Back to Product

Ms Down Sweater

Write Your Review

4.6/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 629 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Down Sweater

4.6/5
April 29, 2021

Ms Down Sweater

Great fit and construction

April 24, 2021

Super warm

Great jacket, good feel.

April 24, 2021

Elegant

Keeps me warm, looks good and is completely functional whether walking the dog on the back 40 or snowshoeing through a Colorado Spring blizzard.

April 23, 2021

Amazing quality and feel

When I first got it out of the package, it looked a little bit smaller, but as soon as you touched it, you immediately see the level of craftsmanship and quality that you're dealing with. It feels amazing and even though the fabrics feel light, it's very warming. Great product, totally recommend

April 22, 2021

My first Patagonia disappointment

This is actually my second review of this jacket. Originally, I had nothing but good things to say. It was a 5-star product and one that I fell in love with almost immediately. In a lot of ways that made what happened next even more disappointing. I used the jacket a grand total of three times before feathers started to come out of the jackets seem... Read Mores (not sure if thats the correct spelling on that, I apologize if not). Strangest of all the activities I used it for were not demanding. I used it around the house, shopping, and sitting around the fire at my friends house late into the night. The day after that last gathering I noticed six different spots where feathers were leaking. I ended up taking it to the Patagonia store I bought it from and they took it for store credit. I'd like to point out that what I'm describing is abnormal for Patagonia's product quality. I have several other products from them that have preformed much better. I believe that I may have received a faulty product, so your experience with this jacket might be better. Personally, I'd recommend going with a synthetic option instead as I've found them to be more reliable. The ones I'm looking at now are the Micro puff and DAS light.

April 22, 2021

My favorite jacket

I'm now on my second Men's Down Sweater. The first lasted for a solid 9 years without losing too much down and still being warm and insulating; it never tore despite me using it for hundreds of camping, hiking, skiing and other outdoor trips. I still use that one, it's just pretty stained up and it's the bright blue, so I went w... Read Moreith a new black option. I always run hot, but something about how this jacket is so well made, I can wear it for a much wider range of temperatures than I can with other jackets before I'm either sweating in mild temperatures or cold in very low temperatures. I recommend this jacket to all my friends.

April 21, 2021

Leigh weight

What I love about the jacket is its light weight versatility

April 20, 2021

Great jacket

Extremely lightweight and (unsurprisingly) warm. Well made. The black was slightly 'shinier' than I expected, but not a problem.

April 16, 2021

big

Its bit big on me, but the large was small.

April 13, 2021

Best gift ever

Bought this as a gift for husband and it has been his favorite jacket since. He loves the lightness and warmth of this jacket. Great quality product.

April 12, 2021

Had holes

Jacket had holes where the feathers are falling out off. Looks like a manufacturer defects.

Response from Patagonia
April 13, 2021

Hello Yency, we're sorry that the down was coming out of your jacket! This can be the nature of down insulated items. We recommend pulling the feathers back in from the opposite side of the fabric and then massage the fibers back together, essentially sealing the hole back up. If this isn't working for you, feel free to send it in for a [warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 8, 2021

Super Toasty

Bought this for extra warmth. Does the trick! Super toasty - easily layerable. Pretty wind proof. Love it. If you like the nano puff - youll love this.

April 8, 2021

Lightweight and warm

Highly recommend this jacket. True to size and very lightweight.

April 4, 2021

Very versatile

Very comfortable and practical My brother and my father have the same jacket and thats why I bought it We all love it

April 3, 2021

Warm and lightweight

Perfect for under a windbreaker while skiing, bike riding, hiking on a cold day. A good fit.

April 3, 2021

Featherlight style

Tried cheaper, ended up with the genuine article. Bought size too large, ordered next one down and got perfection, plus no quibble rapid return handling. Reassuring quality of service for future

April 2, 2021

Under Hardshell Warm Layer

Light simple and warm. Great for cooler patrol days.

April 1, 2021

Warm and comfortable

I love the jacket, its light and warm. Does not feet me tight like the Nano Puff jacket. Very comfortable I can even wear a hoody underneath for thous colder days. I prefer this jacket then the NorthFace jacket I use to wear.

April 1, 2021

Comfortable and good looking!

I enjoy the warmth of this sweater. Its light weight and allows for easy movement. Its a good three season garment.

April 1, 2021

Perfect fall/spring transition jacket.

I was looking for a jacket that was light and warm enough to wear during the transition from winter to spring and during the fall. This jacket is perfect for those 30 to 50 degree days.

March 31, 2021

good coat

Good product

March 29, 2021

Warm

Good

March 29, 2021

Finally, I found my perfect jacket!

It feels like Ive been through every puffy Patagonia has to offer this last week. I was recommended this jacket by a close friend after complaining to her that I still couldnt find a Swiss Army Knife jacket. At first I was skeptical because I have gotten synthetic jackets for a long while. But, after using this for a bit I can say with confidence t... Read Morehat I finally found it. Here is whats good: lofty and warm, feels like a warm hug, packs down really well, colors and materials are spot on, quality is good (as it should be, quite an expensive jacket), is warmer than it looks. I have one complaint about this jacket. It doesnt have interior drop in pockets! Please Patagonia! Put drop in pockets in all the jackets! All in all really, really good. Fits me well although I am on the more slim side of things. I dont think you can go wrong with this jacket. I look forwards to having it for years and years to come!

March 29, 2021

Just the right amount of insulation

It's just the amount of warmth I wanted, typically use it for mid-20's to mid 40's kind of weather. At 5'5" but with broad shoulders, a medium is a perfect fit. A discreetly tucked in hood could be an improvement--the jacket that replaced this with had one which came in handy.

March 29, 2021

Impressed

Recently received and so far so good. Very light and feels warm and cosy.

March 25, 2021

Fashionably Warm and Lightweight

Very lightweight and comfortable. Surprisingly soft. I measure 40 inches at the chest and the large was too big. The medium fit perfect. Return process was easy. Warm for casual wear down to 25 degrees so far.

March 24, 2021

First Patagonia product

This is my first Patagonia product and it lives up to the hype, quality gear, its expensive but its money wel spent

March 23, 2021

Best jacket ever

One of the best jackets i’ve ever had. Extremly warmth and comfortable.

March 23, 2021

Lite and warm

A swell sweater that don’t levar you sweatin’ but comfortably cosy.

March 23, 2021

Great product

Great product

March 20, 2021

Great gift for my husband

My husband had another down sweater and it lasted for 10 years. It is now relegated to dog walking and his hobby of painting. The new one is great and he happy to have a new sharp look!

March 19, 2021

Good for Everything

I wear it indoors and out almost year around. I wore my first one out. Recycled it by sending it back to Patagonia. I bought my wife one. Can I say more?

March 19, 2021

So versatile

I've had a bunch of these over the last twenty years and I wear them until they are toast. Great for casual wear when it's pretty warm because they breathe, great as a layer beneath a shell for winter when it's cold. I prefer the older inner pocket with the horizontal zipper to the newer one with the vertical zipper.

March 19, 2021

Light weight, very warm, easy to carry

For such a light weight jacket, its remarkably warm. Bonus, it folds up into a small pouch for an easy fit in your backpack. Will always own this jacket.

March 14, 2021

Season After Season, My Go-To Piece

I have owned this jacked for more years than I know. At least 5, made as many as 10. It is a go-to piece for every use in Vermont. First, I wear in the house on cold winter nights ...and we get a lot of those in the mountains. I wear it out in fields doing work, out walking the dogs, hiking and bushwhacking, in the car, over layers of fleece and po... Read Morely and just about every place one can imagine. It is probably my favorite all around piece. It is light and versatile and warmer and more stuff able than synthetics. And it cleans up well. I toss it in the washer and then the dryer with tennis balls and voila, like new. Two years ago, I was shoveling snow against the house and didn't see a vent behind me. Rrrrip! Sent it to Patagonia and they cheerfully repaired it, not just the rip but a few worn places. I made a mistake earlier this winter, I traversed several acres of briars in a logged area and back again. The rips were big and gnarly and I sliced my jacket up in 4-5 places. I asked Patagonia what to do. They said, "Send it to us, we'll see what we can do." Like me, Patagonia likes to see stuff last as long as it can. Unfortunately, after looking at it, the folks in the repair department said it was "beyond repair". I think they were right. The time to repair it was more than creating a new jacket. But wonderful Patagonia wasn't done. They gave me a partial credit I could use toward a replacement. I ordered a replacement right away. Same great jacket, but I have to say the newer version feels a little more snug than my old jacket. This does happen at Patagonia. Same styles can change fit slightly over time. I still love the jacket, but maybe I will have to put the heavier fleeces on the outside. That would have been a good idea in the briar patch... Thank you Patagonia for my replacement credit and for all those years of service before and to come with the new jacket!

March 13, 2021

Lightweight but very warm

Comfortable fit, highly packable and very warm. Great product!

March 10, 2021

Super light and warm

Love this jacket as it is so light and very warm. I get a men's size so I can fit a sweatshirt underneath when I am outside coaching in the spring.

March 9, 2021

Versatile jacket. Super warm

Great jacket. Medium works well for slender frame.

March 7, 2021

2nd one for hubby

His old down sweater is 10 yrs old, been sent in twice for zipper replacements and is just starting to be a bit thin in all the high wear areas, leaks feathers and needed to be turned into the "don't care what I do in this" coat. New one is sweet!

March 6, 2021

Packable and warm

love how small the jacket packs down and the convenience of packing it into its own pocket. Very warm and very happy with my purchase. Highly recommend.

March 5, 2021

Lightweight Warmth

Light warmth, fits great, fire red colour is great

March 5, 2021

warm and comfortable

This jacket keeps me warm well below zero. It was a great purchase and I found mine on sale for a bargin

March 4, 2021

Patagonia at its best

Ive been waiting for this color to come back into stock and Love how warm it is. Perfection! Thank you Patagonia!

March 2, 2021

Quslity

This product feels a little bit warm in winter & comfortable.

March 2, 2021

Sleeves a bit too big

I wanted to love this jacket - don't hate it either. The sleeves, towards the bicep area, are way too big. Wish the sleeves were a bit more snug/tighter. (Or maybe I should start working out) Also, the collar does not stay up, other than it, I like/enjoy it. Fits perfect everywhere else. It's Patagonia, so I get compliments on it.

March 2, 2021

My favorite Jacket ever

I bought my First down sweater around 2005 and I just replaced it! for over a decade this was a jacket worn daily in the NC mountains, it saw action as a mid layer when snowboarding, saw tons of miles on local trails, functioned great as my outer layer going to and from class or work ( when in college and after while teacher for the same institutio... Read Moren) and even looked classy going out for diner and drinks! I sent my old one in for repair as the front zipper had given out and some of the down had gone missing after an unknown amount of adventures. My jacket was deemed unrepairable so I received a merchandise credit for about 1/3 the price of a new one. My first one was black, I went with fire red this time because I had never seen another human in that color! I own a ton of gear from Patagonia and I have not been let down yet, what a great company; I will always support Patagonia as you really get what you pay for.

March 2, 2021

Warm things come in small packages

And only is this jacket stylish really warm for such a lightweight piece.

March 2, 2021

Warm things come in small packages

And only is this jacket stylish really warm for such a lightweight piece.

March 1, 2021

Warm & comfortable

Husband loves this sweater/coat. Keeps his toasty warm & is not bulky. Thanks for having such great products.

March 1, 2021

Perfect fit!

Bought this for my husband's 60th and he says it is the best, most comfortable jacket he has ever owned. Says it keeps him warm no matter the temperature. Highly recommend it!

March 1, 2021

Nice but not as warm as expected

I was hoping this jacket would be warmer. I tend to run warm, even in cold weather and I find this jacket doesn't provide much insulation. I have to double up with another jacket when temps dip below 35 degrees F.

March 1, 2021

Great Choice

My Down's Sweater Jacket came exactly as advertised and is exactly what I was looking for. It's lightweight, comfortable and warmer in cold weather than one might imagine. I checked out many other similar jackets and feel as if I definitely chose the right one for me.

March 1, 2021

Perfect jacket

Great light weight jacket that keeps you warm in sub freezing temps but not too warm when temps are in the 40s. Awesome jacket!

March 1, 2021

Warm

Perfect for cold mornings.

February 28, 2021

Great Jacket

Well made and good quality.

February 28, 2021

Just right

Just enough insulation for most activities below 32 F

February 27, 2021

Casual Dog walker

I wear it without layering. It keeps me warm. It fits nice and tight.

February 26, 2021

Incredibly Light & Surprisingly Warm

I totally love this jacket. I cannot get over how light it is and yet still very warm. Its so light, that you almost dont feel like youre wearing a jacket at all. The only feature I miss is that it lacks an inside vest pocket for my phone.

February 26, 2021

Bought for Son's Birthday

I've had a Patagonia Down Sweater for 4 years and it's held up incredibly well. All stitching is intact and the loft is like new. Happy to purchase one for my son.

February 26, 2021

Not for Chicago winters

Bought for my son, but it was too light and felt more like a windbreaker. Returned.

February 24, 2021

Warm In winter

Size not adequate in length but a little big in body

February 24, 2021

My Go To Jacket

This will be my second jacket as the first one has finally lost it's loft and feathers from years of daily use. The jacket is warm and very packable. It is an ideal daily wear garment that can withstand a great deal of abuse. I'm happy to support Patagucci for their environmental stances and low foot print. As a customer for over 25 years... Read More I will continue to support your products and pass on the ones as they are out grown by our kids.

February 24, 2021

Great Jacket

Love it Great Fit regardless of what the website trolls say . Tucks into itself for travel.

February 24, 2021

Nice layer under hard shell.

Product is doing its job. Great light weight layer under hard shell. Warmer than fleece.

February 24, 2021

Needs improvement

I wear this around the house simply to stay warm because I'm susceptible to the cold. Been -20F - 0F this month in Wisconsin, so I've also been wearing it underneath my jacket. Not very warm when you first put it on, my normal hoodie is warmer, however once you warmed up, the down sweater retains the heat soo much better because of the do... Read Morewn. Upon receiving I thought the insulation was a bit thin. I'm not comfortable wearing too many layers so i always wear a t-shirt underneath only. Pros= light weight, elastic cuffs, adjustable hem. Cons= insulation is a bit thin for my liking. the zipper/neck comes up too high when fully zipped, the zipper constantly rubs underneath my chin which is annoying, perhaps if you have a longer neck? Nothing to stop the down from migrating so far no issues though. The fabric is thin so I'll have to be careful. I buy patagonia because their size have always been spot on for me. Afterthought: I wish patagonia would also cater to the everyday wearer with tougher,thicker fabric for durability everyday use with the warmth of down.

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review and we are sorry you weren't fully satisfied with your purchase. The Down Sweater Jacket is one of our lighter weight insulation jackets. For more warmth while still maintaining that causal look, you could consider trying the [Bivy Down Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-bivy-down-jacket/28323.html?dwvar_28323_color=KPF) or The Jackson Glacier Jacket. You could also consider looking into some of our other warmer, more technical insulation pieces such as the Fitz Roy Down Hoody. Please note that all of our products are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee so if you aren't happy with this, you can return it and get something that works better for you.

February 23, 2021

Ideal insulation layer

I bought this to replace an older version of this jacket. Excellent warmth as a mid layer on cold days on the mountain or as an outer layer for walking the dog.

February 22, 2021

WARM

Fit is a little snug in the arm pits. I am 5'9 170 lbs. The sweater jacket is very warm, well made and the color matched the web site. The quality is top rated and up to Patagonia's high standards.

February 21, 2021

Great fit

Surprised that its so light yet so warm! Perfect fit, love it.

February 18, 2021

Warmer than expected

Bought this sweater when I moved to the midwest and needed something to keep me warm during the winter. Surprised that I didnt need to layer much with this sweater. In 0 degree weather I was kept warm with just a t-shirt as my base layer. Happy with my purchase.

February 14, 2021

Super Warm and Comfortable

I love this sweater. We are having a brutal winter and I put this on as a layer under my coat. Keeps me very warm. Also wear solo for short trips out. Extremely comfortable.

February 9, 2021

Nice jacket fits well looks good

Nice jacket fits well looks good.

February 9, 2021

Warmer than it looks, wish they offered a tall version

I bought this expecting to need more layers, but I've been walking, biking and cross country skiing with wind chills of 25-30 below, wearing a t-shirt and long sleeve shirt under. I wish they had a tall version of their sizes like other companies. The torso and sleeves are a bit short for a large.

February 7, 2021

Warm and Comfortable

Just what Id been looking for. This is warmer than my previous down jacket, fits great, stuffs neatly in the internal chest pocket. Well made, light-weight.

February 7, 2021

Very comfortable and warm

Very comfortable and warm jacket.

February 6, 2021

Light Weight

The warmest light weight product I have ever owned.

February 5, 2021

Warm and perfect fit

Warm and perfect fit

January 27, 2021

Toasty Down

I love this sweater, it's almost too warm, even on the coldest Ventura nights. It's the BEST after a quick dawn patrol before work. It also works great when layering for snowboarding. For me, it's the all around must have Down. Thanks again for a great timeless product Patagonia!

January 27, 2021

Runs small

The arms of the cost need more room. The xl I ordered first was a little snug through chest, but fit my arms like spandex. The xxl it. Little loose in the chest but fits around arms where I can wear a sweatshirt under it

January 26, 2021

Excellent light weight jacket

When the jacket arrived I was somewhat concerned by the light weight and "thinness" of the jacket, however having worn on a couple of coldest days I cannot believe how warm the jacket is. The jacket is slightly larger than anticipated, however I feel it is still a better option than if I had gone for a L, it still fits easily under an XL... Read More shell from another label.

January 26, 2021

Men’s Down Sweater

A great outdoor shell, keeps me warm without the need to fill up on layers beneath, and fits well. Can’t wait to take it out on longer trips when possible.

January 25, 2021

Super Light and Super Warm

This sweater jacket is by far the best on the market. It's super light and packable, but extremely warm. When worn with an outer shell it makes an unbeatable ski jacket combo. My only complaint is that the filling/feathers come out of each baffle where stitching intersects with main stitching that runs the length under each sleeve. This occur... Read Morerence has happened on two previous sweater jackets. The material needs to be upgraded or reinforced to prevent this from happening. Otherwise, this jacket is tremendous. I recently returned this jacket to Patagonia specifically for the problem mentioned above. The company and customer service were great and they sent me credit for the full amount of the purchase price and I immediately purchased another one. Thanks for making great products and having great customer support. Thanks, Al

January 24, 2021

very comfortable

Light weight, extremely warm and flexible

January 23, 2021

It works just fine

Perfect

January 22, 2021

Superb jacket

I just love it!

January 22, 2021

Very warm and light

Really like the jacket I purchased. Wonderful service at the store.

January 21, 2021

Very warm and light weight

I use this for golf in the early mornings. It is very warm but not bulky. I like the feel of the product.

January 21, 2021

Perfect Fit - even with a Nano Puff underneath!

Great fit. Warm and cozy without the bulk. Even if it gets too cold - no problem to layer a nano puff vest underneath. The fit and finish on this coat is built to last! I purchased this because I wear a lot of Patagonia and I know its a trusted brand in my clothing arsenal!

January 21, 2021

Perfect Fit - even with a Nano Puff underneath!

Great fit. Warm and cozy without the bulk. Even if it gets too cold - no problem to layer a nano puff vest underneath. The fit and finish on this coat is built to last! I purchased this because I wear a lot of Patagonia and I know its a trusted brand in my clothing arsenal!

January 20, 2021

Weird Stench

It is a very comfortable jacket. The downside, only a minute after you step outside the jacket develops the stench of a sweaty dog. Even returned it and got a new one, same thing happened.

Response from Patagonia
February 25, 2021

Thanks for your feedback. Down is a natural animal product and some people are more sensitive to the smell than others. We recommend checking out our [Men's Micro Puff® Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-micro-puff-jacket/84065.html) for similar styling in a synthetic insulation.

January 20, 2021

Great Sweater Jacket

This sweater jacket fit me perfectly. With a medium weight base layer, this garment kept me warm in temperatures as low as 40 degrees fahrenheit. My only criticism comes with the placement of the inside zip pocket. I use this pocket for my cell phone, ID etc. Its placement and depth make it hard to retrieve these items without unzipping the jacket ... Read Moreand having to reach into to a rather deep pocket. I would prefer to unzip this pocket from the outside and it not be so deep. Otherwise, a great jacket.

January 20, 2021

Go to light jacket for coastal climates

This is me go to keep on hand for whatever Mother Nature tosses at you. Perfect for coastal Southern California year round.

January 19, 2021

warm, light and comfort

Warm, light and comfort

January 15, 2021

Best Jacket Ever

I just bought my second of the same jacket after my first jacket started to show some wear. I still wear the older one for outdoor tasks where Im not so concerned about dirtying it. This is amazing versatile and long lasting. Love it so much

January 15, 2021

Comfy Coat

I really like the nano puff series of jackets, and this is a similar lightness with lots of added warmth. Ive been doing long walks to stay active during an ankle injury and this jacket has kept me super comfortable from 5-35 degree days this winter.

January 13, 2021

Great jacket

This is my husbands third jacket in 12 years. He takes terrible care of them or they would last longer!!! This model is a similar color to his original one- goldish-yellow. Very cool!

January 12, 2021

Surprisingly warm and light.

My husband absolutely loves the jacket! Fits true to size, great for California winter weather. The color looks a bit darker on the screen but I thought to myself lets give it a try, it was on sale at such a good price. The color is actually a bit lighter in person which works perfectly.

January 9, 2021

Great fit!

Fits perfectly! Length just right for @5 ft. 3 inches. Moderate warmth. Will layer with down vest for colder weather.

January 9, 2021

This jacket does it all

This jacket does it all. Multifunctional. Work or play. Thank you, Patagonia! Through the years, something I can always count on. A rarity...

January 9, 2021

Perfect Winter Jacket

Bought this jacket for my husband. He loves it super warm without the bulk.

January 8, 2021

Retro cool

Love this jacket; so warm and so light at the same time. Love Patagonia's environmental mission too!

January 7, 2021

Looks amazing on my son.

This was a gift for my son. He wasnt able to find a coat he liked in 4 years. We he sent me the photo of this sweater I immediately knew that that was his coat. The color, the stripe, the inside zipper and the added value of superior function. What more could a mom want for her 27 year-old boy? You guys nailed it. Hes happy, Im happy, you sold a co... Read Moreat ... Thank you. :)

January 6, 2021

Really comfy, but tears easily

I love the look, and feel of it. However, if you're out in the brush, or out on the trail, it will puncture pretty easily. Mine got two holes in one week at Arches. All things aside, I would order another.

Response from Patagonia
February 11, 2021

Thanks for the feedback. The Down Sweater is meant as a lightweight midlayer and does have delicate fabric. We do offer free [repairs](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for customers in the US.

January 6, 2021

Just what I needed.

Fits well and keeps me warm during outdoor activities.

January 3, 2021

Love the retro styling and color way

Im 59ish with a stocky, muscular build. I bought the green and tan one and this jacket fits me great through the arms, chest and waist. Collar zips all the way up to protect your neck from the winter chill. Great piece to add to my rotation.

January 3, 2021

Comfortable and warm

Great coat, I love it.

January 3, 2021

Awesome

Awesome jacket. Light, comfy and warm. Only thing Id change - vest pocket access on the outside rather than the inside of the jacket.

December 30, 2020

Great Jacket

This was a gift that was greatly appreciated

December 30, 2020

Great look ,and warm jacket.

This is the second Patagonia I purchased. Great fit, comfortable, true to size and can be dressed down or casual dress. The company is also great to work with. All good comments from me!

December 29, 2020

Great Jacket

I'm surprised how warm it is as I'm able to wear it in below zero temperatures with a regular shirt. It is also extremely lightweight, and would be great for traveling. Love the way it looks on me.

December 27, 2020

Comfortable

Very comfortable, and warm

December 26, 2020

Parka

Love this jacket. Color, cut and warm. Highly recommend

December 26, 2020

Just right

Every evening I try to go for a walk from my Los Angeles area home. My new Patagonia jacket is perfect for the 50° nights

December 26, 2020

Retro

love the retro color way

December 25, 2020

Lightweight but very warm!

I bought this for my husband. My son's and I both have the down sweater jacket and love it. It's lightweight, very warm and feels like you are wearing a coat of "air." Great sweater / jacket.

December 18, 2020

BF Loves it!

Bought for my bf. He promptly stopped wearing his other jackets and now this is his go-to. It's light, warm, and I think the color looks really good on him (the dark blue)!

December 16, 2020

Down sweater

One word... PERFECT. Awesome color. Getting lots of compliments. And you couldnt beat the price. $99 Hello??

December 16, 2020

Nice jacket

This is a good jacket nice fit and super warm this is actually my second one.

December 16, 2020

Athletic fit?

Purchased Lg, exchanged for Md. Lg too big in shoulders, Md too small in waist. I'd describe as slim fit or athletic fit. I'm 5' 91/2", 180lb BMI 26.2 so not fat, but a little pot.

December 14, 2020

Light and warm

Just moved across state from rainy winters to snowy. This is the perfect purchase. Works for a wide range of temperatures is super light and makes going about daily activities super easy. Thanks Patagonia

December 14, 2020

Great

I really like the jacket/coat. I would recommend the coat to everyone.

December 13, 2020

I miss the Early version!

I am still getting used to this replacement for the earlier down version of this ultra light "down" jacket. I miss the draw string pull at the bottom and the fit of the XL appears to be slightly more generous than I remember. In addition, I prefer the separate little stuff sack for traveling. I trust and appreciate all Patagonia products,... Read More especially your customer services.

December 9, 2020

Firefighter RED

I love my new Jacket - warm and looks Awesome

December 8, 2020

So light and warm

The Patagonia men's down sweater is the best for warmth without bulk and weight. Love the style too! I've been buying my son these for 9 years as well as the rest of the family. One time my son broke the zipper and Patagonia fixed it and sent it back for free . Love this company's quality!

December 7, 2020

Just right

Just right for lightness and warmth. A go to jacket for much of the year.

December 6, 2020

Warm without being bulky

Light weight, can be worn over just about anything. Very warm, cuts wind chill but also breathes. I got the charcoal grey color and prefer it to the more severe black. This is my second Patagonia. Last one was left over a candle that burned a hole through it. True to their name Patagonia replaced it since they couldnt repair it. Now all of my kids ... Read Morehave Patagonia coats too. Its all we will buy. Awesome company with amazing customer service.

December 5, 2020

Its warm upto 30F, great jacket. Love it

Super light jacket and real warm. Must have for any travel or hiking trips.

December 5, 2020

Perfect fit!

I bought for my son who is 54 135lbs. Its always hard to find something that fits just right. This jacket was it!! Yay!! The length of arms and waist was perfect. He couldnt be any happier! Thanks Patagonia for always doing it right!! ️️️️️️️️️️

December 5, 2020

Very warm

Perfect fit, excellent zipper and a perfect cold weather golf wear. Love it!

December 3, 2020

Great jacket

Awesome jacket

December 2, 2020

Light weight yet warm

This is a very light weight flexible jacket. Its been perfect for mid 30s breezy conditions. The color is more on the blue side which I like. I would highly recommend.

November 30, 2020

All Around Jacket

I love this jacket for casual running to the store or shoveling the driveway. On sunny dry days I've skied in it and used it as a layer on really cold ski days. They don't use highly durable zippers on these so mine broke and had to get replaced at dry cleaners.

November 24, 2020

Say it isnt so!

I received this jacket as a replacement for a well loved and worn down sweater circa 2012. The old one has traveled around the world with me and is my go to winter piece here in New England. Imagine my surprise when I finally needed to wear the new one this fall only to find out that Patagonia has changed the fit of this classic. Instead of a techn... Read Moreical piece that is designed to be worn outdoors with layers it is now a fashion piece. I literally felt like my new one was not the same size as my old one. From tight sleeves, tight arms and super tight around the chest it just doesnt fit the same. The fit on the new one is nothing other than slim fit and should be labeled accordingly. I am incredibly disappointed in this change and the fact that the brand is representing this piece as regular fit as that is clearly not factual.

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2020

We are incredibly sorry to hear about the fit issues on this jacket. You are more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the item back to us under warranty if you'd like! We want all of our customers to be 100% satisfied with their items and we would be more than happy to email a sizing chart for items before purchase, that way you have a better idea of what the fit will be like before making your purchase.

November 22, 2020

Needs a slim version

I really really want this to fit but Ive tried the nano puff and now this down sweater and they all fit like a square box. If I size down to a medium the torso and sleeves are way too short. Seriously, if you dont have a world class beer belly this will hang off you. Warmth and quality is incredible which makes me wish all the more it fit.

November 21, 2020

My go to piece

I bought this little number in 2007. I have abused this garment! I trashed the zipper some years ago, then decided to turn it into a work coat. It looks the part. I recently sent it in for some work and Patagonia patched some holes replaced the zipper and cleaned it....no charge. I was amazed. What a value. Thanks, Thomas

November 20, 2020

So Warm

Im going to really miss this jacket. When I lived in Eastern WA (where it gets relatively cold), I wore this basically every day in the winter. Just a long sleeved shirt or light sweater underneath on super cold days. This jacket is so much less bulky compared to other warm down jackets. But when I needed a replacement living in Seattle, I opted fo... Read Morer the Nano Air because it doesnt get as cold here, and also Ive tended to run warmer since weve had a baby (and are now always carrying around a baby plus gear). However, I know when we go up to the mountains or back to visit Eastern WA, the Nano Air isnt going to be warm enough. Maybe Ill save up for the hooded down sweater in the future.

November 18, 2020

Terrific

My first one was purchased in 2007. It's still great, though I have "girthed up." Will be sending it to the "worn wear" folks. Very warm, with little bulk. If you have a micro fleece jacket, cotton flannel shirt, or sweater underneath, it is much warmer than others seem to think. Top notch product!

November 18, 2020

Super warm

Love everything about it: color fit style warmth. Great gift from great friends

November 17, 2020

Warm enough for 30s F with just a t-shirt underneath

Just walked my dog in 35 degree weather with only a t-shirt underneath and I was warm. I love the slim fit - does not look bulky at all compared to my other winter jackets. I strength train so my arms and shoulders are a little larger than normal for people my size, making the sleeves a bit tight around the armpit area. Patagonia, if you could in... Read Morecrease the circumference of the arm holes, this jacket would feel perfect - it already looks perfect. Keep up the good work!

November 9, 2020

I love it

I love it

November 9, 2020

Warm, comfy, perfect in everyway

Warm, comfy, perfect in everyway

November 8, 2020

Warm..Super light weight

Perfect fit and comfortable

November 3, 2020

Expectations Met

Met all my expectations for : fit , ease of movement & warmth .

November 2, 2020

Perfect Performance

Super warm piece of tech gear on my slightly overcast 5 mile walk today in Boston (Nov 2,2020) with temps at 39 degrees and the wind blowing pretty strong the down sweater performed as described. The wind block technology was outstanding. I had on underneath a short sleeve poly T-shirt and a fleece vest. Outstanding piece of gear!

November 2, 2020

Birthday gift

I ordered the men's down sweater jacket for my husband's birthday. He loves it. The fit and color are exactly what he wanted. He likes the quality feel of Patagonia products and supports the environmental aspects built into your products. Thank you Patagonia.

October 23, 2020

Meh.. could be better especially for the price

Engineering Flaw - if you tighten and use the hem string cinch cord, over time it will tear through the nylon shell as there is no padding or reinforcement over the cord which acts as an abrasive while its tightened to block drafts from coming through the bottom hem of the garment. Mine tore around the bottom hem area, however after reciting Panto... Read Moregonias lifetime guaranteed against defects, REI (authorized retailer) issued me a store credit. Comfy sweater jacket though , love how it stuffs into its pocket and theres a carabiner loop to attach it to just about anything. DWR coating does not last too long and once it gets soaked it will smell like a wet goose when dry, I washed in a natural garment wash for wool and delicate items, and the smell goes away. Sweater describes this as best, dont expect it to keep you warm outside in the freezing cold on its own. Layer it and its awesome, but then it an expensive layer. I used it as my driving jacket and for running in and out of the stores. For outdoor winter activities I use a Parka or layer this down sweater with a hoodie and a shell layer if theres freezing drizzle.

September 22, 2020

Super warm

Work well for fishing in cold days.

September 13, 2020

Mine Smelled Too

Got mine two weeks ago and like many others that have reviewed this jacket, in smelled like a wet dog with fishy undertones. I could smell it as soon as I opened the box. I hate mailing things let alone returning things so I washed it, and washed it, and washed it, etc...I washed the thing 6 times, did a partial run in the dryer on low heat for 30 ... Read Moremins and could still smell it. Washed it another two times, did a partial dry and could still smell it but it was fading. I let it air dry overnight outside under cover. I could still smell it in the morning so I washed it two more times and did the same half hour on low dry and could still faintly smell it so I hung it up again outside and left town for four days. When I came back it did not smell anymore. I had to work out all the areas where the down kind of balled up inside which worked surprisingly well. The large has good arm length that doesnt creep up the wrists when I extend my arms. Im 61 and got a 34 waist and can say that for me the girth of the jacket would house someone with a larger waist line than me. Im right around 190. The pictures show a model my height but skinnier wearing a medium. I didnt trust it as I didnt want any chance of the arms being too short. Maybe a medium would have worked. While its not a trim fit it works just fine for me.

September 12, 2020

The Perfect Jacket

Fits true to size, keeps me warm/dry and color is awesome in the red. Now I just need every color.

September 9, 2020

Absolutely adore this fabulous jacket!!

Just the right weight for 3/4 seasons. OMG...Terrific, Packable, Layering for travels!! So light weight, and no pilling!! Like a sweater, but better!! I own several different colors and highly recommend!

September 6, 2020

My go to coat

Its lightness, warmth,and packability make this my go to coat for late fall, winter,and early spring. Its nice looking as well.

September 6, 2020

Super style, fit, functionality

I love this jacket!

September 3, 2020

Best Jacket Ever

Fits perfectly and keeps me warm/dry. All around perfect jacket!

September 1, 2020

Perfect for all kinds of weather

Excellent product!! Thank you!!!

September 1, 2020

Comfy

This is my second Patagonia down sweater...I wore the first one out. It is light weight and pretty warm, but not wind or water proof. I love this garment and wear it all the time in the fall, winter and spring.

July 13, 2020

Warm, But Too Big

It is light-weight and pretty warm. But, it is too big fit. It is recommended to buy one-size smaller than what you wear t-shirt from Patagonia.

July 12, 2020

Warm, But Too Big

It is light-weight and pretty warm. But, it is too big fit. It is recommended to buy one-size smaller than what you wear t-shirt from Patagonia.

June 17, 2020

Fits like a square box

If you are Sponge Bob Square Pants, this jacket is for you. If, however, you're shaped like a normal human, skip this jacket. It fit like a square, short and wide, which is too bad bc it's the best color.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2020

Hi Timothy, we're sorry you're unhappy with the fit of Down Sweater Jacket. We'd be more than happy to help out with a return or exchange. You can initiate your return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

June 17, 2020

Super warm and confortable

I have a lot (also my family) of Patagonia jackets and this one is one of the best i have. Also the warranty for life of Patagonia is incredible, i think there is no brand in the world that has this kind of warranty.

June 17, 2020

Perfect weight

Jacket is perfect wait to wear around town, slim design and not bulky. Perfect weight for hiking, this jacket will keep you warm on chilly to cold days.

June 17, 2020

So far so good

I havent got to use it since its the summer but it fits like a glove is really light and seems to be super warm. Overall Im very happy for right now

June 17, 2020

Size

Xl a little snug - xxl a little loose. Other wise the sweater is great. Probably should loose a few pounds and wear the xl size.

June 17, 2020

Great fit and Warm Coat

This coat is a must have. The fit is great, especially for taller men. The only comment, the photo for the item on line appeared darker and richer. The actual cost is a bit more gray and muted. However, overall a wonderful cost that looks sharp for work and is great to wear on hikes.

June 17, 2020

Very classy jacket

I already have several Patagonia jackets, and the quality is superb. Not sure why its called a sweater, because its warmer than my other jackets. Its perfect for winter wear when I want the warmth and a bit of class.

June 17, 2020

Practical and Tasteful Go-to Jacket

Use in place of a sweater or sweatshirt on cool days and evenings. Always pack it when traveling.

June 13, 2020

Great, but make the fit a bit roomier like it was before

Love, love this jacket, it seems to be the one I choose all the time in cold weather. But I must agree with those who say the fit is getting too slender. C'mon, Patagonia, you are great but you have to listen. Make your mediums a bit more roomy in all categories. I can still wear this jacket happily, but now no longer can wear it with a useful... Read More insulation layer underneath.

April 20, 2020

My new favorite jacket!

Another great piece from Patagonia! I just purchased this and it's already my new favorite jacket. The quality, material and feeling of the jacket is excellent. The fit and cut is also excellent, it's not baggy at all. I'm 6'1" and 175 lbs and size Large is literally perfect. It's very warm, light and not too puffy/ bu... Read Morelky. I would highly recommend this jacket! 5/5*

March 9, 2020

Wow, what a colour

I had been looking at this on-line for a while hoping that a "reduction" would push me over the edge......and eventually it happened. On receipt, I realised the brightness of the outer, which was more of a shock to my wife than I. SO I will have to introduce it into the wardrobe wearable list slowly....but it's great to add this colo... Read Moreur to the blue and red and black and mid-blue already being used regularly.

March 7, 2020

Perfect Lite-Weight Sweater Jacket

Light, I normally wear an XL but they were oversized so I dropped into a large - perfect fit and still room enough. Weather's warmed up already so I might get one chance of spring chill to wear it before next season. From initial try-on was very happy to have this added to my kit, but I still think this piece needs a separate travel and pack s... Read Moretuff sack and inside pouches.

March 3, 2020

Double check your sizing

Quality and warmth to weight are excellent. Unfortunately, I'm a Smedium in Patagonia, so don't really get on with the sizing. I'm 5"11/80kg and the Medium is really quite baggy across the body and shoulders.

February 29, 2020

BOO HISS on the new slim fit!!

I bought this jacket four, maybe five years ago. It is probably my all time favorite Patagonia purchase. I love everything about it -- the quality, the weight and most importantly the FIT. And it's still going strong. In Feb 2020 I bought a second one in Peppergrass Green. Same size (M). The color did not disappoint. Unfortunately, the most im... Read Moreportant feature did; the fit is not the same. The new jacket is tighter in the shoulders, under the arms and around the chest. It was like being zipped up into a straw (a re-useable one, of course). Some people may be able to size up to a large but I was not -- the fit was too boxy, arm length too long. UGH, Patagonia, why did you mess with a good thing? So disappointed. I returned it.

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2020

Hi Barry! We're really sorry that you had to return this in the end. It is definitely disappointing not finding the new fits/designs as favorable as the previous ones. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Thanks for your review!

February 20, 2020

Great Sweater

I purchased this jacket for a recent skiing trip and loved both the quality and performance of the material. I ended up purchasing a size below my usual due to the slightly large fit and this worked out well. The jacket is amazingly light and warm as well as smart looking.

February 16, 2020

M’s Down sweater

Great coat, really keeps the draught out. keeps me warm, it does exactly as it says on the tin. Extremely light in weight too.

February 15, 2020

Great warmth, awesome fit.

Great warmth, awesome fit.

February 12, 2020

Great Jacket, but....

I bought this jacket in November and have been using it as my primary layer this winter with a sweater underneath. With moderate to heavy use already this garment is already showing signs of wear, small rips/tears, lost stitching on one of the arms, and most recently a broken zipper. Although I love this jacket and Patagonia I am deeply saddened by... Read More the state of my gear. Hopefully it will be able to be repaired.

Response from Patagonia
March 20, 2020

Hi Rebekah, we're so sorry to hear about the untimely wear of your Down Sweater Jacket. We'd be happy to return or exchange it for you under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin your warranty return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

February 11, 2020

Prompt delivery to our chalet

Prompt delivery to our chalet in the mountains... excellent product

February 8, 2020

Neck Area Turned Dark After Normal Wear

The neck area turned dark after normal/light wear. I tried use down detergent to wash and clean, but did not work. This doesn't happen to my other down jackets with similar material. Very disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2020

Hi Chong, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear the way the material around the neck stained. We'd suggest trying to hand wash it in warm water and then give it a tumble dry. If that doesn't help, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it for warranty review!

February 7, 2020

Decent down Sweater

Have an older model from ~3 years back but still good. It's a SWEATER meaning that it's lightweight so it's warm enough ~40-50F but when it reaches down freezing ~32F, wear it underneath a True Down garment like a jacket/coat. For warmer weather, the sweater can/is used as a lightweight jacket. Just remember the 'lightweight&#x2... Read More7; part! It does block out most of the wind and is relatively warm depending on the temperature. The shoulder areas are a bit tight but is roomy enough for you to wear a long sleeve base layer and a light-mid weight fleece underweath. It does get dirty just from wear especially if you have a bright colored version as mine is red. Wash on delicate cycle with warm water and dry low or fluff with a few balls to puff it back up. May have to fluff it a bit. If you don't have a down wash, using Woolite is fine but just use a little, even with some baking soda. Buy it when it's on sale as it's pricey otherwise.

January 28, 2020

Light. Warm. Resistant

Light. Warm. Resistant

January 28, 2020

Excellent jacket: light & warm!

Bought the L size while I am 92 kg-185 cm. Perfect fit. Tried on the XL in a store and that was really too large. Despite being very lightweight this jacket is warm and can be worn without a sweater for temps around 5-10 Celsius. A bit too fragile for heavy activities, like skiing, climbing, … Excellent quality, good looking fit. Carbon is a nice d... Read Moreark green color. I recommend it fully! Luc

January 27, 2020

Usage

I was expecting that it would be warmer and wind cutter

January 27, 2020

Perfect

Great coat! Went to The Manchester shop first to try on for size and the staff were absolutely brilliant! First class customer service and helped with choice, sizing and colour and then referred us to the website as didn’t have stock. Ordered easily and arrived swiftly. Lightweight and love the colour! Thanks

January 17, 2020

Go to jacket

Perfect for Spring and Fall seasons

January 16, 2020

👍

👍

January 7, 2020

Favourite product!

Light weight and very warm

January 5, 2020

Light and warm

Excellent light weight jacket, which also provides great warmth. Easy to compress for packing.

January 4, 2020

Perfect Jacket

I have a HARD to shop for dad, who is very particular about cuts and fabrics and breathability etc. He LOVES this jacket, and said it protected him perfectly from the wind on a walk in the neighborhood. He also said it’s the perfect amount of warmth on a Brisk California winter day. I would highly recommend.

January 4, 2020

Perfect for our MT fall/winter.

Perfect for our MT fall/winter. If I layer with MWT Capilene and a sweater, it's comfortable down to single digits. Then it's time for the 10 year old Fitzroy.

January 3, 2020

Great

Light and warm, great to wear or have in the backpack just in case...

January 3, 2020

Awesome down sweater

Finally replaced my old, repaired many times down sweater. The new sweater is awesome except for the loss of the hook loop. It is "replaced" with the size label loop that does not work well with fatter hooks or branches. Other than that, a great product.

January 2, 2020

Comfortable, Stylish, Lighweight and perfect for Layering

Very pleased with my purchase of this Down Sweater. It came in the mail very quickly, and just as described on the site. Definitely worth the price tag! Thanks!

January 1, 2020

excellent

excellent

December 31, 2019

Replacement Sweater

After about a year, the zipper broke. I contacted customer service and they were great! They walked me through my options and sent me a prepaid shipping label. I sent in the jacket and received a gift card for the amount to purchase a new one from the website. I received my new one and love it! The whole process was great and my issue was resolved.... Read More Thanks!

December 31, 2019

great color and fit

great color and fit

December 31, 2019

Light & exceptionally very warm!!

Light & exceptionally very warm!!

December 31, 2019

fine design with one exception

Love this cotton pullover. Wondering why the pocket won't accommodate a cell phone.

December 31, 2019

Lightweight, warm jacket

Always wanted a down jacket, did a ton of research and this one performed well in the reviews. Couldn’t be happier. Now if the weather would just turn cold enough to wear it more often, I’d be set

December 31, 2019

Great experience

I got a jacket for my husband for Christmas. I could not find the package when it was delivered so i panicked and contacted patagonias customer service. They immediately understood and send me another one one day delivery.. Im so grateful you saved my Christmas! My husband loved the jacket sooo much

December 30, 2019

Lightweight wind resistant and easy to wear

My son is 6’3 x 265lbs and plays O Line in college. The XXL fit well with a tee underneath and room to wear with a thicker layer. This is his 3rd down sweater as he’s grown over the years. This is a go to for him.

December 29, 2019

Perfect weight.

Perfect weight.

December 29, 2019

M's down sweater

Amazing customer service! Quick delivery. LOVE the jacket. I wish a more obvious gift note was sent instead of it hidden inconspicuously on the purchase slip

December 29, 2019

Excellent jacket

Warm, durable, lightweight, and a great fit! 10/10 would recommend.

December 29, 2019

Down jacket

Perfect coat, not too heavy... bought another color soon after bc I had loved it so much.

December 27, 2019

PATAGONIA IS SIMPLY THE BEST COMPANY

It was really funny that out of the 20 family members that came to Christmas 16 had on the Patagonia Down Sweater! I know readers of this review will think Patagonia put up this review, and I can assure you that they DID NOT!! Patagonia's customer service, their stance on the environment, the quality of their products, etc. - ALL COMBINED, mak... Read Moree Patagonia a company I truly value and patronize. When I see someone wearing a Patagonia Down jacket, and I am wearing mine - it's uncanny how often we end up telling each other that we love our coats and how much we LOVE the company! Happy New Year to all!

December 27, 2019

amazing! the jacket is super

amazing! the jacket is super soft and extremely warm. it is wind resistant and water proof to a certain extent.

December 26, 2019

Great product

This is one of the best items I’ve purchased. Light, warm and beautiful design!

December 26, 2019

Best Christmas Present

I bought this in Carbon for my boyfriend for Christmas and he absolutely loved it! I'm so happy with the quality of the jacket and want to steal it from him!

December 26, 2019

Very light, very warm and very cool

I have several Patagonia outer garments. Some are a bit light others are two warm for moderately cold days. The mens down sweater jacket, is perfect for days down to 20F, perhaps lower, Haven't tried at lower temps, yet.

December 26, 2019

Great product

Fantastic jacket, light weight, really warm, easy to pack, folds into its pocket. Just perfect

December 23, 2019

Good casual jacket, maybe not idea for

I purchased this to be work casually, while fishing, and under my shell while skiing. Casually it's a solid jacket, though I feel that it doesn't have as much down in it as others I've seen in stores. I wore it while skiing recently and was surprised at how much I sweat in it. It doesn't breathe like I hoped it would and the ar... Read Morempits were very sweaty after just a couple of runs. I have used the down sweater vest in the past, which doesn't have the same issues, so I will likely go back to that as my skiing setup. Good looking jacket, fits well, but just may not be right for the activities I had planned to use it for.

December 23, 2019

Awesome

As always Patagonia never disappoints!

December 22, 2019

I have three down sweaters,

I have three down sweaters, all mens, one with a hood. My husband has two of them. We love all of them. When my daughter cam from California to NOrth Carolina for a visit and started to wear one of her Dad’s I decided to get one each for her and her husband. Very excited to see them open this Christmas gift. Five star products.

December 22, 2019

Very Cool

I finally got around to making the purchase for the down sweater. I'm glad I did. It was worth the wait. The jacket fits great and it's really comfortable. Will be making another purchase soon. Great brand.

December 21, 2019

excellent product

excellent product

December 21, 2019

Excellent quality and fit

I am 5’11” 180 lbs got the medium. The fit is how I like it. It is snug but no movement restriction. Not too much room to layer. Excellent quality and really warm for its weight.

December 20, 2019

Latest model smells like a wet dog even if never wet

The latest model of the down sweater smells like a wet dog. I don't know if it's recycled down or what, but none of my prior Patagonia down products smell like this. I returned it and ordered the same sweater by Patagonia but got it through REI. Same smell. I also tried washing and drying it. Same smell.

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2020

Daniel, we're sorry to hear this Down Sweater didn't work for you. The fabric is recycled, but the insulation is 800-fill-power Advanced Global Traceable Down. We're glad you were able to return it, but don't hesitate to [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) if you ever want help to [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) future orders. Also, be sure to check out our [Product Care](https://is.gd/u0SeG0) page!

December 20, 2019

Super

Exactly what I wanted. Fit, color and comfort are just right.

December 19, 2019

Fluffy, packable, warm

Got this jacket because my NanoPuff wasn't quite warm enough for winters in my midwestern town. the Down Sweater is remarkably warm, while not being constricting or heavy. Big fan.

December 19, 2019

A Good Buy

A fine product, indeed.

December 19, 2019

In NYC feeling warm and toasty

I love my Patagonia, it’s warm, great when putting inside my backpack and I love my color~ like wine color.

December 17, 2019

Love it!

Not too bulky but toasty warm to wear for everyday life on most days in eastern WA state...the orange w/ purple lining is just the thing to brighten grey winter days. Bought my husband one for Xmas!

December 17, 2019

Really nice jacket. Super light,

Really nice jacket. Super light, warm and comfortable. Would like to have an extra pocket (external chest would be nice).

December 17, 2019

Perfect for NoCal

Perfect for NoCal

December 17, 2019

Best... Jacket... EVER!

Warm, comfy and overall a damn good jacket ever bought. I ordered X-Large and it is a wee bit tight, so that is the only blip for it. Overall.... WOW!

December 17, 2019

Nice coat!

Nice coat! very warm to be so light weight.

December 17, 2019

So Warm!!

I have the Nano Puff, which I seem to live in most of the year, but wanted a warmer jacket and this is perfect! I’m 6’0” and about 185 and got the Large. Sleeve length is perfect but it seems a tad big and definitely puffy! But the Medium I tried on at stores were way to tight with layers underneath...Very Happy with my purchase!!!

December 15, 2019

Best jacket ever!

My son loves this jacket. Super versatile and great weight. Especially for Texas!!

December 15, 2019

Ms Down Sweater

Good fit and great for a variety of uses

December 14, 2019

Great color. Very comfortable. Runs

Great color. Very comfortable. Runs a bit small since I'm a medium in some jackets but large fit me great. I'm 6'0" 205 lbs

December 14, 2019

Almost Perfect, but hand pockets have Fatal flaw

This jacket is fantastic in so many ways. The warmth and fit are covered in many of the other positive reviews, so I'll focus on the one fatal flaw here: the hand pockets. Unless you zip the hand pockets shut, everything (e.g., gloves and hats) will silently slip out, and you'll be forever buying new hats and gloves - that you had tried t... Read Moreo store in the pockets! Perhaps, if Patagonial were to angle the pockets, things would not slip out... I leave that for Patagonia to solve. Meanwhile, when you're looking at the price of this jacket, factor in replacing a pair of gloves or hat (perhaps many!)

December 13, 2019

Good~~~~

Very light and warm And fit is good

December 13, 2019

Perfect

Beautiful color blue that made his blue eyes pop! Warm yet light weight. He's 75 years old, but you'd never know it in his new Patagonia Down Sweater!

December 12, 2019

Loved how fast it was

Loved how fast it was delivered.

December 11, 2019

Warmth without bulk

Nice protection from wind, great warmth without being bulky, interior chest pocket for storing my reading or sun glasses.

December 9, 2019

sweater jacket

Excellent product

December 8, 2019

Great product!

Great product!

December 8, 2019

Great and packable, does not last long

I purchased this jacket in March of 2018. It's my go to packable jacket for trips of any kind. It's been great. Unfortunately, over the course of these 20 months it's developed a series of holes along the bottom seam. I count ten right now. I don't expect to replace a jacket every two years.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2019

Hi Jonathan. We're sorry to hear you're having durability issues with this jacket. Please feel free to either send it in to us for a [free repair or a warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 8, 2019

XL fit through to size

XL fit through to size regular fit

December 3, 2019

Smell

My first down sweater is still a favorite. Probably 5 years old. I bought a black one last month. It has a smell like a wet dog. I am trying to air it out but so far no luck. Great product but I won’t enjoy smelling like a dog if it doesn’t change.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi Larod, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the smell your experiencing with your down jacket. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 3, 2019

My Favorite Coat

Love this coat. Great for everyday, great for travel.

December 2, 2019

Got this as part of

Got this as part of a credit exchange. Looks nice, good layer under a parka/shell

December 2, 2019

Perfect fit and warmth.

This is my second down sweater. I'm 6'5" and 200 lbs and the size large fits perfect. I live in North Idaho were the temps get very cold and the jacket is perfect around town and I use it for layering when skiing.

December 1, 2019

Buy it!

I have owned this jacket for many, many years. It went with me around the world, up mountains, and beside lakes. It fits great, and packs right into your pack. It was my every day jacket as well as my adventure jacket. Through every tear, Patagonia fixed it. They always made sure it was ready for my next adventure, which should be enough of a selli... Read Moreng point. Not long ago, I was in an accident and lost the jacket that has traveled the world with me for the last 8 years (not my choice, cause like I said...accident). Despite it all, my first purchase was another down sweater jacket, because I knew I had more adventures ahead of me. Make the same choice.

November 29, 2019

Great customer service

Great customer service

November 29, 2019

Ms Down Sweater

Unbelievable. Extremely lightweight and surprisingly warm. The fit feels tailored as well! Couldn’t be better. Still waiting on the fleece.

November 27, 2019

Love it

Love it

November 27, 2019

Love the light weight of

Love the light weight of it

November 26, 2019

Great Jacket. Warm and Light

Overall great . Warm for the weight, great wind resistance and DWR. Misses 4 stars due to the sizing. Been wearing Patagonia for longer than I remember . I'm 6'1" 180 33" waist and historically dead on large, also in other brands. In Patagonia lately Larges are too big but Medium way too small.. This jacket fits in the shoulder... Read Mores but a lot of extra material around the waist.

November 26, 2019

Down Sweater

Great layer, light, warm. Material seems very thin and subject to tearing. Better be careful as I don't want to ruin this nice "sweater".

November 25, 2019

Old&Cold

Excellent! My second one

November 25, 2019

Comfortable, but not good quality

Several of the threads are already unraveled.

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2019

Hi James! Thanks for your feedback on this item. We're sorry to hear some of the seams are unraveling - I went ahead and reached out privately to follow up on this.

November 22, 2019

Excellent

Excellent

November 22, 2019

Great Jacket

Very light, nice mobility, and warm.

November 22, 2019

Love it

Perfect!!

November 21, 2019

As good as the reviewers say

Perfect fit, great color and very warm. I love where it can go from 30 to 0 in a few hours this is the perfect addition to my way of dealing with changing weather. Quality is worth paying for

November 21, 2019

Oxide Red Down Jacket

It's lightweight and well crafted. Very fashionable yet functional for winter.

November 21, 2019

Loved it until durability failed

I loved the look, comfort, and style this jacket provided, however, it didn't last. I purchased one around 10/2018 and I noticed 2 holes in the upper-back region where some feathers were falling out around 8/2019. I'm fairly careful with my garments and assume the material was just non-durable. I didn't wear it during the summer so I... Read More got about 5 months of wear out of it. I love my other Patagonia jackets, but this one didn't last!

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

Hi Doug, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear about those holes developing after such little use. You're, of course, welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the jacket under warranty. We'll reach out to you directly with further assistance!

November 16, 2019

Seriously 2XL

Sizing runs small at Patagonia, athletes we are all not, if you’re going to offer smallIsh sizing maybe offer a 3x, I am by no means a really big guy.

November 15, 2019

Most comfortable jacket (Sweater) I've owned

This is my second M'S DOWN SWEATER. I had my first one for 3 years, and lost it. It was so light and comfortable I had to get another one. It's great for spring and fall weather when the weather is above freezing. I sometimes wear a sweatshirt underneath on colder days and it is very warm. I would recommend it to anyone as an everyday cas... Read Moreual jacket.

November 14, 2019

Compact warmth

As temperatures dipped into the low 20s, this down "sweater" performed beautifully both as an outer jacket for the work commute and as an inner layer for a night's photographing of a football game.

November 13, 2019

Warm

Good loft from the fill. Fit seems to be consistent with other Patagonia XL insulated jackets. So far so good, please with purchase.

November 12, 2019

My favorite color

I get at least one down sweater every year. This year’s was lime green. Perfectlybwarm and light weight.

November 11, 2019

Exceptionally warm!

So much warmer than the Uniqlo down jacket that I've been wearing for the past few years but it packs up just as small for travel. Obviously pricier than Uniqlo, but worth the investment because it's so warm and of excellent quality. Planning to purchase for other members of our family.

November 11, 2019

Exactly as expected

Exactly as expected

November 10, 2019

Seems like a good jacket

Seems like a good jacket but the shell got a hole from a park bench within the first weeks of wear.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2019

Hi Jeff, it's a bummer when this happens! The outer fabric of the Down Sweater is very delicate. Please feel free to send it in to us for a [free repair](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyOWAQ/repairs).

November 8, 2019

Warm and cozy

Warm and cozy

November 7, 2019

Satisfied

Much better fit the second time around. I am very pleased with the quality of service provided by Patagonia overall.

November 4, 2019

Men’s down sweater

Great fit, I’m 6’ 5”, XL is perfect, design is great, not too puffy just the right amount of insulation for winter fishing and hiking, I don’t overheat during activities!

November 3, 2019

Excellent look and quality

Excellent look and quality

November 3, 2019

Excellent - Just As Expected

This is a warm versatile jacket that is well made and can be used as a standalone jacket or layered with an outer jacket. I am 5-11, 185 lbs, and ordered a large which fits well. I’ve tried other brands but always seem to come back to Patagonia for the long run.

November 2, 2019

Great jacket

Lightweight and packs well in a bag. This jacket is my new goto for this winter.

November 2, 2019

Nice

Nice

November 1, 2019

Awesome Jacket

Plenty warm, packs down nice and small, and fits great! All I could ask for!

October 31, 2019

Perfect for cold weather. Like

Perfect for cold weather. Like the look and the colors! Like also the high collar

October 29, 2019

Loved it

Loved it

October 28, 2019

Great on the mountain or on the drive

This is a perfect layer on a cold day or a standalone on a little warmer day. I love it because it is so light and comfortable you don’t even realize its on when you get in that cold car for the drive to the mountain.

October 28, 2019

My wife told me so...

She has been telling me for years to pickup one of these down sweaters and I should have. I have denied myself of an almost perfect everyday light jacket that is warm, looks good, and fits perfectly. I am now looking at a closet full of "other" jackets and wondering what needs to go.

October 21, 2019

Mens Down Feather Sweater

I love the jacket, it is exactly what I wanted. I saw the advertised model wearing the jacket was 6 feet tall and was wearing a medium, which really put the size into perspective. I am 5'8" and the jacket fits me exactly how I wanted; u to my wrists on the sleeves and just below the waist line.

October 17, 2019

The gold standard for puffies

Great fit + performance. I keep coming back for a reason.

October 13, 2019

Reliably perfect

As a ski instructor in the Midwest I need layers that I know will consistently perform. This is one of my go to layers that is comfortable, warm, and very high quality. I like the higher neck with the zipper pocket and the cuffed sleeves as both keep the cold from seeping in.

October 10, 2019

Down Odor

This is the second down sweater jacket I've received of this production run that had a faint smell of a "wet dog." I'm guessing that it must be the down and I question if it's a new source of down that is bringing this scent. Other than that, this is an everyday go-to when the temperature is suitable. Fantastic jacket and a... Read More staple to any wardrobe. Always a 5 star, except for this review and the odd smell the jacket has.

October 10, 2019

6’2 200 lbs - fits perfect

This is a semi tight fit if you have a lot of belly fat but if you’re just a dude who likes to workout / hike and be active but also likes beer and pizza, this should fit just fine. Packs down relatively small for how warm of a jacket it is. I have a 35” waist and it’s perfect on the waist

September 21, 2019

Winter weight

Perfect for whether between 30-50 degrees. Dry desert winter weather is perfect.

September 11, 2019

Much Very Good

Not cold enough in Texas at the beginning of September to use my down jacket. But I can say it fits and looks great.

September 1, 2019

Best jacket ever

I had to retire my last one after 10 years of wear. Bought a different brand last year and it just didn’t work.

August 19, 2019

Great quality

I purchased this coat because of the quality of the materials Patagonia uses. I love that this company makes material choices that support the environment.

August 16, 2019

paipobill

at 185 pound, 35" waist, size 42 reg sports jacket, 5'9" I looked like a stuffed sausage in the size medium down sweater.

August 10, 2019

Use ability

I love this jacket! I have been able to take it on so many adventures due to how compact it can be after rolling it up. It is also warm and stylish!

May 25, 2019

Poor quality, disappointing

This was my second Patagonia down jacket I purchased. The first jacket lasted over four years. However, this jacket could not even hold up for one season. The shell is now made from a thinner material that wears down easily. The elbows were worn out after several months and I was shedding down wherever I went. Disappointing to see my favorite jacke... Read Moret is no longer made to the same high standards as before. Expensive jacket to only last two months.

Response from Patagonia
June 11, 2019

We're really sorry your Down Sweater didn't hold up. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us under warranty and reach out to our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you have any questions.

May 12, 2019

Excellent

Love this versatile sweater. It fits great and is suitable for a variety of weather conditions.

May 10, 2019

love love love

perfect weight as we wait for winter to finally leave and spring to arrive!

May 8, 2019

Great Updates on Already Great Product

Fit is more snug than previous models. This should be a staple item in everyone's closet. You can wear it in a wide range of temperatures.

May 8, 2019

Excellent fit and function, but not super durable

Great warmth, not very durable I’ve had this jacket for about two and a half years. I’ve worn it significantly while backpacking, skiing, hiking, and at work (I work for the US Forest Service) in a variety of conditions. It is incredibly warm and comfortable and packs up to an easily packable size (I call it my “oh s**t” jacket because it serves as... Read More my ace in the hole along with a wool beanie that I can throw on at the top of an accent in nasty weather). It breathes surprisingly well and still seems to insulate to a fair degree more than other down products I’ve had when it gets wet. When I wear it under my torrentshell, it’s bomber. If I had to get it again, I would definitely get it with the hood however. My big complaint: it started to wear out super fast. From the beginning I was having to pull feathers back into the coat. it soon developed holes in the lower sleeves around the forearm and wrist, eventually extending halfway up the arm to the elbow. I’ve been on top of it with tenacious tape, but the problem still grows. The next area to develop holes was along the waist cuff, especially where the draw string bunches the fabric. I would gladly add a few ounces of weight for a more durable product. Unless you are just planning on wearing this jacket to go shopping at Whole Foods and attend mountain film festival showings, I would expect it to wear out fast.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2019

Thank you so much for letting us know about your sweater. We do our best to make sure our products last a lifetime and our customers are satisfied, please go ahead and [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that in as a warranty return.

May 8, 2019

Zippers

The zippers are upside down. I know people whom refuse to buy any pants or jacket with pocket zippers that open down. I don’t like them but got a jacket anyway

May 8, 2019

PATAGUCCI

The jacket is perfect and does it's job. Keeps me warm when I need some extra layers and quality is great. No complaints here!

May 8, 2019

Compact. Warm. Packable. Perfect

The color is vibrant and bright. I love the pop of the orange zipper and inside. Aside from the aesthetics, the jacket itself proves it's functionality in that it eliminates the need for extra clothes. It's warm enough to hold one over in the cool mornings at camp, yet packs small enough and light enough to put it away after starting the ... Read Morehike. The only 'complaint' is the random feather that comes out from time to time. But this comes with the territory when wearing down.

May 8, 2019

Love this coat

This is the second down lightweight jacket we’ve bought from Patagonia. Th baffles are bigger so the jacket feels heavier than the initial style.

May 8, 2019

Love my men’s down sweater

I’ve wanted one for a while to fill the gap between too cold for nano and full on winter coat. Although it may handle winter in the U.P. of Michigan just fine if my use while waiting for spring is any indication. It’s light. It’s warm. I get compliments on the color, I’m 6’4” and there is plenty of sleeve length in the large for me and length in th... Read Moree torso so no drafts. I’m betting I’ll get lots of use this fall and winter.

May 8, 2019

Collar is still an issue...

I love the jacket, but the collar is still an issue: the zipper does not go fully up the length of the jacket, and stops about 2-3 inches short of the top. This is fine as it's more hassle to send the jacket back, which is otherwise superb. I had sent a previous Patagonia jacket back for the same reason though, so it may be a trend...

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2019

Sorry to hear that the collar on this jacket has been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) it to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a credit.

May 8, 2019

Unbelievably lightweight; however extremely warm.

Brilliant lightweight down jacket/sweater. Love it!

May 8, 2019

Down Sweater

Warm, light, packs to an unbelievable small size.

May 8, 2019

Great sweater

Down jacket has a great weight, style and fit However the pocket zipper has already come apart with only a few wears. Don’t like the static shock once in a while either. However ... warm and compressible and a good all round 8 month-er northeast weather packable essential. Would it be possible to have 2 upper inside zipped pockets?

Response from Patagonia
May 9, 2019

Sorry to hear that the zippers are coming undone on your jacket, that definitely should not be the case. You are welcome to send the jacket in for [repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=repair) at any point. We will reach out to you privately to help you out.

May 5, 2019

All Around Great Jacket

My son's all around jacket, works in Montana even in winter (temps 10 - 20°F), not sure why it is called a "sweater"...oh well. The Small worked great for him when he was 12 years old, about 5'6" 90 - 100 lb.

April 24, 2019

Good lightweight jacket

Love the colors on the jacket. It breathes, but gets a star off because its fit is blocky. Also it's not nearly as warm as the cold forge hoody from black diamond that I have that's similar in weight and price. But that one doesn't breathe as well or come in such good colors.

April 2, 2019

Down Sweater is light and

Down Sweater is light and warm. Great for traveling because it’s packable. Should have bought it years ago.

March 27, 2019

I'd buy it again

Forest ranger here in the Sierras and always outside all seasons. This jacket is warm and functional. Moves with you. Only gripe is the zipper could use 1/8 inch more room on each side of the zipper track. The zipper head catches fabric often. If not up for extra room try stitching the fabric under the zipper the length of the zipper so that there&... Read More#x27;s no bunching of the material. Getting caught on your own gear isn't cool.

March 26, 2019

Snowpants

These are great. Fit well. Nice length. Nice quality. I'm a skinny leg dood that likes a balanced fit. I could go jeans, long johns or just tighty whities and these would work in any case!

March 18, 2019

Love this jacket!!!

I love the Patagonia Down Sweater Jacket so much, I’m the proud owner of 3 of them. My back color one I used for backpacking when the sun go down in the mountains and get cold, this is my go to jacket. It’s lightweight and packs easily in my pack. My Peppergrass Green I wear during football season and as my middle layer under my Patagonia Powder Bo... Read Morewl Jacket. I’m very comfy skiing in chest deep powder when temps are -5 degrees. My Classic Navy Blue Jacket is my go to jacket on cold day in Austin TX. I also use it as my mid layer under my Patagonia Powder Bowl Jacket for snow skiing. I love Patagonia that I have a total of 6 jackets, and one insulated Powder Bowl pants. I used to only wear The Northface, but switch over to Patagonia because they jackets keep my warmer. I’m one very happy camper with their line of cold weather gear! I’m 5’3 130lbs and I wear a medium to give me room to wear a layer under the jacket!

March 14, 2019

Warm, comfy but a greasy collar

I've had this jacket for a few years. I've even had it repaired by Patagonia. I am happy with my purchase with one caveat. The collar on the light blue jacket seems to collect skin oil that builds up. I've never seen this on any other jacket before. After about 8 wears the grease is noticeable on the inside of the collar. If you don&... Read More#x27;t wash it thoroughly enough it builds up (I have a top loading washing machine). I have seen a few other guys with the same color jacket and they have the same issue but aren't as diligent about cleaning it so the top half of the jacket looks splotchy and darker than the bottom half. I would ask that Patagonia update the design to use a different material for the inside of the collar so this isn't an issue.

March 9, 2019

Best Patagonia Jacket

I am 6’2”, 205 pounds and consider myself athletic. My wife bought me a large but it had too much room, returned it and got a medium. It fits much better, granted I prefer a more athletic fit. Fit aside, I consider this the best jacket Patagonia I have ever owned. I own several of their jackets but 99% of the time I reach for this. The exception be... Read Moreing if it is pouring rain. The jacket keeps me warm and does a good job blocking wind. The jacket developed a hole in my first year of wear, probably my fault. Sent it back to Patagonia and they replaced the product no questions asked. I have worn the jacket hard for three years now with no issues. I spend a lot of time outdoors and use a variety of outdoor apparel brands, none have warranty programs better than Patagonia.

March 3, 2019

Comeing from an Environmental Science Teacher

I love this company so much. Pretty much every class I catch myself mentioning how important this company is to our world. It’s the perfect example of how companies should be ran, limiting as much unnecessary harm as possible. I love what this company stands for and what it’s mission is. With that being sad. This jacket is perfect, a classic. Tr... Read Moreaceable down no plucking. Super warm, versatile, packable, stylish. Fit is perfect(if the jacket wasn’t touching your skin it would be as warm people) Quality is what you would expect from succa high class company. Keep on doing what you guys do best! You have a customer for life

February 20, 2019

Not warm enough

I bought this coat as a Christmas gift. The reviews were good so I felt good about my purchase. Until the person I gave it to said it wasn’t warm enough. He said his north face coat, that was half the price, is warmer and chooses to wear that unless it’s above 35-40 out. The look of it is nice and it’s comfortable, but not for winter.

February 14, 2019

Excellent Jacket (Review for short & muscular body types)

Lightweight, extremely warm and very stylish. I just wore this jacket for the first time today and it has already exceeded my expectations so far as warmth goes. Perfect for temps in the low 30s and up. The fit of a medium is excellent for me at 5' 6" 170+lbs (athletic with broad shoulders and chest) however, if the sleeves were an inch... Read More or half inch shorter, I wouldn't mind. The main improvement I would make would be to have an elasticized hemline for men with wider hips (mine measure in at 40"). Other than that, a great jacket.

February 13, 2019

An excellent ski jacket

I ski Alta/Snowbird about 70 days a year, in any weather. Winter, add a windproof shell and you're toasty. Spring, add a Nano underneath for shade/wind. Sure it's down, and feathers are a part of life but if you take care of the jacket it is tough. It's puffier than a Nano, you won't use it mountain biking or running trails but ... Read Morethe quality is real. I grew up in Ventura, CA and wearing Patagucci since '88 has convinced me that this is the go to gear. I wish Yvon would NOT introduce so many models and still say 'recycle, reuse' as half the loser gear ends up in some bargain bin. True, zippers will blow, feathers might fly, quit whining, it's called the outdoors, get a local source and get outside.

<