Back to Product

Simple Fly Fishing Tenkara Fly Rod 11 6

Write Your Review

4.8 /5

Filter Reviews

All 10 Reviews

Clear All

Simple Fly Fishing Tenkara Fly Rod 11 6

4.8
October 19, 2019

Works!

Got this on sale, and line and leader and a couple tenkara flies. Tried it out for about an hour with no luck, switched to fly reel and rod. A couple days later I broke it out for a hot minute and caught a nice little brown almost immediately! Simple, light, packs down and works!

October 7, 2019

Tenkara Fly Rod

This is a top of the line Rod and at an unbeatable price. Can't wait to use.

September 23, 2019

Tenkara rod for Corbina fishing in the surf

I am a life long surf fisherman with Corbina as the preferred target. I have fished all methods from ultralight spin to fly casting with rod and reel. Now trying tenkara. Seems doable. Will keep you posted. I have the shorter tenkara rod for lake and stream and love them.

September 19, 2019

Fly Rod Fun

Great fly rod set up for beginners.

September 18, 2019

An Elegant, Fun-to-Use Rod

I mainly fish smallmouth in flowing waters. This is too light for that. But on occasion I fish small ponds and lakes for panfish and trout. This is ideal for that; fish 2 - 3 pounds or less, 16-inches or less. Will cast flies up to two inches in length and 1/1 6 in weight. I use, at most, 4-pound-test tippet. I also used lightweight furled leaders ... Read Morewith it. I’ve found it doesn’t respond well in wind using leaders 1.5 times the length of the rod. Overall, a nice, lighter-weight rod. The extra tip sections is a wonderful, consumer-friendly touch.

September 18, 2019

Tenkara fishing rod 11.5'

A great rod, but sharing some hard-learned lessons below. The promotional video states that casting line comes with the rod, but please note the line is sold separately. More careful reading of the description on my part was lacking. Instructions for attaching the line were covered in the promotional video, but not documented with the rod. My a... Read Morettempt to attach a third party line with a slightly different knot resulted in that line now drifting down the Soda Butte River in Yellowstone after the third cast; again, my fault.

September 17, 2019

Simple but not cheap

This rod just feels nice in your hand. I cannot wait to try it on a stream.

September 16, 2019

Best gift ever!

I was always intimidated by fly fishing, with all the gear, casting methods etc. but this simple set up was a perfect entrance. Set up was quick and was casting in minutes. Fished it in saltwater and was able to catch my first ever fish on fly. I'm hooked! Will be spreading the word on tenkara to my friends.

August 27, 2019

Tenkara

Haven't gotten out on any streams yet but I have tried some casting on a pond with my Kayak. When I get it right I'm rewarded with a beautiful graceful cast. I've owned a couple other Tenkara rods and just haven't gotten the hang of it. I think the passion and research that went into this rod are what makes it special. Something... Read More as simple as adding the line holders (Paper Clips)? The coloring of the rod is attractive and natural. I also bought the Level Line and leader which works perfectly. I think better than the braided line I've used before. Looking forward to using it and some streams and rivers asap.

July 3, 2019

Amazingly fun

I am new to fly fishing and read the Simply Fly Fishing book from Patagonia. I went trout fishing this past weekend and fished solely with this Tenkara Rod. It was very fun and surprisingly easy to use. I caught 9 trout and landing the fish with the Tenkara rod was fun. Surprisingly easy to land the fish. Easy to cast and I love that it is so small... Read More to carry when collapsed. I will be using the rod to fish from now on. Anyone looking to get into fly fishing should give this a try. Easy for anyone use even kids.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches