Back to Product

Ms Capilene® Midweight Zip-Neck

Write Your Review

4.78 /5

Filter Reviews

All 41 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Capilene® Midweight Zip-Neck

4.78
True To Size
June 6, 2020

Great for running, great for casual wear

First off, I don't know what it is, but I love this particular take on the camouflage print. I gravitate towards it equally when I'm searching for something cool and comfy to wear or when I'm looking for an outfit to keep me insulated when I exercise outside. The fabric feels light to me, and I hesitate to describe it as "mid-we... Read Moreight." I like this about it, however. It's a great light-weight option, and, as I found it to run a little small, as a great under-layer. Lastly, this may seem odd to point out, but this is the deepest zipper I have ever seen on anything that could be called a "zip-neck;" this comes in handy when you're getting hot (and as a playful jest to wear it very low out and about with your partner).

April 14, 2020

Weight of the Mid-Weight

Yes, it is true that the mid-weight is heavier in actual weight than he thermal. That is because the thermal uses a waffle-type weave that traps a lot of insulating air but is very light weight. The mid-weight is more tightly woven and thus weighs more. But they are both great products when used in the right conditions and the mid-weight is as vers... Read Moreatile as it gets. Every time Patagonia redesigns the Capilene line it makes it better. I still have some that goes back about three generations and it still works great, but is not as good as the new stuff.

February 23, 2020

Great piece

I bought the midweight zip-neck on sale and wore it for three days of skiing in temps from 26-34F and felt fantastic. I found the fit to be right on, long enough to tuck easily and comfortable around the neck whether fully zipped or not. The thumb loop style/placement were a bit tight for me so I didn't use them. With a lightly insulated jacke... Read Moret and shell, I was perfectly warm and can't recall a time I ever felt sweaty despite lots of movement. My only gripe, and this is more a reflection of the pants, is that the material catches velcro easily which causes it to get all burred up. I love the orange color and it honestly looks, feels, and smells clean after three long days. Very happy that it's largely made of recycled material.

February 2, 2020

I love this sweater!

Despite living in Minnesota, I have never been one to spend a lot on clothing. I am going backpacking for 2 months this spring and decided to treat myself. I am so happy with the quality of this sweater. It looks great, feels great, but most importantly performs incredibly. I never want to take it off. I'm 6'1 and got a large which fits p... Read Moreerfectly. It's slim to my body but also has plenty of room for movement. My one complaint is I can't use the thumb loops because the sleeves are about 1/2 inch too short for my long arms, although I'm guessing they'd be perfect for the average person.

February 2, 2020

Perfect!

This updated version is very comfortable! I haven't worn it hiking yet but it was perfect for my run in the 36F temperature coupled with my breathable hard shell. I Love the extra long zipper to maximize ventilation. Thin enough to wear under a mid layer if needed. I strongly recommend this base layer!

January 17, 2020

So good

This product of which I own several, is without doubt unsurpassed by anything I have owned per se, incredibly long life, at least 10 years + with no change in performance, worth every penny and some.

January 11, 2020

Nice and comfortable

Very good quality, looks nice also. It is comfortable and it gives a pleasant touch on the skin. If you are not very young and thin maybe it would be better to choose the next bigger waist size.

January 6, 2020

Great Active Baselayer

This baselayer has been a great addition to my ski layer system. It provides a good balance of breathability and some warmth when paired with an insulating layer. The one drawback I found was that it has started to have minor wear in spots after only a couple uses.

January 4, 2020

Great base layer

A very comfortable base layer that fits and feels great.

December 28, 2019

Great fit and qualify

Great fit and qualify

December 23, 2019

I'm old. I wear this type of undershirt all winter.

I live in upstate NY. I'm 70+ and slim. I wear this type of undershirt all winter. In my closet are a dozen of them from 3 or 4 manufacturers. They are all about equally warm to my old skin. But the 4 I have from Patagonia - 2 are six or eight years old - are clearly superior in fit, finish, design, detailing and comfort. And they are made fro... Read Morem recycled fibers.

December 16, 2019

Greatest keeps getting better

Honestly, it's fantastic. I decided to update to the newest edition of the capilene for mountain hunting in Alaska after the Bear Witness camo pattern came out. Patagonia's stuff is better, lighter, more durable, and quite a bit cheaper than equivalent pieces from mountain hunting specialty brands, so why not? It's still the best. It... Read More breathes incredibly well as a solo layer, but retains lots of heat when under a wind blocking layer thanks to the textured backing of the fabric. I just wish you'd start making a camo R1 - I'd buy it pretty much immediately.

December 12, 2019

ever progressing

Have worn out every version of every generation of the mid weight capilene, this one is perfection. The arms and tail seem a little longer than past editions and therefore do a better job at helping wrist/hands and low back warm. Material is far more breathable than previous generations. My primary use is backcountry skiing and all other skiing. Ku... Read Moredos to Patagonia for incorporating more recycled plastics into clothing but can you please stop putting every piece of clothing in it's own plastic bag that is then put into a plastic envelope. They don't need protected like that, seriously it's not needed and highly destructive, I mean you know right? Right?

December 8, 2019

Love our capilene zip necks. All three

Super products . Super company ...love environment and activist statements.

December 6, 2019

Great stuff

Hadn't used Capilene before...amazing fabric! Use these for layering in cool weather at present, don't know what performance will be in hot weather. Not sure what the technology is, but it's more apparent in the Lightweight version.....can actually feel the skin "breathe" thro the fabric and simultaneously feel the exterior... Read More wind protection. Difficult to describe but it's a distinctive and effective sensation.

December 6, 2019

Needed another

Great multi function piece... wear this later all the time regardless of what I’m doing.

December 4, 2019

Great for cold weather runs

The Capilene Midweight Zip-Neck is great for cold weather runs. I've been using it in 35° temps and am sweating by the end of the run when paired with the CAP TW ZIP NECK HOODY and Wind Shield Gloves. It also works great on its own when the temps are 50°+.

November 30, 2019

Go to base layers.

Out on the snow six hours a day. Love the long zip for venting. On really cold days, I sometimes wear two; one large and one extra large.

November 23, 2019

I like the new design

The Cap 3/midweight Capilene seems to have been redesigned again, and I still love it. Its comfy, fits well, and does its insulating, moisture-wicking job quite well. No complaints.

November 23, 2019

capilene, zip-up

fantastic base layers — bring back the light weight

November 23, 2019

Light weight version of this zip tee?

I hope you consider bringing back the light weight version of this zip tee. ( patagonia-capilene-lightweight-zip-neck-long-underwear-top-mens). I have one which is in need of replacing and I see it is no longer available. This has been my best cold weather base layer for high activity winter sports. Glen Briden

November 21, 2019

Capilene Rules!

I love my new Capilene mid weight! Keeping up with my husky, Powder, demands a zip-neck layer that is light, breathable and quality built- in other words, Patagonia!

November 18, 2019

Capilene zip

Like it gor layeeing. Wish zipper didnt go quite so far down. Maybe lose 2 inches

November 17, 2019

Ms Capilene® Midweight Zip-Neck

This is a fine product, but I miss the Lightweight version that is no longer available. This is a little heavier than I would like for a base layer.

November 15, 2019

Favorite Layering Tool

I have a few of these. I use them for a top layer for cool weather cycling, a mid or top layer for xc/bc skiing, and keep one in my day pack for hiking. Well constructed and they last. Bought a red one this time to stand out a bit when cycling. Wouldn't mind if you did one in bright yellow/green.

November 11, 2019

New fabric design is a huge upgrade to the midweight line

I'm 5'10" , 168lbs, 42 chest, 32 waist, 35 sleeve and the medium is form fitting but but not binding anywhere. Perfect for layering of wearing alone. I'm normally between Patagonia sizing, large(chest) and medium(waist) but this year small adjustments have made, the medium is now dialed for those in this predicament. I'm st... Read Moreoked for the changes. Love the feel and functionality of the new fabric design. Very comfortable against the skin, breathability and drying times significantly improved. I've been wearing this top under a 30lb training pack on the trail 3X/week and only a couple of small snags(barely noticeable) which is to be expected, so durability is excellent. New HeiQ odor control exceeding expectations and Polygiene's effectiveness. I can sweat it out on 3 hikes, hang to dry and smell kept to minimum, allowing to wash once a week. The hexagonal fabric with mechanical stretch is a huge upgrade. I've been wearing alone in the mid 40 to high 50 temp range and couldn't be happier with performance. I wear to work as well and it's stylish and comfortable indoors in the high 60s. I own the crew as well, a little snug across chest but not a deal breaker. Thanks Patagonia - for continuing to raise the bar and making the outdoors more comfortable to explore.

November 9, 2019

toasty warm

High quality fabric ; feels nice on my skin all day long.

November 8, 2019

running in the fog

i run every day on the western edge of san francisco. these tops are perfect for foggy 50-65 degree weather even doing aerobic activities. i have 4 of them.

November 5, 2019

nice.....

nice.....

November 5, 2019

Mens Capilene - Thumbs Up!

Been using Capilene for years and they are excellent. Midweight is very warm and comfortable! Keep up the good work.

November 5, 2019

Worth the money!

I wear these from late October through early spring underneath shirts, sweaters, and bike jerseys. It feels good against the skin and has a great semi turtleneck with sturdy zipper while the thumb loop keeps the wrist covered. Live in it!

November 1, 2019

Pretty subtle pattern and nice

Pretty subtle pattern and nice fit - not skin tight

November 1, 2019

great base layer for exercising to replace holey, old sweatshirt

Really enjoying wearing stylish, versatile medium weight base layer to exercise in to warm up in, and to wear after exercising to keep warm in .

October 27, 2019

The Best

The Best

October 24, 2019

Calilene MW Zip Neck Comments

Excellent wicking ability. Stayed dry underneath long sleeve cycling jersey in 50F degree weather. Will use if as a base layer skiing in Colorado this winter.

October 23, 2019

Cap Midweight

Been buying Patagonia items for years. Always outstanding. If something happens and needs to be repaired - Patagonia does it for free. Nice. All the clothing & gear is always a well done!

October 7, 2019

Goldstandard

For years Patagonia's capilene base layers have been the gold standard for base layers and this is no different. Fabric breathes well, cut is great and doesn't stink.

October 4, 2019

lightweight, warm, and well-made

lightweight, warm, and well-made

October 2, 2019

Form fit

Any physical activity warms the body then the heat dissipates with cooling sweat. I found this garment to accelerate the transition. Making the lucky person choose to do so much more.

September 9, 2019

Perfect base layer

Just the right weight and the zip neck turtleneck is very comfortable.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches