Back to Product

Ws Quandary Pants - Short

Write Your Review

4.53 /5

Filter Reviews

All 53 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Quandary Pants - Short

4.53
Runs Large
February 17, 2021

comfortable and stylish

wear to work daily. easy to put on and remove. soft stretchy fabric.

January 29, 2021

Super warm

These are great pants, durable, fit great.

November 12, 2020

So comfortable!

I love these pants. Most petite pants are just a little short in the leg and/or the inseam. These are just right. Quick drying, non wrinkling, lightweight, they are great for travel. Please make them in black!!!!!!

May 23, 2020

Only One Problem

The only problem with these pants is that the zipped thigh pocket is too small for my phone. It fits nicely in that pocket of the Quandary pants I bought several years ago. Why would Patagonia do something so stupid? Theyre usually so smart. I wish they hadnt fiddled with the design. Dont get me wrong: the pants are still very nice, just not perfec... Read Moret, which is what they used to be.

April 27, 2020

Looks and feels good on especially in summer

Awesome pants! The drawstring could be a little bit wider or something. I tied it so well I had a hard time removing the knot, LOL! But these pants are otherwise PERFECT!

February 16, 2020

Great purchase

I bought size 6 short, perfect fit, fast delivery, satisfied with my purchase.

December 10, 2019

👍

Just the pant I need for my trip! Thanks

November 6, 2019

True to size, and not too long.

Thrilled that these pants fit me so well. I'm 5'2" tall and the "short" are just off the floor length. As always great quality and user friendly website.

November 5, 2019

Not quite perfect...call it 4.75 stars

Thank you, thank you, thank you for a pair of technical pants that fit my short, round self. At 5'3" and size 18, it's really difficult to find hiking pants that fit my waist and hips but aren't too long. As you know, most hiking pants have features at the cuffs that you lose if you hem them to a shorter length. The 30" in... Read Moreseam option makes such a huge difference in the overall fit. The missing 1/4 star is because there's still a bit of a gap at the back of the waistband, but the drawstring mostly takes care of that.

November 5, 2019

Women's Quandary Pants-Short

The pants fit exactly the way I like-higher on the waist and not snuggy tight. They are perfect for activities and nice enough for shopping and dining.

October 26, 2019

Great pants!

Hi Patagonia followers! These pants are SOOOOO cute! They fit perfect and I love the "tie" adjustable waistband! For reference, I am 5'5"/120lb- long torso. I ended up getting a 4 Short and they are wonderful. If you don't have a long torso, I would go with the regular length! Even my husband commented on how cool they look... Read Moreed! Kind of remind me of a trendier LuLu Lemon pant! Enjoy these y'all!

October 20, 2019

Favorite hiking pants.

These are my go to pants for hiking the 4000'ers and the AT. Stretch fabric dries quick and abrasion resistant when I butt side down the rocks. These come in a short length, so I can wear them out of the box.

September 10, 2019

The best pants ever.

I love this lightweight pants. I used to wear similar pants from Lucy, but they are gone and have been looking for a replacement. I FOUND IT with Patagonia and this is ever better one since I can roll it up!

September 5, 2019

Amazing!!

These are the best hiking pants I've ever owned. I am 5'3" so the short (30 inch) inseam is perfect, and I am very hourglass shaped so it's hard to find pants that fit both my waist and thighs/butt but these pants fit perfectly. The material is so comfortable and high quality.

September 1, 2019

Great fit and features

But they wrinkle awfully easily

August 20, 2019

Great hiking pants!

I have been looking all over for hiking pants, but had no luck at all until now. However, these are absolutely amazing! Fit great, look great, and are very comfortable. Re sizing, I am 5'4", 115 lb and the Small fits perfectly. Highly recommend.

August 15, 2019

Ws Quandary Pants

Buying these pants was one of the best purchasing decisions I've made. They fit perfectly, are well made, and the material is the perfect weight and fabric content for hiking and other outdoor pursuits. Patagonia's customer service is outstanding!

August 15, 2019

Haute Route

I brought these to Hume the Haute Route in Switzerland. Very versatile. Roll up easily. Not very water resistant but the are excellent for a wide range of weather

August 15, 2019

Size issue

These pants functioned really well, repelling water in a downpour much better than my H2no jacket. Because I had just bought a pair of size 4 rain pants I thought I could assume the same size would work for these and so ordered them online just before leaving the country to hike. But these are huge on me, and I had to keep stopping to tie the stret... Read Morechy ties as tight as I could. Wish I could exchange for a 2!

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2019

Sorry to hear that the pants have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

August 11, 2019

I liked the old version much better

I have a pair of quandary pants which I bought a couple ofyears ago and still wear and love. I wanted antoehr pair in a different color, so ordered what you sell now the same size, and they were too small! So I called and discussed it, finging out that the new version was cut slimmer! So Isent them back in exchange for the next larger size. These w... Read Moreere a bit too big, but I am making do. But they are not nearly so comfortable. Not only are they larger, but the fabric is thinner and feels less luxurious, more chintzy and does not hang or drape as well on me. I am not enjoying them very much, but have found no others that work better, yet. I wish you would not change your basic sizing of a garment, and also not change to lighter fabric and sacrifice the touch and drape of it. I will not order any more of these pants.

Response from Patagonia
August 21, 2019

Sorry to hear that the new pants have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

August 11, 2019

Love these pants!

Wonderful fit and fabric! Cool for hiking and flexible too!

August 10, 2019

Women's Quandary pants, short

These are the perfect hiking/travel pants for me. I love the gray color that goes with everything and the way they roll up. I'm a little over 5'4", weigh about 108, so size 4 short fits nicely but slips down on a thin day. My only complaint is the very thin, very stretchy drawstring. It would be better if it were wider and a tad less... Read More stretchy....

August 10, 2019

Short isn’t short enough

Would have been a perfect pant if it was made in a petite or shorter length. I’m 5”2”, size 0, and came no where close to it being short enough for me. If I hemmed, I would have lost the style and hang. At least the customer service rep Chase who helped me with the return and exchange was awesome.

Response from Patagonia
August 14, 2019

Thanks for your feedback! We've passed it along.

August 10, 2019

High quality, great fit, exceptional

High quality, great fit, exceptional social responsibility

August 10, 2019

Quandary pants

Very comfortable. Washes easily.

June 9, 2019

drawstring

It's a nice hiking pants. Fabric dries quickly after it gets wet in a rain, but the drawstring at the waist doesn't help tighten the fit very well. I'd prefer with no drawstring. I use a belt instead.

May 8, 2019

Quandary pants

Runs large.... order smaller size

May 8, 2019

Easy

I love these pants. I got the short ones and had to have them tailored anyway but they rock!

May 8, 2019

wondeful pants

These pans look stylish, fit well, and never wrinkle.

April 24, 2019

Great Pants

I was not sure what to expect, but these pants are super comfortable. I can no longer explore and do all the things shown in the ads. I tried them because they were top listed in ecologically concerned clothing companies. I love that you offer a short pant style so I do not have to get them hemmed. I only wish you had more colours. Would love black... Read More. Thanks for working to keep earth cleaner.

March 19, 2019

Great pant but...

Totally agree with others about the thigh pocket not being big enough for iPhone10 and passport. I have the same pant form 2-3 years ago and love being able to easily zip up new phone and passport in those. It doesn't need to be gusseted, just a bit longer. I also wish it came in the dusty blue of the Skyline Travel pants. Love how easy these ... Read Moreare to launder and dry overnight I'm 5'4" 122lbs. Size 4 SHORT fit easily

March 6, 2019

Please reconfigure the cargo leg pocket to easily hold passport / cellphone

I have a couple of these pants from different years. They are great travel pants. Pack small, easily shake out wrinkles, are thick enough to not show your undies, drape well, and have survived multiple foreign laundering in usually unknown conditions, surrendered to the local establishment.. I can wear them in major cities without looking / soundin... Read Moreg like I'm wearing nylon travel cargo pants. They STILL have the problem with the depth of the right sided leg zipper pocket. I can barely squeeze in my passport and the newer cell phones will not fit. And that is a potentially great passport pocket, with the zipper. The pocket doesn't need to be gusseted or baggy, just a wee bit deeper. I still recommend and wear these pants, but I inwardly sigh every time I'm fiddling with the passport or my phone, especially when flying. I am typically a size 6 pant, and these fit true to size in a 6. At 5 foot 4, 130 pounds I purchase the 'short'. I am pretty straight waist through thighs. Losing a star for the pocket issue.

September 15, 2018

Great pant

I have both colors in this style of pant and love them. They are so comfortable and look nice on. I have received many compliments. Patagonia please add additional colors.

May 29, 2018

Pockets aren't deep enough

I have 2 pairs of these pants and like them a lot. Only problem is that the zippered pockets aren't deep enough. I wore the pants on a trip to China. My passport barely fit in the leg pocket. My iPhone 8 was too tall to close the zipper on the leg pocket of the back pocket.

April 2, 2018

Hips too narrow

Oh Patagonia,what happened to the fit of yore when a woman could have a bit of a bum and fit into a Patagonia pant? In the past I have purchased several All Wear and Super Cali pants among others--they have fit. I love the quality and craftsmanship of Patagonia,but I am going to abandon for pants. Please make pant with a higher rise and more room w... Read Morehere the legs meet the torso. I am 5'2,115 lbs and ordered the Quandary a size 4 Short. Had tried on size 6 in a store,but they had at least 4 inches to much fabric around the waist band.

November 19, 2017

Only pants I wear

I absolutely love these pants. They are the only pants I wear anymore,so comfortable,flattering,and packable. I have them in the grey but really want them in the olive green,please bring them back Patagonia!

September 30, 2017

Perfect hiking pants!

I just got back from five days of hiking in Marin County,CA,and these pants were my favorites -- light and super comfortable,with just enough stretch to move with me as I climbed,but they never lost their shape. And they have all the pockets I needed,all in just the right places,with zippers. I also appreciate that they come in the short length -- ... Read MoreI'm long-waisted with short-ish legs,and I always have to hem my pants,but the length was perfect. I also love that they roll up and can be secured with tabs just below the knee. Great features all around,with Patagonia's usual high quality.

August 22, 2017

Great pants

These pants were perfect for 2 days of hiking in Rocky Mt Nat'l Park. Fit is comfortable,fabric is lightweight,sturdy,and not hot,and pockets are convenient. I was so happy to find these pants in the short length. The gray is a great color too.

August 20, 2017

Love,but wish Patagonia sold low-rise pants

I bought this pair at a store and love them. They're comfortable,move easily,feel light and breathable,and look great. I have worn them hiking,climbing,backpacking,fishing,and even to work. The one thing I would request,from Patagonia or any other brand,is LOW-RISE pants. No one seems to sell them,but when I bought these I mentioned this to ... Read Morethe store manager,and he encouraged me to write a review and mention this request. Hope Patagonia can help!

August 18, 2017

Best Decision in life

These pants are perfect. I'm an avid hiker and a coyote and fox handler,these pants can handle both! Could not give a better review! They do run a little large around the waist but have a drawstring to keep them up!

August 2, 2017

Love these pants

Bought these at the beginning of the summer and I have been wearing them constantly. Great for riding bikes (pant leg rolls up and secures nicely),wading in the ocean,gardening,hiking - basically any casual activity. The pockets are really great,as one is even big enough to hold my rather large phone securely and the zippers keep everything from wi... Read Moreggling out. These pants dry extremely fast! I love the performance of the stretchy fabric but the combination of the casual fabric and zippered pockets means they aren't quite dressy enough to wear for work. I would really like to see these in a slim leg,too,which would make them even more versatile. I am 5'2" and have an athletic build (no waist,no fanny) and the short fit me like they were tailored for me; I have rather long legs for a petite woman. I will be buying at least one more pair of these!

July 29, 2017

Great lightweight pants.

I love the lightweight material. The zippered pocket on the leg would be nice a bit taller. Very comfortable. The inner drawstring gives it a curvy fit if needed.

July 11, 2017

Great for travel. Cargo pocket needs to be deeper

Purchased to wear for travel. Lightweight,a bit stretchy. Relax a bit when worn so don't start out with them too loose. Easy to fly in,and sleep in,due to the cut and fabric. Side 'cargo' pocket that zips closed on right leg will securely hold passport,but not my Samsung 7 phone,so loss of 1 star. That's a problem because I like... Read More to use that pocket for my phone when I fly domestic,passport when I fly international. I do like that they look good enough to wear in cities,but don't wrinkle and dry quickly for travel. Easy to wash or spot wash. Not too noisy (swish) when walking. Just deepen that cargo pocket and they'll be perfect. Roll up to capris is a very nice bonus. I'm 5' 4" 135 pounds,kinda straight thru waist hips thighs (not curvy) and bought a size 6 short.

June 26, 2017

Runs large

I have not worn Patagonia much and did not have an opportunity to try on these pants before purchase; however,I made every effort to communicate with Patagonia to determine what would be the best size. I was told to measure myself,which I did,and use the measurements to determine size. After providing my measurements,Patagonia indicated between an ... Read More8 and 10 for my size. Fortunately,prior to having this conversation,I ordered a size 4. In fact,a size 2 would be best but a 4 I can live with for now. The measurements do not correspond with the sizes. Order multiple sizes to determine which pant you need. Great pants,sizing is misleading.

June 24, 2017

I love the feel and weight of the fabric

I bought these pants for hiking and am now in the middle of a three week hiking/trekking trip in Europe. The light weight is great in the heat and they also dry quickly when they get wet. The only drawback for me is that they are hip pants and I seem to be one of the few women who still prefers pants with a waist band. So even though I am using a b... Read Moreelt to hold them up,I am still constantly pulling them up. The thin drawstring is not very useful to me.

June 14, 2017

breathable,lightweight,highly functional

Bought these pants for a trip to do birding and hiking in South America,for very wet and warm conditions. The pants performed well. They were very light and comfortable. I like the deep side pockets,as well as the little zipper pocket on the right leg. The right back pocket is zippered also -- so lots of storage room without being too bulky. The ro... Read Morell-up button feature on the leg is nice,too,though it is not quite as convenient as the kind of pants that have elastic cinch at the hem to make a capri,or that zip off to make shorts. With the roll-up-button,there is only one button on one side of each leg,so the pant can droop and sag down on one part of the leg --- this wasn't an issue for me as I didn't mind it,but if you want a stable roll up or the ability to convert to shorts,this could be an issue. Overall am very pleased with this pant. I used a single pair about 3 days in a row (hiking in amazon rainforest) when laundry services were scarce and they did not seem to retain much odor or wetness. I bought pant mainly because it was one of only a couple SHORT hem lengths available in patagonia styles -- wish there were more options in the SHORT length - I'm 5'5" 145lb and bought 10SHORT. The rise is a mid-to-high rise compared to most other styles of hiking pants I have tried. It's definitely not low rise,which was good for me since I find low rise pants very uncomfortable.

June 11, 2017

Great pants

I bought these pants at the Patagonia Victoria store (http://www.patagoniaelements.ca/store/product/116531/Women%27s-Quandary-Pants-Regular/) but wanted to write a great review about these pants here anyway. These are amazing pants that are comfortable,super lightweight and water-resistant. I've worn them hiking up to Mt. Weart,Mt. Price,etc.... Read More,and even worn it multi-pitching and cragging. For the latter,you obviously shouldn't do any knee-jams or crack climbing in these pants,unless you're looking for some serious pain from the metal button (lol,I've done it). Anyway,this is a superb multi-day hiking pant,especially when worn during a hot summer day in bug-infested terrain....Oh,and it looks nice to wear around town.

June 10, 2017

Comfy and light

I bought these pants for my summer as a naturalist and they are perfect. The light weight keeps me cool while the roll up feature allows me to quickly change styles depending on activity.

June 1, 2017

Bring back the original Quandary Pant!

This new updated version is such a disappointment. I wore size 0 in the past design and now this pant is about 1 inch larger at the waist. Why??? The fabric is slippery and unattractive. The old version had an outer pocket where the pant zipper is and now it's only a zipper. You can see the outline of the pocket from behind fabric. So disappoi... Read Morented.

May 29, 2017

Love them! Perfect for hiking/travel

These are perfect for hiking,pack up small,light weight,fit great. I'm 5'8,135lbs,size 6 is perfect. Love love love!

May 13, 2017

Exactly right!

Worth the extra expense,these trousers are well made and fit nicely. I have another brand in which I sound a bit noisy walking along. These trousers do not announce your appearance in advance. They are comfortable,quick dry,and surprisingly attractive.

April 22, 2017

Perfect pant!

Love the fit and the style! I can dress them up a bit and look socially acceptable,wear them completely casual and/or wear them on the trail!

April 15, 2017

They actually FIT!!

Glory Hallelujah! I have spent months looking for a cute,functional pair of travel/activewear pants that fit right out of the package,and I have finally found them! I have spent so many dollars having travel clothes tailored to fit my petite frame (and I'm not THAT small--5'4",110#,athletic build). These pants are perfection. Cute en... Read Moreough to wear for any casual occasion. Patagonia,please keep making these--and in size 0 short please!!!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches