Back to Product

Ms R1® TechFace Hoody

Write Your Review

4.8/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 60 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R1® TechFace Hoody

4.8/5
May 6, 2021

Versatility

I love the R1 Tech Face Hoody, for the lightness and versatility it has. I use it for alpine climbing in spring and summer, its light, easy to pack and so comfortable to climb with it, down of it, normally, I put a M's long sleeve capilene t-shirt during the aproach or in a hot climb, and if its colder i put a base layer. I also use the R1 fu... Read Morell zip hoody, i like to combine one or the other depending of the conditions of the day. I also use it in much more another situtations like, working as a mountain guide (treekings and climbing) and during my backcountry skiing days or in my casual wear outfit. I love it :)

April 29, 2021

Versatile piece

6'1", 175. This jacket fits me better than anything else I own from Patagonia. For someone with longer arms this was a great fit. Love the stretch for active pursuits. Great for hiking/climbing as an outerlayer in that 45-60F range. I have also used it as a midlayer on warmer days snowboarding. The outer material is durable and has not fa... Read Moreiled in over a year of fairly heavy use. Washing it has definitely caused pilling on the outside of the jacket but its nothing too noticeable.

April 28, 2021

Classic, versatile and great!

This is one of those pieces that satisfies so many use cases for me. I can throw it on for a run, wear it out, bring it as my one and only jacket for summer camping in NW Montana. It's a classic piece and I went back and forth between having a hood or not on this jacket. After much debate, I went with the hood and I am happy that I did. The ho... Read Moreod allows me to wear this as more of a stand-alone jacket rather than just a layering piece. The size is true to size with a slim cut, but not tight. I have found a good reason to wear it every day since it arrived at my home and it will definitely be a staple 3-season piece for me. I really couldn't be happier with this one.

April 17, 2021

Really impressed

Great fit, looks great, perfect for cycle commutes or runs with a base later at 0-5C.

April 16, 2021

My Favorite Patagonia Jacket

This jacket is the perfect weight for a cool day to keep you warm and dry. Water resistance is excellent, much better and a little warmer than a Houdini but not heavy or bulky. Fit is slim and perfect for my 6'3" 170 lb body and love this jacket!

April 16, 2021

R1 tech face hoody

Light, more wind resistant and less than usual R1 hoody which is perfect while moving. It fits over helmet.

April 14, 2021

Perfect transition jumper

Was exactly what I was looking for in a seasonal transition piece

April 8, 2021

Less warm and larger than R1

I love the cut on this piece but it does definitely run larger than the regular R1 and the sleeves seem much much longer. The sleeves even seem to scrunch up more on the model than other pieces. It's also not as warm as the regular R1 despite the tech face. I'd probably still recommend the piece but I really just wish the sleeves weren&#x... Read More27;t so long.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2021

Thank you for the review on our R1 TechFace Hoody. We're sorry to hear about the sleeves and have passed your feedback along to the appropriate teams. If you'd like to make a return, feel free to do so at your earliest convenience. We'd also like to note that we're happy to [provide measurements](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) should you need them in the future.

April 5, 2021

A reliable Swiss Army Knife

So far I love this fleece as a fall/spring outer layer and a summer night stand alone. I have not used it skiing yet but imagine it would preform nicely as a mid-layer. The best thing about this jacket is its versatility. I have used it as a standalone, mid-layer and soft shell-ish layer. Because its so light and breathable but also has a more abra... Read Moresion resistant finish I layer it over my puffy to keep it from tearing. It also works well as a stand alone in cool conditions. I wouldnt call it a casual fleece by any means however. It has a feel and vibe that is purely technical. If you want something more casual Id go with one of the better sweaters. But if you want a Swiss Army Knife jacket this is the best choice out there. One last thing to note before I list my complaints/suggestions, the jacket has a unique feel. I dont have a problem with it but I would recommend trying it on in store before you buy it just to make sure you like it. Here are the things I would change in a future revision: 1) make the zippers more solid. The zippers, especially the main one, feel noticeably weak. I dont think they will fail anytime soon but it gives an otherwise premium jacket a cheep feel 2) add outside access to the chest pocket. My ideal implementation of this would be to have a zipper on each side of the chest pocket (both internally and externally) this way it could be accessed either way. If weight is an issue and you can only add one I would recommend having it be on the outside. That would be better suited to this jackets use cases. 3) make the hood removable. Im not sure how this would be achieved in a lightweight and reliable way but it would be nice to have a removable hood. It would make it easier to layer this piece when you want a no frills mid layer or just dont want to deal with a hood getting in the way. If anyone could pull of a good design for that it would be Patagonia so I remain hopeful. Finally, I would like to thank the employees at the Patagonia store in Bend Oregon for helping me chose this jacket and being very helpful. Keep up the good work guys!

April 5, 2021

Good layer option

I have been using this as outer layer over long sleeve capilene for ski touring. Plenty warm on the up and down. Light weight, minimal design.

March 31, 2021

Almost Perfect

I've worn the R1 TechFace Hoody throughout the seasons in Utah for high-exertion activities and have found it to be an almost perfect layering piece. Sometimes, if it gets warm enough, I even wear it with nothing underneath and it's very comfortable. While not wind proof, it certainly mitigates all but the stiffest winds, and most importa... Read Morently, it allows perspiration to escape, thus keeping you dry. The hood adjustments are very good and provide excellent peripheral vision. Sheds light rain and snow nicely, too. My only complaint is one that I also have with several other Patagonia articles; that is, the sleeves are too narrow, ESPECIALLY AT THE CUFFS. I have very skinny arms and even I can barely push the cuffs up a few inches above my wrists. This is annoying when trying to do anything with water, wash my hands or put gloves under the cuffs, for example. Overall, though, I highly recommend this hoody. I liked it so much I got the TechFace jacket as well, which I use for primarily for bicycling or times when I don't need a hood.

March 25, 2021

Great fit, versatile, but not very warm

I purchased this after the original R1 hoody neither fitted me in sizes M or L, and thought that this would be a step up. The Medium tech face giddy fits me perfectly and is very comfortable, perfect for endurance activity on a cool day. That said, it doesnt insulate as much as I thought it would (as the original R1) if youre not moving, and found ... Read Moremyself having to add more layers on 30-45 degree days..

March 23, 2021

Versatile, comfortable, lightweight and warm

Versatile, comfortable, lightweight and warm

March 23, 2021

Not quite a breathable as

Not quite a breathable as I’d hoped, pit zips would be a test addition but I’m. It picking here.

March 23, 2021

Great jacket. On freezing temperatures

Great jacket. On freezing temperatures could be a bit cold, but works great between 2-14C while adding/removing layers underneath. Size fits perfectly, 174cm/68kg.

March 15, 2021

Love this jacket!

Comfortable, sleek design, weather resistant and moves with me when I climb, hike, bike, or run! I got this jacket and havent taken it off since!

March 14, 2021

Instantly my Best Layer

I work in the outdoor industry (as a software developer for FATMAP so not a guide but I do have to be out testing a lot) and I live in Chamonix, France. Living in an area as drastic and extreme as Chamonix means you could be trail running one day and skiing the next. I needed to replace a touring layer that got ruined a few weekends ago and decided... Read More to go for this one. It seems just warm enough to keep the wind off and be good for cold, uphill travel. What I didnt realize is how versatile this layer would be. Ive brought it with me on cold trail runs, ski tours, cold climbs, etc. It immediately earned its place in my pack (although it is usually on). The techface is just enough protection for a light wind or light drizzle or flurry and it is a game changer. Each day, I move closer to not even needing to bring a Gortex layer with me. I would recommend this 1000% to anyone doing any sport. Im a big summer camper as well and I know this will be used there as well. I cant think of any activity where I wouldnt use this except in extreme heat or downpour. The construction is solid and well made like most of Patagonias stuff and the repair-ability seems good too- meaning it seems like it would be easy to patch/fix if need be. In just 4 weeks time, this became one of my most important layers if not THE most important.

March 10, 2021

Extremely comfortable

Very comfortable, good looking and performs well. Light weight and perfect for late spring mornings and through the fall.

March 9, 2021

R1 hoody

I like the weight, feel & fit of the jacket. Great for the 40 degree whatever you are doing outside.

March 3, 2021

A bit of a quandary

Don't get me wrong. I like this jacket. I just can't figure out what it's good for. It doesn't hold my body heat. It doesn't stop the wind. It certainly isn't waterproof. And it's too baggy for a midlayer. On top of that, it has monkey arms. (I'm just shy of 6' tall and a medium is 2" too long in th... Read Moree sleeves.) I guess if you're hiking in 60 degree weather on a sunny day with only a light breeze this would be fine. Otherwise it's just a one pound anchor. But, hey, it looks good.

February 28, 2021

Super versitile

This is the perfect layer for skinning in the backcountry and skate skiing. Also works great for winter fat bike riding. I highly recommend it.

February 10, 2021

If you only can get one ...,

This is a very versatile jacket. It works for walking, biking, hiking and cool weather runs. The front zipper and vented back help you adapt to changing small changes in conditions so you can stay dry and comfortable

February 7, 2021

Great jacket

Only had it a few days before I wore it on a cold mountain bike ride. It began to lightly rain which I didnt expect, but I stayed dry and warm the whole ride. Just another great product by Patagonia! Thank you!

February 3, 2021

Ultra comfortable as long as you don’t sweat too much.

Feels so good on your body and packs a lot of heat for it’s thickness. I wish it would be more breathable though. It’s quite moist on the inside after a mountainbike ride or run in temperatures around freezing. Really like the longer sleeves. Best fitting Patagonia top I own. Usually they are a bit too short.

February 2, 2021

Perfect hoodie

Light weight

February 1, 2021

Great hoody

Comfortable and very versatile, for any occasion. True to size, looks great after multiple washes. Got those in few colors. Can be a midlayer for freezing weather, or just use it over a t shirts, when temps are in the 40°

January 28, 2021

BEST LAYER EVER

This is my go to piece from Patagonia... They build a ton of amazing clothing but I find my self leaving the house with the tec face almost every day. Sheds wind well, breathable, stretchy... Great for a cold day on the trail or a bluebird day touring. Not overly techy looking to wear around town as well. Would love to see some more variety in colo... Read Morers/ patterns in these in the future...

January 25, 2021

Magic hoody

Love this piece. So light its almost not there but just enough insulation combined with the outer layer that cuts down wind - super comfortable. At first the hood visor took some getting used to but after a fast downhill in a little snow squall when I could still see because of the visor, Im sold.

January 24, 2021

Best Hoody Ive Purchased

Great wind and scuff resistance. Its very warm for how thin it is. Packable for those fluctuating temperature days hiking. Highly recommend.

January 22, 2021

Works really well.

Hoodie is a little thinner than I thought it would be. Starting the exercise session or sitting idle can feels a little cold. Once your heart rate takes off and your body starts sweating, the product works as advertised. Just wished the sleeves had adjustable slings. It would definitely make the whole experience more snug.

January 21, 2021

Super versatile

I have only had this for a few weeks, but already I've got it in my rotation and have been wearing it pretty consistently. Awesome mid layer that has great range of motion, but also keeps back light rain and makes the windchill a non-issue. Climbing in it was great and I forgot I had it on for a few routes. Just what I wanted!

January 20, 2021

base layer

This is great as a base layer or for early fall/late spring climbing. Stretchy, too.

January 20, 2021

Great, Versatile Hoody

Bought this product for a variety of outdoor uses; mountain biking, hiking, nordic skiing, among other things. In short, it has been great. Have been wearing it for nordic skiing in Minnesota with a wool base layer underneath and with temps from aprox 15 F to 35 F I have been quite comfortable. I run warm and this has kept me comfortable without ov... Read Moreerheating. Also does a decent job of blocking wind. I look forward to using it as an outer layer for mountain biking this spring as well. Great product, would recommend.

January 14, 2021

Super Comfy

I was a bit hesitant about spending $180 on a tech hoodie. This is my first jacket with stretchy material, and wow! This jacket is so comfy. I havent used it in cold temps yet...Winter decided not to come to California this year. Its fairly light weight, breathes well...oh yeah, the sleeves are long enough for my orangutan arms. Im 61 175 lbs

January 2, 2021

a more technical R1

This replaced an old neon green full zip crew R1 that is wearing thin after years of use. I'm not replacing the loud green with the cool navy of this R1 tech face bc this one is not as soft; it is however more windproof, water-resistant and maybe a little warmer. At 5'9" and 175-180 pounds a large is just right allowing a little room... Read More for wool or synthetic base layer. After a 10 or 20 minute warm up hike/ski/run this piece with the appropriate base-layer is all that is needed down to the teens depending on how you react to the cold. I tend to perspire a lot so I have to start cold and wait for the warm up, then the regulator works, although I can still be soaking after heavy up-hill exertion and then additional regulation of removing hat, gloves and fully unzip. The two outside pockets are great as is the small inside left pocket. Getting to know the tightening mechanism on the hood, which fits over or under a helmet. It's nice to finally have a full zip hoodie!

January 1, 2021

Wanted the Orange Color but only in mens small. Usually wear extra small in Most of Patagonia

Really nicely designed, but as usually it runs large...

December 30, 2020

My husband loves this hoody

Practical, fits well, he has a few and wanted another.

December 29, 2020

Great technical piece

Purchased for mountain biking, but have been using for everything including hiking, running, and snowboarding. I live in the currently wet and cold PNW and have been mountain biking and running the trails here. This piece has performed much better than expected, keeping me dry and cool on intense 50 minute mountain bike climbs, and warm and comfy o... Read Moren the fast descents (with only a dry fit T underneath). It seems to take abuse very well as slamming on my bike and snowboard haven't fazed it at all. I love it. Super versatile and excellent performance.

December 29, 2020

Lightweight and Versatile

I'm 5'6, about 165 lb. The medium is fitted in the torso and not too long. The sleeves are long for me (no surprise) but they look fine cuffed/rolled. The overall look and feel are great. I've been wearing it casually most days and on bike rides. The hood does work OK under a helmet, as suggested in the pictures, but it takes some ... Read Morefiddling to make it comfortable. The hot ember color is bright but not too bright. I wouldn't mind if the jacket were a little more insulated, but it's versatile and layers well under other jackets and vests.

December 18, 2020

Great for tall guys

This jacket fits very streamlined and long in the body and arms which is awesome for the tall guys.

December 15, 2020

Lightweight and warm

While this won't stop wind, on a calm day it's a great layer of warmth in a really lightweight and small package. Soft inside, fits "snug" compared to other items with the same sizing label, but as a mid-layer it's perfect.

December 10, 2020

Great jacket Dad!

The first time I wore it my daughter said great jacket dad makes you look slim ! Say no more... but I will ...so comfy and warm feels great and the fit is slimming without being tight. Very cool. Love the jacket!

December 8, 2020

Just right

Its just warm enough without adding any bulk

December 6, 2020

Great fit, comfort, durability

This is a great fit, durable and very comfortable. No complaints!

December 2, 2020

Versatile and functional!

Love this jacket and end up using it way more than I ever expected! It is light and breathable, but also blocks wind really well and sheds snow pretty well when ski touring. The hood fits well and stay in place with high winds. I got the XL since I like the slightly longer fit and style. Overall, I think this is a great piece to have in the jacket ... Read Morequiver and comes with the same level of Patagonia quality/function as we know and love!

November 29, 2020

Excellent jacket

This jacket fits great. It is excellent for cool days in Northeast Indiana.

November 25, 2020

Comfortable

I really like this coat although a collar would keep the neck warmer.

November 10, 2020

The Perfect Jacket

As someone who likes to be outside year-round, even when the weather doesnt cooperate, this jacket has proven to be a godsend. It blocks wind and rain, letting me be active longer without a chill. With the ability to block moisture and wind, one would expect this jacket to not breathe, but it absolutely does. I would (and have) recommend this to an... Read Moreyone

October 31, 2020

Comfortable cool weather layer

This is a good layer for cooler weather activities. I've used it climbing and hiking in the 50s and 60s and it has been the right amount of insulation while not being obtrusive.

October 28, 2020

Another great product fr Patagonia

I made the mistake of buying the mango color of the exact same product. Way too bright for mountain biking! Plus it would get dirty way too fast or show the dirt. This color is sharp looks first class looks a lot smaller. Everything about it is well thought out from the hood to the zippers to the pull tabs to make it smaller. You have to wear this ... Read Moretype of fabric to feel the stretch it's really great. I used it for mountain biking at 9,000 ft but it wasn't that cold. I'm sure with practice you could have just a single Capilene layer underneath or you could add a puffy on the outside and be perfectly fine.

October 12, 2020

They removed the chest pocket this year :(

Super bummer that they removed the chest pocket on this years model. I was climbing with my amigo yesterday when we realized it, he has last years version. While wearing a harness, the side hip pockets are hard to access so the chest pocket becomes essential. Please, please bring in back :)

Response from Patagonia
December 5, 2020

Thanks for the valuable and detailed feedback, Travis! We did move the chest pocket from exterior to interior of this jacket between 2019 and 2020. Please don't hesitate to [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us if you prefer to return or exchange it!

October 3, 2020

Top product

In all respects nice product, highly recommended

September 15, 2020

Another great product fr Patagonia

Been wearing the brand since 1988, needed something for above 9.000' mtn biking near Park City, UT. Stretchy, excellent 'build' as I didn't like the super thin offerings. This probably is a classic, hood fits fine over a real bike helmet, not some baggy heavy jacket. Will report how it does this Fall.

August 11, 2020

Perfect Spring and Fall Jacket for Northern AZ

The grid insulation and the windproof Techface work great for the hard spring winds we get in northern AZ as well as the chilly mornings we have in the fall. The jacket never leaves my pack from late March through October; great for monsoons (with supplemental umbrella for the big downpours) in the Canyon and hiking hard in the fall. Good warmth to... Read More weight ratio, full zip means good venting, and the Techface makes it less subject to abrasion and even stops an occasional shower. Great, athletic fit keeps it from being too baggy.

June 17, 2020

My Go-To

My only problem with this hoody is I don't have 2 of them. I wear this piece more than any other item I own. I love the durability. I should have ripped it 100 times by now and the fabric keeps shrugging it off. This is a perfect outer-layer when you're working hard and you want an outer layer for protection, but won't overheat you. ... Read MoreI love the hood and the big chest pocket (they may have moved that pocket to an internal zipper). It fits great under a harness. I'm 6'3" 205lbs and have an XL. It's a tiny bit big, but works out when I wear layers under it.

May 21, 2020

Near perfect.

I have two versions of this jacket, the current version did away with the exterior chest zip pocket - I really miss this! Otherwise this is a beautiful jacket, love it. Im 60/175# and sized right between M and L - went with the large as the medium is just a bit too snug but the large is really a bit too big. Patagonia, please bring back the exterio... Read Morer chest pocket next year!

May 8, 2020

good fabrick but i needs a few tweeks

i think the cuffs should be like the techface r2 where there is a seam that is tighter to keep it from always falling over your hands and i like the hood on the r2 better .. it makes for a better underlayer that way.. atleast fix the cuffs please.

April 26, 2020

Perfect Jacket

Great for runs and walks. Fits perfect and super comfortable. Nice as a stand alone jacket in cooler weather and work weak as a layer. Best jacket Ive owned.

April 24, 2020

4 season perfect

I brought this hoodie right before the winter holidays 2019....it has been snowshoeing, winter hiking, road trips from Vancouver Wa to Boise ID. it was a great layer under a puffy now that it is warmer it is a breathable warm outer layer. With corvid-19 I have only worn it in neighborhood walks. I highly recommend this gear for any one kit.

March 8, 2020

Great companion for urban and outdoor.

A great multi purpose jacket that blocks wind n light rain. I love its comfortable fabric with some elastic element. I own the previous version which has the chest pocket outside of the jacket. Worn for a year n have absolutely no complaints!! I m 172cm broad shoulder muscle build and M is perfect for me. The sleeve is a bit too long but can be rol... Read Moreled up without anyproblem. Good job patagonia!!!

February 21, 2020

Amazing jacket for mountain biking and much more!

This jacket is amazing for mountain biking and much more! It has a wide range of temperatures from 10-40 and is breathable enough to keep you comfortable and dry. The fit is amazing and the breathability to warmth ratio is second to none. This jacket is great for mountain biking or any other sport where you put off a lot of heat in cool weather. My... Read More wife and I both have one and we wear them all the time. Ive been wearing this for over two years now and it shows almost no signs of wear.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches