Back to Product

Ms DAS® Parka

Write Your Review

4.89 /5

Filter Reviews

All 27 Reviews

Clear All

Ms DAS® Parka

4.89
Runs Large
February 26, 2021

Light and super warm

The jacket is light, very warm, and long enough for my 6 foot 3 husband. The fact that it is light and very very warm makes the wearer feel unencumbered.

February 26, 2021

Sizing slowly returning to normal

I have a very old DAS parka from the 1990's I think. It's an XL, and the zipper is slowly failing, which is why I bought a new jacket. The issue for Patagoia from my perspective is the sizing. This old DAS parka fits me even with a Retro Fleece cardigan beneath it (I'm 6'1" and 220 lbs). So, I can be hiking, or climbing, or... Read More doing some other activity that required some insulation, and pull on my DAS parka for the evening and be quite comfortable. For reasons that I don't understand, Patagonia went through a period where their XL garments were dramatically too small for me. I purchased rain gear that I had to return, as well as a barely used DAS parka (several years old) from another person that were both too small unless I wore only a light shirt beneath them. Was Patagonia making garments to be worn on college campuses rather than the original purposes for which they were designed? I am pleased to say the latest DAS parka is closer to the sizing of the original DAS parka. I can wear a medium-weight fleece beneath my new DAS parka and not feel constricted. Finally! There are a lot of other good things about this parka: the two-way zipper, the pulls at the waist and the warmth. I think that the new insulation is both lighter and warmer than my original DAS parka, and even warmer than the more recent used DAS parka that I purchased. The new parka is also longer than the used parka, being close to the length of my old parka. I am quite happy with my new parka. I hope that it and I last 20 years or more!

February 25, 2021

All purpose warmth bringer

I should have gotten this years ago. Great for PNW winters (freezing rain,etc) and shoulder seasons. By far my warmest jacket. Compact enough to crag with. Belay in comfort!

February 25, 2021

Warm, great fit and excellent quality

Warmest belay jacket I own for the weight snd compressibility, both important factors when on route. Superior guality of materials and craftsmanship.

February 25, 2021

DAS Great

Incredibly warm and light weight. Perfect under a Gore Tex outer shell.

February 24, 2021

Very warm

Great winter coat

February 22, 2021

Surprisingly warm

Bought this for scientific field work on the US/Canada border and so far it's surprisingly warm for the thickness - I don't know how Patagonia does it. Layered properly, I expect to stay warm down to 0f. I'm 170lb and expect to fit both a 200wt fleece and nano-puff hooded jacket under this, with a ski-shell over if need be.

February 14, 2021

much better than the older one

The original was excellent, but the salt air go South aeorgia Island corroded the zippers, 4 years ago. The replacement is much better with the newer zippers. More review when Greenland and Antarctica occur later this year

February 4, 2021

Das parka

Very warm for the weight. I'm 178cm I bought a size medium. Fits well, jacket comes below bum, should be great on freezing belays. Kept rain off in its first outing. Not sure if it will keep the waterproof coating for long. But great to start with anyway. I

February 1, 2021

Furnace

Just love this jacket,I only use this jacket when it is very cold (it is a furnace) ,insulation as far as I am concerned is better than down. The real advantage compared to down is that it does not loose its efficiency when wet,I got caught in a freezing rain and rain storm and was completely soaked and was was still very warm.

February 1, 2021

The DAS is Legend

I was saddened when the DAS was discontinued for a time and had fears that I would not be able to replace mine when it finally became too tattered with the amount I use it. It is great to know that you have resurrected it - hopefully never to disappear again. I absolutely love the DAS. The dual drop in pockets are perfect for storing climbing skin... Read Mores while Skiing in the BC, keeping the skins moderately warm helps to keep the glue sticky enough to attach to my skis between runs down the mountain. My go to layering system while skiing is a wool t-shirt, with Hoodini for skinning and then the DAS goes on as soon as I reach the top of the run - rip skins, put them in the drop in pockets in the DAS and then ski down the run. Repeat. Using this method I stay dry on the climb and warm on the descent and during my frequent snack and tea breaks. The DAS is an extension of my body out there. Guaranteeing stable comfortable body temperature while out gathering the good tidings of the mountains. This is a dependable, durable piece of gear I hope to always have in my quiver. I will probably get a fresh DAS soon so as to ensure I always have one ready to go. Thanks for building it. And for bringing it back. Huzzah!

January 26, 2021

Perfect Jacket for winter belays

I've used my DAS Parka every day since buying it 4 weeks ago. For long belays of hard ice-/mixed pitches on long routes and winter cragging this jacket just felt like going back to bed. It packs smaller than I thought and the warmth-weight ratio is great. The sizing is baggy which is perfect to just put on top of all layers while belaying. Th... Read Moree upward zipper is super useful to belay and still have the warmth cover of the whole jacket.

January 21, 2021

An Amazing Belay Parka

I was looking for a synthetic belay parka for ice climbing and other winter exploits and the DAS parka is superb. It's warm enough for long frigid belays and can definitely take a beating! It has snagged on my ice tools and axes more than I'd like to admit and there wasn't a single scratch. My only complaint, which is quite minor in ... Read Morethe grand scheme of things, is that it's a bit difficult to put on and take off with gloves on, mainly due to the elastic cuff that also functions as synch cord. Otherwise, I absolutely adore this parka and it has become one of my favorite pieces of gear in my kit!

January 18, 2021

Best parka

I purchased this Parka due to the recommendations at the Patagonia store. I wanted something warm. I live in NYC and needed a warm coat to do field work. This coat fits the bill. I tested it on a 10 degree day with high winds and was warm. Walked 10 miles and at times needed to open the parka due to overheating. If you want the best and warmest lig... Read Moreht Parka then get the DAS Parka, Im planning to purchase the DAS light hoodie too. Just to add to my collection. Thanks Patagonia

January 15, 2021

Not As Warm As Advertised

I've used this jacket for walks at night in the CO winter, and I can feel the cold wind coming through the jacket when the temp gets below 30 degrees F and there's a little wind. I need to layer sweaters or fleece to approach staying warm, and even then, it's not completely warm or windproof.

Response from Patagonia
February 22, 2021

Hello and thank you for your feedback on the DAS Parka. As always, per our Ironclad Guarantee you are more then welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the item if is not working out for you.

January 14, 2021

Super Warm!!!!

I got this jacket because I was tired of my really bulky parka it was too big and heavy and wanted something light for those Chicago chilly days, This parka is it!!! don't even need a sweater underneath! Im thinking of getting the das hoody now!

January 7, 2021

Fantastic

Put it simple, this jacket is superb. Great warmth, really lightweight, very nice materials.

January 6, 2021

Comfortable/Warm

Use this as an everyday jacket in the winter. I live in Minnesota and it is perfect for the climate and being active.

December 12, 2020

Ethereal

Purchased for reading great literature under the stars every night from 10pm-Midnight on my deck during the Pandemic :). The fit is great over my burly frame (XXL), 6'3" (295 lbs). Especially nice fit in the shoulders and appreciate the long sleeves (I have a 7' wingspan). Extra length is a plus. Clear, starry, windy nights have been... Read More no problem during extended reads. Hood fits with a hat/headlamp on, with plenty of room in the neck/chin while enabling great peripheral vision of the milky way. The thumb loops are nice for hand coverage holding the book. Much warmer than the Macro Puff (returned it) and better shoulder fit. Will use this for the rest of my life and for all alpine, camping, fly fishing, etc. trips. Shakespeare, Cormac McCarthy, Alex Lowe, Robert Frost and Hemingway would all exhaust superlatives praising the DAS Parka!

December 5, 2020

Super warm!

Cost is big and well fitted for layering. Thought It is very warm as I run cold!

December 1, 2020

Warm and Comfy

The jacket is great. I purchased it for a motorcycle camping trip I was planning that went through some higher elevations. I needed something that would pack small for when I was riding and keep me warm when I was off the bike. This is the perfect night time / early morning jacket, the temperatures were in the low 20s, and with a few base layers an... Read Mored this jacket I was able to stay nice and warm. The fit is great for me, I have long arms and the sleeves are the perfect length, not halfway up my forearm when my arms are extended! Its a bit crinkly sounding when you are moving around, but nothing crazing. Anyone looking for a warm lightweight packable jacket should give this a look. Another (big part) part of my decision to pick this up is to support a company that cares about people and the planet! Its great to be able to get a great product and know that its made by people trying to do right.

November 26, 2020

super awesome and warm

i already wrote a review.

November 22, 2020

One Dependable Piece of Gear

I bought my current DAS parka back in the late 1990's. It was on sale, which accounts for the garish purple color. It has been my primary belay jacket/camp parka/chore coat for over 25 years at anything down to about minus 20 or so. I was walking to the grocery store the other day when an elderly couple stopped me. They observed the weather wa... Read Mores particularly bad and asked if I had a safe, warm place to stay that night. When I related this to my wife, she observed that being mistaken for a street person is probably a hint that it is time for a new parka. Really? Other than a dozen duct tape patches and some ground-in oil stains on the wrists, my old DAS parka is in great shape. It might not have quite the sub-sub-zero capability it had when new but then neither do I. It is really your fault. If you didn't make this parka so well, maybe I could buy a parka more often than once very 25 years.

November 7, 2020

Super Awesome and warm

I just received it. It fits like a glove and it seems to be very well made. I bought it to replace a fleece lined poly coat. I know I will thoroughly enjoy wearing it for a long time. I don't plan on wearing it to climb Meru Peak except in my dreams. Please keep making the very best gear!!

October 31, 2020

Purchase this while you can.

Ive been wearing YCs stuff since 1974. Sometimes their best stuff disappears for whatever reason. The Ridgeway Sweater. First edition R 3. Bombachas. Ive had my eye on the DAS parka almost since reading DAS TENT. The new DAS satisfies.

October 28, 2020

Multi use jacket. Great value

This jacket is a multi purpose jacket. Top rated in hiking situations over Portugal and Spain and France, where the shell fabric provided dry and comfortable temperatures. It runs true to size. I like the long design that covers below the hip. The insulation is warm. I used it with base layers and thermal insulation. I appreciate the design with th... Read Moree large pockets and zippers. I have washed it and it keeps a new look. Good looks that I can wear it to work on casual days. Multi use jacket. Great value for the money spent. Strong and well designed. I have the feeling that I will last a long time.

October 28, 2020

Comfortably Warm in even the Coldest of Conditions

DAS Parkas are the warmest outerwear I've ever owned. This replaces my previous one that's taken a ton of abuse, still works great, but wanted a new color. Since I gotten into rowing marathons, I've slimmed down (6'3", 180 lbs); the size length of sleeves, torso are both great, but like much of my clothing, it's pretty... Read More roomy. With the elastic drawstring cord at the hem, it keeps out the drafts wonderfully. I tend to run cold, so this will get use on really cold days skiing, and as a belay parka when climbing. I tend to take long walks and hikes with my spouse throughout the winter, so this Parka will get daily use during the bitter cold months.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches