Back to Product

Cragsmith Pack 45L

Write Your Review

4.8/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • S/M
  • L/XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 40 Reviews

Clear All

Cragsmith Pack 45L

4.8/5
April 29, 2021

Too much volume for my usage

Summary: This is a great design and a bomber pack. It seems like one of the most versatile cragging packs on the market, which is its intended purpose. I purchased the pack for slightly different usage and it wasn't right for me. Usage: I was looking for a pack to use primarily for short hikes by myself and with my two young kids. I also ne... Read Moreeded something I could use for occasional work travel including airlines and carrying a laptop. I own a couple of minimal alpine packs, so a more comfortable carry and more convenient access while carrying climbing kit seemed like a big plus to me. Likes: The fabric is fantastic. It's durable, weather-resistant, snag-resistant, and attractive. The suspension is comfortable, simple, and low-maintenance. While I didn't want a hip belt, many users of a pack this size will be glad to have one and the belt on this pack is durable, comfortable, and includes a convenient zippered pocket. This pack carries very comfortably even with a full load. The top-loading main compartment is great for packing climbing gear or other large, heavy, or oddly shaped equipment. The body of the pack seems to have some stiffening material to help it hold its shape, which is a bit awkward when the pack is empty, but really helps to keep it upright and open while packing. The drawbridge-style opening is amazing! This is so useful for easy packing and access, and for traveling through airport security with a computer. This pack has a big, durable zipper which is capable of holding a full load against the suspension system. The zipper is placed on the opposite side of the straps from the foam back panel, so it won't chafe against your back. The external grab loops are durable and cleverly located. The internal gear loops are a wonderful touch for climbing gear organization. Between the two grab loops, the drawbridge opening, and the internal gear loops, it's very convenient to move this pack short distances between routes at the crag. Dislikes: I first purchased the 32 L version of this pack, since I new I wanted something closer to that volume and I wanted the removable hip belt. That pack has only one small zippered pocket and one large zippered compartment, and I found that configuration offered too little organization for my needs. I exchanged that pack for the 45 L version, which includes a larger zipper lid compartment in addition to a small zippered pocket and the large main compartment. This is still less organization than I'd prefer, and the larger volume was simply too big for what I needed. I didn't want a hip belt and the belt on this pack is fixed and bulkier than a flat webbing belt. The stretch mesh side pockets are made from fabric that is stretchy but not durable, and they're in a high-wear area. Many packs I've owned previously have had mesh side pockets like this, and that has been the first point of failure for the pack. More durable reinforcements at the bottom of these pockets seems important for a high-wear, high-durability design like this.

April 27, 2021

Best Climbing Purchase

I was using a different pack that wasn't designed for climbing and it was driving me nuts. The ability to toss the pack on the ground and open up the back for access to everything in the pack has made everything easier, faster and better. It's easier to get everything out and setup, it's easier to open up and grab just one thing and ... Read Moreit's easier to pack everything up and head out with out causing a royal mess. The weight distribution is perfect, but for me a size L Patagonia pack always fits perfect, I have a bit longer torso. I'm hauling mostly sport gear in and out of Smith Rock and I barely notice any of it is there. Carrying the rope is no longer a chore, I don't even know it's back there. The one frustration I have is pretty minor, but all the zippers end up in the same place so I often find myself unzipping the wrong pocket for what I'm looking for. Seems a bit nitpicky but with a pack this perfect where else do you find faults?

April 23, 2021

Great idea with some flaws

I really like the design and think its a perfect design for a sport bag at the 32 liter size. However at 45 liters it isn't big enough to soundly fit a full rack and 80 meter rope. I have tested many bags from different companies and truly believe that 50-55 liter range really makes a huge difference. Also the zip closure on the back panel is ... Read Moregreat because they use a super burly zipper however the zip top closure on the brain is not ideal as they didn't use a burly zipper, so if you are trying to stuff things in there and zip it up tight, the zipper can break. for the ideal design I recommend a 55 liter with a zip back panel and a removable brain with a normal shroud top closure

Response from Patagonia
April 23, 2021

Hello Frank, thanks for your detailed review! Our designs are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes, so receiving messages like this really helps us improve.

April 23, 2021

Good stuff!

Had a Crag Daddy prior which was a great pack. Prefer the design of this one overall though. Pros - easier to stuff and overstuff being a top loader too, the crag daddy sometimes struggled with big loads. Even easier access to kit than before when unzipped and sits on the ground well. Back panel doesn't sit in the dirt anymore. Better stru... Read Morecture and materials, nicer hipbelt than before. More pocket options that are also larger. Not that I'll need to often, but the added structure and higher side straps make rope carrying on the outside of the pack much better also. Cons - I really liked just leaving the crag daddy unzipped, stuffing whatever I needed in quickly when walking short distances between routes at the base of crags by just grabbing the 2 carry handles ikea bag style.

April 14, 2021

Cragsmith 45L

Burly, well thought out crag bag

April 5, 2021

Lots to like, but not quite perfect

Ive used this pack at least weekly for about 6 months, for cragging in the PNW. There are quite a few things I really like about it: The way it opens is great, and the foam padding structure that allows it to stand up when closed and act as a dumpster when laid down and opened are both really nice. Its a superb depot at the base of a crag: just ope... Read Moren it up and you have a clean dry spot to toss layers, shoes etc, and you can use it as a rope bag/bucket if you want. A few things I wish were different: 1) Its not all THAT huge, and there is no good way to expand it. I find that a 60m rope in a rope bag, rack of draws, shoes, harness, chalk bag and liter bottle pretty well fill it up. Granted Im using a burly rope (Mammut Workhorse 9.9) and have big feet, but some careful packing is definitely required to put more gear in. Swapping sport rack for trad, things get very tight. 2) Expansion/lashing-on options are limited. With a haul bag style pack you can keep adding stuff to the top and throw a strap over it all. No such luck here. I really wish there were a good way to carry a helmet on the outside of the pack without it swinging around. The elastic mesh side pockets struggle to fit a Nalgene, though theyre great for guide book and (short) stick clip. 3) Carry could be more comfortable. The hip belt is not that burly, and theres no real frame or lumbar pad. When fully crammed, this pack can easily get into the 30+ lbs range. At that weight the hip belt starts to slouch and its hard to get the pack to carry comfortably with most weight on the hips. At 62 I wish the torso measurement were a bit longer. All in all this is a really nice and user-friendly bag for shorter approaches. Its a joy to use at the crag and has been quite durable so far. However, its not huge, is not that flexible in terms of gear carrying options, and could be more comfortable when fully loaded. Great for a day at the sport crag, but it would not be my pick for monstrous amounts of gear and/or long technical approaches.

Response from Patagonia
April 6, 2021

This is really great feedback Andrew. We appreciate all the details.

March 30, 2021

Perfect climbing pack

Ive tried three other bags and this is the best one

March 29, 2021

Great pack for cragging

Just enough space for everything that I take with me for crag climbing (70m rope, food, clothing, rack...). It stands on its own.

March 28, 2021

Great size and super convenient

Great size and super convenient back-panel access!

March 20, 2021

Great

The pack was worth it. Its can hold plenty and has great support.

March 17, 2021

Carry All You Gear

Awesome pack to carry a ton of gear. 45L easily holds a rope, rack, shoes, gear, lunch and water for your climbing outing. Love the fit of the bag. Great features.

February 9, 2021

excellent

Excellent backpack for sport and traditional climbing, plenty of space for everything you need, belts sit well on the waist, side bags excellent for water bottles, pocket books, snacks even a pair of climbing shoes, the bag of Above it fits a helmet, chalk bag and small accessories, the special internal bag for personal belongings, keys, cards and ... Read Moresmall accessories, the back feels good and does not give bad posture, having a good backpack size, does not obstruct the head, the only cons. It would be the price compared to other backpacks

January 25, 2021

Everything you want in a climbing pack

My friends and I tried out lots of other climbing packs and this is just hands down the best. The accessibility, the simplicity, the comfort, and the robust nature of the material/zippers is just unparalleled.

January 4, 2021

Perfect

Perfect

December 28, 2020

Amazing bag... how did get along up until now without it?

This is the perfect climbing bag and travel bag. I simply keep almost my entire sport climbing kit in the bag and just grab on my way out the door and to the crag. The bag can hold a 70 meter rope, rack of draws, quad anchor, and an assortment of other carabiners, slings, and anchor materials. There is one large compartment for all of the gear with... Read More a few strap to hooks gear onto, then another top compartment that is easily accessible and it a nice place to store your lunch, camera, or other items that you don't want mixed into your mass of dirty gear. Finally, there's a "valuables" zippered pocket in the top compartment to hold your wallet and keys.

December 3, 2020

don't buy this just kidding

i climb weekends at RRG. perfect for day out craggin' or whatever you do there

October 18, 2020

Great quality

This is the best climbing bag I have owned! It is a great quality bag that I don't think I'll ever need to replace. It fits all my climbing gear and is comfortable to wear. The design is simple and awesome and I am very happy with my purchase. I ordered this on a Friday afternoon and I read it would be delivered in 4-10 business days, but... Read More it showed up at my door the next morning! It took 0 business days!

September 16, 2020

A Great Crag Pack

This bad boy (45L) is a bottomless pit for all your cragging gear. It EASILY fits a 70m rope, 20 draws, double rack and your shoes and harness and chalk bag along with plenty more room for water and a helmet AND food. And thats just the main compartment. The top and side pockets perfectly fit smaller gadgets / guide book. Everywhere you want a hand... Read Morele / strap there is one, even on the waist belt! It stands up almost regardless of how you load it and the back panel opening is super handy for a day at the crag. It rides well and I can say the only small gripe is that the shoulder straps are ever so slightly uncomfortable. Ive tried a lot of crag packs and this is easily the best. Patagonia rocks.

September 5, 2020

Great for climbing

Love this so much. Only thing I wish it had was some loop holes on the front/ middle area to clip shoes. Not a big deal. The rest is perfect.

July 20, 2020

45L compared to 32L

If you're deciding between the 45L and 32L Cragsmith, this review is for you. Long story short, the 45L reminds me of something I'd use to go backpacking around Europe, the 32L is sized more like a typical day pack. I'm a 6 ft, 185lbs dude, climbing sport and top rope routes. Ultimately I find the 45L to be more comfortable, mostly d... Read Moreue to the better designed waist strap, and large enough to carry multiple people's gear. The 32L is perhaps better sized for an individual, solo day of rock climbing. However, the waist strap isn't as comfy. Both have similar zipper systems which are TERRIFIC for accessing gear and keeping things organized throughout the day. In the end, I've decided to keep both, but am going to give the 32L to my girlfriend (and borrow it every now and then if I'm being perfectly honest). The longer version of this story follows: I originally bought the 45L thinking it would be best to carry both my gear and my girlfriend's gear. For whatever reason I also liked the idea of carrying my 60 meter rope inside the bag instead of slinging it over top of my bag like I normally do. And WOW! I was able to fit ALL of our gear (4 pairs of shoes, a 60m rope, 2 harnesses, 1 helmet, water bottles, a set of quickdraws, belay devices, chalk bags and probably some other stuff I'm forgetting about) and still had some room to spare. Just as importantly, the bag was really comfy to wear too. The 45L will work really well on longer trips (like if I need to carry a tent, for example) and when the temperatures start dropping so I can pack additional layers. Yesterday I tested the 32L, this time with no girlfriend. I was still able to cram a lot into the pack (1 pair of shoes, 1 harness, 1 helmet, 1 big water bottle, a set of quickdraws, a sling, a quad anchor, an ATC, a Grigri, a Helinox Chair One) and, just like before, STILL HAD ROOM TO SPARE. This can be seen in the photo I posted with the bags opened next to each other. As in the past, I slung my 60m rope over the top of the bag with relatively no issue. The only complaint I have, however, and I've read this in other reviews too: the waist strap is not nearly as comfy as the 45L. I read this complaint before buying the 32L, but since my old bag also had a basic webbing-like waist strap I didn't think much of it. If anything I thought the complaint seemed to be a bit on the fussy side. But after feeling the comfort of the 45L, the 32L waist strap definitely felt insufficient especially considering that I assume most rock climbers CRAM their bags full of gear / water/ snacks. But, if you're the type of person who is fine with carrying all of that weight on your shoulders, I suppose the 32L strap isn't a big deal. Me, however, I before distributing that weight onto my hips.

July 13, 2020

Super rad, super comfy

I was looking to upgrade from my old Black Diamond pack (crag 40) to something with more space, and a more comfortable hip belt. This easily delivered on both of those. The great thing about the pack is that it retains it shape when loaded. It doesn't bulge like some packs. It fits a double rack of cams, set of quick draws, a 70m rope and some... Read More room to spare. It's comfy for longer approaches, but for sure leave at the base of the rock. The opening back panel is a dream for cragging. A few personal gripes I have, I wish there were two pockets on the hip belt that were larger. The water bladder hook SUCKS. They use the same hook on almost all their bladder compatible bags. It is a hassle to clip and unclip it. The last thing, I wish that there were more loops for gear rather then the two. Or at least have the loops sit a little higher in the pack. They seem to get in the way if you have rope. I can still right all my cams and gear comfortably on the two, but more would be nice! Other then those things, I highly recommend this bag. Plus, it's Patagonia, it's sustainable!

June 21, 2020

Well designed pack!

Extremely well-made, very easy to pack, very easy to access, and really comfortable to carry. I can carry a full trad rack, full sport rack, full rope, extra layers, water, snacks, and a couple beers for afterwards with plenty of space to spare. This pack is awesome!

June 17, 2020

Well designed pack!

Extremely well-made, very easy to pack, very easy to access, and really comfortable to carry. I can carry a full trad rack, full sport rack, full rope, extra layers, water, snacks, and a couple beers for afterwards with plenty of space to spare. This pack is awesome!

April 14, 2020

Great crag backpack!

Very satisfied! All things you need & Well done!

January 30, 2020

My favorite crag pack of all time

I've used a lot of crag packs over the years and this one reigns supreme. Pretty much a perfect size for cragging, back access is awesome, carries a load really comfortably. I've used the 45L a number of times as a carry on during flights since it fits most overheads just fine. I would recommend this pack to any climber and have had multi... Read Moreple friends buy it after we climbed together. Two observations: 1) the pack can feel a little weird when it's under packed partially because it has a bit of "structure" which you can't really compress down so items can bounce around inside, 2) it would be nice to have an external helmet carry system. I

November 22, 2019

Love it

Actually bought it for a trip to Europe rather than climbing. Having everything open from the back was helpful from a security stand point.

September 30, 2019

Best Climbing or Travel pack there is

For climbing or traveling, you won't find a better pack anywhere. Simple, streamlined, and easy access makes this product top the list. You can stuff it from the top to get things packed in tight (be it climbing gear or clothes or whatever), then get to the crag (or your hotel) and open it up like a big suitcase. Top pocked (brain) is large ca... Read Moren hold a ton, but if you don't need it and the pack is stuffed to the brim, it gets out of the way not taking up extra space. For climbing gear, I can easily fit a rope, a full trad rack, two pairs of shoes, lunch, two water bottles, layers, harness, etc. etc. with no issues. Carries the weight super well. If you need more space, you can throw the rope over the top of the pack and lock it down, freeing tons of inner space. I've used a million crag packs in my day--this is the one to rule them all. Big burly zipper, too.

September 7, 2019

Love this backpack

I love this backpack. I love that I can access all my stuff without rummaging around in a dark hole for minutes on end. It carries a lot of gear well, too.

August 15, 2019

A good day crag pack

This pack is great for single day climbs at the crag. It easily fits all my sport climbing equipment for two people along with any other random stuff I want bring. If bringing a trad rack then I probably couldn't fit enough stuff for two people but it's pretty close. The Daisy chains on the top are great for holding climbing shoes or anyt... Read Morehing else you want to connect to it, and it's very easy to lay the pack down and open up the panel to quickly find anything you need. My only gripe is the rope attachments on the outside, it's great that there are straps on the side, but it would be even more secure if there was a single strap on the top to keep the rope in place on the top especially when I'm swinging my pack around . Very comfy as well, to carry, would recommend.

August 12, 2019

I am not a climber and I am in love with this pack

I bought this pack because the ENTIRE bag opens from the back and you cannot lose your items in this bag. I never like having to dig and dig in a pack to find one little thing and the opening solves that problem. I am 5'7 and went with the L/XL and it truly fits perfectly. I probably could've gone for the smaller size but I'd rather ... Read Morehave it a little bigger than too small. It is a bit big for just a day pack but it's great for travel, backpacking, and in the winter for skinning and skiing. All in all, this is a great all around versatile pack.

August 10, 2019

Cragsmith 45L

This is not only a great bag for climbing, but also an awesome 3-7 day travel bag. However, I would like to see the top lid compartment in the smaller version of this bag, the cragsmith 32. The 45 is great for longer days/more gear, but the 32 is a more versatile bag for a variety of situations.

August 10, 2019

Cragsmith 45L

Best backpack for rock climbing ever!

May 10, 2019

Best sport climbing bag ever made!

Perfect for sport climbing gear! The back fully opens up to access all your gear, the top also opens up so can squeeze in extra stuff and pack it down. Top separate compartment for your guidebook and bits and bobs. It has a waist belt with another small zipped compartment on it, which is great for storing car keys or loose change. It has two large ... Read Moreside pockets for your bottle (drink). It has side compression straps which are great for attaching other gear to the outside like a sweater or clip-stick. This bag has been well thought through. Well done Patagonia. The only down-side is the price. A little pricey and I could not find the blue one anywhere in the UK at time of purchase. Patagonia: Please continue to make these perfect bags.

May 10, 2019

Best sport climbing bag ever made!

Perfect for sport climbing gear! The back fully opens up to access all your gear, the top also opens up so can squeeze in extra stuff and pack it down. Top separate compartment for your guidebook and bits and bobs. It has a waist belt with another small zipped compartment on it, which is great for storing car keys or loose change. It has two large ... Read Moreside pockets for your bottle (drink). It has side compression straps which are great for attaching other gear to the outside like a sweater or clip-stick. This bag has been well thought through. Well done Patagonia. The only down-side is the price. A little pricey and I could not find the blue one anywhere in the UK at time of purchase. Patagonia: Please continue to make these perfect bags.

May 10, 2019

Best sport climbing bag ever made!

Perfect for sport climbing gear! The back fully opens up to access all your gear, the top also opens up so can squeeze in extra stuff and pack it down. Top separate compartment for your guidebook and bits and bobs. It has a waist belt with another small zipped compartment on it, which is great for storing car keys or loose change. It has two large ... Read Moreside pockets for your bottle (drink). It has side compression straps which are great for attaching other gear to the outside like a sweater or clip-stick. This bag has been well thought through. Well done Patagonia. The only down-side is the price. A little pricey and I could not find the blue one anywhere in the UK at time of purchase. Patagonia: Please continue to make these perfect bags.

October 28, 2018

Versatile

In one week, my typical bag use could be: walking to/from work with laptop, camera, warm jacket, waterproof jacket, lunch, notebook, and water bottle; full day hike with my stuff as well as a good chunk of my kids' stuff; traveling with camera, extra lenses, laptop, and a weekend worth of clothing; or just grabbing this on my way out the door ... Read Moreto go work at a coffee shop. I wanted something that could do everything. Pros: I realize this is a crag pack, and it will work great for that too, but opening is amazing—flipping the entire back open to switch lenses or grab my camera is crucial (and the reason I bought it). It rides extremely comfortably (I actually ran with it today for a little bit because I had a very tired kid and wanted to see how far away the summit was). Typical of Patagonia, it is bombproof construction. Cons: It's big. I wanted the top lid, so I stuck with the 45 vs the little brother, but I kind of feel like a jackass on my walking commute. I know I shouldn't care, but regardless... However, I can't knock a star off for that. That said, I don't sweat having an extra pair of clothes for workouts now or hitting the grocery store on the way home. I'm 5'11" and 160lbs and the large fits me.

September 17, 2018

Doubles as a great travel/camera bag

I travel 4-5months a year to some interesting places. My wife owns a high end travel agency specializing in very remote, unusual, customized travel. We burn through a lot of luggage as the wear and tear just grinds it down. We try to repair but eventually it needs replacing. I love this new Cragsmith for a bunch of practical reasons. 180 degree ful... Read Morel panel opening to access everything is so much better than just side access. Genius in fact because the opening is at the back next to the shoulder straps.For clothes it means never needing to unpack. For camera gear it means not needing to take remove and balance expensive equipment precariously or in the dust just to find the right lens. Clean lines with no water bottle holder or little pouches makes me so happy. The narrow shape means you can swing your arms all the way back unobstructed. One big gripe I had with the first Patagonia side access backpack was the lack of rigidity for the back panel. It meant items were always sticking into your back unless you were a very organized packer/unpacker. The more rigid structure of this pack is fantastic. I have packed 4 long lenses, a film camera, a digital camera, a Mavic Air and Pro into this pack and it's all snug and secure. As carry on with all my equipment I can open it up for TSA inspection or on board access really easily. Well done Patagonia. This is one of your smartest and best packs ever.

September 3, 2018

Gunks unit

This bag is an absolute unit for carrying my runners, 60m rope, full rack bd rack with doubles from .3 to 3, harness, shoes, waterbottle, guidebook, phone, car keys and wallet! The zipper opening in the back makes accessibility easy. Another plus is being able to climb straight out of the bag which will make the climbing process faster. Patagonia s... Read Morehould rename this pack the Gunk-smith!

August 5, 2018

awesome

I use this for trad climbing, mostly cragging and it is perfect. easy to pack and super easy to sort through everything. just throw it down and unzip it and everything is there in front of you. also nice top compartment. honestly its perfect

June 20, 2018

Best pack for everything ever

I bought this a few months ago,and have since used it for both cragging and as a big pack for hiking into base camp for long alpine climbs. It fits everything (double rack + rope + jacket + shoes + harness + guidebook + food + water) and is extremely comfortable and stable with heavy loads. It has all of the right pockets and features that you want... Read More,with sturdy fabric that seems really durable. The only thing I wish they would have added is a rope strap (like on the Cragsmith 35L),for the rare occasion where the rope doesn't fit inside the pack. I've been using an alpine draw clipped to the many attachment points on top for this,which works well. Overall,a spectacular pack. I loved the Cragsmith 35L,and still think that this one is way better.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches