Back to Product

Ms R2® TechFace Hoody

Write Your Review

4.9/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 99 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R2® TechFace Hoody

4.9/5
May 11, 2021

Pretty wind resistant.

Very warm. Stretchy. Warm. Excellent hood. Pretty wind resistant. Fantastic jacket.

May 8, 2021

Great hoodie

Patagonia has become one of my favorite brands this year.I own a good amount of jackets of Patagonia,this one and the TechFace Jacket are my favorite..!!

April 29, 2021

Warm and stretchy

Have use this jacket in some cooler weather andlove the toughness of the garment as well as how warm it is. Sometimes I use it as a middle layer and other times as an outer layer. Great quality and value as usual from Patagonia

April 28, 2021

Slim Fit

Im 62, 200 lbs with a fairly active body type and found the Large to be too tight and the XL to be too loose. Unfortunately its not the right fit for me, bummed as the fabric, silhouette and design was perfect.

April 26, 2021

light and warm

breathes well while hiking and is lightweight. Love it!

April 20, 2021

Really versátil piece

Really versátil piece

April 7, 2021

Great fit and fucntion!

Being a tall, thin guy, I sometimes find it hard to fit hoodies that are not poorly fit in one area (right length, but too wide, etc.). This R2 TeckFace fits me perfectly, and it a great layer to be able to pop off on a climb if it gets too warm!

April 7, 2021

Great coat

This coat is comfortable, warm, and does a good job of cutting wind. I've worn it out on several early spring days in very strong cold winds and while it wouldn't keep me warm if I was standing still it holds in the heat when I'm moving. I like the fit, feel, and pockets on this coat. No complaints.

March 28, 2021

Best. Sweatshirt. Ever

Hands-down best sweatshirt I've ever owned. It's super warm and soft. I use it as a mid layer for skiing and it's warm enough that I can usually just wear a t shirt underneath and my shell on top and I'm good to go, even in single digit temperatures. It's also super comfortable and I wear it around town all the time. Hood i... Read Mores also warmer than a normal sweatshirt hood because it blocks out the wind far better, pretty much functions as a built-in winter hat. It is also kind of moisture-wicking and holds moisture on the outer layer of the jacket, so if you get caught in the rain you won't feel wet like other sweatshirts. I would give this 10 stars if I could, I love it that much.

March 23, 2021

Excellent hoodie

I am 175cm and on the bulkier side of life and bought the XL. The XL sits slightly baggy which I prefer but could have gone down to the L for a slimmer fit. I really like this hoody as it warm when you need it to be, but also cool when needed as it is very breathable. Love the internal high loft fluff, very comfortable on skin. The R2 is warmer th... Read Morean the R1 techface so is aimed as more passive insulation, ie. not walking as much so you generate less heat. As always, top notch build quality from Patagonia and source from sustainable places. Definitely recommend!

March 23, 2021

R1 of the best!

I enjoy this zip up hoodie fully. I prefer this one over the lesser model because of its water repellency for rain an snow showers. I like the interior pockets. Also that this R1 is a little boxer fit than the other R1. For me it acts more as a second or third layer jacket and on a warmer day allowing room for a second undergarment.

March 21, 2021

warm mid-layer

great to use it alone or under a shell.

March 8, 2021

Great Quality...Odd Sizing/Fit

I ordered size Large Great piece of gear. Quality The fit is odd. 6ft 1" 170lbs with 44" chest and broad shoulders. This fleece fit comfortably around chest/shoulders/arm pits but the torso is super long...like wearing a dress long. Also very baggy around midsection. I returned the jacket.

March 5, 2021

Man's Best Friend

Great mid-weight hoodie. Heftier than its buddy R1, the R2 still layers very well while providing that extra warmth when required. On its own, I found the R2 more water repellent than expected and affords an awesome hood that zips high and seals snug. Great investment.

March 5, 2021

Feels great and zippers are awesome!

I had my eye on this for a while and bought it as a birthday present to myself. Ive already taken it to the ski mountain many times and it helps to keep me toasty warm even with a -10 windchill. My infant son loves to play with the zippers. The zippers are super high-quality without being bulky or heavy.

March 4, 2021

Too warm for running and not breathable.

So the coat is stylish, comfortable, and great for walking around in cooler weather. However I bought this specifically for cold weather running (below 20F). I was surprised that even when running in 10F weather and only having a technical type of race tee shirt on underneath that I was covered in sweat after 1hr of running. I have several cheaper ... Read Morecold weather running coats and I do not sweat in any of them. This coat cost two to four times as much and performs the worst. Im hoping I can at least hike in fall and spring temperatures without the same effect. I do however like the fit and it serves me better as coat to wear around casually. I also like Patagonias use of good fabrics and attention to quality. I bought this because it got good reviews from a running website.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Hi Travis! Thanks so much for taking the time to review the R2 TechFace Hoody. We're really sorry to hear this one didn't work out for you, it definitely is a bit warmer. You could consider trying out the [Thermal Airshed Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-thermal-airshed-jacket/24220.html?dwvar_24220_color=SMDB), which is designed for hybridized warmth and maximum breathability while moving in cold weather. Thanks!

March 4, 2021

Good middle layer

I really like this jacket as a middle layer. It is really warm, has a good slim fit, and looks really good. however, I will say that i feel the S size i got would be better suited to someone with my build (5'-6", 135lbs) but a few inches taller. It still fits well, but the slimmest portion hits at my hips instead of my waist. So, for some... Read Moreone my height, it would be best to slim down sooner, and maybe taper out a smidge at the bottom. The hood is a tight fit which is great for fitting under helmets or fitting into other fitted layers, but if you are wearing it around as casual wear, the hood would look a little weird if you were wearing it. I was also disappointed that there is no internal zipper cover, so when zipped up, your mouth is up against a cold zipper. Also, when getting a slim fit hoody, i would expect tighter cuffs so that the sleeves do not fall down around near your palms. I do really like the hoody as a whole, but it could be better with a few tweaks.

March 2, 2021

New go too piece

Wear it to work everyday, mountain biking, climbing, fly fishing, my new favorite article!

March 2, 2021

Love it!

I use this Hoody for every thing in Wisconsin. I work in construction outdoors and I need a high quality hoody to hold up. I use it ice fishing, fly fishing, and bow hunting. It warm enough on its own yet not to thick as a mid layer. The hood is awesome I can wear a stocking hat over it, protects my face from the frigid wind. Can't be happier,... Read More hope it lasts me years.

February 28, 2021

Very comfortable and warm

Very comfortable and warm Love the pockets would recommend

February 27, 2021

Best fleece ever!

This is a superb fleece! ! Perfect weight as a stand alone piece in mild weather also excellent under a shell. The hood works well and is nicely sized, the external surface texture (tech face) allows shells to glide easily over this fleece when layering up.

February 25, 2021

Impressive Jacket

I have had the R2TF jacket for 4 weeks (got on Feb 1) and am still testing its temperature range as an outer layer in NW metro ATL. I am 69 yo, 5'-10, 150# with broad shoulders and skinny trunk. The M fits like it was custom made. The regular R1 M was too tight in the shoulders and the L was too blousy in the trunk. I average 6 miles/day walki... Read Moreng to condition for summer Sierra backpacking. I wore the R2TF at 19 degrees over SS tee and LS 250 merino (no shell) and did not start or get cold. Similar at 32 degrees with SS & LS poly tee under. In mid-to-upper 30s I need to dump heat later in my walk. Got the R1TF 2 weeks ago (also fits perfectly) and I switch to it at mid-30s. Upper range of R1TF not yet tested but probably 55 w/ SS tee. For casual wear, can go higher in temps. Love them both!

February 25, 2021

Very warm

Great product. Keeps you warm, great mid layer in super cold. Looks good nice colors.

February 23, 2021

Perfect Winter Piece

Patagonia should have used this design for the R1 techface hoody. This is my go to piece for winter hiking, backpacking, climbing, and snowboarding. The softshell outer layer blocks wind in all but the windiest conditions and the thicker pile is much appreciated when the temps drop. I use the R1 Hoodie in summers and switch to the R2 techface Hoodi... Read Moree as it gets colder. I will use this piece with a light base layer down to about -10 degrees Fahrenheit before I throw on another layer when producing a lot of heat like backpacking and hiking. I highly recommend this hoodie if you live where winter sets in hard like up here in Alaska.

February 18, 2021

Versatile hoody

Great hoody for casual and athletic wear. I've worn it disc golfing in light rain which it repelled, and casually walking the dogs in temps near freezing. It's stretchy and a tad long in the body (hangs past hip pockets) which isn't a bad thing if it's drizzling. The sleeves are snug and move with you. The stretch cuffs are a gr... Read Moreeat design. It blocks wind but still breathes well. I didn't feel sweaty hiking in it. The hood is also snug and I've worn it under a bike helmet which kept my ears warm, no issues with the fit of the helmet. Keep in mind that it's not a "packable" jacket so I wouldn't take it if bag space is at a premium. Overall, I will be wearing this more than I planned. I really like the soft waffle weave inner fabric.

February 17, 2021

Great mid/top layer

Great fit with the medium. For reference, Im 6 feet, 157ish pounds. At first when I tried it on I thought it might be a bit short at the waist, but after lots of cold trail runs here in Maine and back country snowshoeing treks, I am very pleased with the fit. Ive done multiple 4K footers in New Hampshire this winter essentially just using a base la... Read Moreyer, R2 and occasional shell over top and never had to get out anything warmer from my pack. The wind proofing is great and I love how the hood doubles as a balaklava. The only thing I wish I could add to it would be some pit zips. Overall, I love it and highly recommend!

February 17, 2021

Kinda Perfect

This is kinda the best. It's no R1 but it's close

February 9, 2021

bury me in an R2 techface hoody

This is possibly my favorite piece of clothing. Its warm, breathable, soft inside (so so comfy) , abrasion resistant, and just water resistant enough to take some unexpected rain. It looks good by itself with jeans in town, or kitted out on a hike or bouldering mission. Its long enough to not pull up and expose your low back when youre leaning over... Read More, the sleeves allow full motion, and the wrist cuffs stay up if you want them to. The deep zippered pockets are high enough you can use them with a harness on. The material can handle scrapes on rock and doesnt snag on branches etc. unlike the r1 - the inside of the cuffs seams are smooth against your wrists. Great by itself for moderate temps and SUPER warm under anything with some wind resistance + extra insulation. I wear it all the time, even around the house! You need one!

February 5, 2021

Great mid layer

Very warm, good fits great. Seems a bit small to me. Great for skiing and hiking.

January 31, 2021

Easily the best mid fleece

Easily the best mid fleece mid/outer layer i've owned. Super versatile. Happy to wear it in the mountains, at the crag or to commute. It's super comfortable, has a great cut and is really warm

January 31, 2021

Greatest hoodie I´ve owned

Best hoodie ever. I use it primarily for mountainbiking and hiking.

January 29, 2021

This years it piece.

Wear this everyday. Indoors, outdoors, great as a sweater, mid layer or shell over a broad temperature range. I wear XL tall in other brands. This fits perfectly.

January 29, 2021

Incredibly warm for the weight,

Incredibly warm for the weight, quite wind resistant, overall very happy with my purchase

January 28, 2021

I could live in the R2

Ive got a few R1s and I love them. They are tough as nails and I never need to think about it when Im jamming a crack. The R2 is the tougher, warmer and cozier version of the R1. Imagine everything you love in the R1, then double it. I also love how small I can pack it down in case I get hot or if I want to bring an extra layer. A perfect piece of ... Read Moregear.

January 27, 2021

Insanely warm

I cant believe how warm it is!

January 27, 2021

Great "in-between" piece

This hoody is a great performer over a light baselayer in near-freezing weather. I tested combining it with an non-Tech face R1 hoody and the fit is great without any bunching, but the interior texture of this hoody creates some annoying friction getting it on at first. I'm sure that once I get into colder circumstances and add a layer over th... Read Moreis one, the oven will really turn on. As far as fit, I'm on the short side of average but stocky. And I say that genuinely in the sense that I have a 42" chest but euphemistically in the sense that I have a 36" waist. The medium fits my torso circumference perfectly and the sleeve circumference is also great. The torso length runs a bit long for me, but not terrible. Sleeve length is crazy long for me, but if you roll the sleeves in they stay put and don't bunch up too tightly at all.

January 25, 2021

Super comfortable, perfect warmth, nice wind resistance

Im 61, 165 lbs and the fit is perfect. The jacket is so comfortable, I never want to take it off, even when lounging in the house (and especially when next to drafty windows). It has worked great for winter runs in the 20s and 30s and also has very good wind resistance and a nice snug fit for chilly bike rides.

January 17, 2021

Warm & Great Fit!

This is a great mid weight layering piece. The fit seems to be a little roomier than my R1 hoody so its easier to layer under. Its warm enough to be an outer layer on warmer winter days but layers well also. What a great piece of gear!

January 10, 2021

GREAT jacket ... except sleeves

This is one of my favorite Patagonia pieces of all time, and gets heavy, near-daily rotation for just about everything. It's warm, more wind resistant than standard fleece, well featured and super comfortable. My only complaint (and this goes for the R1 TechFace Hoody too) is the stretch knit cuffs lose their stretch very quickly (less than a ... Read Moreyear) and then you're left with loose, baggy sleeves that you can't adjust, that droop down past the palm of your hand, which I find really irritating and annoying.

January 7, 2021

Winter hiking in the whites

I just wore this as my mid layer on a hike to Mt Eisenhower with 55 mph sustained winds and below freezing. I wore this with a puffy and a shell jacket and felt super warm. It shed the heat and moisture out to the puffy as expected which was critical for winter hiking. I also have the R1 and both have proved to be essential layers for hiking in New... Read More Hampshire for warmth and water resistance. Highly recommend for hiking.

January 3, 2021

Great fleece

Happy Camper!

January 2, 2021

Warm and functional

Winter bike commuter in WI , this replaces a more conventional and less technical fleece hoodie. The hood tight to the face and the comparatively windproof outer layer makes a very warm mid layer. Dual interior pockets good for cell + wallet, and deep enough neither falls out. Exterior pockets are useful and make good options too . With bike rain j... Read Moreacket and pants, good down to 0F , -20C.

December 27, 2020

Great all around hoody

Great all around hoody

December 25, 2020

Cozy and Technical

Love the R2 Techface as a warm mid layer for hiking, skiing, or even the occasional run. It's super nice to just wear it after skiing, although the fit is maybe too tight/technical for casual wear.

December 25, 2020

Stellar

Love this piece! R2 comfort with a techface finish makes this an instant favorite. Cuts the window while staying breathable. Heavier than the pack in hoody or jacket. 6/190 L fits perfect, XL is big but I still have have, and just ordered a M. Highly recommend!

December 24, 2020

Versatile

More warmth than the R1 with same comfort and breathability. Excellent for climbing on colder days or for casual wear. Great fit with a hood that is actually compatible with a helmet. This jacket is quickly becoming my go to.

December 24, 2020

Perfect midlayer

I used it from 45° to 0º. Its a perfect midlayer and also an excellent outer layer when its not that cold. Excellent.

December 23, 2020

Great all around jacket.

This is my favorite piece of Patagonia clothing.It warm,water repellant and Sexy.It is the second Tech Face Hoody I have purchased.Great quality.

December 22, 2020

I have two of them!

Love this jacket, I wear it all the time as an outer layer or a base layer. I wear it so often I needed another one to have as a backup if the other one needs to be laundered. It is also a different color, a blue one and a black one. Dont go changing this jacket.

December 11, 2020

Comfy!

Very warm, makes a nice layer under a down jacket for skiing. I wear it around the house too, but it's a bit warm for that purpose. Also seems to have decent wind protection.

December 1, 2020

Super. Warm,good wind. Protection

All is GOOD,this is my second purchase of the r2 hoody.Excellent underlyer.Can be used without anything over it.This is a superior product in all respects.

December 1, 2020

Warm but big!

Great material and warmth, but awkward fit. I am a big guy, 6'0" and 195 lbs and the large is too wide in the shoulders and too long, medium is too small for me. Great quality.

November 29, 2020

Another GREAT PRODUCT

61 182 lbs. 34 sleeve I am inbetween sizes. And this seemed to large , at first BUT has been perfect. Long enough sleeve. Room in the chest for layer (or 2 thin layers) under. I Like the high collar (doubles as mask) and hood actually covers my head to forehead. Fabric is very warm, somewhat wind resistant. Quiet- no rustle or shusshing sounds. Co... Read Moreuld use a chest pocket , if I had to quibble. Is it worth the cost?? Its Patagonia pricey but lasts for years (if the past is any indication of the future) and recycles..nuf said.

November 29, 2020

Great

Great fleece. Way warmer than I expected

November 3, 2020

Love the material

I bought one for myself awhile ago and my dads been asking me to get him one as well. Despite how great material is, price made me to push back the purchase a bit and Im so glad I finally got him this R2 techface jacket. Its so light,practical, and great for any outdoor activities. Great for layering as well.

November 2, 2020

Super comfy!

Wonderful jacket! Lightweight, warm and comfortable! Highly recommended.

October 29, 2020

Great fit, low profile and warm for the autumn

I am 195cm tall and ca. 100kg heavy with long arms and size L fits me perfectly. The hoodie has a true to size / slim fit, perfect for my shape. Great as a mid layer over t-shirts or as all-round light autumn jacket. I absolutely love the stretchy material and fleece on the inside, but the winner on this one is for sure the zipper that goes up to t... Read Morehe chin when fully closed.

July 13, 2020

Tough

I wear this thing everyday to work, tough as nails, gets tossed and abused. I burn through regular hoodies in a month or two, this thin will last years.

July 13, 2020

Just lovely

Super comfortable. Great for evenings in the Sierras.

July 9, 2020

Tough

I wear this thing everyday to work, tough as nails, gets tossed and abused. I burn through regular hoodies in a month or two, this thin will last years.

July 9, 2020

Just lovely

Super comfortable. Great for evenings in the Sierras.

June 17, 2020

My favorite Patagonia Item

I live in this hoodie. It's warm, does a pretty good job blocking mild wind and weather, and is light and allows freedom of movement. I only wish there were more color choices.

April 15, 2020

Good

.Good

April 11, 2020

Amazing

I have many jackets and I must say that I LOVE this jacket. The outer material is smooth and soft, it sheds light water and dirt well. The inner material is loose and fluffy, very warm and comfortable. I work outdoors and I need to trust my gear and it has to prove its worth. Well, after many days backpacking in to study sites and relying on this j... Read Moreacket to keep me warm through the whole trip, I can safely say this jacket works well. I have worn it under rain gear during torrential downpours and it breathes well even in the rain while hiking. When worn solo, it breathes very well, blocks some wind (stops the wind better than my R1) and is warm. The temperature rating for me is between 60 degrees (almost too warm if in the sun and no wind) down to 40 degrees (I have not been in temps below 42 degrees in just this jacket yet). The wind can blow through this jacket, but that is the downside to having it breath so well. I love this jacket and have been living in it for a month now, using it for work and casual wear. Great job Patagonia and thank you for making such an excellent product I can enjoy and rely upon to keep me warm and safe.

March 16, 2020

It's brilliant!! Very good quality

It's brilliant!! Very good quality

March 11, 2020

I am 180. On the

I am 180. On the website it recommended me L. It was a way to big for me. M is fitting much better

March 5, 2020

Excellent !!!

Probably the best hoodie I have ever had . Great craftsmanship, great materials and very comfortable. Great technical hoodie

March 3, 2020

All good

All good

February 26, 2020

The fleace is super warm

The fleace is super warm and comfortable. The only thing is sizing! Medium was too small for me and large is to loose. I’m 102 cm in chest and according to your sizing i fit in neither of M nor L. It would be nice to get actual measurments of the product. Buing online I always compere the new item to what i already have. That gives the idea of what... Read More it will look like on me. For those who like it more relaxed i’d add elastic puller on the hips. Again the product is great, already tested in the mountains.

February 20, 2020

Extremely versatile

Purchased the R2 to be a versatile piece of wardrobe and that is exactly what it does. The Medium runs true to size, with a nice coat length rather than a shorter shirt length. Elastic hem is snug, keeping in heat. Cuffs are snug with a stretch area by wrists that I thought would bother me but they remain warm and snug. Pockets are good sized and z... Read Moreip closed. The hood is great: snug, and high, up to my mouth. Kind of like a baklava. Jacket is toasty warm and I tend to use it as an outer layer on cool days and a mid layer on cold or windy days. It is a perfect travel and layering piece. I use my capilene air as a base layer, R2 as mid layer, and TNF Ventrix as my outer layer. That works for me 95% of the time.

February 11, 2020

Great Piece

Wore them as an outer shell or a midlayer and can say this piece is just great! Im a person who gets cold easily and this jacket really kept me warm! The weather resistance is good too, i have worn in to go skiing and in light rain and wasn’t wet afterwards.

February 8, 2020

A great addition

The R2 Techface hoody is a great addition to my wardrobe. It is wearable over a wide temperature range. Slim fitting, it is " fuzzy warm " on the inside & protects against the wind & briars on the outside.

January 17, 2020

Wowza, this is hoody is AWESOME!

My Patagonia quiver is deep, and this piece rises to the top and is a new favorite. It's warm, extremely comfortable and exquisitely tailored/fitted. Does double duty as a mid-layer (I've even worn it under a Micro Puff on extra frosty days) and an outer layer in milder weather and works when wet. The balaclava hood replaces a beanie if y... Read Moreou're going minimal, fits well over a beanie when its cold and fits beautifully under a helmet. The techface increases wind resistance compared to traditional fleece, similar to a soft shell, and the inside loft retains that wonderful, warm, classic fleece coziness we all love. The side pockets are easily accessible with harness, and the body of the jacket is long. Patagonia slim fit is often way too tight in the shoulders, chest, arm holes and upper back and therefore uncomfortable (even though I'm skinny) and no chance of layering (I usually don't get anything slim fit due to poor fit), but this is the exception and in my opinion sets the standard for slim fit tailoring - eg, its not sized down through the shoulders and chest but its trim in the lower torso. Perfection! I usually layer this over a sleeveless baselayer and a Capilene Midweight or over a tee and a collared shirt around town and its not restrictive and its looks nice enough for social occasions. Basically, this jacket it performs exactly as described. I love everything about it and cant' recommend it enough!

January 17, 2020

Shockingly Useful Hoody

Last weekend I took this up to 12,500 ft in the wind and snow. I was skiing hard and didn't sweat out or freeze. This thing gives that perfect balance. The hood fits tight and the zipper goes high so it feels like a balaclava when fully zipped. Great hoody!

December 31, 2019

Goody Hoody

Mid winter mid layer minimizes cold drafts. Surprised to discover this size L fits under my size L R1 tech Hoody for double breathable protectionism. The under helmet design equals cozy alpine skiing and bike commutes. The zipper rubs a bare chin, easily solved by a Buff. A piece to plan to wear all day as it’s not small to stuff into a pack.

December 30, 2019

so good i bought two!

for reference, im 5’11” and 155lbs. i have a 38 inch chest, 32 inch waist, and this fit perfectly! tried this hoody on at the Patagonia store in Park City Utah, and fell in love with it. it’s hella soft, comfortable, and probably the warmest hoody on the planet. fully zipped and with the balaclava style hoody, you can instantly feel your upper bo... Read Moredy heat up. i wish they had thumb holes but it’s not a deal breaker, i bought the fire red online and the balkan blue in store (wish they had a peppergrass green color way.)

December 16, 2019

New favorite thing to wear

I’m a big fan of Patagonia. I am usually wearing something of their’s everyday. During the cold months I usually wear a vest but now this is going to be my go-to item. It is very comfortable and warmer than I thought it would be. It is different from other items I have or have seen by Patagonia. On really cold days it will be good under a warmer ja... Read Morecket. On days in the mid 40s or 50s, this will be ideal. It is a slim fit so I sized up. I usually wear a large in jackets and vests. I’m 5’10 and about 215 lbs with bigger shoulders and chest. The large fit but was snug and would be a good layer, but I wanted it as a jacket and a little more room, so I went to an XL. I would recommend this to anyone and would even buy another one.

December 13, 2019

REEEALLY warm.

This is an awesome piece. Possibly the best part of it is that it enables me to wear it alone instead of two or even three layers. It is SUPER warm. It's important to remember that this is an ACTIVE piece and being the R grid, wind does get through it a bit, so if you're just gonna be hanging & not moving around generating at least a ... Read Morelittle heat you'll likely want something more in the cold. But it holds heat extremely well and breathes a bit too. It's a slim fit, which is what makes it so warm, but the fabric is super stretchy and comfortable through the full range of motion. Hood fits great and the high zipper acts as a nice face mask for nice lip/face protection in blustery moments. Pockets are great and DWR finish is awesome.

December 4, 2019

Very comfortable

Great fit. Looks good. Wore it this morning for the the first time with just a cotton tshirt underneath. Was comfortable walking in 39 degree weather with a light breeze. Hood was a little too snug, but a have a 7 3/8 size head. I can see myself wearing this for a lot of different activities, as well as casually.

November 12, 2019

warm, nice colours, but not very versatile...

Early days, but so far this garment has worked well for the particular niche use I bought it for - namely something warm to pull on after getting out of the water. The R2 TechFace Hoody is warm, breathable and offers a less-than-complete but still useful level of wind-resistance. The fit is much more snug than most recent Patagonia garments - a go... Read Moreod thing if you are of slim or athletic build. And the jacket also looks good. Where the it falls short is in one area where older Patagonia “R”-series gridded micro-fleeces were unbeatable - the soft, drapey, quality which makes clothes irresistibly comfortable, and easy to layer. The stretch fabric used in the R2 Techface is oddly stiff - almost like a thin wetsuit. This stiffness probably adds to the warmth, since the business end of the fleece is firmly clamped to the wearer. But it also makes for some serious compromises when it comes to layering, or freedom of movement. And it means that the jacket does not pack well, occupying a very large space in your pack, relative to the warmth It provides. Where the jacket seems to work best is as a outer layer, in situations where weight and bulk are not an issue. So if you are travelling by car, all good. But based on my experiences with it to date, I would be unlikely to take this garment up a mountain, or into the wilderness. In short, if what you are looking for is a moderately warm outer layer which will dry faster and breath better than a quilted jacket, then the R2 TechFace Hoody can serve very well. But as all-round outdoor garment with technical application, it is sadly inferior to Patagonia’s old R1 or R3 hoodies.

November 8, 2019

Sweet!

Great piece! Super comfy, nice long cut for harness wear. Does a good job of blocking wind yet breathes great for wear while hiking.

November 7, 2019

Versatile

This fleece hoody has already become my go to piece for hiking, biking and all around use. It’s warm but breathable, stretchy in all the right places and looks good enough for a night out on the town. Expecting to use it for cross country skiing as well.

November 6, 2019

Perfect Layer

Perfect Layer

November 6, 2019

R2 techface hoody

This garment has a luxurious feel to it due to the generous nap of the inner fleece layer (unlike the R1techface nap). I wore it with a light capilene base layer snow biking in the upper 20's and was quite comfortable. Breathability is good and so is wind resistance.

November 5, 2019

Refined But Simple Multi-Use

A simple hoody but with refined elements like fit, closures, and pockets. The R2 is heavier weight for colder temps.

November 3, 2019

Great new piece!

I love the new hooded R2 techface jacket! I'm 6'1", 180+lbs ,athletic build and the size medium pits perfectly. I wish the regular R2 fleece had the same fit. It's great for fly fishing, hiking or wear casually around town. It's good for temperatures in the 40s and 50s. Now that temperatures are more frequently below 32F I ... Read Morehave been wearing a nanopuff vest over it. I wish they made a hooded vest version of the R2 techface.

November 2, 2019

Fits great, warm, looks good..

Fits great, warm, looks good.. stoked

November 1, 2019

Love it

Fits great, good technical hood that will fit under a helmet. The color red looks great. I live in Wydaho and this layer is the right fit for fall and winter in the Tetons.

November 1, 2019

Everything but the fit...

This hoody has been great so far. I'm using it as a base layer here in Antarctica. It's warm. The chest pocket is spacious. And the outer material seems burly enough to put up with tough work. My only issue is the sizing. I am 6'1" and 185 pounds and wearing a medium. The jacket fits my arms well. The torso is a little short and... Read More the hood feels a little tight. I just wish Patagonia would make a slightly sportier cut for their gear. I'm always awkwardly stuck between larges being too big, and mediums being a little tight in odd spots.

October 29, 2019

The best

This might be the best piece of clothing I own. Warmth, lightweight, breathable, wind blocking and beyond comfy. I want 2 more so I can wear them all the time without wearing them out.

October 21, 2019

Warmer than the nano-air hoody

I wanted something warmer than my nano-air hoody but not as bulky as my puff or down jackets. This fits the bill. Very happy so far.

October 21, 2019

Haven't had enough time in

Haven't had enough time in actual use conditions, but comfortable & fits well. Worked great considering not too cold yet.

October 18, 2019

Toasty and comfy

Probably my new favorite jacket. It’s comfy like a hoody yet with the water / wind resistant outer layer you can wear it in almost all weather. I was looking for something that was comfy / warm like my better sweater but with a little more weather resistance. I liked how you can zip it off to dump heat and quickly take off when getting into a car ... Read MoreI’m 5’10” 155lbs and went for medium as I want to be able to wear a vest under it and then my ski jacket over top. It’s a little long in the sleeves.

October 14, 2019

Love the snuggly fit, and

Love the snuggly fit, and soft inside fleece which doesn’t get you too hot.

October 12, 2019

Remarkably Light But Warm

Thanks to some crazy weather (or maybe new-normal), I got to wear this jacket for my couple mile walk to and from work. Worn with just a tshirt underneath, I was comfortable in windy upper 30s F going in and calm almost 60F walking home. Great slim fit. Snuggly fleece interior.

October 6, 2019

This is a great new

This is a great new piece. The high neck keeps out the cold.

August 29, 2019

Initial Impression

Still summer, so it will be a while before I actually use the R2. I'm medium build, 6'0, 175 and the jacket fit like a glove. First trial proved it to be warm. Hood is snug but not too tight, with good fit around the face. Sleeve's and hem are right length. Long term review will follow after winter.

August 2, 2019

If you run cold and want a insulating midlayer that provides excellent protection, moisture management and superior abrasion resistance, it's here!

First off-the design and fit of this are what the R1 techface should be. The R1 techface is designed (both hood, zipper covers and fit adjustment) like a shell. But its more like a quasi softshell/air permeable windshell that would be better suited as a midlayer than as a shell ie worn as an outer layer until conditions deteriorate. Granted, i live... Read More in the PNW so if I lived in somewhere that has "easy" conditions (dry) like CO, then it would work well as a psuedo shell. Make an r1 techface in the same feature and build set (not with shell features) or the r1 techface pullover with a under helmet hood, and voile, youll have a winner. As is the r1 techface is an identity crisis that works well only in forgiving climates. Anyway, back to the r2 techface. This is everything the R1 tech should be. A stretchy, moisture managing, semi wind and water resistant, insulating MIDLAYER, that doesnt pretend to be a shell, yet can pull double duty as one in good to fair conditions. The fabric kind of reminds of neoprene (in a good way) the interior fabric is extremely cozy, but when wet it gets soaked it stays warm and manages moisture well. The weather resistance is very high. They also get rid of the stuff that the r1 techface doesnt need, ie outerwear style adjustment. It is just a stretchy formfitting piece. The only conditions dependent issue (and why the r1 tech needs a redesign) is that this thing is wicked warm! This is a pro and a con. I would use this as a more versatile midlayer than the nano air light series. It is as warm as the nano air light series, is cozier, more weather resistant, way more abrasion resistant and only a bit heavier. It will last multiple times longer than any nano air piece. BUT I will likely only use it on very cold days, as I tend to run hot. OR stop and go adventures to minimize layer changes. If you run cold and want a insulating midlayer that provides excellent protection, moisture management and superior abrasion resistance, then here you go! It is a little heavier than other midlayers, but they wont last half as long (i have owned the r2 techface jacket for over a year so I know how the fabric does long term-which is to say, excellently). Also sizing is better than some other patagonia pieces. I wear a medium or a small in patagonia (which is insane as I am a 6'1 40in chest 175 lbs male) which in any other country is Large. But patagonia has changed their sizing to accomadate the masses in America-ie not athletic. This is actually more fitted for an athlete. Due to generous stretch, i could wear a small in this piece, but liked the feel of the medium better.

August 2, 2019

Brilliant piece

I have the regular techface r2 , just got the hooded version in red. It seems like they improved the cut. This is a great piece, as warm as a micropuff but more breathable. I also love my nano air but this has that great soft fleece interior and blocks the wind great. Brilliant piece.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches