Back to Product

Ms Stretch Wavefarer® Boardshorts - 21

Write Your Review

4.3 /5

Runs Small

Filter Reviews

All 71 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Stretch Wavefarer® Boardshorts - 21

4.3
Runs Small
June 17, 2020

Stellar for ocean and pool

Stellar for ocean and pool . I very much like this product for swimming but they are kind of stiff for dynamic sports on land and casualwear. Overall good looking well-made and I love everything about the mission statement and concept of Patagonia. We need a green revolution more than ever right now. I very much would like to see your company make ... Read Moresport coats leather shoes and casual work attire for males in the age demographic between 30 and 60 years old. I am committed to buying from the corporations for as much personal and gift items as possible. I would give the shorts overall a B+ letter grade. Keep up the good work ! Sincerely Christopher Baker

June 17, 2020

Good board shorts

I wear these all of the time hiking, over my bike shorts and just around the house doing work. They are durable and dry quickly. My only complaint is the bunching just below the ties on the fly looks a bit weird at times.

June 26, 2020

Product design

A lot thoughts went into it and that's why it's my go to short this summer.

June 19, 2020

Excellent

Very happy with these shorts

June 17, 2020

Best trunks ever

The most comfortable and quickest drying trunks I have ever owned.

May 25, 2020

Nice!

These are great!!! Fit is good, but took other reviews and sized up at purchase. Im a 36 or less in most brands, but went with a 38 and its perfect. Super comfy relaxed fit, free motion and just the right amount of stretch. Very pleased and will look at other colorways.

March 23, 2020

Your everything shorts

These fit true to my size. I purchased 33. But just find the size that fits you best and stay with them. If you dont think these are absolutely amazing and can be worn for every activity besides wanting to look professional, then go for something else. However these shorts feel amazing, stretch very comfortably, and keep odors/wetness at bay. Lov... Read Moree Patagonia, love their products, and cant wait to wear these out and get them repaired because of the warranty. One day my whole wardrobe will be Pat.

March 11, 2020

Good looking all around shorts

I like these boardshorts as well - although they are significantly different than the stretch planing or stretch hydropeak. These are a bit heavier with what feel like a more durable, thicker material. They also run smaller - I needed to go up one size in these shorts compared with the planing or hydropeak. However, these are still a great pair of ... Read Moreshorts and have a nice profile. I'm satisfied!

January 10, 2020

Nice product but very sizing very small

Ordered these in a 32" and they are far too tight. Only brand I have had this problem with.

Response from Patagonia
January 17, 2020

Hi Aoife, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of the shorts. We encourage our customers to use the size chart as well as the size tool and contact us if you are unsure as we are always happy to help. Please reach out to our [Customer Service team](https://eu.patagonia.com/gb/en/customer-service.html#searchterm=customer%20service) if you wish to return them. Please let us know if we can help with any other questions or concerns today!

December 23, 2019

Really liked the quality of

Really liked the quality of the material.

October 23, 2019

Quick delivery out to my

Quick delivery out to my son on Oahu! He lives in board shorts and says by far his Patagonias are his favorite.

October 20, 2019

Cool and comfortable, great material!!!

Cool and comfortable, great material!!!

October 18, 2019

Awesome color

Awesome! Though I do wish they made a shorter version for those of us who aren't using these as actual board shorts.

Response from Patagonia
October 30, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! Please note that we do offer the Wavefarer Boardshort in a [19" version](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-wavefarer-boardshorts-19-inch/86622.html?dwvar_86622_color=INBK&cgid=root&isSearch=true#tile-3=&q=wavefarer&lang=en_US&start=1&sz=24).

October 5, 2019

Never liked boardshorts--until now.

Look, I'm not going to pretend that I'm some bad assed surfer on here: I've done it a couple of times on a gigantic soft board but it was a total gas. Body surfing is my thing. But there was always something about a lack of a liner in the board shorts that bothered me, but I now have three pair of the Stretch Wavefarer board shorts b... Read Moreecause they fit so well, I don't think I need them. And the stretchy-ness makes them move with me whether I'm making a boss football catch over the pool, or I'm bending over struggling with my beach chair. They dry quickly--I mean really quickly including the waistband that always seems to hold water on other shorts. I highly recommend them. The zippered with pull string pocket is a super cool plus because it is placed in a way that conforms with your hip without making it look like you're carrying your wallet into the water.

September 26, 2019

Exceptional

Happy with everything. The process, the quality and fit. Thanks :)

September 23, 2019

They simply do not hold up well

I have worn the regular Wavefarer shorts for years, and they wear like iron. I still have a couple of pairs that are many years old. But the stretch version is terrible. I have two pairs of them that are about 2 years old each, and both of them have developed splits in the rear seam. I'm a thin, athletic guy, so it's not like my posterior... Read More is putting tremendous strain on the seams. I tossed the first pair a month ago when it split. Now I notice that my other pair is also coming undone at the seam. While the stretch material is a little more comfortable than the standard version, between them running smaller (I had to go up a size for the same fit) and the badly sewn seams, I recommend you skip the stretch and get the regular Wavefarers instead.

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2019

Hi Julian! We're sorry to hear the boardshorts aren't holding up. Feel free to send them in for a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We just ask that you wash them prior to sending them in.

September 16, 2019

Great Finish, Colors and Cut

Sizing runs small. Had to exchange my original order for 1" up in waist size..

September 15, 2019

Looks great, very comfortable

These can be a little difficult to put on (lack of stretch in waistband?) but they’re awesome once they’re on

September 13, 2019

Great looking shorts, but they’re

Great looking shorts, but they’re a bit long and wide, I am 5’8 135lbs

Response from Patagonia
September 25, 2019

Thank you for providing your feedback on this item! We're sorry to hear the fit wasn't quite right. Please note, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are always welcome to [Contact US](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) to initiate a [Return or Exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 13, 2019

Weird fit compared to a few years ago.

I'm 6'2", 185 lbs and consider myself fit. I've been wearing the Wavefarer short since 2013. Today's Wavefarer has definitely evolved away from the old fit. They went from a classic -- roomy but not quite baggy - fit in 2013, to a slimmer cut in 2016, to this fit, which feels baggy in the crotch but snug across the fly. Bec... Read Moreause it's stretchy, it doesn't feel as snug as it looks. I'll keep them because I like the colors/patterns, they were a good price, and I'll probably get used to them. If you're looking for the old Wavefarer, these are not them. I also sized up. In the old 2013 versions I was a consistent 34 which gave me a bit of room in the waist, but based on previous reviews, I ordered a 35 and they fit just a tad smaller than my 34's. But, again, they're stretchy so they don't feel as snug. Fingers crossed that Patagonia will bring back the original fit Wavefarer in a non-stretch fabric.

September 10, 2019

Great fit!

Great materials went into these great looking board shorts

September 9, 2019

Better Boardshort????? I don't think so

These boardshorts are awesome. The simply fit differently than the stretch planning but are just as good. The key differences are as follows - more stretch, a little longer leg and a smaller waist. So if you normally would be a 32 size up and go with the 33. They dry just a smidge slower than the stretch planning but who's complaining...they s... Read Moretill dry super fast and wear great. Keep up the good work Team Patagonia.

September 5, 2019

Board Shorts

These shorts run small so you may want to order a size up. Something I haven't experienced with other Patagonia products. Also they appear to be made very skimpy, time will tell how well they hold up.

September 4, 2019

Great board shorts

Best board shorts I've worn. Minimalist. I hardly notice the side pocket, but it's there if needed. They dry quickly and don't chafe. I found the different models of Patagonia board shorts fit differently at the waist. These felt true to size (34). Others were too tight or loose in the waist. If one model does not fit you, try anothe... Read Morer model in the same size.

September 4, 2019

Great experience

Overall my recent experience was positive. Quality products, sale price, updated delivery tracking information and products were as advertised.

September 3, 2019

Great Boardshort

Recently purchased these and really happy with the fit, comfort and style. I'm 6'1" and 195lbs and normally a 34x32 in Patagonia jeans but went with the 35 size waist in the shorts. It's a great fit that I'm really happy with. Allow free movement, not binding and you can easily transition them from the beach to dinner with ... Read Morea tee. Quality seems to be excellent as usual and glad I gave this style a chance.

September 1, 2019

No Issues

Just got my second & third pair of the Stretch Wavefarer. Had picked up a pair about two'ish years ago when the Patagonia logo was stitched in vs. the now sowed on patch: version 1 vs. version 2. The biggest change and not bad, just different, is version 2 has way more stretch in the legs than version 1. Thankfully the sizing is the same, ... Read MoreI think as we all know some Pata products fit one year and the next the same size is completely different, not so here. I would recommend these, they dry fast look great. Time will tell if they hold up, the butt stitching started to come apart on my version 1 pair, sent them in for repair, so all good, but for surf wear I would recommend heavier thread.

August 31, 2019

Sizing is way off

I ordered these for my 18 yr old son in a size 28 waist. This is the pant size he wears in AE brand. He actually wears a belt. This kid is skinny! He is 6’1”. These boardshorts look like they would fit a child. I got the ones with red stripes. The stripes look bleached by the sun, and appear pinkish. These are going back. I’m bummed because the sal... Read Moree price was killer.

August 29, 2019

Less than expected

The best board shorts that I have are Patagonia, so I bought a couple more. The stretch fabric “is not “ expected. The color was called out as orange, it’s almost pink. The pocket is on the back.....these shorts are going back

Response from Patagonia
September 6, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you weren't totally satisfied with these and we appreciate you taking the time to express your feedback. Please let us know if we can offer any [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

August 21, 2019

almost like wearing nothing at all

These are the most comfortable boardshorts I have ever worn....the 31" fit me perfectly and has just the right amount of stretch. They are ultralight and just feel great on. I wish I could live every day in them.

August 15, 2019

Stretch Wavefarer® Boardshorts - 21

Still as tough as the older versions, but now more freedom of movement!

August 15, 2019

Great Shorts

Durable, quick drying and good true fit

August 15, 2019

Love the product but inconsistent

Love the product but inconsistent sizing. Way too small compared to prior years.

August 15, 2019

Best Short

Live in Hawaii and spend a lot of time in the water. Shorts are excellent paddling & surfing. they stay put and dry fast.

August 11, 2019

Board shorts

Bought a size 32 online. They are much smaller than other size 32 shorts that I got from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
August 21, 2019

We're sorry to hear these ended up being too small. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us.

August 11, 2019

Amazingly comfortable and sleek looking.

Amazingly comfortable and sleek looking. My husband loves them and wears them at the lake all the time.

August 10, 2019

Nice but a little short

I’m 6’2”. The shorts were a little shorter than I prefer. Otherwise, everything was as advertised.

August 10, 2019

Board shorts

Best board shorts, period!

August 10, 2019

the best shorts

great shorts for the beach or any activity.....wore these hiking the Camino de Santiago and they were perfect...

August 10, 2019

Comfortable and durable trunks

Great feeling, stretch fabric . Super lite when wet, infinite range of motion. My favorite Patagonia trunks so far!

August 10, 2019

New ones

We live in the dusty, dirty, Baja desert and my husband wakes up and puts on trunks every day and every season. He wears them to work in, for kiting boarding, and to ride his quad to the local “hardware store” Each year I buy him a couple of new pair of Patagonia to actually wear in the water and then remind (nag) him if i catch him wearing the new... Read More ones to dig a hole or up on the roof fixing solar panels. “New ones” is all I have to call out. He’s got an entire shelf of paint splattered, oil stained old trunks that have been relegated as work trunks but only 2 of those are (15+ yr old) Patagonias. Most of his Patagonias never wear out enough to make it to the Work Shelf. We have to order everything online from the U.S. and wouldn’t have a way to return an order if there were problems. Thankfully it’s never an issue with Wavefarer boardshorts 21”- always extra durable, great fabrics, and the perfect length, fit. AND muchisimas gracias for making size 35!!! Cindy

August 10, 2019

Boardshorts - 21 Just don’t fit right....

There is such a big difference between 34 to 38 waists for your shorts that I settled with the 36 as the closest fit, but for active use, they hang off two much. The draw string is limited and doesn’t allow cinching beyond 36. Have you thought about sizes, 35, 37, etc, a more tapered top band that hugs the waist more, or a draw string that can pull... Read More the waist tighter. Thanks for the opportunity to respond.

June 14, 2019

My go-to for warm water surfing

I have 3-4 pairs of these and love the light stretch and fabric weight on these (a little bit heavier duty and not such a light fabric). The fabric durability is great but i seem to bust up the inseams on these after a season of regular use and need to get them restitched. As always, the policy is great there, but anything you can do would be great... Read More!

May 9, 2019

Fit and warmth

Outstanding. Simply the best.

May 8, 2019

My go to board shorts

I love these board shorts they look good and they are built well hopefully buying another pair soon

May 8, 2019

Comfortable

Great product, this is my 3rd pair and the other 2 still look just as new!

May 8, 2019

Great Shorts

I have several pairs of these board shorts and I love them. They are light weight and very comfortable.

May 8, 2019

Stretch Wavefarer Boardshorts

Got these a few weeks ago and stoked so far. Fit is good, they're comfortable, and seem so far like they'll be durable for a stretch board short, although time will tell. Glad they offered the longer 21" length.

March 11, 2019

Wavefarer Stretch

I’m a huge fan of the stretch and the normal wavefarer. This is a perfect love child between the two. I’ve had some great sessions this winter in Hawaii and the Stretch Wavefarer have worked super well.

February 15, 2019

if it aint broke, dont fix it

the wavefarer have been my go-to trunks for 20+ years. Consistency at its finest which is no longer the case. Patagonia changed their materials and also altered the cut. Very disappointed in the new wavefarer... felt like the waistline was tied up around my belly button. Ordered 3 pairs and will be returning all 3. Hold on to your old wavefarer&#x2... Read More7;s... these are not the same trunks. Sad day in America.

July 24, 2018

Sizing has changed

I have loved these shorts over the years. Some of my favorite active wear. However, the sizing has change in the last couple of years and no longer fits my body. Recently they switched the material used from a UPF 40 to UPF 50, as well as fair trade. All good changes but in do so the fit has changed completely. I just ordered a new pair in the same... Read More size I have always been and they no longer work for me. I am an avg size, 6' 195lbs, and haven't fluctuated much in the last few years. So, this isn't a review as to the quality of the product as much as it is a critique in the the way the product has changed with the new materials. If you have loved these in the past just know that it may not work for you any longer. Bummed.

May 10, 2018

A movable feast!

The stretch fabric is comfy in the water or out,moving with me in every direction,even doubling as a workout short. My only gripe is the suppleness of the fabric makes the portion over the button fly protrude in a somewhat eye-catching manner. If it really needs an "open-able" fly I suggest going back to good ol' hook and loop closur... Read Moree.

March 31, 2018

Snugger than the Original Wavefarer

I'm a board short junkie,have many "standard" patterned Wavefarer's and decided to grab a solid color. Did not realize I was ordering the stretch version,fit is much tighter/narrower through the legs,which offers significantly less water drag. So for my lap pool routine outstandingly great,no more water anchor,but just FYI there... Read More certainly is a snugness to them in the legs and your,well you know,privates...All around like them a lot,have not surfed with them yet.

March 29, 2018

Perfect but not perfect

Used these for about 10 days in the water last summer,then put two more weeks on them in Nicaragua before the seam along the back of the shorts quickly began to fall apart,opening an uninvited and inappropriate gap. Luckily I saw it when drying out the shorts and sew the panels back together on the run with a thick white thread and was ok for the r... Read Moreest of the trip. Shorts are normal fitting and unconstricting (I am relatively skinny),so I feel there is a QC or material issue (or bad luck) here in my case. Have had other Patagonia boardshorts and never run into this kind of problem. Otherwise shorts are quick-drying,featherlight (so perhaps not as bulletproof as more traditional materials),tend to stain a bit but nothing too bad,have just enough stretch and look good.

March 23, 2018

Pretty good board shorts

I've been hesitant to buy 'board shorts' as I never really cared for the drawstring closure in the front,but after trying a bunch of swimwear options,I actually liked these the best. The fit is great,it's awesome Patagonia offers them in a 35-inch waist. I feel like the fabric is a really nice weight,not too thick,and not too th... Read Morein. The only thing I'll mention is that they lycra stretch part of the fabric makes them take longer to dry completely,especially if you're in a humid environment. My recommendations for improvement would be to add another zip pocket on the back,and it would be nice to see the same short in a 23" length for a little more coverage. Lastly,as another reviewer mentioned,the stitching seems a little weak,i.e. low stitch-counts,relative to other Patagonia products. But overall still a good swim trunk.

March 15, 2018

Not like most of your products.

I've been and will remain a dedicated customer,for years I've enjoyed the wavefarer board shorts in length 21". I own 3 pairs and wear them like a second skin for a third of every year,to say I am impressed with the quality is an understatement. I noticed that you guys don't make that style anymore and sadly I've had to par... Read Moret with a pair of my beloved boardies due to wearing the heck out of them. So I gave the "new & improved " stretch wavefarers a try and was terribly disappointed. I've ripped them over 6 times in three months,the seams aren't stitched well and the fabric tears easily? I'm a big guy,you guys are one of the only companies that make clothes that fit my gorilla frame. And since your stuff lasts so long and you stand for purpose through transparency I am only hoping you will at some point bring back the tried and true original that won me over in the first place. Thank you for your time and for building such great stuff,most of the time. Cheers,Matt Kern

September 30, 2017

Stretch board shorts

Best board shorts ever! Question is,do I wear underwear or no underwear?

September 29, 2017

Battle Tested!

Board shorts were battle tested during The Irma,Hose,and Maria swells in Palm Beach Co,Fl. Board shorts are Good looking,comfortable,and have Good flex...and yes I am getting another pair.

September 25, 2017

Perfect board shorts

I've had two pairs of these board shorts for over two years now,and feel like I've worn them long enough to provide a review. They are extremely comfortable immediately and there are no uncomfortable seams or fit issues to cause chafing or discomfort. I like the button fly and the fact that the lace is permanently attached to the shorts. ... Read MoreEnough stretch to be used for working out and yoga,in addition to beach/pool wear. They are light weight,dry quickly and fit great,not too long or too loose. I'm 6'2" and the size 33 hits right above my knee. On a recent trip to the beach I hardly took them off and I was always perfectly comfortable. Perfect board shorts.

September 2, 2017

Stretch wavefarer

These have to be one of my favorite Patagonia trunks. Good fit for walking around swimming or surfing. Just the all around right length and width to enjoy and not be too loose or tight

August 26, 2017

Great functional water shorts

These shorts are great for any water related activity. Fit is true to size.

July 29, 2017

Love them

I honestly bought them so if I have a problem I can get them fixed... Patagonia so far has had the greatest customer service Ive ever had. Friendly,Knowledgeable and even helped with a time crunch shipping issue. I can not say enough,Love them. The only reason I gave this pair of shorts 4 stars is the fact the zipper loves to collect wax from my bo... Read Moreards lol. and the drawstring tie loosens from time to time (Like every other brand of shorts lol) so neither are deal breakers. I think I would just turn the zipper in the other direction to solve the problem but maybe there is a reason any way all Good Love you guys and thanks for caring about so many important human problems...

July 25, 2017

Do not discontinue or change!

I wear these board shorts for everything and everyday. Work,surf,workout,run and hike. They are great. Super comfortable and extremely functional. They dry fast and are comfortable when wet or dry. I live in a hot humid climate and they function well in all conditions. Please don't change them.

July 15, 2017

Great!!!

Great!!!Great!!!Great!!!Great!!!Great!!!Great!!!Great!!!

June 17, 2017

Workhorse

Kauai farm to surf utility. Drys fast strong fabric. Light. Feels good on. Had to return once. I'm a 34 in everything. Went to 36 and they fit perfect.

June 3, 2017

My search for the perfect board shorts is over

I hunted for ages for a good pair of "live-in" board shorts. I finally found that pair. My requirements were pretty simple: stretch,hip pocket (zipper is a plus),solid color,and wide enough to fit my thunder thighs. I wear these everywhere and actually are only the 2 pairs of shorts I own. I once lost a pair and immediately ordered a new ... Read Morepair. I wear these to squat at the gym,rock climb,yoga,running,cycle,surf,and sleep. The colors offered are inoffensive enough to wear out to the bar or grocery store and look just as normal there as on the beach. They are longer than the other options,and not super stretchy or light,but I think this will keep them from getting destroyed sooner. It's nice knowing Patagonia will repair these or recycle these for as long as possible. Great company,great mission,great shorts.

May 7, 2017

Great Stretch

I bought these board shorts for surfing and yoga. They are a great all-around short. Mahalo!

April 29, 2017

Great fit

These swim shorts are great for hiking to the hot springs. Completely dry before the drive home . Plenty of pocket for a day hike.

April 26, 2017

I Love that Stretch

So I noticed these have the same fabric as the Quandary pants. I used those pants all winter for my bike riding. I also used them for hiking through Ireland. They have performed beyond my expectations. So I took a leap of faith and bought these shorts to use as biking shorts. The material is extremely durable. The stretch they provide is really gre... Read Moreat for all movements. I could see these shorts being used for multiple activities. I recently road my bike through a really gnarly rain storm and while I put a rain jacket on I didn't put on my rain pants. The shorts were wet,but not soaking. They dried extremely fast. They wick moisture when it is really sunny as well. I will be buying another pair in the near future. Thank you for a super versatile short Patagonia.

April 8, 2017

Awesome board shorts

I have had several of these shorts. They are what I wear everyday -- surfing,swimming,snorkeling,working out,yard work,just bumming around. They are awesome - stretch well,durable,and dry fast... wouldn't want any other shorts!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches