Back to Product

Ms Simul Alpine Pants

Write Your Review

4.0/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 32
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 21 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Simul Alpine Pants

4.0/5
April 9, 2021

Simul Alpine Pants

super nice! good fit and design, very subtle and not in your face meaning i can wear them pretty much anywhere. the only thing I can put my finger on is the two zippers in the front ? when are you ever going to need two ?

April 1, 2021

Very dexterous pants slightly long but enough room for thin base layer

Very dexterous pants slightly Long but enough room for base layer

March 28, 2021

Really comfy pair of trousers

Really comfy pair of trousers although a little baggier than I was expecting. I've climbed and hiked in them and they perform well. I was impressed by how wind proof they were.

March 25, 2021

Poor workmanship

I had these pant for about 8 months. Climbed in them for about 6 times. Climbed devils tower and went on a few hikes with them. The stitching around the waist has completely failed. I can no longer wear them. After paying that much you think they would last longer than a year.

Response from Patagonia
March 25, 2021

Hi Andy, we absolutely agree, we hope to build product that lasts much longer than that. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know and apologize for the troubles this caused. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us and we'd be happy to get you in a new pair.

March 16, 2021

Great winter touring pant.

Love these pants for winter activities. X-country ski, fat bike, skiing, snowshoeing, etc. They block the wind, cold, and snow and perfect with light Capilene in freezing temps. Very comfortable material stretches during high use and holds up well. Slim fit means slim! Im a heavier athletic build and wear a 38 waist and these are a little tight in ... Read Morethe waist, loose around hips, butt, and crotch, then slim in the legs again. I tried the next size up and they were way too big.

March 12, 2021

Solid Cooler Weather/Winter Pants

I was looking for something with a bit warmer and more weather resistant than my Patagonia Quandry's for Maine winter activities. So far, these pants are close to perfect for what I need. I'm a slim guy (5'10" 140lbs). It's hard finding pants that fit me. The size 28 fits perfectly. The leg openings fit over my boots snuggl... Read Morey in a way that keeps deep (2-3 feet) out of my boots if I posthole or step off trail. I've used them in high winds and near zero temps, snowshoeing, XC skiing, and spending a weekend hauling firewood. Paired with a wool base layer, these pants have performed well in all conditions. They shed light snow well, but in really harsh conditions, I use a hard shell overtop. My only complaint is the button as a belt adjustment.

February 25, 2021

Favorite Ice Climbing Pants

Love these pants. Lightweight and warm enough with a base layer. Sheds snow and water to stay relatively dry all day.

February 18, 2021

Perfect

This is my second pair. They fit great, pockets are just the right size and location, length matches perfectly with my boots. The only thing I wish for would be reinforced insides where boots rub or crampons may catch – I ripped my other pair there, it's duct taped together for now until I get a new sewing machine and fix it properly.

February 14, 2021

Practical and Warm

Fantastic light weight snow pants. Waterproof in new england winter storm conditions. Warm and practical for snow storms and work.

February 12, 2021

Not quite what it once was.

I had two pair of the previous versions and they were incredible. This year there was an update to the fit and the material. The new material is great - stretchy, stays with you and repels water. The fit leaves a little to be desired. They feel baggier than the same size in previous versions. I don't notice it so much when I'm climbing, b... Read Moreut on the approach it frustrates me. The belt also leaves a lot to be desired. It's finicky. I'd like to see belt loops on the next pair. The weight is minimal compared to the pants staying where you want them. Otherwise, these pants are great in the mountains, ice climbing, shoulder season rock climbing or lounging on the couch.

February 2, 2021

Great pant- disappointing crafstmanship

Great pants for winter hiking. super breathable yet warm. The only problem is on of the pant pockets. The seam which is glued came undone after the 4th time wearing them and now i have to return them.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Hello Mason, we're truly sorry that the glued seam became undone. This definitely shouldn't be happening this early on so please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty. If you have any questions regarding our return process, don't hesitate to reach out to our customer service team as well.

January 26, 2021

Solid Tech Pant

For my height this pant is little bit long although the design and articulation is still awesome. Very happy

January 2, 2021

Great pants

I purchased these for my husband after getting some for myself. They run small but otherwise the fit for him is good; we wear over a base layer when it is cold or wet out (MA).

January 2, 2021

Great pants that could be better

Love these pants, they are my favorite for playing in the high Rockies year round. Great combination of breathe-ability and water resistance. With a nice pair of merino wool long johns they are super warm for days out in the snow and on the ice. The button adjustable belt is a cool idea in theory, but does not work well and is a genuine nuisance. T... Read Morehese pants also dont have belt loops! Doh.. If Patagonia would go back to the previous edition with webbing belt loops (and the built in button belt) these pants would be 4+ stars in my book. Theyd be even better without the dinky button belt and solid belt loops instead. Gonna wait till this happens to buy my next pair :) That being said, if you do buy these make sure you get the right size as you will be pissed if you have to rely on the button belt to keep them on.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on our Simul Alpine Pants. We appreciate you voicing your opinion on the button closure, we're always looking to improve on design so your review helps us accomplish that. Until the new iteration comes out, we'd recommend checking out our [Men's Calcite Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-calcite-pants/85000.html?dwvar_85000_color=BLK&cgid=root) as they have a similar look and feel and include a built in web belt.

December 24, 2020

Versatile

These are some great pants, I bought them for winter fat biking and they keep me warm and dry with and without a base layer. I have worn them sledding with a base layer and they are great, pockets for snacks etc. super comfortable and really durable!

December 1, 2020

Love the fit and material but there is a functional problem.

I love the material and fit of the Simul Alpine Pants. I love having a leg pocket, but the side leg pocket is too low on the leg and too far to the outside. Anything I place in the side pocket bumps into my knee when I move. The size of the pocket is great - fits a phone - but the placement of the pocket is too close to the knee. This functional pr... Read Moreoblem is too annoying to overlook the wonderful fit and material. So close to perfect. I hope the design team will fix this by moving the pocket slightly up the leg and more medial to make the Simul Alpine pant THE perfect pant for any activity.

November 30, 2020

ideal, size up if you are a athletic build

I ordered originally a 28" waist. which was true to size round the waist. however they were were more like a slim/ skinny fit on my legs. i am an athletic shame, but i don't have big legs. my friends call me sparrow legs. These were way to tight so i exchanged them for a 30 waist. once they are synched up round my waist they are great. go... Read Moreod pockets comfortable durable material. I really like the draw cord in the cuffs to. these are simply light high practical pants for cool temp climbs and the alpine. they are not super warm but an ideal thickness for summer rock in the places like UK, Norway etc. in the right size these are now my go too softshell.

November 26, 2020

Awesome Pant, But major flaw

Awesome pant for cross country and tele skiing. Just shell enough to block the elements but breaths well (not waterproof but decently resistant). Only issue is the built in belt system destroyed these pants after one season. I have tried to sow it back but to no avail. Its a real fickle thing. In perfect condition and built to last, but the integr... Read Moreated belt system literally destroyed it. Ill give this feedback to Patagonia and see what they'll do. Sucks because this happened at day 1 ski season #2.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2020

Hi Garret, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about this flaw and that you were only able to use them one time. We definitely want to help you out with this so we've reached out directly with further assistance.

August 26, 2020

Great Pant

I bought this pant for cold days at the crag and missions in the alpine. So far this pant has been amazing even in 70 degree weather craging. This will be my go to pant for days in the fall and early spring. The pant is super comfortable and has great stretch so no movement is restricted. This pant could also be great for spring skis when the its t... Read Moreo hot to wear regular gore-tex pants. Overall I love this pant and I can already tell these will last me years of consistent use. The only down side is that the side packets are a little low so your phone or whatever else kinda rubs by your knee which can be annoying. But other than that I LOVE THESE THINGS!!!!!!!!

April 25, 2020

Just what you need

Fit: I got these pants despite difficulties with the fit of other Patagonia pants in the past. This one fits me just fine but I would prefer it to taper even more at the ankles BUT the tights are roomy and you can truly adjust the waist as the adjustment is not stretchy. Features: the features are just what you need and no fancy extras that bulk u... Read Morep unter a climbing harness. Pockets are positioned good. Minor remark: The Zipper-pulls sometimes get caught when I clip drawers to my harness. Fabric: Fabric seams robust but I can not tell yet after just 3 rough days of climbing. The pants feel nice against the skin and don't stick when you sweat. Conclusion: Great pants - just what you need for rock-climbing.

April 14, 2020

Academic Integrity

I bought these for late spring early summer fieldwork in the Sierras. I'm an academic and not usually in the wilderness (even though I'm a climber). So I did considerable research to find the best pants for the trip. (a trip that might not happen now because of COVID-19). So here's a review anyway: The pants are more substantial than... Read More they look online. The outside of them has a slightly slick smooth nylon polish and the inside is textured ever so slightly, adding some durability and warmth, as well. I'm wearing them all over Philly right now during early spring so they are facing a range of temperatures. Like other products like nano puff, these pants have a HUGE comfort range. Yesterday I wore them to walk my dog in 78 degree weather. This morning, I did the same in 33 degree weather and these pants kept me very comfortable in both situations. Never cold or hot. Just right. They are also fairly breathable in aerobic activities. I ran in them the other day (50s outside) and I sweated a lot but the pants never clung to my skin. I biked in 70 degree weather and they didn't cling to me until it started raining and they got damp. The features on these pants are great. No need to list them here. But I would personally prefer to have one or two back zip pockets, too. Sure, they would not be used while wearing a harness or pack, but whoever buys these will wear them everywhere because they are so comfortable. As to fit, I'm 5'11'' and 160 lbs. With most pants I wear a 32 or 33/32. With patagonia, I usually size up because 32 or 33 is usually too tight for me (I like my pants to sit on my hips). So I went with a 34. The pants fit loosely while not looking baggy. They are a bit long now which looks awkward with some of my shoes, but this isn't really a big deal. Shorter folks with the same waist sizing needs might be out of luck, though. As to performance against fit, the side pockets hang down around my knees which means I can't really make use of them without items in the pockets swinging around every time I move. Perhaps next iteration they could be moved higher on the thighs (I'm accounting for my personal sizing - the pockets could be moved higher for anyone and nothing would be lost). And lastly, when I high step, because of how the inseam falls (due to my sizing choice), the pant legs sometimes catch on my knees. I can solve this by hiking the pants up and tightening the belt. And it's worth it for them to fit comfortably. All in all, a wonderful pair of tough, versatile pants!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches