Back to Product

Cragsmith Pack 32L

Write Your Review

3.9/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • S/M
  • L/XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 26 Reviews

Clear All

Cragsmith Pack 32L

3.9/5
May 5, 2021

Pack & Climb

Perfect size for days to the cliff, the climbing gym or other workouts. Great straps easy to adjust for ups and down, well fitting pack when worn on a climb as well thanks to the thin waist. Love the colour too :)

November 27, 2020

Quality that Supports a Bike Crash

I recently crashed my bike as I was commuting to work. The quality of the pack and the stiffness of the material allowed my fall to break as I slammed into the sidewalk. I also checked my helmet and there was no damage to my head or helmet because the backpack runs so close to my head. The straps kept the pack close to my body and it turned a prett... Read Morey gnarly spill into a cushioned fall that could have been a lot worse.

August 22, 2020

How many reviews does it take ?

Several people have noted that this pack lacks the top compartment like the 45L, along with a sufficient hip belt with hip pockets that actually work. Come on patagonia... we all love your products. Do right by us and update this pack.

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2020

Thanks for giving us some feedback on our Cragsmith Pack 32L. We appreciate you sharing your experiences with the pack and have passed your suggestions on to our design team.

July 20, 2020

32L Compared to 45L

If you're deciding between the 45L and 32L Cragsmith, this review is for you. Long story short, the 45L reminds me of something I'd use to go backpacking around Europe, the 32L is sized more like a typical day pack. I'm a 6 ft, 185lbs dude, climbing sport and top rope routes. Ultimately I find the 45L to be more comfortable, mostly d... Read Moreue to the better designed waist strap, and large enough to carry multiple people's gear. The 32L is perhaps better sized for an individual, solo day of rock climbing. However, the waist strap isn't as comfy. Both have similar zipper systems which are TERRIFIC for accessing gear and keeping things organized throughout the day. In the end, I've decided to keep both, but am going to give the 32L to my girlfriend (and borrow it every now and then if I'm being perfectly honest). The longer version of this story follows: I originally bought the 45L thinking it would be best to carry both my gear and my girlfriend's gear. For whatever reason I also liked the idea of carrying my 60 meter rope inside the bag instead of slinging it over top of my bag like I normally do. And WOW! I was able to fit ALL of our gear (4 pairs of shoes, a 60m rope, 2 harnesses, 1 helmet, water bottles, a set of quickdraws, belay devices, chalk bags and probably some other stuff I'm forgetting about) and still had some room to spare. Just as importantly, the bag was really comfy to wear too. The 45L will work really well on longer trips (like if I need to carry a tent, for example) and when the temperatures start dropping so I can pack additional layers. Yesterday I tested the 32L, this time with no girlfriend. I was still able to cram a lot into the pack (1 pair of shoes, 1 harness, 1 helmet, 1 big water bottle, a set of quickdraws, a sling, a quad anchor, an ATC, a Grigri, a Helinox Chair One) and, just like before, STILL HAD ROOM TO SPARE. This can be seen in the photo I posted with the bags opened next to each other. As in the past, I slung my 60m rope over the top of the bag with relatively no issue. The only complaint I have, however, and I've read this in other reviews too: the waist strap is not nearly as comfy as the 45L. I read this complaint before buying the 32L, but since my old bag also had a basic webbing-like waist strap I didn't think much of it. If anything I thought the complaint seemed to be a bit on the fussy side. But after feeling the comfort of the 45L, the 32L waist strap definitely felt insufficient especially considering that I assume most rock climbers CRAM their bags full of gear / water/ snacks. But, if you're the type of person who is fine with carrying all of that weight on your shoulders, I suppose the 32L strap isn't a big deal. Me, however, I before distributing that weight onto my hips.

May 13, 2020

Perfect for international travel

This review will be useful for shorter people (I'm 5'2) who want to use this bag to travel internationally. I first bought the 45 L bag in black and used it for two intl. trips (Greece and Mexico), then exchanged for the 32 L bag in black (TY, TY THANK YOUUUU Patagonia Customer Service! Mmmmuah!). Let me first say that both bags are BEAUT... Read MoreIFUL. There is quality in every detail. The 45 L is huge (it is a bit big for carry-on only and does fit under the plane seat in front but it sticks out onto your foot space), it has the extra top pocket and the hip pockets. I like the top pocket, it was nice. The hip pockets, meh. Not really much fits in there. I wished I could remove them and keep the belt. The 45 L just was a bit big for my frame and needs. Especially since I want to learn to travel lighter. As mentioned, Patagonia let me exchange for the 32 L. I just received it. I feel like I already know the bag. No top pocket =( but that's okay bc it helps with size reduction. And still a top zipper for easy access at the airport, with an inside zip pocket. No side hip pockets and the hip belt can be removed if desired. To me, this bag is perfect. I love that it is a simple design without too many outside pockets that ppl can get into. But it does have two sleeves for water/map/books. It opens like a suitcase. I like all of the handles: outside top and bottom, inside there are two more. The handles make it easy to take it on and off when putting in / taking out of your vehicle, fully loaded. Both bags are light on their own. I love the black. I take very good care of my stuff and know I will have this for years. I am so happy.

December 18, 2019

What I Needed

I did not buy this bag for climbing but for snowboarding, OCR events and weekend getaways. I've only used it once but it's as to be expected with Patagonia — as described, sturdy and ready to take a beating. Looking forward to all my trips with it.

November 23, 2019

Just what I wanted for

Just what I wanted for hands free travel through airports. Love the double access for ease of packing.

November 22, 2019

Large bag for multiple purposes

Large bag for multiple purposes

November 6, 2019

Simple and elegant design

I love this bag. I am a male, 5´4 / 164cm, so thanks Patagonia for having a S/M version. It fits perfect. I was in search for something like this for a long time. It it so simple and elegant in its design. I do not like bags with many compartments. It makes the bag confusing and cluttered. I always have to decide where to put what. Its like Chek... Read Morehovs gun, if the pocket is there it wants to be used. So id rather do not have more pockets than i need. I always prefer to use extra modular containers if i need more compartmentalization. It makes the bag very versatile and functional! It also looks good all the time because it does not collapse due to the padded body. Dont know why you guys only market this as a climbing gear bag?! I use it for traveling, backpacking, as a general purpose sports duffelbag for my muay thai gear and for bike commuting. Tip: a simple elastic bike net with six hooks can be attached to the six front straps, which makes it easy to carry some light extra load or put wet clothes for drying while walking. If you ever decide to update the cragsmith here are my suggestions: - lockable zippers (the zippers can be perfectly aligned to lock all four with one lock) - some nice vintage multicolor variants (think old bikes) OR a classy unicolor navy, sand or olive I love this bag.

October 2, 2019

Great Camera Bag

Sold my F-Stop Lotus, this is about the same size but far more streamlined and much easier for airline travel (fits into small commuter planes). Stretchy side bottle pockets are great after not having them on the F-Stop. I would like another flat pocket for papers/maps and perhaps some scuff resistant waterproof material on the outside back for whe... Read Moren you have to set the pack down in wetness or mud. And a smaller logo. I’m a larger man but I use the smaller women’s pack, fits fine. Waist belt is not much value, would be nice if it were able to be added after the fact.

September 19, 2019

Not the right pack for me...

I was looking for a traditional backpack as opposed to a pack as technical as the Cragsmith. Ended up exchanging it at the Santa Monica store for a Nine Trails 28L. Great service at this and all three SoCal stores I’ve visited.

September 4, 2019

Missed the Mark, Super Bummed

First let me say I am the biggest Patagonia fan around. So I was super stoked when I found this bag on sale. This past weekend I used it multiple days in a row to haul stuff to and from the crag. Fitting a 70m rope, water bottle, guide book, snacks, some slings and gloves and other climbing stuff plus a sweatshirt, shoes, and a harness in it was a ... Read Moretight fit. The design of jsut zipping open the back and having a little tub for all your gear was great. The bag is nice looking and seems sturdy. The straps are great for hooking a helmet on. HOWEVER...it's got one fatal flaw (aside from maybe being too small for my needs, but that's not the bag's fault). The hip belt is just webbing and has clips that attached right to the back of the bag. When carrying a bunch of stuff, the webbing is NOT comfortable and digs into your hips and doesn't actually help distributing the weight of the bag. Also, the little clip parts dig in and rub which is SUPER uncomfortable. I see the bigger bag has nice padded hip belt. Why oh why did Patagonia skimp out on this bag's hip belt? 32L full of climbing stuff is definitely more than enough to need a hip belt for comfortable carrying on approaches of more than 15 minutes! Really disappointed. I wish I had just gotten the bigger version of this with hip belts, but since I used it enough to discover this stupid flaw, now I can't return it. Don't make the same mistake!

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2019

We're really sorry you're disappointed with this bag's hip belt! Please note that you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty.

August 22, 2019

Photography pack! Light, simple, backcountry approved.

Like many photographers I'm constantly looking for 'the best' camera pack. The photography I do is unique in that I'm normally on long mountain bike rides when on a shoot. Most photo packs are overbuilt, too heavy, over thought, with every bell, whistle, and trinket you could think of. I love the simplicity of this pack. It&#x27... Read More;s light, protective, easy/fast access to gear, and fits my small and/or medium f-stop cpu perfectly with ample room for the other gear/food I'd need while being out in the backcountry for a day on a bicycle. The S/M size fits nicely for me (6' tall) and doesn't ride too high and hit the back of your head while riding down zesty trails! I know it's kinda of a niche use for this bag, but when I'm on the right trip, this bag is the right choice! ps, the L/XL is quite long! Be sure to check measurements before ordering.

June 13, 2019

Paul

Let me start off by saying this backpack is great. I plan on using this as an everyday carry(I work at a climbing gym) and to crags for both trad/sport and winter bouldering. Right off the bat the pack feels large for a 32L pack. I could fit two pairs of shoes, 70m 9.2mm, 20 cams, two sets of nuts 1-11, 15 x 18mm QDs(phantoms), around 10 long sli... Read Morengs in various lenghts, grigri, a few locking carabiners, two cliffbars, a small pouch with tape, spare brush, rep/med kit etc, harness, chalk bag and an arc'teryx atmos synthetic down jacket. On the outside I got one 1L water bottle a helmet and in the other side pocket you can fit enough food for atleast one day. But... Why did you not put a padded hip belt on this pack? I tried to read the description of this pack and by just the name: CRAGSMITH. I would assume Patagonia intended this backpack to carry climbing gear.. which gets heavy when you fill all that space. I just cant wrap my head around the fact that Patagonia put on a webbing strap as a hip belt. For a longer approach its really uncomfortable. Whatever the weight you carry, a comfortable carrying system is always better. I will try to attach a hip belt to this pack Regarding the lack of smaller pockets for sorting gear on the inside/outside. Just bring a pouch for smaller stuff.. or just toss it in.. its a bucket. you will find it anyway. Back panel... does not breath

June 9, 2019

looks better than the old version but room to improve

I am a big fan of Patagonia and bought a lot of clothing and backpack for outdoor and daily use. I have both old version cragsmith 35L and the new version cragsmith 32L for one day sport climbing use. I like both backpack basically and the new version looks more stylish and solid than the old version. The back opening is really good to access the c... Read Morelimbingt gear. The side pockets are good for holding water bottle, hiking pole and clip stick. However, there are some room to improve in the new version and in some way I find the old version even better than the new versoin. Hope Pataonia can improve the backpack in the next model considering the below comment: - please add the padded hip belt on the 32L version. Eventhough 32L is small, we usually carry the whole set of climbing gear. It is heavy enough and deserve to have a hip belt for better support. :-) A thin a small one like the old model is enough. Even smaller or thinner one maybe also ok. Without the padded hip belt, the strap always twist in the buckle that we cannot adjust the strap easily. - the metal buckles on both sides come off easily. When it comes off from the loop, the strap swing and hit people or other thing easily when walking. - there is a plastic hook on the right chest strap for holding the tube of hydration pack. When we put down the backpack from the shoulder, the plastic hook always catch the sleeve of the T-shirt. - last comment is just my personal preference. I like the blue colour on the new cragsmith. I think it is better to avoid using the bright and light colour for liner. For both new and old version of blue cragsmith backpack, Patagonia also use lime colour for the liner. It looks nice. However, climbers always stuff the dirty climbing gear or climing shoes inside the backpack directly. These bright and light colour liner get dirt easily and cannot be cleaned very well once the mud or dirt mark on it.

February 14, 2019

Great for Travel

I used this backpack for a month long trip around Europe. I was able to fit in two large compression cubes, a large toiletry bag, my laptop, and an electronics pouch. For this purpose it was fantastic - I needed all the space I could get to pack my clothes in. When I take it hiking with me it also works very well, but that's when I wish it had... Read More the same top access pocket the 45L does as other reviews have mentioned. I usually just throw a pouch in to make my own extra pocket and it works great. I've also used it as my carry on item with no problems.

January 8, 2019

hip strap pinches

I love the accessibility of this pack as well as the foam structure that keeps my gear safe. The back panel to this pack does not breath, my back is usually soaked by the end of a mild/easy hike, more so than I expected due to the breathability of other back panels like the refugio (may be due to weight difference) The hip straps on this pack pinc... Read Moreh my hips pretty bad, where the shoulder straps and the hip straps intersect. I am 5'4 and 120 lbs about a size 4. It is my understanding that the 45L was designed with padded hips for weight bearing, although the 35L is a smaller pack it is still meant to haul gear to the crag , and would benefit from padded hips as well. Unfortunately the 45L is bigger than what I need for a day at the crag. I can fit my 70m, a half rack or two sets of draws, shoes, helmet, snacks in this pack and a packable jacket. great piece, I would recommend the 45L but not the 35L.

December 24, 2018

nice backpack

There is a small (fits my iPhone 6 plus and some keys) storage compartment inside the top cover, but limited space, so only 4 instead of 5 starts. Otherwise it's a well-built, nice looking pack with lots of room and easy to adjust straps.

August 23, 2018

Needs more attention. Cragsmith 32L

I bought this for my lady as per the intended use. She's been climbing for 25 years and knows what a good pack is for her needs. This pack was returned without use and here is why: Unfortunately, her biggest gripe was the waist belt, its has no padding. If you're walking to the crag with a full pack, especially a long walk-in and up and... Read More down hill, you are eventually going to feel that waist belt digging in. Numb hips and friction burns, NO THANKS! The pack lacks that extra independent external zippered pocket, mainly at the top but that wasn't a deal-breaker for her. The plus is that the pack is spacious and the large opening superb.

August 23, 2018

Needs more attention. Cragsmith 32L

I bought this for my lady as per the intended use. She's been climbing for 25 years and knows what a good pack is for her needs. This pack was returned without use and here is why: Unfortunately, her biggest gripe was the waist belt, its has no padding. If you're walking to the crag with a full pack, especially a long walk-in and up and... Read More down hill, you are eventually going to feel that waist belt digging in. Numb hips and friction burns, NO THANKS! The pack lacks that extra independent external zippered pocket, mainly at the top but that wasn't a deal-breaker for her. The plus is that the pack is spacious and the large opening superb.

August 23, 2018

Needs more attention. Cragsmith 32L

I bought this for my lady as per the intended use. She's been climbing for 25 years and knows what a good pack is for her needs. This pack was returned without use and here is why: Unfortunately, her biggest gripe was the waist belt, its has no padding. If you're walking to the crag with a full pack, especially a long walk-in and up and... Read More down hill, you are eventually going to feel that waist belt digging in. Numb hips and friction burns, NO THANKS! The pack lacks that extra independent external zippered pocket, mainly at the top but that wasn't a deal-breaker for her. The plus is that the pack is spacious and the large opening superb.

August 5, 2018

Awesome pack

I use this for trad climbing, mostly cragging and it is perfect. easy to pack and super easy to sort through everything. just throw it down and unzip it and everything is there in front of you. also nice top compartment. honestly its perfect

August 1, 2018

Could have been a top seller....

This bag is perfect in all regards except the missing top access like the 45L. Most people don’t want to lug around a 45L bag all day, but still desire rapid access to gear. As others have noted, please add the 45L top compartment and add some better color ways. The bag is executed perfectly except these two major missteps.

July 7, 2018

Almost nailed it....

I agree with the previous review. Everything about this bag is pretty much spot on EXCEPT it doesn't have the separate top lid like the 45L version. I have both,and the separate compartment it a game changer. Otherwise,your small items (like phone,energy bars,guidebooks,etc) end up mashing up with your regular gear. Other than that,they'v... Read Moree improved pretty much every issue with the previous cragsmith 35. It also feels bigger than 32,similar to other 40l bags. tldr: get the 45L,unless the size is really an issue. Patagonia,please redo this version with a separate top lid.

May 17, 2018

Almost...

This pack is almost perfect,but it extremely misses a top lid compartment (like the 45L version). Not having that was a deal breaker for me. Please make a new 35L model just like it (removable waist strap,exterior stretch pockets,zippered back panel,etc) + top lid compartment!!!

April 18, 2018

Perfect carry-on only pack

I bought this three years ago for my month long Europe trip and I'm still super pleased with my purchase. The bag still hasn't seen a proper crag,but it has made carry-on only flights and long weekend canoe camping trips a breeze. When I purchased this I was looking for a backpack that would open up like a suit case for easy access,and th... Read Moreis fit the bill perfectly. I'm on the petite side and I appreciated the adjustability of all of the straps,including the top of the shoulder straps - everything sits comfortably. I love how sleek and streamlined this pack is. For those thinking of dismissing it because it doesn't have a waterbottle holder: the side zip pocket is deceptively roomy even with a pretty full pack; I was able to keep my 750ml bottle stowed away safely in it.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches