Back to Product

Patagonia Foot Tractor Wading Boots - Aluminum Bar

Write Your Review

4.73 /5

Filter Reviews

All 44 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Foot Tractor Wading Boots - Aluminum Bar

4.73
September 13, 2020

"The Goods"

I bought a size larger (11) than street shoe (10) because I have a wide foot (3EEE) and a very high instep which makes finding comfortable footwear difficult. They are a perfect fit for my feet. They go on and come off with ease (love the speed lacing). They have superb traction in the river and provide confidence for this 72 year old fisherman. Th... Read Moree uppers are very supple and none restrictive when walking/wading. They are just plain comfortable and the best wading shoes I have owned. Worth every penny. They are "the goods". Thanks Patagonia/Danner. It has taken way too long but I have finally found the boot I've been looking for.

June 17, 2020

Very Comfortable Boots

Comfort is not a term I associate with wading boots but these are the most comfortable wading boots I have ever worn. They feel like I am wearing a good hiking boot. And they slip on and off like slippers, unlike my previous boots. I am a size 8.5M and originally ordered an 8 (I prefer tighter rather than looser when wading). They were too tight so... Read More I exchanged them for a 9, which fit fine. I recommend half sizes size up. Can't speak of their durability but they seem to be built (& weigh) like a tank. They are noticeably heavy when carrying but are not too heavy on the stream. The weight might impact how far you are willing to walk or climb to your fishing hole but is offset by the superior comfort. Traction is very good but is a shade below studded felt. It's nice they are made in USA, which is why they are pricey. But you get what you pay for.

May 9, 2020

Wish they made half sizes

I'm a size 9 in pretty much every brand shoe but these felt too tight in a 9. I went with the 10's and they are too loose with heel slip in the back. Trying out inserts, double socks, etc to get them to feel right and it's still not there. 9.5 would have been perfect. They are super heavy and I wouldn't want to hike in anywher... Read Moree with these, but in the water the weight helps me feel sturdy and the aluminum bars grip well. The toe leather discolors after one wear but I'm not participating in a fashion show with these so I personally don't mind.

March 11, 2020

Alaska worthy

I use these boots for my work as a hydrologist in Alaska in all seasons. I have small feet (6.5 in women) so I was worried the smallest size offered in this boot would still be too big. Turns out they are a little big but that's perfect because even in summer, I'm working in cold water so having plenty of room for extra socks is needed. T... Read Morehey are not oversize enough to interfere with hiking. As other reviewers have mentioned, the boot feels heavy in your hands but not on your foot. I appreciate that the boot material is not too thick/bulky which also allows for good drainage. I don't have to lace them up super tight for the boots to feel secure on my feet which has been an issue with other boots that tend to cut off circulation and lead to cold toes. The boots have gripped well in all conditions except bare ice but that's to be expected. Even though there is not "women specific" version, these have worked well for me and I would recommend.

February 23, 2020

Get the right size...

Unlike the prior model of Foot Tractor boots (the non-Danner version) these fit differently when wet than they do when dry in my experience. I needed to switch sizes after learning this. When dry the size 13's are a perfect fit for me but as soon as I wade into the river I need to re-lace them as tight as I can as they are much too big once we... Read Moret. I ended up replacing the 13's with a pair of size 12. I'm not sure if it's a case of wet leather having more give to it than the synthetic boots I've used in the past but these really seem to expand and fit "larger" once wet. These are certainly the best wading boots I've ever owned but getting the size right was a little challenging for me until I learned how they behave once wet.

January 31, 2020

Boots don’t hold up well.

Use 68 days this past season. Much like the original “Tractor” series of boots (completely rotted out in two years) these boots offer excellent traction (although not as good as the originals.), but disappoint in their durability. In 8 months of use, the inner toe leather has deformed and has become quite painful to wear. This problem is not fixa... Read Moreble and is hard on waders and feet. Pro-Advice: If your looking for fishing gear; waders, boots, jackets. BUY SIMMS PRODUCTS. Their fishing gear is far superior.

December 23, 2019

shitty on ice, incredible in the river.

Just got a pair yesterday and was eager to try them out. Almost fell on my butt several times just standing still gearing up by the car on packed snow/ice and walking down a somewhat icy trail to river. Super slippery on snow/ice! BUT.....once I got in the river, they were by far the most grippy boots I have EVER worn. Very confident crossing even ... Read Moredeeper and faster sections that I wouldn't normally cross. Easy to lace. Heavy in the hand but feel super stout and burly in the water and not clunky. I normally wear 11's and the 11's felt big with wool socks and 3.5MM wader feet. I was nervous they may be sloppy in the summer while wet wading with just a thinner wading sock. Easy enough to fix with an additional pare of insoles to soak up space in summer. Even if you do fish in snow and ice, these are awesome boots, just be careful on the ice. Otherwise they are killer.

November 29, 2019

Foot Tractor wading boots

I wasn't sure whether to get size 12 or 13, so I got 13. They seemed fine when I tried them on, but then when I actually went fishing and got them wet wading in the riverI realized I should have gotten size 12. But, now that I've used them it's too late to return them, so I guess I'll get t bigger socks. Despite that, the alumin... Read Moreum bars gave me the best traction on slipper river rocks. They were great.

November 25, 2019

Best Wading Boots on the Market

When Patagonia and Danner teamed up to make the new boot line up I knew they would be good. I just didn't realise how good. The new Foot Tractor boots offer an incredibly comfortable fit, superior traction, and durability. I couldn't be happier with them. Perfect for long days on the river. Even those big walk and wade days.

November 25, 2019

Foot Tractor wading boots

These boots, in a word, are bomber. When I first read the name for these boots, Foot Tractor, I was not sure why you would name a boot after farm machinery. After wearing them on six different fishing outings I now get it. Your boots basically plow their way through any river substrate - with ease. A big positive are the aluminum bars. Having never... Read More used a wading boots with aluminum I was a bit sceptical. Not anymore. If you fish/wade in any river/creek with slick rocks these boots (the aluminum bars) are the answer. One final positive. The width of the boot allows for ample room for your waders wading sock to fit in the boot without your foot being 'squished'. This allows for more blood flow to your foot which makes your feet happier and ultimately warmer (better blood circulation equals warmer feet). Can't wait for fair weather to return next spring (it's late November in Montana) so I can get out again with my tractors.

November 22, 2019

Most Comfortable Wading Boots Ever

I wade about 100 days each year and have had many pairs of boots and NONE of them are as comfortable as these Danner/Patagonia boots.

November 18, 2019

Perfect fit. I wear 10.5

Perfect fit. I wear 10.5 in most street shoes/boots. Sometimes 11 if they run small. I ordered the Tractors in 11 and they are perfect.

November 14, 2019

Expensive - yes! Best wear experience - yes!

After wearing the last pair of Patagonia boots out and the soles falling apart, I sent the boots back for repair. I had not known that was going to be the last time I saw them for Patagonia sent me a credit for a future purchase rather than fix the sole of the boot. Then I found that the only boots available from Patagonia are these new Danner boot... Read Mores. After taking a couple days to get over the sticker shock I spent time researching these new Danners and decided it was worth the shot. The warranty and repair side of the house seemed in order at Danner and it better be if I’m being charged such a large sum for wading boots. I took these up to fish Steelhead last week in NE Ohio and was VERY pleased and comfortable with how well the boots wore. They didn’t feel like moon boots like previous boots I’d had from Simms and Patagonia. These new boots are on a whole new level indeed. The price is very expensive but the comfort and feel of the boot are the best I’ve experience yet!

November 9, 2019

Super traction!

These are my favorite boots I’ve used. These things are beasts in the water. I haven’t used a boot as sticky as them. They seem super well built. They come out of the box super comfortable. I’ve put some miles out of the river in them as well. It’s not the best boot for that, but that is 100% a sacrifice I would make for my stability in the water. ... Read MoreLove the boot and will recommended them to everybody. I wish they had just a little more ankle support. I would not call it poor ankle support by any means, but a little beefier would be nice. All of my buddies and I have also had our foot inserts fold up/cup on cold mornings. It always fixes it self once you slid wiggle around a little bit and they warm up. Just a little disappointing giving how much the boots cost. My boots (size 8) fit perfectly but I have had a few buddies in the 11 range normally have to size down. Just try them on pre-purchase if you can!

November 6, 2019

Never slip

These boots are fantastic I never slip and best of all since I guide in Alaska and use rafts for all my trip the fact that the aluminum bars do not cut into the rafts fabric is a great plus old style pegs would sometimes cut into the fabric had to be very careful.

November 6, 2019

Great Boots!

I’ve been using and older version of the Foot Tractors with felt soles for the past two years. The new version with aluminum bars have a sturdy construction and are super stable in the river. The aluminum bars really help with traction on rocks. My only complaint is the boot volume seems really big. I tried to compensate at the time of my order and... Read More sized down one size, but the boot still feels sort of big. However, their performance in the river far outweighs the adjustment that I have to make on the fit. Highly recommended boot!

November 4, 2019

Tractor Wading Boots-Aluminum Bar

Really solid build quality and really nice boot. I wear Size 9 shoes normally, but decided to size up to account for waders in the boot, but now they are a little too big. But an amazing boot overall!

November 4, 2019

Since felt became illegal here

Since felt became illegal here in Alaska these are the only boots that work on what used to be slick rocks. Thanks Patagonia for teaming up with Danner and making an amazing boot. They seem to run narrower then boots from other manufacturers but they are still fairly new to me and may just need to be worn in a little.

October 31, 2019

foot tractor wade boots

boots exude quality materials and construction. break in was minimal. the fit seems wider than it should be. experiencing some lace bite. the exterior boot toe could use a rubber protection piece, otherwise down the road, i could see some potential for premature wear..

October 16, 2019

Great Boots

Lots of grip, and look like they're built to last.

October 8, 2019

Very comfortable new design is

Very comfortable new design is great

October 7, 2019

Foot Tractor Wading Boots-Aluminum Bar

I was blown away at the traction and overall performance of my new Foot Tractor Wading Boots. I was a little nervous at first that it would feel like walking in ski boots, but was pleasantly surprised at how natural the step in them was, even in waist deep river water. I had solid traction and no slippage throughout multiple 10 hour days on the Yak... Read Moreima River. It was also nice to see an additional set of aluminum bars and shoelaces included with the purchase. Well done!

October 6, 2019

Good Boots

Nice high quality boot. Easy in and off, getting the laces tight enough is pretty tough. The aluminum bars work OK on most surfaces but are poor on smooth rock. These boots are also heavy but I’m cool with that. I am glad I bought these boots and would do it again. I wish I’d have ordered them in two sizes to return the one that didn’t fit right. I... Read More feel the sizing is too wide and I have a wide foot. If you have narrow feet chances are these boots will not lace tight enough for you.

October 6, 2019

Just what he needed!

I got these for my husband for a fishing trip to Wyoming. They were exactly what he needed. He said he wouldn’t have been able to stay in the water without them.

September 7, 2019

Dannagonia

When I hike and hunt, I wear Danner. When I wade, I wear tractors. Know I get to have my aluminum and wear it too. For me, these are the most comfortable, stable wading boots I've worn. So far I've used them on the Trinity and Sacramento rivers here in Northern California.

September 2, 2019

Lighter than expected

I was expecting a more stiff and clunky boot- it is much more nimble and light than I expected and still seems to have more than adequate protection.

August 29, 2019

New Danner boots

I absolutely applaud Patagonia and Danner for coming together to make the best wading boot ever. My home river is loaded with big boulders and large cobble, coming across a flat surface for your feet is a rare treat. The stability and support these boots offer as well and the grip of the aluminum bars is amazing. I feel like I can stick to anything... Read More I step on and cross the river anywhere. The only issue I had was the first day and the boot felt really wide, after it dried up a little and the leather got used they have since fit like a glove. I look forward to years of beating up these boots and not worrying about them. Thank you to two great companies that have made one great boot!

August 20, 2019

Traction like no other boot.

Really impressed with the traction on every river I guide on. I was skeptical about their performance on the San Jaun River, but they were rock solid. I have been on the water every day with them since I got them and they won’t get a chance to dry out for about 30 more days. We will see how they hold up. Impressive so far.

August 20, 2019

The wading boot ive been waiting for!

I've had these for about 4 months so far. Here are my impressions: Out of box: Oozes quality as expected at the premium price point. I was excited to see that they come with a spare set of alu bars and a spare set of laces. I didn't see that highlighted anywhere on the website and that is a real value add. In my last set of foot tractor... Read Mores, I went thru laces in about 6 months (no biggie) and the alu bars in about 10 months. Im a bigger guy and do lots of hiking so Im sure that is much accelerated compared to others. (One of my buddies has had his for 2 years and bars were not showing near the wear mine were.) Fit: The fit is really nice and the comfort level is second to none. The uppers on these boots are flexible and make it feel like you are not wearing a wading boot yet the lowers feel strong and robust. One thing I will note about fit is that these are VERY high volume. I have feet that are on the wider side and even still when I draw the laces tight, the lower portion of the boot nearly closes until it touches the other side. This could be an issue for someone with a small volume foot. Function: Im absolutely sold on the alu bars. Grip for DAYS. Ive honestly never really understood the hype about the vibram soles as my experience with their rubber has been subpar (esp when compared with the five.10 steath rubber). That said, it's really the alu bars that make these boots what they are!!! The level of confidence you have in your footing and grip actually takes a while to get used to - they are that good. You can make steps and get grip in places it just does not seem possible.

August 15, 2019

Best foot tractors boots ever!

Boots are very comfortable, supportive, durable and provide next level traction. No other boot can compare. My only critique is they're quite a bit heavier than previous model.

August 14, 2019

Even Better than it's Predecessor

I owned the original Foot Tractor for several years and liked their fit, comfort and traction. I sprung for a new pair of the Patagonia/Danner boots this spring and was impressed with the fit and design out of the box, but wanted to fish them some before reviewing. Their fit is equally as good and my feet like the ample room in the toe box, compare... Read Mored to other brand boots I've used. Traction and security on slippery rocks does not disappoint. Where I feel the new boot excels it's predecessor is the stability the upper offers both in the river and when hiking. An added bonus is they dry out much faster than the previous model. Yup, after fishing them about 30 days, they're a bit scuffed up, but this certainly doesn't take away from their performance. If wear becomes an issue, I'm confident that Patagonia and Danner will help me out and keep me fishing. A bit pricey, yes, but worth every penny, ... HIGHLY recommended!

August 13, 2019

Great boots

After having back surgery I was looking for a boot with good traction. I have fished them for 20 days on very rocky rivers in Norway and can say that these boots are very good.

August 12, 2019

Love the Boots!

My husband and I both love the fishing boots. They are extremely comfortable, true to size and probably the favorite boots we have ever owned.

August 6, 2019

BEST Wading Boots EVER

My husband has 3 current pair of Patagonia wading boots and countless pairs have been 'retired' from use. When his latest trip recommended bars we searched for the bars to fit his current boots but were unable to track them down. I suggested these but the price was staggering to him. I knew the quality of Danner and the design and researc... Read Moreh Patagonia puts into their gear would be a winner. I ordered them for my husband as a surprise. He is so glad I did. They are the safest, strongest, most durable boots ever. He is fishing rare waters and some areas of the river were too shallow to float so the group has to pull the rafts and gear. These boots kept him safe and stable and able to put his full strength into the work despite super slippery rocks and rough terrain. The fishing has been amazing and he can concentrate on having a great time instead of worrying about foot placement while he is enjoying reeling in fish. He has hiked in these to get down river and the support and comfort has been wonderful on various surfaces. We order his true size, 11, and then ordered the 12 because his older Patagonia waders had thicker booties and made the 11 feel too tight at first. He ended up keeping the 11s because the 12 were just too big and we felt the all leather boot will stretch some to accommodate his other waders if necessary. Danner and Patagonia advertise these as boots for a lifetime. Both of these companies are well known for their durability, quality and standing behind their products so we are confident in the investment in these boots. We are going to test that out because he loves them and I don't see him using any other pair after this! The Patagonia X Danner collaboration is a dream come true for fly fisherman and women! WORTH EVERY PENNY!

July 13, 2019

The Anti-Swim boot

That's what they should call it. I am always hesitant to say never, or ever. I had a pair of 2nd generation "original" foot tractors and they work. But they were not a great boot. These, I can tell... are a great boot. I can't wait to get them on the river. My wife was super jazzed watching me wader-up in the living room and glo... Read Moreat. I'm surprised she didn't take pictures. After 2 swims, and F'n up a pair of gore-tex waders, I was all in. I don't think these boots will disappoint. Not in the slightest. I love my super light Patagonia boots for the raft and drifty. But if you're like me, and tired of doing the Las Vegas shuffle wade, just flip the coin, and finish your day on the water on your terms. (not applicable to rivers with gravel bottom)

July 10, 2019

First Impression - Best Boots Ever

It's not unusual for me to hike a half mile or more to where I fish. Over the course of the summer I'll put on many more miles bushwhacking in my wading boots than I will in the river. As a result, I need a wading boot that is as sturdy as a hiking boot while still offering excellent on-stream traction. Over the years I've tried rubb... Read Moreer, felt, the new "grippy" compounds, studs and aluminum bars. Unquestionably the aluminum bars, pioneered by Patagonia, offer the best traction under all conditions. This is Patagonia's third generation Foot Tractor. I've owned all three and believe these to be the best yet. Unlike the previous versions which had aluminum bars that spanned the entire sole from heel to toe, the latest Foot Tractor uses a combination of short bars on the heel and toe and individual aluminum pieces elsewhere. A total of seven chunks of aluminum on each boot. The aluminum really digs in and grips on any surface I've waded, even slimy rocks. Your feet feel like they're being held to the river bottom. At my age it's extra insurance that I really value. When new, nothing holds like aluminum bars but they will wear down over time and should be replaced every couple of years depending on how much you wade. Replacement on the previous models was easy and I expect it will be on these as well. This generation of Foot Tractor is made by Danner and has a few notable differences. For one, it comes up higher, offering better ankle support, a particularly useful feature for my style of wading. Also, the toe cap is more rounded giving a little extra room for your toes. Fit of my size 12's is spot on. The boots are very comfortable to wear with no slipping, pinching or sore spots after a full day's use. These boots have been touted as the last pair of wading boots you'll ever need to buy. At my age that's probably correct. Danner indicates that they can repair/rebuild the boots as they wear out. The boots are a new design and I'm still breaking mine in. I'll be very curious to see how they feel after a full season of wear. For right now I am very pleased and give them a top rating. They're the best pair of wading boots I've ever had in a long line of boots.

May 8, 2019

Excellent Boots!

The best feature of these boots is how stable they are. Perfect for rocky stream beds. Construction detail is excellent. I ordered the wrong size at first. Patagonia mage the exchange effortless. Extraordinary Customer Service.

May 8, 2019

Great wading boots

I’ve used these twice now for fishing all day in Arkansas on some slick river beds and I love the stability they provided. Didn’t slip and slide at all! Each step feels solid. I was even able to climb up a greasy underwater boulder (and get back down) with little trouble which would not have been possible in my other boots. The trade off is that th... Read Moreese boots are a bit on the heavy side but it’s been worth it to me. Overall I’m very happy with these wading boots.

May 8, 2019

Tough boots that grip!

I am a fishing guide in Livingston, Montana and have been fishing our spring creeks in these boots for the last couple of weeks. Really happy with how well these boots are made. Never had a pair like them and in 25 years of guiding I have had several different pairs. These boots are made like heavy duty hiking boots and will last for years. The Foo... Read Moret Tractor grips even the rocks in Armstrong Spring Creek which I am sure are some of the slickest of any in the world. Definitely worth every penny if you are a serious fisherman!

April 15, 2019

You get what you pay for.

I'd been splooging over these boots since I first saw them last summer. As a frequent Colorado angler, I put my boots through the wringer. I'd formerly used the lightweight patagonia sticky boot, but found they were terrible. In about a year, the edges had completely worn out. Eyelets popped out, seams bursted, etc. The reason I keep buyi... Read Moreng Patagonia is because of their warranty. I brought the boots back into store and offered me a gift card valued at the full retail value. Awesome. You cannot afford to shop anywhere else. The helped drive down the cost, but was still out some serious coin. Onto the boots. I've used them five times now under varying colorado conditions this spring, so I feel I can leave an adequate review. I just put them up to the ultimate test yesterday- A 1000 foot descent under 45 degree pitch in mud, sand, loose rock and boulders. Simply put, the boot delivered. The support never failed, and the aluminum bars allowed me to gracefully descend the face, and then provided great traction on the slog back up. The grip is unrivaled on the river, always managing to find sure footing. I'd occasionally precariously jump into fast, uneven conditions just to see how they held up. Almost always had sure footing. The boots seem to drain very well, almost instantly. The foot beds are by far the most comfortable I've experienced, with a cushioning spring effect. True to my street size 11 shoes. My only complaints would be the weight when wet- considerable. You'll feel it more when you take them off, though it's not really enough to notice on our 3 mile long hike. The weight kind of swings with your foot. The laces that came with the boot need to be replaced- they are too dynamic when wet. I always lace them up as tight as possible at first, but they seem to loosen and are so long that I have to wrap them around my ankle. By the end of the day, there was a minor slippage on the heel because of how loose they were, and I had to re-tighten them. Swap them out with something with less give. Overall Incredibly impressed by these boots. For $550, I won't know if they were worth the investment until five years from now. Until then, I'd recommend them to anyone who replaces their boots every year to 18 months, with patagonias warranty and care program, you'll always be taken care of.

April 2, 2019

Unbelievable Grip!!

These boots at first thought were a bit heavy but it was to be expected from a boot with this type of construction. I've had them on the stream now many times over the past few months and I can say easily that there is no other boot with this level of traction in the stream. Slimy round boulders and greasy flat rocks are no match for these sol... Read Morees. With the bars on either side of the sole you can feel the boot wrap around the surface and you are glued down. The fit for me is excellent and feels like a proper boot. I went up one size from my street shoe and it is perfect with my Gallegos waders and a heavy pair of socks. Awesome Boot!!!

March 28, 2019

Best boot ever

I've blasted through the old tractors blowing out the seems on the sides of both boots. Those boots had amazing traction, but were clunky, heavy and fell apart. I moved onto the g3 simms boots with the quality issues on the tractor seams. I never liked the fit, they didn't hike well, poor traction, an all around of a let down on performa... Read Morence. I liked the idea of the danner collaboration hoping to up the quality over the old tractor. This boot one ups everything. Pricey but worth every penny. Fit is amazing, they go on easy, traction on par with the old tractor, and I nice supple, dexterous ankle. They don't feel bulky and clunky like either the g3 or the old tractor. I love this boot

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches