Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R2® Regulator Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.22 /5

Filter Reviews

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R2® Regulator Fleece Jacket

4.22
Kinda Large
July 13, 2020

Awesome!

Love it!

July 9, 2020

Awesome!

Love it!

June 17, 2020

Everyone should own this item

best overall clothing garment you can own

June 9, 2020

Feels very fragile

The material is some sort of super stretchy fabric that feels like your hand is going to go right through it. Similarly when zipping up or down, the zipper feels like it will pull apart from or tear apart the garment. Similar to the Better Sweater I'm not sure if anyone at Patagonia has ever tried to put one of these on over a long-sleeved sh... Read Moreirt? It is basically impossible, the inside of the sleeves grabs to other shirt like Velcro. The fit is weird on me too (5'11", 170lbs), the bottom is kind of short and tighter than the chest, and the sleeves are about 2 inches too long. Generally weird.

Response from Patagonia
June 9, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this didn't work out for you and we thank you for the feedback. If you decide that you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html) this back to us, please feel free to do so.

April 18, 2020

Awesome

This jacket is pretty awesome. It feels incredible and is definitely the softest fleece jacket I have. I find that it is surprisingly warm given its weight and I have no issue wearing this in 35F degree weather. I do notice that the sleeves are quite long which is odd unless this is how it is designed. I could see how this could be beneficial when ... Read Morerock climbing or something so they don't slide down. I don't think it feels cheap. It definitely feels like a quality product. It is just very lightweight, but thicker than I expected since it is so fluffy.

March 17, 2020

Extremely disappointed

I have numerous Patagonia fleece jackets: previous model R2, an R3, R3 hoody, and a Nano Puff hybrid to name a few. Comparing this R2 jacket to these jackets is a disservice. Without question, this R2 jacket is the lowest quality item I have ever purchased from Patagonia. It doesn't feel as heavy or high quality as previous R2s and the fleece ... Read Morehas started pilling and falling out of the jacket with light use. Not sure what happened with this jacket but it is far from what I expect from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback on this product. We can understand how disappointing it can be when products are revised. We truly appreciate the feedback on the revisions and will pass it along to our design crew.

January 19, 2020

Great Jacket

Warm for a mid-layer and very comfortable, luxuriously soft and an interesting color that you don't see too much. Slightly loose on me but I will wear more layers underneath when wearing in colder climes.

January 15, 2020

The R2 Jacket

Just love this jacket for middle layer when taking on seatrout of the Danish coast, it fits Perfectly and keeps me warm and comfy.... higly recomended

January 10, 2020

Favorite Jacket

My son-in-law lost his R2 Jacket while traveling. I ordered the red and exchanged it for the black. He loves the jacket, except that he recommends Patagonia go back to the original design and put the elbow pads back into the design. R2 is a favorite of the family. Light weight but warm. I like all the zippered pockets.

December 24, 2019

Excellent midlayer

I freaking love this fleece. Feels weightless, crazy cozy soft, minimal bulk for the insulation it provides. The extra tall neck with doubled up fabric works so well I don't need a scarf/neck gaiter. I got a size M and it fits me fairly closely. I am 5' 11", 150lbs, tall/lanky build. The high loft fleece feels amazingly warm and brea... Read Morethes very well. Be advised that wind will cut right through this. In my use, this is a plus since it gives me the versatility to add a windstopping layer or go without for greater breathability. The zippers are very low profile which is great for layering/minimizing bulk under gear/straps/etc. I would delete the hand pockets since this is usually a layering/insulation piece but they are made in such a way that there is very little added bulk and the open ended pocket bags make for a nice place to stash a hat/gloves on the inside when needed.

December 16, 2019

extremely satisfied

very happy with our order, efficient & quick

December 14, 2019

Absolutely awesomely soft

Amazingly awesome and warm fleece. Super soft and comfortable to wear.

December 13, 2019

Performance & Comfort

The "R" jackets, vests and pullovers from Patagonia are the most comfortable and performance oriented fleece out there. Nothing has change since my first R2 and R1 I bought over 10 years ago.

December 12, 2019

R2 jacket

Love how soft it is. Thought it would be heavier weight material

December 9, 2019

men's R2 jacket

Love it. Incredibly light and very warm. Great midlayer or even single layer. Breathes well. I live in it!

December 2, 2019

Very cozy but sizing off

Super cozy and warm but the medium is a little snug in the shoulders and arm area, I am usually a mens medium in other products but this one I think I need a large.

November 27, 2019

Very lightweight

I've owned several R2 jackets. This one has the best weight to warmth ratio I've ever had. I do miss having the thumb hooks though, as I typically layer this jacket with others. While the weight is great, I think it borderlines feeling a little cheap, though it definitely is not. The bottom seam around the waist typically has elastic in... Read More it with some sort of fabric to reinforce it. This jacket does not have that, which makes it feel very lightweight and seamless, but also like there's just no material present to hold it together. Overall, I love R2's in general. I love how light this one is, but perhaps in the future would look for a jacket that feels a little sturdier.

November 24, 2019

excellent sweater, very soft

excellent sweater, very soft

November 21, 2019

Not what I expected

This jacket is more like a mid weight long underwear layer than a regular fleece. The material itself feels thinner and less durable than previous Patagonia jackets and I'm sending it back.

November 20, 2019

very good!

I am 5'9 height and 150lb. S size is very good fitting. This is really versatile. Casual, room wear, outdoor etc.

October 7, 2019

Finally works

I usually have trouble finding Patagonia jackets that work as they are all cut very narrow in the shoulders. I am 5’10”, and I usually wear a medium in most clothing options. This is one of the few Patagonia jackets that doesn’t pull in the chest and shoulders. It’s very soft and comfortable and well constructed, but, unfortunately my children sugg... Read Moreested that the jacket wasn’t masculine enough for me, and I heeded their advice. Maybe it was the color, but I’ll have to look elsewhere.

September 30, 2019

Warmth making machine

So far when this has been worn I've had no need for an additional layer. Nice athletic fit and I really like the color (oxide red). This fleece has evolved nicely since earlier editions with cleaner lines and an updated side materials. The one suggestion I might offer up is the hand pockets. In the process of rolling the zips inward for a clea... Read Morener look, the teeth are more prone to rubbing along the back of your hands which can irritate cracked weather beaten hands. Still, a great piece overall!

September 27, 2019

a little too long

This is my third R2 Jacket over 18 years or so. It's very soft and comfortable. Unfortunately the length of this season's R2 Jacket is a little too long for me and doesn't look right, so I returned it.

September 14, 2019

Runs Large

Bought a previous version of this cozy jacket and this new one runs a size large. Had to return it.

August 29, 2019

R2

Not heavy or as thick as previous R2, Happy with Fit but would like it to more of a jacket. More for layering, not for primary outer wear.

Response from Patagonia
September 5, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment! If you are looking for something a bit thicker, please feel free to send this back to us and we are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

July 24, 2019

Best warmth for lightest jacket

Amazing how light this jacket is yet how warm I am in it. My favorite fleece jacket.

May 11, 2019

R2 2018 model

R2 jacket is made for warmth and dispersing heat during activity, it is not a fleece jacket for warmth. The design is to be a slim fit. At 6'1" 195 pounds with an athletic build, I take a large in all Patagonia tops, including slim fit products. The R2 in large is too slim fit in the arms, shoulders and chest in that order, I need more ro... Read Moreom in these areas. Conversely the jacket was not as slim of fit in the stomach and waist area as I would expect a slim fit to be. Therefore the extra large was way too big in the waist and stomach and the large too small in the arms, shoulders and chest. I ended up staying with the large but would like to see more room in these areas on future models. As always, Patagonia return process is very good for trying different sizes.

May 8, 2019

Material

The fleece on this jacket was not of the same quality of what I would hope to purchase from Patagonia and for the price.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with this jacket. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you'd like to return that.

May 8, 2019

Great jacket

The pinnacle of fleece jackets. Love it

April 4, 2019

Please bring back R4 full zip fleece in regular fit

Please bring back the R4 full zip fleece in regular fit. It was such a warm and soft jacket for our cold Wisconsin Fall/Winter weather.

March 26, 2019

Men’s R2 Jacket

Use it under a shell for skiing and keeps me very warm in cold weather. Very soft and comfortable. Sleeves are a little tight is my only complaint.

March 13, 2019

Bring back the R3 please

This jacket is great and I love the furry material, but nothing beats the R3 jacket Patagonia had years ago. I really wish they would bring t back because it was seriously my favorite Patagonia and has lasted 4+ years. I get compliments all the time and unfortunately it is completely gone from the world. Please bring it back and forget the retro pi... Read Morele jacket!!! Still a good product though and fits great.

December 12, 2018

Mens R2

I just bought this jacket a couple of weeks ago. I also have the older R2 from last year. This new R2 is definitely redesigned and doesn’t have the tightness around the shoulders and chest area as was the case with last years design. I wear a small and the fit is perfect. You can’t layer with this jacket, at least not much, just a thin long sleeve ... Read Moreshirt inside as the arms of this R2 run a bit tight. The jacket is reasonably warm, I wore it with an arcteryx Atom AR on top in Montreal where the temps were high in low 30F and lows in teens and I felt comfortable. A hood would have really been nice but it has no hood. Also, I agree with another reviewer who had issues with the zippers. The main zipper is not very smooth as it should have been, almost feels like a cheap zipper. Other than that, this is a nice fleece but won’t be enough for temps below 45-50F.

December 5, 2018

Incredible material, perfect for its intended use.

This jacket really performs to a high level- it insulates, it provides pleasant comfort, it hugs your body, it breathes to an amazing degree, and it stays dry. My primary use for this is as a cold weather skiing midlayer, it really does everything I listed above making it perfect for what I use it for. I ski fast and ski hard, this thing never fail... Read Mores at keeping me dry and warm. If my temperature rises a bit too much, I can open some vents on my shell and it dumps the heat immediately. Wind cuts right through it, making it not so useful as a stand-alone jacket but that isn’t its purpose- check the nano air for that. I find it to be far warmer than an R1 but just as breathable in regards to cold weather skiing. It may be singular in its purpose as a midlayer, but it performs incredibly well.

November 29, 2018

Better fit

The material is softer/more loft. Also fit has opened up a bit around chest and underarms. The new fit is not constricting. Great improvements without losing the greatness of this piece. Well done!

November 17, 2018

Great Midlayer

This is a great midlayer. I used it for an additional midlayer for those colder days under my jacket, along with a lighter midlayer for high output activies where I can go from sitting to sweating.

November 15, 2018

Patagonia outdid themselves with this one

I had a green R2 Jacket from 2 years ago, so comparing it to this current model. Super fluffy, neck is more comfortable because of the double layer of plush, arms are less restricted and tight (the last model I had, people complained about the tightness around the chest and arms). Around the pockets, the extra fluff can be a detriment (gets caugh... Read Moret in the zipper), but it all feels so luxurious.

October 29, 2018

Many improvments made, still a couple to go

I have an R2 that's vintage 2011-12 or so. I love it, but like the R1 of the era its ever so slightly baggy in the upper body. A few years back, this was rectified (along with increased hem length), but the result was the fit through the upper chest and arm pit area became uncomfortably tight. I haven't been able to comfortably wear a cur... Read Morerent R2 in years. This season they've fixed the fit! Slim, but not restrictive or uncomfortable...borderline perfect. Unlike the modern R1, the zipper...or more specifically the binding along each side...isn't bulky at all. Everything about this jacket is near perfection, except for the collar and the hand warmer pockets. The collar is huge...in every dimension. It's tall (not really an issue in and of itself), it's thick (two layers of the lofted R2 fleece as opposed to the usual one), and large in circumference. It leaves a largish air gap around my neck, and it's tall, thick, and fluffy enough to 'spill out' over the top of whatever shell/vest I try and layer over the top of it. The end result is it looks slightly silly on its own, and even more odd looking when used as a mid-layer. The hand warmer pockets are a strange miss. In an effort to hide them, they've tucked the zippers behind a fold of fleece, so essentially there's two layers of R2 fabric laying on top of the zipper. It adds a rather notable amount of bulk to that area...a decision that's particularly odd, given that they seem to have made some effort to reduce bulk along the main zipper. While I'm on the subject of the main zipper...its has a notable reduction in bulk as compared to previous Regulator zippers, its almost non-existent compared to the zipper on my 2 year old R1. Please transplant this zipper onto the R1 jacket, ASAP! I'm not sure I'm going to keep this R2, and that's a shame because the material is wonderful and its very comfortable, but has those couple odd design choices that make me reach for my R1 instead. Side note: the Big Sur blue is a deep, rich, ever so slightly greenish blue, that is even more striking in person than in picture.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches