it has no hood,and it would be an even better coat if they added a removable one,but for now I just wear a hoodie underneath if I need to. Great casual winter jacket!

December 18, 2016

Perfect except the zipper

I wish the second review came up 2 days earlier. I had the vest and loved it so I wanted the jacket. Everything about it is awesome except that the zipper is in the left side. Seems like a small issue,but it drives me nuts!

December 17, 2016

Love This Jacket

I bought this jacket a couple of weeks ago and I gotta say I'm extremely happy with my purchase. First off,let me say that I'm 6' and weigh 190 pounds. I'm usually between sizes whenever I buy clothes (M/L),but I like my clothing to fit more snug so I went with a medium. This jacket feels great in the chest and core,but I find i... Read Moret's a little tight

December 15, 2016

Great Jacket - Beware of Zipper

First of all,I love the looks of this jacket. It has a retro look without being too retro. The shell material has a good finish with a durable feel. Perfect fit. Not too tight,not too loose - it's just right. Sleeves are a good length,not too short. It's a warm coat,but not too puffy. I'm thinking this may be the perfect jacket and t... Read Morehen -- I try to zip it and things get awkward. The zipper is on the wrong side (at least in America)! Who puts a zipper on the left side on a men's jacket? It's like a Porsche with square wheels. So close,yet so far. Zippers belong on the right side.

October 17, 2016

Patagonia - Men's Bivy Down Jacket

This fits perfect and is what I expected in a heavy duty work,play or just kicking around town warm tough jacket. Kinda old school on the design which I like because it's simple.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches