Back to Product

Ms R1® Full-Zip Hoody

Write Your Review

4.7/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 63 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R1® Full-Zip Hoody

4.7/5
May 6, 2021

Good but why no thumb holes?

This is a great product, but for me I will return it because it has no thumbholes which I really like in a product. I used to love this version of R1 with thumbholes but seems you can't get that anymore unless you get a different version that is not full zip hoody. Please bring back thumbholes for full zip hoody!

May 1, 2021

Stealth tech

Toasty & casual for hanging out in town, with the tech cred for the hills = awesome.

April 26, 2021

Very nice fitting, also shipped

Very nice fitting, also shipped quite quick

April 7, 2021

Full Zip Classic

Have all variations of the R1, full Zip may be my go to. 6/190 and L is a good fit, long torso per R1 design. Definitely recommend.

April 5, 2021

Comfortable and warm (and sustainable)

Comfortable and warm (and sustainable)

March 31, 2021

Please Bring back Purple!!!

This is one of the best outdoor clothing items Ive ever purchased. It easily goes from shopping at the grocery store to ripping down a killer mountain bike trail. This is the perfect goldilocks jacket for shoulder season in Southern California; not heavy enough to make you sweat or too thin that it leaves you shivering. Im impressed by how well it ... Read Morehas stood up to whatever Ive thrown at it including multiple journeys through the washer. Ive been regularly checking the website every few days hoping to see this gem of a jacket return in its perfect color: the regal Purple. It no longer appears as an option so Im guessing that it is gone for good. I beg you Patagonia, please please give us another chance to own one ourselves. I know the overseas shipping situation has not been ideal for the last year but even if I have to wait another six months I would, gladly.

March 28, 2021

Perfect Active Hiking Layer

Bought this for mid layer while hiking, does a great job of being warm and breathable when you need it!

February 24, 2021

Versatile

This is quite form-fitting, as I usually wear XS and the S in this is still very snug. Have used it 4 or 5 times running in the cold Maine winter, and the hood has been great instead of wearing a hat. One of those items that seems to work for just about anything - I find myself throwing it on almost daily. Great product- thank you.

February 14, 2021

Quality Goods & Quality Service

My hoody arrived very quickly (considering the Brexit fiasco!) and I was kept informed of the delivery throughout. It looks very good, it fits perfectly and you can tell it is a quality product. Warmth-wise it has been perfect so far, breathable around the house and warm as a base layer in the mad sub-zero temperatures we have had recently. I will ... Read Morebuy again as I have been very impressed. Not the cheapest around but you always need to pay for quality !!

February 10, 2021

the perfect mid layer

The ideal mid layer, warm and fits well. Only worn for a few weeks but ticks all the boxes for me and appears well made and durable like all the other Patagonia products I’ve worn/used

February 1, 2021

Perfect Fleece

Love it. Please make a R1 vest!

January 26, 2021

Light and warm

I bought this for trail runs. I’m normally small and bought small - the sizing is fine for active wear but perhaps go a size up if you want to wear for casual.

January 26, 2021

Ms R1® Full-Zip Hoody

Great hoody with a premium feel. Excellent kit from Patagonia - as per usual.

December 23, 2020

I don't even notice I'm wear it

Super comfortable and warm. I only wish it had thumb loops. Then it would be the perfect mid layer

November 18, 2020

Material is great but fit not so much.

Love the material super comfortable and moves with you like nothing else out there. The only downside is doesnt fit right for my body type. The large is too long but fits well everywhere else the medium is too tight and short everywhere but the arms fit well !?! I read a lot of reviews about the sizing being hard to get right so hopefully they adju... Read Morested next years model a bit so I can purchase. Had to return the ones I bought. 510 with muscular build

September 15, 2020

5-Star 'Go-To' Hoody

This is the perfect hoody for everything. Do take the 'Slim Fit' spec into consideration when selecting a size. Perfect combination of weight and stretch for any activity really. The non-rib knit cuffs and bottom hem do take some getting used to and provide a different fit if that is what you are used to.

June 26, 2020

Great Hoodie

I really like this. The tight hood isn't my favorite style, but it does function well at times. I wore this camping in the BWCA for 5 days. It was perfect for afternoon-evening camping and the tight hood kept bugs away. Sleeves are perfect and I really like this overall. I'm 6'5, 230 and the XL is just a little tight, but fits much b... Read Moreetter than regular fit XL Patagonia shirts that are a big to wide in the body. I would get another one of these in a heartbeat if the price point was a bit lower.

June 21, 2020

Versatile Hoody

Versatile, Comfortable, Lightweight, Breathable. I was really excited about this hoody when I first read the reviews and description. I use it on cold mornings or evenings, on the boat, and around the campfire. I can see it being great under a vest or coat. The hood fits great around a cap. It's breathable/yet warm enough to be an insulating l... Read Moreayer. Great purchase and value.

June 19, 2020

Sick engineering

I expected a thick wind resistant fleece. I did not do my research. What I got was the perfect summer/workout fleece layer. Its a thin fleece with a grid of empty (fleece-less) lines running through the inside that act as vents. So its a truly breathable fleece. Its amazing and its gonna be my go to summer layer that will take the chill off the oce... Read Morean breeze at night. Super stoked on this piece. I already recommended it to my brother who is a gear head.

June 17, 2020

Versatile Hoody

Versatile, Comfortable, Lightweight, Breathable. I was really excited about this hoody when I first read the reviews and description. I use it on cold mornings or evenings, on the boat, and around the campfire. I can see it being great under a vest or coat. The hood fits great around a cap. It's breathable/yet warm enough to be an insulating l... Read Moreayer. Great purchase and value.

June 17, 2020

Just the right fit, and durable

Its been a standard covid go to. Actually forms a semi face mask when you forget yours. Many improvements on the last generation of R1. Cuffs seem less likely to pull apart. Durability and fit make it a prime target for everyday wear. Ski, fish, run, bike, and work.

June 11, 2020

The perfect fleece?

This is basically a perfect fleece and I'm so happy I got one. The R1 is "technical" because it's a grid fleece (I think that's a Patagonia exclusive with Polartec) that tends to reduce overall warmth but enhances breathability because the grid channels allow air to flow through. And it has a slim fit for layering. For a t... Read Moreechnical midlayer fleece, I think the consensus is this is the gold standard. One technical knock may be that it has stretchy elastane which doesn't enhance the technical insulation/breathable performance but it makes it much, much more comfortable for range of motion and layering as slim fit than a pure, usually baggy, performance fleece. The slim fit and stretchiness also make it possible to use as a warm and comfy base layer right against the skin. I'd note that I compared to an R1 from about 5 years ago and this one has smaller grid channels and less lofty grid squares. So it tends to be more "uniform" in density, rather than hitting you with more pronounced, but more widely spaced, fleece squares. In my view the change makes it warmer overall but less airy/ breathable. To say it another way, the older one -- thicker in in smaller spots -- just has a greater sense of airiness and sheerness (you can hold it up to a light and get that sense). Relatively minor but relevant if you are trying to dial it in. I would say this one looks better for around town too as the old one's grid squares were ever so slightly more noticeable. Now I prefer a full zip to a pullover because a lot easier to get on and off and also to fully vent --so what if you save a tiny bit of weight and warmth in not having a full zip down. As for hoody vs non, for a midlayer that's hard. Ideally you'd have both. For me the hoody was the right call because more versatile -- as a hood gets you a material increase in max warmth if you find yourself taking a snack break on top of a ridge or just walking to the gym in the cold. Anyway, I'd grab one of these while they last.

May 7, 2020

Nice but please tweak

R1 is one the best technical fabrics ever made - I own several versions and wear them constantly in cool / cold weather for a large variety of activities. This hooded / full zip version is a versatile addition to the family. Please consider re-designing with the hand warmer pockets placed higher (out of the way of a hip belt) and closed with a zipp... Read Moreer to securely hold items (as my much-beloved R1 jacket did).

April 21, 2020

Fit is what I wanted

I often have problems fitting through the shoulders and arm length. Usually getting something to fit shoulders and arm length means the waist is far too large. This R1 fits me perfectly which is so nice to not have one part fit and other parts not fit. Not wind resistant, but a Houdini or other wind shell does the job for that. Makes a good overall... Read More layer for warmth in warmer weather or during active activities.

April 3, 2020

Great active jacket

This hoody is great for keeping you warm and eliminating humidity when doing sports. I've used it for trail running and biking and it's performance is really good. The hood is very useful for wearing under a helmet and protecting you from the wind and keeping your ears and head warm and the odor eliminating technology means you can use it... Read More on those multi-day adventures. The only thing that is not really as functional are the hand warmer pockets. If it's windy and cold they won't really protect you (the whole jacket is not wind-proof so you'll need an extra layer anyway) and if it's not cold enough you don't really need them.

March 21, 2020

Excellence as standard

The R1 hoody is an essential piece of gear for all outdoor enthusiasts. With a lifetime warranty, repair program and recycle system, Patagonia really do go above and beyond all other brands. Epic as expected.

February 29, 2020

Modern R1

I like this, and I wanted for some years for this to come out. Modern twist on a classic R1. The only issue is the right hand pocket stitching broke on the first use. Repaired it and the stitching snapped again. Repaired and its worth keeping around.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2020

Sorry to hear about the stitching, Joseph! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return or repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the Hoody as soon as operations resume.

February 22, 2020

XXL runs huge

I'm an XL size. I wanted some extra room for workouts, so I ordered the XXL. That piece is so huge. I gave it to my co-worker that wears 3XL shirts. It fit him perfectly. I contacted Customer Service and they said the XXL is a new size. going order an XL.

February 22, 2020

It's hot in here.

I wasn't sure at first, it's a very high spec piece of kit, not just an item of clothing. But after wearing it as a mid layer, under a shell on a days hike in full Scottish conditions (winds gusting 30 to 60mph, some snow and sleet, 0 to -7c) I cut the tags out and will wear it til it or I fall apart. I have Patagonia gear thats still tak... Read Moreing care of me (and often my friends who come visit) for 20 years. Personally I think other brands have an edge in terms of style, but in terms of ethics, performance and attitude, Patagonia, it's you I love the most.

February 12, 2020

Strange design choices lead to an inferior iteration of this jacket

Having owned several R1's since 2009, Patagonia has made some really strange changes to this jacket that makes it overall worse than previous models. The fit has definitely changed for the worse. The armholes seem to be placed slightly higher and are smaller; they feel great when reaching overhead while climbing but when resting fabric bunche... Read Mores up in your armpits. The zipper does not have any fabric on the interior so when the hood is fully zipped cold metal sits right against your face. Additionally, the zipper can be slightly abrasive when wearing the jacket as a baselayer. The thumb loops have been replaced with a double layer of polartec. I can see how the extra thickness can be useful in some situations, but thumb loops would be appreciated in the majority of situations.

January 18, 2020

Bought this for a holiday

Bought this for a holiday gift and recipient absolutely loves it. Thank you. We love most all your products.

January 11, 2020

New classic mountain fleece

A classic mountaineering fleece. I use this is Scotland climbing and walking. Really breathable and a good athletic fit.

January 3, 2020

Great mid layer

I have a 42” chest, 5-9 tall weigh 175 Medium is too tight chest and arms large is too long on me It sticks out the bottom of my shells This is the only garment I’ve had those issues with I’ll still use it

December 28, 2019

Perfect

Bought as a mid-layer for a thru hike in 2020, but I’ve been wearing it in and love it so far. Light, warm, great cut, full length zip. All great. Only criticism (if you can call it that, is the hood is a little tight.

December 25, 2019

Good product

Good product

December 23, 2019

Now that I finally own

Now that I finally own an R1 I've basically been living in it. its been great as a standalone layer on warmer winter days, a good midlayer on super cold days, and goes great when paired with just a ski jacket for most days.

December 20, 2019

Tight arm holes

The jacket make me always warm. My best fit is S, but I chose M because the arm holes are tight for me.

December 18, 2019

R1 Full-Zip Hoody

Most amazing layering hoodie ever

December 16, 2019

Great product

Love the panels!

December 9, 2019

Ok, but somehow strange/plastic odor

Ok, but somehow strange/plastic odor

December 3, 2019

Bought first one over 10

Bought first one over 10 years ago and still wear today. New version is thinner material but holds warmth and blocks wind

December 1, 2019

R1 is amazing

Best midlayer I own and is always with me on my backpacks and Hikes. Warm, versatile, and comfortable.

November 23, 2019

Awesome, warm, yet super breathable.

Awesome, warm, yet super breathable. Perfect fleece for hiking, climbing, skiing, or just looking sharp around town. The R1 does it all, I wear mine all the time

November 18, 2019

Love this hoody

If you find the R1 pullovers just a little tight (like I did), try the full-zip hoody. Its fit is slightly looser--especially in the arms and shoulders. The feel of the material against the skin is great, and it moves/stretches perfectly. Now, if I could just find a way to keep dog hair from sticking to it...

November 12, 2019

Comfortable, breathable

Very soft and comfortable. The cuffs are great - when pulled up they stay up and don't cut off circulation. Breathes well in typical R1 fashion. I wear a medium across the board for Patagonia and it fits true to size - slim but not snug. I can wear it hiking, skiing, or to the grocery store without looking out of place.

November 10, 2019

The best technical fleece

This is my favorite piece of technical clothing. Its warm down to the low 50's/upper 40's. It breathes really well and does a great job of dissipating sweat when I'm working hard. Its also highly odor resistant so I tend to put it on and leave it on for weekend excursions. The pockets, zippers and features are perfect. So far it seem... Read Mores to be exceptionally durable as well. I could imagine if you were doing things were you had a huge range of motion, like climbing, you MIGHT want to look at something like the Crosstrek because of the stretch, but for me, this piece is perfection

November 8, 2019

Best Hoody for everything

This hoody is great, being super functional and a good choice as a technical mid layer; but a nice casual hoody as well. This has become my go to mid layer.

November 1, 2019

Great jacket

Great jacket

October 13, 2019

WORTH IT!

Wore this for 3 days camping. Loved it every sec and came in handy when sleeping outside in cold weather.

October 13, 2019

Go-to for temps in the low 50's to mid-60's

Great fitting, not too big yet long enough for my 6'3" height.

October 5, 2019

Great but flawed

All the good things written about this jacket are true. I just wish the front pockets zipped—I’ve lost a glove and a map because stuff falls out. If the pockets on the full zip hooded R1 zipped it would literally be the best, most unbeatable fleece that exists.

September 25, 2019

Daily Use Starting in September

This gets daily use from getting out of bed to cooler evenings beginning in September.

August 23, 2019

Great product but limited durability

I love this fleece. It's warm, light and the fit is perfect. However, after 2 months of city use, it started to pile really badly. I can't understand how this can happen as it doesn't look normal. The fleece by now looks like 3 years old, when I just bought it. Unless the one I bought was a bad batch, I would proceed with caution bef... Read Moreore buying it.

August 15, 2019

Go to Alpine Hoody

I love this thing. It's warm for the weight, and still can regulate heat with long front zipper. Hood fits nicely over helmet. Range of motion is nice. I've been wearing this as my main garment every time I go summer alpine climbing. Sometimes with a baselayer underneath, sometimes naked.

August 15, 2019

Great quality just not slim fit for me

Huge fan of the R1 line and this full zip doesn’t disappoint other than the fit, in my case. I’m 6’ 2” 180, medium build, slim but not skinny and Patagonia large slim usually fits great while regular fit is medium (other than a few cases. In my experience, Patagonia sizing seems to fluctuate between designs which is why I rely on customer feedback ... Read Morewhen choosing). For me, this full zip would’ve been perfect in medium. The R1 half zip in large slim fits me perfectly. The construction is typical top notch Patagonia. Hope this helps, cheers!

May 23, 2019

Perfect for casual, almost technical

I've always owned an R1 throughout the years...many different styles, hoodless, hooded, full zip, quarter zip, and three quarter zip. I love this. Woody because Patagonia is using the thicker or one material so it's more adorable than the hooded pullover, but it's 3 ounces heavier, so taking this backpacking wouldn't be the smar... Read Moretest idea. I just wish Patagonia could take the 3/4 or 1 hoodie with then normal polartec power grid so it's durable enough to hold up through a full season or thru-hike. But in the end Patagonia warranty is superb I cannot think of another company that is more dependable and reliable, in regards to warranty and a satisfaction guarantee. So definitely say this hoodie is awesome just a little heavy for backpacking.

May 8, 2019

R1 Magic

Great layer. Insulates and breathes really well. I use it mountain biking in cool weather and it works wonderfully.

May 8, 2019

The First Thing I Pack....For Every Trip

As the title says, this is the first thing I pack for every trip. Camping, backpacking, trail running, climbing, skiiing and even my work trips. You cannot go wrong with this thing. It fits perfectly under rain/wind proof layers and works flawlessly as an outer layer on its own.

May 8, 2019

Temperature control

Love this hoody! A perfect blend of warmth and ventilation. A great layer for b/c skiing, a great layer for mountain biking, and a great layer for just screwing around town.

May 8, 2019

Cool In the tropics

love the feel of it on bare skin.. comfortable in it when the jungle gets colder.. dries well and does not stink.. zips could be a tad better.. but not complaining and also a xxxl would be great

April 3, 2019

Great as always

The classic R1, warm and comfortable. Perfect for pretty much any occassion. The only things I wish they would have done (as most of their previous models) is had zippered hand pockets and thumb holes. I don't know why they decided not to employ those 2 great features.

March 9, 2019

Awesome but small

I'm 6', 175 lbs, do bikram yoga daily, small gut.. this is definitely more of a layer type garment. It's not like a jacket, you wouldn't be able to put layers under this, so BASE layer Then this fleece.. That said - this thing is LEGIT, soft, warm but breathable - I'll update my review in 2 weeks after snowboarding in Utah.... Read More But for now, just wanted to share - it fits snug. ALSO - the full zip jacket does NOT have little thumb holes like the other versions... was kind of looking forward to those.

February 26, 2019

Superb: technical, but casual when needed

Overall, I’m really pleased with the full zip hoody version of the R1. Same great material, and technical chops, but with a more casual appearance. I had this out for a 3 hour bout of rather strenuous uphill snowshoeing and then hit some breweries afterwards. Worked great while I was working hard, and looked great when I was enjoying beer with frie... Read Morends. The hood is one of my favorite components, super comfy and stays on for running and other aerobic activities. I would not say that the hood is casual in appearance, but it doesn’t bother me when it’s down and I’m lounging around or about town. Save the hood for the more technical endeavors, you’ll appreciate it then. Fit is slim, but it works with a thin base layer just fine and doesn’t appear overly tight for me, the stretch of the fabric helps in that regard.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches