Back to Product

Ws Capilene® Thermal Weight Zip-Neck Hoody

Write Your Review

4.4/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 28 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Capilene® Thermal Weight Zip-Neck Hoody

4.4/5
February 18, 2021

Finally Im not cold!

I often ski in single digit and low teens weather. I wear the zip neck hoodie under my helmet, and it keeps me warmer than a separate balaclava. I weigh 148 lbs, and if I was any heavier would need a size large.

February 12, 2021

Size & weight has changed

This used to be my favorite layer for every occasion so I ordered another with a hood and one without. The one without the hood is way baggier in the chest area and the one with the hood is more noticeably thin. It's basically see through. I had to return both. I wish they would go back to the old style.

February 3, 2021

Sticky zipper almost ruins this shirt

I love this shirt and will probably continue wearing it as a base layer for backpacking and skiing and everything else, but the zipper gets stuck where the shirt meets the hoody and it's incredibly frustrating. The issue seems to be getting worse with wear. My boyfriend has no issues with the men's version zipper, so I'm not sure i... Read Moref it's a difference in the way the hoods are made or what. The women's has a pass through for a pony tail and it seems there is an extra layer of fabric in the hood, meaning the seam where the hood meets the body has to accommodate more fabric, so there is less allowance for the zipper width. Another review mentions this same issue, so I don't think it's a one off thing. It's incredibly warm and comfortable, the zipper is just SO frustrating since I'm wearing it almost daily to ski these days.

January 18, 2021

Cozy

Lightweight, super warm and very comfortable to wear.

January 17, 2021

Capilene thermal base layer

I love it (and all of my other Patagonia gear). Its warm and lightweight. I deliberately ordered it on the large side because I dont like confining clothes. I would order another if it were less expensive!!!

January 14, 2021

Very comfortable

I love it, I got it as a gift and it is perfect for work and running. It is a little big, but it is nice to wear it as a looser fit.

January 10, 2021

Game changer for skiing!

This is an absolute game changer for skiing. The hood is absolutely perfect as it is incredibly snug and fits seamlessly beneath a helmet. The fit is tight as it should be so there is no extra bulk and the thumbholes keep the sleeves tucked up under gloves. As perfect as a ski baselayer can be! Incredibly warm and wicking as well as super soft and ... Read Morecomfortable. I have tried numerous baselayers and this is the best. Worn with an light midlayer and a lightly insulated ski coat, this system is warm enough for any condition.

January 9, 2021

It's Perfect

I've worn this baselayer from glaciers in Alaska, to daily winter running, to indoor lounging. If there was only one shirt I could wear, this would be it. It's durable, perfect level of warmth and dries quickly during cold-weather sports underneath the R2 & Houdini. Perfect combination!

January 9, 2021

Love it!

This base layer is the best for skiing. I can put the good on under my helmet and it keeps me nice and cozy all day long. I also have the 3/4 base layers pants for skiing but can no longer find them in my size to get an additional pair. The only suggestion I have would me to pretty please make more of these products!

January 9, 2021

Great layer

This top layers great with other layers for a super warm system. It's definitely a slim fit. Its fine, but maybe I would order a size up if I ordered again, but not too small that I would return it.

February 14, 2019

Excellent base layer

I'd choose this layer over any other base layer for it's weight, warmth, and comfort. It is thinner than an R1, but far more comfortable to sleep in. I have big arms and shoulders from climbing and like the feel of the thinner fabric for all-day/expeditionary wear. I also like how thin the fabric is because it never feels bulky, even arou... Read Morend the high collar and hood. I own the bottoms as well and they have become my go-to base layers for cool/cold weather expeditions. It dries quickly, layers well with a Houdini or Nano-Air, etc. I am happy hiking and doing cardio in it in winter, also. Ideal for alpine climbing and ultralight cold weather backpacking.

February 13, 2019

sarah

I loved the model I bought 3 years ago sooooo much and was really looking forward to getting another this year. However, a few things have changed on this newer model that make this hoodie disappointing. There is a new seam running across the shoulder and as a broad-shouldered climber (5'9, 135lb), I am super-bummed with this new feature--does... Read More not fit as well, pulls on the shoulders, and is less comfortable. The prior version was perfect for me. They also got rid of the zipper pocket in the chest, which was so convenient for keys/cards/cash/even a small phone. Overall, still a solid piece for sweating, staying warm, or climbing, but why mess with a good thing, Patagonia?

November 16, 2018

TW Zip neck hoody - Sadly disappointed.

Love the navy blue. Other than that, I have to return this base layer. Too long to tuck in (5'4") and the collar is just weird because it sticks out in long points. I don't like the way it looks with the hood on. The weight is lighter than comparable item I bought in 2014, I prefer my CAPILENE® 4 EXPEDITION WEIGHT ZIP NECK | #43661. ... Read MoreThe power grid is incredible because it keeps me warm, but not hot. I wore in MT skiing in zero temps, to bed as PJs, and under horse show clothes at 32 degrees. If I had liked this years model I would have kept this for a total of three.

November 8, 2018

My absolute favorite

This thermal weight zip hoody is my all time favorite from Patagonia. I purchased it from a Patagonia dealer which I may have overlooked it if I bought it online. The power grid fabric feels great and so soft. I love the hoody feature and have found on cold days, I put the hood on it fits seamlessly under my bike helmet. I also found it useful when... Read More hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park yesterday and when the winds gusted, I pulled the hood up and it kept me so warm. I could wear it everyday. I'm 5'9", fit, 150lbs and the medium fits me perfectly.

February 9, 2018

Retiring my R1 for this

This is my new favorite base layer. I picked up the capilene thermal weight pants on sale and love them,so thought I would try the top. I am super happy with it. I have a few R1s for work and personal trips and have found them uncomfortably tight in the shoulders and elbows in a size small,but they fit great in the torso. The medium R1s that I have... Read More tried have been too large to be a good base layer. This capilene thermal weight hoody fits great in a size small and is comfortable across the shoulders,chest and in the arms--I am 5'7' and 130lbs. The lighter weight fabric is the key piece in that puzzle. Its not as warm,but it is great as my sole base layer for climbing,hiking and sleeping in when I've only got the clothes on my back.

August 3, 2017

Love Love Love

I've had my thermal weight zip neck hoody for a few years now and still can't say enough great things about it. Normally it's my go-to for layering the in winter or shoulder season months,but recently I used it for a warm late July backpacking trip in WA state and ended up wearing it for three days straight. When the rest of my frien... Read Moreds were changing into tank tops,I surprisingly kept this layer on. I actually stayed cool and more importantly,kept the sun off of my skin. Now,a week or so later,my friends sun burns are all peeling and I'm good to go,not having been burnt in the first place. Also,after three days straight in the backcountry,it still smelled decent. Would recommend to anyone looking for a base layer that can be used year round!

March 26, 2017

Very Comfy Light Weight Pull-over

This is a very comfortable pull-over. I was a little skeptical about the odd interior material but the fact that it has breaks between the fleece material really keeps if light weight and helps it move which makes it more comfortable. Because the fuzzy fleece is not continuous I don't consider this a very warm hoody,but I it is light weight en... Read Moreough that it makes a good layer. I get pretty cold when skiing so would not recommend this for a base layer unless you run hot or have other layers. I think it looks pretty nice and actually wear it to my healthy care job. I have had some issues with the sizing of other patagonia products: better sweater too small,SNAP T pull-over too big,but I think this actually runs true to size.

March 25, 2017

Super as a baselayer

Really like it. Super comfy and stylish! Love the color.

March 19, 2017

Defective zipper

This is a great base layer,comfortable and breathable for intense aerobic efforts. However,the zipper is defective and I cannot zip it past the neck seam. If I had not already worn it a few times I would return it.

February 17, 2017

Love this Baselayer

This is a GREAT baselayer for layering to stay warm and dry. It breaths and wicks away sweat well while keeping my torso warm. The hood fits nicely under any helmet (bike/boarding/snowmobiling). I have two favorite features the thumb holes and the half zip that I can use to vent.

January 16, 2017

I'm a fan of the Capilene Baselayers!

Perfect for casual walks or racing down the mountain on skis. I bought this for the zip neck and hood feature. It's pretty rare that I'm too cold; my issue is I warm up and need to vent so I love the zip neck feature. I also own the non-hooded style and love it! Nice and warm. A great layer to own!

January 15, 2017

Love this hoody

I really love this hoody. I am a ski patroller in Utah and would usually wear a thermal top and a light puffy under my patrol jacket but I typically do not need to now that I have this hoody. It is very warm but breathable. And I love they hole in the hoody for your ponytail!! It is a game changer. Now I don't have my braid pushing through the... Read More front of my hood or stuck underneath all of my layers. I am 5'6'' 150lbs and the M fits great.

January 11, 2017

So warm,so thin

Bought for girlfriend for winter running. Christmas gift. She could not believe how warm it was for being so thin and lightweight. She's 5'6"/155 and the size medium fits perfectly.

January 11, 2017

Warmth without bulk

Great base layer. Keeps heat in without too much bulk. Comfy. No itch.

December 4, 2016

Warm and holds up over time

I bought a predecessor of this thermal a decade ago. It remains my favorite thermal. It has held up beautifully to rough wear. It is comfortable to move in,light weight and WARM. The hood fits nicely under my stocking hat and ski helmet. I love the long sleeves and thumb holes which keep my wrists warm when there is a gap between my gloves and jack... Read Moreet. (My thumb holes are integrated into the sleeve instead of a loop sewn onto the end of the sleeve.) I have worn this for winter sailing in the PNW,hiking,x-country and alpine skiing,hunting,working in the woods.

December 2, 2016

Zipper sticks

Was really interested in having a base layer hoody. However,when it arrived,i found that the zipper stuck at the seam where the hoody is sewn to the main garment. Patagonia was good about an exchange,but the replacement had the same exact issue with the zipper sticking at the seam again. I even had a friend try it on,and she too,was unable to zip u... Read Morep the hoody. It seems to zip up fine/better if you aren't wearing it,but not when worn. Unfortunately,this is going back for a refund.

May 1, 2016

Fit has changed

This is one of my favorite layers for skiing,hiking,rafting,running and lounging. I love the high neck zip. I have one from about 3 years ago that fits perfectly in a medium. (I'm 5'7 135) I love it so much I ordered a new one this year and the fit is totally different. Its baggy and the sleeves are shorter. The small fit better in the bo... Read Moredy but the sleeves were way too short. It fits more like a sweatshirt,but I still like it.

August 9, 2015

The perfect layer

This is such a great layer for any activity, breathable, warm for it's weight, dries quickly, layers well and is even a good mosquito protection layer. Seems like the most versatile garment I've seen.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches