Back to Product

Ws Performance Better Sweater™ Hoody

Write Your Review

4.33 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 69 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Performance Better Sweater™ Hoody

4.33
True To Size
February 9, 2020

Hood

Great shirt when i get it

January 9, 2020

Better Sweater Hoody pilling after one wash

I love the hoody, how it fits/feels, the color, etc. But then it pilled after one wash (cold, delicate, and hanging to dry). I'm disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Alison! Thanks for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the pilling on your Better Sweater. I would recommend using a sweater shaver or sweater stone – these tools will remove the pilling and help your hoody to look brand new again. Of course, you are also welcome to initiate a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on that item if you’d like.

January 1, 2020

Very nice

Very nice

December 18, 2019

Love this

So perfect for everything outdoors and stylish too. Pretty sure a sibling will steal it from me. :)

December 18, 2019

THE best Better Sweater ever!

THE best Better Sweater ever! Comfort,fit, style and color get lots of oh’s and ah’s . My fav part though is the hug and cuddly feeling when wrapped around me...oh...stretchy arm design with built in thumb glove thingy are rad too!

December 3, 2019

LOVE

I love the fit and look of this new better sweater jacket. I have many Patagonia products and they are well made. I am happy to support the brand.

November 26, 2019

Comfortable

A bit snug in the forearms, difficult to pull up if u have to wash your hands. However would recommend

November 11, 2019

Best!

Became my favorite go=to hoody in 1 hr.

November 10, 2019

pleasantly surprised

I was skeptical whether this jacket would be warm. It just seemed to light to be warm enough. So far it has been great. The only thing I'd suggest is that the inside pocket is a little difficult to zip & unzip. The fabric is a little flimsy so I have to hold it with both hands to work it. Perhaps a strip of reinforcing around it would help... Read More.

November 8, 2019

Fits great Looks great Is

Fits great Looks great Is great

November 8, 2019

Patagonia quality

Well made, well designed and cozy. I would have liked a slimmer profile and hotter color choice, but everything Patagonia proves its value through time.

November 7, 2019

Great every day fleece

I've pretty much been living in this fleece since I purchased it. It's pretty much perfect. Thank you Patagonia for yet another delightful addition to my wardrobe.

November 6, 2019

This sweater hoodie is very

This sweater hoodie is very warm. I love it

November 6, 2019

Excellent Quality

I love the jacket that I bought. It has a great look to it, it’s warm, well constructed and the price was fair. I only wish that their was some rating level on the description to rate its ability to block wind. I would have selected a product that was better rated for gusty weather. Shopping online can be difficult.

October 30, 2019

It works!

This is my “grab and go” sweater. In the house, a quick “go” outside, at the campsite and about town. It’s comfortable and warm. Don’t turn up the heat...put this sweater on for instant comfort.

October 26, 2019

Fits great! Love the color.

Fits great! Love the color. Can’t wait to wear it

October 21, 2019

Great color, fits great, and

Great color, fits great, and so warm <3

October 19, 2019

Cozy

Its warm but not as warm at my retro fleece zip up. I can feel the wind through this fleece. I tend to wear it as a layer instead on its own. It does run small though and I have a medium. I liked it enough to keep it.

October 15, 2019

Amazing!

I have a half zip better sweater from several years back that I liked, but didn't love. While the quality is great and it is warm, I find it a little more rigid and not as comfortable as I'd like. I do NOT feel this way about this more athletic version! It is so cozy and much less rigid than the other fleece I have from Patagonia. I'... Read Morem considering getting another one during a 50% off sale. For reference, I am just under 5'4" and 120 lbs with an athletic build and the XS fits wonderfully. I love the thumb holes!

October 14, 2019

Love it, but it runs

Love it, but it runs really small. Debating on whether to give it to some one or return. I got it on sale or I would just return it. It is very well made, so would make a great gift for someone.

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2019

We're sorry to hear the Performance Better Sweater Hoody didn't fit quite right! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

October 13, 2019

This is a great all

This is a great all around sweater/jacket.

October 3, 2019

Love the quality but way more fitted than I like

I love the material and color and I ordered a size larger than I normally would or wear and its still pretty tight!

September 30, 2019

Great sweater

Great sweater, very comfy, nice color...

September 28, 2019

Exactly as expected

After looking at the specs, and comparing this to the Better Sweater, I decided on this one for more flexibility. Love the fit (usually a small, got a medium), super comfortable, and warm but not TOO warm. Will be the perfect midlayer for winter.

September 25, 2019

Trolled by reviewers

I am 5'10'', 150 lbs, and I chose a large because of the reviews that said it was tight/small. It is neither of those things. I don't plan on exchanging it, but at least I can layer it now. Plus, the sleeves are long - down my hands, which I personally like. I am going backpacking in the Hammersley Wild Area soon, and I'll ... Read Moresee how it performs. It has a soft interior and it's not one of those hoods that falls of your head

September 18, 2019

Fits well. Patagonia quality I

Fits well. Patagonia quality I can count on.

September 15, 2019

Beautiful color and just what

Beautiful color and just what I wanted in the way of sweater fleece The fit is also very good

September 13, 2019

Terrific

This is better quality and nicer fabric than the down sweater I returned. Great color and trim details and the hood works great without adding bulk

September 10, 2019

Such a great Jacket!

Thank you for making such wonderful products! I bought the Better Sweater for myself, made of honor, and officiant for my wedding this last weekend. It was perfect for our camping wedding weekend :)

September 9, 2019

Better, better better sweater!

I have owned a better sweater since they first came out and I cannot speak highly enough of them. This is my first hoody and I am so excited to wear it I've been wearing it in 92 degree heat. Although, I don't think I have actually tested the true strength and value, I have no doubt that this sweater will be every bit as good as the other... Read Mores. Do yourself a favor......buy one today.

September 9, 2019

Switchback Sports Bra

very comfortable, perfect fit

September 8, 2019

Better hoody sweater

Nice hoody, but was too big. Not a typical xs that fits for Asian women.

Response from Patagonia
September 19, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item did not work for you! Please note, your satisfaction is guaranteed -- you are welcome to initiate a return at any time [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 8, 2019

Runs small

I bought an XL which I usually am a XL and this runs very tight. Wish I knew this before buying it. Gave it to my daughter she is a L and the XL fit her perfectly. Nice quality.

September 8, 2019

Love it!

Love everything about it! Fits perfect, perfect length and love the color!

September 1, 2019

First Patagonia purchase

So far I love my jacket, I've only worn it a few times. Very soft.

September 1, 2019

Near perfect

Jacket has a great fit, the kind of hood I like (it's not the tight helmet friendly type) The color I chose is beautiful! I don't remember the name, but it's a striking periwinkle blue. Nice fabric with soft backing. Sleeves are adequately long, but the only thing is they are somewhat snug on the forearm. I am fairly thin so it may n... Read Moreot be too much of a problem but I'm wondering how some long sleeve items are going to do under it in that area. I am 5'8" & 128# and jacket is a medium.

August 31, 2019

Hoodie reviw

I find the neck opening to be larger than necessary.

August 31, 2019

Very narrow

It is a much tighter fit than the Better Sweater jacket. If you’re looking for an athletic, fitted piece, it would be great; but as a casual layer to throw in top of an outfit before heading out the door.

August 31, 2019

W's Performance Better Sweater Hoody

Fit is slim and flattering; the stretchy side and under-arm panels allow for a full range of motion. Prefect for under a climbing harness, though haven't tested that yet. Great for all manner of outdoor activities when you need an extra layer; fits well under a shell or vests. I loved this hoody so much I ordered it in Dam Blue and Reef Pink.

August 14, 2019

Great Hoody!

Perfect weight to take the chill off or as a mid layer. Lighter than the regular Better Sweater. Slim fit (although not snug) and tends to run a bit long in the length and sleeve. My new go-to piece, which I would highly recommend. For the designers: something to snug up the hood when wearing as an outer layer?

August 10, 2019

Great quality. Tight fit.

The quality and materials of the performance better sweater are great. I am 5’10” and wear slim fitting men’s medium tops or women’s xl. I exchanged this women’s xl for a men’s large better sweater hoody because I wanted it a little looser fitting, they are not kidding about the snug fit. The men’s large fits me great and the only downside is that ... Read Moreit doesn’t have thumb holes. Love it. Will wear it more when winter comes back.

August 10, 2019

Better sweater hoody

I love this sweater it’s got a slight stretch, it’s warm but you can wear it as a light layer for chilly summer nights. I wish I would’ve gotten the hood-less version, as the hood is kind of bulky. I had returned my black better sweater for this grey hooded one, because of pilling . I’m not having nearly as much pilling with the grey as I was with ... Read Morethe black. I recommend this sweater!

June 6, 2019

Cute but size inflation needs to stop

Ordered size xs. It looks like it would be cute if it wasn't huge on me. I used to be able to wear a size xs in Patagonia but now their clothes seem to be getting bigger and bigger. Please create a size xxs or stop the size inflation. Will be returning :(

Response from Patagonia
June 13, 2019

Hey there! We apologize that the size on this Better Sweater didn't work out for you. We will contact you privately with return help, we don't want you to be stuck with anything that isn't working for you.

May 12, 2019

Love!

I love my PATAGONIA! It is so durable and comfortable (and warm)!

May 11, 2019

Love this hoody

smaller fit than I expected but it still works

May 8, 2019

Pretty good

the fabric is nice, the color is fabulous, and I like having the hood for windy or drizzly days. But... I have a heck of a time getting my arms in the sleeves of this jacket when I am wearing anything with long sleeves. It's hardly a deal breaker, but it is annoying as I am usually on the fly going out the door and have to stop and make adjust... Read Morements etc before I am comfortably into the jacket. Not sure what can be done, if anything, but I know you like feed back so there you have it!!

March 25, 2019

Good, but not great

Pros: -The grey is a nice color, and I haven't had any issues with pilling so far. -The length and slim fit cut are great. -Warm enough but not bulky Cons: -Like others have mentioned, the sleeves are really tight. I like to push back long sleeves and can barely get them halfway up my forearms. -A specific thing, but the way the zipper end... Read Mores are placed make them resistant to being folded flat against the body leading to this sort of 'Dracula's cape' effect which I find annoying. Less pronounced after a couple of washes but the stiffness of the zipper (because of the solid sewing/material) makes it hard to lay flat.

March 8, 2019

Arms too tight

I have two size large Patagonia jackets already - one is a better sweater. This one looked too great to pass up, and I loved the lavender color. It is definitely a slim fit (slimmer than my other jackets), but the main issue for me was with the sleeves. They are so tight that the only thing I will get under it is a tank top. I am returning it for a... Read More better sweater vest in the same beautiful color.

March 4, 2019

So thin...

I recently purchased this is feather grey. I was really impressed with the flattering cut, loved the longer length. I sized up to Medium; I am 5'5", 130 lbs, athletic build. I typically wear a small in patagonia tops, but will often size up to a medium to have more room for layering if it is a slim-fit garment. I found the sleeves to be V... Read MoreERY tight, and wasn't sure I could fit aonther layer underneath them, other than a tee shirt or tank. Plenty of room in the torso however. I loved that it came down to cover my bum! What was really a deal breaker for me was the incredible thinness of it. I cannot imagine how well this will hold up through lots of wears and washes... you can truly see the light coming through the fabric if you hold it up. I had to err on the side of caution and sent this one back. Too bad! Patagonia, please revamp the regular hooded better sweater with a nice longer cut like this, but with the plush quality of your fleece we all love.

February 15, 2019

Best ever.

I got 2 of these! This fleece snuggles and gives shape to your body. Definitely runs true to size since I am 5’2 , petite frame 115 lbs I got me an XS fits perfect. This will keep you warm on breezy cold weather at the same time, in my experience I was coastal hiking along San Diego beach. Kept me warm for the most part. Worth the money, good mater... Read Moreial as well. Done perfectly.

November 30, 2018

Comfy

I'm 5'7 and 130 pounds, I got a medium because it is a slim fit. It does fit kind of baggy around the hips, but is perfect on arm length and tightness.

October 8, 2018

Nice, but sleeves way too tight

I own an embarrassing number of Patagonia garments (especially jackets), and love most of them. Size small almost always fits perfectly - I am 5'5" and about 123 pounds. I ordered this fleece to fit a specific need in my layering system, and it would be almost perfect except that the sleeves, especially the lower portion, are ridiculously... Read More tight. They feel snug even over a bare arms, and definitely aren't going to work over even a lightweight long-sleeved layer. I do not have plump or muscular arms, so I would say beware unless you plan to wear this with only a short-sleeved shirt underneath.

April 3, 2018

BEST ZIP UP HOODIE EVERRRRRR

Excellent fit; favorite hoody! thumb holes are a great little feature. Every hoody should have a chest pocket with zipper like this one does.

January 30, 2018

Worth the $$$

I love this jacket. I have a number of items from Patagonia,including the snap-t fleece,re-tool fleece,and Better Sweater in full zip and quarter zip. This is by far my favorite,especially for use during outdoor activities. Yes,it is expensive,but the fit is fantastic (size up - the sizing tool is very accurate in my experience). I have read review... Read Mores complaining about the arms being tight and the fabric pilling. I find the arms to be comfortable,and I especially love the extra length in the arms to go with the thumbholes. As far as pilling goes,it is taken care of with a sweater stone,same as any Better Sweater. That's just the nature of the fabric. My other Better Sweaters had lots of pilling around the underarms - this is avoided in this model thanks to the inset along the sides. For siding reference,I am 5'4" and 150 lbs with a very large chest. A size large fits me very well. It is flattering,and there is room to later underneath and over top.

January 18, 2018

Crazy long

I have the original performance better sweater hoody from two years ago or whenever they 'unveiled' it. I love it. The thumbholes are fantastic. The fit is great. It pills a bit but a sweater stone keeps it looking decent. I love it so much I purchased two more....a magenta one and a new bend blue one. Magenta was last year's color. ... Read MoreBend blue is this year's. The magenta one was about an inch longer than the original gray one I own. The arms were a good bit bulkier and larger,and there was an unattractive bulge in the stomach. The bend blue one was another inch longer than the magenta one making it a full two inches longer than the original gray one and still had the stomach bulge that the magenta one had but the gray one does not. I am 5'4' 115 lbs and am now absolutely swimming in the xs in the new colors. The gray one in the xs fits me fine. Patagonia please stop changing your sizing. This hoodie is the best. Great colors. Thumbholes. Super soft and comfy. However I can no longer wear one and am stuck with just my gray one for as long as it may last. If you are going to keep changing your sizing to accommodate tall women and forget us short women you are going to lose customers. Please make a petite,regular,and tall line in your popular styles. Women are not a one size fits all group. This ended up being tunic length on me which is not exactly how it is supposed to be.

October 18, 2017

Flattering fit

I love the fit of this sweater. It's so comfy and absolutely perfect for sport or lounging.

October 16, 2017

Want to love but started piling after one week

I love Patagonia and I really want to love this jacket but it started piling at multiple places after just one week. I have not yet washed the jacket either so I'm not sure how long it will last. Considering the price and usual quality,it's a bit disappointing. Overall,the jacket is comfortable and fits well too. It's a great light... Read More jacket for casual everyday use. Pockets are nicely lined too. I did not go up a size but if you plan to wear thicker clothes underneath you may want to.

September 25, 2017

Great!

Bought one size up because that was all that was left but fits true to size. The best zip up jacket!

September 9, 2017

Better than regular better sweater

I had an original better sweater and loved it. When I replaced it,the new model was small and boxy. This performance version is MUCH better if you are tall and lean! The arms are long,the torso is long and more fitted. The regular better sweater was extremely unflattering,this one is great!

August 9, 2017

Love the color and fit!

I bought the Carve Coral version after it caught my eye in store. This jacket fits great without being restrictive,the sides being in a different fabric help breath and give a slimmer appearance. The close fit means I can easily put a vest or shell over it for more warmth/water protection. Love the thumbholes,they really make it feel cozy.

June 24, 2017

Pleasantly surprised!

I bought this for a year round layer. Living in Wisconsin I know I'll be able to use it all 4 seasons! I love the sherbet colors and was pleasantly surprised by the two types of fabric! The main sweater material,and the stretchy fabric along the underside of the sleeves!

June 7, 2017

Thumbholes for the win!

I bought this a couple of weeks ago after realizing I didn't have a lightweight,breathable jacket for in-between weather. It's fantastic for just that. Easy to layer under a raincoat if it's a bit wet or cold. I can't really speak to the reliability factor since I haven't had it for too long,but seems solidly built - it bet... Read Moreter be for the price! I like supporting a company that aligns with my beliefs. The overall length is good,honestly I wouldn't mind it a little longer! (I'm 5'7"). The chest pocket is great - adding a sleeve pocket would make it even better. :) The hood is great,actually stays on my head. Seriously though,thumbholes for the win. I almost refuse to buy any jackets and/or sweatshirts if they don't have them!

April 20, 2017

Perfect fit

I'm 5'4 135lbs with a 34D chest size. I love this hoody and prefer it over the original better sweater. It's much less boxy with a nice slim fit and longer hemline. I think this jacket might fun a bit small but it's great when you're in-between sizes. I'm typically between a small and medium in patagonia and went with ... Read Morea medium in this product. The stretch panels are great and provide less restricted range of motion that is great for activities.

April 8, 2017

LOVE THIS COAT

Great jacket for layering! I wear it under my rain jacket or my down jacket.Great to just throw on any time. Living in Oregon you need to layer. Fits GREAT! True to size.Love it it will get me thru all seasons. Off to New Mexico for dessert hiking is its next destination!

April 8, 2017

Looks good but quality is not what I expected

I bought this over a month ago. I loved how it looked and how warm it was for being as light as it is. The unfortunate thing about it is how the knitting has pilled. I washed it and air dried it but just the one wash was enough the make it pill all over. I expected better quality of this jacket. I am returning it.

April 4, 2017

Great...but annoyingly linty

I love the design of this jacket! It fits well,is warm,has a great hood and thumbholes. BUT I got it in black and it collects SO MUCH fuzz and lint. I don't think this would be a problem with the other colors. But the black has not worn well in the couple months I've owned it. I'm not even wearing it hard! I'm washing on delicat... Read Moree,not putting it in the dryer...and it still looks crummy. Sigh.

February 17, 2017

loved the color

such a unquie color so i bought it. The original better sweater is way warmer and comforatble. This style is tight fitting. True to size with just a tshirt underneath I wear a small and wished I bought a medium to get more use out of it. Tight in the arms and across the stomach. I do not recommend for cold weather sports -skiing becuase you cannot ... Read Moreput layers on underneath. I weigh 125 pounds.

February 5, 2017

perfect sweater

I don't often leave reviews but I like this sweater a lot. Its comfortable,cute,and super versatile. Works great for indoor or outdoor activities,it's warm but not too warm and layers well under a coat and over a shirt or tank top. I love the longer length in the back and the high collar. It's exactly what I was looking for in a blac... Read Morek hoody. I normally wear XS,I could've probably gone with that size but got S which works great for layering. Highly recommend.

August 22, 2016

Perfect!

Love everything about this hoody! I'm 5'8 and about 130lbs and purchased a medium,the sleeves are not too short so the thumb holes fit perfect and the length is right at my hips. Fit is slim but not too slim so you can wear a shirt or 2 underneath and it will still be flattering. I'm sure i can wear it under my snowboard jacket witho... Read Moreut it being too bulky. I'am super happy i purchased this and would recommend it everyone!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches