Back to Product

Ms Torrentshell 3L Jacket

Write Your Review

4.7/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 180 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Torrentshell 3L Jacket

4.7/5
April 18, 2021

Great Fitting

I liked the feature on the website where I could determine the right fit for myself. The delivery was quick and smooth. The jacket has excellent fit.

April 17, 2021

Runs up armpit for Small

Everything was great and quality is high but the fit meant it run up my armpit and was immediately noticeable and distracting so I returned it. Great jacket though!

April 16, 2021

Performs well around the farm

This jacket does well when working around the horse pens in the rain. It keeps out the rain and keeps perspiration down if I wear a wicking shirt. The size is a bit big but I wanted to leave extra room for fleece when needed.

April 14, 2021

Functional, sharp and well made.

This bad boy has zippers exactly where you want them and installed with top notch quality. I love this piece for travel because it's thin and packable and when combined with another layer (sweater, etc.) it functions almost like a winter coat. Thanks patagonia. Great quality as usual.

April 14, 2021

Great Product BUT...

Great product, received in good time, very well made BUT no detailed instructions or product guide. For example, the photos show the product being able to be folded up inside itself so it can be packed away neatly. There's no guide or instructions on how to do this, nor can I work it out :-/ I'd also like to know more about it's c... Read Moreonstruction and the provenance of the materials used. How eco friendly they are - where they are manufactured. What standards are the workforce given, etc.

April 12, 2021

Durable, Comfortable

Wore on a recent backpacking trip in Badlands NP. Withstood rain and freezing rain and 40+ mph winds. It also withstood mud, gravel without any abrasions or tears. My only reason for not giving a 5 star rating is the sleeve length. If you are tall, slim build, the shoulders and chest are good but the sleeves may be 1/2 to1 inch short. A "tall... Read More" option for this coat would be great.

April 12, 2021

Dry for days

I purchased this coat last minute before a 4 day camping trip after the forecast turned for the worst. It rained for four days in Newport park, WI, but I was able to keep dry using this coat. My only complaint is the hood and pockets. Hood blocks vision and is difficult to sinch, and there is no chest pocket. Other than that the coat is awesome, an... Read Mored the water proof technology works great!

April 11, 2021

Good product!

Good product!

April 10, 2021

Warm and dry

Good fit and keeps me warm and dry. Pit zips work great for regulating my temp.

April 9, 2021

Great product, the buckwheat gold

Great product, the buckwheat gold colour is 🔥 🔥 🔥

April 9, 2021

Great quality

Love the style and how breathable the coat is and well built too.

April 8, 2021

Great

A really great jacket. I got it for my husband and he loves it. Highly recommend!

April 8, 2021

Very dry rain jacket

I bought this as a more durable rain jacket for cool weather activities. I like that its a bit oversized so I can layer a down sweater and other base clothing for the winter. I love the breathability and the pit zips it lets lots of moisture out to keep you dry. It is very waterproof and has kept me dry in the heaviest of storms so far. Its a litt... Read Morele heavy compare to my pertex shell I carry 3 season backpacking, but it is much more durable. Highly recommended.

April 7, 2021

A great rain jacket for everything

A great rain jacket. It runs a little slim in the body. However, it fits true to size. Just went hiking in the Ozarks and it kept my dry and breaths well in the humidity.

April 5, 2021

Very versatile!

This rain gear fits well. It is a great over layer and it works well on windy days!

April 5, 2021

Lightweight & watertight

Good for layering in cool weather; breathes well in warm

April 4, 2021

Perfect

I think each adult in our family has this jacket. We experience a lot of rain on Kauai & this jacket is perfect to handle the conditions!!

April 3, 2021

Light-weight and dry

As a fly-fishing guide in Florida I need a minimalist jacket for our frequent rain showers. The newly-designed Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket folds into a quart-sized sandwich bag and deploys in seconds with the upgraded snag-proof zipper. Snug over-the-cap hood adjustment is quick, and velcro wrist straps keep water from running up my sleeves. Undera... Read Morerm vents are a nice touch for keeping cool while wading, casting, or poling the skiff. Jacket runs large to accommodate layering. If using in hot-weather select one size down. I am 6'2'' with a 42" chest and wear a M. The jacket keeps me dry and doesn't take up much valuable storage space. I'm very satisfied with the Torrentshell 3L jacket and recommend it to my clients and friends.

April 3, 2021

surprisingly waterproof

Nice jacket, passed the "keeping me dry" test with ease. The wrists holes are a bit big but adjustable with the velcro. The hood is a little to ridged. All in all I am pleasantly surprised with the quality for the price. First time buying Patagonia and I would recommend and buy again.

April 3, 2021

Great.

Perfect

April 2, 2021

A Little Long in the Sleeves

Looks well-made and as long it is truly waterproof, it will do. Now I have one small problem - how do you get it to stuff itself in the left pocket? I can't figure it out.

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2021

Hi Hermann, thanks for your feedback! Please know, if the sleeve length doesn't work out, we are happy to help with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). For further assistance on the self-stuff feature, please [contact](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) our customer service team for detailed guidance.

April 2, 2021

amazing quality !!

the jacket arrives quickly and it's such a hi-quality item . keeps my dry and stops the wind too

April 1, 2021

Replacement coat

I had a version of this coat made of some special cotton fabric. It was my favorite go-to. This is about the same design, but it is a noisy coat. I appreciate that this is warm and good in the rain. The fabric just makes too much noise.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2021

Hey there, thank you for the review! We have never made the Torrentshell out of cotton as cotton retains moisture and this is a waterproof jacket. If you can locate item information on the old jacket you had, you may be able to find one on our [Worn Wear website](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/) where we sell lightly used gear from past seasons. Have a look!

March 31, 2021

Dry Days

Great jacket - bought larger size so I could wear a light vest under. On down point is the arms run a little long.

March 31, 2021

I love this rain shell

The Patagonia Torrent was already a great jacket and they made it even better by making it a 3L jacket. When I first put hands on it I couldn't believe it was 3L because it didn't feel any heavier than the old Torrent shell. Patagonia hit the ball out of the park on this jacket.

March 31, 2021

Jacket's great. I'm a tough fit.

I like the weight and the materials. I'm 5'6" and ~175# so a loose fit is comfortable. The medium was a little too snug for a rain coat. Large is better, however the sleeves are longish. I appreciate the velcro, but not having to size the sleeves every time I put it on would be better (elastic...?). The hood goes a bit sloppy too. ... Read MoreAdvice: Be slightly bigger than me. Or smaller.

March 28, 2021

Epic jacket

Light, comfortable and stylish. It’s a handsome jacket this!

March 28, 2021

Great lightweight waterproof for casual or serious use

Nice fitting and lightweight jacket that keeps you dry

March 25, 2021

Layers

I have used a previous version of this coat for over 10 years and loved it. I put this over several base layers. This version runs small but once I got the right size ( I use to have a medium and this fits the same) I am up and hiking in all wether again.

March 25, 2021

Exchanged for a smaller size.....

Ordered a XL first, exchanged for a L. The exchange process was easy and reliable. The XL was too long in the arms and body length. Had a bunching affect in the middle of the body. Got the L and it's tighter in the underarms and chest now. Its a great jacket and very well made. Could use a size in between sizes.....

March 24, 2021

it's a rainjacket

Looks good, keeps dry.

March 24, 2021

Great Jacket

Great jacket, well made and good fit.

March 23, 2021

Perfect everyday plus out in the woods rain jacket

I am very happy with this purchase. So far the jacket has been keeping dry during long walks in the city and some hiking trips during these last days of the Swedish winter.

March 23, 2021

Good fit and finish

Jacket exactly met my requirements

March 23, 2021

Good jacket

Nice jacket in overall

March 23, 2021

Lovely rain coat

Very lightweight. Fits true to size

March 23, 2021

Rain? No, thanks : )

When air temperature is not a problem but you need to protect yourself from the rain, this jacket is the perfect solution. 100% recommendable.

March 23, 2021

perfect

Love how it looks like on a person, and feels very good wearing it

March 23, 2021

Top quality product

Super jacket that achieves exactly what i was looking for

March 22, 2021

Light and water resistant!

Another great product by Patagonia, water proof and breathable, timeless look and very durable.

March 21, 2021

Tough to fit

I'm 5'8", 165 lbs, have a 40" chest and a 35" sleeve length. All arms and shoulders. The medium was sized as 34" sleeve length and 40" chest. Sleeves fit but the chest was tight under the arms. Exchanged it for LG and the chest fit , but the sleeves were long. It's a bit blousey. Well that's what you get... Read More trying to fit a nonstandard body into standardized clothing.

March 20, 2021

It Fits!

I typically wear a small and ordered this jacket accordingly. The small was enormous. So I ordered the XS and it fits perfectly. Happy with the materials used, the construction and fit are on the money. Great jacket!

March 20, 2021

Keeps me dry

Lightweight but waterproof provides all the protection I need on rainy days.

March 16, 2021

Great rain jacket

Got the new version as part of Patagonias solid product guarantee as my older version had some issues with the inside liner peeling away. The updated version of this coat appears more solid on the inside and I anticipate wearing this one for decades. Love my Patagonia clothing and their mission!

March 10, 2021

Like it

Seems like a good rain coat. A little crackly but overall pleased

March 8, 2021

Durable material

Material feels thicker than the typical rain jacket, which makes it feel more durable. The oversized hood keeps the elements at bay. Very solid purchase.

March 7, 2021

Beautifully Made

Highly recommended. The Torrentshell Rain Jacket is a great Patagonia design. Fits very well and just a good, basic jacket for wet weather protection. The Blue color is also awesome, colorful without being too much.

March 7, 2021

A bit noisy material

How do I soften it up?

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Hey David, thanks for the feedback on that and we are sorry for the noise. This may begin to soften up with time; however, if you'd like to try something else that's a bit more buttery, you can take a look at our [Rainshadow Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-rainshadow-waterproof-jacket/85115.html?dwvar_85115_color=SPRB&cgid=mens-jackets-vests-rainwear).

March 6, 2021

Great fit, breathable, keeps you dry

I wanted a jacket that would keep me dry during warmer months without feeling like I was wearing a sweat lodge on my back. Vents in the pits are key. Im usually between a medium and large, glad I got the large. Fits great.

March 4, 2021

Size up for those with expanded guts

I have an "expanded gut"; I hike, just slowly. Still, reading the reviews, originally chose an XL. The XL was tight, not only in the gut, but also in the shoulders. No room for layering underneath. Exchanged for an XXL. The XXL fit great, loose enough for layering underneath and did not feel constricting. Yes, the XXL allows more "in... Read Moreside" air, but given the hem cords, not a problem for me.

March 4, 2021

Awesome

This fit perfectly. Very light weight for when it gets warm. I have wide shoulders and this fit me perfectly so for a more typical build it will have a little extra room.

March 3, 2021

Perfect fit

Fast shipping, perfect fit

March 1, 2021

Nice jacket

This jacket does its job and looks nice too. I will recommend it.

March 1, 2021

Just a great little jacket

This jacket represents everything you want and need in a rain jacket. It protects from wind. Cherry on top: the zippers on the armpits.

February 28, 2021

It's dry

Purchased this rain jacket to replace one from Bean that had started to delaminate after use. I have worn Patagonia stuff for years and still own and wear the first fleece jacket that I bought in the early 80's. So far this jacket has done well in keeping me dry on my morning walks in mild to moderate rain. Pit zips help vent some heat. No lea... Read Moreks so far but no hard rain yet. My only disappointment (reason for 4/5 stars) with the jacket is the lack of either a outside breasts pocket or inside pockets to store a phone or other things . Somehow I missed that when ordering. I know more pockets could mean more seams to seal or leak but at least one inside pocket would be nice. Would still recommend the jacket.

February 28, 2021

New features

Bought this to replace my nine-year-old torrent shell size large which has been great but waterproof lining peeling away. Size large in new model bit too big so got the medium which fits fine. Able to wear over down vest or nano puff jacket just fine. Also looks better with just a shirt than the old model did. Also like the new features.

February 28, 2021

Best rain jackets

I am between 6'1 and 6'2, and bought an XL as my shoulders are broad and it fits fairly well though a bit baggy around the waist. Not a bad thing as I can layer more if needed. I had an "old" 2.5 layer Torrentshell and the 3L version is much better and much more comfortable especially while being more active (2.5 layer gets a bi... Read Moret sticky against skin when sweaty, 3L does not) and the pit zips are great for shedding heat, especially for someone like me who tends to run warmer anyway.

February 27, 2021

Aptly Named

Light weight and packable. This jacket is aptly named. I've worn it out in a torrential rain and felt well protected. Order your regular size.

February 27, 2021

Super cute, super warm

Love the style and the fit. Doesnt look or feel bulky when worn with other layers underneath. Perfect for a neighborhood walk, windy hike, and even for sunny ski days!

February 25, 2021

Just what you need

Great wind breaker & rain jacket!

February 25, 2021

Fits perfectly

Originally bought a Large size but realized it was too big. Thankfully the customer service is top notch and they helped me get an exchange despite the stock being basically non-existent. Anyhow, the product is amazing. It fits perfectly. Love the look and extra strings near the hood to tighten it to cover the head/face area when its pouring down.... Read More The only con would be that theres no inner pocket to store your phone or keys or credit card if you were to do that. It just so happened that the time I was wearing it while it was pouring rain, I couldnt put my phone in my jeans cuz they were wet and I couldnt use the other pockets in the jacket cuz of storing other things. Inner pocket or extra zipper pocket would be good. But to sum it all, its Patagonia and its a great product.

February 24, 2021

Great fit and super warm

I bought the blue and red and love the color blocking. The pit vents are great, and it fits awesome! Highly recommend. We own several Patagonia jackets (nano and rain) and love this products.

February 24, 2021

Light

My husband liked it. The shoulder is tight.

February 24, 2021

As expected

Fit is a little snug. I am 59 and 170 lbs. Seems I am between a large and a medium, so no fault of the manufacturer. Being in Hawaii, Im not likely to be wearing much under it, so it will serve its purpose.

February 24, 2021

Just want we wanted

Purchased this jacket for my husband's birthday. He had already worn out his last one (not made by Patagonia) and was recommended to use Patagonia. It's exactly want he wanted and is delighted by it.

February 23, 2021

Must have jacket

Best jacket within this price category.

February 22, 2021

Great Jacket

blocks wind and rain and looks great

February 22, 2021

Keeps me dry

I use it as a light weight rain jacket.

February 20, 2021

Excellent jacket

Very impressed so far. Lovely for and cut. Waterproofing is spot on.

February 18, 2021

Sleeves way too long

Im returning it. Seems nicely constructed but the sleeves are at least an inch too long, maybe two. Ive never seen this in a jacket before. So weird. As nice as a coat as it seems, I know that the sleeves will annoy me and I wont wear it.

February 15, 2021

Best coat ever

So pleased with this coat. I was after a coat that was waterproof but allowed me to breathe & not sweat too much. Out in all weathers recently this coat has kept me warm & dry. I find I don't need stacks of layers even in the cold. Just get moving & I'm warm. A great buy. Highly recommend.

February 15, 2021

Rain jacket : very effective

Has been very effective for the short time I have had owned it. I prefer the older styles: web lining, dual zippers, more flexible outer layer. I began purchasing Patagonia products on a regular basis in the early 1980s. Have never had a bad experience.

February 12, 2021

Nice product, light and waterproof.

Nice product, light and waterproof. It fits perfectly

February 11, 2021

Very Comfortable

Haven't had to use it in the rain yet but is very comfortable to wear and keeps me surprisingly warm

February 10, 2021

Excellent jacket

I wear this jacket everyday. Im in a warm climate and this is a perfect winter jacket for me. Especially like the armpit vents which keep me cool. I wish there was a way to roll hood up though.

February 9, 2021

Better every year

The Torrentshell jacket is a classic that gets better every year.

February 7, 2021

Great Fit

Wore this for the first time in the rain and worked exactly as advertised. Very comfortable and fit well.

February 6, 2021

Hiking in driving rain

This is perfect gear for rain. It is light enough to carry in a small pouch before the rain comes. The hood fits snugly. It is also perfect as a windbreaker.

February 6, 2021

I needed to size up

First to admit, my belly line larger than my chest, but I do hike, can be out all day, and I'm not afraid of rain; I'm not sugar, I don't melt. I wear an XL in shirt/jacket/coat size from any other manufacturer. However, this XL jacket on me was tight, even with just a light weight shirt on. Trying to layer would be RESTRICTING. I tr... Read Moreied, both with a sweatshirt and with a LIGHT down jacket. In both cases the jacket was extremely tight both across the front and in the shoulders. Thinking I might have expanded while on stay-at-home, I tried on a different rain jacket from another company. That one was not restricting, plenty of "front" room. I understand you don't want a lot of room inside for cold air, but this jacket does have a waist draw. So, thanks to Patagonia's exchange policy, I promptly sent back the XL for an XXL.

February 5, 2021

Nice Fit! 3 layers!

The 3 layers and other reviews of hikers in the pnw for top rain coats 2021 sold me on this! Its a little crinkly on the outside, Inside is nice, but oh well. Would be nice to have a zip inside pocket like my other brand. Fits very comfortably.

February 3, 2021

Amazing Jacket

Excellent quality product and service

January 31, 2021

Great jacket

Great jacket

January 31, 2021

Great waterproof

I've used this waterproof for 2 downpours and it has done a good job keeping me dry. The only issue is that the water seems to gather around the wrists after a long periods in the rain, but I suppose thats to be expected

January 27, 2021

Small pockets and no inside

Small pockets and no inside pocket either :(

January 27, 2021

Excellent

Received in two days. High quality product throughout

January 27, 2021

Amazing Rain Jacket - Light and durable

Excellent jacket that folds up into a small light package. Side vents work brilliant. The waterproof H2NO works perfectly. The adjustable hood is well made and effective. The windproof pockets work well. And... All the zips are indeed snag proof. The only thing that frustrated me a tiny bit is that the zip is on the other side than what I am used t... Read Moreo. But that's something I will get used to

January 27, 2021

Super Dry

Great all around light weight jacket with solid wind and rain protection. The only improvement Id recommend is the addition of an inside pocket.

January 26, 2021

Great coat but it runs small.

Continuing with Patagonia's apparent move to sizing everything towards thin men the large had to be exchanged for an XL. I am 5'10" and 190 lbs with a bigger chest and shoulders. The XL is too big for me but at least I can fold my arms in front of me or wear a layer under it. Overall I love the coat though!

January 26, 2021

Great coat but it runs small.

Continuing with Patagonia's apparent move to sizing everything towards thin men the large had to be exchanged for an XL. I am 5'10" and 190 lbs with a bigger chest and shoulders. The XL is too big for me but at least I can fold my arms in front of me or wear a layer under it. Overall I love the coat though!

January 26, 2021

Decent bit of kit

Decent waterproof which seems well built and definitely better quality than other similar priced competitors

January 26, 2021

Perfect

Great jacket,i uses this pretty much as. My daily jacket here in rainy wales, good fit, packs down into its own pocket, good weight pocket sizes are big nd can hold a lot of stuff. Vented arm pits to keep you cool. Great colour options

January 26, 2021

Great jacket. Protects from wind

Great jacket. Protects from wind and rain. I use it mainly for cycling and the underarm zips are a godsend to help regulate temperature. Breathable so you don't feel clammy while wearing.

January 25, 2021

First layer defense in wind and wet.

Good shell for layering especially in windy or wet conditions.

January 24, 2021

Excellent quality

Great jacket. Very well made. Its totally waterproof.

January 22, 2021

Excellent at giving the people's elbow to rain

Great!

January 20, 2021

Definitely the toughest rain jacket I've owned

Fortunately (unfortunately for you) I've yet to use this jacket in a downpour but I have taken it on a couple of winter backpacking trips. First off, the jacket is incredibly tough. As someone who is used to ultra-light jackets, having a jacket I don't have to worry about ripping is fantastic! Second, the jacket is shockingly warm. I thin... Read Morek this is due to the three-layer design. Most of the time this is a good thing but it does result in a pretty bulky jacket when you're trying to stuff it in your pack. It also makes the jacket more prone to sweat when active. Patagonia attempted to combat this with the pit-zips, which I usually keep open 24/7 in an attempt to combat the sweats though usually to no avail. Overall, for backpacking, I think this jacket is a little overkill unless your backpacking in hurricane season or the dead of winter. I did however find this jacket to be immensely useful above tree-line when wind chills were far too much for your typical rain jacket.

January 18, 2021

Excellent Product!

You seriously can't go wrong with this jacket. The best waterproof I've ever bought. Fantastic for traveling/hiking.

January 14, 2021

Excellent garment

Very pleased with the quality of the fabric and the details of manufacture. Great color and style. The weight is perfect.

January 13, 2021

Perfect for me

I bought this after seeing it in REI about three months ago. The fit is good for me, but Im slim (155 pounds) for my hight (510). Id try it on in store if you can before buying just to make sure. Ive worn it in snow and rain and have no complaints about water resistance so far. It packs very well for what it is capable of and has well thought out f... Read Moreeatures. I will note that the inside material does feel a little weird on the skin (if you wear it stand-alone) but it is easy enough to get used too. Buy if: you want a water resistant almost water proof jacket that layers and breaths pretty good too

January 10, 2021

Great fit

Great fit for me. Havent used it in the rain yet. A bit pricey but seems to be well made.

January 8, 2021

Great rain gear

This was a great Christmas gift. I plan to wear it golfing but havent had a chance to do that yet. I love the fit. Great quality.

January 8, 2021

Dependable Lightweight Repeatable Performance

I have had several similar Jackets from Patagonia and it is the one item I never ask them to fix. I buy them for my wife as well. If you are layered up good under it you can survive a lot and keep your powder dry. When the jacket finally quits working, it is not because the zipper failed. I wear these out; and it takes me about two years to do it. ... Read MoreThey don't tear or have a part quit working; they just slowly fall prey to blackberries and sunscreen; and they quit working a little at a time until you go out one day and get a new one and throw the old one in your trunk, freshly washed and compressed in a seal-a- meal bag. And it makes shopping easy because you know you can count on it. I wear medium clothes but I like to have this jacket in a large because I am usually wearing it over at least three layers; and one of them may be a big thick fishing sweater. It has the velcro adjustments at the cuff so you can put on motorcycle gloves and run the coat over the glove cuffs. Great on a Blackbird in the Rain.

January 8, 2021

Perfect water shield

This thing is definitely waterproof and perfect! I absolutely love the pacific blue color! Its so bright and makes me happy(:

January 7, 2021

good so far

Casual wear these days- the yellow color is helpful now as I take a lot of nighttime walks (after a now-retired career where everything I wore had to be dark). I haven't had a real rainstorm test, but have been happy w a much-older tech fabric from Pata that used H2No material. The breathability and wind protection-big selling points for me, a... Read Morend pit zips, sold. I only wish there was a pocket or two on the thing- one inside at least to keep a phone or wallet dry but convenient.

January 1, 2021

Lightweight

Waterproof and lightweight

January 1, 2021

Perfect Outer Layer

My go to outer later when there is any possibility of rain or snow. I wear a size M in all Patagonia products and this jacket fits good and has enough room to fit both a down layer on top of a fleece under layer. Just wore it skiing for the first time and it held up perfectly! Definitely recommend, good for the price.

December 30, 2020

light weight

Bought this for my son for Christmas and he loves it.

December 30, 2020

Perfect raincoat

Love it

December 30, 2020

A great jacket and pants, but with some glitches

I have purchased Patagonia products in the past and have always been very well satisfied with the general look, feel, and functionality. I purchased the 3L rain jacket and rain pants recently. I am generally satisfied with them, except for a few items. The zipper on the jacket tends to get bound up in the fabric when zipping up and down, so I need ... Read Moreto always be very careful when pulling the zipper up and down so as not to get it bound up and stuck. Other Patagonia coats I have had much better zipper design. Patagonia messed up with this zipper design. An inside pocket would have been a nice design feature to stash an iPhone, glasses, etc. A size between M and L would have been good as well. The medium is too tight for me and the L feels like I am wearing a tent. I generally wear a size 42 jacket. The rain pants are great, but have no pockets to stash keys, etc. These few additions and fixes would have earned a terrific rating from me.

December 27, 2020

Love the feel and color

This is my first time purchasing and brought as a gift for our son. He loved the look and feel of the jacket.

December 27, 2020

Great rain jacket

Super rain jacket albeit a bit pricey and it fits kind if snugly. I wear a hoodie underneath when outside this time of year and find it just fits snugly,normally I up size one size to XL, it should have been XXL. I am tall and thin. The jacket itself is superb at rain protection and comfortable.

December 26, 2020

Need a hardshell? Buy this one

Love it. When you first put it on it feels like it will keep rain off forever despite weighing little and packing down to nothing. If you need a no frills, waterproof jacket with a normal (ie you don't wear a helmet) hood then this is the one. I'm normally a medium but I got a large as it fits better (do ask the ever helpful Patagonia cus... Read Moretomer service for the dimensions if you are unsure). One really neat and thoughtful feature is the flap which folds itself over the main zip to keep the rain out. This is a jacket to keep in your bag for a rainy day. On really rainy days I wear it over a 1994 Patagonia shelled capilene jacket which sadly you can't buy anymore but which works so so well when working hard in the mountains. Nothing can get through the shelled capilene with the Torrentshell on top. Highly recommended.

December 23, 2020

Keeps you dry

I was out in the woods, walking with my dog, on a rainy afternoon. I was wearing a nano puff jacket and decided I needed an actual rain jacket. After the torrentshell jacket arrived, I wore it out on a rainy walk. It kept me perfectly dry. And because its Patagonia, I wont have to buy another rain jacket again.

December 22, 2020

Good

It works and looks great

December 19, 2020

Exceptional rain jacket

So been rocking this jacket for a couple years now. Working as a plant ecologist in the Swiss Alps brings harsh field working conditions at times. Never gotten wet with this purchase. Love the features like the pit zip vents, the hood cinch and the little visor. Too bad I ripped some holes in it snowboarding in the park. Still works fine though, ex... Read Morecept for that right pocket, should probably get that fixed and then I'm sure it'll last many more years enjoying life in the mountains. And the cities, or anywhere for that matter. Overall Patagonia product lives up to its name: One night I had to sit it out in the pouring rain, doing Wim Hof breathing and deep meditation to keep me warm, the next day when returning home my Torrentshell jacket was soaked, but all my layers underneath bone dry!

December 15, 2020

Fantastic wind/rain stopper

Great for a windy, rainy day - stops all moisture in its tracks, while retaining a decent amount of breathability. Good length to it as well, covering taller bodies.

December 13, 2020

Great rain jacket

Great rain protection. Jacket kept me dry as a bone in a heavy downpour.

December 10, 2020

Improve

Like the 3 ply, feels more durable and windproof. Needs a Chest pocket, reverse coil zipper...invaluable. Not crazy about the zipper shield, to much material...just put waterproof zippers; Cost issue?

December 7, 2020

Ill fitting

Under the arms were to snug and the sleeves were long. No way could I fit even a sweater underneath. For about 10 years the sizing is hit or miss.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2021

We appreciate the time you took to provide feedback. We're sorry to hear that sizing has been a consistent issue and if you'd find it helpful, we're happy to provide more specific measurements of alternate sizes or items via email. That said, if it still doesn't work for you we can take that back as a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 6, 2020

Rain coat

Good for Seattles rain. Decent hood.

December 6, 2020

Great jacket

This is the best jacket I have had

December 5, 2020

Awesome Jacket

I could pass up the awesome deal on this jacket. I should say that Im a small built female and its a little big, but I expected it and didnt know the male to female size ratio. This jacket is awesome! I would absolutely purchase it again. I get a ton of compliments every time I wear it and its perfect for downpours. I hate umbrellas.

December 3, 2020

Great Jacket

No complaints whatsoever. I read a lot of reviews before buying this jacket and Im not disappointed in any way. The fit is great, water beads up on the surface, and the material feels tough. Some rain jackets are like a plastic bag; the lamination of the material on this one is very nice, feels a lot more durable than a cheap jacket. The hood has a... Read More great design as well, with a little brim to keep the rain off your face. I live in the Pacific Northwest, so we get a solid 6 months of rain and you really need good protection that you can wear every day. If you are on the fence, just get it. You wont regret it.

December 3, 2020

Roomy and waterproof

Plenty of room for layering while not being too large. Great color, stylish and very waterproof.

December 3, 2020

Warm

I tried tge small but found it kinda restricting my movement. Plus when I commute to work on bike I what something to cover my butt. So I bought the M size. Also the S size was tight in the shoulder. Happy with my M size. Plus is ya have bulky layer underneath. The S size would be too small for me at least

December 2, 2020

Great rain gear

I bought this jacket for my husband. Hes had several and this one is his favorite. Patagonia keeps improving this jacket. Hes up on all the tech on outdoor gear and he loves it. In fact I just bought my mother one as well.

December 1, 2020

Perfect for Everyday

I love this jacket and where it everyday when the temperature is appropriate to do so (32 - 65 Degrees Fahrenheit).

December 1, 2020

High quality jacket expect many years use

I purchased this to use as my exercise outer layer and replace a less expensive vinyl jacket. I wear a wicking base layer, fleece layer, and outer shell, adding layers as seasonally required. The previous outer shell was not vented and during use moisture built up between the fleece and outer shell. I purchased this jacket because it is described a... Read Mores breathable. The jacket works as expected and the moisture buildup I was previously experiencing no longer happens. However, I assumed breathable meant it was made of a semi permeable material (solely my own ideation, the description does not imply that). Its just a well constructed, heavy vinyl jacket with zippered openings under the arms. But it works and I am happy with my purchase.

November 30, 2020

waterproof?

I bought this rain jacket because a magazine gives it an excellent rating. But this morning I walked in a mild rain for about 40 minutes in a park, and I am all soaked particularly sleeves. Not sure if I got a defect product, and I am very disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2020

We are incredibly sorry to hear about this! Please know you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) an item that does not meet your expectations.

November 30, 2020

Too plastic feeling. Too crisp to the touch. All for recycle and love Patagonia. Big fan. The fabric needs to move a little more easily.

Good luck. Love Patagonia products and philosophy - will continue to support!

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this jacket didn't work out for you and we appreciate the feedback on the feel of the fabric. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this one back to us and we are happy to help with an exchange or refund.

November 12, 2020

Awesome rain coat

My son loves it. Its light weight and keeps him dry when its raining at school and he said it also keeps him warm if its chilly!!!

November 11, 2020

Fun and Fitted

I truly enjoy this jacket.

November 11, 2020

Inferior material compared to my 15-year-old Patagonia shell

Having bought Patagonia products since 1975, I am incredulous that, with all the urban customers they've courted since being merely a climber's store, the jackets/fleeces/vests are still way too short. If you're fly-fishing or climbing or skiing, you want a short jacket - if you're doing most anything else, especially working ou... Read Moretdoors as I have done all my life, you want a longer size. I have had to buy men's sizes because they aren't so tiny and they allow layering - but this jacket is just too flimsy compared to my old rain-jacket. And still too short! At least you brought back the mango colour after all these years!! Make more men's gear in bright colours, please - no one wants to wear grim colours in grey winter weather.

November 10, 2020

Perfect length, and solid build

Im 64 with a somewhat athletic build. Its very tough finding anything that fits properly. Sh*! From socks to jeans to t-shirts, etc. Some of my v-necks poke out the bottoms of this jacket, however any button up or halfway formal shirt works great. Its very lightweight and service its purpose incredibly well. I live in Portland OR and tend to run ho... Read Moret in general so a solid, lightweight and completely waterproof shell that fit nicely was a must and took a chance. Every manufacturers classic fit or whatever they call it varies widely. Being 64 230lbs, and for $150 I think I paid full price and its well worth it. I bought the orange-ish colored one. Its a solid color. Nothing crazy. Highly recommend!

November 6, 2020

overpriced

No liner, way too expensive, so far, keeps me dry. Hope it lasts, as it will take many years for it's value to work out.

November 4, 2020

Superb Lightweight Jacket

This jacket is perfect for rainy or windy weather. Easily a 3-season jacket. Wouldn't recommend using below 50° especially if you don't have many layers on underneath. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

November 3, 2020

Great

Fits great keeps me dry

November 3, 2020

Much Better than the Previous Torrentshell

I love this jacket. Only having it two weeks on an 800 mi river journey, we had a variety of conditions in Southern Alabama. It's very wind resistant. We were working outside during the remnants of Hurricane Zeta and I was dry. It's a superb wind shell as well. BTW, I like the look.

November 2, 2020

Comfortable

I feel that my arm size is long. Everything else is comfortable

November 2, 2020

Perfect Basics

This is the jacket I take with me everywhere. It lives in my bag. I've snow skied in it. Hiked in it. Rain jacket. Shell over other jackets. Commuter biked in it. It's perfect.

November 2, 2020

Versatile Rain Shell

Finally replaced an old worn out shell with this. The material is more substantial and comfortable than my other shells were. Windproof and rainproof. The cut is not to baggy, not too slim. Room for a mid layer underneath. Two minor quibbles- I wish that there was a chest pocket, even a simple internal one. The storm flaps are right over left, inst... Read Moreead of left over right, which is a bit weird. I have been wearing this shell regularly and am very happy with it.

October 31, 2020

Tight in the body and arms

Bought this for casual wear, spring skiing, and as a backup rain layer for hunting in the Northeast, primarily. I'm 5'11 and 170 pounds. 34/32 Levi's 501 buttoning fly. 41/42 dress jacket. Dress shirt size is 16/34. This jacket has good length in the body and arms, but not much room for layers. I could wear maybe two base layers unde... Read Morer it comfortably. Not a 200 fleece or primaloft insulated layer over base layer or two. Maybe a down sweater, but those are not my preferred route. There isn't enough room in the chest, even though the body is fine. And, the arm hole is cut too small, or too low (shoulder slope), which interferes with articulation, for example, when driving or putting your arms above your head. Would have worked for me, except for fit.

September 30, 2020

Kept me dry on the Superior Hiking Trail

Brought this jacket along with me on a backpacking trip on the SHT; it kept me dry all weekend while it rained almost constantly. It fits a little big, but that is good for layering underneath for cold, rainy weather in MN. I am 5'8, 185 lbs and size large fit with room to layer. Nice and lightweight/packable.

September 16, 2020

Improved but....

This seems to be more substantial than the older Torrentshells but I have two complaints. The sleeves are a couple of inches too long for me. This is a problem I have with a lot of the newer jackets I have gotten from other brands as well, so maybe my arms are shrinking? The other thing is a very cantankerous zipper. The fabric from the flap keeps ... Read Morecatching in the zipper with this and other Patagonia raincoats as well.

September 15, 2020

Great Rain Layer!!

Love this rain shell and get too much use out of it in the PNW! Fits great with or without a layer underneath. My only thing is I wish the length was a touch longer in the back to cover the rear. Other than that, gets the job done.

September 9, 2020

Sheds the rain and keeps you dry

I like this jacket because it keeps me dry in the summer rain

September 7, 2020

Torrent shell rain jacket

I walk my dogs every day, rain or shine. The Patagonia rain jacket keeps me dry without moisture buildup inside. Exceeds expectations.

September 4, 2020

Comfortable and Good Fit

Not too stiff or noisy for the amount of rain and wind protection. Roomy enough to accommodate layers while still being a good fit over just a single layer.

September 1, 2020

Loving the update

Always been a big fan of the Torrentshell, the recent updates have made it even better. Definitely a go-to jacket if rains in the forecast.

August 30, 2020

Solid jacket with sizing problems

I've been looking for a new rain jacket recently and having always had great experiences with Patagonia, I hoped this would be the one but sadly, it was not. The jacket is light, comfortable, and looks great but the sizing was a big issue for me. I've consistently worn a medium in jackets for many years with few issues, this one had a bit... Read More of an odd fit on me. I'm 5'10" with fairly broad shoulders and this is rarely an issue with jackets except with this one, I could barely move my arms with how tight the jacket was in the shoulders. The other problem was the sleeves, which came halfway down my fingers when my arms were straight down. Unfortunately, this one had to be returned.

August 13, 2020

Amazing waterproof jacket

I purchased this jacket for my trip to Iceland and it handled the job perfectly. Even in long storms the water didn't soak through and you could just shake the water right of. It runs a little larger, but for me its ideal for more layers under it. The quality seems nice, just maybe the pit zippers could be more smooth. I purchased navy color w... Read Morehich is nice, but next time I would try more brigter colour.

July 31, 2020

Saved Us

Purchased two of these, one for myself and for my wife while on our honeymoon this month. The very next day we were blindsided by an freak thunderstorm. Luckily we had our jackets stowed away in the Jeep. The jackets worked perfectly. We even went back to the shop where we bought them to thank the women who sold them to us. Top tier product as alwa... Read Moreys.

July 25, 2020

Already good, but now vastly improved

more comfy, tougher, and cut perfectly. Fabric micro-backing is much better on skin when its muggy yet rainy and youre only wearing a short sleeved tee etc. more breathable, more noticeable when pits are zipped and the fabric has bear the full burden of the breathability assignment, 75D recycled rip stop and 3 layer build make this a legit 4 season... Read More shell, and its cut to not be baggy AF with just a baselayer, but I can very comfortably layer it over a micro puff and R2 (or a high-loft down sweater etc.) The increased comfort range makes it much more versatile, for example dark sky says 7AM , 73°F with 97% humidity, its the end of July and I have it on with a cap cool trail short tee, an old school cotton long John shirt and Im not forced by claminess to take it off just yet that alone is worth the price of admission

June 29, 2020

Perfect

Needed a rain jacket that was all around good for work, hiking & stylish & works out perfect. The jacket is rugged, but the design is very comfortable.

June 15, 2020

best rain jacket in this price range !!

I just want to say that I am extremely surprised (in a great way) about this jacket!! I bought it in the roots red colorway, which is a beautiful earth tone alternative to my usual greens & tans. The jacket itself feels nice on the skin - I owned the last version, and it felt very clammy & plastic, less so here. The most significant improve... Read Morements IMO are the construction of this jacket, which blows any other jacket in this price range out of the water. The three-layer structure feels premium & durable, the hood has been tweaked slightly to allow for a better fit on my large head, & the H2NO water-resistance is as reliable as ever. This is the best rain jacket for 95% of outdoor-friendly folks - it can take a beating, it is breathable, it is comfortable, and it packs away well. If you are using this layer for rock-climbing or more intense activities, I wouldn't suggest this jacket, but you wouldn't be looking for a jacket in this price range anyway - you'd be looking at Gore-Tex layers. I plan to keep this jacket with me daily, stored away in case of any rainy conditions or as a layer on colder days. One last note about fit - I bought a medium, which fits my small frame slightly large, but it is perfect for layering, which I plan to do with my fleece, sweatshirts, and puffer jackets from time-to-time. I look forward to using this jacket for several years; rarely do I write reviews on most products, but this jacket is worthy of my praise-worthiness.

June 9, 2020

I really love this.

I really love this.

June 6, 2020

Surprisingly Versatile

I purchased this jacket for a lightweight, breathable rain jacket. I have only worn it 4 times and not yet in the pouring rain, but so far, I am impressed. Jacket is very light weight and comfortably roomy. Although there are only 2 hand warmer pockets they are spacious and I found that I can wear a pack and the hip belt does not interfere with the... Read More pockets. I took this jacket spring skiing (about 45 degrees F) and found with all the zippers closed that it actually retained heat! Jacket also seemed to be fairly windproof. I was very comfortable with only a base layer underneath. As the jacket is still new I can not speak to the durability of the product. The hood, although it did fit over my ski helmet was quite snug and restricted movement. Which is OK as I did not buy this as a ski jacket anyway, just though it was worth noting. Wouldn't mind if Patagonia added an internal chest pocket. Overall this jacket is better than expected, very light, roomy, breathable and seals out the elements. Patagonia, again, exceeds my expectations.

May 17, 2020

Quality as always

The first thing I noticed when putting it on was how well it held heat. I wouldnt wear it alone in the winter but definitely as an outer layer. The second thing was the waterproofing since it was storming really bad when I got it, I wanted to test it out. It kept me completely dry. Its a thin 3L shell that is really well made. Two hood adjusters, o... Read Morene on the back for diameter and two pull strings near the top of the zipper. I saw a comment about how they dont hold which is not true. They have adjusting straps inside of the hood (almost ear level) that adjust height. It helps it conform to your head and looks like a more typical hoodie. Only issue I have with it, which really isnt bad but could be adjusted for future models, is front collar/chin area. It kind of either folds one way or the other and doesnt conform around my chin. Definitely not a deal breaker at all. Very happy to not be drenched anymore and love Patagonias lifetime warranty. They produce quality products for customers they care about while being mindful of their impact. Wish there were more companies like this.

May 9, 2020

AWESOME MANGO RAIN JACKET

The color mango is bright to say the least and I should be seen easily by almost everyone. Im 5 feet 8 inches tall and weigh 164lbs. and I probably should have ordered a medium for proper fit. No worries as this large will allow for an under layer (fleece/sweater/vest) when the temperature drops. This jacket was made clean and well and looks GR8... Read More! Big Thanks!

April 19, 2020

Excellent quality

Fantastic quality jacket and really great customer service

April 12, 2020

Great quality

Product does exactly what they said it would. Very high quality water proofing and fits perfectly. I am a taller guy so getting sleeves that fit well is a challenge but this and other Patagonia products seem to do the trick. You can tell it is well made and will last the test of time. Couple bits I would like to see improved- They described the po... Read Moreckets as being hand pockets pockets but they didn't have any specific material lining to help with hand warming. Just feel like normal pockets. They also mention a micro fleece lined neck. There is a small price of fleece at the back but it would be good to see this around the front too, adding extra comfort especially when the zipper is fully closed and the hood is up.

April 4, 2020

Another quality Patagonia jacket

I am a huge fan of Patagonia both for the quality of its products and its environmental and supply chain policies. I bought the original in green back in 2009, it had eventually de-laminated inside, so I emailed the customer services department to enquire if it could be sent for repair or recycling, knowing that Patagonia has a fantastic policy and... Read More record on this. I wasn't surprised that they couldn't repair the jacket, and I was advised to recycle locally, but I was delighted to get a lovely email offering me a 40% discount off anything that I wanted to buy to replace it. I opted for the new version of the same coat, in coriander brown, and I also bought a Down Sweater Hoody, both are great! They arrived really quickly and are both exactly as I'd expected. The quality and detail on the tech side of the Torrentshell 3L is definitely a step up on my original, so I'm looking forward to getting another 10 years plus out of it! Great kit, brilliant customer service...thanks Patagonia!

March 27, 2020

Lightweight, basic jacket for inclement

Lightweight, basic jacket for inclement weather or just like that.

March 27, 2020

great jacket.

great jacket.

March 24, 2020

Lightweight and fashionable!

Very happy with this purchase. Packs easily and breathes well. Perfect for the unreliable Dutch weather.

March 17, 2020

Excellent

My husband bought himself a similar jacket from Patagonia about 5 years ago. It’s been used and used. As it was beginning to look a little worn out, I got him this one. His is delighted. Already tested it out in the rainy, windy Scottish highlands and was super happy with it.

March 16, 2020

Replacement for an old favourite!

Having had the original in orange since 2009, it had eventually worn through part of the inner lining around the bottom edge, and the neck line a bit, so I emailed the returns & repair department to enquire, knowing that Patagonia have a fantastic policy and record on this.. I wasn't surprised that they couldnt repair the poor old guy, and... Read More that it fell outside of the replacement part of the deal, but I was stoked to get a lovely email offering me a big 40% discount of anything that I wanted to perhaps buy to replace him.. I opted for the new version of the same coat, in green, and threw in a cap and longsleeve T too, all 3 are great! They arrived really quickly and are all exactly as I'd expected. The detail on the tech side of the coat is definitely a step up on my original, so I'm looking forward to getting another 10 years plus out of it! Great kit, brilliant customer service...thanks Patagonia!

March 16, 2020

Great lightweight jacket

An excellent companion piece for my Micro Puff. I've had it out in 2 heavy showers of short duration without any problems. It fits very comfortably over my Micro Puff.

March 15, 2020

If you're not long and lean ...

Like most Patagonia products, this jacket is beautifully made with the highest quality materials. But as is the sizing for many Patagonia products seems to be of late, the jacket seems to be meant for the slim and long-limbed. I'm 5'10," 165 pounds and of average build. The medium is bit too tight in the shoulders, though just right,... Read More if not slightly long in the arm length. A large will probably fit fine in my upper torso and be a couple inches long in the sleeves.

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Thank you so much for your review. We're sorry that the fit didn't work out, we are always happy to help you out with more specific measurements if you have questions on future products. You're also welcome to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a different size.

March 15, 2020

Lightweight and practical

The jacket blends comfort and design extremely well. I use it on film sets where I am in the rain all day and it keeps me dry whilst able to be manoeuvrable. I highly recommend this jacket to anyone

March 8, 2020

Front zipper

Is the front zipper "two way"? Can you zip it up from the bottom when you get into a vehicle?

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Hi Mike! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback on the Torrentshell 3L! The zipper is a one way feature on this jacket. Typically two way zippers can be seen on most parka styles and belay specific gear for climbing purposes. If you find that the jacket won't work out feel free to send it in for [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Return-Policy).

March 6, 2020

This Is An Amazing Jacket!

This is an amazing Jacket, it keeps me warm as well as cool and is made of a durable meterial that has been through heck and back i love this jacket so much!!!!

March 3, 2020

Hiking, climbing, and skiing oh yea!

I took this shell out climbing fully expecting to at least put a dent in it but it still looks brand spankin' new! Wasatch granite couldn't even scratch this super durable material and it made waiting in the snow between burns down right pleasant. Carrying all the gear to and from the crag is already bulk enough so I was super stoke on th... Read Moree fact that this shell stuffs away into its own pocket, with some fight, but once it's stowed it will fit in any pack. At 6'3 the medium fit great in the sleeves and across the chest with just a little mid-drift exposure when raising the roof, so tall guy beta is to keep your arms down and leave the drafts up to the vents under arm.

March 2, 2020

Perfect Combo Of Lifestyle And Function

The torrentshell has always been a reliable rain jacket that combines functionality with style, but with Patagonia's recent renovations of its best selling rain shell, it's gotten even better! What are the renovations you ask? Well the torrentshell is now made with a 3 layer fabric. This means that the jacket will now breathe and repel wa... Read Moreter better. This is the type of rain jacket that you can bring with you everywhere. From running errands around town to backpacking in the Wind Rivers. This jacket looks good in all conditions. I found the jacket to fit true to size. The XL had enough room to layer underneath it but didn't make me look bulky or too big. the sleeves were the perfect length and the overall length of the garment easily covered my upper body layers. I used this jacket for some light hiking around town. The light hiking was done on a day that was around 50 degrees and I could tell this rain jacket breathes better than the competition as I would become pretty clammy in similar conditions in other rain jackets. This one seemed to breathe well and putting the front zipper down a little allowed me to stay sweat free despite the warm temps. While I was testing it there wasn't a rain cloud in the sky so I tested out the jacket's waterproofness in my shower. I stood under a down pour for 2 minutes and was surprised to find all my clothes super dry when I got out. The water had beaded up on the exterior and just rolled right off! I was super impressed with the waterproofness. Overall, I think this rain jacket performs and will function well under just about any conditions. Being stylish and fashionable is an added bonus, and will get more use out of the jacket as it looks great when wearing it out on the town.

February 28, 2020

My own personal shelter

I recently lost my favorite shell/rain jacket in a car accident. After months of careful research, I chose this piece to replace Old faithful. The fit roomy enough to wear as a winter shell, over base and mid layer jackets. Workmanship is first rate, and the features, though minimal, are perfect for what I need. My only complaint is the tag. I pla... Read Moren to wear this as a rain jacket in warmer weather, over nothing more than a tee shirt. When I first put it on, the sewn-in tag and locker hanger scratched the back of my neck pretty good. One of the features mentioned is a micro fleece patch for neck comfort. Well, sewing the tag over that soft patch negates any comfort it may have offered. Its not a big enough deal for me to return the jacket, since I really do like it otherwise. I spent 30 or-so minutes carefully removing the tag and locker loop with a pair of suture removal scissors, and, problem solved. Now the Jacket is completely awesome and comfortable too!

February 27, 2020

Look good, feel good, stay dry... A shell I can trust!

This shell at first glance appears to just be another shell that's good for touring, backpacking, or whatever your outdoor activity is. This is super true, but there's more to this shell than just another shell. The 3L technology used in this shell can be felt before you even finish putting it on. It's one of those textures you can f... Read Moreeel and instantly trust to keep you dry. The first thing I did when I got this was put it on and run the water in the sink over my arm, and there was no doubt in my mind I'd get wet and man was I right. This membrane is insanely waterproof, super comfortable, and breathes better than any other rain jacket/shell I've put on. The pit zips make it perfect for touring, and the fit of it makes it perfect for layering underneath for resort skiing (which is what I mostly use mine for.) This shell is SUPER lightweight and would be the ideal backpacking rain jacket for a light pack and reliable dryness regardless of weather. Without a doubt, this is the best shell I know of, with the newest technology, and somehow it's still under $200.

February 27, 2020

Fit and Quality

The fit of this jacket is just right. I'm 6'3" and I often wear and size 16 1/2 shirt with 35 inch sleeves. I was worried the sleeves would be a bit short given that my shirts are a bit short sometimes. This jacket is just right. I had an older H2no jacket that I sent in because the liner was failing and I got some rebate money and b... Read Moreought a new one. The liner seems to be higher-quality now and everything else is just as expected. Another great Patagonia product.

February 24, 2020

Very waterproof, colour looks great

Very waterproof, colour looks great and fits well on the body. Arms are quite long but this means it fits well over mid layers so it’s not an issue. One star removed as there seems to be loose threads everywhere on this jacket and the stitching does not show good workmanship. I’ve seen several of the same jacket in a shop and they also had loose th... Read Morereads in the same places. Unsure if it is perhaps a quality issue or by design but they’re quite unsightly.

February 13, 2020

Had to buy two

My son loved my roots red Torrentshell so much I gave it to him and had to buy another one for me. Love the supply green better anyway.

January 31, 2020

All Weather

Amazing for skiing. The vents in the arm help to cool down. Great outer shell with a lot of features to help customize it to your preference. Ran a little big, but that’s expected for a shell. One downside is that the hood/collar sort of fold back when unzipped, which hides the logo.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches