Back to Product

Ms R2® TechFace Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 87 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R2® TechFace Jacket

4.6/5
May 6, 2021

Excellent

Bought this is both an under layer and as a outer layer depending on the weather. I wanted it windproof. Its long through the hips and I ended up really liking the cut. It is windproof and it is a great underlayer. Couldnt be happier.

May 6, 2021

Excellent

Warm and cool at the same time. Also repels rain really well.

April 29, 2021

Warm & comfy

The fit is great, but the sleeves are a little long for me @ 57

April 15, 2021

Warm and tough

I own a good amount of Patagonia gear and this is one of my most worn pieces. I dont take it on backcountry adventures but it is perfect for cold weather chore work. The face fabric is tough yet the inside is plush and soft. It blocks a cold breeze but is also breathable. It would be a bit warm for me to do any aerobic activities, even in winter. F... Read Moreor that get something from the R1 line.

March 30, 2021

Perfect for Touring

Love this for morning resort skinning or side country tours. Also use this under my shell for layering on colder days. Fit's like I would expect a Patagonia L to fit.

March 23, 2021

After year's of arctyrex....

I decided to try this Ms R2® TechFace Jacketfrom Patagonia, it's great, I will definitely be trying some of their other items.

March 23, 2021

Excellent

Perfect little jacket, flawless.

February 27, 2021

LOVE IT -

It just works well; it's a toasty and soft mid layer. Just great. The red looks great in photos outdoors. It's just cool.

February 23, 2021

Roomier than expected but still a good fit

I'm 5'9" and 158 lbs, and prefer a slim fit. I bought this in combination with a shell (Rainshadow Jacket 85115) so I was concerned that several reviews say it runs large. I did indeed find it larger than expected, as most Patagonia mediums fit me perfectly. However, it layers comfortably under the jacket and looks good on its own. T... Read Morehe sleeves fall about on my knuckles (I wear 32/33 LS shirts), and the hem runs about 7" below my waistline, a little below my hipbones. Overall, good fit and finish and I am happy with the purchase.

February 21, 2021

Perfect, incredible mid layer

Fantastic mid layer. perfect in every way. warm and cuts the wind but light and looks great. 6'5" 245lbs with long monkey arms and XL fits perfect. thank God for this one Patagonia!!

February 17, 2021

Super lightweight but warm

This is an amazing garment. I use it for early morning hikes when its too cold for just a baselayer or a light midlayer. Its warm but breathes well. It is completely water repellent as well.

February 7, 2021

Light weight and warm

Awesome

February 3, 2021

Best Jacket In a While

Love its light weight and warmth. Longer arms a a plus.

February 1, 2021

Wearing all the time

I got this as a gift and wondered if the medium would be long enough for my arms. I am 6'2" and usually wear a large. This jacket fits perfect and I am wearing it most days.

February 1, 2021

Warm and comfy

I wear this over my base layer when cycling in the winter, it's kept me warm and effectively blocked the wind. It's very well made, I'm very happy with it.

January 30, 2021

Amazing!

I bought the R1 techface and fell in love the R2 is even better! Twice as warm only need a base layer under to stay toasty! Im a longtime patagonia lover and this is my top 5 favorite jackets Ive purchased inching closer to number 1 every wear

January 28, 2021

GOOD PRODUCT

it is warm and comfortable.

January 17, 2021

Probably the best midlayer I've ever used

I've had this jacket for about a year and a half now. I've put it through the wringer: Taken it to the mountains in Peru and New Zealand, salt deserts in South America, dry climates in Utah and wet and unpredictable New England. I also live in Chicago, so it gets a lot of cold and foul-weather use. Performance-wise, it's become my g... Read Moreo-to for just about anything where the weather isn't TOTALLY awful. - Best midlayer I've ever had. Pair it with the proper base and outer and you're set for almost anything. - Warm enough as an around-town jacket down to about the mid 30's. - Great as an outer with the proper wool baselayer for hiking in milder temps. - Excellent wind protection. - Fleece feels great on bare skin. - Highly durable. I've worn it in every condition imaginable and stuffed it in the smallest nooks and it comes out looking new. - Good moisture-resistance, though not totally waterproof. - Breathability isn't the BEST, but it's better than I expected and haven't had any real issues there. - Looks great with proper sizing, a bit technical looking but I find it a slim-fit and stylish enough for casual wear. Only thing(s) I don't like were fit-related and therefore highly subjective. The sleeves were long for me, I had them altered to correct this. Also the waist area is on the tight side, but it's flexible enough that this isn't much of an issue. I'm hard on my gear in my work and play, and this one earned it's first-choice piece status from me. Couldn't go wrong!

January 16, 2021

Breathable & Warm

i like the fit...

January 7, 2021

Bought 2nd one for husband since he loved the first one so much

R2 jackets are amazing. Our whole family lives in them. We use them fir casual wear, work, climbing, hiking, skiing, running. Very comfortable. Wear it alone or fits well over a base layer and under warm down jacket. Perfect!

January 4, 2021

Perfect weight

This jacket had a fleece lining I didn't anticipate. It is much warmer than my first one. I'm not sure if I prefer the jacket or the hoody but that is a personal problem. Great jacket!

December 30, 2020

Cozy versatile fleece jacket

Im 511/175 and fit is excellent. Although longer than I prefer, the hem keeps that in check nicely. Length is there if I need it. Nice sleeve length and great cuffs. Good array of well-placed and size pockets. Hugs my body to keep in warmth but has excellent stretch and does not feel binding at all. I am a fan of the cozy fleece interior and the sm... Read Moreoother technical exterior. I have a Patagonia R Jacket from the 90s (USA made) that is still in good condition and has proven durability as did all the Patagonia I purchased in that era. This jacket is warmer and better fitting and hopefully retains some of that durability from earlier pieces. Ive worn quite a bit this past year and so far so good. Was glad to have as a mid layer on a few cold nights in the Alpine Lakes wilderness of the Cascades earlier this year

December 23, 2020

Great addition to my old R2 pullover

I used, and still use, my 14 year old R2 pullover primarily for cold weather running. Also as a mid-layer for downhill skiing. My old R2 is showing its age so thought it was time to add a new one to the fleet. I'm 5'7 and weigh 150 and have always worn size M Patagonia clothing. After reading reviews indicating how large this jacket runs ... Read MoreI decided to go with a size S and I'm glad I did. It is just about a perfect fit. It's a little snug in the armpits area but otherwise fine. Sleeves on the long side but not too long. The length of the jacket itself is fairly long, more so than my pullover but this is not a problem. Should be a benefit if real windy I imagine. It does seem to block wind a little better than my old one. Very pleased with the warmth for sure. I haven't yet worn it in the rain to check the water repellency. I am enjoying the full length zipper and all the pockets. Bottom line - this is a great addition to the line-up and will receive a lot of use. No question that a size M would have been way too big.

December 17, 2020

Perfect alpine mid layer

I got this jacket primarily to use as a mid layer for alpine climbing and as a mid layer/shell for XC skiing. Im based in Detroit, and weve gotten a little bit of snow up state the past couple weeks to be able to start skiing and really get to test this thing out. Its pretty close to perfect so far. For cross country skiing in ~25 degree weather w... Read Moreith moderate wind, I wore this as my shell over a lighter weight fleece (a competitors light weight 1/2 zip grid fleece) and a lightweight base layer. It performed exceptionally well, repelling light snow and sleet as well as protecting from the wind while remaining breathable enough to keep from sweating. Ive used the jacket to walk my dogs several times down to 20-30F with just a capilene air hoody underneath and I have been extremely impressed. I really cannot say enough good things about it: it works amazingly as a shell for wind and light precip, even keeping me dry during a fairly steady snow for ~an hour of walking the pups, works PERFECTLY as a mid layer under a gore-Tex shell, and the lofted interior fleece is amazing for insulation and comfort. This in combination with my gore-tex shell will almost certainly be my go to for alpine starts during spring/summer climbing, as it regulates perfectly without being too much and stretches/flexes quite well. Im really excited about the possibilities!

December 16, 2020

Works as advertised

Very pleased with the R2 Tech. I use it mainly for mountain biking and hiking. Does a decent job of blocking the wind while still being very breathable. On very cold days on the bike I layer and combine it with the dirt roamer MTB jacket. Perfect combination. Totally worth the price.

December 10, 2020

Very warm

Love the jacket it is very fashionable, everyone asked about it and it is very cozy and warm, love to use it as a base liner, but sometimes wear it over a base liner. Love it

December 8, 2020

Great standalone fleece that's super warm!

I got the R2 Tech Face to fill the role of a standalone technical fleece for higher exertion activities and it performs very well. I usually opt for having a hood but it's very form fitting and not helmet compatible. The collar is a tad bit on the longer side but it's nice for when the wind picks up. My only gripe with this jacket is that... Read More the collar is a little wonky in the sense that it doesn't lay flat when I'm wearing it around town or at work. Other than that minor complaint, this is a bomber piece that has become my go to piece for early morning climbs and a great mid layer when layering for colder climates!

December 3, 2020

Really long, really really long

I own a lot of Patagonia gear so I have my size locked in. When I read the reviews that this garment was running long I didnt worry about it as its a jacket and I plannned to wear it underneath my Patagonia Parka which is also a large. Nope. It hung below the hem line of my ski parka. Otherwise it fit great but this would be better labeled as a tal... Read Morel product. I am good with Patagonia updating styles etc but I am bought into buying their great products that last forever and if the styles are not compatible over the years it seems to be counter productive to all of their efforts to be more environmentally friendly.

December 3, 2020

Comfortable, multi-purpose fleece

My into to Patagonia fleece was their R1 quarter zip which is for the most part comfortable except for additional awkward shifting of the sleeves to align the sleeves to a preferred comfort level. The R2 Tech face does not have this issue. The R2 Techface is my go-to preferred cool/chilly weather fleece that fits in just as well in the office as it... Read More does on the hiking trails of Ojai. I can confidently recommend this jacket as well worth the price. There's 2 improvements I"d recommend. First, at least 1 interior pocket with a zipper and thicker material. Second, a zippered collar with a thin material hoodie inside. These are quality of life features that would improve an already excellent product.

November 15, 2020

Super warm- really to warm!

I really like the r2- its packable and looks great - I like a slimmer cut and it defiantly has a nice formed shape- Im 5-11 and 170 lbs ( I got a medium) - but be warned - the R2 is warm!!! Its almost to warm for fall or spring - I wear it on 60 degree days with just a t shirt under it and I am roasting! I really should switch to the R1 but the one... Read More I tied on didnt fit as nice.

October 17, 2020

Excellent jacket, size down- sleeves are really long.

Got this jacket in time for chilly weather. It is very light, warm and repels enough moisture in light rain with my experience. It should make a great mid layer for even colder weather since it is not bulky. So far I have just used it as an outer layer over a T-shirt with temps in the high 40's / low 50's and light wind and rain and it is... Read More plenty warm. The grid pattern fleece is super soft against the skin and the jacket stretches and allows for easy movement. The sizing is a bit odd. I initially ordered a size Small since that is my usual size in Patagonia and other comparable brands. However, I ended up exchanging for an XS because though the body fit okay with the Small, the sleeves were VERY long and baggy in the upper arms. Even though it says "slim fit" I recommend going a size down for this jacket. Luckily Patagonia makes the exchange process easy. Overall really happy with the product and hope to be using it for years.

September 12, 2020

Meh

Kinda big in the body, but right in the length. Good, but not.

August 21, 2020

Love the jacket but fit is weird

The material on this jacket is exactly what I have been looking for but it doesn't fit well at all. I wear a medium in all the Patagonia gear I own (10+ items) and the fit is usually very good. This jacket has freakishly long arms (my arms are anything but short) and was really loose all over for the size. Was unable to try on in store so went... Read More with usual sizing. Sadly I had to return but will try again with one size smaller and see if that works out.

June 17, 2020

Great Layer for Sitting, paragliding, climbing....

I have been wearing Patagonia for years (both my daughters having worked for the company and having been a rock climber since the '70s). The R2 is one of the best pieces of clothing I have purchased. It is warm--more than the light R1 but WAY less bulky than the R4. It blocked light wind and as a wonderful technical fit...long in the back, goo... Read Mored for rock climbing or paragliding harness and warm at height. Breast pocket handy for phone and side pockets large. Internal pockets for hat/gloves. This is an outstanding layer, to wear alone or under the R4 (WARM!) or nano puff. Absolutely love it.

February 20, 2020

Good piece, but long sleeves

Warm, snug fit, good quality of construction. But weirdly long sleeves, much longer than other models from Patagonia

February 16, 2020

Everything You could ask for

This is the perfect layer for cool coastal winter days. I was searching high and low for a lightweight layer that could keep the damp chill of coastal Southern California winters off me and this jacket has surpassed my expectations. As a stand-alone outer, I would say that the jacket’s ideal temperature range is from the high 40s up into the low 60... Read Mores. It keeps you warm and dry in moderate wind and misting rain, as well.

February 2, 2020

Awesome technical piece, weird sleeves

This jacket is a go-to for hiking under 40 degrees, casual wear, travel, and ice climbing. This and the R1 jacket were fantastic pieces for a September trip to Iceland with weather that varied with the hour. However, the fit of the sleeves is weirdly puffy around the biceps, and a bit bunched around the armpits. It’s especially odd given the fitted... Read More contour of the lower arms. Not a dealbreaker for me, but doesn’t have as sleek an appearance as I’d like out of a fitted jacket.

January 26, 2020

Wonky collar, awesome jacket

I’ve been using this jacket for hiking and climbing around 30-45 degrees and while skiing under a shell 30 and lower. It’s got just the right mix of breathability, wind blocking, and warmth to keep me comfortable when steaming uphill but not freezing on the downhill leg. Really appreciate the stretch and semi-soft shell hard face, both of which mak... Read Moree this a more usable jacket than a standard R2. However, it’s got a very tall collar that doesn’t lie down very readily, and it’s quite long - hip length, not waist length. The hoody version has a very close-fitting, scuba-style hood that covers your chin, so it also is wonky in the collar department. I tried both and settled on the jacket. All that said, it’s such a good winter hiking piece I can forgive some idiosyncrasies.

January 17, 2020

Patagonia Men's R2® TechFace Jacket

one of the best I had! Splitboarding up hill during snowfall was a perfect, kept me dry all the way up! Whats better?! Perfect!

December 29, 2019

Love this!

Makes me look very slender too!

December 26, 2019

So far so amazing

I am pretty tough on my fleece and demand a lot from my layering systems. As a river guide I work in a lot of conditions and need my layers to be light, warm, breathable and comfy. The R2 totally delivers. From Maine in January to Panamanian rain forest this layer has kept me warm, well regulated and fits in on just about any adventure.

December 25, 2019

Great material but fit is a bit too long

I am 6’2” 170 lb and got the medium. It is beautifully constructed with great material. I’m sure it was intended to be long for cold winds etc, but I almost always have the sleeves rolled up a few inches and the bottom of the jacket prob covers 1/3 of my butt. I’m sure this was the intention by Patagonia to make a longer jacket, but I just got it ... Read Morefor Florida winters so I don’t really need the length :).

December 19, 2019

Ms r2 TechFace Jacket

Love this jacket,first thing I reach for on a cool morning hike,love the fit and warmth it provides,once again never disappointed 😎

December 14, 2019

Great fleece jacket! Very comfortable!

Great fleece jacket! Very comfortable!

December 14, 2019

Great for layering and running

I've done 4 UTMB with similar products from Patagonia and this new one has already kept me warm and safe in the mountains when I trail run. It's not the most breathable or packable but it's warm and soft. It makes me feel safe.

November 26, 2019

I love it!!

I love it!!

November 25, 2019

Ms R2® TechFace Jacket

Very comfortable and perfect midlayer for winter. Also works as a standalone jacket in the fall with just a t-shirt underneath. Super comfortable and would definitely buy again (but hope that this one lasts long enough that I don't have to). My only complaint is that the sleeves are just a bit long, but that's a very minor issue.

November 24, 2019

It's great!

Fits great for a slim person like me. Like how thin it is. I only wish it were a tad bit warmer.

November 24, 2019

Awesome, just a little long

This jacket is excellent. My only criticism is it seems a little long and the mid section is a little roomy.

November 22, 2019

Best fleece yet!

I grabbed this fleece for my husband after I fell in love with my own R2 TechFace Jacket. We both love the warmth - and it's really warm. Great all-around fleece jacket for cooler days. Two thumbs up!

November 22, 2019

Great jacket for active could be warmer

I’ve worn this jacket almost daily for two months trekking and traveling. It is great as a layer and when active it holds up in colder weather but doesn’t keep the amount of warmth I would like when I stop moving even with additional layers. The fit and comfort are nice for everyday use.

November 21, 2019

Great all around jacket

Awesome jacket, comfortably warm, the cuff design is next level. The only thing I’d say about the jacket is that the fit is on the larger side. So I’m a 185 6’ male and large is definitely a little too big, the medium was a much better fit.

November 20, 2019

AWESOME JACKET

THIS JACKET IS SUPER NICE AND FITS WELL!

November 20, 2019

Great jacket

Love my OG R2, by itself or with a shell, probably the most versatile jacket I have. When the new TechFace came out I was super interested, and after trying on M and L, because if you know the brand you know the size can vary year to year. I’m 5’11 190 lbs 42 chest 33 waist and the medium fit great, the large was way to big, the jacket is stretchy,... Read More no draw string at waist or wrist. The stretch gives you the seal you need to keep warmth in.

November 20, 2019

Another Great jacket

I love this jacket, it’s fall in Minnesota and I can wear this jacket every day. I can wear it on its own on warmer days, and layer it when the weather changes.

November 14, 2019

Love it👍

Love it👍

November 12, 2019

Great Jacket! Deceivingly warm

Great Jacket! Deceivingly warm

November 8, 2019

Great layer

Super comfortable, lightweight and warm. I'm 5'8", 165 lb and the Medium fit me well.

October 28, 2019

great jacket very warm.

great jacket very warm.

October 22, 2019

Great jacket

Great mid-layer jacket.

October 20, 2019

R2 Review

Fits true to size. We live in Minnesota where fall through spring can be very cold. The R2 is a good stand alone layer for fall and is a great mid layer for the winters here.

October 20, 2019

Significantly warmer than R1

I didn’t need it. Family told me not to get it. Already own two R1 Tech face hoodies. And yet, I covet this piece like no other. Luxurious interior instantly warms with only a cotton or light merino layer in chilly temps. Love the exterior texture and pattern. Sans hood, I can layer it comfortably under my R1 for extra cold protection. Well designe... Read Mored for Colorado climate, it breathes very well and cuts wind and sheds snow making it the most ideal layer for ski tours. Many times it is my only shell for autumn bikepack adventures. Mid winter I will pack a hard shell to fit over this all day piece. Pockets are warm, but I miss a bit o fleece there. The only question is, “ When will there be trousers?”

October 15, 2019

The fit is off

I tried both the medium and large. I'm 6'1 and weigh 175. The medium was very tight in the body and the sleeves were a bit short. When I tried on the large, I was first worried that I received a XL. It was baggy everywhere and was too big. The R1 techface large fits perfectly. So, I'm not sure what's going on with the R2 sizi... Read Moreng.

October 12, 2019

I like the large jacket

I like the large jacket and the size is a good fit but it is long. I was replacing a Nano air hybrid that was stolen and it had a better fit in the Medium. This was too small in the medium. I would have ordered the hybrid again but it was not available in black.

October 5, 2019

Too early to tell....

I just got the jacket a couple of days ago and did were it on a cool morning. Fabric felt nice, has some stretch to it. Will definitely wear it a lot. Seems to run slightly long but no biggie. Bought this to replace a really worn R1 jacket and it was on sale.....and this stuff is pricey even on sale. As a long time Patagonia customer I have noticed... Read More the quality is not what it used to be, but the guarantee is awesome and keeps me coming back. I think I will like this jacket a lot.

September 24, 2019

warm and durable

Perfect jacket for camping and going to the ball game. Great fit (size medium for 5'8" 155 lb). The wind, water, and wear resistant surface is awesome. I expect this jacket to last through the next ten years.

September 20, 2019

Extremely comfortable

This jacket is so soft and pliable, you'll never want to take it off. The tapered sleeves are snug so the fabric never gets in the way. You wouldn't want to wear several layers under this jacket. Maybe a thin shirt or long underwear base layer, then this jacket. I wouldn't call it waterproof, but it can fend off a light rain easily. ... Read MoreThe location of the pockets are perfect. I'm 5'11" and 160 lbs, and the medium fits great. My estimated temperature comfort zone for this coat is 25-65 degrees, perfect for a majority of the year up north. I've owned several Patagonia jackets and this one is my favorite for extreme comfort, style, and practicality.

September 18, 2019

Ms R2 TechFace Jacket

I ordered the large fits perfect and so comfortable and i can move freely. This jacket is perfect were i live whole year round i can wear it.

September 6, 2019

Great jacket, poor seams

I am 6'2" 185, broad and long limbed. I bought the Medium and the fit is a tad snug in the chest but otherwise good. The arms are long as they should be. A Large might fit better up top, but Patagonia designers unfortunately think taller and broader people are fat, so most of their Larges have balloons of fabric around the middle. This is... Read More an annoying, inexcusable and persistent problem. It is easy to fix and they should do so. The material is great and makes this a perfect mid-temp outer layer and cold/bad weather mid-layer. The one annoying flaw is the stitch choice. They used a folded-in stitch like on a good hardshell, and left the beads of folded-in material loose inside the jacket. They should have used the standard fleece flat stitch. Any loss of water resistance would be trivial given the material. It might not look as sharp on the outside, but the inside seams would snag less and feel better. It is also unclear why they do not use the same pattern as the standard R2. It seems to work well. I am keeping the jacket and will use the life-time guarantee to exchange it for a new one when they fix the stitch.

September 2, 2019

R2 techface jacket

I haven’t worn it in cold weather yet, but it seems like the waffled lining will trap air as an insulator to keep you warm. The fit and quality are excellent.

August 15, 2019

R2 Tech Face Jacket

I got this jacket at the start of the summer, so it hasn't been through the ringer yet, but I have worn it enough to know that it will be a staple for years to come. First off the fleece lining has exceptional next to skin comfort, and I have spent a couple of cozy nights sleeps in the jacket after underestimating my sleeping bag needs on a co... Read Moreuple camping trips. The mobility of the face fabric is wonderful, and I know I will be wearing it on colder day climbing excursions. It provides some wind and abrasion resistance. As a point of reference, this jacket is similar in weight and thickness to the Nano-Air line, however this R2 jacket breaths better, seems like the face fabric is more durable, and is not quite as warm. I am 6' and 155 lbs, and the fit is ideal. Fits well and is non restrictive if worn with a t-shirt and another R1 type layer. It also fits well beneath a belay parka or shell layer. Highly recommend.

May 9, 2019

Versatile Midlayer

Purchased this jackets in early April. In the first month, I wore it as a mid layer for snowboarding, under my waders for the opening day of fly fishing in Michigan, to mass on Easter Sunday, and to work a few days too! I’d call that a pretty versatile piece. For reference I am 5’11” 175lbs and the medium is perfect. Still enough room to wear a nan... Read Moreopuff vest under and not be restricting. Not windproof but definitely more wind protection than the standard regulator fleece. The outer face fabric is very durable; and the pockets well placed for my needs. A solid investment I am looking forward to wearing for many activities.

May 8, 2019

M’s R2 TechFace Jacket

20-some years ago I had a grey, quilted-looking Patagonia snap-closure pullover. Wore it everywhere, everyday. It still lives in multiple old Polaroids. I literally scraped pennies together to save up for that thing. Got this R2 hoping to replace my long, lost love. I am wealthier now. I got the blue one. Love is anew. So much so that I will also g... Read Moreet a black one. And a red one. And, whatever other color they choose to make-one. I will NEVER be without one again. I’m not a big guy. 5’-8”, 170. 44” chest, 32” waist, athletic build. I usually wear large in most stuff. The R2 is perfect in medium. I got the better sweater vest in a large.

March 18, 2019

Fit for a select few

My climbing guide son-in-law has owned one of these for years and loves it, so I thought I’d try one. I only weigh 130. A medium fit close around the chest but the sleeves hung down past my fingertips. Good jacket if you’re 5’11 and skinny.

February 21, 2019

bad stitching placement

The large stitching in the arms runs directly down the back of the arm and over the elbow making for a very uncomfortable garment, especially one that is designed to be worn during athletic pursuits. The medium fits like a large or extra large in comparable brands

February 18, 2019

Where's the hood!!!

This jacket has potential to provide exceptional warm from everyday to mountain use; however, it plain and simple needs a hood option. For a jacket designed for the option of mountain use, this jacket would have much more versality if it had a hood option.

January 28, 2019

Awesome

so I used to have an r3 when they made the older styles 09-11 and that had a furry inside and fleece outside and they used to have it tagged as a laminate less windbreaker because how it was sewn. Well this is as close to that jacket they have ever made and its awesome. Now it even has water repellency. The inside is very similar and the fit is gre... Read Moreat to layer yet nice for alone use. it also does a great job at stopping the wind. Probably the best fleece on the market as we speak. good and warm, warmer than its predecessor!

January 15, 2019

hoody option in this?

Would love to see this with a hood I think that this would be perfect all around - 1) some weather/wind resistance 2) warm 3) hood for cold(er) days 4) packable 5) high warmth/thickness ratio any consideration for adding a hood? this would give it 5 stars

December 30, 2018

Great Jacket

So it is a bit pricey, but it is a great one. With a hoodie underneath, this jacket can easily keep you warm at high 30s to low 40s temperature. Water repellent works excellent. Walked 5 blocks in pouring rain in Portland and about 15 minutes in the car the jacket was all dry. Also looks very stylish and sleek.

December 26, 2018

Great Soft Shell Alternative

+Lightweight, half the weight of soft shell +Good snug fit +One month in, no durability issues +DWR treated exterior perfect for PNW +Breathability

December 13, 2018

Love this jacket

I got this in a medium to replace an older medium R2 that I thought was a bit too snug in the neck and body. I am 5"10" and 170Lbs. This is a better fit all around and warmer. My one complaint is that the sleeves are longer than I like but that was easy to fix by tucking them inside and then sewing new seams. They don't even look lik... Read Moree they were altered. I wore this as a mid-layer over a compression top and under an unlined Patagonia ski shell in zero degree weather skiing in New Hampshire and was very comfortable as long as I was moving.

December 2, 2018

One of the best

I think this may have become one of my favorite Patagonia fleeces! I used to wear the normal R2 fleece all the time, but this just is a bit more "jacket" I guess because it blocks that extra bit of air and a bit of precipitation and is nice and warm. I miss the soft fluff on the outside, but sacrifices must be made for function sometimes ... Read MoreLOL. It can fairly easily go down to 40s or so temp wise depending on what you are doing in it. I normally wear a Patagonia Medium and this fits as expected. I'm not a fan of the dimpled look on the outside, but I don't notice it as much now that I've warn it for while. (I have the black and it doesn't show as much on there either) Maybe they could take this (minus the techface and put it inside a softshell jacket (like replacing the insulation in the Adze with this grid fleece) It's softer and warmer than that insulation.

December 1, 2018

Love it

Love everything about this jacket. The exterior surface is awesome. Easy to layer over but tough enough to not worry about it snagging. Plenty warm. A little extra length in sleeves, waist, and collar are nice as you stay covered in motion. True to size but it is a little slim fitting. However, it stretches really well.

November 17, 2018

Incredible Jacket

I wanted to provide a quick review to hopefully help those who are considering this jacket. I purchased this jacket about 2 months ago and it has become my daily jacket / layer. Listed below are the key things I like about the jacket. For reference I am 6’5” and weigh 190lbs. and sleeve length is 16.5”. Likes: 1.) Sizing - I normally wear a Large ... Read Morein tops / jackets. I tried this jacket in a large but found it was way to big around the mid section with a lot of excess fabric. I decided to go with the medium which provides more of a trim fit. Even though I went with the medium the sleeve length is perfect and when active or extending my arm I don’t have a problem with the jacket exposing or riding up my arm. Also the torso length in the medium is also long enough where I don’t get waist creep (back exposure) when I bend over. Part of this maybe the fact that the jacket moves with your body and the fabric has the perfect amount of stretch and is not restricting. 2.) Fabric - Techface smooth outer surface has not pilled or does not attract lint / dog hair like other fleece jackets I have tried. The interior surface is super soft is very comfortable when wearing next to skin. I usually just throw a merino baselayer underneath and I am good for hiking, running around town or going out. I also really like the look of the fabric and that is the first thing that attracted me to the jacket when I saw it. 3.) Warmth - I have to agree with other reviews this jacket is very warm. I have been wearing it in weather that varies from the 30’s to 50’s and in windy conditions. It has been extremely warm with very good wind resistance. I like this jacket so much I find myself putting it on first thing in the morning and I leave it on all day. It’s lightweight, warm and doesn’t feel like I am wearing a jacket. If I am going to be outside in cold windy weather, I put my Patagonia Houdini over the top and its perfect. 4.) Other features I like: - HIgh neck - The neck is the perfect height. When I have it fully zipped up it covers my neck for extra warmth and I don’t even need to wear a buff / scarf. - Stretch panels at the Wrist - With tapered sleeves the stretch panel makes it easy to get the jacket on and off. It helps so my baselayer shirt doesn’t ride up and when you want to look at your watch it makes is easy to peel back the cuff to see my watch. - Pocket’s - chest pocket is big enough which can hold my IPhone 7+, the handwarmer pocket placement is perfect so when I have my daypack on and use the waist strap the pockets ride above the strap so I can have easy access. I also like the 2 very deep interior pockets which gives me extra storage. - Zipper - when I have the jacket partially zipped the zipper doesn’t move down. I think they have used a zipper with built in locks so it stays in place. Overall this is one of the best jackets I have come across in a long time and I would definitely recommend this to someone looking for a very warm jacket with some great features.

November 14, 2018

GREAT in-between jacket!

Grandma? Maybe so...my grandma chops firewood and climbs mountains and rides horses. I wear this jacket while trying to keep up with her!

October 17, 2018

Badass

The last guy must care what people think of him. I got the same size, in black, and it's handsome as hell. There is nothing "grandma" about this jacket. It stretches with your body when biking or playing with the dog and keeps you warm while not making you sweat a ton

September 25, 2018

r2 techface

On the whole this is a nice jacket. It is very warm, almost too warm. The sleeves fit nicely -- I've recently had problems with Patagonia sleeve length being too long, but not on the R2 techface. The divets of the jacket provide an interesting texture, but I was told it looks like a grandma's quilted jacket, so that was not ideal. If it i... Read Mores in the 30-40 degree temp range I think this is a helpful piece. Above that and you will be sweating...like a grandmother.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches