Back to Product

Ws R1® TechFace Hoody

Write Your Review

4.6/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 29 Reviews

Clear All

Ws R1® TechFace Hoody

4.6/5
April 20, 2021

Perfect light weight warmth

Love my R1....warm without the bulk. Warm on a very cold day layered but also a great light weight jacket on a cool afternoon.

April 6, 2021

Excellent Design

So far I have been extremely impressed with this product,s fit, warmth, and breathability. There is enough room in the shoulders for comfortable movement without looking awkward or baggy. I have also worn this on several long days in the snow without getting too hot or too cold. So far, it has been perfect for skinning up a mountain or riding my bi... Read Moreke out to a glacier.

April 1, 2021

Light weight and warm

just what I need on a long run with temps outside below 30 .

March 31, 2021

Nice jacket; too long

I need a mid layer so I purchased this jacket but it just wasn't built for a shortish, petite stature. Too long in the torso and probably too much material in the chest also. Would be interested if it fit.

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2021

Hey Patti, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're sorry the fit is too long for you. We've passed along your feedback to the Design Team who are constantly working to improve our products. All of our items are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee, so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this at your earliest convenience. We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

March 28, 2021

Slim-cut

Liked the fabric, weight and color. However the fit did not work, too narrow in waist for me, so had to return.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

Thanks for the review! Our R1 TechFace Hoody is a slim fit, and all of our technical fleeces will follow suit with that. If you'd like to see what fleeces we have available in a relaxed or regular fit, check out our [fleece page](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-fleece) and use the filters on the left side to refine your search.

March 28, 2021

Great for Shoulder Season Outerwear

This jacket is phenomenal as outerwear during wet spring/fall. It protects against light rain well and is quite breathable. The fit is roomier than a typical mid-layer. It was warmer than I expected, though also less soft than other fleece options. I don't love the tighter wrists for accessing a watch and think it would benefit from an interio... Read Morer drop pocket. I have used this skinning, riding gravel, and cragging and am impressed across the board.

March 21, 2021

Thin jacket but cutting is too long

The cutting is a bit strange. It runs longer than most light weight jacket. It fits very tightly around lower tummy. Overall the jacket does not flattering my figure. I like the fabric because its very thin. Just wish the cutting is more snug around the waist and more roomy for the tummy.

March 19, 2021

Functional!

Overall- great jacket that meets a need in my wardrobe. It is super lightweight and comfortable, and provides a surprising amount of warmth and protection from wind and drizzle. I wore recently to run errands with cool temps (upper 40's/low 50's) and light rain and was comfortable with just a light layer underneath. Sizing seems fairly co... Read Morensistent with other Patagonia items- I sometimes prefer XL vs L depending on layering. I would definitely suggest sizing up if you want to wear thick layers underneath, the L works well for me with a thin underlayer (as I plan to wear this as a spring/summer outer layer). As a pear-shaped woman, I would love if Patagonia had slightly more hip room across items, and this jacket is no exception- the arms/shoulders/chest and waist fit beautifully, but the hips are a bit snug (and I fear the XL would be too large).

March 2, 2021

Perfect. Kept me warm and not bulky

Loved the fit. It was perfect. Kept me warm in high altitude cold skiing weather.

February 18, 2021

Black fits differently than other colors

I ordered the purple originally and sized up per the reviews. It was the correct choice for me, but the color was not what I wanted. I exchanged for the same size in black and it was huge! I had to exchange again for my typical Patagonia size. The rep said that colors do run differently - I would say Black runs true to size, the other colors run sm... Read Moreall.

February 17, 2021

Perfect temperature regulator for high energy activities!

Love, love the long cut. Fit is perfect. Perfect combination of light warmth and excellent wind resistance. Perfect pockets and incredibly comfy hood. Love this so much! The only thing that could be added are thumb holes because it is a layering piece. Definitely not a deal breaker. You must have this if you workout in cold/windy conditions in wint... Read Moreer or just want an awesome layer for warmer weather. Fits well under a harness and pack :)

February 10, 2021

Performs as described

The jacket performs as its described - ive been using it as an undercoat in below zero weather and it is the right amount of warmth and thickness. Being a woman though I wish the design was a little more curvy so its not so snug around the hips.

February 8, 2021

nice stretchy fit

nice weave, fit is good. like the wrist portion that stretches even more over larger hands

February 7, 2021

Warm & Comfortable

The jacket is comfortable and warm for the NC winter!

January 30, 2021

Best piece of clothing I own

I use my R1 on repeat, in a variety of settings/ year round. I love this item. I wear the R1 in a small and most other items in a medium. It is a body slim fit that I wear under vests, puffers or stand alone. Lots of stretch and longer cut make it flattering.

January 16, 2021

Amazing Jacket! Warm & Versatile

I would give it 10 stars if I could! Ive had this jacket for about a year now and I wear it all the time! Of all my Patagonia products, shirts and jackets, this is the one I am most impressed by and consistently happy with. My husband also has one and feels the same way. For how thin it is, its surprisingly warm even on cooler days- I just zip it a... Read Morell the way up, cinch the waist, put up the hood and forget all about the chill. However even as the temp rises, I can unzip it but leave it on without over heating. I often wear this as an outer layer in shoulder seasons, but also find that it works wonderfully as a mid-layer. It slides perfectly under a vest or my Down Sweater Jacket. Its also very soft and packs down pretty small, so its easy to bring along in a pack. I have used this for casual wear, hiking, and biking. Im sure Ill love it for snowboarding also. I sometimes wear Patagonia XS and sometime a Small. Tried the XS but the sleeves were too short and it was a bit too snug to use as an outer layer. Got the Small and its just absolutely perfect. Ill be buying another one (or several) for sure because I never want to be without this piece. I wouldnt change anything about it!

December 30, 2020

Excellent... 1 issue

I bought an R1 TechFace Hoody for my girlfriend and she liked it so much I got one for myself as well. We both have had an excellent experience skinning and skiing in them. However, we have also had the same issue. When wearing the hood over a ball cap and sunglasses the hood will pull down on the bill of the cap which also affects the sunglasses. ... Read MoreIts uncomfortable to wear it like this. I wish there was more material added to the hood to allow it to work better with a hat on. Other than that its an outstanding piece of gear for layering in the winter.

December 26, 2020

Wife loves it

I bought this as a Christmas present for my wife. She loves this hoodie. Has worn it several times already, including on a walk this morning in 12 degree weather. Cant comment as a user, but my wife is sure happy.

September 8, 2020

Love!

This jackets amazing! The Regen green is also a great color! Ive worn this a few times for running in cooler/windy temps and its been plenty warm during the run. I love the R1s and this is going to be one of my favorites. The tech shell isnt as soft as the regular R1 but has the added abrasion resistance which is great in light rains. Its a perfect... Read More weight for cool nights around the camp also.

August 8, 2020

Super comfy

Its simply perfect. Bought this black hoodie few weeks ago and its my fav. Totally recommend for daily use as well as for any kind of sports.

May 28, 2020

Cozy, flattering and practical

Very comfortable mid weight jacket. I love it for cool morning rides, shady afternoons and around town. It repels light water, and is still warm when I sweat through. It is a flattering fit for casual wear, professional look for me to wear to work and functions great in cooler activities.

May 19, 2020

Cool Weather Jacket

Light and packable perfect jacket for cool weather activities. The fit is great, it stretches a bit over the hips to be comfortable and not ride up. I've worn it for running and biking in 40-50 deg weather and it kept me warm and protected without overheating. I wear it with either a long or short sleeved athletic top depending on the temp. I ... Read Morebought the black color to look good for everyday use but plan to buy another, maybe without the hood, in a bright color for better visibility running and biking. Plenty of space in the chest pocket to fit a phone.

May 19, 2020

Cool Weather Jacket

Light and packable perfect jacket for cool weather activities. The fit is great, it stretches a bit over the hips to be comfortable and not ride up. I've worn it for running and biking in 40-50 deg weather and it kept me warm and protected without overheating. I wear it with either a long or short sleeved athletic top depending on the temp. I ... Read Morebought the black color to look good for everyday use but plan to buy another, maybe without the hood, in a bright color for better visibility running and biking. Plenty of space in the chest pocket to fit a phone.

May 1, 2020

Great jacket!

I just got this jacket today, and I love it! I have multiple Patagonia jackets, and this one will be right up there with some of my favs. The fit is great (both body and sleeve length), and the weight seems like it will be a great layer for cooler morning runs and hikes. ..or just hanging around the house. The red/coral color is amazing and I cant ... Read Morewait to wear it!

April 22, 2020

A great everyday wear!

After a bunch of research and trying on multiple variants I happily settled for the R1 Techface. Like a previous review mentioned, it does great with dog hair! It barely sticks and if it does it comes right off with the brush of my hand. I wear this hoody almost everyday whether I am just hanging around or I am walking, biking or running. This is a... Read More great versatile piece added to my wardrobe. I liked the RI techface hoody more than the others because it was thinner and could be combined with other layers well.

April 20, 2020

New favorite R1

My loyalty to Patagonia started as a kid when my family was sponsored by the company for mountain bike racing. Fast forward 30 years and I have owned many Patagonia jackets. Stolen from my parents, hunted in thrift stores, and bought brand new. I have more R1s than I care to admit, I own the Nano air light hybrid, and plenty of hard/softshell jacke... Read Morets. I think that this might replace them all as my daily driver. The fit on this is a bit looser and longer than the regular R1 jacket, which I appreciate because I am quite tall. The arms are the appropriate length on me. The bottom hem is long enough that I wont be exposed while bent forward on my bike. And even though the fit is a bit more roomy it fits under a climbing harness just fine. I also like that I can wear a thicker baselayer without feeling bunched up by the layers. I would say this is a similar cut to the Alpine R1 that has the longer waist and arms. I really love the hood on this compared to the other R1s. I can fit my climbing and biking helmets under the hood easily. The outer fabric reminds me of the Houdini Air jacket, but stronger. The fleece pile is lower than the standard R1. I don't think this will make it any less warm as the softshell fabric will help insulate by cutting the wind. I have struggled to layer well for all my activities since moving to Seattle. Its frequently cold here, but not too cold. Its also wet, but not always pouring. The nano air hybrid used to be my favorite layer....until I moved here and it just doesn't work for me in this climate. Hardshell jackets just make me sweat a ton and softshell jackets are either too warm or not warm enough. I think that this is going to fill the gap between all my layers. One last point....this Catalan Coral color is AMAZING. Patagonia, thank you for putting a womens color out there that hasn't been made "cute" or "girly" (not that theres anything wrong with the pink and teal, it just isn't my thing). This coral is a perfect blend of bright red and orange and looks like it was pulled out of the mens line whose colors I often admire. FYI the hand pockets on this jacket are on the smaller side. They are narrow in depth but roomy vertically. When putting my hands in the pockets they have to be balled into fists. But the good news is that things like a map fit perfectly without being crushed.

April 16, 2020

Best mid-layer, flattering & warm

I love this layer so much. It's very versatile and works well as an outer layer for higher-exertion workouts/activities in cold climate. It also fits nicely under a puffy as a mid-layer.

March 11, 2020

Runs small

I'm 6ft and the arm length was perfect but the body length was a tough short. But the jacket runs small. I ordered up to a Large and there was no room for layering. But the design and look were great it's just too thin to wear without layering in March.

February 21, 2020

Amazing jacket for mountain biking and much more!

I love this jacket. It has a wide range of temperatures from 10-40 and is breathable enough to keep even a sweaty person like myself comfortable and dry. The fit is amazing and the breathability to warmth ratio is second to none. They are great for mountain biking or any other sport where you put off a great amount of heat in cool weather. My husba... Read Morend and I both have one and we wear them all the time. Ive been wearing this for over two years now and it shows almost no signs of wear.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches