Back to Product

Patagonia Men's City Storm Down Parka

Write Your Review

4.19 /5

Filter Reviews

All 37 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's City Storm Down Parka

4.19
Kinda Large
November 11, 2020

Warm

Perfect!

November 4, 2020

Great for, amazing heat retention

I love this coat. I never knew what I was missing out on until I had a coat like this. It fits me perfectly, and I am toasty in it. I have already recommended it to a number of people. I hope they get it, because it is worth it.

February 11, 2020

4.5 Stars

Reason for purchasing: I am a craft beer aficionado and as such spend time waiting in line to buy beer. This more often than not involves lining up in the wee hours of the morning and standing in line for several hours until the brewery opens. It was important that I have a warm coat since standing around doesn’t generate a ton of body heat and you... Read More get cold really quick (especially when it’s windy). Style: The coat is very stylish, and I have gotten lots of compliments on it. The “brown” color is more of a green in person. I actually like it better, so I wasn’t disappointed. It would be nice if Patagonia updates the picture on their website to more accurately reflect what you’re getting in the mail. I have a very high-end monitor and it’s calibrated correctly so I don’t believe it’s an issue in how I’m viewing the content. One thing worth noting about this coat is that It is LONG! much longer than most other coats I tried but for me this is a big plus since it covers my rear and the upper part of my thighs from wind. Function: Front Pockets: The coat has 2 large pockets in the front that are great for either warming your hands or storing things like a hat and gloves. One downfall of the pockets is that they don’t have enough lining in the front so if it’s really cold or windy the backs of your hands that are against the exterior of the coat tend to get cold. I personally carry gloves with me, so this wasn’t a huge deal but something I felt deserved mentioning. The pockets also have a magnet clasping system which holds them closed. I initially thought I wasn’t going to like this design, but it makes keeping things secure effortless and is a very nice addition. Zipper/Storm Flaps A lot of people didn’t like the zipper on this coat. I will admit that it takes a little getting used to but once you get the hang of it, I don’t think it’s a problem. It feels heavy and I honestly liked it better than the zippers on several more expensive competitors’ parkas. The front of the coat has snap buttons the secure the storm flap. All the buttons beside the top and bottom are hidden under the material. In my opinion this makes the coat look uniform and the bottom button looks especially out of place. I would have preferred that they hide all the buttons to give the coat a cleaner look. Hood The hood is very nice, a lot of parkas I tried had hoods meant to fit ski helmets which made them massive but not this coat. It adjusts on the sides and the back and is insulated and quite warm. I would have preferred the hood be a little deeper when tightened since my face is kind of exposed, this isn’t a major deal breaker though. I’d say the biggest downfall of the hood is that it’s very noisy when it’s over your head. I think this is because the material in general is kind of noisy on the coat which doesn’t bother me with the hood down but it does kind of stink to not be able to talk to people while walking with the hood up. There is also an inner pocket that I use for my phone. I have an 11 pro max and it easily fits in. The pocket is also situated at a nice height so that it’s easy to access. Warmth This jacket is very warm but not a furnace. I wore it last weekend in NYC where it was windy and in the high twenties most of the time and was very comfortable. The extra length definitely serves to protect you from the elements. I was comfortable with a better sweater on underneath as well as just a long sleeve T-shirt. One thing I really liked is that I didn’t seem to overheat while indoors even with a base layer on. This is generally a problem for me with most other heavy coats. There are a couple things that keep me from giving this 5 stars. 1. The exposed top and bottom button look odd 2. The sleeves have buttons. I think for the price it would have been nice to have an elastic sleeve like most other high end parkas 3. It would be nice if the bottom had a drawstring. There is a drawstring for the middle but on really windy days it would be nice to be able to cinch the bottom. This is really a minor issue since the coat is sufficiently long to keep wind out on most occasions

March 5, 2020

Almost Brilliant but Not Great In The Long Run

I bought one in November 2018 and I have to say it is a fantastic coat in many ways. It is very warm, especially when worn with layers. It saw me through a lot of rain and cold, including a trip to Tromso in the arctic circle. For a city commuter in a country that has wet and cold winters this is a very good coat that will also be good for some mor... Read Moree serious excursions. The problems though, start for me with the pockets. The front pockets have very satisfying magnetic closures, the issue is that the angle to open them is straight up which is awkward. You cant really stick your hands in your pockets when it's wet as the water drips into the pockets. Also the pocket flaps get really beaten up and spoil the look of what is a nice clean, minimal looking garment. The biggest issue for me is that the waterproofing seems to have disappeared around the neck area. If I go out in much rain I have damp shoulders when I get back. It could be that backpack straps have worn some of the DWR finish off, or maybe a seam at the neck isn't right but it's quite unpleasant. Such a shame as at the high price I expected this jacket to last me for a good 5-10 years before it needed some kind of repairs, yet it hasn't made two!

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2020

Hi Edward, thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write a product review. Product reviews are crucial to helping our designers know what's working and what's not and it helps our customers know what will work best for them, thank you for your contribution to our community. Most waterproof/breathable shells on the market are originally treated with a Durable Water-Repellant finish (DWR), which keeps the outer fabric from becoming saturated so that the breathable barrier can do its job. This coating needs to be replenished once per season, or more often if the piece gets a lot of use or washing. If water is no longer beading up on your shell, it’s time to put on another finish. Whatever you choose, be sure to use a wash-in for the Men's City Storm Parka. Give this a go and if you are still experiencing issues get in touch with our [Customer Service team](https://eu.patagonia.com/gb/en/customer-service.html#searchterm=customer%20service) who will be happy to help you. Let us know if you need further help!

February 26, 2020

Great parka (if you can stand the feathers)

I needed a warm waterproof coat for casual wear and commuting in cold rainy weather and this coat checks all the boxes for me. It keeps me warm and dry in PNW winter weather with just a t-shirt or light sweatshirt underneath. The coat is lightweight and not too bulky, the waterproofing is great, and the handwarmer pockets with magnetic flaps are th... Read Moreoughtful details. Overall the quality feels excellent. Like others have mentioned, it can be a bit noisy in quiet environments due to the 'scratchy' feel of the outer fabric but it doesn't bother me personally. The only thing I don't like about this jacket is that it sheds tiny feathers like crazy. Every time I take the coat off, I'm covered with little bits of feathers - so much so that I started packing a lint roller in my work bag otherwise people will start thinking that I live with a family of ducks. It's especially annoying if you wear dark colors. However, I love the rest of the coat so much that I'm willing to accept it. If you think you can't handle having tiny bits of feathers all over you, I would look at other coats.

February 22, 2020

Beautiful coat just not warm enough

im grin Boston and I really wanted to like this coat, it looks great, and the its made from really high quality fabrics, BUT, it just wasn't keeping me warm enough, although I layered up. Patagonia, please make it warmer.

February 21, 2020

Pockets are the downfall

As other have mentioned, the top entry pockets basically ruin an otherwise warm and stylish parka. They're awkward to use, aren't very warm, and if there is any precipitation and you're using the pockets, expect the inside to get wet. The dual chest pockets are strictly for small items (too high and small for hands), and could easily... Read More be replaced with a single vertical breast pocket. I also think the cuffs are a bit wide and could use a thin layer of fleece or something to warm wrists/overlap with gloves. I'll be returning this after winter fades. This needs side entry pockets.

February 7, 2020

Just about perfect

The parka really delivers as it makes you toasty n nice walking around in 30 degree weather. I did try to wear it during a uptempo hike and it was too warm...I'll stick with the down sweater for that. My one complaint, as was mentioned in a previous review, the laminated visor can poke the back of the head/neck in an annoying manner. A quick w... Read Moreorkaround is to fold the visor portion into the hood. No biggie really. I'm 5'8 at 175. A medium feels fine with enough room for a mid layer. My goal is this beautiful efficient looking parka lasts me 20 years. I think it could!

January 29, 2020

Perfect NYC/Coastal City Parka

This coat is absolutely ideal for a coastal city that holds the possibility of wet weather all the time. In NYC we are constantly harassed by chilly winter days between 40-25F, with sleet and rain more than snow. The City Storm has just the right amount of insulation for these around-freezing temperatures, and fends off the moisture with a shrug. T... Read Morehe box baffling means no cold spots, and the insulation is spread evenly with a minimum of bulk or puff. I'm a slim 5'10" and 155 lbs with a 38" chest, and the Small fits perfectly, though snug if I wanted to layer much underneath. If you're facing daily temperatures in the single digits and below, I would look at Patagonia's heavier parkas, but the non-bulky and flattering fit makes this coat a real winner in Manhattan.

January 18, 2020

The Men’s city storm Parka is exactly what I was hoping for

Just received this jacket today from the Patagonia we store and it’s great. The jacket fits perfectly and is very sturdy, the sturdiness is something that is important to me as I’ll be using it for various outside activities. I also wanted something to keep me warm when hiking as it gets very cold here in western Pennsylvania. There’s a huge differ... Read Moreence of warmth between the city storm and the isthmus jacket and the only reason I know is because that is what I was using initially this winter. The Thigh length of the city storm is also something else I’ve been wanting. When I go hiking I typically just wear jeans and hiking boots, I never liked using thermals or any baselayers and never really felt the need to unless the temp drops below 30 degrees. With the city storm Parka I won’t have to worry about that at all now as the part of my legs that get cold will be completely covered, that’s a huge plus! Everyone in the customer service department at Patagonia has been very helpful and nice towards me, and I really appreciate it. That’s a very uncommon trait to have these days! Thanks again for everything

January 16, 2020

Feathers Everywhere

I purchased this jacket on backcountry.com and I was very pleased with the fit, warmth and the fact that it was not bulky. Unfortunately this jacket leaked tons of feathers, if I wore it for longer than 30 minutes I would be covered in feathers like legut everywhere which didn't seem normal. I went to the patagonia store and they were extremel... Read Morey helpful and gave me a new one no question but unfortunately the same issue arose with the new one. One minor problem I had was the hoods length as I found it to be kind of short and didn't reach my forehead. Overall nice non bulky warm parka but for me the feather leakage was just too much of an issue.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2020

We are so sorry to hear about the shedding of feathers you are experiencing with this jacket. Though it is normal to have some shedding occur with Down products, we certainly don't expect them to be causing this much of an inconvenience. Please feel free to return that to us and we'd recommend going with a synthetically insulated jacket as these will not shed.

January 13, 2020

Great in Scottish Weather

I've been using this parka since late September this past year - used as my primary jacket in Glasgow. No matter the weather this has kept me comfortable & dry, with the added benefit of being immune to wind! Anyone that's used to Scottish weather, we get rainstorms of cold windy water being blown in sheets. It's miserable - b... Read Moreut in this with the hood cinched I was warm, and not cold at all even when just wearing a t-shirt underneath. The size is very good for myself. I'm 5' 11", slim build & the Small fits like a glove. Warm fluffy down inside lined with a really comfortable material. A feature I adore is the button lining the full way up, its great in mild 5c weather that's windy, no need to zip it on most days. The magnetic pockets are pretty sweet too. I highly recommend this coat, served me well & is of a good build quality.

January 10, 2020

Too little insulation for such a pricy parka

Was keen on buying this one for quite some time and finally did so. I love the design but was teally disappointed by the insulation: Today we had 5 degrees in the city and I was freezing. The hands and parts of the chest are hardly insulated at all, I had expected more from a 500 EUR parka and this brand

Response from Patagonia
January 17, 2020

Hello Philipp, thanks so much for your feedback and we're sorry to hear this has happened. This is not normal and I kindly ask you to reach out to our [Customer Service team](https://eu.patagonia.com/gb/en/customer-service.html#searchterm=customer%20service) who will arrange a solution for you. Again, thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback and please let us know if you have any other questions!

January 3, 2020

Great winter jacket!

I had been looking for an everyday weatherproof jacket for some time. I'm not a fan of fur hoods and gimmicks so the simple design of this jacket is great. Runs true to size and so far so good.

December 30, 2019

Most practical city parka

I have tried a lot of parkas before buying this one, this is most practical for city dwellers. Lots of well placed and well sized pockets to keep stuff organized. Not too bulky, neither too light. Great wind and rain protection. Nice hoodie with concealed adjustment string. Nice lines and forms, simple and minimalist, unlike most luxury Parka&#x2... Read More7;s which are still living in 60s. Too bad the size is too big for me :(

December 25, 2019

I would buy this again without hesitation

Great jacket, very warm and completely wind proof. Just need it to rain now so I can test how waterproof it is😀

December 24, 2019

Warm, stylist coat

This coat is not bulky but certainly packed its punch in warmness. This is a stylist coat. I am very pleased with this.

December 19, 2019

A good coat that has

A good coat that has already proved it's self by protecting me against the wind and rain. It is a very good fit both in body length and arm length. The internal mesh pocket is a very nice touch. If i could improve it i would do two things. 1) add internal elasticated wrist cuffs. 2) add some padding to the pockets.

December 16, 2019

Love the Parka

It is exactly what I wanted. It is super warm and thick, but not too heavy to make it a burden to wear. It feels durable and weather resistant. Perfect.

December 12, 2019

Perfect City Coat

Commuting in NYC made easy! If you live here or have been here, in and out of the subway can be hot, cold, hot and cold. This jacked keeps you warm in the wind, but doesn't cook you when underground. It is also sleek enough so you don't become that big puff ball taking up lots of room in the subway.

December 7, 2019

Amazing coat!

Love it! Perfect fit, very warm, comfortable, and stylish!

December 4, 2019

Fantastic parka

Fantastic parka

December 3, 2019

Ms City Storm Parka

While I love this Parka, a couple things I would change if I had to design it. I use it for hiking and wildlife photography here in New England. The first thing is the hood. I find it kind of stiff and small. Its tough to wear a baseball cap with it because the brim keeps knocking the cap off when the hood is down. The stiffness of the brim does it... Read More from the back of my neck every time I look up. You can alleviate this by tucking the hood inside itself. It would be great if it was detachable on this model. The second problem I have is the small wrists it has. Even with the snaps on the wide settings I cant get larger gloves tucked inside the wrists to keep cold air out and the gloves are to small to go totally over the wrists. So thats is problem I still am trying to solve. Other than that the Parka is warm and very light. I look forward to using it for many years and I’m sure it will be fine in the long run….. I own other Patagonia products and I love em !

December 3, 2019

Backcountry reliability with slick urban style

I have had this jacket for over a year and put it through many adverse conditions. It has held up immaculately, and looked good all the while. The length of this jacket is well designed for urban travel in cold, rainy conditions because it offers extended protection, and the dove tail makes movement easy. It works well riding a bike or siting on a ... Read Morecold train seat. The pockets are well designed. The two breast pockets are solid for train tickets or small items, and the larger hand pockets are just the right size. Note: the clamp mechanism (which is magnetic) sounds weird at first - as if you dropped something - but once you get used to that you understand that the snaps are great for when you have gloves on. The hood is great over a beanie if you're really cold. The dwr maintained it's edge over a winter season in Oxford England (with trips into Austria) and was recently refreshed after a wash. This was my go-to jacket for any outing last winter, and I consider it one of my most solid pieces. If you needed to, you could ski in it, but I think where it really shines is harsh urban conditions - e.g. England in the winter - where you want something to keep you warm and dry for hours at a time.

November 27, 2019

Nice coat, 1 flaw

Very good coat. Warm, stylish, and good materials used. Only flaw is that the zipper is cheap an is not high quality. Wish it had a real heavy duty zipper.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

Hi John! Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you're unhappy with the zipper on this jacket. I went ahead and passed your comments along to our product designers for consideration. Please note, all Patagonia items are backed by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee#searchterm=ironclad), so if that zipper ever fails, you are welcome to send it in for a complimentary repair or warranty return.

November 27, 2019

Lots to like, but with a few shortcomings.

There's so much that's perfect about this jacket. It's one of the few nice looking options for those looking for an XS. It's warmer than less expensive options, although not quite as warm as I expected. I usually wear a shirt and sweater underneath, but you may want more layers when temps reach the 30s or even low 40s . Also, fo... Read Morer those not familiar with down (like me), be aware that you will have white feathers all over your clothing after a few days of wearing this jacket. I almost returned until I was assured by friends that all down jackets leak. I wish I had been warned ahead of time. In the end, I'm keeping the jacket, but the constant clean up is annoying even if standard. Next time, I might try a synthetic option. In summary, there's a lot to like about it, and if you keep your expectations in check you'll find this a solid jacket for cold and wet weather.

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2019

Hi Michael! Thanks for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with those feathers shedding. As your friends assured you, this is normal with down products, but there are a couple tricks to minimize the amount of shedding. When you see a partially exposed feather, simply pull it back in to the jacket and massage the area to help the hole close. We also recommend washing new jackets to help the down settle more quickly. To wash, use cool to cold water on a gentle cycle, then place your item in your dryer on a low heat setting with two dryer balls. The balls will help restore the loft of the down and ensure that the item dries evenly. Please note, drying down items can take a while, so you may need to use more than one dry cycle.

November 20, 2019

Solid jacket for winter in the city

I have been extremely pleased with this jacket so far. Very comfortable in 20 degree weather. Very simplistic look and just gets the job done. I wish there were side entry pockets though, still getting used to the top entry hand warming pockets.

November 20, 2019

Not Worth It - Bad Pocket Design and Annoying Fabric

I got this parka because I liked the look more than the Jackson Galcier but ended up returning it. It is warm, that's not an issue; however, the shape of the front pockets is not well designed and the cold sneaks in from the sides. If you don't mind using gloves it shouldn't be a problem but I'd expect a better design considerin... Read Moreg the price of the parka. The other issue with the City Storm is the material used. The fabric is scratchy and attracts lint. It is imposible to move with it without hearing the friction of the material. I guess this parka would be acceptable at a lower price tag but at this price range there are better options.

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2019

Hi Raul! We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the design and fabric of your parka. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

November 16, 2019

So warm!

I’ve only used my parka once so far, but it was so warm and comfortable on a freezing evening. I especially love the insulted hood and mid-thigh length. My only slight issue is the arm holes could be larger. I do have larger than average upper arms so I can wear a long sleeve t-shirt but not a sweater comfortably.

November 14, 2019

Don't like the pockets

I bought this jacket for my husband. We live in the NE and it can get pretty chilly. This is a great looking and functional coat to wear on a chilly commute. The only downside is that the pockets are in a really awkward spot and not really meant for hands. Also, the material attracts lint. Otherwise, the jacket works well.

November 13, 2019

A sold winter coat with a few minor flaws that add up.

This is my main winter coat for commuting and walking about in the city during the winter. It looks great and is extremely warm for how thin it is. I hate puffy coats and this thing holds up in cold and windy conditions despite being relatively thin. 20 degree weather with only a t-shirt underneath and it will hold up fine. Repels, rain, wintry mix... Read More, and snow very well. Dual chest pockets are great, as is the interior zip pocket and interior mesh pocket for gloves and whatnot. On the downside, the coat is a bit narrow through the waist and restricts mobility if you need to bend over and/or down. The magnetic closings on the two external lower pockets are ok but I'd prefer snaps to ensure things don't fall out (nothing has fallen out yet but i feel like it will. Also makes it easier for those pesky city pickpockets). This coat is also missing side-entry handwarming pockets. My old winter coat had them and I didn't realize how much I'd miss them. Really wish this coat had hand warmer pockets. Finally, the visor on the hood is aggravating when the hood is down. The visor does not stay flipped down, so when the hood is down the visor pops up and rubs the back of your head. Pretty annoying. It needs a button or Velcro or something to keep it down when the hood is not in use. Overall a solid coat for city commuting. Very warm, keeps you dry, not too puffy, and seems durable. A few minor tweaks could really improve the coat overall and make it 100% worth the price tag.

November 9, 2019

Like wearing a sleeping bag

Like wearing a sleeping bag

November 8, 2019

Great coat, could use a few improvements

The coat is obviously very high quality: the fabric is strong and beautiful, fine details on the cut of the cuff and center show craftsmanship, and the down is perfectly warm and breathable. Yet there are a few things bothersome about the jacket that I would like to see improved: 1. The handwarmer pockets are great but as they open vertically and n... Read Moreot on a diagonal, you're left with your arms in awkward positions when using them. Ideally there would be slim diagonal underneath the main handwarmer pockets for a more ergonomic fit. 2. The hood is small. Not so small that it's not functional - in fact, it fits very well when I'm actually wearing the coat - but it hangs higher than expected on your back and the firm bill will rub up on your neck/head, especially when wearing a backpack or when seated. 3. The coat's fabric is fairly noisy. Not a big issue, but when wearing the hood it's going to be significantly harder to hold a conversation or listen to the environment around you (cars, etc.). Overall, great jacket but could be better for the price.

November 5, 2019

Customer service

One of my items was lost during shipping and Patagonia instantly sent a replacement product. The CS team takes care of their customers!

February 27, 2019

Versatile, lightweight, and warm

I am 5'9" and 175 pounds and the jacket fits perfectly. It is surprisingly warm for how thin it is. The styling works business or casual. I've been in -20C weather numerous times with no issues. I have also been skiing with my small children and while obviously not designed for skiing, I got through the afternoon with no issues. Also... Read More I was able to fit a pretty thick wool sweater under this jacket. I've the magnetic close pockets which is a great feature when fumbling with keys and wallets with winter gloves. Keeps your items safe and secure. Front chest pockets also useful for quick access to a thin wallet, cash whatever. If you are looking for a looser fit, I would go with a size-up or a different jacket altogether. Only improvement in my opinion would be traditional pockets behind the top entry pockets to make it more comfortable to walk with your hands in your pockets. Kind of awkward to do that with top entry pockets. Also the neck is too tight for my liking when zipped all the way up although it does do a good job keeping out the weather. Could be cheaper to a make it more affordable for us Canucks!

November 26, 2018

BIVEK

Perfect Fit for me. Height- 5'7 , Weight- 155 lbs , Body Type- Average build Great Jacket for a casual wear in cold weather conditions. Works on multiple weather condition. Rain, Wind or Snow just move on !!

October 15, 2018

Perfect winter parka

I’m 6”1’ average built and the M fits just perfect. Love the look and feel. The magnetic pockets are fancy and the quality seems to be exceptional. Dont forget they give you a lifetime warranty. You wont climb to the top of Mount Everest but I think that’s why they call it City storm parka. Get one before it’s too late.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches