Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Nano-Air® Jacket

Write Your Review

4.55 /5

Filter Reviews

All 55 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Nano-Air® Jacket

4.55
Kinda Large
September 17, 2020

So warm & soft & looks great!

Love the fit and feel of this jacket! Less cumbersome and noisy than the puff jackets, great soft feel, and so warm! Looks great to with understated casual stylings.

September 15, 2020

You can tell there was a lot of thought behind this jacket!

Super happy with this jacket and can use it for everything!! Light for backpacking/hiking; warm enough for the snow & cold; great stretch across the shoulders for climbing; DWR for the rain. That plus great coverage with the top of the zipper. Really love how the cuff does not have hook&loop which I feel would get in the way but still feel ... Read Moresnug and secure. Definitely has a different feel than your traditional puffy or fleece but performs more than adequately! 10/10

September 4, 2020

Good when the sun goes down

Wore this several times after the sun went down for fishing. Nice and light, kept me warm at Lake George fishing for bass.

September 2, 2020

Excellent jacket

Great for work and casual wear. Once it is a little more worn in it will join my backpacking and climbing gear.

July 13, 2020

Perfect Jacket

I've been taking this jacket backpacking for the past few days and it keeps me comfortable in 40 degree weather. It also works as a pillow when it's stuffed.

July 13, 2020

Perfect mid-layer

The Nano-Air jacket is about as perfect a midlayer or light outerlayer that I could imagine. It is warm like a light down jacket, but without the 'swish-swish' sound that comes from down jacket surfaces. It is breathable such that a sweaty workout won't sit on your skin for more than a few minutes. It is comfortable to wear!

July 10, 2020

Perfect mid-layer

The Nano-Air jacket is about as perfect a midlayer or light outerlayer that I could imagine. It is warm like a light down jacket, but without the 'swish-swish' sound that comes from down jacket surfaces. It is breathable such that a sweaty workout won't sit on your skin for more than a few minutes. It is comfortable to wear!

June 19, 2020

Nice jacket

Light weight, comfortable. Not to hot. Just right.

June 17, 2020

Great Jacket

I really like this jacket, it's light weight, warm, and fits well. It's a great layer under the Torrentshell rain jacket too. This is my new go to jacket whenever I walk out of my house.

May 11, 2020

Poor Quality

The jacket is quite light, but even as a mid-layer, fails to live up to the advertised level of warmth. I wore the jacket fishing during a rainstorm in Deschutes and had to add a down vest over the jacket and under my rain shell to keep sufficiently warm. Most disappointingly, after only about a half-dozen wears, the fabric began pilling around the... Read More jacket waist and along the arms. For the price, this is simply unacceptable and reflects poor quality. Look elsewhere.

Response from Patagonia
May 29, 2020

Thanks for the feedback on this and we are really sorry to hear about the disappointment. Pilling with knit garments can be inevitable as it is the nature of those fibers. Luckily, there are many tools you can use to remove those. Nonetheless, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

May 25, 2020

My Go To

Love this jacket and its by far the one I wear the most since purchase. Layers wonderfully under my ski shell if its cold on tours and works great as my outer layer during the mud season.

April 29, 2020

The most comfortable jacket

Wow, this is a seriously comfortable jacket - by far the most comfortable I've felt. Its hard to describe, its not quite cotton hoody type comfort but more of if you could wear your favorite pillow. The next to skin feel when wearing this with a t-shirt is outstanding. This jacket also breathes so well. Ive worn it running and it is a great ... Read Morecold weather layer that keeps you from getting soaked. I have not had the jacket for a long period of time so I can't speak to durability, which I know others have concerns with. My only issue with the jacket so far is the cuffs. The half elasticized cuff is comfortable for everyday, around town wear. But this is supposed to be an active layer right? When wearing it in an active setting, the cuffs fail because they simply will not keep the sleeves up. I have to push them past my elbows to get them to stay put which is annoying compared to other brand, breathable jackets. Particularly when running the sleeves cover my watch the entire time and I cannot keep the cuff off. The only option is to pull the sleeve back everytime I check the watch or push the sleeve to my elbow. So with that I find myself using this more as a causal jacket or on walks/hikes where I'm not checking my hr or pace.

March 23, 2020

Outstanding!

Dittos to the other ski patrollers here - and thank you Patagonia for your support for the stylish and functional NSP uniforms! These jackets (Nan-Air and Nano-Air Light) are awesome, and I don't care about a little bit of pilling. Now - make a different version with a layer of light WindBlocker on the front, and the fronts of the arms, and th... Read Moreey'd both be even better for cycling and skiing! I'll take one of each in large.

March 21, 2020

Would be 5 star except the pilling/wear.

Love the jacket, it's a go to for hiking in our mild, but windy New Mexico climate. The only issue is wear. With just a few months each season when I wear it, it is extremely pilled. Instead of looking like a jacket worn fairly often over maybe 4 chilly months, it looks far older than my regular Patagonia fleeces I've been wearing more ye... Read Morears than I can remember.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2020

While all knit fabrics pill, we're sorry to hear that this one is extreme! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the jacket to our main service center, so don't hesitate to reach out to us. Also, you may have good results by gently applying an electric fabric shaver or sweater stone to the surface of the jacket.

March 16, 2020

Multipurpose jacket with a wide

Multipurpose jacket with a wide usage range. Very good fit and true to size.

March 8, 2020

Great jacket. Super lightweight. Runs

Great jacket. Super lightweight. Runs a bit big in the arms and stomach. Tried a L and then a M. The L felt more like a XL and the M was just a little small in the arms, but good everywhere else.

March 2, 2020

Slim fit, super functional

Im 61 and 190lbs. and the medium fits perfect as a slim outer layer. I often need a large-size jacket but wanted something slim fitting that would work great over just a shirt or base layer. Theres no room for a sweater underneath. Its a close fit but the jacket moves with you and doesnt bind up. I love that it doesnt have those elastic cuffs that ... Read Moremake the sleeves balloon out at the wrists, like so many jackets these days (including many made by Patagonia). These have a low-profile, sleek fit I was looking for. Fabric seems a little fragile so well see how it lasts. I wish the collar was a bit taller.

January 24, 2020

Nano-Air Jacket - Outstanding

The fit feature on the Patagonia website was spot on in recommending a large fit for me, with a bit of a rugby player’s build and ‘slight’ tummy. The jacket itself is fantastic. I wore it on a ramble across our local national park (Exmoor) recently in temps down to -2 C with just a long sleeved tee underneath. I was toasty. It layers well with a sh... Read Moreell over top for when it rains, however I then find I get warm really quickly. The jacket looks great, performs well, fits well and packs down small. Can be worn with a pair of jeans and doesn’t look out of place, or as a layer for when the temperature really drops. Great product.

January 20, 2020

A good coat

This thing is light and warm, but definitely a mid-layer rather than something you put on when it's really cold or windy. It is a great mid-layer though, and layers well under almost anything. It's also very soft and in black very wearable around town although of course its obviously a bit sporty. It does breathe really well while keeping... Read More you warm. I even found that as long as its not below 5C or so it is very warm even while cycling.

December 27, 2019

Excellent Jacket, sub-par Durability

Without question, the Nano-Air is the most versatile jacket I own. I wear it trail running during winter in Tennessee, under a shell skiing in Colorado, and as a mid layer for work in northern Alberta. It’s warm, breathable, light weight and extremely packable. It’s also cut perfect - allowing for good mobility without excessive material. My only c... Read Moreomplaint is durability. Granted it gets a lot of use, it has more pilling on the shoulders and around the neck than any other jacket I own - perhaps from wearing it under a shell or with a backpack. I recently discovered the Techface fabric used on the new R1 and R2. Patagonia, please re-make the Nano Air with the Techface fabric!

December 19, 2019

Fantastic Mid-Layer!!!

I ski patrol at 10,500 feet. I sweat through the nano-air many times during the day. It dries super quick and keeps me toasty on long lift rides. I've tried just about everything (down, synthetic, fleece) as a mid-layer and all pale when compared to the nano-air. In 18+ years of patrolling, I've never had a better mid-layer than the nano-... Read Moreair. Bravo Patagonia!

December 17, 2019

Sweet Jacket for Exercise

I bought this jacket for around half price and I absolutely love it. I use it for nordic skiing, everyday wear in the winter, and I use it as a layer for snowboarding. Unfortunately, after just about a year of use the fore arm area as well as the lower back area are pilling pretty bad. Other than that it is a great jacket.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2019

Hey Nathaniel, thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Nano-Air Jacket. Sorry to hear that it's already begun to pill after a year. Using a shell over the jacket can help protect the face fabric and prevent this issue. With that being said you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the jacket at any point for a refund or replacement.

December 15, 2019

Such a versatile layer

I have worn it as a outer jacket with a T-shirt in about 50 degrees and as a mid layer in the 20s with a hard shell and Merino wool base layer, it was great in both occasions. I think it's treated with DWR because I used it in some light rain and the rain beaded up, I could easily shake the water off before I got into my car.

December 14, 2019

Awesome for exercise

This is perfect for exactly what Patagonia advertises it being good for: staying active outdoors– hiking, XC skiing, etc. The breathability, compactness, and lightweight are awesome. Before buying, I saw some customers referring to it as a mid-layer, but here in Central New York and points north, I think it's insufficient as a winter mid-laye... Read Morer unless you're doing something moderately active. Just walking the dog around the block, I was cold in the low 20's with this and my winter shell, and winter gets a whole lot less hospitable. Again, perfect for exercise, but I'd use a beefier mid-layer for any low intensity activity like resort skiing or casually walking around town in a northern /high-altitude winter.

December 9, 2019

Mighty fine jacket for everyday

Mighty fine jacket for everyday wear. Warm without being bulky and it moves with you nicely. Cinching around the wrist and waist keep you draft free without feeling tight or constructing.

December 8, 2019

Awesome Jacket

Using the 2019 Forge Grey with red accents with matching Galvanized Shell and it an absolute perfect combination for skiing. Love the look, feel, but more importantly the performance of the Nano Air as a midlayer. It's simply great.

December 3, 2019

The greatest jacket in all of history

I never take time to review clothing, but this thing is something else. It's incredibly light, stretchy, soft, warm, and breathable. It's even quite good at repelling water. The only thing it doesn't do well is block wind, but that's intrinsic to the breathable design. Pair it with a shell for <30 degree days, and your fall, ... Read Morewinter spring are totally covered. Get it!

November 30, 2019

Favorite Layer

Stretchy comfortable and breathable. Seems to run a little larger than the previous version, but this could be my imagination. It's not an extremely warm layer, but it isn't supposed to be. Easily paired with a vest when it's truly cold out. New exterior material looks resistant to pilling, which was my only gripe with the old versio... Read Moren. Excellent for start stop activities.

November 28, 2019

Nano-air jacket

Great material perfect for layering on cold days on the ski hill. Doesn’t feel bulky. Love it!!!

November 28, 2019

Works as advertised!

A great mid-layer that can also be worn on chilly days as outer layer. Warm even in windy conditions.

November 18, 2019

Great piece

Rarely do I use a layer without a hood, but when I do (mechanized skiing with a helmet and under a hard shell), this is the perfect piece. If you are looking for a breathable active layer without a hood, look no further!

November 15, 2019

Nano

Great for everyday wear.

November 12, 2019

So light, so comfortable, so warm.

Absolutely the most comfortable jacket I've ever owned. So breathable it's hard to find reasons to take it off.

November 12, 2019

Nano air

Never write reviews and I think my impression of this jacket is the only reason I just started. Looks super clean while also being light and warm and just the perfect all around jacket for moderate climates. Absolutely in love with it and haven’t taken it off since I got it.

November 9, 2019

Perfect

Great layer piece in cold weather but also versatile for use everyday. Awesome fit, jacket is a more slim fit but moves with you and does not constrict.

November 8, 2019

NANO Air no equal

This is my second nano air jacket that I’ve owned. They are the most comfortable, breathable and lightweight layer I’ve had the pleasure of owning. I like this jacket for brisk walks, layering for BC skiing and bike commuting. The fit is snug for me (medium, 5’11”, 165lbs) but that was what I was going for. I have pretty long arms and the jacket is... Read More just right. I also love the elastic cuff. Would recommend to anyone looking for an insulating layer for cold weather high output activities.

November 7, 2019

Nano-Air

I have had a lot of Patagonia layers over the years, and each one has been special. I can honestly say that the Nano-Air is like nothing I've owned. It is strangely comfortable and I just want to live in it. I can teach 2nd grade in it, and wear it skiing, and I would wear it to bed but my wife won't let me.

November 4, 2019

A fun jacket

The jacket feels quite soft, and the zippers operate quite well. The pockets are in ergonomic locations; they are where my hands naturally want to rest. The sleeves feel a little tight in the upper forearm area when I bend my arms. Although the waist doesn't look particularly baggy, it feels like the jacket could be tapered a more from the rib... Read Mores down to the bottom. It is a very comfortable jacket, which I've already enjoyed using while climbing.

November 4, 2019

I bought the Nano-Air for

I bought the Nano-Air for a winter mountain biking layer. Needed some breathable insulation that I don't need to take off and put on repeatedly. First outing - Mountain biking about 5 miles, ascending 1,428 ft. to a trail building worksite. Temperature was 34 degrees at the base. Building trail for 3 hours and returning. I wore the Nano-Air o... Read Morever base layers the entire time. Added my Houdini to block the wind for the swift descent. It worked as anticipated.

November 3, 2019

Excellent Jacket

Was extremely surprised how warm this jacket kept me! Wore it all night outside with temps in low 50s - was great. Sizes def run slim though. I wear small in everything but had to get a medium in this jacket.

November 1, 2019

Daily driver with one major flaw

This jacket is warm as is or a great base layer for colder days. The fabric is soft and quiet and it has become my go to for everything. That said, the fabric is so soft that the inside of the collar, when zipped up, gets absolutely thrashed by my beard. I think I have an average beard and I shave daily but the fabric still gets caught in it and is... Read More pilling and generally getting ruined. An easy fix would be a smooth / nylon type layer on the inside of the collar where it hits your neck. Awesome coat, one big flaw.

October 30, 2019

Handsome jacket

It was a gift for my son, he was very pleased and looked great in it. He bikes a lot, so I am sure it will come to good use.

October 29, 2019

Love it.

Love it.

October 28, 2019

Awesome

So far have just used as a casual jacket to walk the dogs, but I am looking forward to using it as a layering piece for the mountain. Extremely comfortable and moves with you!

October 9, 2019

Great Jacket

Love the jacket ...wish that it was tailored for and athletic fit.... bought to play golf in

October 1, 2019

Great jacket .. awful durability

1st generation of this jacket was phenomenal. This version is awful. Whatever new fabric they're using for the shell is very prone to wear. I've had mine for 10 months and the outside is covered in pills and resembles an old pair of socks. Really sad considering Patagonia's commitment to sustainability.

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear the jacket is pilling. Feel free to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 30, 2019

Basically a better version of the Nano-Puff

I love this jacket, it fits well, it's a really comfortable material, great level of warmth for fall days, and it has enough room (especially with the flexible material) that I expect to be able to layer under it for colder days this winter. I say it's a better version of the Nano-Puff primarily because of the material. They are both fant... Read Moreastic jackets, I just prefer the comfort of the Nano-Air now that I've had both.

September 23, 2019

Good jacket but don't like 2019 modifications

A very good jacket, but 3 changes this year which I don't like - they are : removal of drawcord hem replaced with non-adjustable elastic - I think it was better with the cord which allowed a snug fit to the hips if required. change of material to smoother less textured. - I preferred the previous fabric which had a ribbed texture, less synth... Read Moreetic feel removal of reinforcement stitching on the body of the jacket - gives a very smooth homogenous look. The vest version also has elastic edging removed from upper armholes - again I think the previous fully elasticated version was better. Not sure if Patagonia regard these as design improvements or as product engineering exercise i.e. reduce cost

September 10, 2019

Warm functional jacket – with the (usual) caveat

Took this on an alpine hike recently and wore it under a waterproof shell in temperatures just above freezing. Was the perfect pair. The fit is on the slim side, but not constricting. One star off for the fabric retaining odor after only two uses (by comparison I can wear my Patagonia synthetic down jackets, or anything merino, for weeks without a ... Read Morewash). But I'll accept that as a trade-off for a warm and durable garment that performs during high-intensity exercise in the cold – just don't expect it to be a good match for daily wear unless you want to wash it twice a week.

August 31, 2019

Love the nano air jacket

I love how lightweight it is and the comfort of the fit. The material is super comfortable and the style is dope too

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches