Back to Product

Ms R4® Yulex™ Front-Zip Hooded Full Suit

Write Your Review

4.0/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • S
  • MS
  • M
  • MT
  • LS
  • L
  • LT
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 9 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R4® Yulex™ Front-Zip Hooded Full Suit

4.0/5
March 21, 2021

Warm but the crotch seam is leaked

I fully Patagonia's mission statement and their use of recycled and more sustained materials in their products. This is my 4th Patagonia wetsuit over the years. Each one improves over the previous generation. Unfortunately, this suit didn't last long. In less than 20 sessions, the crotch started leaking. I couldn't identify the cause... Read More initially because the interior and exterior seam seal bead was intact. The seam pulled apart from within. Go figure. Maybe the next suit will be better, but I'm not sure I'd invest in another one. FYI: I've shipped wetsuits for repair, but it just doesn't work out well. Otherwise, the suit was warm albeit slightly large around the midsection for me. I'm 5'11" 160 lbs.

January 26, 2021

Beyond compare!

Epic winter suit...definitely the best I have ever owned. Warmth and durability have always been great with the R4, but the new generation has massive improvements in flexibility. Seriously feels like wearing a 3/2 in terms of shoulder/paddling flexibility. The increased flex also makes it incredibly easy to get in/out of the suit which I struggled... Read More with a bit on the previous generation R4. Absolutely a 5-star suit...before even taking into account the environmental and social aspects of the materials and production which are beyond comparison.

January 23, 2021

Zipper is Backwards

The chest zipper is backwards to any other chest zip wetsuit I have owned. Why would you do this? Why make an easy system difficult? You have to align up the zipper like you are putting on a jacket. Not like a pair of jeans where you just zip them up. Cold hands and trying to look down at your chest to get a visual to align the zipper to the track ... Read Moreis unrealistic. I will be sending this suit back and would not recommend to anyone based on this single design flaw.

January 20, 2021

All That

Im 510 and 160, and historically Ive worn Large in Patagonia suits. This suit I ordered in Large and it seems to fit true to my size. One thing Ive noticed over the years is that Patagonia suits tend to be a tad heavier and less flexible compared to their counterparts found among the Big surf industry labels. Sorry guys - my opinion but I think the... Read Morere is some truth there. What you loose in a little more weight and less flexibility you gain tenfold in the quality of the materials and durability of Patagonia suits. I recently had an R3 that I wore regularly - 2-3 times a week during the colder months - for close to 3 years. When it wore in the knees and crotch - I sent it back to Patagonia for repair. A few weeks later for a small charge my suit was back with new panels and stitched back up. The Big surf label suits, for all the geewhiz advertising and flexible material, are toast within months - if youre lucky you get a year. Refund or warranty - stop, that really makes me laugh so hard I cant breathe. So there it is - while the whole sustainability ethos might appear rooted in the Yulex argument advanced by Patagonia, in my mind the product is sustainable because it lasts - and when it breaks it can be fixed. So yes, Patagonia suits really are all that.

January 5, 2021

Comfortable and warm

This is my second R4. I use my winter suits in pretty harsh conditions. Coldest session was in 2C water temperature. But the suits always kept me warm. I am completely satisfied with the complete line of wetsuits. I actually have them all except the R5. But planning on a trip to Norway so that R5 will probably be next in line. Always nice to be abl... Read Moree to have a dry option for your next session ;) I am 6'4 / 1'94m and 79kg and always use a MT. Fits me perfect. Even the length of the arms and legs is perfect; also in combination with the R4 booties and gloves.

December 30, 2020

Quality all the way

Purchased a top line suit of leading manufacture and closely compared. The other suit had many features that would be considered best to have. However, hands down the quality of the patagonia manufacture came through in feel, in fit and in function. I returned the other suit and been loving the R4

December 23, 2020

Super warm

I use this wetsuit for surfing in Irland and I’m amazed how warm it keeps me. I usually prefer to use rather smaller wetsuits than larger ones but for me (178 cm, 75 kg) this one fits perfectly in M. I can definitely recommend buying and it feels good to know it has been produced in a more environmentally friendly fashion compared to other wetsuits... Read More.

December 7, 2020

Love it!

Bought 3 Patagonia wetsuits for self, husband and daughter. Wow! We all love them. Northern Washington Strait of Juan de Fuca water is no match for this wetsuit. We've worn them surfing and SUPing and wow. Comfortable and warm. My daughter and I do need help getting the hood off - it's really difficult - but it's getting easier with ... Read Moretime. We used the size chart and my 5'8" 140 lb husband got the small and my daughter and I are both 5'4" / 5'6" and 117 lbs and the size 6 is perfect. Yay.

December 2, 2020

Warm but seams didn't last

Very happy at first to hit the winter season on the Brittany coast with this suit... but the following fall (after maybe 20-30 sessions) a serious crotch leak made me cold way before the water was hitting its lowest points. My 4/3 summer wetsuit ended up keeping me warmer - sent the suit off to warranty and they said they couldn't fix it... no... Read Morew trying to decide if I want a new suit or my money back, I've seen some other posts on the internet complaining about seam durability in Patagonia suits, I just don't want to deal with a month-long warranty process again next year. Patagonia, make sure you get this sorted, as it's otherwise a great suit!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches