Back to Product

Ms R1® Air Zip-Neck

Write Your Review

4.7/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 94 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R1® Air Zip-Neck

4.7/5
April 28, 2021

Fit

Its very comfortable, fit and warm. I really like it.

April 25, 2021

Great Everyday Fleece

Its warm enough to be worn on its own, and light enough to wear as a base layer. Love it.

April 21, 2021

Really Impressed

Love the fit and feel of this shirt. It's a great active or casual wear shirt. My first choice for cold weather running (30*F-50*F). I wear other sweaters in Patagonia and this one fits true to size like it was tailored for me. I have been wearing Medium for a few years.

April 12, 2021

Small but important design defect

I bought this shirt based in part on the pocket - I like to keep my cellphone in a breast pocket. Unfortunately, the pocket is too small to fit the phone. I have a Pixel 4 (regular size, not the large one). This is a really basic fundamental detail that would have been easily remedied if they had checked on it. All of my other Patagonia garments ha... Read Moreve a pocket that is large enough for the same phone. The pocket really has no other use, so how they messed it up is a mystery. If that feature is important to you, give this one a miss. I'm keeping the shirt because it is otherwise very nice. Fit and finish are good, the collar is comfortable, I like the color (Industrial Green) and the fabric is as warm as usual with the R1 series. They just need to fix the pocket size.

April 10, 2021

Very badly wanted to like it

My comments are related to fit. Slim fit is often a challenge, as Patagonia effectively sizes down the product vs just reducing excess material. This usually means a restrictive fit that's uncomfortable in the shoulders, upper back and arm holes and the R1 Air is sadly no exception. But there is inconsistency across products; for example, the ... Read MoreR1 Techface, also slim fit, is much more comfortable. I'd rather have R1 Air. The other problem is that this is too short in the torso (much shorter than mentioned R1 Techface) and in fact it's not even long enough to cover Patagonia's own Capilene Cool Daily tee. In addition to looking stupid, this means chilly air hits your back when you bend forward. Patagonia is known for its short torso design - perhaps for fashion reasons but I personally have a strong bias for function, fit, comfort and versatility. I wish I could wear Patagonia's slim fit - it would open much more of their product family to me. Ironically, at 6'2" and 160lbs, I am slim! I've tried sizing up, but large is too big even in the slim cut. This is a great piece if it fits and then lucky you!

April 7, 2021

Very comfortable, warm and breathable piece!

I hesitated between this R1 Air Zip-Neck and the R1 Fleece Pullover. After reading reviews all over the internet, I finally went with the R1 Air Zip-Neck, which turned out to be a really good choice. The R1 Air is lightweight, warm, breathable and very comfortable to wear. So far I haven't experienced any issues with the R1 Air with a shirt be... Read Moreneath that some reviewers were experiencing with the R1 Fleece Pullover. I'm really happy with R1 Air and can highly recommend it for any active outdoor activities!

April 3, 2021

Nice but fit is off

Have had the R1 Air for over two months now, replacing my 20 year old R1. The fabric is excellent - very breathable and warm for its weight. I also like the half cuffs. However, the fit is too large. I am 62, 180 with a 43 L suit size, which is in the middle of the size for a large, and the garment definitely has a relaxed fit, not the slim fit tha... Read Moret was noted in the description. In addition, there are a couple of itchy spots in the forearms along the seams. I give the R1 Air a qualified recommendation- if you want a more technical fit, then size down.

April 1, 2021

Great but could be improved (please read design team)

I had a R1 I use all the time, wanted something lighter. 1. I use my current R1 while traveling as it has a hidden pocket behind the quarter zip. This is really handy when I'm traveling through areas with high pickpockets or if I was mugged it is a safe stash. I've used it in over 30+ countries and this small hidden area is really valua... Read Moreble to me and is peace of mind. This prominent outside pocket defeats that purpose. 2. I wish there was also a full zip version available.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2021

Hey Jonathan, thanks for taking the time to write this review. This is great feedback and we've passed it along to our Design Team.

March 31, 2021

Warm and Comfortable

Perfect balance between warmth comfort and wicking capabilities. Cannot find anything negative about this great top. Have recommended it to several friends

March 31, 2021

My Favorite Fleece

This thing is handsome and so wonderfully comfortable. It does a good job cutting the wind but it breathes so well that I can leave it on with temps up to 70 degrees. Pair it with a light down and your good into the 40's. It's very versatile. It is not my most packable mid-layer, but when you can use it across such a range of temps its ki... Read Morend of ok (even in the backcountry or on a long motorcycle journey where space is at a premium)

March 30, 2021

Mid Layer

Very comfy, stretchy and fits well. It's my new mid layer for long backpacking trips.

March 28, 2021

Cosy

Great mid or base brought as a mid for cold conditions but have used a great base f-r just walking the dog. Soft and not itchy next to skin. Typical Patagonia quality great.

March 27, 2021

M’s R1 fleece

Expensive but XS size great for my 165cm tall thin teenager. He loves it. It’s got good green credentials as well.

March 25, 2021

Good warmth to weight ratio. Athletic fit easy to layer.

Great mid Wright layer or stand alone peice on chilly days.

March 25, 2021

Warm and light

I was looking for something to pack when I needed an extra layer to add warmth yet not be too heavy or bulky and this fleece sweater fits the bill! Looks nice too. Another good Patagonia product. Its not overly roomy, so not ideal for wearing over more bulky layers.

March 24, 2021

SIMPLY THE BEST

SIMPLY THE BEST

March 23, 2021

Great product

Great product, great fit, great quality.

March 23, 2021

The perfect fleece?

This is superb. The fit is perfect. I use this as a mid layer in cold weather. Very breathable, hardwearing and the right amount of insulation for active use. Love it

March 23, 2021

Excellent garment

cosy, practical, light and warm

March 23, 2021

Excellent

Perfect fit, super comfy, very soft to the touch, long zip very convenient to regulate body heat. Top of zip is protected so does not feel cold or neck when fully closed.

March 21, 2021

Great fleece with a couple of issues

In general I love this fleece which is contradictory to my rating. I love the fit, the warmth, and the weight. Its fantastic! However, the misses leave me frustrated. 1) black fades pretty bad after one wash 2) bought in Late December and it is already piling pretty badly 3) pocket barely holds iPhone 7, so good luck with a new phone 4) breathable ... Read Morein that wind goes through it but doesnt regulate heat like my stretch nano storm (my favorite jacket ever). Today I was super hot in 50 degree weather standing around. I put on my stretch nano storm and I was fine (just bought nano air based on stretch nano storm experience) Its little details that make the difference in this being ok and great. I hope they fix these minor items. Also fit is significantly different than the r1s. Note the three r1s fits are all different and only the quarter zip fit true to size imho.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Hi Brian, we're so sorry to hear about the disappointment with your Men's R1 Air Zip-Neck Fleece. We want you to be happy with your gear and if you're not, you're more than welcome to make a return or exchange. You can begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

March 17, 2021

the best Patagonia yet

I would live in this fleece if it were socially acceptable. I work remotely so I try to switch up my tops, but this one is my favorite to wear by far. Besides being cozy and fitting really well (6', 180lbs, size M), it breathes so well that whether my office is sweltering or freezing, I stay comfortable. I've used this as a layer while re... Read Moresort skiing and backcountry skiing and it dumps heat and moisture like nothing else, and yet still keeps me warm on blustery days. Can't say enough good things about this new R1 Air!

March 12, 2021

Great Idea

The concept is great. The body fit is good. The sleeves are too short. Thats a show stopper for me. Ill look some where else. Thats too bad. My older R1 mediums fit great. The new design doesnt work for me.

March 10, 2021

One of my favorite jackets now.

I have 10+ year old R1 zip jacket that I take everywhere and it is my favorite jacket. I tried out the new Air R1 and love the feel of the jacket, a mix of sweatshirt and sweater. It is very light weight but it has incredible warmth for its weight. It compacts down smaller than my older R1. I went with a large as the medium was a little shorter in ... Read Morethe arms and more of a slim fit - I think for technical base layer I'd stick with a medium but for an around town, keep in the truck the large is a better fit (to go over button up shirts).

March 8, 2021

Super light, warm, and cozy BUT the black color is not black at all

There is some sorcery in this fleece I have no idea how it's this comfortable and temp regulating for how thin it is. It keeps me at a perfect cozy temp at all times. 6'2" 175lbs and tried medium and large, went with large. Perfect fit that can be layered over a tshirt no problem, unlike the current R1 (non-air) revision which is way... Read More too tight, and for some reason thinner/less warm than the Air. Zip pocket is a little small, but my tiny phone and wallet fit in it. Any smartphone users, it won't fit in there. IMO the Air would look a lot better if the chest pocket was internal (like the R1) instead of this external patch pocket. BUT I'm leaning towards returning it. I got the black color hoping it would be as black as the pictures, but it's definitely dark brown, no matter what light it's in. It's a very faded, worn-out attempt at black. Not a flattering color to me. Did I get a bad batch? Was hoping to try out the Green after this brown disappointment but they're all sold out. Still very on the fence. Sad that basically only the color is negatively affecting my decision.

March 8, 2021

Cozy, unique zigzag fabric zip Turtle

Cool zigzag fabric, great Crater blue color, nice to have a small zip pocket on the chest. Perfect casual & sport wear. I dont wear for work because knit fabric might snag.

March 8, 2021

Great fabric...sizing is too tight

Great material. Too tight for me. Bought size Large 6ft 1" 170lbs 44" chest. Tight in chest area. If worn as next-to-skin baselayer this may work. If you intend to wear over a merino shirt (short or long sleeve) then this is too tight. I may buy the XL and see if that works. But often the XL is too long in the sleeve and torso for me.

March 8, 2021

Warm and light

The fit was what I expected, so far so good. Used it on a mountain bike ride in the high 30's with just a nylon vest over top stayed plenty warm. Seemed to wick and dry quickly. Would love to have a couple more.

March 7, 2021

True to size?

This is on of the few products I have bought lately thats is true to size for me. 180 lbs, 6 and I order a large. Most of the other large products I order are way to big.

March 6, 2021

Great product

All Patagonia works well Not cheap But worth the money

March 5, 2021

Perfect Weight & Comfortable

Got this as Valentines gift for my husband, he has several of the other R series. Loves it and wears it for all his outdoor activities.

March 5, 2021

Warm and Breathable

Great layer!

March 4, 2021

Awesome top, Except

I've been looking forward to acquiring the piece for a long time. Finally got one and it's super warm, soft, comfy and fits well for me. Unfortunately, however; it starts to stink and hold odor as soon as I start to sweat. A huge bummer! I have several other R1 and R2 pieces, and they never smell- What happened, Patagonia?

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

We're sorry your fleece is holding smells. We recommend washing it with 1 part white vinegar to 1 part water and that should resolve the issue.

March 4, 2021

Warm & Soft

This is my new go to shirt. After 10+ years with my last R1I finally had to part with it. That was a sad day. Was afraid the new version just wouldn't be the same, but pleasantly surprised. Same great fit, same warmth and softer feel. Hope to get as many years from this one.

March 4, 2021

Very light and nice layer

Seems like a nice light breathable layer for use in Winter and the ADK High Peaks. I haven't had a chance to really put alot of miles in it. But I am happy so far!

March 2, 2021

Great product

Comfortable, warm and typical Patagonia quality.

March 2, 2021

Flexible

I wear this on its own during heavy activity or under a warm jacket while stationary. This is an awesome piece of clothing and love the texture and feel!

March 2, 2021

Soft and Warm

It is perfect for layering under a light jacket for morning walks.

March 2, 2021

Great quality but runs small

Loved the feel of the material and finish but unfortunately it was too small which was strange as I've bought several other Patagonia products all in size medium. The length in the torso was the issue for me. Ended up giving this to my son for the rest of the ski season so at least someone won in the end!!

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2021

Thank you for the review on our R1 Air Zip-Neck Fleece. We're sorry that the size didn't work out for you, but glad that your son is getting some use out of it. For future, you're welcome to make an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a bigger size.

March 2, 2021

New R-1 Air

This item is effective in non-windy conditions, otherwise effective when worn as a mid-layer because it is not wind-proof due to the porousness of the wave pattern.

March 2, 2021

Crazy lightweight but really warm

The fit is snug but really comfortable because of the 360 stretch. Super lightweight fir the level of warmth, and not too warm when youre moving. Very happy.

March 2, 2021

Amazing

1st time purchasing an R1 and I couldn't be happier I did! The weight to warmth ratio is the "amazing" part to me. It is super comfortable, extremely light weight and warm. I wore it with a tee shirt underneath to work and I was legitimately overheating at times. It unzips more like 1/2 way vs 1/4 which is great to let the heat out. ... Read MoreI'm 5'11", 185lbs and the large fits me perfectly. It is definitely more of a fitted garment than loose. Will absolutley be getting another one next time I score a discount code. Highly recommended!

March 2, 2021

Patagonia Men's R1® Air Zip-Neck Fleece

Absolutely love my Patagonia Men's R1® Air Zip-Neck Fleece. It's my go to over a t-shirt for chilly morning starts.

March 2, 2021

New R1 is superb

Went with a medium cause I have to size up on any slim fit Patagonia products. Love this new R1. Fits perfect and is a great base layer or just hanging out around camp as a main shirt. Looks awesome too with the new design pattern.

March 2, 2021

Super light weight, warm

The r1 zip neck fleece is very warn & soft. I bought it to wear with my new favorite Fits Roy Hoody. Both in the hot ember color. That combo is super warn, light weight & just like having a down sleeping bag on outside in windy, cold snowy weather. Like so much I bought one in black. Really like the way it fits at neck when zipped up.

March 2, 2021

Awesome

I love it. Comfortable, versatile, soft, excellently made. Surprisingly warm yet also not overheating

March 2, 2021

Comfortable & warm

Fits fine, light weight, compactable & warm. Zip pocket fits I phone.

March 2, 2021

Very nice... my very old original R1 needed replacing!

R1, especially when new is sooo warm. My only complaint is that the pocket is too small for a phone. Also need to add pants to the mix.... hopefully like the original R1 pants, with pockets and looser fit than the recent iterations.

March 2, 2021

Warm, comfortable and stylish

For now this is for casual wear but will soon be relegated to sweatier pursuits. Cut is slightly slim which is perfect. Arm and hem is likewise the perfect length for my (almost) 5'10" marathon-running frame. "Curvy" weave is eye-catching. Super happy with the purchase and expect to wear it for a long time as with everything Pat... Read Moreagonia.

March 2, 2021

Best yet

Replaced my better sweater

March 1, 2021

Pretty Awesome

Fleece has a great feel to it and fit is good. Good layer for a mild day.

March 1, 2021

Love it

I absolutely love how comfortable this clothing item/layering piece is. I wish the pocket was a little larger to better support a larger to phone but other than that, its awesome. Love the contrasting zipper color. I wish that was always an option with each piece Patagonia mix. This is yet another, homerun for Patagonia in the layering department. ... Read MoreIf I could do one other thing to make it perfect, it would have a elastic hem line at the bottom so I could use it under my fishing waders and have it not ride up.

March 1, 2021

Buy it NOW

I wish the front pocket was a little bit larger to better fit an iPhone 12 but every are R Patagonia makes is a must have!! I love love love the three-quarter zip front and the contrasting zipper color. I wish more of their products always had a contrasting zipper option. Buy it NOW! Im a woman who buys the mens as Im super busty and the Large is a... Read More little big but great over several layers Before I add a puff jacket . I specifically purchased the Mens because of the contrasting zipper and I also bought a womens extra large in the beautiful purple. Both I highly recommend!!

March 1, 2021

Awesome

Light weight and warm

March 1, 2021

Warm, yet breathes well

Needed a mid-layer for skiing, snow shoeing and this fits the bill. I wear it over a capilene base layer and under a shell in almost all winter weather and am able to regulate my core temp with ease.

March 1, 2021

Excellent product.

Really well made quality top. I would expect nothing else from Patagonia. Very comfortable a great addition to my kit.

February 28, 2021

Almost right

I love the R1 layers. They hit the sweet spot with the right combination of warmth and breath ability. Great for wearing around the house, on cool workouts outside or as an added base layer. Only bummer is that the chest pocket is too small for many modern smart phones where as the pocket on my traditional R1 is just right. Make the pocket a bit bi... Read Moregger and its 5 stars.

February 28, 2021

Works exactly right

for cross country skiing in high teens/ low 20's, a lightweight wool t shirt, the fleece and a windblocker shirt and its perfect. Moisture is wicked away and w/ the neck all the way unzipped I stay comfortably cool. Great design. ONLY nitpick, the neck zipper pull tab was to small to feel easily so I replaces it w/ a piece of paracord and a bi... Read Moregger knot. Great piece of kit.

February 27, 2021

Snug for a reason - I guess

I like the R1 line and have 5 items in my closet. R1Air is a whole new beast. First off, it looks like a handknit sweater passed down from your grand dad. Second, it fits like a 2nd skin. I cannot imagine the reviewer below claiming he got a base layer and t-shirt underneath! But that's the cool part: Against the skin lets this new R1 reach it... Read More's magical potential. It's definitely the warmest of the R1 products; but seems able to let your skin breathe and perspire oiut through the fabric. I dinged it one star because I am certain the elbows are going to blow out long before the reast of the garment shows much wear. I agree with the poster who suggests elbow patches of the same fabirc as the chest pocket. As long as you're OK with that risk point, I'd say give this breakthrough new R1 a try!

February 23, 2021

Best midlayer I’ve ever had.

Warm when I need it to. Breaths when I run. The best midlayer I’ve ever had. The versatility of this piece is just unbelievable.

February 23, 2021

The R1 is back!

The R1 has been my favorite goto piece from Patagonia. I wear one most days, year around in the mountains of Colorado. That said, in the last few years I haven't been replacing my almost 10 year old R1s. I would try the 'new' ones on and they were cut very large and seemed not as thick and not as warm. The latest R1 air fits like a ... Read Morebase layer should and like the R1s of many years ago (in my opinion). It's very warm! I have an R3 from about 8 years ago and the R1 air feels almost as warm. It breathes very well. I'm 5'11" @ 160 pounds. Patagonia mediums typically fit me perfectly.

February 23, 2021

Warm, comfortable, practical wear

Warm, comfortable, practical wear

February 22, 2021

Great Sweater! Longtime R1 Fan

Have 6 R1s, size medium. They fit snugly, particularly around the chest/torso (42 chest, 16 collar, 33 sleeve, size medium in most brands). Got this R1 Air in large based on Patagonia fit chart. Fits well in shoulders, a little more boxy around the torso/not as snug as medium R1. The R1s will be for work/running/outdoors. This one will be for wea... Read Morering around the house, as exterior is much more cozy/warmer appearing, and less "technical"/shiny, IMHO. Other reviews are spot-on. Better wear-around sweater than R1 since exterior is soft fleece zig-zag, not the slick polyester sheen. Downsides: No thumb loops, will it pill when this fleece encounters velcro on overjackets? Chest pocket barely holds an iPhone zipped - wished it was bigger/deeper like R1, so it can hold iPhone max.

February 22, 2021

Super comfortable

Big improvement on the old R1

February 21, 2021

Very Nice

I was looking for something not too heavy so I could wear indoors and not over heat. This pullover is pretty much ideal for that. It's very soft and comfortable. I'm 6 ft. 200 lbs. and the XL gives me a little extra room to wear shirts as a base layer. My regular size iPhone barely fits in the chest pocket if that's important to you.... Read More

February 20, 2021

Warm and comfy

Love this: light but warm and the zip neck allows for variations in temperature. Have used running, riding and around the house.

February 20, 2021

Very warm and comfortable

I've worn this on a few runs now and a bit just around the house. It's very well made, super soft and comfortable and very warm. I wear a medium T Shirt but brought a size small in this and it fits perfectly.

February 11, 2021

Fantastic

Really cozy sweater, very big fan. Runs a little small like the other R1 and the neck is a tad tight too. Besides these things absolutely love it and another home run hit

February 11, 2021

Elbows

Great technical mid-layer, used for Montana skiing at -7 F with a down jacket and non-insulated shell, and was cozy on the lift. The elbows wear very quickly however, developing a noticeable sheen within 2 weeks of wearing.

February 11, 2021

Light and Warm

Great snug fit - terrific piece that I think feels better against the skin than the classic R1.

February 11, 2021

Great jacket

Has the soft feel of a synchilla fleece but the warmth of an R1. Very lightweight compared to the warmth it provides. I am curious to see how it wears over multiple years of use.

February 10, 2021

Amazing polar

This polar is light, warm, and breathable, ideal for sports in cold weather.

February 9, 2021

The New and Improved

Though Ive never owned any of the earlier iterations of the R1, this fleece is definitely worth all of the hype. Its probably one of the comfiest pieces of clothing I own and can be worn as a thick base layer or mid layer. The medium pairs incredibly well with a size small capilene thermal base layer (Im 59 155lbs). That combo is built for serious ... Read Morecold if youre on the move. I wear it all the time underneath a medium nano puff hoody. I think its biggest selling point is that its a couple ounces lighter than the original, and yet somehow claims to be warmer and just as durable. The only complaints I have is the lack of thumb loops, the small chest pocket, and most importantly, the lack of a small piece of fleece to cover the zipper on your neck. The metal has a tendency to dig into your neck if you tuck your chin this could be easily avoided!

February 8, 2021

My new favorite fleece

I love this thing, and have been wearing it constantly for past several weeks. It's warm but lightweight and breathes incredibly well. I haven't worn it doing anything strenuous yet, and have some questions about how it would hold up in the backcountry relative to an R1 (which is less comfortable but has held up incredibly well).

February 6, 2021

Winter ready

Took it on an 11 mile hike in 5° weather with a 150 weight base layer and Capilene Tee underneath. It kept me plenty warm and wicked sweat with ease (had a shell that took on and off based in output and wind). I also wore this in the house everyday (and even slept in it) for the past 8-days to test it out. It barely stunk! However, I noticed that t... Read Morehe elbows developed some wear marks, flattening the pile of the fabric, giving it a noticeably different texture and look than the rest of the garment. It would be great if they made elbow patches using the same fabric as the chest pocket. I also noticed the fabric will hang on to all forms of lint (have the black so makes sense) and will pill slightly in the neck and in the forearms. Cosmetics and appearances aside, this piece is durable and feels built to last. The fit is also good. Medium fit comfortably for me at 57 160 lbs, size 38 in a suit jacket and small in dress shirt. I could layer underneath fairly easily without looking stuffed. However, if didnt layer it didnt look like a baggy mess. Its a great piece on the whole for those intending to be active, looking for functionality, and dont care about appearances.

February 4, 2021

Comfy and excellent fit

This is so comfy and warm that I have been using it almost everyday since receiving it. I really like the fit that is more or less athletic.

February 2, 2021

Quality R1 Patagonia

The sweater was well made, top rated Patagonia Quality. But the Cut is too small. Need to be designed with a little regular Fit

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Thanks for the review! The Men's R1 Air Zip-Neck Fleece is considered a slim fit, which might be why it feels the way it does for you. If you're interested in a regular fit fleece instead, check out the [Men's Long-Sleeved R1 Fitz Roy 1/4-Zip](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-r1-fitz-roy-quarter-zip-fleece/52722.html?dwvar_52722_color=BSNG&cgid=mens-fleece).

February 1, 2021

Light and Warm

I love it. 2 weeks skiing in the Colorado High County and it was always in my in my kit. Great for town as well. Very light, super warm. Chest pocket could be a little larger to store a phone, but that's a moving target....

February 1, 2021

Warm comfort

Super soft, warm as toast. Snug fit that nevertheless moves along with every move you make.

January 27, 2021

An Instant Classic

I don't often write product reviews, but I am really happy with the R1. It's slim fitting and runs a little small, but that's personally how I like my clothes to fit. This has been a work-from-home essential for me since I got it and I would feel comfortable wearing it in an actual office setting as well. I'm a casual runner and... Read More hiker and although I haven't worn it for either yet, I'm confident in its abilities as a mid layer. It is super warm and does a nice job dumping heat.

January 26, 2021

Awesome piece

Fits perfect. Im 511 and weigh 170lbs. Got a medium. Super comfy and warm.

January 26, 2021

Very light and warm .

Very light and warm .

January 25, 2021

Great fit, very comfortable

This hoodie has become my go-to lockdown top layer. Coming back to find another colour, now. Got the ember red.

January 25, 2021

Warm and breathable

Surprisingly warm for how breathable this pullover is. The green color looks great.

January 24, 2021

warm, breathable and comfy - sadly the sizing doesn't fit me

The R1 Air is super comfy, breathable and warm and I would love to use it, but a medium, which I usually wear is to short in the arms and length wise. The large fits perfectly regarding the length of the arms and the hoody but is much too baggy. I think I will have to return it and I hope that Patagonia will change the sizing of this hoody in the ... Read Morefuture - because I would really love to wear it. (From what I have read I am not the only one with these complaints regarding the sizing)

January 23, 2021

Crazy combo of warmth, breathability, and comfort

Don't know what to say about this piece other than that my wife is stealing it all the time. When she's not, I'm hoping it'll be chilly enough for me to wear. Size-wise, L is a slightly loose fit for me (5'10, 175lbs). I think I'm a tweener for Medium or Large and both would probably work.

January 20, 2021

Does the job

I've been looking for a warm layer I can wear on mountain bike rides. Needs to be toasty, pull sweat off my body, and breathe well enough to dry quickly. This piece is simple, effective, and priced right. Stoked!

January 18, 2021

An exceptionally light, exceptionally warm top

I am a huge fan mod the original r1. I still love it but I have a new favorite now. The air is so much lighter than the original! It feels like you arent wearing anything when you out it on. Yet its super warm. Its also very thin making mobility perfect in the r1 Air. I am so impressed, and cant wait for more colors to come out!

January 17, 2021

It is an excellent piece of clothing

It fits perfect it is very warm not to hot only one complain I have the front pocket is useless please remove it

January 17, 2021

All Day Comfort

The R1 Air performs, feels, and fits like a dream. I like the half hem cuff, half hem on the torso, and small chest pocket. The fit sits between slim and Regular. The torso is more of a normal length than the R1 which I really like. The brushed finish is super soft an both sides and lends to its breathability. Its also very light when it feels like... Read More it should weigh more. There is not a true zipper garage but rather 2 small fabric bumpers on each side. I have a beard and was happy to see that my beard didnt catch when fully zipped. I am 6/190 and L Fits perfectly. I bought one in green and then added a black as well. Im patiently waiting for the hoody to release. I would definitely recommend this to everyone.

January 15, 2021

From Couch to Trail and Back

Having owned an R1 from 2013, which is still going by the way, I opted for this newer version of the R1 because of its thicker pile both inside and out. It's as plush as the R1 from years past, but it lacks the abrasion resistant finish as on the R1. That said, its an ideal base layer for added warmth, running, trail-trekking, and chilling on ... Read Morethe couch with the heat turned low. The quality is outstanding as is often the case with Patagonian in general, but most noticeable on the first iteration of new products. The fit is slim so went up a size to accommodate the new dad bod. I would buy another one in a minute, but may opt for the hooded version when it become available. Very pleased with this purchase overall.

January 13, 2021

Never Want To Take Off!

Have you ever had that one sweater/jacket that you put on and you think "oh, oh, man.. this is the ONE". Soulmate jacket status? This is that kind of sweater/jacket for me. It's phenomenally warm and cozy, but at the same time extremely breathable and lightweight. I can wear this all day through any kind of activity. Wearing this ser... Read Moreiously feels like being wrapped up in some sort of super powered armor, versatile and ready for anything! I'm now contemplating purchasing the R1 Air Crew just so I can keep this thing on my body at all times (excluding the summer months). 10/10 thank you Patagonia for engineering this godly piece of apparel.

January 10, 2021

Very warm

Its little warmer than the other R1. I expected this R1 air is stretchy as capilene air, but its not. My shoulder is not flexible, so it make me hard to remove. Its very comfortable to wear, though.

October 30, 2020

Same R1 goodness

Fits a bit tighter and shorter than the R1 half-zip and lot than the full-zip. Don't get caught out like I did and rip the labels off in a hurry.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches