Back to Product

Ms Essential Boxer Briefs - 6

Write Your Review

4.3/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 138 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Essential Boxer Briefs - 6

4.3/5
May 7, 2021

Fantastic briefs

I have always worn briefs. I hate buying underwear in general. I figured I would try the briefs of my favorite brand. What do you know, they fit great. Pretty true as to how a boxer brief should feel. Super comfortable, the waist band is really soft. I bought the 6version first, then some 3 versions and now I like them both equally. Now I have abou... Read Moret 15 pairs!

April 29, 2021

Silver Medal

6'1", 175, 32/33 waist. Medium fits really well for someone that wears 32/33 sizes in Patagonia pants/shorts. Incredibly comfortable. Don't really ride up in any kind of annoying way. Durability could be better. Have had a few pairs develop holes in much less than a year but they were replaced under warranty (Thanks Patagonia reps!) ... Read MoreWear them everyday unless I am going to be doing strenuous hiking, snowboarding, etc. Those tasks are better handled by my gold medal undies: Smartwool 150 Boxer Briefs. Just as comfortable but don't hold any kind of sweat/stank.

April 28, 2021

Super comfortable

These are the underwear that Apple would make, perfect, comfortable, simple, breathable. After buying these you can't wear your old underwear.

April 20, 2021

Comfortable not so durable

These are very comfortable, the material is thinner than I expected developed a few holes. Not as durable as I had hoped.

Response from Patagonia
April 22, 2021

We're so sorry they didn't hold up the way you expected. Please feel free to send them back for a warranty.

April 20, 2021

Comfortable

So so comfortable! I'm in love. Will definitely be getting more soon.

April 15, 2021

Great except not durable

These boxers fit great and and very comfortable. I bought 4 and loved them right up until each one wore through in various spots within a 18 months of purchase and as early as 6 months in on one pair. I have chicken legs and yet somehow still opened holes on the legs of these. I wear mostly Patagonia gear because of their commitment to sustainable ... Read Moreproduction practices and would whole heartedly recommend most of my gear but these are too fragile. Having to throw them away negates the sustainable production of them by creating that much more waste.

Response from Patagonia
April 16, 2021

Thanks for the honest feedback Graham. We'll pass the info along to our design team. We guarantee everything we make so please reach out to our Customer Service team to send them back for a warranty.

April 12, 2021

Becoming my favorite boxer briefs

I have tried several premium performance underwear and Patagonia is fast becoming one of my favorites. They hold up well when doing all day wear, dry quickly when need to be washed out. Very important to me is they stay in place and dont ride up or the waist band doesnt drop. Hot times dont smell at the end of the day.

April 12, 2021

Comfortable and convenient

Comfortable fit

April 7, 2021

All day comfort with a fly!!

Bought a few pair to try out a few months ago. So comfortable I bought 9 more pair to completely replace all my other underwear!

April 2, 2021

The Awkward In-between (Purchase athletic OR casual)

There is a problem with these boxers, I wear them cause the design is SOOO GOOD (got the buffalos with the little socks). I am 6' 155 lbs with decently solid legs as a professional bike tourist. Here is the issue: These boxers are neither athletically snug nor casually relaxed. What does that mean? They ride up on your leg, and then stay the... Read Morere. I purchased the 3" instead of the 6" which is not as short as it appears. That is 3" below your crotch, which falls a little bit above where most athletic shorts cut off. My recommendation is to continue supporting Patagonia. Purchase either a brief that is purposely athletic or casual. The in-between does not work. PS: I gave this 4 stars cause the company deserve it. Truly, it would be 2-3 stars. Note: Tencil is wonderfully soft and cool.

April 1, 2021

All day comfort

Best undergarment out there! Doesn't ride up and, of course, sustainably sourced.

March 25, 2021

Best Underwear Made

The material is soooo soft and gives you a feeling that you arent even wearing anything. Super impressed with these!

March 25, 2021

Better fit than most

These are better than most boxer briefs because the legs are longer and don't ride up on you. The waistband doesn't roll over as much as other do on people like me who have some belly

March 22, 2021

Comfy...not durable

These boxer briefs are super comfortable and I love how they fit and feel. The downside is they only last about 6 months before holes will appear (in the butt and inner thigh area). I'm aware of Patagonia's guarantee so I wash them (a few times) before exchanging them for a new pair at a store. I've gone through 3 pairs of the Patago... Read Morenia ones in less than 10 months. I have other pairs of underwear from other companies that are 2-3 years old and look brand new. Love Patagonia...they just need to make these more durable.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Hey Adam, thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are so sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced with these. We have passed along your feedback to the Design Team who constantly work to improve the quality and fit of our products. We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

March 19, 2021

Super comfy

The first pair I bought were large they fit very comfortable but were too big the mediums fit me perfect at five foot nine 36 waist the negative on the underwear is that they wore holes on the inner thigh after month to a month and a half love them but have to wear them sparingly super surprised at the poor durability for a Patagonia product

Response from Patagonia
March 19, 2021

Hello Doug, we're sorry to hear these have developed holes with very minimal wear. It sounds like a warranty issue so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty.

March 17, 2021

Comfortable and Functional!

Excellent fit and feel, true to its description and provides all around comfort.

March 17, 2021

Stretch for the caboose

These are the best boxer briefs I have ever worn. Ample stretch for an athletic caboose, they keep the boys in place, and they breathe well - all without a "synthetic" feel. Extra points for the front access slot front that doesn't open accidentally.

March 16, 2021

Solid boxer brief

I bought these originally for wearing under running tights. They don't work for that purpose. At all. However, they work just fine as everyday underwear. I'm typically a medium in most Patagonia gear, but I sized up for these thinking they'd be a bit too snug. As is they're juuuust a tad roomy. Not noticeable everyday, problemat... Read Moreic running. I also bought a 3" inseam pair and would recommend those over the 6", but that's just my personal taste.

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

Thanks for the review! If you're still in the market for some briefs that could work under your running tights, we'd recommend checking out the [Men's Essential A/C Boxer Briefs - 6"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-essential-a-c-boxer-briefs-6-inch/32565.html?dwvar_32565_color=NENA&cgid=root).

March 15, 2021

The BEST underwear. Period.

This is the most comfortable underwear Ive ever had. Period. Im not even aware that Im wearing any underwear. One improvement, though. Fix the tag inside the underwear.

March 9, 2021

Most comfortable boxers I own

Great fit, super comfortable, and I look soooooo good in them.

March 2, 2021

Super thin and not enough material, they ride up the thigh.

I read a few reviews that promoted these briefs, and was sold on them. Im here to share my experience. I was heading out for a few days into the woods to work on a tiny cabin my wife and I are building and I purchased 5 pairs of them in time to take with me. The first day quickly turned long and uncomfortable due to how much the briefs move up, hav... Read Moreing no other options it turned into a very long and uncomfortable week. Once home and laundry done I decided to make a thorough inspection of the briefs and I found the material to be super thin, too much stretch and easy to tear. I own pairs from different brands and I can honestly say these are the worst and the most expensive.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Mens Essential Boxers, we are sorry to hear that they did not meet your expectations. Per our Ironclad Guarantee you are more the welcome to wash and [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

February 28, 2021

Second skin

Ruined underwear for me, now I can only wear these.

February 28, 2021

A+

SUPER comfortable. Best underwear I've every owned. Would recommend to anyone.

February 27, 2021

so far so good

I'm pretty picky on my boxers, but these fit great and have been super comfy. I hope they hold up as well as some of the old essential boxer pata used to make!

February 26, 2021

Great underwear!!

These are the best underwear Ive ever owned. Soft, extremely comfortable, and breathable. These have the feel of great cotton but with dry fit of the nylon ones. I love this material. I have a bit of a dad bod but Im pretty active and I have lots of kids and these are comfortable and dry and stay in place in lots of different situations. The best s... Read Moreo far.

February 24, 2021

Love these, best underwear

I love the Essential Boxer Briefs. Im slowly transitioning all my old Hanes & Levys to these as they are so much more comfortable. And I really like the fun patterns! So far, after owning two pairs for over a year I am very pleased. Keep on rock in Patagonia.

February 23, 2021

Theres A Chance

I need all the help I can get and when I sport these boxers, she doesnt have to say it, I know theres a chance.

February 22, 2021

1.5 years after my 1st review

Gave them a 4 when I first reviewed them in July 2019 2 months after purchasing- I have to upgrade them to a 5 because of the way they've worn and how comfortable they remain (if not even more so). My only complaint at the time was how quickly they dried and after wearing them for every activity imaginable, I think they're every bit as go... Read Moreod as any Patagonia underwear I've worn previously and I go back a long way....

February 22, 2021

Super Comfy

Honestly the most comfortable underwear I have ever worn, I recommend them to all my friends, cozy but not too tight on the undercarriage, and silky smooth.

February 18, 2021

Comfortable yet weak

These are super comfortable and very well fitting. They perform well in extreme heat. But... I have washed them once since getting them and they are piling as if they are 3 years old. I followed the care instructions as always and I hang dried. Not sure how long these will actually last

February 9, 2021

Best boxers briefs

After trying almost any (known) brand out there, these underwear, are by far the most comfortable ones. Excellent quality and all day comfort, without the need of fixing it or messing with it

February 6, 2021

Men’s underwear

My partner says they are the most comfortable pants he has ever worn

January 24, 2021

Decent quality, loose fit

Thus far, Ive been impressed by the quality of these. However, I wear a 34/32 in pants and I followed the size guide and ordered a size large. They are definitely a bit loose in the legs and the waistband. I would like to try a size medium, but I dont want to go through the hassle of buying them and returning, so Im kinda stuck. Good product just b... Read Moree wary of the sizing.

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Thank you for the review! If you live near one of our store locations, it would be easy to do a swap out, just be sure to give them a good wash before. Check out our store locations [here](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/).

January 19, 2021

Perfection

They don't ride up or bunch, the waist band doesn't dig in over the day or roll down, they feel supportive but breathable, and never restricting. I cannot speak highly enough about these. Time will tell how long they last through weeks of wear and wash, but I trust Patagonia on that front. As it stands I plan to buy no other kind of under... Read Morewear for the rest of my days.

January 14, 2021

essential boxer briefs

Super soft and great fit. I hope they last the test of time. My wife complements them too!

January 1, 2021

Secretly, The New Standard

Like a lot of men, I have a drawerful of warn-out CK boxer-briefs that I'd like to replace/upgrade from. That said, I've found that underwear is something for which it is as hard as anything else for me find a good personal fit (which is to say, pretty darn hard) I was listening to a menswear podcast and a gentleman who runs a national cl... Read Moreothing brand mentioned that he had his luggage lost and picked up a pair of these boxer briefs and was really impressed with their quality. After trying a few other leading recommended options in the marketplace, I gave a shot to these. They're really really good. The fit is great, the feel is great - I don't know why there aren't more people proclaiming these to be the new gold standard.

December 6, 2020

Huge design flaw - do not buy

These could be perfect but they have a huge design flaw....The inner thigh left and right sides use a very thin fabric that gets destroyed from light wear. The fabric pulls apart from the seams and creates large holes. I have had this happen on 3 pairs now, all the exact same hole. I wore them very casually, washed on cold, never ran them in a drye... Read Morer. If the fabric was thicker or stronger these would be great. This is the only Patagonia product I would avoid purchasing.

Response from Patagonia
January 7, 2021

We're sorry to hear you're having this issue. All of our gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee so please reach out to our customer service team to set up a warranty evaluation.

December 4, 2020

Comfortable

I bought 2 pairs to try then out and I am switching all my underwear to Patagonia

December 2, 2020

Soft and comfortable

The best underwear Ive worn. They are soft, and comfortable. They breathe well and dont bunch. I highly recommend!

November 27, 2020

Comfortable but not durable

These are super comfy and fit well but after only owning them for a couple of months they are already falling apart. For the price I was expecting to get at least a year out of them.

Response from Patagonia
December 24, 2020

Thank you for taking a moment to submit this valuable feedback, David! We're sorry that the durability is disappointing. Please reach out to us to return them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee).

November 24, 2020

Not up to Patagonias standards

I bought these trying to be conscious of environmental impact and hoping that they would be like most Patagonia gear long lasting. Unfortunately of the six pairs I bought 4 of them have ripped within the first 6 months. I contacted Patagonia and they exchanged the first pair, I didnt bother with the ensuing ones as it defeated my purpose of reducin... Read Moreg my waste. There is something wrong with the design and they dont last as long as cheaper boxers.

November 21, 2020

Out standing garment

Congratulations!! This is the first time I have found boxer briefs that are anatomically/designed/made to fit the male body! What an unexpected surprise to find Patagonia is the source, but why not, as Patagonia has such quality merchandise. Purchased 7 pair and will continue to do so and recommend. Thank you - thank you!!! If Patagonia decides to ... Read Moreuse the recommendation review I submitted, please do not give out my name. Fred

November 15, 2020

best I ever had

These are the best fitting and moat comfortable underwear I've ever experienced. The fit is firm and gentle with fabric so soft you forget it's there.

November 12, 2020

Very soft and comfortable

Admittedly these boxer briefs are not inexpensive, but they sure are soft, comfortable and of excellent quality. They fit my 6/180# frame perfectly.

November 9, 2020

Comfortable but not durable

Easily the most comfortable underwear Ive worn. I bought 6 pair, after a month or two each pair had developed a small hole. By 9 months they each have enormous holes and are unwearable. For comparison my military underwear I replaced with these were less comfortable by lasted 6 years without developing holes, and those cost $5 per pair.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2020

Hi Josh! We're truly sorry to hear that these developed holes within 9 months and are unwearable. This should not be happening so feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these under warranty and if you have any questions, don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team.

November 4, 2020

Wear all day

Comfortable in multiple settings, office, home, or a hike. I wear them all day, and they stay comfortable.

October 31, 2020

Wears out quickly

Not worth the money. Wears out quickly. Big hole in the leg within two months.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

We're sorry to hear that these boxer briefs were a disappointment, Brad. Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) so please don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team for assistance.

October 31, 2020

Instant Favorite!

These fit perfectly and are extremely soft.

October 28, 2020

Super cool

I love the product. It fits perfectly and feels super comfortable. I will order them a size smaller. Even through the legs and support are just the right fit, the waist is big and loose.

October 15, 2020

HOLEY BUM

hole next to the bum line within two months of wear.

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2020

Hi Matthew, we're so sorry to hear about your experience with Men's Essential Boxer Briefs. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

September 29, 2020

These are the boxer briefs you are looking for...

Around 15 years ago, I bought a pair of Patagonia boxer briefs that I absolutely loved. They were the perfect boxer briefs and I should have bought a few more pairs. They eventually became so torn I was forced to retire them. So, I went on the search for a replacement. I've tried every style Patagonia makes and these are my favorites. Even for... Read More high-output activities like mountain biking, I prefer these over the Senders (which are supposed to be more performance-oriented but in my experience ride up your leg more and just don't feel as comfy as the essentials). I've worn these snowboarding, hiking, cycling, you name it - and they just feel great.

September 25, 2020

Most comfortable thing ever!

I honestly cannot believe just how amazing these feel. They fit fantastic! So glad I found them!

September 6, 2020

Awesome in hot weather

Best underwear period. In hot weather they still keep things cool.

September 6, 2020

Just right

These get used for everything - backpacking to work meetings. Comfy and light.

September 6, 2020

Comfortable

Very soft and comfortable. They dont run up your leg like other briefs do.

September 6, 2020

Best so far

I tried multiple underwear brands at once (meundies, CK, etc), the 6 pategonia are my favorites.

September 5, 2020

Great

I use these for about everything- really comfortable. You can wear for a few days without issue if needed, and they clean really easily. Several months in and some slight fading is the only wear Ive noticed. But who cares, a few actual washes in they get really comfortable. The black pair took a few more washes than the other couple I purchased to ... Read Morereally lock in

September 5, 2020

Super comfy

Super comfy, fun pattern, good fit.

September 5, 2020

Great product

These are my go-to underwear, and I buy a pair or two whenever they go on sale no matter how silly the pattern might be. (Ive been married for so long Im not trying to impress anyone with how cool my underwear look not that these dont look plenty cool.)

September 5, 2020

Great fit, support and comfort.

Nice quality underwear. Fit is spot on. Provides excellent support. Washes well and retains shape. Will buy more.

September 4, 2020

Gf likes em

I thought they would be a cool and comfortable additive to my garment collection, and my girlfriend thought they were as well !!!

September 4, 2020

very comfortable boxers

very comfortable to wear. Only concern I have is the tag can be twisted and uncomfortable.

September 3, 2020

Silky smooth

Really nice material. All-day comfort. Just too big. Supposed to be 34-36 (Im a 34) and these are probably perfect for the 35-36 crowd.

September 3, 2020

Nice undies

I like them, but they fit a tiny bit loose (I just followed the size guide) and the tag is in an annoying place that scratches. Nothing a sharp knife wont fix, but I wish it werent there.

September 2, 2020

Excellent fit and moisture management

Supportive and soft with an excellent fit. Material does a great job of moving moisture from the skin side to outer layers of clothing.

September 1, 2020

Very comfortable

Great underwear!

August 28, 2020

Not durable

Generally feels good, but Ive only had for a few months and they are tearing out in the seat. The fabric seems a little thin. Tore one pair open rafting while shifting around in the row seat. Tore the next pair biking around town. So nothing extreme as far as use goes. I generally have a great respect for Patagonia products and I hate short life pr... Read Moreoducts. I think Patagonia is usually way better than this product performed. If you are interested in these I would recommend something more durable instead, else you might find yourself a bit more exposed than youd expected.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

Thanks for giving us this feedback on our Patagonia Men's Essential Boxer Briefs - 6". We're sorry to hear you have experienced some durability issues, and we've passed this information on to the appropriate team. In the meantime, if you are interested, both of your torn briefs are eligible for warranty coverage and return. To get the return process started, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 14, 2020

Very Comfortable Underwear

Quite possibly the best mens underwear on the planet. Flexible, great against the skin, not too tight, not too loose, holds things where the should be without pinch, launders up great. Forget that I have them on most of the time. Great product from Patagonia. I now have a drawer full!

August 14, 2020

Zero durability

First off- I love Patagonia clothing. And I have Capilene long underwear that has lasted me over 20 years! But I purchased 5 pairs of this (very pricey) underwear in hopes that it would be the best I could find! Fit- perfect! Comfort- awesome! But then I found out that with less than regular wear and a couple launderings (as per care instructions o... Read Moren the garment itself) that 3 of the 6 pair I bought already have worn through/out and developed holes. Due to Covid- we arent even hiking at my work like I normally would- and these underwear couldnt even hold up to sitting around. Absolutely the worst quality control and durability on any underwear Ive ever owned. Which is a shame because theyre so comfy. 1 Star.

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2020

Hi Travis! We really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review about your experience. We were very sorry to hear that your briefs have started to wear out after such little time and use. This is not quality that we expect out of our gear so we've reached out to you directly with further assistance.

July 22, 2020

MUGA

In an effort to MAKE UNDERWEAR GREAT AGAIN, Patagonia has nailed it. These rule. The 6 are a perfect fit with keeping everything snug, but comfortable. So so soft and breathable and good for just about every activity (except skinny dipping).

July 21, 2020

Very comfortable but not for long

I tried a pair of these and loved them. They were a more comfortable material and fit than my previous favorite (ExOfficio). I bought 5 pairs and really liked everything about them but due to the thin fabric that makes them so comfortable they began to get holes worn in them after 5 or 6 months. Disappointed with the quality for that price.

July 19, 2020

not long lasting

The rest of my underwear is synthetic Patagonia boxers that are at least 10-12 years old and still going strong. But I was pleased to see these come out in a natural fabric. Unfortunately after about two years they are already beginning to rip in multiple places, so I think there's more research to be done here. And I know Patagonia will crack... Read More it.

July 18, 2020

Super soft, but the non-tear-away tag is a crime against underwear design

Please Patagonia, please!!! Change the care label to either a printed one or tear-away! I love your products but spending 10 minutes to try to unravel the stitching to remove a non-tear-away tag is not part of a great "unboxing" experience.

July 17, 2020

Light, Breathable, Roomy

Purchased size L with a 34in waist and seemed to run a bit large. Waistband is not as tight hugging as I would have expected. Would recommend a M size for anyone with a 34in waist or smaller to get a snug fit. Would like to see more variety in graphics and options, especially in the shorter length version of the 6in briefs. Overall very soft, breat... Read Morehable, and comfortable. Will be purchasing more if they go on sale!

July 14, 2020

Yes, but!

Great quality! Soft and very comfortable. The label inside is very annoying and hard to remove. I wish it was printed or an easy removable label. Got few pairs, all consistent with sizing and quality

July 13, 2020

Love them

Bought these for my bf, he's 6'0, 180lbs, athletic build. I bought him a medium, and they're his fav underwear. Super soft.

July 13, 2020

Amazing

Best underwear ever

July 13, 2020

Comfortable

Best boxer briefs in the game

July 13, 2020

The best

I have five pairs of these, it's basically all I wear. I've tried many different types and brands of underwear only to wish that I had tried these sooner. They are soft, fit just right, and super comfortable. I wear them casually, but can also wear them on runs or when active. I ended up cutting the tags our of all of my pairs, which have... Read More improved how they feel as well.

July 13, 2020

Excellent

Best pair of boxers I own!

July 13, 2020

super comfortable, but starting to fray!

These are by far my most comfortable and breathable underwear. That said, they are starting to fray at the seam in the crotch, after only a month of ownership. I've worn them for work, mountain biking, bike commuting, swimming (after work and biking), and running. I'm hard on clothes, but was hoping they would hold up a bit longer.

Response from Patagonia
August 7, 2020

Hi Michael, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that the seams are fraying after just one month. This is definitely covered under warranty so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them for a new pair.

July 10, 2020

Love them

Bought these for my bf, he's 6'0, 180lbs, athletic build. I bought him a medium, and they're his fav underwear. Super soft.

July 10, 2020

Amazing

Best underwear ever

July 10, 2020

Comfortable

Best boxer briefs in the game

July 9, 2020

The best

I have five pairs of these, it's basically all I wear. I've tried many different types and brands of underwear only to wish that I had tried these sooner. They are soft, fit just right, and super comfortable. I wear them casually, but can also wear them on runs or when active. I ended up cutting the tags our of all of my pairs, which have... Read More improved how they feel as well.

July 9, 2020

Excellent

Best pair of boxers I own!

July 4, 2020

Follow Up Essential Boxer Brief Review

Pros: The most comfortable boxer briefs ever. Cons: Material appears to not be a as durable as it use to be. I am a long time Patagonia advocate. I love the mission, the material sourcing and all the good that comes with the generous guarantee. It does feel like maybe the clothing isn't as "bombproof" anymore due to all the changes ... Read Morein how the material is sourced? Or perhaps the types of material now being used? I am not an expert textile sourcer, so I am just guessing. I have 3 pairs of these essential boxer briefs. The first pair my wife bought me from our local gear shop because my other brand X under garments needed replacing. Theses underwear were love at first fit. 4 months in with handwashing, line drying I thought I had put them on backwards since they looked so worn out. Now, the material towards the inside leg area has sprouted holes away from the stitching on both legs and the stitching is coming undone. ¯\_()_/¯ I know there are a ton of variables to consider. But for what it's worth, the stuff just doesn't seem to be made as well.

July 2, 2020

Not well made

For the price of these boxer breifs I am surprised how quickly they developed a hole and started getting thin. It took about 4 months of irregular wear to develop a whole.

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2020

Hi William! Thanks for sharing your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the hole that developed in your boxer briefs. Please note, your purchase is protected under our Ironclad Guarantee. You are welcome to initiate an online return here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html. Alternatively, our Customer Service team would be happy to assist you via phone at 800-638-6464 or with our Live Chat feature on Patagonia.com. Representatives are available M-F 6:00-6:00 PST or on weekends from 7:00-3:00 PST.

June 28, 2020

Just What I Need

Soft, comfortable fit, I've got a couple pairs. I've some others that ride up my thighs, I've got bigger thighs, but these stay in place all day no matter the activity.

June 26, 2020

So comfortable - best underwear ever

These dont ride up. They are super comfortable. They are everything I have wanted in a boxerbrief. I didn't know underwear could be this great! They are perfect for casual wear, but I often work out in them and they stay pretty dry if you're working out for 45 minutes or less. If you are doing long sessions, probably best to stick to sh... Read Moreorts with liners or some wicking materials.

June 26, 2020

ESSENTIAL BOXER 6"

Other than running a little large, they are comfortable and well made. Next time I'll try a medium.

June 25, 2020

Very Comfortable

I love these underwear! They are the most comfortable Ive ever had. The only problem is that I need more!

June 25, 2020

Most Comfortable

The single most comfortable pair of underwear I've put on

June 25, 2020

Nice material runs large

Havent had these for too long but right out of the bag they felt way too big for mediums. I own multiple other pairs of Patigonia boxer briefs and medium is always my size, the waist band feels like a large and then some in both of the mediums of this style I got. Im 6ft 175 athletic and my old mediums are still perfect. Material wise these feel gr... Read Moreeat and dry nice.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2020

Hi Brett, thank you for writing us a review! We're sorry to hear that the sizing was off on the boxers. We truly appreciate the feedback as its crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 23, 2020

Great comfort and fit

I really like the comfort and feel of these Boxer briefs. They maintain me nice and cool and wick away sweat pretty well. All day comfort is great and have bought several them already and plan to buy more. I wear the mostly for hiking but have begun using them for everyday wear as they are extremely comfortable. I do prefer the 3 inch inseam length... Read More and hope they bring more colors in that size.

June 21, 2020

Great true base layer

Great fit and given that its not loose fitting its great in long duration wet conditions without chaffing... My favorite underwear.

June 19, 2020

Best Patagonia Underwear Yet

I love this Tencel fabric and the fit is mostly nice; great for athletics. My favorite Patagonia underwear of any kind, and I've been buying/wearing Patagonia boxers and variations of underwear for 20 years. If I want a little more loose, the boxers are better, but these boxer briefs usually feel great. I run in them if I am wearing shorts tha... Read Moret do not already have a built-in brief liner.

June 19, 2020

Comfy but not durable

Bought two pairs of these last summer and unfortunately had to retire both of them this spring. Large holes appeared in both pairs with normal wear. Wish they were more durable because they were very comfortable.

June 19, 2020

easy fit and soft material

Love my boxers fit and soft material. A must have!

June 18, 2020

Very comfortable and soft

Nothing more comfortable to wear underneath your clothes than these boxers

June 17, 2020

(almost) perfect boxer briefs

My boyfriend loves these boxer briefs! He wants to wear them everyday so he needs to get more. Pros: length, fit, material, prints/design Cons: decided to cut the tag out. In the scheme of things, not a big deal. Perhaps the tag can be printed onto the fabric instead of having a physical tag..

June 17, 2020

comfy underwear

These are very comfortable and light fitting. I do not like tight fitting anything, so I get large and hardly even notice I am wearing. Actually feel good while mountain biking, though have not used on a long, technical ride as yet. Great for backcountry skiing and hiking.

June 17, 2020

Perfect fit and fabric

I'm a devoted Patagonia underwear-er, and these are the best pair I've ever had. The fabric is soft, without feeling flimsy. Strong recommend.

June 17, 2020

Great true base layer

Great fit and given that its not loose fitting its great in long duration wet conditions without chaffing... My favorite underwear.

June 17, 2020

Material

Good underwear, very comfortable but easy to get lint after Just one wash.

June 17, 2020

Stupid comfy

These are by far the most breathable undies Ive ever owned. They hug the body, but not the boys - perfect design. I own three of these now, will continue buying when I see em on sale!

June 17, 2020

The best!

Hands down the best underwear I have ever had!

June 17, 2020

Very soft!

Absolutely soft material and incredible feeling against the skin. Wish it had more support for the Crotch area.

June 10, 2020

poor quality

The boxers are super comfy (I have no problem with the tag) and fit well, so I bought three. Unfortunately, the seams of one already start to unravel after a few weeks. It seems silly to send a pair of underwear all across the country for an exchange so I patched it myself (which works but looks like ...). I expected better quality.

May 27, 2020

These are the BEST boxers i have ever worn

They are so thin and lightweight but substantial, they are formfitting but leave room where its needed. They feel like a million bucks basically.

March 7, 2020

Comfy, except for the tag

These boxer briefs are super-comfortablewell shaped, soft materialbut the tag scratched my behind all day, so I cut it out (not easy!). Please print what you must on the fabric and forego the tag; or sew it on with contrasting thread and big stitches, so it could easily be removed.

March 5, 2020

Soft, stretchy, breathable, cool

Lyocell is really perfect for underwear, as it's so soft and cotton-like (or even better than cotton - anyways cooler, and a lot more pleasant when wet and hot), and yet really stretchy but without being constricting. Support of what there's to support in the centre is good. The anti-roll waistband really works. Overall, you don't fe... Read Moreel the boxers when you wear them, even when working hard, which is probably the best quality a piece of gear can get. That's the only non-merino piece of underwear I don't feel obliged to wash after wearing only one day - that's how well it breathes, all naturally. It is no merino, though, and lyocell makes a really thin garment, so you can't use it as thermal insulation. I chose the longer 6" version to cover more my thighs while commuting and wearing casual trousers, which works well, except maybe when putting on the trousers in the morning, since the ultra-soft fabric gives way and rolls up a bit (depending on how slim the trousers fit). New favourite piece of underwear; I will probably try the 3" and the A/C version at some point.

February 23, 2020

Terrible fit/loose in the thigh

The legs of these boxers are loose fitting causing the legs to roll up to the top of your leg. Terrible fit. Been really unhappy with a lot of Patagonia clothes lately.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

Hi Joshua, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit you've experienced. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 13, 2020

Comfortable and worth the money

I was skeptical on the essential boxer briefs 6" being worth the money but I took a chance and bought a pair...(actually 5 pairs to qualify for the free shipping). After wearing a pair - I'm keeping all 5 pairs! The material is very comfortable, the whicking feature is excellent and proves its value when exerting outside in winter cond... Read Moreitions. Whether shovel the driveway from another storm, skiing or hiking up to the ridge, or long hikes with fido in the woods, these puppies dry out very quickly after you work up a sweat. Unlike cotton briefs which stay wet and cause a chill factor during your cool down, there is no chill with these briefs. Worth every penny! I have a 34" waste and the mediums fit a little snug but still comfy....the large would most likely be too large for me. So the fit is "kinda large". Thye 3" inseam was sold out...so I went for the 6" and no problem. (I was planning to cut the legs back to 3" if the 6" was a drag)

January 17, 2020

Insanely comfortable

The fit is great and they're comfortable at my desk or during a long ski.

December 15, 2019

men's boxers

it would be helpful for the web page to make clear which pairs have flys and which do not. i liked the old capilene with 4 1/2 inch in seem. 3 seems too short and 6 seems to long

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

Thanks for your review! You can find whether a pair has a fly or not by looking at its listed Features. If you're not satisfied with the fly or the length, please [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them as soon as possible.

December 12, 2019

Love these but the tag is super annoying

Such comfortable boxer briefs but the only reason I give it 4 stars is the tag is huge, itchy and hard to remove. I removed it on one pair and the boxer ripped. Had to send it back. Haven’t we moved past this in 2019?

December 7, 2019

Husband loves

Bought large for my size 34 husband. He loves them. Soft, great fit and funky designs.

November 23, 2019

Super Comfort

These boxers have now become by daily fav’s. Having massive thighs, I was worried about the fit or them ‘riding up’. Neither were a worry. Fits great and have all day comfort. Only complaint is with fabric quality. A few pairs have developed small holes. Not sure if they are caused by my pants or something else. Regardless, the fabric should hold u... Read Morep to a few months of normal wear.

November 5, 2019

Love them

Love them

November 1, 2019

Boxers vs boxer briefs???

Could not tell the difference between boxers and boxer briefs in the pix or description. Had to send boxer briefs back and re-order boxers. Also, patterns and color scheme not as fun as they used to be.

October 31, 2019

I like these

I recently got rid of every boxer I own and bought 5 pair of these. I have been through a lot of brands and styles; these are the only ones that fit me the way I want and can be worn on the trail or in the office. I would recommend trying some on before purchasing if possible; I had a few brands all in the same size and they all fit differently.

October 5, 2019

Seems as though I have

Seems as though I have have been wearing these for 2 decades. Great loose fit, funcky colors, last forever.

September 30, 2019

Comfortable for everyday use

I bought a couple pairs of these and I am really happy with them. They are comfortable and soft.

September 3, 2019

Comfortable but quality won't last

They are extremely comfortable and fit well, but after only 3 wears, already a small hole in the crotch at a seam.

August 23, 2019

Great fabric, a little smooshy

I love the length and color and style and fit of these everywhere but the crotch. The fabric goes flat across from leg to leg, and it can get kind of cramped in there. It would be better if there was a little extra fabric sewn in to create a pouch or something, because right now brand new they can feel a little...ahem...constricting. Everything els... Read Moree about them is very comfortable though, the fabric, the waistband, they're great.

August 22, 2019

Like the way they fit.

Disappointed that one had a hole in it right away. This happened after 2 to 3 times wearing. Like the other ones I have are comfortable.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

I'm sorry to hear about the hole in your boxer briefs. Feel free to give one of our customer service representatives a call at 1-800-638-6464 so we can look into setting up a replacement. You can also start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

August 17, 2019

Great briefs!

They fit well and are very comfortable. Would buy again.

August 16, 2019

Essential boxer briefs 6 “

Best version in a long time. They’re extremely comfortable and I love the fit. I’ve worn them for over 2 months now and the only reason I’m not giving 5 stars is that they don’t seem to dry as quickly as the older capilene versions from over 10 years ago. This is from wet wading while fishing and also from hand washing on the road.

August 15, 2019

Comfy undies

Just a nice pair of comfortable boxer briefs. The material is stretchy, soft, and breathable. The medium size fits me well (I have a size 32 waist).

August 15, 2019

Better if they were shorter, like the discontinued briefs

I don't know what demanding outdoorsperson/athlete wants excess fabric bunching up into an articulating, high friction joint, but you know your customer market better than I do.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the new fit on these boxer briefs aren't working for you like the discontinued option! If you're not satisfied with an item you are welcome to return for a refund. You can get started on a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-essential-boxer-briefs-6-inch/32560.html) or bring those boxer briefs into one of our Patagonia retail stores.

August 12, 2019

cool & comfortable

Cool, comfortable, fast-drying and lightweight, Great for active days or everyday, will be getting a few more pairs

May 9, 2019

Not as good as the older capiliene but an improvement

As another reviewer has noted, the older capiliene boxer briefs (circa 2013-15ish) were incredible. The fit was subsequently altered and the Ms that I had always worn no longer fit properly and rode up. I tried going up a size but that didn't change anything. I've been the same weight, give or take a couple of lbs. for 10+ years. The prod... Read Moreuct was completely ruined and many reviewers, I recall, had the same complaints. The fit on these is much better, though I find them to be a little longer for boxer briefs, less athletic and the material doesn't feel quite as breathable as the capilene. Maybe a 5 inch inseam would be better. The fly hole, which is a huge selling feature for me, is a little weird as you have to really reach in there and pull aside 2 levels of fabric to take your guy out and then have to go through a similar operation to put him back in, if you catch up drift. Again, the capilene were perfect in this area as well. (Side note: when did it become ok to not have a fly hole on mens underwear, let alone boxer briefs?) These will do fine until my dozen pairs of old capilenes disintegrate, but fortunately, because they are the best underwear I've ever owned, that does not seem like it will be the case anytime soon. BOTTOM LINE: find it in your hearts to bring back the original capilenes. Had I known that they would be discontinued and/or ruined 5 years ago or whatever I would've bought at least 100 of them...

May 5, 2019

Great underwear - Tag comes out easy!

I have the older capiliene boxer-briefs I love. These a the perfect replacement. Soft and stretchy fabric. The stitching on the tag is separate from the stitching of the waistband. Just get a stitch remover, remove the thread from the tag and tag falls right off.

April 7, 2019

Top tier boxer brief

Absolutely the best underwear Patagonia makes. SO soft and stretchy I have no doubts these will last just as long as my old capilene one boxer briefs. Great job, perfect garment.

March 20, 2019

Fit Like the Capaline Daily from 2017ish

I wear nothing but Capaline Daily briefs. Because the fit is so great and the fiber feels so good against my skin I have overlooked the MANY shortcomings of them. At least they fit well, until last year when the sizing got changed on the Daily rendering them useless. These fit just like the old daily and this new fiber feels maybe even better than ... Read MoreCapaline. I have not even washed them yet so this really is only a review of the fit. Unfortunately, they still come with 1 square meter of tags sewn into them. If the waistband gets all scrunched and shrunk up like on some of my old pairs of Dalys, I’m going to come back and remove a bunch of these stars.

March 3, 2019

Super comfy

I usually wear the Patagonia boxers but bought these for gym... I did not think it was possible but these might b even more comfortable than the boxers. The material is softer than cotton and great to read how it is developed. Feels great all the way around. I’m a big guy and 2xl fits perfect!!!

March 2, 2019

Magic underwear

Hands down the most comfortable boxer briefs you’ll ever wear. Period. Light, airy, so so so soft yet give the support you need for day after day of activity. I don’t think I’ll be able to wear any other underwear

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches