Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Pluma Alpine Jacket

Write Your Review

4.48 /5

Filter Reviews

All 21 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Pluma Alpine Jacket

4.48
Runs Large
September 14, 2020

Elegant minimalist technical alpine hard shell

This is my third Pluma/Super Pluma jacket since the mid nineties. Feather weight; full featured, the jacket lets you move and looks very nice on the mountain and in the city. Durability: in my previous versions my skin underneath the jacket has occasionally been scraped off but Ive never experienced any damage to the fabric which is nylon rather ... Read Morethan Kevlar. This is a very fancy jacket and it is a pleasure to wear.

June 17, 2020

Most comfortable and most versatile... I always want to wear this jacket!

I bought this jacket as a layer for climbing Mt. Rainier, which was amazing, but it's also perfect for wearing around my hometown of NYC... it's beyond comfortable and very light, but effective against weather. Very breathable... this is perhaps my favorite jacket of all time.

February 21, 2020

Disappointing quality

I bought my Pluma last March but didn't use it until this winter. I've used it exclusively for skiing and have only put about 20 days on it. At first I was quite happy with the jacket, but I've noticed some of the same tiny holes mentioned in one of the other reviews. If that's not enough, the fabric is starting to get small bli... Read Moresters, and the DWR was gone from the shoulders and sleeves and began wetting out in this areas after only a handful of uses. I'm really disappointed with the quality of this jacket. I have an Arc'teryx BLT, (also Gore-tex Pro,) that I've put through the paces over the years and have no complaints whatsoever. The Pluma couldn't even make it through one ski season.

Response from Patagonia
March 27, 2020

Hi Tristan, we're very sorry to hear that your Pluma Alpine didn't make it through the season. This may be a manufacturer defect and we'd be happy to return or exchange that for you under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin your warranty return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

December 9, 2019

Great jacket

Great fit, usual Patagonia quality

November 14, 2019

Great Hardshell

I took this jacket to Rainier this summer. It fits well and leaves plenty of space for layers higher up the mountain, but was light and breathed well to keep the mist out at lower elevation. Since we were on a 10 training & rescue session we spent plenty of days in poor weather, from mist, to pour rain, freezing rain, and 50mph winds. Through o... Read Moreut all of it it continued to bead and shed water. It stopped the wind very well and allowed my lower layers to keep me warm. I'd recommend this jacket to anyone and encourage people to feel comfortable using it in the limits of your sport.

October 27, 2019

No nonsense rain jacket

Who would have thought that I was anxiously waiting for the rain after I bought this jacket. And when it finally arrived I had so much fun hiking a half day in pouring rain. The performance of protecting against rain is truly amazing. If you don’t want to get wet, want a very light weight jacket and actually enjoy being outside in the rain, then lo... Read Moreok no further than this jacket. The zippers are a bit harder to use but I would imagine that it has to do with the fact that they don’t let moisture get through.

October 17, 2019

Less durable than I hoped

I bought this jacket as good lightweight option without sacrificing too much in the fabric realm. I was allured by the Gore-tex Pro. Overall, this jacket is a fortress. I wore it many days on a glacier, and it protected me from heavy wet snow flurries all the way to the most torrential downpours I've experienced. The Gore-tex Pro offers unmatc... Read Morehed protection and I never had problems with water (excessively) seeping through the jacket. The DWR was very effective when it was new, but over time it wore off like all jackets. I am not too much of a hardshell person, so I wait until the very last minute I cant get away with out throwing a jacket over, sooo most of the time this jacket lived in my pack. That is why I was surprised I discovered a small hole on the shoulder of the Jacket. I was (and still am) perplexed about how this hole developed in my relatively new jacket without too much use. Upon returning from this trip I just threw a patch on it, then went back out onto the glacier for another trip. To keep with the theme, by the end of this trip , I had two more new (small) holes in the face of this jacket. Again, with no obvious explanation of how these holes developed, I am left feeling a little disappointed in the durability of this product. Otherwise, this jacket has performed very well as a hard shell. I just wish my high end jacket didn't have any holes in it...

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear about those holes in your Pluma Jacket. Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or complimentary repair, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 28, 2019

REAL mountain hardshell

This is what a mountain hardshell is supposed to be. Ultra-waterproof Gore-tex Pro, with good DWR to keep the water beading up, with pit zips to keep you from getting drenched. Yes, it's a little crinkly, without stretch. Lightweight but durable fabric. All the right pockets, where they should be. Lightweight, high-quality, waterproof zippers ... Read Moreeverywhere. No ridiculous bells or whistles. Old school slim fit, to fit under a harness, for folks without a spare tire. Long waisted, as it should be, and arms are long enough to reach way up ice climbing without baring your wrists. I'm 6' 165# and bought large, so it would fit over a medium puffy. Only negatives are that the main zipper garage under the chin is a little sharp on your neck (fixed with some sandpaper), and the main zipper won't open from the bottom up, for pit stops with a harness. Otherwise perfect.

August 12, 2019

Ms Pluma Jacket

It is an amazing jacket. I recently used it the Cirque of the Unclimbables in the Northwest Territorries, the Talkeetna Mountains in AK, and deep in the Chugach Mountains AK. I took this jacket through torrential rain, sleet, hail, and snow and stayed dry. It fit well over a mid-layer but have not yet attempted to wear the super puffy under it. My ... Read Moreonly beef with the jacket is that it is so expensive and there are other similar jackets of the same quality for much cheaper. Note I said similar quality...

June 25, 2019

Incredible. A true hard shell to put through its paces.

There’s something to be said about a jacket that fits perfectly. The arms are just long enough, the hem is perfect, and the cut is closer to what I feel like Patagonia used to call the slim fit. A technical piece that I can’t wait to take into an alpine storm. I’m about 5’8” and 140 lbs, and this piece fits like a dream. Those looking for a rain j... Read Moreacket probably will be confused at its length, but those looking for an actual hard shell will immediately recognize all the thoughtful design in this jacket. As another reviewer said, it’s honestly closer to something a certain brand starting with A would make, but about 10 times better with the Iron Clad Guarantee and the knowledge such a bomber jacket’s face fabric is 100% recycled.

May 8, 2019

Quality is top notch, a little crinkly with the feel

I purchased this pluma jacket, as I live in the Pacific NW, so rain is the usually one of the challenges to getting outdoors. I also loved the fact that it was Gore-Tex waterproofing, actually Gore-Tex Pro. I had purchased a Gore-Tex rain jacket from Patagonia previously and loved it. So, when it came time to by another, it was a no brainer. The qu... Read Moreality on this jacket is very, very nice and I have no concerns staying dry. The only downside I found was that the feel of the coat is pretty rigid, even though it is a shell, but I chalk this up to the high quality and thickness of the Gore-Tex Pro. I am very happy with the purchase.

May 8, 2019

Men’s nano puff jacket (large)

It fits well. 5’11”s with a long torso and arms. I sized up to make it work. Works great alone or layered with my rain jacket. Replaces a blown out down sweater I finally put to rest after 8 years of abuse/use.

April 2, 2019

Quality Jacket

This jacket is a bit more lightweight than I originally planned on buying. I didn't know that that's exactly what I needed! It is durable and small enough to bring just about anywhere.

February 1, 2019

Good. Not great...but worth it if you can find it at a good price.

I've had this jacket for a few weeks now. At first I was on the fence as I had been comparing it to a number of other styles from another manufacturer that starts with the first letter of the alphabet. I was set on finding one from them but this Pluma actually grew on me. Here's the list of highlights: -Gore-tex Pro. Period. This is a mu... Read Morest have. -Weight...under a pound. That's huge. -Pit zips are a must have and this jacket covers this. -Helmet compatible hood - I don't climb or alpine ski (well maybe some) or anything but in case I do I can wear a helmet. At the same time, the hood is fairly adjustable so I can cinch it down in inclement weather and it sits fairly closely to my face/ head. -Rubber backing on inside of cuffs help keep the sleeves from slipping around. -Sleeve are perfect length. -Cordlock system is great. -I thought the pockets were going to be too much but I actually use all of them. Outside breast pocket is perfect for an iPhone Xs Max. -Fairly packable - down to about the size of a Nalgene bottle...maybe a bit bigger. -Fully waterproof...as you'd expect from Gore-tex Pro. -I'm 5'11" 165lb - this jacket has plenty of room for a good mid layer like an ultralight down or thick sherpa but is also not too baggy to wear with just a t-shirt. Wish they would fix/ improve: -Neck area doesn't draw in very tight when hood is cinched down. Initially I thought this was going to be really drafty but it hasn't been that bad. Still could improve some. -No felt lining on inside of zipper around face - can get pretty wet in this area due to breath. -Zipper garage on main zipper is basically useless. Takes a lot of effort to get it completely closed. -Brim on hood doesn't have a wire reinforcement. -Brim could be a bit larger. Good for without a hat on but a bit small with a hat. Others have figured this out. -Gray zipper should be black. Doesn't make sense. Full price without some of the improvement areas would probably steer me away from this jacket but because I was able to get it on sale I am all in on this jacket for what I need. I wore this in the recent extreme weather in Ohio (15" of snow one weekend and -5 temps the next) and this thing kept me plenty warm and dry with the appropriate layering (both during minimal activity and medium output). I've also had it on with a mid layer inside a few stores and noticed that I did not sweat or warm up at all as compared to the same mid layer and other hard shells I've tried. Definitely attributable to the pit zips and Gore-tex Pro.

January 17, 2019

Overall good but missed the mark on a few things.

This jacket is overall good...not great, but good. I’ll explain later how it could be great. Gore-Tex Pro is nice. Pit zips 3-way adjustable hood Perfect length Nice pockets Fit is nearly perfect...I can wear an ultra light down with a pullover and this jacket fits perfectly over those. Sleeves are the right length and allow range of motion wi... Read Morethout pulling...and the sleeves have some rubber material on the inside to help keep them in place. Nice touch. Range of motion is good. I wear a medium and am 5’11” 165lbs. 34 waits 39 hips, 39 chest, 34 sleeve. Now...this would be great and a 5-star review if: The zipper should be black, not gray. The main zipper garage is worthless...not sure why it is on this jacket. It takes an act of congress to stow the zipper all the way in. Forget about stowing the zipper if you have gloves on. You’ll need to take them off. The hood does not close down nicely over the face and seal the neck. Other brand, maybe one well known one that starts with an A, have this figured out. This jacket’s hood allows in a huge draft and doesn’t have a wire support in the brim. Only reason why I’m keeping this jacket is becuase I was able to find it elsewhere at a significant discount. If I hadn’t, it would be going back. I would recommend this to someone at the price I paid but not full price.

March 28, 2018

Perfection

This beautifully designed jacket is outstanding! It provides superior storm protection,a comfortable non-restrictive fit and it strikes the right balance between simplicity and full featured. Hood works equally well with a beanie,ball cap or helmet and in rain or snow. Well tailored,it fits comfortably over baselayer and midlayer - I've used i... Read Moret over Nano Air Hoody,Micro Puff Hoody and Down Sweater Hoody. Sleeves are plenty long. Perfect sized pockets are easily accessible with harness and pack. Standout features include the Cohaesive cord lock system(!),long torso length and polyurethane sleeves in a feather weight package. If pressed to recommend suggestions,they are very minor: 1) Being right-handed,I would prefer the inside pocket to be on the opposite side 2) Include an integrated Recco reflector 3) Add an elasticized strap at low back to connect to Patagonia snow pants Fit runs small. I wear a medium in all things Patagonia,but I needed a large in this. For reference,I'm 6'2",34 sleeve,42 chest,32 waist,162 lbs.

January 15, 2018

Great jacket,runs a bit snug

Love this jacket,great features in a light design; I'm 5' 10" and 165 lbs,40" chest,32" waist and the Medium size is just big enough - with an insulated layer underneath there's not really room for anything in the pockets without having the jacket be too snug.

November 30, 2017

Alpine Fit

So I searched the entire internet about this "appeared like a good idea jacket" and found nothing,so I figured I do my internet friends a solid and write up something. This is a review purely based on the fit and features of the jacket. It's Goretex,it won't breath no matter what they say but will shield you from wind,snow,rain,... Read Moreetc. I treat this as a super durable trash bag to wear when mother nature is trying to kill me and really in case of emergencies. With that said... It's definitely an alpine fit,which is WAY different than their snow sports fit. I'm swimming in a Medium Pata snow jacket,but a Medium in this was way trim wit. I sent it back after a try on and got a Large,which fits pretty well for my 6'0" 145lbs tall skinny frame. All I want in a jacket is something that won't take up space or weight in my pack while I skin and climb up,and be there ready to go for extra windy ridges or to tame some of mother nature's fury. The problem with most jackets are pass pockets,powder skirts,sleeve zippers,and a million pockets. This has two high above harness/hip belt pockets that fit my skins,one chest pocket just because all jackets need a chest pocket,and one inside pocket sized for a phone,which I can't complain about. I'd chuck the pit zips if I could. Another note on fit: I tried it on with a big (non Pata,DAS style) belay jacket. It has enough girth to handle a huge puffy underneath,but with such minimal material on the jacket,it collapses down small enough while wearing to throw the puffy over the top. Big time versatility. Again,a burly,bright colored (the red is awesome and gets a lot of distorting color noise on the computer screen' think super bright fall leaf color) Goretex cover up that I would never hike in but am happy to tow in my pack or wear. Size up a step and it's still gonna be one inch shorter than you'd like to shred in. I'm sure ice climbing or non-snowboarding mountaineering may be just the ticket with this. And don't forget,if the mirror isn't doing what you'd like,it's you that looks weird,not the jacket. One more FYI: super crinkly and it has a mondo hood. Not the wear around town on a rainy day kinda shell. So in the end: 4.7 stars. I wanted a stripped down POWslayer,but got this,and am still happy.

November 22, 2017

Great "hard shell."

So I purchased this a week ago,and haven't had much of a chance to put it through its paces,yet. I can tell however,that its going to be an awesome all around hard shell. Super light weight,zippers seem really smooth,pockets in all the right places. Length is hip,but not so long that you feel like you're swimming in it. Just the right amo... Read Moreunt of room to layer. I've had it on with a nano air,down sweater,R1,and it never felt constricted. I'm 6' 175 lbs and a large is right on the money. I do disagree with another reviewer re warmth. This jacket is super thin and light weight. I don't feel that it adds any significant warmth to my base layers. That being said,that's not its intended purpose. It's a breathable,light weight hard shell. I expect it to keep me dry and to keep the wind from blowing through me. To that end,I expect this coat will excel. I plan on wearing this snowboarding,hiking/camping,to around town in heavier than average rainstorms. Very impressed. It's pricey,but I can tell I'll have this coat for years to come. Great investment.

November 19, 2017

Solid Alpine Shell

I bought this jacket a few weeks ago with the intention of it being a multi use alpine jacket. Mainly for skiing / touring,but also for mountaineering and climbing. Today I took it out on one of the ski hills in about 0c temperatures with strong winds and snow showers wearing just a cotton t shirt underneath. I wanted to see how it performed in the... Read Morese conditions with only a thing layer on. The result? I was toast the entire time! The wind didn't get in and the jacket kept me dry. Granted,I was skiing which kept my heart rate up and my body warm,but on the lifts and just hanging around I was absolutely fine. Which ultimately reassured me that if it was any colder,I could easily have put my puffy jacket on underneath and some more layers and I'd have been spot on!! My ONLY con to this jacket,which I can live with,is the length. It's so far been totally fine,but I'm concerned that when I ski some heavier powder it's going to let some snow up. However... I think I may invest in the Patagonia pow slayer pants,which have a much higher waist and that should fix the issue. All in all,solid jacket. Reason I didn't buy the pow slayer jacket was because it was a little overkill for the other activities I do. Perfect for skiing,but when it came to mountaineering it could've been a bit long and possibly too heavy.

September 22, 2017

Too many zippers / seams = average performance

I'm reviewing this in the context of guiding in SE Alaska. The jacket wins in terms of a long length and two big pockets,large enough for bear spray / Nalgene / pro camera. However,it then includes two redundant smaller pockets,which add zippers and fabric and seams that compromise packability. You're already carrying a big pack full of e... Read Morextra stuff for clients,and mid layers with pockets,and probably pockets on your hip belt,radio harness,whatever,so the shell just needs to be very tough and very packable,not a storage / organization system . Relative to other options at the same price,the overly complicated design is a step in the wrong direction.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches