Back to Product

Patagonia Black Hole® Pack 32L

Write Your Review

4.53 /5

Filter Reviews

All 95 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Black Hole® Pack 32L

4.53
True To Size
September 8, 2020

Excellent product

I've had the backpack for about a month now and it works great for everything! I use it mainly for school and sports. I've been through two tropical storms with the backpack without anything in it getting wet. I recently broke my wrist while mountain biking and the large pockets are super handy as well as the water bottle pockets because ... Read MoreI don't have to worry about things falling out due to the good mesh in them.

September 2, 2020

A blend of beautiful design, high quality fabric, and functionality

You wont be sorry! Patagonias customer service is top notch. They back their products. This back pack is a great size, Im 57 and 130 pounds. This 32L size is not to big for my frame, great for school. Im in a doctorate program and have a laptop, binders, change of clothes, and lunch to carry around and this fits it all without overwhelming my small... Read Moreer frame.

August 19, 2020

Amazing bag

I purchased this as a weekend travel bag. Usually short trips to other cities where I can pack small and be able to carry my belongings. When Im not traveling I use it as a makeshift camera bag for astrophotography. I love all of the different pockets though. So nice to be able to separate all of the small things. Id really like to get into hiking... Read More and try this out, just so I have more uses for it.

June 21, 2020

Great backpack, not designed for women

I primarily use this backpack as cabin baggage while traveling (it fits under non aisle seats). There are two big issues: the chest strap is not useable if you have breasts and the straps are HUGE. The bag gets pretty heavy when its full and, without the added support of the chest strap, its not very comfortable to carry. Im 56 and I have to make t... Read Morehe straps as small as possible when the bag is decently full. The laptop sleeve is also kind of weird; its super convenient for airport security but it isnt particularly padded or protected. Its a pity because this is a great travel companion; you can fit a weeks worth of clothing and essentials if pack light. I spent three months traveling with this bag and it still looks brand new.

Response from Patagonia
July 22, 2020

We're sorry to hear the backpack has been disappointing. We're also reaching out to you privately to better understand your thoughtful and detailed feedback. We'll be happy to help you return it under our Ironclad Guarantee here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html

July 13, 2020

Greatest travel bag

Absolutely love this bag. I bought this for my fiancé as I have the older model from 5 years ago. I love the updated side bottle compartments and the usability of the laptop insert. The size is perfect for any and all travel. Enviable gift but I dont need one as my bag has been through great day hikes and travel all over. Dont buy any other backpac... Read Morek!

July 13, 2020

Go to backpack

Super awesome backpack. I love the separate compartment for my MacBook.

June 19, 2020

Spacious, Organized, Durable

Great bag, lots of room, very organized with all of the compartments. Rugged and durable material. Just like everything else from this company, great product!

July 13, 2020

Very Versatile

This is my go to bag for hiking, biking, school, work, traveling, and just going to the park. It has a plethora of pockets and a laptop compartment which is super handy. The exterior is water resistant so it can handle different weather with ease. The size is great for school books and binders, but also had the ability to be a day pack or be of use... Read More on a trip. It looks clean and I havent had a backpack that I have loved this much in a long time.

July 10, 2020

Go to backpack

Super awesome backpack. I love the separate compartment for my MacBook.

July 10, 2020

Very Versatile

This is my go to bag for hiking, biking, school, work, traveling, and just going to the park. It has a plethora of pockets and a laptop compartment which is super handy. The exterior is water resistant so it can handle different weather with ease. The size is great for school books and binders, but also had the ability to be a day pack or be of use... Read More on a trip. It looks clean and I havent had a backpack that I have loved this much in a long time.

July 10, 2020

Greatest travel bag

Absolutely love this bag. I bought this for my fiancé as I have the older model from 5 years ago. I love the updated side bottle compartments and the usability of the laptop insert. The size is perfect for any and all travel. Enviable gift but I dont need one as my bag has been through great day hikes and travel all over. Dont buy any other backpac... Read Morek!

July 5, 2020

Laptop storage is VERY ANNOYING

The laptop sleeve is vertical: i.e. you must insert/remove the laptop at the top. The backpack straps are completely in the way of this so you have to hold them out of the way with one hand every time. Even that is annoying so really you have to invert the straps every time you add or remove the laptop. When they're inverted you block access t... Read Moreo the main part of the bag - also annoying. To top it off, for some reason they placed a clip inside the bag on the laptop sleeve. This does nothing except if you flipped your bag upside down with the laptop sleeve zipper open, it wouldnt fall out from the clip. Who is ever going to do that? So the real result of this clip is it completely gets in the way of putting the laptop in every single time. So now every add/remove of laptop means you have to navigate around the straps and the clip. It's awful! So dont use the laptop sleeve. Ok then now at least 30-50% of the bag's weight and mass's sole purpose is for the laptop sleeve you dont use because it's so annoying? At this point I want the bag just without the sleeve because then it'd weigh far less and have like 30% more usable volume. Really awful design just like their new black hole duffel sizing and the horrific patogona label they slap on the front of all their shorts now. Really increasingly disappointed with Patagonia's designs across multiple product lines.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this bag missed the mark for you in some aspects and we really appreciate your feedback on this. We want to ensure you're completely happy with your purchase and so we hope you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

June 18, 2020

Old version was much better.

I have the 25L black hole pack from three years ago. The padding on the back is completely different and MUCH more comfortable. I wanted the larger size for longer trips but I couldnt believe how uncomfortable the padding is. (They changed it on the smaller pack as well) The padding now looks like a block. Its all straight lines. No ones back is fl... Read Moreat so I cant imagine how this is comfortable. Sending it back.

June 17, 2020

It is really a Black Hole

I like this backpack because it fits all the things you will need during the day. Bottle pockets on the sides are flexible enough to fit a 2 Lt. vacuum bottle to drink my mate. The main pitfall, in my opinion, is that the straps are too thick, which in warm days can be annoying.

June 25, 2020

Perfect

Use when going to the beach, work, and travel. Perfect size and remarkably lightweight. Laptop compartment is great.

June 25, 2020

32L

Excellent pack for hiking and boat exchanges. Use for work along Kauai coast

June 17, 2020

Best backpack ever made

I have been searching for the perfect travel backpack that is large enough to hold my items keep my technology separate from the other stuff and my important documents easily accessible. This backpack nails it, it checks all of those boxes and when I get to my destination and need a backpack to carry items on a hike it isn't too large. Keep up... Read More the great work Patagonia this Black Hole Pack 32L is a home run!

June 17, 2020

The perfect backpack!

I purchased this backpack for work and it quickly became my go-to backpack for any and every need. I went camping for a weekend and it fit all of my clothing easily. All of the pockets are in great places and you can tell this bag is well-engineered. 10/10 would purchase again and again (although it will probably last the rest of my life so I won&#... Read Morex27;t need a new one!).

March 12, 2020

Awesome backpack

I'm loving using this backpack, It has so much space that you can easily fit everything you need for a weekend scape.

March 5, 2020

Lighter than I thought

Really light pack with lots of features and pockets. I like how I can use it with my laptop etc for civilian life and that compartment can be used with a hydration system when out on the trail. Looks good also. I have yet to test the durability, hence only 4 out of 5 stars.

January 29, 2020

Solid bag for travel and day-to-day

I used this bag for the last year of college, for travel, and for day-to-day. It swallowed my comedically large (and comedically expensive) amount of college books and kept them protected from the Colorado elements, and looked good doing it. I will note, if you have back issues, this backpack doesn't have structure in the back, so it may be le... Read Moress comfortable for you. I use it for travel all the time, and recently managed a week-long trip to Bellingham using only this bag, including formal outfits, more rainwear than you can shake a stick at, layers for any conditions, etc. My only wish is that the black material didn't get marked up so easily, which is entirely a cosmetic complaint.

December 31, 2019

Grandson loved it!;

Grandson loved it!;

December 30, 2019

My go-to bag for any travel

Everything about this bag is built to last. Perfect size for a carry-on, and I can comfortably stuff it with way too much stuff, and not worry about the seams or zippers. Would highly recommend!

December 25, 2019

Awesome

I purchased the black hole pack in black (which is obviously back ordered) and is so so happy with it! Patagonia was awesome with teaching out to me regarding questions about my order and surprisingly when it was re-stocked, it shipped out faster than I anticipated (which is always nice!) The bag is great, nice quality and Patagonia has awesome cus... Read Moretomer service

December 23, 2019

Even Better than I thought

I know the Black Hole line is legendary for its durability and water resistance but this bag has exceeded my expectations. Living in the pacific northwest, rain is...an issue. In my first week of using this bag as a day to day walk/bus commute companion I weathered hours of sustained heavy rain, fully exposed. Basically everything inside remained f... Read Moreully dry! I only noticed moisture around the zippers, which I would have expected. The internal layout is very well thought out, and I have gotten more use out of the laptop/tablet slots than I expected to. It is also very comfortable for my frame (6ft, patagonia medium) , and I usually have it loaded 20-30lbs.

December 18, 2019

32L Black Hole Backpack

Versatile bag. Great for school and travel. Frisbee player approved

December 13, 2019

Worth it? No.

I had a tough time finding a waterproof backpack for work and was excited when I stumbled on this one. Ultimately, the material feels thin and like it could be easily punctured, the zippers aren't easy to use with one hand which is a bummer when needing to quickly grab something, and there isn't enough internal organization for my daily n... Read Moreeeds. This, combined with padding that feels inexpensive, makes me question if it's worth the price.

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Hi Holt, we think the Stormfront Pack may be a better option for you. These packs are 100% waterproof-submersible and features a durable and burly nylon core with a TPU coating. You can learn more about it here, https://www.patagonia.com/product/stormfront-waterproof-pack-30-liters/49154.html?dwvar_49154_color=BLK&cgid=root&isSearch=true#tile-5=&q=waterproof%2Bpack&lang=en_US&start=1&sz=24.

December 12, 2019

Nice design, leaky zippers.

I own the fold top black hole backpack from a few years ago. It was my standard bike commute bag. It was great at keeping things dry. This new design is great, with regards to packing and accessibility. It is also comfortable to wear. The waist strap has been removed, which is good because I never used it on the previous version. Missing though are... Read More two little elastic bands on the ends of the shoulder straps to keep the excess from flailing around. There is a band on the chest strap. My biggest problem is the horizontal zippers on top. They are not at all water tight. After a 10 minute bike ride in moderate rain, my items in the small top pouch were soaked. If you have the main compartment full, items near the top will also get wet. Why make the entire bag out of a great water resistant material and then use leaky zippers?

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Hi Justin, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the zippers. This pack isn't 100% waterproof, just water resistant, and the zippers aren't watertight so it will wet through overtime. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 11, 2019

Almost perfect

I was looking for a bucket-style backpack with a dedicated laptop sleeve for short business trips, and general airline travel. My specific requirements were strict, because when packed full, I wanted the largest bag possible that would qualify as a PERSONAL ITEM (not a carry on I want it to fit under the seat in front of me on a plane. Thank you bu... Read Moredget airline baggage fees). I've now taken this backpack on multiple trips with Delta, United, Southwest, Spirit, and Frontier. It has happily fit under the seat in front of me in each of those scenarios, albeit with less footspace. The pockets, loops, and material are all perfect for airline travel, and I can easily fit everything I need inside. While the body of the pack is perfect (best I found to meet my needs after a year of trial and error with many brands) I am very disappointed in the shoulder straps, and lack of hip belt. Any backpack larger than 27L *should* have a supportive hip belt to help distribute the weight it is capable of carrying. I think this is a massive oversight since this backpack is meant for a laptop, has pockets for water bottles, and can carry quite a bit of weight. From what I can tell, the shoulder straps were designed specifically (only) for larger men, they are extremely wide-set for a 5'4" female, and are quite uncomfortable. That would be easy to work with using the chest buckle, except the chest buckle is only adjustable to 3 different heights, and when the shoulder straps are shortened all the way, none of these chest strap positions sit above where a woman's boobs are, and it is wildly uncomfortable. Now that would also be somewhat acceptable, if there was a hip belt to help distribute the weight off of the shoulders with a hip belt. At a minimum, the pack should have a small, but sturdy loop of webbing to attach after-market hip belts too. Ideally, Patagonia would come up with a removable version of the Ascensionist's hipbelts (lightweight, but sturdy and able to distribute weight) to satisfy everyones needs, along with adding another adjustment level to the chest strap to allow it to be moved up even higher on the shoulder straps. I'll be keeping my pack and modifying it myself until those changes are made.

December 7, 2019

Please bring back side straps!

I love this pack- its the perfect day pack and airplane personal item. My one big complaint is that they omitted the side straps from the now discontinued 30L black hole. Without them, no matter how full my pack is, my 1L nalgene bottles wont stay in the pockets. Even the lightest rock scrambling knocks them out. I also can't secure my trekkin... Read Moreg poles without the straps. Please please add them back! Otherwise a 5 star bag- very comfortable, very water resistant.

December 3, 2019

The best redesign in years

This is one of the better redesigns for the large-size black hole pack in years from a use-ability and appearance standpoint. I like the U-shaped zipper which provides nice access to the main compartment. There is just enough organization in the main compartment to help with small items (maybe could use a little more for pens). The other pockets a... Read Morere all great - there is a combo tablet / laptop sleeve at the wearer’s back, and two smaller pockets, one horizontal zip and one vertical. And at 32L, this is the most space the large Black Hole pack has had in years (only the 35L from ... 3? Generations ago was bigger I think). The other major change is that they are no longer using the ridged firm backing material like they have before - this is more of a regular fabric. It’s more practical for storage but I’ll miss the old material just because it was a signature for the black hole packs. This bag feels more useable than last year’s 30L, which was basically an upsized design of the old 28L Refugio. The felt-lined sunglasses pocket was a nice touch, but the main compartment on the 30L was just a little too large. The roll down zip from two years ago had a similar problem, and did not look very good unless it was pretty full. The 35L model from way back when was really lacking in organization, but I will say it had really strong/burly feeling materials, at the expense of weight. I really liked how secure the bottom of the pack felt on that model.

November 29, 2019

more type of people can buy your product

The color of your backpack is attractive. For example: (black hole pack 30L), some colors such as dark green can be sold in your branch in 2017, but will not be sold in 2019, can you book online the products you used to sell but do not have now, when booking You only make the products at the US headquarters, and then send them to other countries fo... Read Morer sale. Because your US headquarters is relatively large, you have enough space to store the products you ordered. Because every color of the products you design is very attractive, if you can choose more product colors, you will more types of people like to buy your products.

November 26, 2019

Best Travel Back Pack

Love this backpack. It's big enough I can fit my gym clothes in and small enough I can bring it to work.

November 25, 2019

Jack of all trades

Full disclaimer- I'm obsessed with finding the perfect travel bag. I travel for work A LOT, both domestically and internationally. Problem is the bag has to accomplish many different tasks depending on when, where and how long I'm traveling. Whether the bag is being used as my daily commuter, on a 3 week trip in Europe, or in the desert ... Read Moreas my hiking bag it has met all the challenges I have thrown at it. I LOVE it! I went in store and compared the 25 L vs 32L as I didn't want a bag that looks awkward when not full. The 32L has the ability to be extra spacious for when you're stuffing it to the brim, but also does not look overly large when only partially full. I do not regret my decision going with the larger size as in the side by side they almost looked the same. Black hole material keeps the elements out, I've had rainy internationally travel days, and snowy walks to the office from the train (like this morning). Nothing inside has been remotely damp. If I had any complaint it's when hiking and loaded with my camera kit, the bottom corners can dig into my back when the shoulder straps are pulled really tight. It's only been a handful of times and usually adjusting the straps elevates the issue. Definitely not something that would keep me from buying it, since it accomplishes so many different needs. Overall I cannot recommend this enough. All of my travel bags are now from the Black Hole line. Including dopp kit (small packing cube), in plane seat bag (medium packing cube, still gives me plenty of foot room), and rolling 70L duffel. Get out there!!

November 23, 2019

great commuting backpack

I use this to bike and walk to work and meetings. It gracefully carries my lunch, computer, binders, and sometimes a thermos of tea. It is awesome. It is also beautiful as well as functional.

November 22, 2019

Chameleon

Great construction great looking - holds more than you think it - great all round!

November 22, 2019

Holds things

This bag holds my things, mostly. It holds what I need, and I can use it by putting my arms thru the loops and wear it as a pack, like, on my back. It’s funny because I used to have to hold everything in my arms and hands when I’m out and about, but now...now, I can put them in my premium Black Hole Pack 32L. I can now use my hands for other things... Read More, like holding my cellular device. Computer looking device for your lap? There’s a space for that. Digital tablet? There’s probably a space for that, too. It has these metal clamp looking things that close up the pack entirely when you pull on them..like tiny metal ties that interlock. Without these, things would fall out easily, which would make a pack on your back useless, because your arms are facing the other way.

November 19, 2019

Great Backpack!

I love this backpack! I work in the ski industry and need to put everything plus the kitchen sink in my backpack every day, and I love that its waterproof! It doesn't feel awkward when I stuff it full! 10/10 would recommend!

November 14, 2019

THE PERFECT ALL ROUND BACKPACK

Recently I had been in the market for a HIGHLY water resistant backpack that would be comfortable to wear for long periods of time. As a college student, I am constantly moving around from classes, work, leisure and needed a bag that would be large enough to carry everything I need for school while not overly huge and cumbersome, plus a rain shell ... Read Moreand insulating shell. This backpack has a separate pocket for my iPad and laptop which also helps to keep the weight closer to my back and separate from everything else that’s getting stuffed into a backpack. I have taken this hiking and mountain biking and I’m positive this could work for on a weekend ski trip. I strongly support Patagonia’s mission to protect the environment while constantly putting out great products, this black hole backpack is no exception. The price may be steep, but I’m sure I’ll keep this backpack for years before I buy another. If you’re in between the 32l and the 25l, I would suggest the larger because extra space is always nice. You can’t go wrong with this purchase!!!

November 1, 2019

Great!!

Great!!

October 31, 2019

Goes anywhere, hauls everything

Great bag, loads of room. I've taken this bag on international flights, day trips, and frequently use it for getting groceries on my bike. Super tough too, took a nasty spill on my bike and the bag was unscathed. Well thought out design too.

October 28, 2019

Black Hole Pack 32L

I love this bag! All the various compartments are super handy. There's tons of room, but the bag does not feel big and bulky. The top compartment for easy access is particularly handy for keeping headphones in. I think my favorite part is how light it is, yet it still feels super durable.

October 24, 2019

Great pack!

Got the 32L black hole as an every day pack. I thought it might be too big but the material is so light and the design is sleek enough that it has not seemed to big even as an every day bag. I like the bottle pockets that fit larger insulated 40oz bottles externally. Great overall pack for urban lifestyle use. Looking forward to the extra capacity ... Read Moreand external access laptop sleeve when I travel with it.

October 21, 2019

Great Pack but.....

My Hydro Flask keeps falling out when I put the pack on the ground. So the side pockets could maybe use some improvement. Other than that I LOVE IT for day trips. Holds alot and is fashionable!

Response from Patagonia
November 8, 2019

Hi Kathryn! Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with this feedback, it's so crucial to improving products in the future. Nevertheless, if you're not totally satisfied with the pack you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return)

October 17, 2019

Catalin

I absolutely adore this backpack. Was looking for a large enough backpack for my swimming gear and to hold a pair of shoes/boots, pair of trousers/jeans, shirt, jumper and a big winter jacket while training as I don't trust the lockers at my local pool. I also needed to be waterproof and lightweight and is all of these.

October 12, 2019

Good but not great

I purchase Patagonia for the quality. This bag could be bigger to meet my needs (38-40L). The zippers seem kind of skimpy but if they break I know Patagonia will stand behind the product. Also not crazy for that plasticy coating. I guess I want a day back with the toughness of a real backpack without all the bracing and hip straps.

October 10, 2019

So far so good, I think this pack will be great for me

Been using this for the past few months, and it's great so far. This replaces an Arcteryx Khard 30. Since I use my daypack for commuting, gym clothes, food (and not for technical climbing), the Arcteryx was too structured for day to day. This pack is a good blend of functionality and simplicity. I will probably keep using the Arcteryx for hiki... Read Moreng, and use this for my day to day. Good things: Looks: I got the black one, and blacked out or removed all the logos right away. Once it gets a little more scuffed up, it should be a great looking pack. Comfort: the straps go on easily even when the bag is fully loaded (and this isn't something you can take for granted with every pack, so I really appreciate it on this one) Capacity: not all packs of the same size carry the same amount. This one has been great for jamming a ton of stuff into. It's a 32L bag, and I feel like I can truly get 100% of the space utilized. Good variety of additional pockets, without compromising the sleek(ish) look Not as good: Doesn't stand up on it's base easily when set down. I consider this a moderately big deal for a commuting bag that needs to be set down regularly. I think bags like this can be designed to stand up easily without compromising the silhouette or overall shape / style of the bag. The mini pocket on the bag's top isn't as easy to open / close as it could be. Slightly annoying. Overall I think this is a great pack for my needs though. Aesthetics are a key factor for me, and the black one looks great (the other ones are ugly as hell IMO but I guess there are people who are into that stuff). Materials and construction all seem really solid. The bag does have a sternum strap, but keep in mind it's not structured at all, and it's totally designed as an everyday/commuter style pack (it has a laptop pocket instead of a structural back plate). This makes it great for everyday use, but if you're looking for a hiking bag, this wouldn't be my first recommendation.

October 8, 2019

Maybe bigger than I needed,

Maybe bigger than I needed, but it fits everything i need so well & never feels over full! I can actually pack my sweaters and jackets away and still have room for everything else I have to carry around all day!

October 7, 2019

Not what I expected

I was really excited about this backpack. I have previously used North Face for all my backpack needs (I'm a college student so it's primarily for carrying my books and the occasional hike), but was getting frustrated with the shedding of the inner lining and the sticky zippers. I ordered this black hole because I thought I would love the... Read More functionality of the protected laptop sleeve and the visibility with the large opening. What I learned is that if you have anything in the top pocket and the main compartment isn't completely full, it sags in on itself. Additionally, the back laptop compartment is really hard to get in and out of. If you're looking to stuff this bag full for every use, 10/10 recommend. Otherwise, I do not recommend this bag for day-to-day use. :( I'm not sure what to do with it now.

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2019

Hi Elena! We can definitely understand if the functionality of the 35L Black Hole isn't working for you. We'd like to try to get you into a different pack that may better suit your needs. You can initiate a return or exchange with us at any time. I'll reach out to you privately with more information on how to get that pack back to us.

October 2, 2019

Awesome Backpack!

Had the 25L and decided to upgrade, great choice!

October 1, 2019

Significant flaw on mesh pocket

The internal mesh pocket - the only internal pocket within the main compartment - has a pretty deal-breaking flaw. Patagonia have placed a cord and small carabiner for keys within the mesh pocket, next to the opening zip, using a very thin fabric. After I put items within this mesh pocket, I could no longer open it: the zip was eating the key cord ... Read Morefabric and will not open. There is no access on the other side. The zip has essentially be rendered broken on the first use, and I cannot return the bag with my keys and other valuables locked in this pocket. As such, I had to cut the internal mesh pocket open in order to retrieve my items and now have a bag with no internal storage, just a flappy mesh reminder of a ridiculous design oversight.

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return, exchange, or repair you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 26, 2019

Perfect size (large!)

Had the older version of this backpack, which was also a bit smaller. This new one is just great. They moved the laptop sleeve thingy to the outside back side, and just the whole backpack is PERFECT!

September 24, 2019

Outstanding, except for lack of internal mesh pockets in the top compartment

This is an excellent backpack for everyday commuting and also for day hikes. It is noticeably lightweight and holds up to our local Scottish weather (just about every type of rain one can imagine). My only complaint is that the top compartment really would be better if it had zippered mesh pockets for organising and securing things like earphones, ... Read Morecables, USB adaptors etc. There is a mesh pocket in the main compartment, but the omission on the top compartment is a little odd. It is too easy for items to fall out when accessing it as it stands, and the increase in weight of mesh organiser pockets would be minimal.

September 24, 2019

LOVE. LOVE. LOVE!

This is one of my new favorite items that I own! It fits all my stuff including the extras. It comfortable and the design/style is killerrrr. Love the all black and that it's water-resistent!

September 23, 2019

Black Hole 32L

I love the look of the bag and the size. My son is using it for school, carrying school folders and it has already started to split.

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you've experienced some durability issues with this bag. Please note, if you are unsatisfied with the performance of one of our products, we are happy to receive that back. If you'd like any help processing a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return), just [reach out](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact).

September 21, 2019

Makes a great school bag for a middle schooler

Spacious and tough. Will not rip. Rain runs off of it.

September 21, 2019

Super versatile, tough and comfortable

Works as beautifully for short hikes as it does for a short work trip. Love that I can carry 2 days worth of clothes and my laptop etc in one bag

September 19, 2019

For Work and Play, this pack does it all

I use this pack for work and for play. Because my work necessitates carrying large books, I needed to find a pack that was comfortable, light, and aerodynamic. This pack fulfills all three. I also researched how the pack was made--I want to ensure any future purchaser that it is made in a humane way. That was very important to me. Thanks, Patagonia... Read More!

September 17, 2019

Black Hole 32L

My perfect bag! I upgraded to this bag from an old Patagonia Petrolia 28L. I switched to this bag because I wanted the durable, water resistant material and I liked the upgrades that they made to this model. I also own a Black Hole duffel so I knew the material would meet my expectations; I tend to not baby my packs and my duffel has held up well o... Read Morever the years. I use this bag everyday for school, work, and for short-term trips. This is also used as a secondary climbing bag if I'm not hauling all my gear - there is no hip belt so carrying heavy loads for a long approach would not be ideal. Overall, the bag is very clean looking, durable, and spacious without being too bulky. I love the gold color and would recommend this bag if you're looking for a good all-arounder.

September 16, 2019

Upgrade from 25l

I had the 25l for 5 years but working around fish, the bag got pretty gross. Decided to upgrade on size and I love it! 25l would always fall forward when the top was open which is not ideal when working around fish. The extra 7l really makes a difference and loving the brown colorway. Overall black hole bags are great for PNW weather and the materi... Read Moreal really does hold up to heavy wear and tear.

September 13, 2019

My new best friend

I adore this pack. I am a working mother and I bike commute my family to work. I was feeling like a bag lady carrying lunch packs, my laptop for work-at-home sesh's, my coffee, portable mouse, and a dozen other small items critical to my day. This pack has a spot for everything and it's the perfect size. I love the top access pocket where... Read More I stash my sunnies, mouse, pen and phone. Size mesh pouches are perfect for a coffee flask and slim water bottle (or baby bottle.) The roomie interior pouch has some great internal pockets for random items that you don't want to slide all the way to the bottom and I love how the zipper of the main compartment slants towards the back so that the access is easy. The pack is nicely padded on the back and is one of the most comfortable daypacks I've ever worn. My only suggestion for the team is that the zipper for the computer sleeve is a little awkward. It's easiest, given where the straps are, to zip down the side, but the fact that the computer sleeve is oriented for a top entry makes that impractical. It'd be better if the sleeve inside were side access. Thanks for rockin' in Patagonia. My and the fam love you and we're looking forward to biking in with full waterproofness even after the snow starts to fly and then again through the spring rains!

September 9, 2019

Awesome bag!

Big! I can take my entire black hole messenger bag along with other daily supplies and drop it all in the main compartment for ease of travel to campus. Very comfortable to wear love the water resistance on rainy days.

September 9, 2019

It’s an amazing looking backpack

It’s an amazing looking backpack that fits all of my stuff and more.

September 6, 2019

Black Hole Line is the BEST!

I love this line so much. It is durable, light weight and highly functional. When you add in the positive impact on the environment it makes the products that much sweeter! These bags are worth every dollar and will stand up to the test of time.

September 4, 2019

Stellar Backpack

Solidly built, well designed, attractive, and obviously going to last a long time. Nothing to not like about this pack.

September 2, 2019

Great pack

Lots of pockets and is big enough for school without being ridiculously big - my son loves it! Hoping it will last through his four years of high school

August 28, 2019

Laptop

15 in MacBook Pro barely fits and doesn’t leave room for much else. Hard to imagine fitting another pair of shoes and a set of close in here. Deceiving how small and how little it holds

Response from Patagonia
September 4, 2019

We are sorry this pack did not work for the purposes you needed it for. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back to us and we will make sure you are taken care of and we can help get you into the correct pack that fits your needs.

August 28, 2019

Great Bag. Perfect Fit.

This bag has incredible space, is light, strong material, and fits perfectly. Its super comfortable. Would highly recommend.

August 27, 2019

organize

Good stuff, water bottle pockets, room for computer or hydration bladder, interior organization pocket, the only thing I wish it had was a key loop in the top pocket for my work id

August 27, 2019

Excellent product!

Pack works and looks great!

August 26, 2019

Just ok!

In reality a pack this size should have a waist belt, there is too much weight hanging from your shoulders. The top pocket and the laptop pocket are handy and the side pockets for water bottles. A darker color would likely not show dirt & wear as much as the birch I purchased. Finally a trolley strap on the back would help huge so the pack coul... Read Mored sit on top of the 40L back hole roller board.

August 24, 2019

Large durable bag

Great pack . I can fix a whole weeks worth of clothes and necessary items for travel . Excellent investment .

August 22, 2019

Great bag for daily commute to work

I loved this bag, it has ample amount of room and the front pocket is great for quick grab electronics and materials. In addition to holding office supplies, it still leaves plenty of room for a change if clothing, food, and any other items. One of my favorite parts of the backpack is it keep all my items dry and the zippers are easy to zip in a hu... Read Morerry if needed. Its great durability can survive in any conditions and is easy to wash if needed. The only change I would ask for is maybe ask for a wider variety of colors as a lot of them seem somewhat bland.

August 21, 2019

Black Hole 32L life saver !

This backpack is what I have been wanting in a backpack for a long time. It’s material is very durable & most importantly it waterproof- something this is very important for me. I would recommend this item to any and everyone who is looking for a great looking backpack that holds tons of daily items and can even be taken on a plane or hiking tr... Read Moreip. Amazing!

August 21, 2019

Good backpack

I love the design and the material of the backpack. Only 2 complains: it would benefit from a waist strap and from a bit more rigidity (when empty the upper part fall down and if the upper pocket is open everything will fall). Very nice on the overall.

August 21, 2019

Glad I got robbed

I spend a lot of time looking for the right bag. My previous bag took my six months, I finally decided and absolutely loved my Cotopaxi backpack. A few months ago my backpack was stolen and I was devastated that I would have to find a new backpack. I’m glad now that I was forced into getting a new pack because this backpack is fantastic. I love e... Read Morevery aspect of it. You can tell that this bag had a lot of thought going into the design. The pockets are perfect. The material is heavy duty and I’m not too worried about damaging it. I use this as my day bag and my adventure pack and it plays both parts wonderfully. I live in Texas, I will say that this bag does heat up quite a bit in the sun, more so than any other bag I have had. I’m willing to have a toastier pack if it means it’s made out of recycled materials.

August 17, 2019

32l backpack

Very nice and holds everything I need.

August 16, 2019

Great bag, exactly what I wanted

The bag is just the right size for my 3 week trip to Europe, and not so big that I'd have a bunch of extra space! The quality of the material is super tough, and a nice little bonus is that it packs into its own attached bag when you aren't using it

August 13, 2019

Great bag!

Looks great, comfortable shoulder straps, ample storage.

August 12, 2019

Black Hole Pack 32L

Simply put, it performs as advertised. I bought this for a recent trip to Svalbard/Greenland/Iceland. Fits under the plane seat without difficulty, comfortable to wear, laptop holder is nice touch, just the right amount of pockets, and appropriate amount of water resistance. Its next trip will be holding my surf-fishing gear on a weeklong fall trip... Read More to New England where it will see some heavier outdoor usage...no regrets.

August 12, 2019

Awesome bag for hauling gear and laptop.

I wanted a bag for my personal laptop that was water resistant and also could help me carry things for sports too. The gear loops are great for helping me carry my climbing gear while not making my bag smelly. Limited pouches for cables and chargers on the main pouch but it can carry a lot of weight comfortably.

August 11, 2019

I like the pack ,

I like the pack , I recently used it on a long motorcycle trip and it was very comfortable and carried everything I needed for the week the only complaint I have is that when I was caught it a rain storm the spot where the two zippers meet on the main compartment leaked and my clothes got wet . The next time I put a two inch piece of duck tape over... Read More where the zipper ends meet and didn't have any problems

August 11, 2019

Great design and durability

I'm developing quite a collection of black hole bags as I love their design and durability. The new 32L pack hasn't let me down. Great redesign for the top access, protected electronic organization, and just like my other bags, I can't believe the volume of gear I can put in there. It's definitely capable of more than a day pac... Read Morek, but was still very comfortable under the seat as a carry-on during a recent cross country flight.

August 10, 2019

Super backpack!

Has tons a space for anything and everything. All the right handles, stash pockets, etc. and super comfortable. Daily commuter. Love it.

August 10, 2019

Great carry-on

This is great size bag for weekend travel. It will fit 17inch laptop with thin bezels like asus ROG Strix SCAR II (just about). Would be great to see flap for the zipper where you hide shoulder straps to protect from a rain and Tres MLC version of it for people who don't necessary like shiny colour.

August 10, 2019

Pack it and take it.

I like this bag for a variety of activities, longer day hikes, photography (sturdy enough to carry my camera), Nordic skiing, and a carry on for travel. This new black hole has had some positive modifications, the top opening (much easier to get into) and the outside water bottle storage are all nice improvements. Best of all, it is made from all ... Read Morerecycled material.

August 10, 2019

Black Hole 32L Pack

I would like a deep pocket on the front of the pack to replace those strap on thingies which I never use. It's easier for me to take off my pack and grab something out of a front pocket, then to either unzip the top pocket or dig into the interior zipper pocket.

August 10, 2019

Black Hole 32L Pack

High quality day/travel pack that fits a wide variety of needs. Hard to find in Patagonia and adventure stores. Easy to order from Patagonia directly with fast delivery.

August 10, 2019

Love it

I just use this for school but it's big enough I could probably fit gear for a night or two if I really needed to.

August 10, 2019

This is an awesome product

This is an awesome product and it fits all of my needs.

August 10, 2019

Great backpack!

Very functional. Many sizes to select from. The quality seems very good so far. I am very satisfied.

August 5, 2019

Excellent Carry-On

This is my favorite back-pack for several reasons. The pack is perfect size for getting through an airport both domestic and international. The top zippier pouch hold necessities that require quick access. The zipper on the back side hold small electronics or a book for easy retrieving from an overhead compartment. Two water bottle pockets keeps a ... Read Morereusable water bottle in place at all times. On the inside, the padded sleeve fits a 15 inch laptop with ease while the second sleeve will fit smaller electronics. One small trivial complaint is the placement of the key holder in the large compartment area as it is not easily accessible when the pack is full.

July 26, 2019

Love this bag

I ordered this bag for some international traveling and for hauling heavy books around. I have completely fallen in love with it. It has the perfect combo of durability and space.

July 22, 2019

Black Hole 32L - Exceptional

I needed to replace my last BH Backpack because I couldn't find it and I had a fairly extensive trip coming up. So far I've done London, Paris, Rome, NYC, Puerto Rico, the ABC's and now Belize... this bag has been exceptional. Its versatile, light but still built up enough to give you the support you want. The pocket placement and fu... Read Morenctionality is next level. I was happy with the last rendition of this backpack but this one is way more streamlined. I've had it rain/sprinkle and while I definitely use an array of packing cubes nothing on the inside of the bag has been wet/damp. Also the exterior face being carabiner friendly is super useful, I have been hanging my neck pillow and Keens from them consistently for ease of packing. 10 out of 10 would recommend. I just wish I had had the time to grab a colorful version of the bag, the store only had black at the time of my departure. I might have to gift this one away to validate buying the Sage or Hammond's color wave....

July 1, 2019

Black Hole 32L Backpack

Just got this bag head of a trip and it has everything I need for maximum versatility in a backpack. I wanted something I could travel, commute to work on a bike and hike with and this pack has all the ingredients for all of it. On top of that, Patagonia has delivered awesome customer service helping me to make the choice. Paired with some packing ... Read Morecubes it is ready for your next adventure whether that’s the office or scaling mountains.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches